Nicole Miller

Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

365 reviews

Fit
Small 57
True to Size 291
Large 17
Photos 183
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a party. Everything about the dress was great--my only complaint is that the arm holes (for lack of a better word here) were a little on the tight side. I'm pretty petite so I didn't really see that coming. Glad I ordered both the 0 (my typical size) and the 2. Oh yeah, and I guess I should say this was a costume party.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Fantastic dress...felt absolutely beautiful all night.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall, great fit. Comfortable and flattering. The bust was a little large but is manageable with the right under garments.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

I loved how this dress hugged my curves, i loved the colors and the "fun" back!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a size 0 but the size 2 fit comfortably. It wasn't as tight as the smaller size.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Flattering and VERY comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was the MOH in my best friends wedding. This is the dress she chose for the bridesmaids. It was VERY flattering on each girl in the wedding. I couldn't decide between the 4 and the 6. The 4 fit better but it was tight under the armpits, so I decided to wear the 6 to juts be more comfortable. This runs pretty true to size otherwise. I usually wear a 4 in dresses.
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

RTR makes looking great SO easy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 2 with a 0 as my back up size and ended up wearing the 2 (I'm usually a 2, but other nicole miller dresses I've worn have run very large!) The dress was nice - not quite as drop dead amazing as other rentals I've gotten, but no complaints!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Vegas bachelorette party - went perfectly with my cute veil! :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
It was longer on me than in the picture, but I'm short! It wasn't too long though - still looked fantastic!
Dena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

I felt great in this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really loved wearing this dress for my 30th birthday party. I felt beautiful without feeling too exposed. The cut of the neckline and hem are surprisingly conservative, but the overall fit of the dress is still very sexy. The color was more beige-gold to me so I had a hard time matching shoes. Also the opening for your arms was a little smaller than most dresses, but I think that is only because the cut of the back opening. I was very happy to have two sizes to choose from and would definitely use RTR again. I was talking about it all night!
TLC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

hot damn, a sexy dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
great fit for any body type- rouching is very forgiving. it's a stretchy material so it was really comfortable to dance/walk in. i wore spanx underneath that helped with my tummy. it came to my knee, which was fine since the rest of it was pretty snug- didn't want to be too sexy for this wedding. The arm holes were a little small and the 0 was a little too taut zipping up, which is why i said it runs small. loved it!!! thanks rtr!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Oct 14, 2012

Great concert dress, perfect for Vegas strip!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was tight looking, but flattering. Tight in the shoulders but comfortable everywhere else. I could have probably used a bigger size, but thats not the dress' fault.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Oct 20, 2012

Great, easy dress - very flattering.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A really easy tube to slide into, wear a bra with, not think about for the rest of the night. Fit great.
Mechelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 29, 2012

perfect dress for Vegas!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
great dress!
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

Absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to the ESPY Awards in LA and it was PERFECT.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great. It was strechy and form fitting and very flattering for my curves. I got a ton of great compliments. Nicole Millers dresses always seem to be very true to size.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 31, 2012

Rented for an NYE party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
perfect for curvy girls.
Sally
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
Oct 31, 2012

BEST Experience!!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very fitted great for the event. Rose up alot but was a great dress overall. Worth the buy and time.
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

It was a little darker than the picture shows, but it's true otherwise. Forgiving in the stomach.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress has a button at the nape of the neck. The button was literally hanging by a thread when I got it. At the wedding I was at, there was a bathroom attendant that re-sewed the button back on for me, so then I had no issues. I was a little annoyed that the dress would come in that condition, but thankfully it was fixable and I was not penalized. In the picture I have uploaded, you can see why this button would be important as the dress does fit nicely along the shoulders.
J e n n a J o
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

Saved me time/money when Dad had a stoke one week before my wedding...RTR saved me!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is very fitted around the hip area but also real comfortable and stretchy! The arm holes are small and kind of cut into my arm pits so I actually just wore the 8 for comfort in the upper area of my body. The two sizes almost fit the same in the bottom area! I have a small bust and waist and a little bigger in the hip area!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

I was impressed with the presentation and the details that went into the experience.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rent the Runway really knows what they're doing! I was so impressed with the presentation and delivery of the dresses (even the pre-labled bag to ship the dress back). The preparation and details that went into the experience were impeccable... Until, I tried the dresses on... I hate to say it, but it was very visible to see the wear and tear on the size I preferred to wear (4). It looked like the zipper and button on the back of the dress had been replaced (a different color thread was used, you could tell if you compared the two dresses), the several dry-cleaning/washings left the lining visible in multiple places along the dress, and the texture of the fabric had obviously seen better days. The other size (2) was in much better condition, the dress looked as if it maybe had been worn once before. The sizes seemed pretty similar but I loved the overall appearance of the second dress more so. Unfortunately, the cut around the shoulders was just too tight. Long story short, I decided to go for the 4 (rather be comfortable) but I was constantly adjusting the straps and the bottom of the dress to make sure the lining wasn't visible. I will absolutely use RTR again! As for constructive criticism, I would suggest and closer evaluation of those dress that are ready to retire. Overall, friends still said the dress was stunning :) Thanks RTR!
Julia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

I felt great in this dress. My husband couldn't stop telling me how sexy I looked in it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both a size 8 and size 10 and ended up wearing the 10. While I fit into the size 8, I have broader shoulders and the top portion was going to be too tight and cut in under my arm pits. The fabric is very stretchy (and forgiving) and comfortable! I'm 5'6" and it hit me a couple of inches above the knee. This dress looks a bit more gold in the pictures. It is more creamy colored. Thanks RenttheRunway for helping make me look great without breaking the bank!
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

This dress was amazing. It fit like a glove and was very flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat. It was perfect for a winter holiday party. I had random people come up to me and compliment me and ask what designer it was.
Knycki
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

I felt (and looked) like a bombshell! It was amazing, great fit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this for my anniversary date. Italian, movie, comedy club. I have an hourglass figure with a full bust which is hard to cover some times. But the dress fit like a glove, was actually warm with the lining. Easy fit..but did need help with zipper and was tight on underarms. Overall; and amazing dress that I wish I could keep.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 25, 2012

Everyone loved the back of this dress and I got a ton of complements!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size. I wore it with a regular strapless bra and spanx. It is VERY tight fitting. I am tall and was worried it would be too short for this formal event, but it was perfect. Loved the dress!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 2, 2012

I took a risk by wearing a light colored dress as my skin is pale. I'm glad I tried something new.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is not one of my favorite RTR dresses, however, I'm glad I took the risk and had the opportunity to rent something I wouldn't buy let alone really try on. In my opinion the dress has mixed fits. I typically wear an 8, but wore a 10 as the straps cut in a bit in the front underarm area. This did leave the rest of the dress a bit roomier in the waist and hips area, but turned out to be a good thing as it made me feel a little less self conscious for wearing a light metallic fabric with horizontal ruching. But the best thing was knowing that my husband really enjoyed the dress.
Elisa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

LOVED IT!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first RTR dress and it was perfect! It's true what everyone says... the compliments never stopped coming! It was amazing and I felt so glamorous. Someone even called me a bombshell... wow! RTR is my new best friend!!
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was gorgeous. Loved the gold color. The dress has a "sheen" to it, but it is not tacky looking. I got tons of compliments on the dress and it is extremely comfortable to wear! The only downside is that the dress is clearly a popular one and had been worn many times before me. The liner at the bottom kept peeking out, and I continually had to tuck it back under. Other than that, loved it!
Sophie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Really loved this service! they made it fast and easy and my designer answered all my questions.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great. I ordered an 8 and 10 the 8 fit well but when i sat down you could see unsightly muffin tops. In the size 10 there was no issue. The dress was very comfortable. It was more gold/ champagne color than it looks in the pictures. I wore a nice pair of gold heels and a little gold hand bag. I also wore a little black shrug with it to help stay a little warmer. I had a ton of compliments on this dress and can't wait for an excuse to rent again
Anna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

I ordered the dress in size 2 & 4, both fit well. The fabric stretches & crinkles hiding any flaws!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The only reason I chose to go with the size 2 instead of the size 4 is because I like shorter dresses that show off my legs. I loved the crinkles in the dress because they hid the one flaw I am most self-conscious about. Everyone commented on how amazing the dress looked. My one tip - for fair skinned girls such as my self is get a spray tan before your event so your coloring against the dresses coloring doesn't get washed out.
K-Ry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

Gorgeous, form-fitting dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely love this dress. It hugs all the right places and is a great color. I did rent one size up as well, which I would recommend to anyone interested in this dress. My regular size *just* fit, but I was very close to needing a size up. It's a matter of comfort, and some women might feel more comfortable having a second option. Still, a gorgeous dress that I would definitely rent again! I wish I had rented some black onyx jewelry to contrast with the color.
Christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

Two people I'd never met before came up to me at the party and said "best dress of the night!"

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 was VERY stretched out from a previous wearer. I panicked a bit but then I tried on the 4 and it fit perfectly. I loved the dress and felt beautiful in it. Large busted girls may have some issues with the top area because once zipped up it's pretty tight. The color is great for cocktail parties, the gold definitely stands out in a sea of black. Loved my experience with RTR and will definitely use them again!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Wonderful !

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit like a glove, pretty stretchy. Would definitely recommend this dress!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

Lovely, glamorous, and comfortable.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is simply gorgeous. The color is a light gold, and the ruched waist area hides a multitude of sins during those parties when perhaps you're drinking a few too many fizzy drinks... I'm a petite gal, so I was pleased that the 0 fit me well, particularly when I wore a bra that enhanced that part of my body. Great deal and just beautiful. Thanks, RTR!
Alexa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect for New Years!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the perfect New Years Eve dress. The 6 fit perfectly and really clung to all my curves. It was a little tight around the bust so if you have bigger boobs you might want to consider sizing up. All in all, very comfortable dress.
Katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

easy delivery and returns, extra days to return to account for NYE

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
have rented a few times before and had great experiences - this time was no different. fit was great, big hit with the party for NYE, and the boyfriend loved it :) note that the dress is more champagne colored than gold, but wasn't an issue
Candice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

This dress fit beautifully!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 6 in Nicole Miller dresses, but I rented a 4 because the 6 was unavailable. I was pleasantly surprised at the fit of this particular dress. It hugged every inch of my body and was comfortable enough that I could dance (and eat!) in it. This is by far my favorite dress that I have rented from RTR! I would highly, highly recommend it. The pictures online simply do not do it justice. Super glamorous and classy!
nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Made me the belle of the ball at my own NYE party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit like a 0. I was a bit worried about the arms because some of the reviewers were mentioning the armholes were super small. I have pretty big arms so I got the 2 for back up too, but the 0 was perfect and comfortable. The first time I tried the dress on, it came up to my knees. I was hoping for it to be shorter, but figure it would be fine. When I put the dress on for the event, I was in a rush and the bottom rolled up underneath. It was awesome, I was able to turn it into a mini. I had originally worn it with gold heels and had a much dressier look. Then we decided to go across the street to the park to watch fireworks. So I threw on my riding boots and my leather jacket and it still works! I love the versatility of this dress. I went from cocktail party look to a punk rock concert look.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jan 5, 2013

Great for New Years! So comfortable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the 8 because I ordered the day before (oops) and my size was not available. The 8 fit pretty well because the material was stretchy. Maybe a little loose on the top but overall a great fit. It was amazingly comfortable and hid my mid section very well. I highly recommend!
Kathleen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

Classy and Fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a perfect choice for my first RTR experience. I am usually a size 4 and think that overall fit better but the armholes were very small and kept rubbing. In hindsight I wish I wore that size and dealt with the rubbing. I ended up going with the 6 for more room in the arm pits. The stretch is great - the dress is very comfortable and flattering. The size 6 dress should have been retired - was worn and the bottom lining kept falling down below the dress. But RTR customer service was great when I brought this to their attention after the fact. It's more champagne than it looks in the picture and doesn't need much jewelry to go with it. Just a simple, beautiful dress.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a perfect fit! It fit like it had been tailor made just for me. The color is beautiful and I had so many compliments on it. I am a size 0 and it was very true to the fit for me.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

Best quote of the night: "You look like movie stars!"

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The dress fits fairly true to size. I'm usually a size 4 (sometimes a 6), and the 6 fit really well. It's a tight dress, but very flattering because of the rouching and material. The color is really pretty - it's a subtle shade of gold that really pops in pictures. The back is really fun, too. My friend and I both rented from RTR for a night out on the town in Orlando, and we loved the experience!
aly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

a head turner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
definitely a tight-fitting dress. however, it hugged my curves in the right places. the only issue i had was that the fabric is cut high and rubbed against my underarms, which was a bit uncomfortable
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 31, 2013

Very cute dress, but too much rouching.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought the dress had a bit too much rouching in person. I wore it for my grandparent's golden anniversary party. I loved the sleeves and the cut-out back, but the rest left a little to be desired.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×