You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Red Butterfly Ruched Dress
Rental $40 Retail $450
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.
Chat with a Stylist
"Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9"".
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos50

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

africa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 7524
Feb 13, 2014
Didn't get to wear it
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
curve hugging dress. I wish i could have worn it, but the top ruching laid weird on my bust. I wouldn't recommend it if you have more than a DD cup size.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Feb 12, 2014
Very surprised by how much I ended up loving this dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very tight & body-hugging... BUT it's supposed to be. I rented a size 0 and 2. They were both tight but the size 2 felt like it just had extra material that made me look bigger so I decided to wear the 0. I usually don't wear tight body-hugging dresses so it took a little convincing for me to realize that it's not that the dress was too small... it's just supposed to fit that way. Once I got comfortable with that, I realized how comfortable the dress actually was. I never felt constricted and the material was so comfortable and actually pretty forgiving. I was surprised by how much I ended up LOVING this dress. I highly recommend it!
Lynzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6423
Jan 17, 2014
I didn't wear it, but loved the option
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't wear the dress, but it looked cute!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2423
Jan 14, 2014
Perfect length and color.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit true to size, hit just above the knee. I would definitely recommend!
DallasUser
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4524
Jan 6, 2014
Could barely squeeze into this.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually between a 2 and a 4, but I rented this dress in a 4 to make sure it wasn't too tight. I could barely squeeze myself into the 4 and when I did, even though nothing was popping out, it felt too tight for a wedding.
Nicoletta
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8524
Dec 27, 2013
AMAZING!!!!!!!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is absolutely amazing. RENT THIS AND DO NOT HESITATE! It hugs your body in all the right places and hides any imperfections you may have. No Spanx required and I am a busty/curvy girl. Since I'm busty I normally wear a 12 but it wasn't available; the 10 fit perfect but I would have loved to go up a side because the zipper is right underneath the armpit and I think it would have been a bit more comfortable.
Karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4444
Dec 27, 2013
I'm not a dress type of girl. So when my family saw me in the dress their mouths dropped.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size. I wear either a 3 or 4 depending on the clothes and the 4 fit perfectly! It was like it was made especially for me.
Patty
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Dec 18, 2013
Wore this dress to my hubby's work Christmas party. Looked great and was comfy!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 6 and got an 8 as back-up. Ended up wearing the 8 because it wasn't quite as tight, though I could have worn the 6. The color was a wonderful deep red, very flattering for my complexion (dark hair and eyes, skin on the fair side - freckles). I would order this dress again, and look forward to using RTR for future events!
leslwilde
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 16, 2013
Holy Cow what a dress!! Rent it NOW!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The first thing my husband asked was if I could buy the dress! He loved it as did I. I was so comfortable and forgiving of all flaws. It was super easy to wear with a regular bra and the stretchy fabric was perfect for two long nights. I wore this dress to two different holiday parties and I received all the compliments. If I ever have the occasion I'll wear it again! I will say I ordered up because the dress looks so snug in the picture and that was the right choice. I could not have zipped a 4, but I was wearing a mega pushup bra.
Valerie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5623
Dec 8, 2013
Nice holiday brunch dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my backup dress for a formal outing. The first dress was fine so I wore this for a holiday brunch with my family. Very comfortable dress. I received lots of complements on the dress. Definitely would wear with Spanx for a more pulled together look.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7634
Dec 3, 2013
Complements Galore
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove in all the right places. The ruching really hides any imperfections and highlights assets. I'm kind of short so it hung a bit longer [just below the knees] than I would have liked, but with heels on my legs looked nice. I received quite a few complements during the night so I guess the dress looked nice on me.
Kaila
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4344
Nov 17, 2013
Great dress, but overused; had tears in material
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was so excited to get this dress for my friends fall wedding. However, when I tried on the dress I noticed small tears in the dress that were noticeable. Overall, the fit of the dress was tight but it was supposed to be. It was a gorgeous dress and I am sure that it would have been a great hit. I am a little disappointed with the rips in the dress. Luckily, I ordered a backup dress and was able to wear that to the wedding.
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2632
Nov 4, 2013
Very easy to wear!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was comfortable but looked good. I don't have much curve anywhere but I looked like I did in this dress. I usually wear a 0 but in this dress the 2 fit better in the chest and rib cage and allowed the raunching to hang better over my hips. Definitely order a size up for your back up if you are larger than an A cup!
Dara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Oct 14, 2013
I loved wearing this dress. I got so many compliments all night long. The color and fit rocked.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit really well and was extremely flattering.
Christa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Oct 12, 2013
just didn't love it...
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this as a backup. The size 4 fit me perfectly but I just didn't love it. The color red is a very true red and I didn't think it complimented my skin tone.
Vmack
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6634
Oct 6, 2013
Beautiful color...
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I took a chance and ordered a 6 because that was the only size available..It didn't fit but based on the reviews I wasn't surprised...I probably would have needed the 10...will try again for the next occasion
Nat
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4522
Sep 23, 2013
I had many compliments on this dress. People could not believe I rented it. RTR has new costumers
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It feels tight, but that is needed for the style of the dress.
Malia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5521
Aug 5, 2013
Sexy and Classy!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a formal event and received compliments all night. This dress holds you in in all the right places! I felt sexy but not inappropriate.
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7523
Aug 2, 2013
Sexy and fun
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was a little worried about wearing a form fitting red dress to a wedding. But the dress gives you enough coverage and is extremely flattering. Anyone who is heavier on the bottom (like me) should not worry about wearing this dress. I received many compliments and my husband could not take his eyes off me. :)
Myra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8434
Jun 18, 2013
Too small.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to wear this to a wedding that my husband was in, but it was too small and it doesn't come in a 14 so I had to settle for a different dress. RTR had great customer service, but I was disappointed that I didn't get to wear it.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2633
May 19, 2013
Several strangers tapped me on the shoulder to pass along a quick compliment! Felt fantastic!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a 0 and ordered 0 and 2. The 2 was snug but perfect. Only complaint is that the clasp at the top of the zipper was missing so the zipper didn't stay as well pulled up as it should have.
MiSoFine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
May 16, 2013
Brunch with Santa
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
We have a yearly girls brunch and take pictures with Santa. Even though I didn't wear this dress (it was too dressy for a brunch), it was gorgeous & fit beautifully. If I have another thing that I can wear it for, I would rent it again.
Susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 154 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Apr 16, 2013
I got a million compliments, and felt like the sexiest glamazon in the room/world!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was AMAZING. Women walked by me all night asking where I got my dress, and I got a ton of compliments from guys who would normally never notice that sort of thing. RTR sent me the wrong sizes (a 6 and an 8, when I ordered the 8 and 10 based on RTR customer service advising me the dress ran small), but the 6 ended up fitting like a glove. I also tried the 8 and the extra fabric made it look a little bulky. I wore it with slimcognito spanx and got a very hourglassy figure. VERY comfortably, easy to dance in, and it stands out in a sea of little black dresses. I didn't want to return it ever! I will definitely rent it again. The only reason I'm taking off a star is because of what a lot of other reviewers have said: the side zipper is a little tacky and doesn't go with the classiness of the dress. Other than that, this is a must-rent!
dianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6524
Apr 15, 2013
Perfect date Dress. REALLY WOWS!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Great for curves without too much cleavage and not too short so completely sexy while leaving a reasonable amount to the imagination. Such a great dress!! So many compliments and neck snaps!!
Francie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Apr 15, 2013
Red hot!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding, got so many compliments! The fit was pefect
julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Feb 10, 2013
Beautiful Dress!!!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous deep red color! I wore this to a Valentine's party, my husband absolutely loved it. The dress is form fitting, enhances existing curves and is very flattering. There is a lot of stretch to the dress, initially I thought I wouldn't be able to zip it but was able to with my husband's assistance. Even though it was form-fitting, it was still comfortable enough to dance in for hours. I received a number of compliments on it, one stranger even asked for me to take a picture with his wife, she loved it so much. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2633
Jan 26, 2013
This dress is amazing! I didn't want to send it back!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this dress. I wore this the night I got engaged and this dress made the evening even more memorable. My fiancé wanted to buy it for me! This dress fits like a glove. It is well-lined and the ruching hugs your body in a very flattering way. I normally wear a size 0 or 2, so I ordered both and ended up wearing the 0, but could have worn the 2 as well. It just depends how snug you want the dress to fit. I would definitely rent this dress again. I'm probably a bit older than many of the women who rent from Rent the Runway, and this is one of the dresses that is flattering regardless of your age.
Kim
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Dec 21, 2012
I ordered this dress for a class reunion; unfortunately, I never got to wear it.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 4 and 6, but even the larger size wouldn't zip up past the waist. I'm thin but have a healthy-sized chest. No time to exchange it before the party. Very sad, because it looks like a gorgeous dress!!
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6442
Dec 18, 2012
The way my boyfriend looked at me when he first saw me! That's a look i won't soon forget.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The fit was very comfortable, and extremely flattering. Red is so risky sometimes, but the material made it me feel really confident and sexy. I wore red lips, black eyeliner/mascara, black strappy heels, hair down and straight, red nails, and a ton of confidence. Heads turned all night!
Julianne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Dec 16, 2012
reliable delivery service.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
very bold color and good for holiday party! everyone loves my dress!!!
Shelby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 5423
Dec 16, 2012
I love that RTR makes everything so easy and the next day you just have to throw it in the mail!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was very true to size, and I got a lot of compliments on it. It was perfect for the Christmas party I was going to. It was also very comfortable!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Dec 14, 2012
gorgeous but size up if you are big busted
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress really is amazing, beautiful fabric, very flattering cut. The size 4 would have been perfect had I not wanted to contain my boobs in the dress :/ It was too tight to zip up top. My back up size was a 2 so obviously that wouldn't help. Normally in this designer I'm a solid 4, but unfortunately it didn't work this time. I think the 6 would have fit up top and still fit on bottom b/c of the stretchy fabric. In all, very nice, I'll definitely rent this dress again but in the bigger size. RTR was great to do an exchange for my party though, thanks RTR!!!!
Britt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Dec 6, 2012
Compliments all night!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit perfectly, hugged every curve like most ruched Nicole Miller Dresses.
ava
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6423
Nov 27, 2012
Everyone loved it. My husband wanted me to buy it.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
im hourglass, no flat tummy here, but if you arent confidant. dont wear this.
kathleen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 63
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2623
Nov 18, 2012
Definitely would recommend Rent the Runway!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size 0 fit but the dress was too short for my age so I wore the size 2 to make it knee length- it was great to have a back-up. The color is a true red and looked even better than on-line. I received many compliments and am very impressed with Rent the Runway services.
KJC
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Nov 11, 2012
Looks great on a pear shaped body
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fabric, hides flaws. I fit in a 2 (120 lbs, mostly all hips) and felt great.
kristin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Nov 8, 2012
loved it - be the lady in red!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR rental and I could not have been more pleased. This was actually my back up dress, and ended up going with this one. It is true to size - usually Nicole Miller dresses run large for me, so initially I was concerned it would be too big. It fit great. I wore SPANX underneath just to cinch in the waist a bit more, but it was not really necessary. Got lots of compliments on the color, and it was sexy without showing off to much!
Bea
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Oct 22, 2012
Beautiful dress and very flattering
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress does run small, so if you're not comfortable pulling it down all night long definitely size up or even two sizes up. Sadly, I wasn't able to wear it because it was just too small :(
Madison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6334
Oct 17, 2012
So many compliments on this dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was great. It was very tight so I had to wear spanks. It also is a little bit longer that I normally wear but the color and the cut on top makes it sexy enough. I wore it to a 1940's Hollywood Glamour invite for my sorority with long pearls and black heels. Everyone loved it!
Rhees
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5332
Oct 8, 2012
Really pretty and comfortable, lots of compliments
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The zipper really stands out on the side. I found it a little tight in the hips, but not uncomfortable.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress