Nicole Miller

Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 rental
$605 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
612 reviews
Fit
Large
(33)
True to Size
(397)
Small
(50)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 16, 2017
So many compliments on this!
It was a little smaller than expected but still comfortable to wear and really I couldn't believe that compliments. Felt great wearing it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
June 13, 2017
I felt amazing and beautiful!
I wore this dress for a New Year's party, and loved it. I received a lot of compliments and felt fabulous! There was some slight irritation on my inner arms from the sequins, but other than that, no other complaints!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 19, 2017
Ordered for a black tie fundraiser but didn't end up wearing it
Beautiful dress but too short for my 5'11" height. I could have worn it with flats, otherwise it was too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 8, 2017
Fun standout dress
Ran a bit small and was so low cut my sticky bra kept showing. I probably could have used a size up. The color was beautiful and perfect for the moroccan themed event. The sequins really irritates the underside of my arms. I had to leave early but it was really pretty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 6, 2017
All of the compliments were overwhelming!!!
I loved how the dress fit on the waist and hip area, but I was a little uncomfortable with the breast area being too big.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
April 30, 2017
Made me feel very "Hollywood"
This fit my "post baby" figure okay. It did not hide my problem areas very well but it was very comfortable. I ordered it in Long to fit my 5'8 physic but it fit more like a regular in length which forced me to wear kitten heels. If you are tall then definitely order the long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
April 26, 2017
Stunning gown!
Fit is true to size. The regular length was a tad long, but was manageable with heels. Did not wear a bra due to the cut of the neckline - tried a Nubra, but the edges showed. The dress hugs your curves, so I felt supported even without a bra. Fantastic dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 26, 2017
I loved this dress. Very comfortable and easy to move in. Highly recommend! Great formal dress!!!
The dress was a smidge tight but the underlayer/lining makes it easy to move in. I would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 8"
April 24, 2017
Great dress, I received a ton of compliments.
It fill well, true to size, fitted nicely. I didn't not find the sequins uncomfortable or scratcy.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 21, 2017
Pretty with one issue
Rented this for a friend's 30th birthday. Dress was super pretty and fit was flattering. My only complaint was that the lining kept creeping up at the neckline and showing. So I was constantly tugging at it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165lbs
April 21, 2017
if you want to sparkle, this is the dress! pretty purple sequin, floor-length dress, little train.
fit like a glove - length of the body. it does fit tts. the length was good - maybe wear 2" - 3" heel and it would be good. wear spanx for tummy control as it does hug that mid-section area. if you have broader shoulders, just a bit thicker in the biceps - the square neckline may dig into those areas a little.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
April 11, 2017
The atmosphere the bride and groom provided!
Absolutely loved this dress! I originally ordered the Jill Stuart Elderberry Side Cut Out Dress and they sent me this one as my replacement. The only complaint I had was that it was too short (my number one concern). However, it fit perfectly everywhere else and hugged all the right curves. I wore an adhesive bra (as the straps of a normal bra showed in the back) and the dress still provided enough lift and support. I received many compliments and the dress made me feel like a James Bond girl. I was also worried that the sequins would rub under my arms and I didn't even notice them. I will definitely come back and rent this dress for any future formal affairs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
March 22, 2017
Like a glove!
This dress was amazing. It for so perfectly, I usually wear between an 6 and an 8 and the 8 felt the best. The length was perfect. It was light, great to dance in, and the color was gorgeous. I've never received more compliments in my life!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 12, 2017
Amazing dress! Looked fabulous!
This is one of my favorite dresses to date! Fit like a glove! I normally stay away from dresses that are fitted in the hip area when a lot of walking is involved, to avoid waddling...lol! This dress was comfortable to sit and walk in! I'm 5'7 and wore the 6R with 3 inch heels, and it was perfect !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 9, 2017
I received sooooo many compliments on this dress for the Viennese Ball!! It's absolutely stunning!!!
The dress is actually the slightest bit stretchy, but is still true to size. The typical problem with sequin dresses is scratching, but that didn't happen with this dress! Highly recommend this dress if you want to stand out in a crowd!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2017
This dress was amazing. The second I stepped out of the car, compliments started
This dress was everything and more than I had hoped for. I wore it for a charity Masquerade Ball.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 5, 2017
I loved the dress, had a handsome date, and got compliments on the dress all night!
I am almost 5'10" and I weigh about 140lbs. I usually wear a size 4 for shorter dresses but tend to go with a 6 for longer dresses, just for that added bit of length. I ordered the 4L and 6L, and ended up wearing the 6L because it was more comfortable in the arm area and gave me just a touch more length. The back of the dress is actually longer than in the front, so when I wore 3" heels it looked perfect from the back, but looking at my feet from the front the dress was just a touch too short. I ended up wearing the heels anyways because I didn't think it was that big of a deal and still looked fine! If you are 5'10" or taller though I would say you'd have to wear heels shorter than 3" or wear flats possibly. I am definitely glad I went with the L size. I did get compliments all night though and I LOVED this dress. Would definitely recommend!! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 157lbs
March 4, 2017
Mom of 3 has a night out!!
Using Rent the Runway was SO easy! I felt amazing. It fit great and got soo many compliments on it during the night. It's tight fitting but stretchy enough that it's still comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 28, 2017
Was perfect for a Mardi Gras ball
The Dress could have been a little bit longer and some of the sequence was missing but who cares for a Mardi Gras ball.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
February 27, 2017
Perfect dress for annual Hospital Ball!
This dress was perfect in every way! It fit like a glove and was very comfortable. I only wish I had ordered the long length. I am 5'4 and normally wear a 4 inch heel. I had to purchase a lower heel in order for the dress to touch the floor in front.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2017
LOVED IT!! Fit was perfect and the color was amazing. Lots of compliments in this dress.
This dress fit me like a glove, which was exactly what I was looking for. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the sequins irritated the insides of my arms a little. Don't get me wrong, the sequins make this dress pop, so they are a must. I would totally wear this dress again, knowing that would happen.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
February 26, 2017
Perfect!
Loved this dress for our Mardi Gras Ball. It was perfect and I felt like a million bucks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 50
February 24, 2017
I was so happy to find a PURPLE gown!! It was perfect for my milestone birthday party.
The gown fit and length were perfect. I would not have worn a strapless bra because it pulled the gown down showing the lining. Better safe than sorry ! LOL!! Other than that I was very pleased. I looked and felt like a Princess!!! Thank you so much Rent The Runway!! I'll be back!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2017
Great for a veterans ball at my finance's school
I was not bothered by the sequins and loved how sparkly it was! Loved the gathering down the back that accentuated my curves. Luckily I was only wearing 2 inch heels, it was slightly shorter than what I like.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 2, 2017
a cute date and a gorgeous dress
This dress was comfortable and fit like a glove. I'm 5'7", 140 pounds, and wear between a size 6 to a size 8. I ended up wearing the back up size 8 for this dress because it was tight around the chest in the size 6. I didn't have any issues with the sequins irritating the skin on my arms. I loved the timeless, classic look this dress achieved and would recommend it to anyone who has the same goals.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 28, 2017
This dress was perfect for the gala I was attending!
This dress was amazing! I ended up wearing the backup size, and it was perfect. I wore 3 inch heels, and the dress just grazed the ground. I read some other reviews which mentioned the material was a little itchy. I only found that to be the case under my arms, but not bad enough to make a difference. I received tons of compliments on this dress, and will definitely rent from RTR again!
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2017
I got so many compliments!
It fit perfectly & was very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 23, 2017
Fits like a glove
The fit is true to size and form fitting. But it doesn't fit too snugly to be uncomfortable. It is on the long side, however. With long legs and medium heels I still had to be careful while walking quickly down the street or it would have caught on my heel. Worth it, though, since it turned heads and generated compliments all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 20, 2017
The most elegant dress I've ever worn!!!
I have never had so many compliments on a dress before! When it arrived, I thought there would be no way it would fit me. Thankfully, it fit like a glove! It showed off my curves, while still being modest. I loved the cutout in the back and it was high enough to still wear a strapless bra. I ordered a long because I'm 5'10'' but it just barely hit the ground. I ended up wearing flats (which were far more comfortable anyway) so it actually worked out. Some people complained about the sequins rubbing under their arms, but they didn't bother me at all. Definitely get this dress!!! It is a showstopper!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 20, 2017
I loved this dress! It fit perfect and the length was great for any size heels!
The fit was a little tight on the top (but I have a smaller chest so it was perfect!)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
January 20, 2017
dress fit comfortably all night! no constant adjusting. A quality dress makes all the difference.
so comfortable! The petite size fit nearly the same as the regular only shorter and a little more snug. not a drastic difference. It is a little brighter purple than the dark wine color reflected in some of the pictures. I have an athletic build and was worried that it would not be as flattering on me as it is in the tiny waist online photo but not so! 5'2" and 128 didnt feel chunky at all ;) I chose the 6P over the 4R. (tried on both)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 16, 2017
Beautiful and comfy!
I wore this for a photoshoot. It was comfortable and was the perfect length. I am 5'6 and wore 4" heels and it just grazed the floor perfectly. It photographs well too. Very comfy, shiny and not too heavy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
January 12, 2017
The many compliments I received!
It fit like a glove but the only downfall was the sequence itched.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 9, 2017
Stunning and attention grabbing. Will put your best assets on display.
I was sent this dress as a backup since RTR was unable to send my desired backup size in the dress I had ordered. The dress is very sparkly and eye catching so be prepared for a lot of attention while wearing it! I recieved a size 4L and even with the long size my 2.5" heels were visible. I would have preferred that it be just a bit longer but it fit quite well otherwise. While the neckline is not plunging or a deep cut, if you have an above average bust there will be a lot on display so be prepared for men not making eye contact. Also hugs your curves in the hips and rear nicely. I would definitely rent this for a future (less conservative) occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
January 9, 2017
Wore it to friend's formal 30th bday party!
Awesome fit, great neckline, comfortable and fit like a glove. Highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 8, 2017
dazzle for New Year's Eve
new Year's party ...formal dance at an Inn in Maine. Absolutely stunning dress with a little train....bust runs small so I did wear the 6 (but I'm usually a 4)... everyone commented on the color...a deep purple...You don't need much jewelry with this beautiful gown!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2017
Mardi Gras Ball
This was my first rental and was nervous about the fit but it was actually perfect. I rented it for a Mardi Gras Ball and had many compliments. Figure flattering and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2017
This was a backup dress that I didn't actually end up wearing.
I usually wear a 2 or a 4, and the 2 fit like a glove. I didn't end up wearing the dress, it was a backup order. I would caution anyone ordering it with a larger bust, the chest was pretty snug on me and I have a smaller chest. The one thing I wasn't thrilled with was that the dress is more "purple" than the picture presents. The picture to me looks like a dark purple, with the sequins blending in. The dress itself wasn't a darker purple, and the sequins were on the larger side and did stand out.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2017
Fabulous dress!
I wore this dress to a New Years Eve party and everyone loved it! I felt amazing! I thought it would be uncomfortable or scratchy, but it was very comfortable! Would definitely r commend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 1, 2017
Unique and flattering
Perfect fit, comfortable to wear, and so much fun! I got a lot of compliments on this dress. It definitively stands out from the standard black dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×