Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 rental
$605 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
562 reviews
Fit
Large
(33)
True to Size
(377)
Small
(44)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 20, 2016
Amazing for black tie wedding!
I felt like a million bucks and was complimented all night long. Unlike other users, the sequins didn't bother my underarms at all. It has a nice stretch to it and didn't have any problems with zipper. I wore it with spanx and a strapless bra; didn't have any problems with the bra showing or falling out of place. The color is a much brighter purple than appears in pictures. I wore to friends' black tie wedding at Navy Pier in Chicago, and had the best time. Rent this dress! You won't regret it. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
November 20, 2016
.
This dress is beautiful and great quality. The picture of this dress doesn't do it justice! I expected it to be stretchy based on some of the other reviews I'd read but it was not! But that's ok because it was still very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 17, 2016
Beautiful dress. I didn't wear it. It was a backup dress.
Beautiful dress, fit well. I didn't wear it. It was a back up dress.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
November 14, 2016
Stunning dress, comfortable to dance in all night!
Fit true to size and wasn't heavy despite all the bling
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
November 3, 2016
As the host and Friend put this dress is a show stopper.
I was nervous about fitting a 12 since I am between a 12 and 14 right now. However the dress fit perfectly especially over my hips which tend to be my problem area when sizing a dress. The ruching on the waist and stretch to the materiel is very forgiving. Loved the tops and how it fastened - it was the first time in a long time felt like I didn't have to worry about adjusting straps all night long.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
November 2, 2016
Gorgeous color, gorgeous dress
This was my first choice, I ordered this dress in a 2R and 4R. I was terrified it was going to be too long after reading the reviews so I added another dress to my order (the dress I ended up wearing) but after receiving the dress it was not too long at all. The only real downfall for me were the shoulders. They were just too large and it was uncomfortable trying to keep my shoulders back far enough to hold the sleeves. The sequins are also course; the other dress in my order was the Night at the Oscars gold dress and it was perfect in every way. I love the color of this purple dress but overall it just wasn't the one that made me feel like a queen.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Weight: 118lbs
November 1, 2016
Very sparkly!
I felt like a movie star in this gown! It was sliglty uncomfortable under my arms from the sequence but that is my only complaint. I was happy the 2R fit because my back up (4R) had a broken clasp on the back. I opted for the accessories and they were just as great! I would recommend this. It is long so be sure you have heels!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 30, 2016
Amazing dress.
Fits in all the right places. For girls with bigger bust I would order a size bigger than you normally wear bc dress is tight on general but really tight in bust area. I wore an 8 and loved it but I could have used a 10 just because of my large bust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 14, 2016
Amazing night for a 100th anniversary #MakeItBig gala and walking the purple carpet
Dress fit like a glove, but was very comfortable. The deep purple sequins were spectacular for a night time event and fit with the theme of the gala. The dress was such a hit I had so many compliments and was happy to wear a designer with Philly ties. (P.S. I wore this with a purple fur shrug and it was fabulous!)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 51
October 5, 2016
I really liked this dress. It looked nice on me and it fit well.
During the evening another woman came up to me and asked "Rent the Runway"? We both laughed. She said that she had worn the same dress the week prior.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 4, 2016
Absolutely perfect for my purple tie event
The dress was fabulous. I got compliments all night. It was a bit long as I'm pretty short – 5'3" and I wore 4 inch heels. I did however dance all night –so it wasn't a problem! That fabric had a nice stretch that made it incredibly comfortable. For small chested girls like myself I absolutely recommend a pretty extreme push-up strapless bra. The dress very much flattens you.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 28, 2016
Fits like a glove; beautiful!
Beautiful to look at, not super fun to sit in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2016
Sparkling and statuesque, beautiful color and flattering fit, some minor issues
Note that the true color of the dress is better reflected in the close-up rather than the full length flash photo included with this review, more toward eggplant (thought not actually eggplant) than toward violet - model photo is pretty accurate on this one, though it does appear a touch darker than it does in person. The 2R dress I received was in good shape and the zipper, hook and button were all properly functional. 2R was true to size (5'3" 115#, waist ~26", slim hips/bum). Allows for some stretch (I have larger ribcage) but also flatters figure overall in that it does hold in a bit in the tummy and has ruching across the mid-section. Size up if you are busty, with a small C cup and a strapless bra, I looked relatively busty but a bit squished. In fact, it may be wiser to avoid this is you are above a C-cup, the dress is cut to frame cleavage like crazy and enhances size. I was able to wear a regular strapless bra with the back pulled a touch down, did not have to adjust too frequently but cups poked out of neckline a touch a couple times. The dress lining did roll out at the neckline a bit and had to tuck that a few times. If there were a petite available, it would have been a good idea, as at 5' 3" with six inch heels, the dress was still brushing the floor and stairs were a bit tough. If you are 5' 5" or shorter, I would recommend petite unless you are comfortable in the tallest shoes available. Even using some salve on arms to prevent chafing, I did get several scrapes on the skin of inner bicep from the sequins. If you have especially sensitive skin, I would not recommend this dress, as the cut of the straps make brushing the sequins basically unavoidable. Loved wearing the dress, several compliments among a well-dressed crowd at an arts gala (saw at least a dozen other RTR dresses, only one of which was duplicated), would recommend.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 24, 2016
Want to sparkle
Perfect for a Gala! Were size 0 which was tight for my 105 lb, 5'2" frame but worth it. It was long, so I had to carry it when I danced. Lots of complements.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 12, 2016
This dress was so much fun!
Fit well, only a little snug around my ribs. Didn't have to wear a bra. Length was fine with heels. All around a great dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
August 21, 2016
Beautiful sparkle but be careful if you have any kind of tummy
Because I'm short, I usually always need a petite in dresses, not just for the length but also all the other areas. Since this dress only came in regular or long, I went with the regular. I got a 4R and 6R. The 4R was tighter than I would've liked in the tummy. However, the 6R gaped too much at the straps and looked awkward where it hit at my bust (too low). Beware that this is very low cut. I tried the dress on with 4" heels, and it still drug on the floor by about an inch. The sparkle, color, and back cut-out are all beautiful and would be a head turner for ladies who are taller. As mentioned by other reviewers, it will scratch your skin where your arms rub against the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
August 18, 2016
The dress fit like a glove - I got compliments all night.
The dress has great elasticity so it's form-fitting while being super easy to dance in. It did cause a rash on my underarm from abrasion on the sequins - totally fine though because it's such a killer gown.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 8, 2016
I received so many compliments wearing this dress. It fit perfectly.
The dress fit perfectly. It made me chest look great and the best part was how comfortable the dress was.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
August 3, 2016
The dress was stunning. I got oodles of compliments.
It fit well and was super comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 16, 2016
GORGEOUS Dress!
I wore for our gender reveal photos and had a little bump and was still true to size. Much more purple than the stock photo shows, but photo is more true to color. The sequins do rub under the arms so be prepared if you are wearing all evening. Otherwise,vbeautiful dress, great make and great structure. Got TONS of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 13, 2016
Love the neckline
Fit comfortably -- stretch and sequins make the fit easy and flattering.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
July 8, 2016
This hugged in all the right places but was a little itchy!
I ended up not wearing this one because I liked the other better, but it was beautiful. The top is gorgeous and flattering (Im small busted) and it hugs in all the right places. Only con is that it was a little itchy.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 5, 2016
So many compliments, felt amazing
I just wrote an entire review and lost it; so quickly through the main bullets: I got so many compliments! Runs very small, I didn't listen. I normally wear a 6 R and that wouldn't even zip up, I would have liked to try the 10 even but the 8 looked good but tight in the tummy area. At least there is some rouching in the tummy so that hides it but would have liked a Spanx. Still wore a strapless bra needed some lift. It isn't the most comfortable thing ever but holds you in and makes you feel pretty stunning if it fits right. Silver shoes look nice. The lining in the bust does come out if you adjust too much try not to and adjust differently in the bathroom. Since it holds tight it stays in place. I love love the back and this cut. Wish I had thought to get a picture of the small train. I was worried it would be too purple, it could be for an outdoor daytime event but night and of course formal wedding in Vegas, perfect! I'm 5' 6", 140, shape, athletic, average shape evenly proportioned. I would suggest it definitely loved it; so different than I ever get to wear which is what I was going for, very old Hollywood. But size up, I'm telling you, I am always a 6 and I figured 8 no problem but the 8 felt like a 6.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 2, 2016
I didn't wear this dress. it was not good for my body type and the color was very purple.
the dress was not good for my body type - very small bust and straight. the color was a bit too purple as well. I also think there were just too may sequins for me
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 1, 2016
Received so many compliments at a formal event.
Surprisingly forgiving dress! I had to shimmy my butt in, but once I did, I was golden. My lack of Spanx was only evident in my tummy area, but that's normal. The dress liner kept creeping out of the bust a little bit, but this may be common for non-bra-wearing A cups like myself. I loved the weight of the dress, and I feared no wind. I also loved the sassy mini train, though I did hike the dress up high because I was a little worried in crowds and escalators. I normally wear a 4, and it fit great (my alternate was same in a 6, it was certainly too big in the shoulder & bust). I can't wait to order another dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 15, 2016
Amazing!
Felt like a princess in this gown. Loved the train. Very elegant and classy. The sequins definitely made me standout. Only down side was the bust area was slightly to large and I had to be careful and tape it down! One of the few gowns to fit my petite frame. Otherwise gorgeous gown!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 11, 2016
Total knockout! (and a little squashed in)
Total Knockout was a compliment I received from the host of the New Years Eve Party we attended. The dress fit really well, the sparkle was perfect and the dress seemed to run true to size -- mostly--- I'm pretty top heavy and had to wear the 8L. My chest was still smashed though the dress felt slightly loose in other areas. The straight square neckline while unique is best suited for those with a smaller chest. Aside from that I was happy with the rental!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
June 3, 2016
Beautiful gown! Got compliments all night!
I received an invite to a black tie affair very last minute so the selection left at RTR was limited. I had wanted the black, non-sequin version of this dress but it was unavailable so I took the risk with the purple sequin version. I'm so glad I did! I stood out in a crowd of largely black gowns and the purple was subdued enough to still be classy. The dress was a little long for my 5'4'' frame but not an unmanageable amount. I will say because of the sequins this gown is very heavy. I had to get used to the weight of it. I also had some scratches under my arms at the end of the night, but it was otherwise very comfortable and very flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
June 2, 2016
I had so many compliments on this dress. The pics don't do it justice. It is truly a show stopper!
Definitely size up for your second size as the dress definitely runs small! I am nearly always a 4, but in this dress the 6 fit with no room to spare.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 160lbs
May 31, 2016
It was a great hit at the United Way Gala I attended. Got tons of compliments!
The dress fits beautifully and is super flattering. I'm a DD, so I was concerned I may be too busty for the dress but it fit perfect. I wore 3 inch heels and the length was a tad shorter than I would have liked but not so much so that it looked tacky. The sequins under the arm was a bit bothersome initially but I grew accustom to it as I wore it longer. Great dress and such a great experience with renting it and everything. I got the size 10L too because I wasn't sure but the 8L fit great.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 30, 2016
Wore this sparkly number for a black tie wedding and got loads of compliments.
This was my back up dress as my 1st choice didn't work out and it was a winner! Got lots of WOW! compliments. The dress fits true to size except it was long. I'm 5'3" and wore a 2R, even with 4 inch heels it was still long. I had to lift it all night to walk and dance. The zipper is a bit sticky, and my bra straps did show a little in the back. The fabric was stretchy so it was easy to dance in and the sequins didn't bother me all that much. All and all a great first experience from RTR.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
May 26, 2016
The dress just sparkled & wowed everyone!
This dress received so many compliments & photographed really well. I'm 5'7" and wore the long, which worked well with 2" heels. The regular length would have been too short. The dress was very comfortable, with the exception of the material right under my arms. The sequins scratched me all night, so I felt like I couldn't put my arms down. Other than that, it was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 56
May 23, 2016
Gorgeous, compliments all night long!
I wore this outfit for my sweet 16, everyone complimented me all night long. Very flattering, unless you have much of a stomach. It hugs in all the right places!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 18, 2016
I felt like a bombshell!
I wore this dress for a white-tie wedding and it brought in tons of compliments. The fabric had the right amount of give and I felt it was true to size. I am 5'9 and wore the long length with 3-4" heels and it just barely skimmed the ground. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 184lbs
May 15, 2016
I felt like a movie star!
I loved the fit! Everyone told me all night that they loved my dress. Only downside is that the sequence kept getting caught on my boyfriend's pants when we were dancing. But, the dress was super comfortable to move in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
May 15, 2016
Perfect black tie dress
Fit well. Normally wear an 8, but 6 fit better. Easy dress to accessorize. I got a lot of compliments throughout the night. Perfect length with heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 14, 2016
RTR delivered my dress just in time for my prom! No problems whatsoever, I'm so happy I found RTR
I don't know if the dress ran big or if it's true to size, it was the first time I had to select a dress size for myself but it did fit me perfectly! I only wish I choose this dress 6L instead but I absolutely loved this dress, it sparkles and it's so beautiful #prom
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 11, 2016
Felt like a movie star in this dress!
Really loved wearing this dress. I wore the 8L and had a backup size of 10R (10L wasn't available). The long length was necessary since I'm tall so I went with the 8L, although I would have done better a size up. Other reviewers had remarked that the fabric lining kept creeping out and I had the same thing happen. My bust is a 34DDD and I often have a hard time with fit so I wasn't surprised this happened. I actually didn't mind adjusting every now and again because I felt great otherwise. This was my first time using RTR and I will definitely order again.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 1, 2016
I love this dress. It pops in photos and I received compliments all night!!
Only problem I had was the chaffing against my skin under the arm.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2016
Perfect fit! "Stunning" and "beautiful" were the 2 primary compliments :)
This dress fit very true to size for me, and it was comfortable and even stretched a little. And thankfully the 6L fit because the 8L was about 4 inches shorter than the 6L and would have never worked! Other women commented that the sequins rubbed their arms but I did not experience that at all. I will definitely be getting more dresses from RTR in the future!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 15
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×