Nicole Miller

Red Butterfly Ruched Dress

$30 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Product Details

Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9.

Share
175 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(119)
Small
(40)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
October 13, 2015
Great dress - comfortable and plenty of compliments! Wore it to two weddings in one weekend :)
Fit was good and the length was good for me, too. I felt covered but sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
May 16, 2016
Everything! From the dress to the evening!
I loved the dress. It fit perfectly. The ruching is very flattering and the color was very vibrant and perfect for my work holiday party. It was a good length and sexy, but classy. I received many compliments and definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
June 26, 2016
I was so comfortable and received many compliments!
This dress hugs your curves in all the right places. I danced the night away and was very comfortable. I wore the size 8 and my second dress was the 10. The 10 came with a replacement zipper that was gold rather than red. If I would have had to wear the 10, I would not have wanted to have the zipper in the gold color. Otherwise, this rental was perfect. Will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
July 12, 2016
The dress I originally rec'd did not fit ...and WOW
Thank you to the amazing stylist over the phone who helped pick out a dress (after the one I picked did not fit)...I FELT LIKE A MILLION BUCKS! Being 4'11 it is hard to find dresses - let alone rent them...this dress is perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 6, 2016
Sexy tight dress
This dress is a show stopper. It's tight and sexy but because of the wrap it doesn't show off any of the wrong curves. Prefect for a hot date.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 10, 2016
Great color and fit
Definitely a body-hugging fit. The color is beautiful and the dress is unique. I enjoyed wearing this dress and received many compliments!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
September 28, 2016
Loved this dress - It hugs your body in the right places to make sure you look your best!
Loved the color, neckline and length of the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 32
October 7, 2016
Can I Give This Six Stars??
The PERFECT little red dress. Sexy but elegant, comfortable for dancing, and a vibrant apple red that's not too orange or fire-engine bright. I didn't want to send this one back!! Note the fabric is very stretchy, so you may want to size up or down from your norm depending on how tight you want the dress to be :) One note of caution, the dress zips on the side and at one point when I was dancing at the wedding, the zipper slid down almost all the way!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
October 22, 2016
The dress was fine, just not my style
This dress is not very forgiving and there was not anything too special about it so I did not end up wearing it. It was just a bad choice on my part. Overall the dress is comfortable and fits true to size. The fabric is a bit stretchy.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 25, 2016
Great dress!!
The dress fit like a glove and got lots of compliments. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 30, 2016
Great fit and material!
Wore this to a Christmas party - so comfortable and a great fit, loved the thickness of the material!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2016
Lady in red for the win
I ordered this dress in an 8 based on the reviews and I think I would have liked the 10 if it was available. It was very fitted but the stretchy material had a lot of give so I went with it. The roucching definitely hides any imperfections and gives you a good shape. I liked the neckline. It was easy to pair with some sparkly jewelry and black pumps. Definitely not my favorite RTR but it was affordable and got here quickly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 12, 2016
Fun, sexy dress!
Great fit, very comfortable and sexy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2016
This dress was AMAZING!!!!!
This dress fit like a glove, and the skirt was snug but didn't ride up. But it was stretchy enough that it was comfortable and easy to move in. I have never received so many compliments & I felt great! My only regret is that I don't own this. Wore it for a holiday party and it was the perfect combo of not being too revealing and yet so sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 12, 2017
Fun wedding with lots of dancing. This dress was perfect.
Fun and forgiving dress. So much better than wearing black. I was afraid the 10 would be too big but the cut is very fitted so it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
January 19, 2017
I took a risk!
In heading to a family wedding, I decided to take a risk and try this dress, which is very much not me. It would have been dynamite in a different climate and I didn't think it 100% suited me, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone else. Just know that if you're headed to an outdoor summer event, particularly in the South, it may be a little bit too toasty, because of how thick the fabric is.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 14, 2017
Loved the dress! This dress fits like a glove and flatters your body!
This dress fits like a glove! It hugs your body in all the right places and flatters the curves. I wore it as off shoulder and received so many compliments all night! It does run a bit small and my friend had to help me zip up the dress. I would advise that you go a size up if you are larger up top.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
March 16, 2017
So many compliments!
I wore this dress to my work holiday party! It's vibrant and classy. I love how this dress made me feel! My husband loved the dress and thought it was very sexy. I got compliments all night. The fit was perfect. There's a side zipper as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 21, 2017
In a sea of black, this dress really stood out!
The fit of this dress was perfect. I usually wear a 0 and the 0 was exactly right. I am very small busted, so I did wear a padded self-adhesive bra, which gave me the curves that I wouldn't naturally have. I had no problem with the zipper, which I have had with previous dresses. The red was a perfect match with my husband's dress uniform. The only small negative was that it was a bit difficult to raise my arms because of the straps. I would definitely rent this dress again for a similar occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 24, 2017
Sexy and comfy dress.
Nice fit and amazing color.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
September 14, 2011
This dress is amazing! It hugs every curve, but the draping keeps it elegant. I would definitely rent it again. I usually wear 4-6 and chose the 6 on this one. The fabric is very stretchy, so it fits any figure.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011
Loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding and received lots of compliments! The color was definitely what attracted people to it, it is more bright in person than in the picture. It also made me look thinner and curvaceous. The only thing I did not like at first was that it felt tight on the legs but I got used to it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2011
I thought that I would love this dress. The color is fabulous and I usually look great in Nicole Miller. I even tried on a similar style at a Nicole Miller store near me, but this dress had to much material. It actually made me look bigger in the waste because of the thick fabric. I wouldn't recommend it for an hourglass shape, maybe for someone who is really skinny and petite and wants a bit of extra fabric to make them look curvier.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
October 11, 2011
I'm normally a size 0 to 2, but the size 0 didn't quite make it over the chest, even with the stretch, and the size 2 required a corset to hold everything in enough to get the dress to zip. However, once the dress zipped, I looked absolutely amazing! I went to a wedding in this and it was appropriate enough for the grandparents, but sexy enough that my boyfriend couldn't wait to get me home. I highly recommend this dress (though go a size up on your backup).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
I got so many compliments wearing this dress! I am 52 years old, so I was worried that it might be a little "young" for me. This was not the case, however, as it looked really nice and was not too short. Very sexy and a beautiful shade of red! Holds you in and is comfortable. Very becoming! I would go up a size, because I usually wear a 6 and it was snug, especially in the breast area.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2011
I usually wear 2 to 4 but ordered a 4 and 6 since the dress is so form fitting. I'm glad I did because I barely got into the 6. The dress is very pretty though and I got many compliments on it. Unfortunately, after I spent time driving it to the post office to mail it back in the envelope with postage provided by RTR, it was then returned to me for not enough postage such that I will have had to make two trips to the post office. As a first time RTR customer, definitely not happy about that. Great dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2011
All of the compliments I received all night long!
This is a classic dress-- I received complements on it all night from people of all ages. It the fit was pretty snug but the gathering helped to hide any areas that I didn't want to attract attention to. It tends to run a bit small, so order a size up. Perfect for an event where you want to feel sexy, but want keep it sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 1, 2011
All the other ladies were jealous of my designer look.
This dress absolutely runs to size and fit the curves of my body perfectly. I do advise sizing up for the little bit of extra fabric. Because it is a body hugging material, it's nice being able to breathe a little. They only thing I had a concern about, was the silver zipper up the side. It was completely visible, but not very attractive in photos. I highly recommend this look for an evening out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 10, 2011
I had a lot of people tell me red was my color! If you know your color and body shape, I think you'll be more than pleased with your rental.
I didn't want to take this dress off! I felt sexy and confident in this Nicole Miller Dress. It didn't show too much skin but really gives you a sense of sexiness, hello lady in red; and confidence, great flattering silhouette.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2012
LOVED this one
Wore this to a winter cocktail party...its a tight fit but very stretchy. Its extremely comfortable and flattering to an hour glass figure... even for those of us over 50. It's a side zipper which is a little tricky since it is so form fitting and stretchy, but I LOVED wearing it. I wore it in a 12, which fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2012
I was called "stunning" by practically everyone in the building!
This was my first RTR purchase and I was pleasantly surprised. Red is my color and that was reaffirmed by all of my coworkers with all the compliments they were dishing out. I felt sexy and sophisticated in the dress. It was very form fitting and needed to be worn with spanx, but no bra. My main issue is that I have a large chest and the way it cut across my chest made my one breast look like it was tripled in size (mostly in the size 10). I had to keep moving the folds to give the proper illusion. The size 8 was tight but made my chest area look normal (go figure). All in all, the dress was a total head turner!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2012
Getting compliments on the dress and my babe loving it :)
After losing weight I thought I could go down a size in this dress but it was def snug and I felt more comfortable in the size 12. It is super form fitting and sexy. I got compliments on it all night. I think it would be great for any function. Be the lady in red :) My only issue was the zipper on the 12 was diff than the zipper on the 10 and it bulged out in an awkward spot halfway up the dress. Pulling down the dress or pulling it up didnt affect the weird bulge at all. *The 2nd pic you can see it*
QueenieOctober 30, 2012
You look fab!!
StashaNovember 28, 2012
You look awesome!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 16, 2012
I love getting all the compliments that come along with the dress!
I wore this dress for my sister's engagement party and received a ton of compliments! At the time I ordered the dress I wore a 2-4, but in between the time that I ordered the dress and wore it I lost a little weight and now wear a 0. I rented a 2 and 4 and wore the 2. it was a little big on me, but since it is so form fitting no one could tell. If I would have ordered a 0 it would have fit even better! Since this is a very form fitting dress I would recommend sizing up for your back up size just in case you are an in-between size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2012
Highly Recommended!
I loved this dress. It was sexy and comfortable at the same time. I ended up wearing the size 8 (even though I had initially ordered a size 6). If you have curves it tends to fit a bit snug so going for the next size up from what you usually wear might be a better choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 23, 2012
Now a believer!
I had a Rent-the-Runway account for almost a year. It took a lovely birthday credit to actually get me to place my first order! I've been crazy busy working and planning my own wedding that I didn't have time to shop for a wedding that was just 2 weeks away! Thanks to the help of a fit stylist, I ordered this beauty and I have never gotten so many compliments! I am now a believer and will be renting dresses for the upcoming weddings as well as my bridal shower & rehearsal dinner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 19, 2012
Created great curves!
Fabric is thick and curve hugging in all the right places. Got so many compliments. A must rent!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
Great dress
I rented this dress in black previously and wanted to rent it again because I liked it so much but it was no longer on the website so I decided to try it in red. The sizing is accurate (I usually wear a 6 or 8 and the 6 was perfect) and the dress is very flattering, although obviously more so in black!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 12, 2012
Great all over fit, TTS!
I rented this dress to attend my hub's best friend's daughter's Spanish Sweet 16! I received so many compliments that night & my husband loved it! & the service was great! Recieved dress ontime!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2011
-
This dress was very flattering and comfortable. I wore it to a holiday party and received lots of compliments. I loved this dress because it was fun while still being completely appropriate for a work party. I highly recommend it, and think it would flatter most body types.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2011
Great dress!
This dress fit perfectly, and the ruched sides covered any imperfections. Really lovely dress.
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×