Nicole Miller

Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$605 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
587 reviews
Fit
Large
(33)
True to Size
(385)
Small
(47)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 15, 2015
This dress made me feel like an old Hollywood glamour queen!
The size 6 long fit like a glove and was long enough to wear 3" heels. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2015
No one else had a dress quite like it - the color was beautiful and unique, and fit was beautiful.
It does fall down a little bit in the front and reveal a strapless bra if you're wearing one. I had to hike the top up throughout the night - however, I am very busty (30G) so that experience will only likely replicate itself if you're similarly busty. It was a beautiful, beautiful dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
November 5, 2015
I actually came down with a stomach virus and was a practical zombie the entire night.
It runs true to size, except for in the sleeve caps and around the bust. I suppose if you have a more generous supply of boobs then it would fill out quite nice. I am, however, blessed with the chest of a 12 year old boy and so it kept slouching down to reveal the top crest of my hungry bra. The sleeve caps also took a hike from shoulders the second I dare slouch my shoulders. It was an exercise in sitting elegantly all evening. I felt great standing up. I received many compliments on it and the sequins barely irritated me. There was some minor chafing around the arm pit area, but nothing that left me regretting my decision in wearing the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2015
beautiful dress
Had someone with the same gown on, but it was a beautiful dress. Loved it and felt beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 26, 2015
Rented gown for contemporary glamour portrait session.
I'm a boudoir and contemporary glamour portrait photographer located in Central PA and I rented this stunning gown for my client's session. She wore the size 8 and it fit her perfectly, and that color looked amazing on her! She usually wears only black but I was able to get her to trust me on this dress and she was thrilled how she looked. The fabric had just enough stretch and had a luxurious feel to it. She didn't wear a bra with it but we did place cutlets in to give her just a bit more of a boost. http://shannonhemauerphotography.com/
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 25, 2015
Gorgeous dress, got so many compliments!
This dress is super gorgeous! I am normally a 4L but have wider hips, so I was concerned that this type of column dress would be too tight on my hips, so I ordered a 6L as my backup size. The 4L actually wasn't too bad, but it ended up being too short with the heels I was wearing. I ended up wearing the 6L because it just barely touched the floor, and it was a little more comfortable in the hips. I'm 5'8 and my heels were about 3 inches, so I was surprised that the 4L and 6L weren't actually that long. However, the dress was stunning, I got compliments all night, and I did not want to take it off. I will definitely be using RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 24, 2015
Black tie night
I believed my hips were far too larger for this style dress and was not going to wear it. My man, on the other hand loved the dress and begged me to wear it. It was comfortable and very elegant looking. It does show cleavage (my event was pretty conservative) so I was a bit cautious. Also, I had to pin the top as the button kept coming undone. Over all, I was very pleased.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
October 22, 2015
The dress was amazing and I got so many compliments on it. It was perfect for the black tie wedding.
The dress fit well and it was comfortable. I didn't wear a bracelet because I was afraid of catching and pulling the fabric. The dress is so fancy it doesn't call for a lot of accessories. It is definitely on the longer side, but my heels were at least 3& 1/2 inches, which worked out fine. While I was dancing I had to lift it up a little bit. I got so many compliments on it, I was very pleased with it overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
October 21, 2015
This is a show stopper!
This was a back up dress for me. I'm 5'5", 122 lbs, this dress was very tight. It was very pretty, however, I wore my original gown. I wish I would have gotten a picture taken. I would rent this one again but in a 4R.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 18, 2015
Such a great form fitting dress
Fit was true to size. The color is great and the fit is amazing! I rented this as a extra option for a military ball but ended up not wearing this as I liked another dress in my order more. Also the zipper on my dress would not go up because it seemed to be stuck so I cousins have worn it even if I wanted to. But definitely a gorgeous dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 18, 2015
Show stopper
Rented as my backup but fell in love! Great plum color is a fun alternative to black. Felt great all night. Gads of compliments!! Small train was perfect length. Wore with 3" heels
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 18, 2015
Awesome dress!
Beautiful I'm 5'7 and should've done the R instead of L (less worry on the dance flr) but I loved it. It fit really well in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 17, 2015
Perfect dress for the ball
This dress fit true to size the only down side was it was VERY scratchy. It was a very nice gown and perfect for the USMC Ball.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 11, 2015
Great dress, definitely an attention getter!
At first I had requested the size 2 and 4 but got a little nervous about the sizing after losing a few more pounds so I called and the extremely helpful lady switched me to a 0 and 2. She made me feel confident that those are the sizes that would work best for me. The two fit ok, but was loose in the back and the straps were too long making the "girls' wanna come out and play a little too much. The 0 was snuck when pulling over the hips but fit like a glove and made me feel super sexy. My hubby said people were staring all night and by the end of the evening I did not want to part with this dress! Nothing has ever made me feel more confident:) I only ordered the long for the heels! If you are 5'5 and going with 3 inch order the regular but 4 inch needs a long to not show the shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
October 7, 2015
A sparkling evening
This was my back up dress after the first was lost by UPS. It was shipped overnight and got there Sat afternoon. A true fit, no stretch but beautiful. Stood out all night. Perfect with heels, but when walking really fast I could feel the train getting tangled in my legs a little so slow down!
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
October 5, 2015
A nice dress after a stressful ordering process
Thank goodness I loved this dress, because it was my backup dress and after my original selection suddenly wasn't available and the replacement they sent me was not my style, it was my only option! I got compliments all night long and it's very easy to wear. I recommend spanx if you're going to be eating and drinking all night, and a strapless bra to keep some definition. A note to my taller ladies, I'm 5'10" and the long style barely touched the ground so I had to wear flats. I'm not sure if they sent me a regular and didn't tell, or if this is the shortest long ever made, but keep it in mind. Overall this is a great dress, but some elements like the zipper and button at the top are obviously very worn, and should be replaced
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
October 3, 2015
This dress fit like a glove!
This dress fit me perfect!! I'm typically a size 6/8 and I think I could have fit into a 6 just right but the 8 gave me room to breathe so I am completely happy overall. The dress was not scratchy as other ladies mentioned but I did have an issue with the sequences were sharp and jammed up my right thumb when I was trying to adjust the dress after sitting and standing numerous times during several toasts. Just to help other ladies out: I'm about 5'7, 148 lbs, I'm more bottom heavy, e.g., hips and butt I ordered the long version of this dress and wore about 3 in heels and the length was perfect! Not too long and definitely not short. Definitely recommend!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 1, 2015
The dress was unforgettable. Everyone will adore you in it. It's a gorgeous piece.
Most everything about the dress was perfect. My only complaint was that the sleeves felt a little loose on my shoulders. All in all, the dress was perfect length (I was also wearing 5" tall heels), and I was able to dance comfortably all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2015
Glamorous!
The chest area was a bit small, but the waist and hips were great! The sequins rubbed against my armpits so by the end of the night that was a bit chafed. I got tons of compliments, as always when wearing RTR!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 27, 2015
The sequins are stunning and the fit was gorgeous.
I would highly recommend this dress. Fits like a glove, with a nice heavy fabric. The best part is the mini-bustle in the back (the perfect accent to a round derriere). I could easily wear a strapless bra underneath. I paired with 3in sparkly silver peep-toed pumps. I had no issues with chafing under the arms. Got lots of compliments!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
September 25, 2015
I wore this for an Awards Gala for work and I felt really beautiful in it!!
The dress fit perfectly. In fact, if I had weighed a pound heavier I don't think I could have zipped it up! haha! The length was great for heels so you couldn't see my shoes until I was walking. I was wearing 2.5 in heels. The dress was gorgeous and I got LOTS of compliments on it and I definitely stood out with all the sequence... but one thing drove me nuts right at the bust line. The inside lining kept bunching out the top. So I was constantly retucking it in and making sure it laid correctly. And quite honestly, if I had a larger chest, I'm not sure I would have fit! Other than that, LOVED it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 24, 2015
Prettier in person
I found the dress to look best in person, none of my photos of the evening do it justice. I received compliments all night long. I am typically between an 8 and 10, and I ordered the 10L as my back-up and it fit well. However, even in a long I could not wear much of a heel. The gathering of material in the front stomach area was flattering, but I still wore Spanx. The only criticism I have is that the material around my chest kept rolling. I used fashion tape to keep it down and that made it worse. Ultimately I decided to go without a bra and that worked out. I'm a small D cup and the dress gave enough support for me to be comfortable. I would rent this dress again for a similar occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 23, 2015
Gorgeous dress that fit me like a glove.
This dress fit me like a glove, is true to size, and the length was perfect for my petite frame. I liked how lightweight it was too. I love Nicole Miller dresses, and will definitely look to her again in the future. I didn't use my size 6 back-up, but it was a good choice since the 2 would have been too small. This was my first time with RTR and it was a success, so I'll be back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
September 23, 2015
Everyone at the event was coming up and asking where I got my dress!
Very comfortable! Fit perfect! I'd rent it again in a heart beat!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
September 22, 2015
RTR is super easy.
Loved the dress and so did everyone else. I received compliments all night. I'm usually a size 10R, however, I found that 12R looked better around my waist area even though it showed lots of cleavage. The length was okay since I wore 2.5" low heels, but I would have to order 10L if I wanted to wear anything higher. The dress was also very scratchy under the arms due to the sequins (ouch!).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 21, 2015
Really pretty dress to stand out in a crowd.
Fit great, the sequins were a little itchy near the armpits toward the end of the night but it wasn't too bothersome. I am 5'4" and wore like 3 or 4 inch heels and it was still a bit long, so keep that in mind.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2015
Beautiful gown-disappointing 1st time rental experience
Beautiful dress! It hugs your body without being restrictive. You can get away without wearing a bra but I wore a padded push-up strapless one to give the illusion that I have somewhat of a chest. The shoulder straps were loose fitting but not so much that I had to worry about them falling off my shoulders. The dress photographs well but I feel that the pictures do not capture the true gorgeous purple color that it is. I accessorized with silver shoes and a silver sequin clutch. I received countless compliments at the Medal of Honor Patriot Awards Gala that I wore this to. This was not the dress I had originally ordered for my event. My advice for others is not to fall in love with the dress you order, like I did, or you will be devastated when you receive an EMAIL at 12noon the day before it's due to arrive that informs you that the dress was damaged and you now have only a few hours to get back to them with more dress options. (If they didn't hear back from me that day by 4PM then they were just going to pick one for me-surprise!) Now that's a difficult request as there is very limited availability of dresses (that you actually like and in your size) to chose from 2 days before an event. To be prepared for such a circumstance I recommend having at least 15 dresses saved in your "hearts" because as this being my 1st RTR experience I only had 3 saved (I had found the dress I loved and didn't really look much after that.) Of course they weren't available so naturally I felt rushed to find a new dress. My experience with RTR customer service about this was disappointing. I had called 3 times before being able to speak with someone. The 1st 2 phone calls I was on hold for 15 minutes each time before I opted to leave my phone # to be called back at instead of waiting. After 4 hours and no phone call I called again and waited 25 minutes before I spoke with someone. My advice to RTR with situations such as mine is to go the extra mile and throw in an accessory with the order. I had already purchased shoes, clutch and a shawl to go with my original dress-even had my toe nails painted to match. Finding myself the morning of my event shopping (mind you with my 2 small children in tote) to find new accessories to match my new unexpected dress that Im now wearing is not an ideal experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 18, 2015
I wore this to the Hispanic Heritage Awards and received compliments all night!
Overall the dress was true to size. I'm petite (4'10") and a 34C. I usually wear size 2, but had to go a size up for my chest. The dress was absolutely gorgeous in any light. It was a bit scratchy, but it really didn't start bothering me until the end of the night. It was very comfortable and easy to move in. The open back was a very nice detail and I was able to wear a strapless bra with no problem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
September 10, 2015
Great dress for a formal holiday wedding!
Being 8 weeks postpartum, I was a bit nervous going out for the first time since having my baby. Luckily, RTR to the rescue. I had a lot of trouble with fit as I wasn't used to my "new" (and temporary) body. RTR was super helpful in getting me into the right size and even overnighting me an 8 when the 6 ended up making my girls pop a little too much for my liking. It's also long for us shorties, so get the heels ready! The dress is a show stopper and even the bride made sure to tell me how much she loved it. Don't hesitate to rent this is you don't mind getting lots of attention! ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
September 8, 2015
It fit like a glove. The perfect dress.
Great fit. Be mindful of your bust.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
September 7, 2015
It was an Awards Gala & my company won an award that nite.
I rented both size 6 & 8 but ultimately wore the 6 because the straps were too long on the 8 & I thought they would fall down all nite. Now that I look at the photos, the 8 would have looked better as the 6 was too short on the bottom & too tight in the bust. Overall, loved the dress & I got lots of compliments.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
September 6, 2015
Gorgeous dress! Perfect for a New Year's Eve wedding.
This dress fit true to size. It was longer than I expected and heavier as well but still managed to dance all night. I got tons of compliments on this dress. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 25, 2015
Rent the runway is a genius idea! I will always rent for special occasion from now on.
Dress for snug but was stretchy so it didn't bother me. I felt elegant and received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 21, 2015
Beautiful, but I wore another one
This dress is super pretty. It was a little short, even though I ordered an 8L, and the only other problem was were the sleeves cut between the boob and the arm. Other than that, the color was beautiful, and the fit great too.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 19, 2015
Perfect dress for Mardi Gras!
The dress fit true to size and was comfortable. I received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
August 18, 2015
So many compliments on this dress!!
The dress fit nicely, although my arms rubbed against the sequences and cut my arms up a bit. But it moved nicely and fit well. I went the larger size because it gave me some more room. But no concerns with showing any of my post baby section (my son was 6 months when I wore this).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 16, 2015
So glamorous!
This dress was amazing. I got compliments all night and felt awesome. I was nervous about the sequins when I first put it on, and they were scratching my arms a bit, but after a few minutes of wearing it, I got used to it and had no other problems for the rest of the night. The fit is very good, pretty true to size. The shoulder area does get a little tight, but it was manageable, as long as you're not constantly raising your arms above your chest. I would have preferred a 4L, but they didn't have any for the night that I needed it, so I was actually wearing a 2L, which is probably why the shoulders were tight, but I imagine if you have the right size that it wouldn't be a problem. The length is also quite long, and there is a mini train in the back. I am 5'10" and wore 3 inch heels, and it worked out pretty well, although the train got stuck in my heels sometimes when I would walk. The only thing that is odd about this dress is how the neckline looks and feels pretty reasonable, but shows up pretty low in pictures. All in all, I would definitely recommend this dress for anyone going to a formal event!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
August 1, 2015
Loved the sparkle!!! Tons of compliments!
Loved this dress. The deep purple sequin is really flattering on me. The shape was really fitting but not unbearable tight. A little long to dance with if you don't have high enough heels. My only compliant on the dress is that the top chest part kept flipping over and showing about an inch of fabric from the inside. I tried to safety pin it done but really don't work.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 23, 2015
Had it as a back up, but didn't wear
Looked a little too much like a prom dress, but fit really nicely. Bust line was a little weird because it smushed you to create this maybe sexy on some people corset- like cleavage, but I didn't love it because it gave me boob armpit fat. Ruching wad nice across the belly though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
June 11, 2015
Regular is short
This was a back-up dress for a formal wedding and I ended up not wearing it because it was too short. I'm 5 foot 4 and I couldn't wear heels with it. Otherwise, this is an amazing dress. I would say this runs true to size and maybe just a hair on the small side for my taste. I
See more reviews:
5 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×