Nicole Miller

Red Butterfly Ruched Dress

$30 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Product Details

Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9.

Share
176 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(119)
Small
(40)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
June 26, 2016
I was so comfortable and received many compliments!
This dress hugs your curves in all the right places. I danced the night away and was very comfortable. I wore the size 8 and my second dress was the 10. The 10 came with a replacement zipper that was gold rather than red. If I would have had to wear the 10, I would not have wanted to have the zipper in the gold color. Otherwise, this rental was perfect. Will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 6, 2016
Sexy tight dress
This dress is a show stopper. It's tight and sexy but because of the wrap it doesn't show off any of the wrong curves. Prefect for a hot date.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 25, 2016
Great dress!!
The dress fit like a glove and got lots of compliments. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2016
Lady in red for the win
I ordered this dress in an 8 based on the reviews and I think I would have liked the 10 if it was available. It was very fitted but the stretchy material had a lot of give so I went with it. The roucching definitely hides any imperfections and gives you a good shape. I liked the neckline. It was easy to pair with some sparkly jewelry and black pumps. Definitely not my favorite RTR but it was affordable and got here quickly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2016
This dress was AMAZING!!!!!
This dress fit like a glove, and the skirt was snug but didn't ride up. But it was stretchy enough that it was comfortable and easy to move in. I have never received so many compliments & I felt great! My only regret is that I don't own this. Wore it for a holiday party and it was the perfect combo of not being too revealing and yet so sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
March 16, 2017
So many compliments!
I wore this dress to my work holiday party! It's vibrant and classy. I love how this dress made me feel! My husband loved the dress and thought it was very sexy. I got compliments all night. The fit was perfect. There's a side zipper as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 24, 2017
Sexy and comfy dress.
Nice fit and amazing color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2014
Sexy red dress
I'm usually a 4 in Nicole miller, but the 6 just fit a little better. It's a sexy dress, but I didn't feel like it highlighted my curves. I have a tiny waist and a bigger butt, and I felt a little more boxy than usual in this. But I got a ton of compliments and it was very comfortable to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2015
Great dress - perfect for event's theme
I got this dress for a Fire & Ice themed fundraising event. I received a size 10; I would have been more comfortable in a 12 but one wasn't available. Zipping it up over my 32DDD strapless bra took some doing. While trying on the dress a second time, one of the satin ribbons (to keep the dress on a hanger) got massively jammed in the side zipper. Had to cut it off (after calling RTR for the OK to do it!) in order to finally unzip the dress. Because of the neckline, I couldn't wear my usual Spanx with bra straps, but the ruching and heavier fabric (along with some control top hosiery) helped camouflage my tummy. Rented the Southern Plantation earrings and a necklace to go with it - lots of bling! BTW, the zipper is one of those exposed (meant to be visible) types; as someone who has sewn clothing for years, I still can't stand them. The dress is very well constructed, IMO. The left sleeve/neckline part was very stretched out, and kept slipping down my (admittedly, narrow) shoulder.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
February 19, 2015
Perfect Valentine's Day Engagement Dress!
Definitely snug, but sexy and kind when it comes to covering a poochy tummy. It fit well and I wasn't concerned about anything falling out! Very comfortable. It was a great dress for our Valentine's Day engagement.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2015
Awesome dress!
Very forgiving, great camouflage for imperfections, and incredibly comfortable to boot! Definitely stayed put except for shoulders. I would definitely rent again. I followed the advice of other reviewers and sized up. I'm glad I did, too, because I don't think a 4 would have worked. I probably could have worn the 8 comfortably.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
June 21, 2015
Liked it.
Great dress-- got lots of compliments. I'm normally an 8 or a 10 and the 10 was great. The dress is body hugging but the top is modest and the length is to the knee so doesn't seem trashy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2015
Perfect dress!
Love! I rented this dress for a wedding and it was a hit! I received so many compliments and it complimented my body shape. The zipper is a little difficult to get up, but once it was up the dress was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 22, 2015
For the jaw-dropping moment
A perfect fit for curvy petite frame, wore for a special date and got the best reaction from my date!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2017
Stand out red dress!
Great eye catching dress. Runs a bit small, I typically wear a 4 but opted for the 6. Form fitting but made of stretchy fabric so it definitely has some give. Comfortable enough to dance the night away!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
May 18, 2017
Gorgeous, easy to wear dress
The dress is a stunner, very glamorous and easy to wear : it fits tightly all over the body but the fabric has some elasticity. It's comfortable and the pleats / folds all over make it very flattering. My date loved it ! I only took one star down because of the strange smell that both sizes had - an issue with storage, maybe ? Other than that, absolute hit !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2017
Tight and Sexy
This dress has a lot of va va voom! It's tight because of all the bands of fabric that suck you in (and make you look skinnier), so you may need a partner to zip up the side. I have a booty and did have some issue with riding up in the back. Definitely size up for the backup.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
October 13, 2015
Great dress - comfortable and plenty of compliments! Wore it to two weddings in one weekend :)
Fit was good and the length was good for me, too. I felt covered but sexy.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 10, 2016
Great color and fit
Definitely a body-hugging fit. The color is beautiful and the dress is unique. I enjoyed wearing this dress and received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 12, 2017
Fun wedding with lots of dancing. This dress was perfect.
Fun and forgiving dress. So much better than wearing black. I was afraid the 10 would be too big but the cut is very fitted so it was perfect.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 14, 2017
Loved the dress! This dress fits like a glove and flatters your body!
This dress fits like a glove! It hugs your body in all the right places and flatters the curves. I wore it as off shoulder and received so many compliments all night! It does run a bit small and my friend had to help me zip up the dress. I would advise that you go a size up if you are larger up top.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
October 11, 2011
I'm normally a size 0 to 2, but the size 0 didn't quite make it over the chest, even with the stretch, and the size 2 required a corset to hold everything in enough to get the dress to zip. However, once the dress zipped, I looked absolutely amazing! I went to a wedding in this and it was appropriate enough for the grandparents, but sexy enough that my boyfriend couldn't wait to get me home. I highly recommend this dress (though go a size up on your backup).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
I got so many compliments wearing this dress! I am 52 years old, so I was worried that it might be a little "young" for me. This was not the case, however, as it looked really nice and was not too short. Very sexy and a beautiful shade of red! Holds you in and is comfortable. Very becoming! I would go up a size, because I usually wear a 6 and it was snug, especially in the breast area.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2011
I usually wear 2 to 4 but ordered a 4 and 6 since the dress is so form fitting. I'm glad I did because I barely got into the 6. The dress is very pretty though and I got many compliments on it. Unfortunately, after I spent time driving it to the post office to mail it back in the envelope with postage provided by RTR, it was then returned to me for not enough postage such that I will have had to make two trips to the post office. As a first time RTR customer, definitely not happy about that. Great dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2011
All of the compliments I received all night long!
This is a classic dress-- I received complements on it all night from people of all ages. It the fit was pretty snug but the gathering helped to hide any areas that I didn't want to attract attention to. It tends to run a bit small, so order a size up. Perfect for an event where you want to feel sexy, but want keep it sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2012
Highly Recommended!
I loved this dress. It was sexy and comfortable at the same time. I ended up wearing the size 8 (even though I had initially ordered a size 6). If you have curves it tends to fit a bit snug so going for the next size up from what you usually wear might be a better choice.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2011
-
This dress was very flattering and comfortable. I wore it to a holiday party and received lots of compliments. I loved this dress because it was fun while still being completely appropriate for a work party. I highly recommend it, and think it would flatter most body types.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 7, 2012
This dress was perfect for the charity event I attended. It was forgiving and well made.
I loved the whole RTR experience. Dress was on time, packed nicely, as described. It just completely worked out.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 22, 2012
Beautiful dress and very flattering
The dress does run small, so if you're not comfortable pulling it down all night long definitely size up or even two sizes up. Sadly, I wasn't able to wear it because it was just too small :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2012
gorgeous but size up if you are big busted
This dress really is amazing, beautiful fabric, very flattering cut. The size 4 would have been perfect had I not wanted to contain my boobs in the dress :/ It was too tight to zip up top. My back up size was a 2 so obviously that wouldn't help. Normally in this designer I'm a solid 4, but unfortunately it didn't work this time. I think the 6 would have fit up top and still fit on bottom b/c of the stretchy fabric. In all, very nice, I'll definitely rent this dress again but in the bigger size. RTR was great to do an exchange for my party though, thanks RTR!!!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2012
I ordered this dress for a class reunion; unfortunately, I never got to wear it.
I ordered a size 4 and 6, but even the larger size wouldn't zip up past the waist. I'm thin but have a healthy-sized chest. No time to exchange it before the party. Very sad, because it looks like a gorgeous dress!!
RTR CustomerDecember 21, 2012
Hi Kim! So sorry this rental did not work out for you, next time be sure to give a stylist a call so we can make sure you get the perfect fit!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
January 5, 2013
I wore it to a wedding and got numerous compliments. I felt great in this dress!
My only regret is not renting a necklace to wear with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 7, 2013
Confident "Lady in Red" ; Great color for the holidays!
Chose this for my husband's company holiday party. I ordered it in a 2 & 4. Usually 2 works well for me but I ended up wearing the 4. The other reviews hold true regarding the zipper. It was difficult to zip in my regular size. But going up an extra size, it was a cinch. I also preferred to wear the longer length in size 4 since the crowd was more on the conservative side. It looks sexy yet classy. The dress photographs beautifully & appears a little darker in pictures. The fabric is thick & can add curves to more petite ladies. In terms of my preference, the only small "con" was the amount of ruching on the dress. I know ruching can help dresses be more forgiving but I also like clean lines. Accessories: I wore it with the Nicole Miller Starlite star bright necklace which was recommended by a stylist. Originally, I ordered the mystery bling but when I checked online to see if my rental was shipped, I saw the earrings that were going to be shipped. It was a Badgley Mischka blue Ice Crystal earrings which I was afraid would be too overpowering for me & wasn't keen on adding another color to the look. They canceled the mystery bling before the whole order shipped & ordered the Nicole Miller necklace which went Perfectly with the dress & shoes. Kudos to RTR customer service. If you want to be the Lady in Red, don't hesitate to try this one. You'll receive compliments galore!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 19, 2013
Several strangers tapped me on the shoulder to pass along a quick compliment! Felt fantastic!
I normally wear a 0 and ordered 0 and 2. The 2 was snug but perfect. Only complaint is that the clasp at the top of the zipper was missing so the zipper didn't stay as well pulled up as it should have.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
June 18, 2013
Too small.
I wanted to wear this to a wedding that my husband was in, but it was too small and it doesn't come in a 14 so I had to settle for a different dress. RTR had great customer service, but I was disappointed that I didn't get to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2013
Great dress, but overused; had tears in material
I was so excited to get this dress for my friends fall wedding. However, when I tried on the dress I noticed small tears in the dress that were noticeable. Overall, the fit of the dress was tight but it was supposed to be. It was a gorgeous dress and I am sure that it would have been a great hit. I am a little disappointed with the rips in the dress. Luckily, I ordered a backup dress and was able to wear that to the wedding.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
November 20, 2013
This dress was a show stopper!!!
This was my first time doing RTR and it was a success. I cannot say enough good things about this dress. I wore this to a black tie wedding in the fall. It hugs all the right curves and no need for spanx. I received soooo many compliments all night long. The dress is very form fitting, but in a good way. All the ruching hides any imperfection you have and sucks you in. I am usually in-between a sizes 6 and 8 and the 8 fit perfectly. I would definitely order a size up if you are unsure. The only slight trouble I had with it was it was a little restricting over the shoulders because of the neckline, but not a big deal because I loved the neckline. I absolutely LOVED this dress and I would totally rent it again if I didn’t take so many pictures in it. I will be using RTR for more events!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 30, 2013
Super fun!
It was a great red color! However it's way strechy!! It looks tiny till you put it on. Looked great, a bit tight. I didn't love it, but I felt pretty in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2014
Gorgeous but unforgiving of any apple-ness.
Pros: beautiful color, substantial fabric. Cons: it really does fit like a sausage casing. Twenty years ago I would had rocked it :). Also runs small (in addition to the very slim fit.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect for a sexy date night!
This dress was pretty awesome for our night out. I took my husband out for a birthday dinner and wanted to wear something form-fitting and this worked out perfectly! It really accentuated the curves and made me feel comfortable even though I usually don't wear things so tight. I sized up for comfort really, it wasn't necessary but I like birthday desserts :) Rent this dress, you'll love it!
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×