Nicole Miller

Shooting Star Dress

$43 to buy
$420 retail
Stylist Notes

You're a tiger! Bring that inner animal and knock their socks off when you walk in wearing this Nicole Miller blue sequin ruched dress. Great for all figures!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy sequins. Surplice neckline. Cross back. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(78)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 26, 2014
Received compliments ALL NIGHT!
I LOVED this dress! I'm extremely small in the chest area, but if I wasn't I probably would have sized up. I was a bit worried about how low-cut it was, but fashion tape fixed it right up. I'm just sad that I couldn't keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 19, 2015
Very dissapointed
Fit was totally weird. I did not wear for the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 106lbs
January 11, 2016
Fun little dress for a Reach for the Stars Gala!
I wasn't sure about this dress and color as I don't normally wear full sequins and didn't want to look like a Dallas Cowboy cheerleader but the dress wore well for the theme and I got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Bust size: 34D
February 24, 2014
I felt absolutely gorgeous in this dress!
I rented this for a date night in Vegas for my husband's birthday. I rented an 8 and 10, unsure if which would fit best. The 8 fit, but as previous reviews mentioned, the straps were too tight. I ended up wearing the 10. My only complaint is that the dress creeped up as I walked, I felt like I was pulling it down a lot. That could be because I went with the larger size. I'm small chested (34B) and needed something to create a little cleavage, so I wore the nubra with it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Body type: Full Bust
July 23, 2013
Extremely poor fit. Thankfully, I owned something else that I could wear.
Could not pull this dress down over chest. Could not get arms through. All my business clothes are sz 12 and comfortable. Read all the reviews and thought it would work for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
September 8, 2013
I Wanted to Love It...
It's a very pretty dress, unfortunately I'm fairly.. Busty. at 34DD I was bursting out of this dress, and it was too tight across the hips. I am regularly an 8 in dresses so I ordered an 8 and a 10. The 8 was too snug all around, and the 10 was too loose, except in the bust where it was still so tight I could barely breathe. I ended up having to return it. If you have a more modest chest, this would probably be great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
September 7, 2014
Did not wear. Awful for for big busted gals!!!
I usually love Nicole Miller, but this one was awful! I ordered the 10 (no other size available so I couldn't soE up). It did NOT stretch at all in the busy area and had these weird holes so my boobs showed! It was awful. I was luckily staying in the cosmopolitan in Vegas where the RTR store is located so was able to swap!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 18, 2012
Looking in the mirror for the first time to see myself in this gorgeous dress!
I rented this dress for a friends 21st birthday party. I am athletic, so I found the dress a bit snug in the arms and back area. Luckily, the material is stretchy so it was not too uncomfortable, but I would recommend wearing spanx to provide for a smoother appearance. The dress hit me mid-thigh and I was wearing 3" wedges. I would recommend this dress to anyone who wants to sparkle for a fun night out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 2, 2012
Being sparkly in sequins!
I rented this dress for a girls night in Vegas. I was worried about it looking too much like a prom dress rather than a party dress, but was pleasantly surprised. The dress was very stretchy for sequins! My only complaint was the straps rubbed a little bit right near the armpit. But otherwise, very comfortable. I rented the size 2 and 4, but ended up wearing the 2. I'm usually a size 4, so maybe this dress ran a little big, but both dresses seemed to fit about the same, but the 2 fit better in the chest.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
Rent the Runway gave me the opportunity to satisfy both my champagne taste AND my beer budget. My night was made so much more special because of Rent the Runway!
I wore this to the opening night of a Broadway show and I got compliments all night long! I felt so glamorous. I gave it only four stars because sizing was a little tricky. The size 8 fit my hips and waist, but was too small in the bust and finding the right bra was tricky. This, however, is an issue I run into a lot so I'm not entirely sure it was the dress's fault. It's not a dress for the modest so if you have the confidence to wear it, go for it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 28, 2012
Great dress!!
I loved this dress! It was beautiful and the back criss cross looked excellent on. My only problem with this dress is that I am busty and it didn't flatter my chest area. So I ended up wearing the other dress I rented. I was able to wear a strapless with it, just pulled it down a bit lower in the back, but it still wasn't flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
August 31, 2012
Being called Fireworks with my other girls in sequins too!
I love Nicole Miller dresses for larger busts! The sequins were subtle but eye catching! I always recommend going up a size if you need the extra coverage.
RhondaSeptember 30, 2012
Hi, what type of bra did you wear with this dress? I'm busy as well and think it looks great on you. Thanks.
AllisonNovember 16, 2012
Actually went with no bra since the V neck is quite low, but good support within the dress fabric itself.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 18, 2012
The perfect dress for your bachelorette party!!
This dress was perfect for my bachelorette party!! The fit was sexy, it hugged my curves in all the right places, and the ruched stomach helped hide any imperfections! The bust on the 4 was a little tight on me, but the 6 was too big everywhere else, so I went with the 4 and felt great all night! Perfect dress to stand out!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
The dress was GORGEOUS!
I loved everything about this dress except the length, I am 5'2 and it was a bit too long, it came down to my knee (as apposed to the model). The fabric did not stretch around the bust and armpits so it felt a bit restrictive with certain movements but other than that it was awesome, I felt like a celebrity in it all night :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
October 3, 2012
So flattering!
The cinched waist, low cut neckline, and longer length of dress worked really well together. Kept the dress classy yet sexy. Wore this to a bachelorette party in Vegas -- lots of compliments! I looked around for gold/yellow shoes to wear with it, but ended up rocking black and it worked well.
KarenDecember 2, 2012
Could you wear a bra with this dress? If yes what kind did you wear? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 25, 2012
.
Great dress. I'm very petite (5'0), so it was not super short on me. One warning to petite people: you might need fashion tape to keep the dress up around the bust because the straps assume you're tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 26, 2012
I did not end up wearing this dress as it did not fit my body type.
I am 5' 1'' about 115 lbs and pretty small chested. I felt like this dress did nothing for my body, especially in the chest area, and I chose not to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2012
Dark blue gem. It's all about the color!
I rented this Nicole Miller dress for a holiday cocktail party. The photo isn't the best considering my hair had gotten a bit messy and the shoes are not shown. I tried to snap a shot at the end of the night! I went for a sleek look with my hair pulled to one side, tall strappy silver heels, and vintage costume jewelry. I got both a 2 and 4. The smaller size ended up being my choice since it seemed to wear a bit shorter in length than the 4 (more like the model shown). The stretch also allowed me to go smaller than my usual. I agree with the other reviews that the back straps are a tad bit uncomfortable by the end of the night, but not enough to suggest not renting the dress. Overall I received many compliments and the color is definitely the highlight. The dark blue jewel tone is what makes this cocktail dress into something a little extra special.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 23, 2012
The color was perfect for the Diabetes Research Institute Empire Ball in NYC
Very low cut, but has some give throughout for comfort. The ruching helps hide some problem areas. It was really fun and festive and the color is more beautiful in person!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
February 1, 2013
I loved it!
I wore it to Vegas to go to a nightclub. It was a perfect fit and covered up the mommy tummy. The material had some stretch and looked fantastic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
February 10, 2013
I liked the sparkle of the dress. The design of the dress was flattering too.
The dress looked great! I have an hour glass figure and it showed the curves. I was worried about the v neck and it was fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 25, 2013
I have rented many dresses from RTR and this is my favorite so far!
Love, Love, Love this dress. It drapes beautifully, the color is great and it is very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
March 10, 2013
Sexy and fun!
I got the 10 and the 12 and they both fit but the 12 was a little more comfortable. I received so many compliments all night. Very sexy and fun dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
May 9, 2013
Im obsessed with Rent The Runway!
This dress was beautiful and it made me feel glamorous. It stood out in every photo. This was my first time using Rent thee Runway but will not be the last...Kudos to you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 1, 2013
Tons of compliments!
I ordered a size 4 and 6, and the 6 fit perfectly. I wore Spanx underneath just to give it that extra hourglass touch although I didn't really need it. The fit was a little snug around the shoulders/neck (criss-cross portion) but not enough to result in unsightly back fat. I wore it to a daytime wedding. It was a little much for the daytime so I paired it with a short black blazer until the reception started. I wore matted black platform pumps so as not to take any attention away from the dress. I received so many compliments from people I had never met! I'm definitely satisfied with the rental experience and will be using Rent the Runway for future events.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 6, 2013
It was my first time using RTR, and it really was a great experience!
I loved the fit, it was just as described and it looked great without a bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 8, 2013
Gorgeous dress. Got lots of compliments!
This dress fit well, true to size, but tricky if you need a bra. I bought a nubra to wear, but didn't really need it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
October 16, 2013
Stunning dress!
Wore the dress without a bra (the nu bra kept slipping down as it became sweaty), but it worked well, not too scratchy, and the fabric/sequins covered up mid-section body flaws wonderfully!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 20, 2013
The reaction from my date upon seeing me & all the compliments from strangers were priceless!
The 8 fit, but the 10's draping was slightly more flattering. Size up if you think you might be inbetween. The dress is very comfortable, not constricting and the sequins do not chafe. Sorry for the selfies, but in this dress, the evening flies by. I was too busy enjoying my date, feeling glamorous, and ALL the looks & compliments!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2013
Fun and Sexy! A little tight in shoulders...
The dress LOOKED amazing, but it was uncomfortable. I ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 fit so nicely in the mid section (waist, bum, length), but then was so small on top, and I don't mean in the boobs. The straps were really tight and not adjustable, so it rubbed in my armpits and shoulders all night and left me with the red rashes! I also had to wear sticky boobs because my bust didn't fill the dress (but then they looked AMAZING!) It was kind of itchy too. Very fun dress, just not for athletes with big shoulders!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2013
Beautiful but scandalous
This was my back-up dress for my company holiday party. It was beautiful and fit true to size, but good Lord, it was low cut. I'm a D cup, and they were totally spilling out. Maybe best for smaller busts...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2013
My fiance loved it!
I have never worn a dress with such a low neck line before and luckily I had a bra that was a little too big and could be worn with it. Which brings me to my main complaint which is that you have to be big chested to wear this dress. I normally have trouble fitting my bust (28 C/D) into dresses that fit but with this dress the straps were oddly very wide I was worried about too much showing. But otherwise the dress was very comfortable, it's stretchy, and was conservative on the bottom half, the criss-cross straps look nice. And I agree with other reviewers, if you have broad shoulders or a big rib cage, don't get this dress, the straps will be too tight. It was fine for me though. Those are the only negatives, otherwise I felt amazing in it and got lots of looks from (jealous) girls :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 8, 2013
Devil in a Blue Dress!!!
This dress made me feel SO sexy!!! I felt like Jessica Rabbit with brown hair and a blue dress haha :) My boyfriend LOVED it. We went out for date night in Vegas, dinner and a show. I felt so glamorous and beautiful. The fit was super flattering, and definitely ran true to size. Thanks RTR!!!
RTR CustomerDecember 7, 2013
You look great! Do you mind saying what type of bra you wore with this dress?
KellyDecember 23, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much!! I actually didn't need a bra - this dress was very supportive!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 1, 2014
Great NYE Dress!
Wore for New Years Eve. Great dress, fit well. The arms can be a bit uncomfortable, but not a huge deal. The sequin was actually comfortable. Awesome dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2014
Fun flirty dress
This dress was comfortable and flattering. I was even able to wear a strapless bra with it using a Victoria's Secret band extender.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2014
Many compliments on my dress.
Nice fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
February 28, 2014
Really showcased my boobs
Loved this dress. It made my boobs really stand out though, which was nice for a change. I wore it for a Christmas holiday outing with coworker's. It really hugged my body and I felt super sexy. RTR always comes through.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 4, 2014
Not for the large busted
Rented this and another option for a wedding, and the wrap design at the bust is unforgiving for large breasts. There are holes underneath where your boobs are that basically exposed half my breast. Was a great dress, would have loved to wear it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2014
Such a gorgeous, great fitting dress
The dress fit like a glove and hugged me in all the right places while still being super comfortable to dance in all night. I wore it with a nubra and got so many compliments on it that I'm renting it again for another event :)
joelleJuly 10, 2014
I'm also going to rent this dress for a bachelorette , what kind of bra did u end up wearing? A nude?
chelseaJuly 14, 2014
I ended up wearing a nubra, it's one of the bras that you stick on
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
July 29, 2014
Dress was my first choice but zipper snagged
The Dress is HOT! The color is electrifying and it fit like a glove. I ended up wearing my other choice because the zipper snagged but I turned around and tried to rent it again the following week but it wasn't available. I would love the chance to wear this dress out. It was gorgeous.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×