Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 rental
$605 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
488 reviews
Fit
Large32
True to Size336
Small36
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 19, 2015
This dress was a hit!
I ordered the 6R and the 8R because I wear a 6, the dress ran a bit small so I ended up wearing the 8R and it was perfect. I wore a 4in heel with it, and it was a little long- but I am also quite short. Everyone loved the dress, and the only downside I can think of was that I ended up with small scratches on the backs of my legs from the sequins.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 19, 2015
The dress was stunning! Perfect for the Zulu Mardi Gras Ball!
The 10R fit a bit snug but the 12R was far too large. The dress was of great quality and it was just beautiful! I ordered a 10R because I'm only 5'3" and things are always too long for me; however, my shoes were 4.5" heels, which made the dress on the short side. In the future, I'd order the L. But it worked! I felt beautiful in the dress and received too many compliments to count. This was my first RTR experience and I'm a raving fan! Thank you so much!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
February 18, 2015
Amazing dress!
The dress for pretty well except the top was a bit big so I had to pin it and I did get a bit of a rash on my underarms from the sequins but the dress was stunning. Got lots of compliments. Also the lining kept coming up, which probably could've been fixed w/double stick tape but I didn't have time to think about that. My first time renting and definitely not the last. It was very easy to return it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 18, 2015
Fun dress for Mardi Gras
This dress was great for the Orpheuscapade ball. It's a rich purple colour, very sparkly, and easy to dance in. I'm 5'9", 155 pounds and usually a size 6. The 6 long fit just as I expected, but it was still a bit on the short side. With bare feet, the gown skimmed the ground which meant that it was several inches off the ground when I put my high heels on. I'd keep that in mind if you're tall and plan on wearing high heels. Something about the way the top of the dress is cut also made my chest (34 C) look a little flat. I ended up wearing a padded strapless bra to give me a bit more shape. My friend wore this dress to a different Mardi Gras ball a few weeks ago, and this was also the case for her.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 17, 2015
The look on my husband's face when I walked out in the dress
It fit just right and I got so many rave reviews! Felt very glamorous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 16, 2015
Doesn't get any easier!
True to size fit. Wore with strapless bra for extra support and Spanx. Very comfortable fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
February 13, 2015
I was the star of the Ball!
This dress was a hit!! I received so many compliments in this dress, many of them being the color and the fit. It runs true to size and fits amazing. This was my first RTR dress and I will definitely be ordering from RTR again in the future.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 12, 2015
Great color and fit!
Dress was comfortable and had a nice silhouette and cut outs. No need to wear bra but a strapless would've been fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2015
This dress was definitely a show stopper!
Love, love, LOVED this dress! I'm 5'9 and even with the long length I couldn't wear a high heel and the dress can scratch some under the arm. Beautiful dress. I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 9, 2015
This dress was absolutely beautiful! I received so many compliments!
The picture doesn't do it justice! I felt great in this dress! After reading the other reviews I was nervous about the length. I am 5'5" and I wore 4 1/2 inch heels and the regular length was perfect!!
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 8, 2015
Loved the dress and RTR
Dress was much more vibrant than it looked on the model! Stretchy fabric fit great! Sequins definitely chafed under my arms but maybe cause I danced all night! Thank you RTR. I will definitely use you again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 4, 2015
Beautiful gown!
Beautiful dress. I was nervous because it seemed like everyone who had rented this dress before was much skinnier, with a much bigger bust than me, but it still fit like a glove. The dress looked like it was tailored for me!
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 1, 2015
I loved the style and fit of the dress! It received so many compliments all night!
I wear 2-4 in reg clothes, but have a larger bust so I ordered an 8 bc I was worried it would run small. However, the dress is supposed to have "rouching" in the middle and it was hard to tell bc the dress was loose. I had to safety pin the straps to keep them from slipping. If I had ordered a 4 or 6 it would have been a perfect fit. I recommend ordering close to your normal clothes size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
January 31, 2015
Lovely dress color stood among all those black dresses. Felt simply beautiful!
The fit is beautiful true to size very forgiving around the hips and tummy I am small busted so it was perfect but not sure if good for busty ladies
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 31, 2015
n/a
top half fit perfect. but my hips were too big for this dress. wear spanks.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2015
Perfect dress for a masquerade ball!
Little tight around the stomach and chest area. Also had to order the long to be able to wear with heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
January 29, 2015
Website Picture does NOT do this dress justice!
This dress was gorgeous and better than I expected. The color was pretty and the shimmer was beautiful. It is definitely a dress that stands out!!Comfortable fit.The dress was true to size (I actually should have gotten a size smaller ). I received ALOT of compliments!! Hassle-free process. Great Experience!!! Only con: The zipper was a little faulty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
January 28, 2015
I wore this to a Mardi Gras themed ball, and felt stunning in it.
Both the 8 & 10 fit, however the 10's torso was longer than mine causing the shoulders to have a gap. I wore 3" heels & the long was perfect. The color is beautiful & a strapless bra did the trick!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2015
I got a lot of compliments all night on the dress. I felt like a million bucks
Perfect fitting, beautiful dress.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 26, 2015
Felt like royalty in this gown. Truly a show stopper that brought many compliments.
Itchy under the arms due to scraping the sequins, not horrible but irritating. Very heavy.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2015
Comfortable, yet glamorous !
I requested the 4 and the 6. Luckily the 4 fit because the 6 had many noticeable snags in the fabric. Otherwise a perfect fit as well as being comfortable to wear for hours and hours. Lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 25, 2015
Loved it!
I loved this dress! It fit perfectly, and was the perfect length. The zipper was tricky, I felt like I was going to break it. But overall, the process was easy and I was very satisfied with this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 23, 2015
So many compliments! I felt like queen in this dress.
Amazing dress. No complaints. I wanted to keep it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
January 23, 2015
'
I loved this dress. Fit me perfectly and I received a lot of compliments.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 22, 2015
That even the next day I was known as the girl in the purple dress.
Fit perfect. I didn't have to wear a bra because I'm very top heavy. No spanks needed as the fit was slimming. The sequence did scratch a bit, but pain is beauty and the dress was worth it!! Loved it! Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
January 18, 2015
I got numerous compliments and felt beautiful all night!
The dress fit beautifully. It has just enough give to fit curves without feeling restrictive. The sequins did scratch my underarms but it certainly wouldn't prevent me from wearing it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 18, 2015
Perfect for formal party
I wore this to Commodore's Ball at the yacht club and it was perfect for that but if we were with more people our age I would have felt a bit elderly on this dress. Would be more appropriate for a woman 40+
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 12, 2015
Sensational!
Great fit, very elegant...was sad to have to return it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 12, 2015
This was amazing !
I was amazed how beautiful the dress was. I rented it for a formal new year eve wedding . It had some stretch for some much needed dancing . I might have danced a little too much I did have some scratches under arms, but that was self induced . I'm 5'11 so I was nervous about how long it would be , it hit right at my ankle and the train was perfect just long enough . I was able to wear a strapless bra with some fashion tape to hold it down .
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 143lbs
January 11, 2015
Wonderful form fitting dress that is little titty friendly!!!
I loved wearing the dress. I received numerous compliments. What I didn't like about the dress is that under different lights, the purple looks like a different shade; therefore my date ended up having the wrong color tie (he still looked good in what he got). At the event this woman had on the same dress as I and hers looked like a completely different shade of purple than mines even though we were under the same light. I had problems with the length. I have really long legs (inseam 34'') and so I initially tried the dress in 4L at the store. The dress fit wonderfully but was entirely too long so I ordered a 4R online. I go to pick the dress up from the store on and thank goodness I tried the dress on because in 4R it was entirely too short. I had a breakdown in the dressing room because not only was I having a bad day, but the event was less than 2 hours from starting. The store associates were really helpful calming me down and finding me a version of the dress that was slightly longer although I swear they just gave me another 4R and pulled it down a little bit. The last thing I did not like about the dress was that it kept on getting caught on my shawl and in my hair: it pulled on my bun and made it loose. 4 stars for the actual dress itself but 5 for the concept of Rent the'Runaway and also for the store associates that helped me out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 10, 2015
Glamorous. Felt like a movie star. Photographs well. Received so many compliments.
Fits true to size. Accentuates curves. Spanx can be worn but not necessary. Extremely flattering and beautiful in pictures. Red carpet worthy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 8, 2015
this was a beautiful dress!
dress was beautiful! I really felt amazing in it and I got compliments all night. I wore this for a Mardi Gras black tie ball and it was perfect. The color is a deep purple and it is not too flashy of a color. Almost looked black in the dark ballroom. It was a little long and I felt like I was stepping on the gown, but it wasn't too much of an issue. I liked that there was a little train (and I ordered the long version intentionally).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
January 8, 2015
What an amazing dress. Rented this for a black tie NYE wedding. Got tons of compliments & felt great
Fit was true to size, sequins were a bit scratchy but didn't bother me as much as I thought they would. The lining creeped out a bit in the bust area, fit tifht around bust but that was a good thing. Definately get the Long vs the Reg length. Reg is just too short unless you are 5 ft. I'm 5 6.5. The back seam kept riding around out of the center but it's because it was a little big on me I think. Overall, I loved the dress & it was a perfect purple - not too bright but stood out in sea of black dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 7, 2015
NYE wedding!
Beautiful dress but it was too small for me and the way the straps were cut did not do anything for my athletic build.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 6, 2015
Perfect dress for a formal black-tie wedding.
Fit is true to size. Beware of the sequins-they will scratch your inner arms! It is so beautiful that it's worth it, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2015
AH-MAY-ZING Gown
I love, love, love, love, LOVE this gown! I felt SO pretty all night long. This was a surprise replacement dress to my backup dress that was damaged. Purple is my favorite color, so I was in heaven! I wore this to a company formal holiday party and it was glamorous enough not to draw all the attention, but still felt very festive in a sea of red and green. It didn't show too much cleavage to feel uncomfortable around our investors and business partners, personally. I must warn that it does run smaller than my typical size - 4 - and with a larger chest I would absolutely recommend sizing up. It was well fitted to my form at a 6L. I'm glad the long was available as it dusted the ground just as I prefer, versus the regular length option in this gown. The sequins did scratch right under my arms, but not enough for me to dislike the dress. Also - the 6 fit my chest and body, but I did have to safety pin the neck closure tighter. Small fix for an AWESOME gown. Homerun RTR!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 4, 2015
Fun, purple, glam
if you're at least 5'11", you'll need kitten heels or flats. I wore the 6 long and though the dress is longer in the back than the front, i had to go out and buy kitten heels because it would've looked like a high-water dress with my stilettos. The shoulders were a little loose on me, but wearable. my arms weren't bothered by the sequins until the end of the evening, probably because i was sweaty from dancing. I got many compliments on it, so I'd definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
January 3, 2015
Compliments all night and into the new year!
I wore this dress for NYE 2014. It was a work/formal event. I loved everything about the dress! The only thing….which is not the dresses fault….since I was at a work event, I was on my feet the entire time. I wore a low heel, but this dress really needs a 3 inch plus. I felt it ran a little long and has a train. No regrets though….loved, loved, loved it! And so did everyone else! Thank you RTR!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
January 1, 2015
Flattering neckline!
This was a backup dress for a damaged dress that I originally ordered. It was flattering and comfortable to move in. The only downside was the scratching under the arms from the sequins, as others have said. However, I only really noticed when I was sitting with nothing to do but focus on it. I probably could have gone without a bra, except I'm self conscious about my "mom boobs" being down at my waist! I was able to wear a strapless bra. It didn't show in the back, but stuck out a little at the top, so I tacked the bra to the dress with a few stitches and it worked perfectly to prevent the bra from showing and to keep the lining from rolling out like some others had said. Lots and lots of compliments and felt amazing with the stunning, feminine neckline!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 30, 2014
Too tight for a curvy girl
This was my backup dress for a formal function. I ordered my normal size (4R) but it was much too tight around the hips and kept bunching up in the midsection. I couldn't even fully zip it up. Thankfully my first-choice dress in the same size fit. The fabric is nice and substantial and I could see where it would hang nicely if I'd ordered a larger size.
See more reviews:
5 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×