Nicole Miller

Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
369 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(294)
Small
(58)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2011

Love this dress! I typically wear a 4 or 6 in dresses and the 6 fit perfect! It was very comfortable and flattering!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 16, 2011

It's more like true to size/large. My only issue is that the metal fabric chafed inside my upper arms. I rented this for my wedding reception and it was a knockout. The Ivanka Trump gold peeptoes they have at macy's right now match the dress perfectly.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
October 17, 2011

Super comfy, a tad on the long side, but really looked great! It's really stretchy, but still looks really fancy. I wore a strapless bra and still managed to have a little cleavage, but not too much.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 19, 2011
Everyone loved the dress! I have never felt so beautiful in my life!

I typically wear a 10/12 and the 10 fit perfectly! Because this dress stretches, the smaller size was actually perfect. I have a 36 G chest which makes dresses very challenging to find and this one fit like a glove yet was still comfortable & beautiful. I have never received so many compliments in one night!

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 19, 2011

I am petite but athletic and this dress was perfect. It has a lot of stretch and hugs in all the right spots. The straps did cut into me a little like other reviews stated, but not to a point that I was uncomfortable. Tons of complements with this dress!!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 20, 2011

This dress looked like it was made for my daughter. She wore it for Homecoming and it was perfect. She is tall, athletic and has a GG bust. Wow. Great fit, soft hug and the material is beautiful. Perfect for any age.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
October 28, 2011

This dress fits amazingly! I'm def full busted, and it hugged me in all the right places while still concealing what needed to be hidden. The material completely hid my tum-tum, which was awesome. I loved it!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
November 4, 2011

This dress was awkward. I general wear between a 10 or 12 depending on the designer so I ordered both. The 10 was way to tight. I couldn't even zip it up but the 10 was way too big. Didn't fit my curves or anything just kinda hung. Plus the lining was all messed up. It hung below the dress like it has been wore far too many times.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2011

This dress is absolutely gorgeous! When it first arrived, I was not sure this dress was going to fit because it looked so small on the hanger. Don't be fooled by this. This dress has so much stretch to it. I am a 38DD and ordered the size 12 - fit perfectly. Wore it to a wedding tonight and received so many compliments, that I wish I owned this dress. Will definetly rent this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 121lbs
November 11, 2011
Not the best for small chest

I ordered this dress in both a size 4 and a size 6. This dress runs way small. Could not even get into the size 4. Chest-wise, probably best for a C cup. The size 6 fit OK but had a chest flattening effect. Also, the lining on the size 6 kept poking out the bottom of the skirt. Wish that RTR would include a body type of SMALL CHEST, because pear-shape does not necessarily imply a small chest. Had to return both sizes, unworn.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2011
The ease of renting was the best! It was like Christmas opening the dress up for the first time! I also love chatting with your stylists! They are extremely helpful!

I wore this to an evening wedding and it was spectacular! It is very form fitting but the ruching helps hide any flaws. I do have to say if you're dancing a lot it does ride up some. Although it might just be me not used to a shorter dress. It isn't as long in the pictures either and I'm 5'8 more like mid thigh. Lovely color, more gold than the picture but still amazing. I would definitely rent this one again! Although with all the dresses on this site probably not! Thanks RTR for an amazing dress!!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 20, 2011
Perfect party dress

This is a great dress! I am usually a 10 but one of the RTR consultants said to order up and she was exactly right. The 12 fitted perfectly, just like most 10s do on me. It is very comfortable (really important to me) and also different and eye catching - there weren't any dresses like it at my 350+ attendee event. It is form fitting but moves and stretches, easy to sit and dance in. I loved it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2011
This dress was awesome. I just had twins 11 months ago. I wore this to a class reunion and everyone said I looked better than I looked in high school (25 years ago)!!!

Loved it!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2011
I rented this dress from New Jersey for a Florida wedding. The dress arrived on time. I received so many compliments. I returned it from Florida without a hitch!! So hooked with RENT THE RUNWAY! Thank you!!

I ordered a size 2 and 4. The dress came and it did run a little small. I wore the size 4 and it fit like a dream. Beautiful fabric. Received so many compliments. I would suggest going up one size from what you usually wear.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
The compliments on the dress.

I wore this to my company Holiday party last year and everyone loved the color and the fit. It was a perfect dress for an awesome event.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
November 30, 2011
As this was for my bachelorette, I knew I probably wouldn't wear the dress again. So, it didn't make sense to buy one. RTR was so convenient!

I wore this dress for my bachelorette party last May. I ordered a 0 and a 2 and wore the 0. It was a little long on me, so I had to tuck the hem under. I really liked the dress, but I think it would look better on someone with more hips than me. Also, the button on the back of the 0 looked like it was about to fall off (it didn’t). But it had me worried all night! That said, it really was a gorgeous dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2011
Standing out in pictures next to all the girls in LBDs.

I ordered this dress for New Years Eve and loved it. I was nervous because the model in the picture is built slim where I definitely have some curves but it still fit like a glove. The dress is a little darker than it appears in the pictures but it is comfortable and definitely stands out next to all the LBDs.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 104lbs
October 3, 2011
Fit perfectly!

When I first put this dress on it felt itchy but it fit PERFECTLY, I'm a size 0 and 5'6'' and it fit to a T. Loved the color! It is NOT too white for a wedding its more of a gold/metallic, you can adjust the length easily by pulling the skirt up or down w/o it looking strange. LOVE the back of this dress, danced all night at an outdoor wedding in South Carolina and received MANY compliments!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 5, 2011
Best feeling in the world when you know that the dress looks amazing and feels so comfortable.

First Rental w/RTR and I am hooked :) Arrived by UPS in plenty of time to make changes with RTR. I was concerned about the dress fit since I have a petite body type, yet the it was perfect. The dress positively accentuates your curves which would be great for all body types. The rental was for a holiday office party and due to the beautiful material I could eat/drink with out the worry that it would show in the stomach area. Wonderful color, especially in a sea of black. It was great to know that no one else would be wearing this dress that sometimes can occur from buying one at a department store. I loved the Sunday return was USPC, since all UPS store locations in my area are not open on this day. Very easy and fun process overall, Thanks so much RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 13, 2011
first rtr dress!

I ordered this as my primary dress and did not end up wearing it. I'm between a 0 and a 2, the 2 fit better but I thought it was a little worn and old. It is an awesome dress though, super form fitting and would have looked fabulous if it was in better shape. Thankfully I ordered a back up dress that worked well so my overall RTR experience was great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2011
34H's? This fits GREAT!

So, I was really skeptical that anything "designer" would fit my post-baby boobies. Pre-pregnancy I had a hard enough time with my natural 34E's... and now that I'm a nursing momma, with 34H's. Pretty ridiculous, right? This dress *FIT*. I ordered an 8 and a 10, because with a tiny waist and huge hips, my jeans run rather large. Surprisingly, the 8 fit great, with the fabric concealing any bit of flab I might've had. The neckline is very flattering and wasn't revealing, and the bottom hemline hit just above my knees. The downsides: the fabric resembles shimmery curtains, but for a party dress, who cares? Also, the top is rather difficult to zip up, but once zipped, is just fine. I wasn't squeezing into it either. Altogether, I'm very impressed with this dress! (My husband was pleased too, haha).

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
December 20, 2011
I stood out that day. I had a lot of nice compliments. :)

I wore this at a wedding.I had lots of compliments and some people asked where I bought it.I received the dress just 2 days before the event, I had no problem with the size and I'll do it again at my next event! Thanks Renttherunway! :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2011
LOVED THIS DRESS

It was fun material that complemented my figure. It was really comfortable and shiny - perfect for the holidays!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
December 30, 2011
Every eye turned my way when I entered the party

It hugs you in all the right places, but still allowing room to dance all night in. The dress was very flattering and sensual...Definately will rent again

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 31, 2011
I got compliments all night long on how great the dress looked on me. It was so easy and much better than buying this dress! It came right on time and was so easy to ship back! They gave me everything to go with this dress and even let me keep the hanging bag! RTR made my night fabulous!

This dress looks awesome on! Its stretchy and comfortable. I got lots of compliments on it all night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2012
This RTR experience make me feel like the belle of the ball with all the compliments I received!

I wore this dress to a summer wedding and received so many nice comments about it! I normally wear a 4, but the 6 also fit almost perfectly too. It's very comfortable and breathable, making it a great warm weather rental. The color is true to the picture, as well as the "crinkle" effect. The only drawback is that for a more broad-shouldered/bigger busted person, the top on the 4 was a bit snug (although I still wore it). I'd recommend sizing up. To sum it up, I loved wearing this dress and would rent it again!

KristynJanuary 1, 2012
I want to rent this for a wedding, but it looks pretty white in the pictures. Was it more gold in person?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2012
Had a great NYE and the dress made it even better! My boyfriend couldn't keep his eyes off me.

I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve event. I loved the color, which is a light gold that almost appears to glow in the right light. It stood out from all the other LBD's that were worn that night. It was also very comfortable. The material is very stretchy, so it's easy to move around in. I would say the dress fit fairly true to size however, I have a more athletic build and the 4 was tight around my shoulders and chest. Therefore, I decided to wear the 6 whose length I liked better anyhow. I assume this dress does get rented a lot and there were some signs of wear, mostly on the inside. The material on the inside of the straps were somewhat pilled and a little itchy. Overall though I thought it was a great dress, well worth the rental price.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
January 3, 2012
Feeling gorgeous all night and comfortable in a designer dress.

I rented this dress for New Year's Eve. I got a 10 and a 12. Although stretchy material I felt more comfortable in the 12, but the 10 would have been fine,it was just a preference of mine. The larger size wasn't as form fitting. This dress was comfortable to move in and I got tons of compliments! RTR called me after I made my order and they added some Kate Spade earrings as a bonus to complete the look. It was a great personal touch. Everything about NYE this year was memorable and I would definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2012
A complete random stopped to ask if this was a 'Nicole Miller.' I was thrilled to tell her yes!

I absolutely loved wearing this dress! I wore it for my boyfriend's Company Holiday Party and I recieved so many compliments. I was definitely a statement piece in the sea of black cocktail dresses; yet it was tasteful and elegant. This dress is perfect for every body type.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 4, 2012
RTR was so easy to use & extremely convenient! Although wearing these gorgeous dresses makes you want to keep them............If you can't afford a $500+ dress, renting is the way to go! Especially for a dress that you may only wear once or twice. :)

This dress fit so well! It was so hard to pack it up to ship it back, I wanted to keep it!! I've never felt so amazing in any other dress before! I highly recommend this dress to anyone who wants to look fab for the night! I wore it for NYE & got compliments all night long!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 6, 2012
So easy, fun and inexpensive. I love bragging about it too!

I loved the dress. It was so comfortable, lots of wiggle room (if you know what I mean).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 9, 2012
Just OK

The color of this dress is much prettier in person than in pictures. I was super excited to try it on. Unfortunately, the fit wasn't great. I usually wear a size 2, but had to wear the backup size 4. The size 2 cinched my waist perfectly and hit the right spot on my leg, but the straps were too short so the dress came up really high on my underarms & the neckline hit an awkward place on my chest. I opted to wear the bigger size so the neckline would look nice, but my body was more frumpy. Overall, the dress was pretty but it wasn't flattering.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
January 10, 2012
This was my first rental and have already reserved my next dress for a wedding in May.

I was very happy with how this dress looked! There could be a little more room or give in the under arm area, it seemed a little tight but other than that it was great! It was super comfortable besides the under arm area.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2012
Magical from the moment I put the dress on until the moment I took it off :)

This dress fits like a glove. It hugs all the right areas and the stretchy material makes it comfortable to wear and dance the night away, which is what I did :) I love Nicole Miller and own some of her dresses and they always deliver! Love the dress, love this website and LOVED all the compliments I got throughout the night!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 13, 2012
Awesome first RTR experience!

I rented this dress for my Bachelorette party in Atlantic City. I absolutely loved it! The fit was great, hugged all the right places, but was still stretchy so it was comfy. Only (tiny) complaint was that it was a little tight under the arms. Also, the color was slightly more gold than in the picture. I received many compliments! I will definitely be using RTR again!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
February 15, 2012
perfect

This dress was so comfortable and such a pretty color. It fit great and hid anything you want to hide while accentuating everything you want to accentuate. Defintely a great rent!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
February 15, 2012
Everyone loved it!

it was pretty accurate and stretchy so if anything it runs bigger than normal. but it worked for me

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 19, 2012
RTR's stylist definitely helped me with my entire look....:)

This dress was perfect. It was definitely fitted like the other reviews say and although I'm always several different sizes (lol) The 8 was perfect but somewhat hoochie so I opted for my back up dress of a size 10 as suggested by the chat stylist which was very helpful. However, I wore it to a French Embassy gala event and it was perfect! Especially since I didn't want to wear a long gown like all the other women. Overall, satisfied and can't wait for my next rental!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 4, 2012
Great for a wedding!

This dress is very form fitting. It hugs all the right areas and is stretchy. It was pretty comfortable and I was able to dance all night but it does rub a little in the underarm area. Up close you can tell the dress has been worn numerous times but still looked very nice. This was my first time renting from RTR and have to say it was a fabulous experience!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2012
Beautiful Dress

I wore this dress to a summer wedding and it was a hit. Looked tiny when I took it out of the bag but fit like a glove. The color is great with a tan. Very comfortable and flattering. It is very fitted so if you have any body issues I would not recommend this dress.

See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×