Nicole Miller

Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
368 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(294)
Small
(57)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Body type: Apple
August 16, 2012
pretty
didn't fit sending it back
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 16, 2012
loved it!
ran just a little small, but I expected that of Nicole Miller
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 18, 2012
Many Compliments!
I wore this dress for my at-home reception and loved it. I received so many compliments and it is very flattering. No major complaints!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2012
Pretty dress
This was a pretty dress in the photos, but it did not look good on me when I tried it on.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
August 21, 2012
Damaged and not by me
This dress is very pretty. However, I was charged an extra $50 for a damaged dress and as MANY MANY reviews have previously stated, the dress came looking like it had been around the block few times. The zipper was shotty and the bottom had been folded up one too many times. I didn't care because for fifty bucks at a dark wedding, I thought it looked great. I would highly suggest photographing the dress when you receive it and prior to returning so that you can prove it was the girls before you who "folded up the dress to make it shorter" or who were maybe squeezing into the wrong size or had too much to drink so that you are not charged this fee. This dress has many many reviews regarding wear and tear and I am the unfortunate one who has to pay for it. I will not be using RTR again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2012
Loved it!!
I wore this to a summer wedding and it was such a hit! I have a pear shape body and am short and this dress looked great. The material fit great to my body and was very flattering. Would definitely pick again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 27, 2012
Did not look attractive
Did NOT look attractive on me at all. I've got broad shoulders and wide hips, with a smaller waist.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2012
Fabulous Night Out on the Town
I wore this dress for a "black tie optional" awards dinner in Washington DC for the company my husband works for. It was our first time at this annual dinner, so I didn't want to be too over dressed or too under dressed. This dress worked out PERFECT! I was already a big fan of Nicole Miller. I think her dresses are so figure flattering. And I wanted a summer color for this August event (most of the formal dresses I own are black). The gold was beautiful, and I paired it with new gold earrings and gold strappy heels I already had. I felt wonderful in it all night. One note, it definitely hugs your body. So make sure you are wearing seamless underwear. You don't want any bulges or rolls! I have an athletic build so it made me feel curvy even though I'm not.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 28, 2012
Being the best dress at the wedding!
I was invited to a wedding in Pottsville, PA (home of Yueling Brewery!) and I knew I would dazzle with this rental. Not to bash all of my PA friends, but us city folk know how to dress to a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 28, 2012
Never Wore it
The arm holes are sooo small, make sure you go up at least one size if not 2! I never ended up wearing it, but the color was very pretty.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
August 28, 2012
I loved everyone asking where I got my dress and also knowing no one else would have it!
I ordered a 2 and a 4 and went with the 4, only because it gave me more "dancing" room. It is classy and not too short. Snug and form-fitting though! stretchy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 29, 2012
Nice dress for a wedding
Classic Nicole Miller - you really can't go wrong with her dresses - they are very sexy and flattering to a woman's body. My only problem with this one was the color was not exactly as appears in photos - it was a little on the dull side. It is also def clingy - but at the same time it has a lining that hides flaws somewhat. I didn't feel like I needed to wear spanx with it but some people may want to. I also don't think it would be great for super busty girls. I am a B cup and felt like it was a little snug in the bustline area even though the rest of the dress fit.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
Great dress
I am in between sizes and the fit was great, gave me great room.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 30, 2012
AWESOME NIGHT OUT DRESS!
Love this dress. Fits true to size and is super flattering. Just be careful of the color of the dress and skin tones- I would have preferred a darker color but besides that it was awesome :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 30, 2012
Loved getting the 2 sizes. It was so helpful!
This dress was great! I got a lot of compliments. My only complaint is that there were a few stains on the dress that you could only see in certain lighting. Overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
September 4, 2012
Feeling all dressed up and looking A-OK for an old lady!
I wanted a sexy but classic dress for a dinner out with the husband & drinks with friends. This ran a little bit tight, and the dress itself was a bit more worn than others I've rented from RTR, but it worked just fine. I'd give it a B. Probably would've gotten an A- if it hadn't been so popular (& was in better shape!). Hubby loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 5, 2012
Pretty dress
Wore this to a friends wedding. Fits true to size, very pretty and got lots of compliments, however if you don't like tight dresses you won't like this one...its pretty tight and i found it hard to dance in. Other than that it was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2012
Everyone made a comment about how pretty my dress was. It was the center of attention and made introductions and small talk very easy.
Loved it. Conversation starter. Fit well. Very flattering. Hides extra weight. Many compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 5, 2012
Perfect Dress!
I rented this dress for a friend's October wedding, and I absolutely LOVED it. I've never had so many compliments about how great I looked. All the groomsmen (who I went to high school with) kept hitting on me before the wedding and at the reception!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
September 5, 2012
The best compliment I received was my husband telling me, "You look so good I can't wait to get you out of that dress!" That's saying something after 10 years of marriage! Thanks RTR!
I rented this dress for my 10-year wedding anniversary dinner. It was a huge hit with the hubby! I ordered both the size 8 and size 10. The 8 was perfect. I rarely have an opportunity to wear dressy items, so this was a real treat for me and I felt beautiful all night! I ordered the mystery bling and received the RJ Graziano Dress Me Up necklace. At first I was afraid that the necklace was too much with such an attention grabbing dress, but the RTR stylists assured me that it was perfect. I've received tons of compliments, so I guess they were right. Thank you RTR for making my anniversary dinner even more special. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 6, 2012
Great Dress
I got this dress for a wedding in Long Island and It was such a great pick. I received a lot of complements as well. I'm 5'5 120lb and used black heals. I found it was a great fit but the arm pit area was a little snugg. Other than that the way the dress pulls is flattering on everyone I think.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 7, 2012
Pretty & Simple
Liked it a lot and would have given it 5 stars but the material made me look a bit wide. Cute dress and great color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
I really liked the dress and felt super awesome
It fit well and i received a ton of compliments.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 27, 2013
This dress is comfortable, looks great, and I got tons of compliments all night!
Usually I wear a 10. The 10 was a hair too snug, I probably could have worn it, but since I had the 12 I figured I might as well wear that one. The length was perfect. I don't like skirts that are too short and this one stopped just a few inches above my knees. The dress is very forgiving for any little bulges or things that you would like to hide. I'm pretty sad that I didn't get any full body pictures that night though. Small warning, I thought I could wear a regular bra with this dress, that wasn't the case. I wore strapless and that was fine. It wasn't a big inconvenience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 100lbs
April 1, 2013
Good and reliable services.
I rent a Lilly Pulitzer bag with it, looks good with the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 4, 2013
If only my shoes had been as comfortable as this dress!
I rented this dress for an early spring wedding and it worked out wonderfully. I ended up going with the size 6 because it was slightly longer and gave a bit more breathing room in the arm area. I have broad shoulders and the cut of the smaller dress was too tight around my underarms. The dress is meant to fit snugly, so I would not recommend it if you're trying to hide anything. It does not require a bra, but if you do decide to go with one, you'd likely need a strapless due to the cut. All-in-all... an extremely comfortable dress that received numerous compliments throughout the evening! Once again, a great experience with RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
April 5, 2013
Got tons of compliments when worn to a Martha Stewart White Party
It fits slightly on the small size, especially in the bust - and I'm rather flatchested. It looked great and I got a ton of compliments however, the fabric was of a somewhat lesser quality than I would expect from Nicole Miller. It was on the thin side and therefore was chilly. Slightly itchy too :( But we sacrifice for fashion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 9, 2013
overall good fit. a little tight under the arms
great color and figure flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 11, 2013
Classy, yet eye-catching.
This is a beautiful dress. I didn't end up wearing it because it was my back-up and I loved my other dress more; but this is great especially for a party, Vegas, New Years Eve, etc. Fits nice.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
April 14, 2013
Renting from this website was so easy! My dress came exactly on time
The dress was so comfortable and was easy to dance in. I wore it to a fraternity formal and got many compliments on it. The gold color was so pretty and the dress was form fitting but very flattering, even on someone like me who is curvy. I went with the 6 instead of the 4 because the 6 was a little longer
KenleighJune 7, 2013
So, it's more gold in person, than it is ivory in the picture?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
April 17, 2013
A great gold color that goes with olive to dark skin tones!
It is a little snug, but not uncomfortable! It runs true to size and isnt too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 22, 2013
LOVED this dress.
I wore it to my rehearsal dinner. Great fit, but it runs small. I wear an 8 but the 10 fit perfectly. I own two Nicole Miller dresses and the same goes for those. I had to size up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2013
"New" Dress for a Reasonable Price
I was going to see a Broadway play and rented this dress for the occasion. It was great to have a "new" dress to wear without having to spend $300+ and I received a lot of compliments. The fit was true to size and the color was beautiful. I rated the dress 4 stars because it was very itchy and the neckline didn't fit very well. The square-neck hit at a weird angle and was digging into my armpits the entire night. If the dress had been more comfortable to wear, I definitely would have rated it 5 stars.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 25, 2013
I needed this dress in a hurry and Rent the Runway was able to get it to me so quickly!
This dress fits like a glove and the stretchy material makes it easy to be worn by any and all body types. I have a bigger bust and a smaller waist so I was nervous about using Rent the Runway, when I couldn't try something on first. If that's usually a problem for you, then this is your dress! It's risk-free that it will fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
April 26, 2013
I JUST FELT ALL TYPES OF GLAMOROUS!
It fit perfectly the only thing that bothered me was feeling the uncomfortable zipper under my armpit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 7, 2013
the color was stunning
This was a beautiful dress. Loved the style. It ran a bit small so glad I got 2 sizes to choose from. I think from all the dry cleaning it caused some shaffing on my arms after while. After a couple of drinks though it didn't bother me too much :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2013
I got compliments from total strangers on this dress. I felt like the hottest girl in the room.
It fit as I expected, but once I got it on, there was a water or grease stain on the lower front. I called RTR and they offered me credit for this dress and my backup even though I was just calling to inform them about the stain.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
May 13, 2013
Great concept! Very happy with my rental :-)
Great fit even for girls with narrow hips
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2013
I'm sad I don't have any pictures but I was surprised at how nice this dress looked on me!
I have an hourglass figure, this stretched and fit where it needed to.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 15, 2013
The service was great but the dress didn't work for me.
The dress ran small, I didn't end up wearing it but my friend did. She is a size 8 and wore this dress in a 12. Her body is more athletic. The dress didn't have much give for curves!
See more reviews:
6 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×