Shooting Star Dress

$45 rental
$420 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You're a tiger! Bring that inner animal and knock their socks off when you walk in wearing this Nicole Miller blue sequin ruched dress. Great for all figures!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy sequins. Surplice neckline. Cross back. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
118 reviews
Fit
Large8
True to Size76
Small23
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
December 7, 2014
fun sparkly party dress, needs nubra
I rented this dress for a sequins themed party, it was great because the fit (and low neckline) are attractive and fun, but the blue isn't too attention-grabbing (balance out the low neckline). The angle on this photo is terrible and not flattering, but will give you an idea of the fit: I'm always a little nervous about the length, but for me (5'3) it was short enough. There is no structure in the bust and it is not as fitted as other Nicole Miller dresses similar to this (I'm thinking the Arctic Mist gown), so it won't help you with the cleavage if you're on the smaller side (I'm a B-), so without a bra this was not super flattering. I used a NuBra (the adhesive kind) and it was perfect (actually looked extra boobulous). I was worried about chafing given the other reviews, and I did have a little bit, but only in the armpit area and a small amount, nothing lasting, not a big deal at all. The dress has some stretch and is overall very comfortable to wear. The straps are a tad tight to get on, but I don't think that any looser would make a good fit. They didn't feel tight once on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 26, 2014
Received compliments ALL NIGHT!
I LOVED this dress! I'm extremely small in the chest area, but if I wasn't I probably would have sized up. I was a bit worried about how low-cut it was, but fashion tape fixed it right up. I'm just sad that I couldn't keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
November 13, 2014
This was a great dress for Vegas.
The fit was great. The sequences under your arms can rub you a little bit and be irritating by the end of the night. This was for sure a bit lower than I am used to, but it still felt classy not trashy. If you are well endowed, like myself, make sure you have packed the double sided tape or you will constantly be re adjusting and fearing a wardrobe malfunction.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2014
I wish I could have worn the dress, but it was way too small.
I didn't wear the dress because it was too small. I didn't know about the 24 hour return policy, so I was bummed not wear such a sexy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 7, 2014
Pretty, but I didn't wear it. Holes under the boobs???
It was very pretty - I loved the color, and it was very figure flattering, but I chose to wear my second choice because I liked it more - but also because this dress has something weird - underneath the breast area, where the fabric criss crosses, there are holes! I guess they are supposed to be there, but if I had moved the wrong way, it would have been obscene. I don't know...I can't quite figure this one out, lol. Maybe its there to allow you to move, or maybe its for smaller chested women? It didn't work for me. Too bad, because otherwise, it was gorgeous!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 23, 2014
all of us in our sequin RTR dresses turned heads all night. it was so much fun to sparkle
the dress was cut really big in the chest. I'm a 32C and I had to pad those suckers like crazy to fill up the dress, Then use dress tape so the straps didn't sag. otherwise the dress fit really well and I really enjoyed wearing it
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
September 22, 2014
Loved it!
Usually wear a 4 on brands like Anne Klein. I ordered the 4 and 8 since the 6 was not available. The 4 was to tight the 8 was tight on the chest looser waist and down.. Would order it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 21, 2014
Dropped jaws walking through the car show. Ended up in a hot rod calendar!
The dress ran small. It was stretchy and fit well, but should have come with instructions to put it on! :) It was great for the photo shoot and looked great in photos, but was not comfortable (toooo tight) to wear for the rest of the evening. I would've ordered a size larger, but it wasn't available.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2014
Flattering and sparkly
I really loved this dress. It was very flattering and I like that it was a bit longer than most evening/going out dresses. It was a bit snug even in the size 8. Overall fantastic Vegas party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
September 7, 2014
Did not wear. Awful for for big busted gals!!!
I usually love Nicole Miller, but this one was awful! I ordered the 10 (no other size available so I couldn't soE up). It did NOT stretch at all in the busy area and had these weird holes so my boobs showed! It was awful. I was luckily staying in the cosmopolitan in Vegas where the RTR store is located so was able to swap!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2014
Ill fitting. Not good for big chest.
Stretchy everywhere but chest and bodice which made it unusable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
July 29, 2014
Dress was my first choice but zipper snagged
The Dress is HOT! The color is electrifying and it fit like a glove. I ended up wearing my other choice because the zipper snagged but I turned around and tried to rent it again the following week but it wasn't available. I would love the chance to wear this dress out. It was gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
July 21, 2014
I fell like a movie star in this dress.
The fabric is stretchy and fit close to the body without revealing every little imperfection. Would absolutely wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 21, 2014
Pretty dress, but wardrobe malfunction in the making!
This dress is very sexy and beautiful, but if you are large-chested then this dress is a wardrobe malfunction waiting to happen. As others have said the straps and bust area are separate from the rest of the dress -- meaning you can end up showing off some major under boob if you don't have some safety pins or the world's strongest fashion tape on hand.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 20, 2014
The Shiniest Thing in Las Vegas
Wore this for the 4th of July and Las Vegas. Gorgeous color and nice snug fit in the hips, but sizing is way off in the chest. I needed to wear a strapless bra with it for support, but the fit in the chest and shoulders was just odd. It really cut into me and was not very proportionate size-wise with the rest of the dress. No matter what, be prepared for it to be very chesty and attract a lot of attention!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2014
Blue sequins turn heads
Awesome dress! Top is a little small for big busted ladies. #vegas
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 15, 2014
Glamazon
I felt so fabulous in this dress. Shiny and blue, I felt like a star. Usually I don't like to expose so much cleavage but this dress was so wonderful that everything felt just right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 9, 2014
Such a gorgeous, great fitting dress
The dress fit like a glove and hugged me in all the right places while still being super comfortable to dance in all night. I wore it with a nubra and got so many compliments on it that I'm renting it again for another event :)
joelleJuly 10, 2014
I'm also going to rent this dress for a bachelorette , what kind of bra did u end up wearing? A nude?
chelseaJuly 14, 2014
I ended up wearing a nubra, it's one of the bras that you stick on
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2014
Great first RTR experience!
Fit beautifully- hugged in all the right places!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 14, 2014
It was my bachelorette party. I wanted to wear "something blue"
I'm normally a size 6 and wore the 8. The fit was weird. The straps felt restrictive and my bra kept showing in the front. I liked the rouching and the length though. Probably will not rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
May 11, 2014
The dress was an eye catcher!
It fit like a glove. I received lots of compliments. Very sexy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 4, 2014
Not for the large busted
Rented this and another option for a wedding, and the wrap design at the bust is unforgiving for large breasts. There are holes underneath where your boobs are that basically exposed half my breast. Was a great dress, would have loved to wear it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 29, 2014
Received tons of compliments!
Pros: Great for the night! Cons: Be careful with your boobies.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 7, 2014
Gorgeous and sparkly, great fit, very fun and eye catching!
The fit was perfect, I have a small B cup so wearing a strapless padded push-up bra really helped me look bustier in this dress. The blue glittering was beautifully eye-catching and I received many compliments on it. The low cut in the front paired with the tight fit made it very sexy, but because it wasn't a mini dress nothing about this look looked trashy. I paired it with a black, sparkly clutch and one simple sparkly bangle (also rented from here). All in all a great dress, I was very happy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 25, 2014
Not for large chest!!
The chest was SO small for this dress it actually cut above my breasts. RTR sent me another dress overnight to wear for the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
February 28, 2014
Really showcased my boobs
Loved this dress. It made my boobs really stand out though, which was nice for a change. I wore it for a Christmas holiday outing with coworker's. It really hugged my body and I felt super sexy. RTR always comes through.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
February 24, 2014
I felt absolutely gorgeous in this dress!
I rented this for a date night in Vegas for my husband's birthday. I rented an 8 and 10, unsure if which would fit best. The 8 fit, but as previous reviews mentioned, the straps were too tight. I ended up wearing the 10. My only complaint is that the dress creeped up as I walked, I felt like I was pulling it down a lot. That could be because I went with the larger size. I'm small chested (34B) and needed something to create a little cleavage, so I wore the nubra with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195lbs
February 18, 2014
Very fitted, but got so many compliments!
I got a 10 and 12 and ended up going with the 12 for the night of because the 10 was a little small. Wore it for my 21st birthday celebration.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
February 17, 2014
Sexy dress for Valentine's Day
I'm really sexy dress that photographs beautifully. It was a little tight on the chest but I'm 6 1/2 months pregnant so that's understandable. It had enough room for me in the waste and in the hip area for me to be comfortable despite being so pregnant. It showed off my assets and made me feel really sexy. It might be a little tight for people who are heavy on the top! I took of the star because the material can be a little itchy but not so much that it will ruin your night.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2014
Many compliments on my dress.
Nice fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
January 6, 2014
Sparkly NYE
My holiday over indulgence was prevalent with this size 6. The dress was a bit tight, but it worked. I received quite a few compliments on the dress. I wore it with some silver strappy shoes with some jewels for a little bling. The sequins didn't scratch at all. The length was ok, but I would have liked it about an inch shorter. I wore it a nu bra which helped provide a little cleavage without the need for a regular bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2014
Fun flirty dress
This dress was comfortable and flattering. I was even able to wear a strapless bra with it using a Victoria's Secret band extender.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2014
Great NYE Dress!
Wore for New Years Eve. Great dress, fit well. The arms can be a bit uncomfortable, but not a huge deal. The sequin was actually comfortable. Awesome dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 30, 2013
Sexy dress, tight/uncomfortable to wear
I rented this dress for a birthday dinner with friends. The reviews said it runs small and they are right - I rented the 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 8, the 6 was waaaay too tight on my hips. It was a bit tight and itchy from the sequins all night, but I love how I looked!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
December 17, 2013
just a warning the dress is made of sequins, even though the picture looks shiny.
is very form fitting and is tight on the shoulders
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2013
My fiance loved it!
I have never worn a dress with such a low neck line before and luckily I had a bra that was a little too big and could be worn with it. Which brings me to my main complaint which is that you have to be big chested to wear this dress. I normally have trouble fitting my bust (28 C/D) into dresses that fit but with this dress the straps were oddly very wide I was worried about too much showing. But otherwise the dress was very comfortable, it's stretchy, and was conservative on the bottom half, the criss-cross straps look nice. And I agree with other reviewers, if you have broad shoulders or a big rib cage, don't get this dress, the straps will be too tight. It was fine for me though. Those are the only negatives, otherwise I felt amazing in it and got lots of looks from (jealous) girls :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2013
Beautiful but scandalous
This was my back-up dress for my company holiday party. It was beautiful and fit true to size, but good Lord, it was low cut. I'm a D cup, and they were totally spilling out. Maybe best for smaller busts...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2013
Classy with just the right amount of sparkle.
This was a beautiful dress, and perfect for a "blue" themed champagne party. Definitely stretchy, but I thought the straps were a tad tight/too short. Came down to almost my knee (5'4) but it was nice since the neckline was plunging. The only issue I had with the dress (which is a surprisingly big issue - I'm surprised no other reviewer mentioned it) is that the bodice criss-crosses in front, but it's not attached fully to the rest of the dress. So if you life your arms up, it looks like there's a ripped seam 2 inches across under each breast! It will actually expose the underneath of your breasts. I thought it was just damaged, but upon closer examination realized it was as-designed (and on both sizes). I'm not sure why they'd do that - a lot of worry about a "wardrobe malfunction". I ended up using a couple of safety pins under each side of the bust to pin all the material together so I didn't have to stand perfectly still all night. That worked fine - gorgeous dress - yet surprised at that design.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 5, 2013
Pretty party dress
A great party dress. Unfortuately I didn't get to wear either dress due to one of them not fitting and the correct size having a tear. To Rent the Runway's credit they took care of everything. One of RTR's go to girls called and we figured out options for my event. Thank you RTR for saving the day!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2013
i ordered two sizes so my friend and i both tried them on....great dress...size up.
great dress lots of complements...size up so the straps dont rub your back im a 6 and the 8 worked great no bra needed
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×