Nicole Miller

Shooting Star Dress

$168 to buy
$420 retail
Stylist Notes

You're a tiger! Bring that inner animal and knock their socks off when you walk in wearing this Nicole Miller blue sequin ruched dress. Great for all figures!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy sequins. Surplice neckline. Cross back. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(78)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 25, 2014
Not for large chest!!
The chest was SO small for this dress it actually cut above my breasts. RTR sent me another dress overnight to wear for the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 4, 2014
Not for the large busted
Rented this and another option for a wedding, and the wrap design at the bust is unforgiving for large breasts. There are holes underneath where your boobs are that basically exposed half my breast. Was a great dress, would have loved to wear it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2014
Great first RTR experience!
Fit beautifully- hugged in all the right places!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2014
Such a gorgeous, great fitting dress
The dress fit like a glove and hugged me in all the right places while still being super comfortable to dance in all night. I wore it with a nubra and got so many compliments on it that I'm renting it again for another event :)
joelleJuly 10, 2014
I'm also going to rent this dress for a bachelorette , what kind of bra did u end up wearing? A nude?
chelseaJuly 14, 2014
I ended up wearing a nubra, it's one of the bras that you stick on
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2014
Blue sequins turn heads
Awesome dress! Top is a little small for big busted ladies. #vegas
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 20, 2014
The Shiniest Thing in Las Vegas
Wore this for the 4th of July and Las Vegas. Gorgeous color and nice snug fit in the hips, but sizing is way off in the chest. I needed to wear a strapless bra with it for support, but the fit in the chest and shoulders was just odd. It really cut into me and was not very proportionate size-wise with the rest of the dress. No matter what, be prepared for it to be very chesty and attract a lot of attention!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 21, 2014
Pretty dress, but wardrobe malfunction in the making!
This dress is very sexy and beautiful, but if you are large-chested then this dress is a wardrobe malfunction waiting to happen. As others have said the straps and bust area are separate from the rest of the dress -- meaning you can end up showing off some major under boob if you don't have some safety pins or the world's strongest fashion tape on hand.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
July 21, 2014
I fell like a movie star in this dress.
The fabric is stretchy and fit close to the body without revealing every little imperfection. Would absolutely wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
July 29, 2014
Dress was my first choice but zipper snagged
The Dress is HOT! The color is electrifying and it fit like a glove. I ended up wearing my other choice because the zipper snagged but I turned around and tried to rent it again the following week but it wasn't available. I would love the chance to wear this dress out. It was gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2014
Ill fitting. Not good for big chest.
Stretchy everywhere but chest and bodice which made it unusable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
January 6, 2014
Sparkly NYE
My holiday over indulgence was prevalent with this size 6. The dress was a bit tight, but it worked. I received quite a few compliments on the dress. I wore it with some silver strappy shoes with some jewels for a little bling. The sequins didn't scratch at all. The length was ok, but I would have liked it about an inch shorter. I wore it a nu bra which helped provide a little cleavage without the need for a regular bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2014
Flattering and sparkly
I really loved this dress. It was very flattering and I like that it was a bit longer than most evening/going out dresses. It was a bit snug even in the size 8. Overall fantastic Vegas party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 14, 2014
It was my bachelorette party. I wanted to wear "something blue"
I'm normally a size 6 and wore the 8. The fit was weird. The straps felt restrictive and my bra kept showing in the front. I liked the rouching and the length though. Probably will not rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
September 22, 2014
Loved it!
Usually wear a 4 on brands like Anne Klein. I ordered the 4 and 8 since the 6 was not available. The 4 was to tight the 8 was tight on the chest looser waist and down.. Would order it again.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 23, 2014
all of us in our sequin RTR dresses turned heads all night. it was so much fun to sparkle
the dress was cut really big in the chest. I'm a 32C and I had to pad those suckers like crazy to fill up the dress, Then use dress tape so the straps didn't sag. otherwise the dress fit really well and I really enjoyed wearing it
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2014
I wish I could have worn the dress, but it was way too small.
I didn't wear the dress because it was too small. I didn't know about the 24 hour return policy, so I was bummed not wear such a sexy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 21, 2014
Dropped jaws walking through the car show. Ended up in a hot rod calendar!
The dress ran small. It was stretchy and fit well, but should have come with instructions to put it on! :) It was great for the photo shoot and looked great in photos, but was not comfortable (toooo tight) to wear for the rest of the evening. I would've ordered a size larger, but it wasn't available.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
November 13, 2014
This was a great dress for Vegas.
The fit was great. The sequences under your arms can rub you a little bit and be irritating by the end of the night. This was for sure a bit lower than I am used to, but it still felt classy not trashy. If you are well endowed, like myself, make sure you have packed the double sided tape or you will constantly be re adjusting and fearing a wardrobe malfunction.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 26, 2014
Received compliments ALL NIGHT!
I LOVED this dress! I'm extremely small in the chest area, but if I wasn't I probably would have sized up. I was a bit worried about how low-cut it was, but fashion tape fixed it right up. I'm just sad that I couldn't keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 20, 2012
Dazzling
Got a lot of compliments...stunning dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
December 7, 2014
fun sparkly party dress, needs nubra
I rented this dress for a sequins themed party, it was great because the fit (and low neckline) are attractive and fun, but the blue isn't too attention-grabbing (balance out the low neckline). The angle on this photo is terrible and not flattering, but will give you an idea of the fit: I'm always a little nervous about the length, but for me (5'3) it was short enough. There is no structure in the bust and it is not as fitted as other Nicole Miller dresses similar to this (I'm thinking the Arctic Mist gown), so it won't help you with the cleavage if you're on the smaller side (I'm a B-), so without a bra this was not super flattering. I used a NuBra (the adhesive kind) and it was perfect (actually looked extra boobulous). I was worried about chafing given the other reviews, and I did have a little bit, but only in the armpit area and a small amount, nothing lasting, not a big deal at all. The dress has some stretch and is overall very comfortable to wear. The straps are a tad tight to get on, but I don't think that any looser would make a good fit. They didn't feel tight once on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2014
Nice dress, but wasn't quite flattering on the chest.
I loved the look of the dress, and the length would have allowed me to dance in it. The only thing I didn't like much was that the top was a bit tight on my boobs (I'm a 36C) so it kind of smooshed my cleavage instead of let it look good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 21, 2014
Great dress for a Christmas party.
If you are unfortunate to have low set breasts like me, this dress may not be the best choice. Otherwise, no need to wear a bra and overall, it is a very flattering and gorgeous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2014
Great alternative to the standard black dress
I couldn't decided between the 2 and the 4 but then noticed the 4 was gaping around the top breast area and I am a 34D so I feel like I should have been able to fill the chest area. The 2 fit better in the chest but was slightly tight in the back shoulder area. You must be comfortable with the girls being on display, it is very low cut. I wore the sticky bar with no back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 4, 2015
Beautiful color, great fit.
A stunning dress. with great fit. Model was: 5'7" 123 lbs 34D bust Usual dress size 4
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 12, 2015
Wore this to Vegas... Had lots of offers to spend other men's money!
Wore this to the Spearmint Rhino (strip club) and casino hopping in Vegas and boy was it a HIT! Ordered a 4 and 6 but wore the 4. The material is very stretchy so it fit my bottom half fine, and the sequins cover up any "imperfections". It was a little snug up top, since I have pretty broad shoulders, but that worked out fine because I ended up not needing a bra. Busty girls might need those adhesive cups, or some petals, but I'm a little on the naturally flat side when I'm not wearing a bra so this dress kept everything in place. You'll feel like you're flirting with a nip slip the whole night but I never had a problem. And walking through the casinos I turned a lot of heads, and had lot of guys offer to let me gamble their money away! My husband (and two friends' husbands) were pretty speechless when I came walking down the hallway in this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 28, 2015
Could not wear it, very unflattering. My friends tried it too and it didn't work on any of us.
Stiff material and unflattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 4, 2015
Elegant,perfect for my body type.
I wore this for my birthday dinner with friends and everybody loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 7, 2015
Perfect for Vegas night out!
Great color. Flattering style. Sexy. And loved the sequins, as the dress was rented for a night out in Las Vegas!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 15, 2015
Fun and shiny!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! I was fun and I felt super sexy. The top of the dress was a bit big, but it was easily fixed with some body tape. I was able to dance all night be be totally comfortable in the dress. And I got tons of compliments on the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 17, 2015
Hot dress great for Vegas
I ordered this as a backup for a wedding I went to. I ended up not wearing it, prob not appropriate for a wedding, however it would be super hot for my Vegas trip next month! The straps are tight, but this is good because it holds your chest in well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
May 4, 2015
This dress brings all the boys to the yard, and they're like it's better than yours ;)
I wore this to my boyfriend's last fraternity formal in AC. Everyone's heads were turning and I felt like an absolute movie star. I was very unsure choosing between the size 0 and 2. ) The 0 was unavailable as my backup size because it was returned damaged, BUT RTR was amazing and sent me two other style options as backups. I did end up wearing this show-stopping first choice, though. At first, the 2 seemed super tight and took me about 5 minutes to get my arms through the straps when I put it on. By the time of the event, though it was a breeze. The dress does loosen up and stretch after wearing for a little while so the 0 may have been better. I suggest small-busted girls wear those sticky backless bras, created awesome cleavage for this low-cut dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 10, 2015
Perfect outfit to look glam at the club without looking trashy.
The dress has give at the hips, but not so at the top. I got a lot of "wow" comments when I wore this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 12, 2015
This dress made me feel beautiful, sexy, and fun! I would size down next time, though.
I adored this dress and would definitely order it again, but I would size down. It was surprisingly comfortable for a sequined dress -- dancing was no trouble at all! My only issue at all was sizing. I wish I had gone a size down for my back-up instead of up, which was what the listing advised. It's mostly because I'm petite, so the straps were too long, giving me less support up top than I should have had. I used a ton of Hollywood tape to get a better fit. Still, though, this dress is absolutely gorgeous and made me feel hot!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
May 18, 2015
Decades of Fashion
I wore the dress for a "Decades of Fashion" event, and it fit true to size, and is comfortable to wear. I pinned the front, because it gaped a little. There are cuts underneath the breast- so be careful with dancing. I received a lot of compliments about the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2015
I felt like a sea princess in this sparkly and flattering number.
The fit was perfect for my build. I'm rarely comfortable even in the best strapless bra, but this cut and fit allowed me to go without any support.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
June 12, 2015
Fun dress!
Dress was fun and eye-catching! I recommend having some else present to verify that the hook at the zipper is connected - it came completely unzipped during my salsa lesson. Luckily the front stayed in place! On the other hand, I can now tease my partner about dancing my clothes off :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 26, 2015
Over the top fun dress
Once you get into this dress, it's great! The shoulders / fabric / back on this dress make it really hard to get into (definitely get some help!) but one it's on the dress is killer. Wear it to an event where you really want to stand out and look fabulous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 19, 2015
Very dissapointed
Fit was totally weird. I did not wear for the event.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 12, 2015
Elvis Vegas Vow Renewal
This dress fit great for my body type. I'm curvier on the bottom and very petite on top. This dress had a little gathering on the bottom and was more fitted on the bust, so it was perfect. I wore a NuBra with it as it's pretty low cut, and that worked great. It had tons of sparkle and a very pretty blue, and didn't feel like the dress was scratchy or anything.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×