Steel the Show Dress

$70 to buy
$400 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Do exactly what this dress is named, "Steel the Show!" Wow them with this little number by Nicole Miller It's sparkle and pizzaz with surely leave them speechless. Pair with Janis Savitt's Crystal Knot Bracelet to finish the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - abstract pattern slims in at the waistline
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - abstract pattern slims in at the waistline
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Steel crepe de chine with sequin inserts. One shoulder neckline.Ruching on skirt and bodice. Inner boning at bust. Exposed side zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. .

Share
56 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size40
Small12
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
December 7, 2014
Gorgeous sparkly dress
This dress is beautiful, and on me (5'3) was not as short as on the model in the photo. It felt mostly comfortable and the darker gray of the non-sequins material looked very pretty. The dress overall looked very classy and nice. I wear a 0, and ordered this in a 2 as my back-up (wore the Nicole Miller shooting star dress) because the other didn't have the 2/backup available. I did not end up wearing this dress, but I'd love to find an occasion to wear it in my correct size another time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 28, 2014
Gorgeous dress perfect for my Atlantic City weekend and erasure concert
Fit really is true to size. It is comfortable and although it has some sequins, it is still classy. Its such a fun, little dress! I will definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 8, 2014
Rented for a night out in Vegas. I received many compliments. Definitely a show stopper!
I really enjoyed this dress. The sequins definitely made heads turn and was great for a fun night out in Vegas. It fit my small frame well and was very flattering. I definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 174lbs
July 28, 2014
In a 10 got a 12 and 10 neither fit to my breast
it was pretty
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
July 15, 2014
Super cute and comfy!
Love that the dress "stretched" and fit true to size. However, there was this piece that ran along the sides that kepts bunching up that gave this "muffin top" illusion..not good! LOL
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
April 14, 2014
Just the right of glam for Vegas!
This dress for fantastic, I loved it! I wore it to a boxing match in Vegas. Everything about it was great, the material was forgiving and very comfortable. I received a ton of compliments, would rent again for sure.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
March 19, 2014
I wish I was able to get another size! Would have been perfect for my birthday night out!
I didn't wear this dress because it was just a little too small and they were not able to send me a backup size. I was bummed because this dress is gorgeous! I would absolutely rent again (in a bigger size) for another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
March 6, 2014
Fun, Flattering and Flirty!
I was worried the dress would be too flashy as I normally would not wear sequins however it was very subtle and classy not tacky. The material fit very comfortable and snugged your body in a very flattering way. The scrunched up parts definitely made the fit look even better. It was comfortable and simple. Would definitely recommend.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
February 10, 2014
My best friend's wedding
This dress was super fitted and made me feel, well, a tad inappropriate! I definitely didn't end up choosing it for the wedding even though I thought it could've worked (online). Thank goodness I ordered another dress as well. It's not a good fit for someone who has a larger bust and hips as it's very va-va-va voom!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 25, 2014
This dress was such a blast! Perfect for a fun formal night.
The dress is definitely form fitting so I would suggest maybe wearing spanks. Thats the only thing I would change about how I wore it, but I received many compliments and loved wearing this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
January 1, 2014
Loved the disco ball dress for NYE
Perfect NYE dress with tons of sparkle. I received compliments all night long with the dress & gave RTR all the credit. Can't wait for my next occasion to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2013
Looked stunning, like a grey disco ball.
I'm a very curvy size 6-8 and needed the 8. I have a small waist (proportionally) and the larger size to accommodate my bust was still tight around the waist in a good way. I'm 5''2' with ample junk in the trunk and the dress was almost too short - but the stretchiness of the material saved it. I loved the one shoulder strap and appreciated that the dress was minimizing up top. Lots of compliments. I wouldn't say it was a hit, but I didn't see a lot of women my size reviewing this dress and thought some of the curvier girls would appreciate more information. If you LOVE the style I say go for it - it will work!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 22, 2013
Sparkly figure hugging perfection!
I felt so fabulous in this sparkly perfect dress! It hugged my bum in a great way and was super comfy and still sexy. I would wear this everyday if I owned it just to get a few moments of fab. Thanks!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 10, 2013
Loved it!
This dress was true to the photo on the model. It fit well and comfortably. It is stretchy. Able to wear a regular strapless bra. The zipper down the left side did stick out a bit, so I secured it to my side w body tape. I got compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 4, 2013
-
It was a little awkward when I tried it on and ended up wearing the other dress I rented in the same order. The color and sparkles were really nice but maybe it would fit nicer on someone with smaller hips than mine. Very cute in person though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 2, 2013
Couldn't wear
Pretty dress but unfortunately I couldn't wear this dress for my event. I have a short waist and the snug fit did not look flattering on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2013
Sparkly Disco Ball!
I felt like a human disco ball wearing this dress...in all the good ways! It's very form-fitting dress, so I sized up for my hips. However, it is very flatting with the design and I got a lot of compliments all night. It was long enough for me to wear spanx. I could even eat in it! The arm area was a little bit itchy with the sequins, but a few glasses of wine will clear that right up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 2, 2013
This dress is awesome!
The dress is tight, but fits true to size. The dress is not stretchy where the sparkles are, but the dress is adorable and was perfect for my husbands Christmas party. Loved it, the length is short but still comfortable. There was no room for a bra , you could see lines as the dress was so tight!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
April 3, 2013
Hot! if you have the body for it!
This dress was really sexy and a great for clubbing, the only thing is that your stomach needs to be a more shapely. No muffin tops or kangagroo pooches ladies. I have a muffin top and curvy hips so it definately made the wrong parts of my body stand out and took away from the dress. Its not the dress's fault, you just have to have a certain body type to look good in it. Spandex may or may not resolve your problem, in my case it seemed like it almost highlighted my unflattering parts. Moral of story you have a belly, skip this dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2013
Super fun party dress, compliments all night!
This is a fabulous party dress. It's very flattering and the sparkles make you stand out against regular dresses. I ended up pinning the hem a bit because I wanted it shorter, but that's very minor. Very happy with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 21, 2013
This dress was perfect for the Mardi Gras party I attended! It's sparkly, fun and sexy!
When I rented this dress I ordered a size 2 and 4. I usually wear a 2, but the 2 fit too tight for me so I wore the size 4. The dress is very sexy, fitted and flashy. I loved everything about the dress. It was definitely a fun dress to wear. I received many compliments. My only problem was that some of the sequin on the dress was missing, but luckily it wasn't in noticeable areas. If you are looking for a fun & sexy dress for your occasion, then this dress would be perfect for you! You will have so much fun and feel great wearing it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 21, 2013
I didn't wear this dress.
Fit was very small, and sequins were uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2013
Major Compliments from classmates
Great dress in different color from one I rented previously. The shine and sparkle looks amazing for a holiday party and I got a ton of compliments on the dress from everyone! I wish I had remembered to get a better picture of both myself and my fiancé at the party because we both looked awesome. Stretchy enough through the skirt for pear shaped ladies like myself makes me love this design and designer!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2013
no stretch in the dress
Pros: Photographs well, as can be seen by other RTR members Cons: Runs small, not much stretch so it is not the most forgiving dress if you have problem areas
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2013
All the compliments I received on it!
The dress fit fairly true to size! I'd say it's tighter on top than on bottom, but it's stretchy so it worked out fine. The dress was BEAUTIFUL and arrived in perfect condition! I got so many compliments on it (gave due credit to RTR, of course :), and it was super comfortable to dance in. This dress is fabulous for New Years or any other occasion when you need just a little sparkle ;) Would absolutely recommend it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
December 27, 2012
Cute, but not great
Very small in the bust. Cute dress, but looks better online than in person. Not as shiny as I was hoping for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
December 12, 2012
Comfortable to wear, sequins are gorgeous!
I found this dress to fit very true to size. I don't have much of a waist (I am built very straight and narrow), but the asymmetrical nature of this dress was very flattering. I got compliments all night long! Would definitely rent this one again.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2012
It looked great! Everyone complimented me that night!
Never thought of myself as being curvy, but While the waist measurement would have me in an 8, since I have never worn and 8 in my life, I was glad I had the extra dress in a 10 to fit the bust.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2012
This dress was a huge success! Felt like a star on the red carpet.
This dress fits true to size and has a bit of a stretch so it fits very comfortably. I has very happy with the length as well. Another successful Rent the Runway experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 21, 2012
Perfect dress for a Lovely occasion!
Wore this dress to my cousins wedding. Got lots of compliments and felt really beautiful in it! This dress will make you feel like a star ! Definately a head turner ;] Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
October 1, 2012
Odd seams
The color on this dress is gorgeous--the picture does not do it justice, as with so many dresses on here. The seams though--namely, the one at the waist--fall in an unflattering way and don't sit on a natural waist. Dress just felt uncomfortable and unflattering.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 25, 2012
People told me I looked like a runway model in this dress. The perfect length and not too flashy.
The fit is close to body but not tight as long as you get the right size. I am between a 4 and a 6 so I found the larger size fit better. The material was comfortable and I found it had only a little bit of stretch to it. The length was good for me and not too short (I am 5'11"). Overall, I would definitely rent this dress again, and if I could, I would buy it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 10, 2012
Best Dress worn ever!
My husband love the Dress...it was so beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
August 31, 2012
I was told I looked beautiful all night. It was amazing.
Alright so I loved this dress. It was beautiful and almost everywhere I went people complimented me on it. But I also have some hips so it makes them look even wider because of it material. The sequins were all on there when I got it and it didnt fall off. I would def. recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
August 30, 2012
Great birthday party dress!
I felt stylish and great in this gorgeous dress. it was fun and sexy! and very easy to dance in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2012
Another stunning Nicole Miller
Longer than in picture--came only a few inches above my knees and I;m 5'7.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 20, 2012
runs small, no give at bust
I am very petite, with an athletic build and was not able to wear this dress. I squeezed into the size 2, but it was so tight around my ribs I was afraid I was going to rip it, so I ended up returning it. The sequin part around the bust makes it so there is no stretch or give in that area. It also smashed down my chest (aka padded bra) to make me look too flat. Too bad, it was a super cute dress
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 19, 2012
fit great! except...
my first time renting, i rented this dress for my birthday party. I was super excited to get it. It fit great looked great..except the terrible odor from the armpit area of the dress. not having enough time to rent another i wore something i already had. although i had a bad first experience i will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 19, 2012
Three of the girls on the trip Rented the Runway and we all had so much fun in our flirty dresses. It was great to spend time with friends and not have to worry about shopping for multiple dresses for the trip. My dresses showed up the day before I left and I was fixed up. I loved not having to worry about shopping for a night on the town.
My first rental and loved it from the moment the box arrived. The dress fit like a glove and was perfect for a night on the town in Vegas. It was very flattering and I received several compliments. I wish I could have kept the dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2012
It came to my house perfect and ready. No one had the same dress and it looked awesome
I loved this dress so much. The fit was perfect, it was different, and one of a kind. I got compliments all night and was comfortable dancing in it all night.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×