Nicole Miller

Square Neck Sequin Shoulder Dress

$75 rental
$420 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The perfect statement at any evening affair, this Nicole Miller style is beautiful and flattering on all figures. Shown here with the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set and Badgley Mischka's Falling Leaf Earrings.

Also available in gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - highlights backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8.5".)

Product Details

Navy crinkle metallic taffeta. Square neckline. Sequin beading detail on shoulder straps. Cut out detail on back. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'8.5".

Share
175 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(153)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 9, 2012
Lots of compliments
The dress is absolutely gorgeous and FLATTERING. My six year old step son said, "Wow Mom, you look really pretty!" At that point, I knew I had nailed it with the dress. The ONLY con is that I did end up with some painful scratches on my arms from the sparkles.... Other than that- perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 12, 2012
Cute Dress!
I wore this dress to my roommate's wedding last summer. I was really happy with the fit, and had strangers come up to me at the reception to tell me how much they loved my dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 22, 2010
I wore this dress to a charity gala and LOVED it! It ran small on me so I wore a size up. It was so comfortable! I got several compliments on it throughout the night. Very unique design. I highly recommend it!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 15, 2010
I had luckily ordered two dresses because my normal size and even one size up did not fit.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2011
Great dress. I received compliments all night. This dress does run small - I normally wear a size 6 in brands such as J. Crew and wore the 8 in this dress. When I first put on the 8 I was afraid it was too tight. But as I adjusted the dress it stretched and lengthened. I am a 34C and it fit great across the bust. The dress is definitely more blue than in the picture - looked great with silver heels. Great experience from RTR! Will definitely rent again.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
October 12, 2011
I loved this dress! It was great looking on and fit well and extremely comfortable. It shows off your curves even if you may not have many. Great for a wedding!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress - when it became availble on RtR, I was ecstatic. The color and sheen of the material is not done justice by the photos online as the steel metallic blue looked even better in person, as did the sequin detailing on the straps. The square neck and back was very cute and flattering as well. This dress was great and fit like a small 6 (I am between a size 4 and size 6), so I was comfortable with the six. I didn't feel the need for body shaping undergarments, but if you're unsure of your posture or midsection, I would definitely recommend Spanx. I was able to wear a thong and a normal strapless bra without any show-through issues. Dress was a great length for my 5-5 frame and didn't ride up. I wore this dress to an evening wedding in October and received many compliments. It's tight but not too tight, and not too revealing in the bust area, even if you're full-figured. I recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 15, 2011
Favorite!
The picture doesn't do the detail in the shoulder sections justice, I got so many compliments. I ordered multiple back up dresses, all in 8 and 10 and this dress was the only I had to wear the 10 in; there isn't any stretch so the larger size felt best around my hips. I wore pewter heels with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 30, 2011
FANTASTIC customer service.
This dress is fantastic and I got a lot of compliments. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 and the 4 was much better- the dress runs a little small.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 11, 2012
Very versatile dress that moved between NYE parties well.
Great dress that appears several different colors (blue, green, silver) in different lights. The back of the dress was super sexy, definitely an up-do/short hair dress. It was a little tighter than I had hoped (probably better on a less curvy girl) but the right underwear would definitely help. My only real complaint was that my inner/under arm area was sore by the end of the evening from the material.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2012
When I didn't have to go shopping in the store for a NYE dress
I ordered the size that I measured up to, and then as my extra dress I went a size up, and I'm glad I did. It ran a bit small. I got a lot of compliments on it so I would recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
August 20, 2012
Loved it!
I am very petite and have a hard time finding dresses that I can wear without alterations. I've always known that Nicole Miller fits me well, but I loved this dress! The sequin detailing adds something a little bit different and I like the cut out in the back. The length wasn't too long since it is very form fitting. Overall, worked out great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
September 15, 2012
FELT BEAUTIFUL AND SIMPLY AMAZING!!
The dress was just perfect. I could have worn the zero or the two, but felt the two fit a little bit better in the chest area. Although it was tight the fabric felt great and didnt make me feel large after eating a BIG dinner!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
Pretty dress but...
I did not realize that the straps had sequins on them. Also the dress I received was more blue than gray.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 24, 2012
Great dress, just not for me
The dress itself is beautiful, however it brought attention to all the wrong parts of my body (my hips). Ended up having to wear my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 11, 2012
A very beautiful dress, but not quite right for my event.
The dress is a beautiful navy color and was just as described. Unfortunately, it was not quite dressy enough for my event. The sequins were rather itchy and given the tight fit I decided not to wear this dress. I would warn anyone with strong legs to proceed with caution, this dress is better suited for a "straight & narrow" body type. I wish it had worked out but it just wasn't for me.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 5, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress! The whole experience was great!
I thought the dress was a bit tight so I ended up wearing the larger size. The sequins on the sleeve were a bit of a bother as others stated. I just can't believe how many compliments I received and the color was great...the picture on the model does not do the color any justice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
October 5, 2012
Gorgeous High Quality Dress!
Rented this and 1 other dress for a work holiday party, the sequin design on the shoulders is much more pronounced and beautiful in person. The dress is tight fitting and not as forgiving as I had hoped, I ended up wearing the other dress, but would rent this again in a bigger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
May 20, 2013
Perfect for a bar mitzvah that called for cocktail attire. Got tons of compliments!!
Wore the 4 and it fit like a glove. Usually, I wear a 2 (or sometimes 4), but i'm busty so the 4 was better and because its such a tight dress, it wasn't big in any areas. As others have mentioned, after several hours my arms did get a little chaffed from the sequins, but it wasn't anything terrible. Definitely would recommend this dress highly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
February 4, 2013
CLASSIC AND SAFE
This was a pretty dress, fitted, with beaded detail in the shoulders, and ruching throughout. However, at the end of the day, this dress just didn't wow me. I felt that the the nature of the stiff material and the ruching unfortunately added more bulk to my silhouette. If you're looking for a classic, "safe" kind of dress, this would be the right one for you. I, on the other hand, was looking for something a little more fashion forward for my event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
November 28, 2011
Amazing Dress!
I received several compliments on this dress. I did go up a size from my usual clothing. The fit is very snug but the texture of the fabric keeps it from looking overly clingy on any particular spot. Very sexy but still elegant.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 29, 2012
Nice Dress
Rented this for a February wedding. Length was perfect. It was really tight though, and there were obvious wear signs on one of the dresses. The sequins on the straps start to irritate your underarms after a while as well. If you don't have a big bust, it's difficult to make that area look nice. All in all though, it worked for the occasion, and was a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 18, 2010
I loved this dress because of it's fit! True to size, the dress hugged my body just enough to be flattering but not too much to be inappropriate. It was also not too short, which is hard to find when you are on the taller side. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 28, 2010
I loved this dress!!! its so cute, also not too short anyone tall because if your tall its long enough but if you short it scrunches up and you can't tell. It such a unique design it was very popular at my dance.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
October 12, 2010
This dress is perfect. Absolutely flattering on, got compliments all night at the wedding I wore it to. Comfortable to dance in, photographs really well, I would recommend anyone get it as their primary or back up dress as a sure-thing to look great in!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 17, 2010
I LOVED this dress! I wore it to my cousin's wedding this fall and got so many compliments on it! It's extremely flattering, I didn't worry once about what I looked like all night! Gorgeous dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
November 1, 2010
I absolutely loved this dress. Like other reviews, I agree, this dress does hug the body. But it is very comfortable and you aren't left fidgeting with it the entire time it's on. It was a nice length--overall a great derss to wear. I also would recommend the earrings in the picture as well-they finish off the look nicely! One thing-the dress is darker than it appears to be in the picture.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 3, 2010
The dress was great. I agree with some others that the color was a little off from the picture (could have just been my screen though). It actually was kind of a navy color, but on my screen it looked more like a dark gray. This was actually a bonus for me when I got the dress though, I thought the blue was nicer. It fit great and was very comfortable, the ruching is really flattering and forgiving!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2010
Gorgeous Dress
This dress is absolutely fabulous on the hanger and on the body. It fits perfectly and the color is closer to a steel grey. The ruching is very flattering and the neckline detail is beautiful. I received many compliments with this dress. Thank you Nicole Miller!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2010
very easy! love the free 2nd dress. This was my 1st dress I wore that night for my bday.
I tried on the 6 first and it fits pretty good, but decided to go with the 8 since the sequined part was rubbing a bit on my shoulder and was making it itchy. But when I switched it to the larger size, it didn't bother me whatsoever. I loved this dress and wore it to my birthday party. If you want to hide things, this will do the trick but will still make you look sexy! Packs really light if you have to take it somewhere with you. I had to do a wardrobe change and it helped to just fold it and it still looked good after. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
December 2, 2010
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! I am usually a size 4, but the 4 was a little too tight. The 6 was perfect and incredibly flattering. I am a D cup and seriously paranoid about ordering clothes online (fearing that I wont be able to zip anything past my waist), but this dress had the perfect amount of stretch. Also, it photographs sooo well! Beautiful ruching and shimmer in the fabric.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
December 2, 2010
LOVE this dress! I still cant believe how amazing it is! The fit is tight but makes you look so skinny, hides everything! Fits my larger chest perfectly. One negative comment is that the sequin straps seemed stretched out on the dress I received. Perhaps that is due to other girls wearing it and stretching it out, still wore it, but was slightly disappointed with that. Definitely felt like I was wearing a very broken in and worn dress. But still gorgeous!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
December 29, 2010
Love this dress!!! I got so many compliments at my office holiday party wearing this dress. As others have said, the color is a bit bluer than it appears in the photo, but it fits true to size. It's form fitting, but still very comfortable. I highly recommend this dress and will definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
December 29, 2010
Got so many compliments wearing this dress that if I hadn't loved it, my mind would have been changed immediately. I did love it though, not only for how forgiving the fabric was, or how easy it was to accessorize, but also because it just had that special something extra while being completely comfortable (wore it for 10 hours and didn't think twice). The color is a little darker when not under camera lights, but pair it with black and clean silver and you're set.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 13, 2011
I liked this dress but I didnt love it. The fit is nice and flattering but the sequins dont stand out much and the dress seemed a bit boring. And I found the fabric to be itchy particularly where the sequins are. A nice dress but not a knock out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
January 13, 2011
this dress was perfect for new years eve! I ended up going with the smaller size because it was more flattering but it was so comfortable and easy to move in yet form fitting. I am still getting compliments from everyone, you should def try this dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
January 31, 2011
I loved this dress! I normally wear a size 6 in dresses, but ended up wearing the 4. The 6 made my body shape look kidn of frumpy and the 4 hugged my body perfectly. If you are going to rent 2 sizes, rent your true size and the size below. Also, the dress looks really sexy with a push up strapless bra :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
February 6, 2011
Love love love! This dress was so extremely flattering. Very fitted, made me feel super sleek! Felt like a million bucks! I wore the smaller of the two sized I ordered, normally an 8 but wore the 6. Loved it with sparkly silver bangles and silver strappy stilettos.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 28, 2011
AMAZING dress that I never would have picked out for myself. Luckily, a smart and fashionable RTR staffer recommended it to me and she was so right! I have never looked or felt more gorgeous in a dress. Thank you, RTR!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 31, 2011
I really liked this dress. It was great with a pair of pearl white heels. I ordered a 6 and an 8 the 6 fit great.
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×