Nicole Miller

Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 rental
$605 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Erickson Beamon’s Amethyst Collage Ring and Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in purple, teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

337 reviews

Fit
Small 28
True to Size 257
Large 28
Photos 320
Alyssa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Perfect for a Mardi Gras Ball!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore it to a Mardi Gras Ball and it was fantastic! The dress was very comfortable and easy to work with. The sequins look beautiful on camera. However, the dress was too short for my 4 inch heels and sequins tend to rub under the arm for a while. Other than that, it was perfect!
Jess
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

So many compliments! One lady stopped to tell me I was stunning!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is absolutely amazing! It's extremely comfortable, easy to wear, and looks fantastic in photographs. It hugs the body and catches the light in ways that will surely make you stand out at any event. As for fit, I am typically a size 0P-2P so I rented the 0R and opted for the 2R as a backup. The 0 fit perfectly through my chest and body, but had a little extra room vertically in the shoulders (typically that would be a petite adjustment) and a lot of extra fabric on the hem. I'm 5'0" and heels don't exist that would make me tall enough for this dress! Luckily the fabric is very forgiving and with a quick needle and thread I was able to make a loose and removable, but invisible, hem. I would recommend this dress to anyone attending a black tie event, just be weary if you're under 5'2". You may need super tall heels or a removable hem!
Alyssa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 6, 2013

"Thank you so much for being here, my table said you had the prettiest dress."

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was very nice. I am 5'8" and I ordered the long dress and it was a little too short with my heels, as you can see in the picture. It still looked great and I didn't want to take this dress off. If you need to be that "light" when you walk in the room, GET THIS DRESS! I had so much complements it was so amazing. The only thing that was not so exciting was my underarms got a major rub mark from the sequins on the side of the dress. But I have nothing else bad to say about this dress.
Meaghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

HOT. Loved this dress.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I needed a gown for a ball I was attending in Texas, I knew I needed something over the top. I initially ordered two other gowns but neither worked. They were too short or too big. RTR's staff are ANGELS, I literally called everyday I received a new dress that didn't work. They helped me and assured me each time. Finally I landed on this gown and couldn't be happier. They even sent the dress to my hotel so once I arrived the dresses were waiting for me! Great shape and hugs in all the right ways. The only issue was the sequins pinched a little but I got over that fast. The dress was BEAUTIFUL!
Patricia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

I loved this dress! The fit was right on target... it was perfect! Got compliments all evening.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect dress. The only thing that bothered me was that the sequins rubbed under my arms and irritated my skin a bit but maybe that was the price to pay for feeling beautiful! Definitely still recommend!
amber
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

Beautiful dress! Received lots of compliments.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs a little large in the bust and torso. It also said to rent a long if you were my height and wearing 4" heels, I did and it was too long. would have been fine if I went with a regular.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156 lbs
Dec 3, 2013

The little sequins really irritated the underside of my arms.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not long enough - I'm 5'10" and my feet were totally exposed. Also the top came a bit far down on my bust so I kept having to pull it back up to make sure my bra wasn't showing. Nicole Miller dresses usually fit me really well, but this one was a bit of a let down (though I did get lots of compliments on the color on me).
shruti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 4, 2013

Loved it and flaunted it

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Everything is perfect about this dress
Katie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

Breath Of Life Gala in SF, supporting the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear to a fundraiser supporting the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. Our 2.5 year old was born with CF. (Please learn more at cff.org) Purple is the color of the CF Awareness ribbon. The shoulder straps of the dress were very loose on me. There was one to two inches of fabric that I had to safety pin up in the back to keep the dress up and avoid a wardrobe malfunction. The sticky tape that RTR sent with my order did not help as it just stuck to the inner lining and made the lining show. This could be due to the fact that I have virtually no boobs from breastfeeding two kids. But it is worth noting that it did not fit on top. I do agree with the sequins being very scratchy! I would not recommend this dress to ladies with my figure, with nothing to put in the top of the dress. Also, the alternate size 8L was so big that it would have shown my whole chest area had I worn it. Just noting that also. The rest of the dress fit great, very flattering
GlitterCake
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Stand out in a great way!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
When random girls are stopping you at a party with 500 people to compliment your dress, and you're still getting comments a week later, you know it's a good one! Definitely stands out, and the color/sparkles are noticeable without being overwhelming and garish. I am 5'9" and wore 4" heels, and the long was perfect, regular would have been too short for that heel height for me. Sequins are scratchy but tolerable. Did not have trouble with the straps as others mentioned, but I also have broad shoulders and could see how it would be a struggle if I didn't. Tried on both with spanx and without, and the material/sparkles are forgiving enough that it disguises problem areas with dazzle. Felt a bit like it flattened my chest and gave me a bit of a barrel look, but not so much that it prevented me from wearing, just tried to be cautious in picture angles! Am usually either a 6 or an 8 depending on style, and 6 fit perfectly, 8 could have still worked, but would have had a bit too much extra material. Would rent again, very fun dress to wear!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

Stunning dress, serious slippage.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Based on reviews, I ordered this dress in a 2 and a 4. I normally wear a 4, but the 2 did fit better. The dress was stunning and I received a lot of compliments, but the top rolled down ALL night. I tried taping, pulling, shifting...nothing worked. Very frustrating. I would have worn the bigger dress, but the 4 came with a hole near the zipper in the back, which was very noticeable when on.
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 156 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Comfort meets glamorous!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First off make sure you read the dimensions for the length of the dress. I needed a long so that I could wear heels. I first got a 8 Reg but it was too short and I had to immediately get in contact with RTR and get a long overnighted. But they did and I didn't have any issues and the long was perfect. In regards to comfort, this dress didn't constrict me and I felt comfortable in it all night thanks to the stretchy fabric. You will get lots of compliments while wearing this dress and I really don't have any cons. The sequins didn't hurt under my arm, in fact I didn't notice them at all. Overall, an absolutely perfect dress. I wore it to my company holiday party and the sequins is purple. Some pics look royal blue, but it's purple and it is sparkly! Love it and highly recommend it!
Kate
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

This is such a beautiful dress! I felt like I was having my own Marilyn moment!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfectly. Usually I have a hard time finding a dress that hugs my curves perfectly without the top being too big. I didn't have any problem with this dress. At first I thought it might be a little short for my shoe preferences but it ended up being perfect. If you like to wear shoes taller than 3 1/2 inches I would recommend getting it in long. You will not be disappointed in this dress!!
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Dec 24, 2013

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great. The only con was the scratchiness under the arm but it was well worth it!
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

This was my first time using RTR - it was SUPER easy and I highly recommend it!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The 4 fit my tiny bust better but I went with the 6 because of the length. Performing in this gown was really comfortable, even while seated, though like others I found the sequins rubbing on my underarms slightly unpleasant. Even though it sat too low, I loved that it stayed securely on my shoulders. This gown was an AWESOME stage gown - the comments were numerous! If you want attention, this is the dress for you!
AJ
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 1, 2014

Simply Amazing! I felt so gorgeous all night!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs very true to size. I wore it to a NYE 2014 Gala. Quite comfortable. The color was hard to capture in pictures in darker places, but the eggplant color looked great under lights! My arms got a little scratched from the sequins but this was the only things bad I can say about this dress--because otherwise, it's awesome. My recommendations: Wear a heel higher than 3 inches with this dress to avoid using hem tape. As far as undergarments go, you don't need a waist cincher , but I feel like stronger one that what I used would have made a great silhouette (if you don't have a small midsection). Still, I felt fabulous in this dress and got so many compliments on it! Love love loved it!.
Gabby
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

Sexy glamorous and flattering!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this for a black tie New Years Eve event in both a 0R and 2R...the 0 was perfect it was very close fitting to showcase my curves but not too tight so that i couldn't move or sit. I am quite petite so i did have to wear 5.5 heels and be a bit cautious with the small train. However, all of this was very minor, it is a beautiful dress that was sexy but tasteful and made me feel beautiful the whole night, and my boyfriend loved it! I highly recommend this dress.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Black tie family wedding! Such a great event and it felt so good to look so great in this dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5"4, 130lbs, and a C cup. Dress fit me like a glove. The length was perfect for 3" heels. If I had wanted to wear any bigger of a heel, the 4R would have been too short. I thought I would be able to wear a strapless bra, but the cut is definitely very low and none of my strapless bras would fit. Had to wear stick on pasties which isn't my favorite, but it totally worked out alright. The only negative that I have is that the sequins were harsh on my arms. I have very pale, sensitive skin and by the end of the night I had scratches up and down my arm. It was pretty uncomfortable while dancing, but not enough to ruin my night. Thanks, Rent the Runway for a fantastic fitting dress! Can't wait to rent again!
Lily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Gorgeous dress, kind of annoying to wear!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress and might even rent it again, even though I share many of the same complaints that other women have already mentioned. The color and sparkle were truly stunning in person, and photographed beautifully. I thought the fit was quite flattering -- sexy without being too scandalous. You don't need any shapewear and can even go braless, though I felt more comfortable with a standard strapless bra. Now the frustrations. The sizing is quite odd. I wore the 2R even though I normally wear a 4-6, and even wore an 8 in another Nicole Miller dress (the Plum Metallic Ruched Dress). It was insanely long and I had to hold it up to walk even with 4.5 inch heels on -- no dancing for me! The straps are too long, which means they gape awkwardly in the back, and the front always wanted to fall down to display my bra. Since the sequin layer is heavier than the underlayer, the slip kept showing at the bust (you can see it in one of the pics). Fashion tape wouldn't've helped. The sequins were also a bit irritating under the arms, though I stopped noticing it after a while. I wore it with the Crystal Thorn Drop Earrings by RJ Graziano. My stunning friend is wearing the Take the Stage Gown by Badgley Mischka.
Rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 17, 2014

Definitely a head turner!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! This was my first RTR rental and I am hooked. I rented the 2 and 4. The 2 hugged my body better. The sequins did rub under my arms, but it was worth it. I also wished I had a slightly smaller heel. I wore 3 in heels and the dress was a tad shorter than I would have preferred.
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Jan 21, 2014

Gerat dress! The sequins were really pretty and such a perfect choice for my event.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
For the details, the dress was a little heavy, nothing I couldn't handle. The sequins did scratch under my arms pretty bad. When I took my dress off I still had the marks. Also, others commented about the front sort of rolling down, to see the linging, that happened but just had to fix it real quick.
Haley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

Amazing Holiday Party Dress

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. The color, the fit, the showcasing of the boobage ;) ... I usually wear a size 12 and so had to work a little to get into the 10, but thankfully, the stretch got me there and I loved the way it looked. I had no problem with the top or straps being too big, but again, it was a size small for me. The length was surprising .. I ordered the long and had to wear strappy flats in order for it to touch the floor. I also noticed some irritation on the undersides of my arms from the sequins, but it was absolutely worth it for how great it looked. Got compliments all night long. Highly recommend.
Charis
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

My dress dazzled at my college homecoming ball which was also my 22nd bday! The dress made the night

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly but was a little scratchy to wear longer than an hour because of the sequins. The dress actually fit well on my bust but was extremely long even with heels which amazed me for my height. All in all I loved the dress and it was an instant classic eye-catcher!
Klarissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

The dress was really sparkly and stood out in the crowd

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was my first time ordering from RTR. Originally I ordered the Badgley Mischka Award Winner Gown and I had my eyes set on that for my pageant. Although I wasn't able to get it due to the damages of the gown a few days prior to the event, I was able to get another one just in time. This purple gown was actually the first one that I tried on when I was at the showroom and was already my second choice in case my first choice wasn't available. The sequins made the dress sparkle a lot when in the light and the color of the dress complimented my skin well. My only problem with the dress was the zipper. I had trouble with the zipper on both the 0R and the 2R dresses that I got. I was able to fit into both of the dresses; the only difference is the length. I choose 0R because of its shorter length and I didn't want to worry about tripping on stage. It was a little tight, can't say it was super comfortable, but I got used to it and it wasn't like I couldn't breathe. Compared to the size 0 of the Award Winner Gown, this one was tighter/smaller. Either that or I probably gained some weight in between. I really liked how I was able to show off all of the curves I have. I wish I knew about RTR sooner because I'll be renting from here a lot more from now on! Thank you!
gabby
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

I felt like I could walk the red carpet!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using RTR. I rented this dress for a charity event. I rented the 2R and the 4R based on other peoples reviews. The 4 was too loose so I went with the 2. My heels were only about 2 inches so the length was perfect, maybe even a little too long leaving someone my height able to wear higher heels and still be ok. The sequins under the arms did become a little itchy as the night went on, but it was well worth it. The dress was definitely a head turner! The only issue I had was when I tried it on the night before my event, the button on the back popped off. It wasn't something a safety pin couldn't fix but it was extremely hard getting ahold of someone via email or phone to tell them of my issue which was frustrating. Other than that, it was a great experience and I will definitely use RTR in the near future!
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

This dress was stunning! Look no further.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am much smaller on top than I am on the bottom and this dress hugged all the right places. There is a little give in the material so although it was form fitting, it was very comfortable! I normally wear a 4 and the 4L was a perfect length. I'm 5'9" and wore a 2 inch heel. The only downside was that the sequins scratched my under arms a bit but nothing I couldn't handle.
Wishmaker
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 29, 2014

Beautiful! Very flattering and hugs every curve. Comfortable and not super heavy. Loved it!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore 4" heels and it just dusted the floor. This hugs every curve but with the sequins if forgiving of any trouble spots. I got rave reviews and it was truly unique. Even brighter in person and very elegant! I hosted an event in this dress and it was perfect! Loved it!
Courtney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 1, 2014

Stunning. I received compliments all night long!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is perfect. I used it for a law school ball and it rocked. Comfortable enough to dance in and move seamlessly through a crowd of people. The color really popped with my green eyes and blonde hair. This dress just hugged in all the right places and flattered by booty!
Leah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

I wore this dress to a gala and someone told me that the gala should be held in honor of my dress!!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect. The zipper was a little bit sticky and required some help from a friend, but other than that it fit like a glove and I was so happy. The sequins are sharp but whatever, it looks great. It's so flattering and very forgiving.
Christina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 8, 2014

Beautiful gown for black tie affair!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the First Look for Charity (Chicago Auto Show) black tie event, and it was perfect! I am 5'6 and ordered the 0 Long, which was the perfect length with 5 inch heels. However, my friend, who is the same height as me, tried it on, and it was much shorter on her. When you're deciding on length, take into consideration how you'll fill out the hips; if you have hips and are over 5'5, I'd say to go with the long. However, if you're narrow through your hips, you probably could order Regular if you don't want to wear as high of a heel (and are under 5'7). Like many others commented on here, the sequins irritated my under arms by the end of the night. Perhaps an anti-chafing would help alleviate this problem. Another woman at the event had on the same dress, also from RTR. It was interesting to see how the dye lot was slightly different; her dress was a bit more purple. It looked great on her as well! All in all, I really felt amazing in this dress! Highly recommended, especially for someone with a fairly straight figure; it adds curves!
Gwen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

Beautiful dress and even better in person!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I was very impressed! I will definitely use them again. As for the dress, it was beautiful and hugged in all the right places! I ordered a 4R and 6R. I ended up wearing the 6R because I felt more comfortable in it. RTR mailed the dress in plenty of time. My issue came with UPS. We got a snow storm and that delayed the delivery and after dealing with multiple customer service reps, I picked up my dress the day before the event. Which was nerve wracking. Pros: the dress is absolutely stunning and I got compliments on it all night. Although its form fitting, it still is very flattering. Cons: Like most of the other reviews, the dress really scratched up my arms from the sequence. I even wore some glide under my arms in effort to protect against it. The zipper was really difficult to get up and down, but once it was on it was perfect! The dress is quite long and the small train in the back makes it a little difficult to dance. Even with shoes approximately 3 inch heels, I still had to hold it up while I danced. Also the front kept pulling down showing the lining of the dress. Even with fashion tape attached to my bra, I had to pull at it most of the night. Overall: I loved this because of the fit and compliments I received all night, but I probably wouldn't rent this again due to the length and the sequence scratching my arms. Love love RTR and will use again!
Brooke
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Endless Compliments and Felt Gorgeous all Night!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First off I just want to say thank you to all the ladies who wrote honest reviews about all the dresses-that's what really pushed me to rent this dress. The overall fit was perfect-absolutely no complaints. Yes, as some other reviews, the sequins under the arm did rub a little but nothing that was irritating all night. I kept hearing compliments the entire night and have honestly never felt so beautiful in a formal gown. This was for a Mardi Gras Ball and it definitely made the statement I was looking for. RTR made it super easy to rent and return the dress. The condition and quality was immaculate and I didn't feel like I was wearing a "used" dress. All in all, I will most certainly rent again from RTR and am excited to experience it again! Don't contemplate anymore...rent this dress!!!!
Haley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 12, 2014

Usually a 2, fit into a 0! So pretty! Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: Dress had this great sexy/sassy look, while still being modest. The sequins sure brought a lot of attention to the dress too! Length was perfect with 3.5/4inch heels and I got tons of compliments. Fabric had some stretch so flattering fit. Cons: Wore black heels, but harder to match with this color dress. Heavier dress, like all sequin types. This dress, more than other sequin dresses, caused irritation and chafing under my arms. Definitely noticeable and after 4 hours I was dying to get the dress off. Needed padded strapless bra to avoid looking very flat chested, partially due to the cut of the dress. Overall: Good wear but won't rent again due to chafing. Got tons of compliments and is the perfect dress to RENT and not own. For shorter events and less dancing- this dress should work perfect! Normally I am a 2, fit into the 0 but it was a tight fit and spanx were required. They 2 was out but if I could go back would probably get the 2.
Miss Madeline
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

This dress was incredible! It fit perfectly and was so flattering. I got compliments all night!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The zipper was really hard to pull up on your own! Don't get this dress if you live alone! Other than that, it was absolutely perfect.
Ms. M
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Feb 15, 2014

Human Rights Campaign Gala at the Waldorf, NYC

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Awesome dress. Loved it!!
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting from RTR & was bit nervous. One of the reasons b/c I am so short I worried about the length, but w/ 4 inch heels the dress was it perfect. The 4 fit perfect everywhere except the sleeves; they were probably needed to be taken in about a 1/2 inch. The good thing is they didn't slide down & stayed put, so wearing the dress wasn't uncomfortable. I wore this dress to a gala & received tons of compliments on it. It was perfect for an evening of glitz & glam. Overall I would wear this dress again in a heartbeat & will be renting again for a wedding.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Showstopper!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a black tie wedding in January. The dress is gorgeous. It really gathers a lot of attention so be prepared for the compliments!! You'll want to wear a strapless bra because of the cut up top. The sequins rub your skin underneath your arms, so be careful. I went with the long length so I could wear tall heels (4 inch) and it looked amazing. I would rent this one again!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Pretty dress, too flashy for me

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pretty dress, flattering to figure, but the bust is cut weird. Shoulders were too large for me. Didn't end up wearing this.
Haley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

The dress was stunning! I loved it!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran a little bit short even though I got a 4L. Also the sequins really scratch the inside of your arms. But those issues are minor compared to how gorgeous the dress looked. It was extremely flattering. Everyone loved it. I'd definitely rent this one again!
Angel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

Beautiful gown! Perfect for the black tie event I attended. Fit was great, color was on trend.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Form fitting with the perfect amount of roughing to cover the "mommy bulge". The dress was long enough, but fitted at the bottom so my shoes were very visible. The sequins rubbed the inside of my arm after dancing the night away. I received a ton of compliments, someone even said I was giving them Beyoncé!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×