Rent the Runway

Nicole Miller

Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 rental
$605 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Erickson Beamon’s Amethyst Collage Ring and Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in purple, teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

380 reviews

Fit
Small 32
True to Size 277
Large 28
Photos 368
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting from RTR & was bit nervous. One of the reasons b/c I am so short I worried about the length, but w/ 4 inch heels the dress was it perfect. The 4 fit perfect everywhere except the sleeves; they were probably needed to be taken in about a 1/2 inch. The good thing is they didn't slide down & stayed put, so wearing the dress wasn't uncomfortable. I wore this dress to a gala & received tons of compliments on it. It was perfect for an evening of glitz & glam. Overall I would wear this dress again in a heartbeat & will be renting again for a wedding.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Showstopper!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a black tie wedding in January. The dress is gorgeous. It really gathers a lot of attention so be prepared for the compliments!! You'll want to wear a strapless bra because of the cut up top. The sequins rub your skin underneath your arms, so be careful. I went with the long length so I could wear tall heels (4 inch) and it looked amazing. I would rent this one again!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Pretty dress, too flashy for me

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pretty dress, flattering to figure, but the bust is cut weird. Shoulders were too large for me. Didn't end up wearing this.
Haley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

The dress was stunning! I loved it!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran a little bit short even though I got a 4L. Also the sequins really scratch the inside of your arms. But those issues are minor compared to how gorgeous the dress looked. It was extremely flattering. Everyone loved it. I'd definitely rent this one again!
Angel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

Beautiful gown! Perfect for the black tie event I attended. Fit was great, color was on trend.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Form fitting with the perfect amount of roughing to cover the "mommy bulge". The dress was long enough, but fitted at the bottom so my shoes were very visible. The sequins rubbed the inside of my arm after dancing the night away. I received a ton of compliments, someone even said I was giving them Beyoncé!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

I fit right in at a black tie affair! I received many compliments about this dress.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great color and beautiful design!
Theresa
Age: 24
Mar 5, 2014

Everyone loved my dress and I my boyfriend was speak less

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only thing I didn't like was the sequins made marks on my arms. But other than that if was gorgeous and I got compliments on it all night!!!!
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Oscar party 2014

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The lining on the neckline kept rolling up and showing, and the sequins were scratchy but other than that it was awesome.
Kirsten
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

Great night with great friends

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress...fit like a glove.. The dress was beautiful. Funny, or not so funny story...wore dress for a Mardi Gras ball....look one table away and see a person with the SAME dress...we are actually a guest of the same person. What are the odds....?????? That aside, I would definitely order from RTR again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 10, 2014

It was the perfect shade of purple for my Mardi Gras gala. Gorgeous dress. So comfortable!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the 8 due to my bust size, otherwise I could wear the 6 which I normally wear in dresses. So, if you're busty go up a size.
barbi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

very comfortable with lots of pizazz!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
the 6R and 8R fit exactly the same. even on the length so i couldnt tell a difference either way. i would say that the Regular length is VERY SHORT. i am 5'8 and wasnt concerned with the length because i knew i would be wearing flats in this dress due to the constant standing and dancing at the event i was going to. however, even with flats on, my shoes were a little visible so i would say that the regular length is really like a short in length. other than the length, it was great! the dress was very flattering with the ruching and on the bust area and insanely comfortable. i felt great all night long. would definitely rent this again but i will order a long if i have to wear any sort of heel!!
Corrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32AA
Mar 16, 2014

This dress was perfect! Comfortable and stunning!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Being 5'2" and small chested, I was nervous that this dress would have been too long or big; however it was so perfect. I wore a size 0 and it was comfortable and not too tight. I wore heels and it was the perfect length too. It was comfortable enough to dance in! I received tons of compliments, it is a gorgeous dress!
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

Got compliments all night. Fit amazing. Made me look like a movie star

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Little scratchy on the arms but not bad. Tricky zipper
randeepknapp
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 20, 2014

Mardi gras barbie!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 4 and 6 long and the 6 fit well, but the 4 looked even better! I read reviews that said the sequins rubbed under arm really bad, but i had no problems! I danced, ate, walked around in the dress all evening and never had any problems or felt uncomfortable. I loved this gown!
Angela
Top Contributor
Age: 34
Mar 23, 2014

Beautiful! Glittery! Perfect for a black tie event at a casino!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress! Really makes you feel curvy and sexy!! A couple things to watch out for-- the lining on the bust shows constantly but was improved with some fashion tape. Also the top part that buttons in the back is a little loose- again was improved with some fashion tape.
Taylor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

I wore this dress for my school pageant! I placed and got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit me really well! I wore it with a 2 1/2inch heel, any higher and I would've needed the long. Overall I loved the dress! It was perfect for the event and really sparkled under the stage lights!
Joyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

Getting compliments for days after

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a gorgeous dress. I wore it to a law school formal, and it was perfectly unique yet not over-the-top flashy. I wanted to look classy and sophisticated, and this dress helped me look exactly that. I was getting compliments even in the days after from classmates saying how beautiful I looked! The only reason I deducted a star is for the fit. I knew, after reading all the reviews, that this dress is perfect for tall/straight bodies. So, the straps were a tiny bit long. They puckered a bit in the back, and the hem was a tiny bit long (even with 4 inch heels on). However, overall a great rental.
spring
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

Beautiful color, perfect and comfortable fit! Received many compliments and my fiancé was floored!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was perfect for my body type and was comfortable and easy to move in. Length was a bit long on me and did get caught on my stilettos a few time during the night. Wore very light jewelry, the dress really spoke for itself. Would totally wear it again!
RTR Customer
Apr 2, 2014

Very beautiful dress fits like a glove but runs a little large, should have gotten a 0

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit great as I said runs a little big. Definitely very itchy on the armpit area and arms but that's bound to happen with a sequin dress
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Wearing this dress made me feel like a movie star! Compliments of a great fit and perfect color!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit over all my curves. Sequins did not bother me at all. 8R was just the right length.
Ashleigh
Age: 24
Apr 4, 2014

This dress fit me perfectly and I didn't want to take it off! I wish I could buy this dress

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
In love with the dress
Marissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

All the compliments. This is an eye catcher!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore 5 inch heels and the dress looked amazing, it was floor length and easy to walk in.
Seneca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Tons of compliments and great fit!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The straps were slightly larger than I would have liked as I have a small bust and had to adjust throughout the night to ensure that my bra straps did not show. Very lovely fit and I did not need the size up (2). I only lifted the dress to ascend and descend the stairs. I wore four inch heels which kept the dress from dragging while walking. Definitely a show stopper!
Alana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

perfection!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
such an incredible dress. I got so many compliments throughout the night. Fits like a glove. Heels were difficult to find so I suggest going with more like a kitten heel than something too high. Enjoy!
RTR Customer
Apr 14, 2014

I felt like I was a celebrity for the evening! My husband loved it and I felt great in it!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pretty true to size. It looked really small when it arrived but the material is stretchy so don't stress out!
RTR Customer
Apr 16, 2014

Amazing!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran really large so I regret not getting the Regular sized one! & underneath my arms were itchy but the dress was gorgeous and I got many compliments on it all night! I didn't wanna give it back, it was gorgeous and a lot purpler then I expected from the picture.
Coles
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

I rented this dress for a black-tie charity gala which was mardi gras themed, and it was a hit!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
At first I was very afraid of the fit, I had ordered the 4R because the 4L was not available, and it was way too short, so that one was out. My back-up size was a 2L and I ended up being able to suck-in enough with the help of some "control-top" hose to wear this size. It ended up looking fabulous! Also, I was able to wear a normal strapless bra with this dress which was a bonus, however, I did have to pull up the top a little/ tuck the top of the bra down into the dress each time I went to the bathroom. Overall, pleased with the experience.
Lucia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

Little movie star :)

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Let me start by saying, I'm 5'0. What am I going to do with a floor length gown? I used safety pins and hem tape to make it work! I put the picture up, because you can see ruching around the hip/waist area. I made that by putting a safety pin of a fold (inside the dress) right at the waist and right at the thigh (two pins on each side, so 4 total). Then I used a little hem tape on the back so it wouldn't drag. Also, the 6 fit a little loose (because of the fabric? it's stretchy, and gives everywhere except in the bust), which was good, because then the folds/pins were not visible. Someone told me I looked like a movie star in the dress,)and I got compliments the entire night (and even a few texts the following day), so it was an awesome experience.
Whitney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Love the dress. Fit great. Recommend this dress to anyone.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved, loved this dress. After weeks of reviewing RTR, I finally decided on this dress. I felt like a princess. I had an over abundant amount of compliments on the dress. I typically would wear a size 2, however, after reading reviews, I luckily opted to get a 0R for my backup. So glad I did. I am pretty flat chested and 0R ended up fitting better in the chest and arms. The dress is stretchy so I couldn't tell a huge difference in the way a 0R and 2R fit in my hips and thighs. Overall, I give this dress a 10!! I also rented the mirror bangle brackets to accessorize the look.
Lauren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

This dress stood apart from everyone else's. Definitely unforgettable!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is BEYOND perfect. I wore it to my junior prom and everyone loved it just as much as I did! The dress fit perfectly! I do have to say that I was a little scared that it wasn't going to be long enough because I'm 5'11, but it just reached the floor (no heels worn). The dress wasn't as itchy as I was expecting it to be so that was a plus. And it hugged my curves in all the right places. I was also worried about either spilling out of the dress or not having enough cleavage, but it was tight enough to give me a perfect lift! I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to stand out on the dance floor!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

Comfy and gorgeous

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was such an easy dress to wear. Low Maintenance and comfort is something I find lovable about Nicole Miller dresses
Genevieve
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Perfect dress, perfect night!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect and RTR made it incredibly simple! In size, it ran a little large, but the 0 fit perfectly! If I had a larger bust, it wouldn't have fit, but especially because I'm smaller on top, it was perfect. I got a ton of compliments!
Aisha
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

The dress was beautiful! The dress really stood out and I received many compliments on it!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit me like a glove. It is very hard for me to find a dress that fits me perfectly because of my body type. I found that one! It was beautiful and I was complimented on the dress throughout the whole entire night. I really felt beautiful in it and I'm glad that I chose the dress! It fits true to size and with my heels the dress was the right height.
Genesis
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 15
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm used to wearing about a 12 so this dress ran a little bit big. But I'm not complaining! I was worried about it not fitting but the super stretchy material made it work. I wore this to prom and the only complaint I have is that it scratches your arms like two kittens. it was insane how much the sparkles irritated my skin. The entire night I was just repeating "pain is beauty". overall, it was a great night with a beautifully flattering dress. 10/10 would rent again!
Jenny
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Felt so beautiful all night! Received so many compliments on this dress! Would def recommend.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little long, a little scratchy but totally worth it! Danced all night and my husband kept telling me how beautiful I looked!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

I felt fabulous for the night!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was great! It fit perfectly and looked beautiful in low light. A little bright during the day but still great overall. The small train in the back have it the extra glam it needed and I received many compliments all night. The only con I have is that the sequins did rub under my arms. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and it went off without a hitch... I'll be back for sure!!
Jordan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Everyone was complimenting on my perfect taste in dresses for the 007 theme my soroity formal held!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 4r was not as long as I would've liked so I wore the 4l which went down to my toes and on the floor for a more elegant look. The straps around the shoulders were too loose and I had to pin those in. It's hard to fit a bra in there so I recommend those little sticky things. All of the attendees thought it was a beautiful dress. It was easy to dance and sit in as well! Perfect for an hourglass shape !
Dawn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Wedding was amazing all around, being able to wear a designer gown and feel beautiful was amazing!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall the fit was perfect. The top was a little and I mean a little loose. I wish there was a way I could have tightened it up. You definitely need a low cut strapless bra for the dress. But it fit like a glove and was extremely comfortable. Having all my kids in the wedding made for an expensive day but thanks to Rent the Runway I got a designer look for the day without breaking me. I told EVERYONE about Rent the Runway and will continue to do so, I can't wait for my next affair so I can rent another dress!! Thank goodness for Rent the Runway!!!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 4, 2014

Compliments all night long at Junior Prom

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfectly! I got it very last minute after another dress fell through, and this one came to the rescue. Everyone told me I had the prettiest, most unique dress in the room! Easy to move in, very flattering :)
Miranda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 6, 2014

Great dress! Very comfortable! Lots of compliments. :)

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit great. Fitted, but stretchy. Easy to move, sit, eat & dance. Will definitely use RTW again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×