Rent the Runway

Nicole Miller

Shooting Star Dress

$45 rental
$420 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You're a tiger! Bring that inner animal and knock their socks off when you walk in wearing this Nicole Miller blue sequin ruched dress. Great for all figures!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy sequins. Surplice neckline. Cross back. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

93 reviews

Fit
Small 21
True to Size 60
Large 7
Photos 62
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 18, 2012

Looking in the mirror for the first time to see myself in this gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a friends 21st birthday party. I am athletic, so I found the dress a bit snug in the arms and back area. Luckily, the material is stretchy so it was not too uncomfortable, but I would recommend wearing spanx to provide for a smoother appearance. The dress hit me mid-thigh and I was wearing 3" wedges. I would recommend this dress to anyone who wants to sparkle for a fun night out!
Cindy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 2, 2012

Being sparkly in sequins!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a girls night in Vegas. I was worried about it looking too much like a prom dress rather than a party dress, but was pleasantly surprised. The dress was very stretchy for sequins! My only complaint was the straps rubbed a little bit right near the armpit. But otherwise, very comfortable. I rented the size 2 and 4, but ended up wearing the 2. I'm usually a size 4, so maybe this dress ran a little big, but both dresses seemed to fit about the same, but the 2 fit better in the chest.
Kate
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 9, 2012

Rent the Runway gave me the opportunity to satisfy both my champagne taste AND my beer budget. My night was made so much more special because of Rent the Runway!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to the opening night of a Broadway show and I got compliments all night long! I felt so glamorous. I gave it only four stars because sizing was a little tricky. The size 8 fit my hips and waist, but was too small in the bust and finding the right bra was tricky. This, however, is an issue I run into a lot so I'm not entirely sure it was the dress's fault. It's not a dress for the modest so if you have the confidence to wear it, go for it!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Being called Fireworks with my other girls in sequins too!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I love Nicole Miller dresses for larger busts! The sequins were subtle but eye catching! I always recommend going up a size if you need the extra coverage.
Sharon
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

The dress was GORGEOUS!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved everything about this dress except the length, I am 5'2 and it was a bit too long, it came down to my knee (as apposed to the model). The fabric did not stretch around the bust and armpits so it felt a bit restrictive with certain movements but other than that it was awesome, I felt like a celebrity in it all night :)
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

So flattering!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The cinched waist, low cut neckline, and longer length of dress worked really well together. Kept the dress classy yet sexy. Wore this to a bachelorette party in Vegas -- lots of compliments! I looked around for gold/yellow shoes to wear with it, but ended up rocking black and it worked well.
Dyanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 14, 2012

Makes you feel like sexy blue disco ball!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
My friend and I threw a "Superhero" themed party for our birthdays. When I saw this dress, I knew it would be the perfect outfit for Kitana from the video game Mortal Kombat. I usually wear a size 6/8 and the 8 was pretty roomy. I had to use fashion tape to shorten the dress and keep my boobs from falling out. But it still looked great, and I was getting compliments all night! I don't usually like sequins, but the dress wasn't tacky or too shiny. The back was my favorite part!
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Dark blue gem. It's all about the color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this Nicole Miller dress for a holiday cocktail party. The photo isn't the best considering my hair had gotten a bit messy and the shoes are not shown. I tried to snap a shot at the end of the night! I went for a sleek look with my hair pulled to one side, tall strappy silver heels, and vintage costume jewelry. I got both a 2 and 4. The smaller size ended up being my choice since it seemed to wear a bit shorter in length than the 4 (more like the model shown). The stretch also allowed me to go smaller than my usual. I agree with the other reviews that the back straps are a tad bit uncomfortable by the end of the night, but not enough to suggest not renting the dress. Overall I received many compliments and the color is definitely the highlight. The dark blue jewel tone is what makes this cocktail dress into something a little extra special.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168 lbs
Sep 8, 2013

I Wanted to Love It...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It's a very pretty dress, unfortunately I'm fairly.. Busty. at 34DD I was bursting out of this dress, and it was too tight across the hips. I am regularly an 8 in dresses so I ordered an 8 and a 10. The 8 was too snug all around, and the 10 was too loose, except in the bust where it was still so tight I could barely breathe. I ended up having to return it. If you have a more modest chest, this would probably be great!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 25, 2013

Didn't end up wearing, the neck fit oddly

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Might fit others better but for me the neck didn't work
Jonelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

Pretty party dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A great party dress. Unfortuately I didn't get to wear either dress due to one of them not fitting and the correct size having a tear. To Rent the Runway's credit they took care of everything. One of RTR's go to girls called and we figured out options for my event. Thank you RTR for saving the day!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

Beautiful but scandalous

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back-up dress for my company holiday party. It was beautiful and fit true to size, but good Lord, it was low cut. I'm a D cup, and they were totally spilling out. Maybe best for smaller busts...
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

My fiance loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have never worn a dress with such a low neck line before and luckily I had a bra that was a little too big and could be worn with it. Which brings me to my main complaint which is that you have to be big chested to wear this dress. I normally have trouble fitting my bust (28 C/D) into dresses that fit but with this dress the straps were oddly very wide I was worried about too much showing. But otherwise the dress was very comfortable, it's stretchy, and was conservative on the bottom half, the criss-cross straps look nice. And I agree with other reviewers, if you have broad shoulders or a big rib cage, don't get this dress, the straps will be too tight. It was fine for me though. Those are the only negatives, otherwise I felt amazing in it and got lots of looks from (jealous) girls :)
brit
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

just a warning the dress is made of sequins, even though the picture looks shiny.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
is very form fitting and is tight on the shoulders
Anastasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

Fun flirty dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was comfortable and flattering. I was even able to wear a strapless bra with it using a Victoria's Secret band extender.
Lisa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

Many compliments on my dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Nice fit!
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

Very fitted, but got so many compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I got a 10 and 12 and ended up going with the 12 for the night of because the 10 was a little small. Wore it for my 21st birthday celebration.
Lexi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Not for large chest!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The chest was SO small for this dress it actually cut above my breasts. RTR sent me another dress overnight to wear for the event.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: Great for the night! Cons: Be careful with your boobies.
Corinne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 4, 2014

Not for the large busted

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this and another option for a wedding, and the wrap design at the bust is unforgiving for large breasts. There are holes underneath where your boobs are that basically exposed half my breast. Was a great dress, would have loved to wear it
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Body type: Athletic
May 11, 2014

The dress was an eye catcher!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit like a glove. I received lots of compliments. Very sexy!
Molly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Great first RTR experience!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit beautifully- hugged in all the right places!
vavava
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Glamazon

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I felt so fabulous in this dress. Shiny and blue, I felt like a star. Usually I don't like to expose so much cleavage but this dress was so wonderful that everything felt just right.
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 21, 2014

Pretty dress, but wardrobe malfunction in the making!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is very sexy and beautiful, but if you are large-chested then this dress is a wardrobe malfunction waiting to happen. As others have said the straps and bust area are separate from the rest of the dress -- meaning you can end up showing off some major under boob if you don't have some safety pins or the world's strongest fashion tape on hand.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

I fell like a movie star in this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The fabric is stretchy and fit close to the body without revealing every little imperfection. Would absolutely wear it again!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Ill fitting. Not good for big chest.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Stretchy everywhere but chest and bodice which made it unusable.
Kendall
Top Contributor
Age: 30
Sep 7, 2014

Did not wear. Awful for for big busted gals!!!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually love Nicole Miller, but this one was awful! I ordered the 10 (no other size available so I couldn't soE up). It did NOT stretch at all in the busy area and had these weird holes so my boobs showed! It was awful. I was luckily staying in the cosmopolitan in Vegas where the RTR store is located so was able to swap!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 17, 2014

Flattering and sparkly

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I really loved this dress. It was very flattering and I like that it was a bit longer than most evening/going out dresses. It was a bit snug even in the size 8. Overall fantastic Vegas party dress!
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Usually wear a 4 on brands like Anne Klein. I ordered the 4 and 8 since the 6 was not available. The 4 was to tight the 8 was tight on the chest looser waist and down.. Would order it again.
jaymiewithawhy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

Pretty, but I didn't wear it. Holes under the boobs???

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
It was very pretty - I loved the color, and it was very figure flattering, but I chose to wear my second choice because I liked it more - but also because this dress has something weird - underneath the breast area, where the fabric criss crosses, there are holes! I guess they are supposed to be there, but if I had moved the wrong way, it would have been obscene. I don't know...I can't quite figure this one out, lol. Maybe its there to allow you to move, or maybe its for smaller chested women? It didn't work for me. Too bad, because otherwise, it was gorgeous!
Barbra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

I wish I could have worn the dress, but it was way too small.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I didn't wear the dress because it was too small. I didn't know about the 24 hour return policy, so I was bummed not wear such a sexy dress.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

This was a great dress for Vegas.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was great. The sequences under your arms can rub you a little bit and be irritating by the end of the night. This was for sure a bit lower than I am used to, but it still felt classy not trashy. If you are well endowed, like myself, make sure you have packed the double sided tape or you will constantly be re adjusting and fearing a wardrobe malfunction.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Nice dress, but wasn't quite flattering on the chest.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the look of the dress, and the length would have allowed me to dance in it. The only thing I didn't like much was that the top was a bit tight on my boobs (I'm a 36C) so it kind of smooshed my cleavage instead of let it look good.
Nonna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Great dress for a Christmas party.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
If you are unfortunate to have low set breasts like me, this dress may not be the best choice. Otherwise, no need to wear a bra and overall, it is a very flattering and gorgeous dress.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

What a stunning dress!!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress but knew it wasn't appropriate to wear to the wedding I was attending. Although the dress looked fabulous on my chest was more than a statement. I have no problem flaunting the girls off, but I didn't feel comfortable for a wedding. Now if it was a girls night out then this rental would have been perfect!
Deanna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 27, 2014

Great alternative to the standard black dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I couldn't decided between the 2 and the 4 but then noticed the 4 was gaping around the top breast area and I am a 34D so I feel like I should have been able to fill the chest area. The 2 fit better in the chest but was slightly tight in the back shoulder area. You must be comfortable with the girls being on display, it is very low cut. I wore the sticky bar with no back.
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

Could not wear it, very unflattering. My friends tried it too and it didn't work on any of us.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Stiff material and unflattering
susan
Top Contributor
Age: 44
Mar 3, 2015

N/A

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Cute dress but wasn't right for the event I was going too. One thing to note is the fabric under the breast is open which could easily cause a nip slip.
Pam
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 7, 2015

Perfect for Vegas night out!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Great color. Flattering style. Sexy. And loved the sequins, as the dress was rented for a night out in Las Vegas!
Joanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 10, 2015

Perfect outfit to look glam at the club without looking trashy.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
The dress has give at the hips, but not so at the top. I got a lot of "wow" comments when I wore this dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×