Nicole Miller

Red Butterfly Ruched Dress

$30 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Product Details

Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9.

Share
173 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(118)
Small
(39)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
March 25, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!!!
I wore this dress to a fancy wedding in NYC this weekend. I truly adored it and would wear it again. Wish I could keep it. The color is beautiful. It fit perfectly and I received tons of compliments. A friend at the wedding is going to rent the exact same dress now for a weddding she has later this year! It was a perfect fit, super comfortable and easy to wear. Can't say enough. Definetely using RTR again in April! Thanks
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 29, 2013
perfect fit and gorgeous color!
I wore this to a late fall wedding and it fit like a glove! I usually don't venture out when it comes to color, so I made a bold decision to go for this red dress and I'm so glad I did. The fabric is super comfy and was able to enjoy dancing the night away. Once again, RTR did not disappoint!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 8, 2013
Extremely flattering dress, perfect for a wedding or formal event.
This dress was PERFECT for a wedding! The fit was amazing and I was able to sit and stand and then sit and stand during the ceremony and had no problem dancing all night at the reception. I did have to pull it down a few times during the course of the night, but that it to be expected from this fabric and how tight it is. And it is tight. Like I said before, the fit was amazing. It hugs all your curves in the right places and the ruching conceals anything that you would prefer to hide. I don't have the smallest frame so I did opt for Spanx underneath just to make sure everything stayed smooth, but it wasn't a must. I felt gorgeous all night long and would gladly wear this dress again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2013
Red hot!
I wore this to a wedding, got so many compliments! The fit was pefect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 15, 2013
Perfect date Dress. REALLY WOWS!
Great for curves without too much cleavage and not too short so completely sexy while leaving a reasonable amount to the imagination. Such a great dress!! So many compliments and neck snaps!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2013
I got a million compliments, and felt like the sexiest glamazon in the room/world!
This dress was AMAZING. Women walked by me all night asking where I got my dress, and I got a ton of compliments from guys who would normally never notice that sort of thing. RTR sent me the wrong sizes (a 6 and an 8, when I ordered the 8 and 10 based on RTR customer service advising me the dress ran small), but the 6 ended up fitting like a glove. I also tried the 8 and the extra fabric made it look a little bulky. I wore it with slimcognito spanx and got a very hourglassy figure. VERY comfortably, easy to dance in, and it stands out in a sea of little black dresses. I didn't want to return it ever! I will definitely rent it again. The only reason I'm taking off a star is because of what a lot of other reviewers have said: the side zipper is a little tacky and doesn't go with the classiness of the dress. Other than that, this is a must-rent!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 19, 2013
Several strangers tapped me on the shoulder to pass along a quick compliment! Felt fantastic!
I normally wear a 0 and ordered 0 and 2. The 2 was snug but perfect. Only complaint is that the clasp at the top of the zipper was missing so the zipper didn't stay as well pulled up as it should have.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 161lbs
May 21, 2013
Got tons of compliments! Super comfy
This dress was great for the wedding I attended. I was looking for something and am currently in between sizes so I wasn't sure where I was going to fall for this one. Also, i've always strayed away from red (never been a fan) but something about this one just called to me. This dress was snug where it needed to be and forgiving elsewhere. My only issue is that I have long legs and no torso, so it was a little long on me (went past my knee). Had it been a few inches shorter, it would have been absolutely perfect. It was great to dance in and easy to sit in (which i know is always an issue with tighter dresses). I'd definitely rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
June 18, 2013
Too small.
I wanted to wear this to a wedding that my husband was in, but it was too small and it doesn't come in a 14 so I had to settle for a different dress. RTR had great customer service, but I was disappointed that I didn't get to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 2, 2013
Sexy and fun
I was a little worried about wearing a form fitting red dress to a wedding. But the dress gives you enough coverage and is extremely flattering. Anyone who is heavier on the bottom (like me) should not worry about wearing this dress. I received many compliments and my husband could not take his eyes off me. :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2013
Sexy and Classy!
I wore this to a formal event and received compliments all night. This dress holds you in in all the right places! I felt sexy but not inappropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2013
Compliments all night long!
The ladies at the Ball loves this Gorgeous dress & i told them that they can find it here at the Rent the Runway :) Beautiful dress, very comfortable & sexy. I love it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 23, 2013
I had many compliments on this dress. People could not believe I rented it. RTR has new costumers
It feels tight, but that is needed for the style of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 6, 2013
Beautiful color...
I took a chance and ordered a 6 because that was the only size available..It didn't fit but based on the reviews I wasn't surprised...I probably would have needed the 10...will try again for the next occasion
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 14, 2013
I loved wearing this dress. I got so many compliments all night long. The color and fit rocked.
This dress fit really well and was extremely flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
November 4, 2013
Very easy to wear!
It was comfortable but looked good. I don't have much curve anywhere but I looked like I did in this dress. I usually wear a 0 but in this dress the 2 fit better in the chest and rib cage and allowed the raunching to hang better over my hips. Definitely order a size up for your back up if you are larger than an A cup!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2013
Great dress, but overused; had tears in material
I was so excited to get this dress for my friends fall wedding. However, when I tried on the dress I noticed small tears in the dress that were noticeable. Overall, the fit of the dress was tight but it was supposed to be. It was a gorgeous dress and I am sure that it would have been a great hit. I am a little disappointed with the rips in the dress. Luckily, I ordered a backup dress and was able to wear that to the wedding.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
November 20, 2013
This dress was a show stopper!!!
This was my first time doing RTR and it was a success. I cannot say enough good things about this dress. I wore this to a black tie wedding in the fall. It hugs all the right curves and no need for spanx. I received soooo many compliments all night long. The dress is very form fitting, but in a good way. All the ruching hides any imperfection you have and sucks you in. I am usually in-between a sizes 6 and 8 and the 8 fit perfectly. I would definitely order a size up if you are unsure. The only slight trouble I had with it was it was a little restricting over the shoulders because of the neckline, but not a big deal because I loved the neckline. I absolutely LOVED this dress and I would totally rent it again if I didn’t take so many pictures in it. I will be using RTR for more events!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 3, 2013
Complements Galore
Fit like a glove in all the right places. The ruching really hides any imperfections and highlights assets. I'm kind of short so it hung a bit longer [just below the knees] than I would have liked, but with heels on my legs looked nice. I received quite a few complements during the night so I guess the dress looked nice on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 6, 2013
I had a great experience with RTR. Will definitely recommend this website to everyone!
The color of this dress is radiant and the ruching accentuates your natural curves. I would recommend a Spanx or similar type body shapewear for a smoother look. I wore this to my high school reunion. I received compliments all night. I was voted best dressed female for the night! ( I gave the award to another deserving guest). I accessorized this dress with the Cara Dress Me Up Bracelet, the Crislu Classic Lady Earrings, and the Whiting & Davis Silver Mesh Glam Clutch. You will not regret renting this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 8, 2013
Nice holiday brunch dress
This was my backup dress for a formal outing. The first dress was fine so I wore this for a holiday brunch with my family. Very comfortable dress. I received lots of complements on the dress. Definitely would wear with Spanx for a more pulled together look.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 8, 2011
Great dress, hugs the body in all the right places and very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 12, 2013
just didn't love it...
I got this as a backup. The size 4 fit me perfectly but I just didn't love it. The color red is a very true red and I didn't think it complimented my skin tone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2013
Wore this dress to my hubby's work Christmas party. Looked great and was comfy!
I ordered the 6 and got an 8 as back-up. Ended up wearing the 8 because it wasn't quite as tight, though I could have worn the 6. The color was a wonderful deep red, very flattering for my complexion (dark hair and eyes, skin on the fair side - freckles). I would order this dress again, and look forward to using RTR for future events!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2013
I'm not a dress type of girl. So when my family saw me in the dress their mouths dropped.
The fit was true to size. I wear either a 3 or 4 depending on the clothes and the 4 fit perfectly! It was like it was made especially for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 27, 2013
AMAZING!!!!!!!
This dress is absolutely amazing. RENT THIS AND DO NOT HESITATE! It hugs your body in all the right places and hides any imperfections you may have. No Spanx required and I am a busty/curvy girl. Since I'm busty I normally wear a 12 but it wasn't available; the 10 fit perfect but I would have loved to go up a side because the zipper is right underneath the armpit and I think it would have been a bit more comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 30, 2013
Super fun!
It was a great red color! However it's way strechy!! It looks tiny till you put it on. Looked great, a bit tight. I didn't love it, but I felt pretty in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 12, 2014
Very surprised by how much I ended up loving this dress!
This dress is very tight & body-hugging... BUT it's supposed to be. I rented a size 0 and 2. They were both tight but the size 2 felt like it just had extra material that made me look bigger so I decided to wear the 0. I usually don't wear tight body-hugging dresses so it took a little convincing for me to realize that it's not that the dress was too small... it's just supposed to fit that way. Once I got comfortable with that, I realized how comfortable the dress actually was. I never felt constricted and the material was so comfortable and actually pretty forgiving. I was surprised by how much I ended up LOVING this dress. I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
February 13, 2014
Didn't get to wear it
curve hugging dress. I wish i could have worn it, but the top ruching laid weird on my bust. I wouldn't recommend it if you have more than a DD cup size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 14, 2014
Hot dress!
I was not able to wear this dress as it was a little too tight on the thighs. I have an athletic build and "good" thighs so this would have fit me better in the size 8. It is gorgeous though! The fabric is so nice and it hugs all your curves. I would recommend this dress and will rent it again but in a larger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2014
Gorgeous but unforgiving of any apple-ness.
Pros: beautiful color, substantial fabric. Cons: it really does fit like a sausage casing. Twenty years ago I would had rocked it :). Also runs small (in addition to the very slim fit.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 2, 2014
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments.
This dress was amazing. Very flattering and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
March 10, 2014
Everyone complimented me on this dress all night! I felt beautiful in it!
It fits great! You'll receive lots of compliments on it. I loved it because it's very flattering. I wish I could buy this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2014
DRESS FIT PERFECT!!
It was great to see family that I haven't seen in years to tell me how great I looked in my dress. The dress hugged in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2014
Made me bigger in all the wrong places- too much fabric
Did not like it at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect for a sexy date night!
This dress was pretty awesome for our night out. I took my husband out for a birthday dinner and wanted to wear something form-fitting and this worked out perfectly! It really accentuated the curves and made me feel comfortable even though I usually don't wear things so tight. I sized up for comfort really, it wasn't necessary but I like birthday desserts :) Rent this dress, you'll love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2014
Tight, but the rouching smoothed out any lines
Had to do a bit of tugging on the hemline, and the right sleeve was a bit tighter than the left, but overall a nice dress. Great, bright color, and I really liked the neckline (front and back).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 19, 2014
This was a big disappointment. It was really thick and unflattering
I wanted to wear it for a winter wedding and it was just bad all a round. The rouching didn't look right and I couldn't get over how thick the material was. It felt a little like being wrapped in a velvet curtain at the movies. Needless to say I did not wear it to the wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 27, 2014
did not wear due to size
was sent the 8 because it was a back up. I wear a 10. it was too tight. I will rent this again for a wedding I have in septtember becuase i really liked it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2014
Very flattering
I've gained some weight, so more like 142, size 8 now, but this dress seems to run small for me. The other dress I rented in an 8 fit perfectly, if not even a little bit loose. That said, this dress is very flattering and fairly forgiving. I would wear it again.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×