Nicole Miller

Red Butterfly Ruched Dress

$30 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Product Details

Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9.

Share
176 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(119)
Small
(40)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2014
Tight, but the rouching smoothed out any lines
Had to do a bit of tugging on the hemline, and the right sleeve was a bit tighter than the left, but overall a nice dress. Great, bright color, and I really liked the neckline (front and back).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 19, 2014
This was a big disappointment. It was really thick and unflattering
I wanted to wear it for a winter wedding and it was just bad all a round. The rouching didn't look right and I couldn't get over how thick the material was. It felt a little like being wrapped in a velvet curtain at the movies. Needless to say I did not wear it to the wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 27, 2014
did not wear due to size
was sent the 8 because it was a back up. I wear a 10. it was too tight. I will rent this again for a wedding I have in septtember becuase i really liked it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2014
Very flattering
I've gained some weight, so more like 142, size 8 now, but this dress seems to run small for me. The other dress I rented in an 8 fit perfectly, if not even a little bit loose. That said, this dress is very flattering and fairly forgiving. I would wear it again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 1, 2014
I got many compliments on the dress, and was one of about 5 people who wore a color other than black
The dress fit like a glove - I wore the 6, and had the 4 as a back-up. I can wear anything from a size 2-4-6. I'd say the dress runs on the smaller side, so if you're in doubt about which way to go, go up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 24, 2015
Weird Fit
I usually wear a 6 or an 8 depending on the designer, but only the 6 was available on my date. When I tried the dress on, it hung all wrong on me---it got almost tangled on one side and I had to really work to pull it across my body. Even then, it was pretty small and just didn't look right on me. Luckily, RTR customer service is awesome and saved the day with another dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 6, 2015
Dress really popped!
This dress is great - I wore it to a wedding and received several compliments. It's a little on the small side, but at the same time it's forgiving. The off the shoulder straps are also pretty unique. I would have liked to have gone one size up, but the 10 had a big silver zipper on the side that I didn't like - the 8 didn't have that so I stuck with that one. The model makes it seem a little more modest than it actually is. It's a good length though so it wasn't over the top. I'd wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 13, 2015
Classy and Sexy!
The ruching on this dress was amaze-balls - camouflaged every problem area! The color was also a really beautiful red. The shoulders stayed put the whole night. I would definitely size up, as it is a very tight fit. I was a little nervous it wouldn't zip, but all ended well! Despite the tight fit, the material is really stretchy so you can eat and drink all you like. Everyone commented on how elegant I looked and a friend even told me that I need to go home and buy the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
December 8, 2015
Perfect red dress!
I usually wear a 00P so was worried this dress might be too big for me, but the reviews from other women like me seemed to gravitate towards wearing the 2 when they normally worse a 0. This was my first RTR and I wore this for my husband's formal work holiday party. This dress fit perfectly! It hugged in all the right places and felt really comfortable. The draping style also helps after you've eaten a big meal (: It hit me right around my knees which is what I was looking for. There is a gold zipper that goes down one side that I didn't notice in the pictures and is very visible when you wear the dress, but I still thought it was pretty. I would definitely recommend this dress and would rent it again if I didn't use a picture of me in the dress for this year's Christmas cards!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Age: 40
January 20, 2016
A real statement dress in a sea of black
This is a very forgiving dress with all the ruching, and there is definitely no need for shape wear. I would say that this dress runs a little on the small side - so you might want to order two sizes. As others have noted, there is a visible gold side zipper. I wore the dress to a 40th birthday party, but would probably shy away from it in other more conservative or formal settings. The website pic really does reflect how this dress looks and fits. It's a real attention grabbing and sexy dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
February 10, 2016
Fit my petite curvy shape just right, great quality material!
My first RTR experience and it definitely won't be my last. I'm glad I got the 10 and could have probably worn a 12. I'm short big large bust and big :) so it was a little snug. However, I loved the color, the quality of the material, and neckline. Perfect for big busted women who want to look sexy without everything hanging out. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 26, 2012
Tight but cute
I liked the dress a lot but it was snug. It rode up on me a lot, but I did like that you could re arrange the top part to either be off the shoulder or not depending on what you wanted. I wore it to Christmas dinner with my dad. The zipper was a little tricky and it dug in under my arms a little. It definitely is much longer on the model than it was on me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
July 10, 2014
Wow! Just wow!
I loved this dress! It was my backup. RTR was amazing. The original dress I ordered did not fit right, and they overnight shipped this dress! It arrived the next day! It's a little heavy on the material, so I wouldn't recommend it for outdoor summer weddings. The zipper is a little tough to pull up, but over all beautiful dress! Hides the tummy area well. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2013
Holy Cow what a dress!! Rent it NOW!
The first thing my husband asked was if I could buy the dress! He loved it as did I. I was so comfortable and forgiving of all flaws. It was super easy to wear with a regular bra and the stretchy fabric was perfect for two long nights. I wore this dress to two different holiday parties and I received all the compliments. If I ever have the occasion I'll wear it again! I will say I ordered up because the dress looks so snug in the picture and that was the right choice. I could not have zipped a 4, but I was wearing a mega pushup bra.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2014
Could barely squeeze into this.
I am usually between a 2 and a 4, but I rented this dress in a 4 to make sure it wasn't too tight. I could barely squeeze myself into the 4 and when I did, even though nothing was popping out, it felt too tight for a wedding.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 18, 2015
I rented this for a Casino Night fundraiser.
The dress runs a little small, but has great give to it. I wore with spanx and that made me a bit more comfortable. The left should does not have as much pleating to it as the right, which I couldn't see from the picture. Spent some time trying to get it to lay right. Many compliments on the dress though. And it was quite comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
May 31, 2017
Red dress stands out
Very tight dress but supposed to be and it kind of holds you in. Was tight and supportive enough that I didn't need to wear a bra. The color made me stand out in a sea of mostly black dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
May 16, 2016
Everything! From the dress to the evening!
I loved the dress. It fit perfectly. The ruching is very flattering and the color was very vibrant and perfect for my work holiday party. It was a good length and sexy, but classy. I received many compliments and definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
July 12, 2016
The dress I originally rec'd did not fit ...and WOW
Thank you to the amazing stylist over the phone who helped pick out a dress (after the one I picked did not fit)...I FELT LIKE A MILLION BUCKS! Being 4'11 it is hard to find dresses - let alone rent them...this dress is perfect!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
September 28, 2016
Loved this dress - It hugs your body in the right places to make sure you look your best!
Loved the color, neckline and length of the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 32
October 7, 2016
Can I Give This Six Stars??
The PERFECT little red dress. Sexy but elegant, comfortable for dancing, and a vibrant apple red that's not too orange or fire-engine bright. I didn't want to send this one back!! Note the fabric is very stretchy, so you may want to size up or down from your norm depending on how tight you want the dress to be :) One note of caution, the dress zips on the side and at one point when I was dancing at the wedding, the zipper slid down almost all the way!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
October 22, 2016
The dress was fine, just not my style
This dress is not very forgiving and there was not anything too special about it so I did not end up wearing it. It was just a bad choice on my part. Overall the dress is comfortable and fits true to size. The fabric is a bit stretchy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 30, 2016
Great fit and material!
Wore this to a Christmas party - so comfortable and a great fit, loved the thickness of the material!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 12, 2016
Fun, sexy dress!
Great fit, very comfortable and sexy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
January 19, 2017
I took a risk!
In heading to a family wedding, I decided to take a risk and try this dress, which is very much not me. It would have been dynamite in a different climate and I didn't think it 100% suited me, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone else. Just know that if you're headed to an outdoor summer event, particularly in the South, it may be a little bit too toasty, because of how thick the fabric is.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 21, 2017
In a sea of black, this dress really stood out!
The fit of this dress was perfect. I usually wear a 0 and the 0 was exactly right. I am very small busted, so I did wear a padded self-adhesive bra, which gave me the curves that I wouldn't naturally have. I had no problem with the zipper, which I have had with previous dresses. The red was a perfect match with my husband's dress uniform. The only small negative was that it was a bit difficult to raise my arms because of the straps. I would definitely rent this dress again for a similar occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
September 14, 2011
This dress is amazing! It hugs every curve, but the draping keeps it elegant. I would definitely rent it again. I usually wear 4-6 and chose the 6 on this one. The fabric is very stretchy, so it fits any figure.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011
Loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding and received lots of compliments! The color was definitely what attracted people to it, it is more bright in person than in the picture. It also made me look thinner and curvaceous. The only thing I did not like at first was that it felt tight on the legs but I got used to it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2011
I thought that I would love this dress. The color is fabulous and I usually look great in Nicole Miller. I even tried on a similar style at a Nicole Miller store near me, but this dress had to much material. It actually made me look bigger in the waste because of the thick fabric. I wouldn't recommend it for an hourglass shape, maybe for someone who is really skinny and petite and wants a bit of extra fabric to make them look curvier.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 1, 2011
All the other ladies were jealous of my designer look.
This dress absolutely runs to size and fit the curves of my body perfectly. I do advise sizing up for the little bit of extra fabric. Because it is a body hugging material, it's nice being able to breathe a little. They only thing I had a concern about, was the silver zipper up the side. It was completely visible, but not very attractive in photos. I highly recommend this look for an evening out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 10, 2011
I had a lot of people tell me red was my color! If you know your color and body shape, I think you'll be more than pleased with your rental.
I didn't want to take this dress off! I felt sexy and confident in this Nicole Miller Dress. It didn't show too much skin but really gives you a sense of sexiness, hello lady in red; and confidence, great flattering silhouette.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2012
LOVED this one
Wore this to a winter cocktail party...its a tight fit but very stretchy. Its extremely comfortable and flattering to an hour glass figure... even for those of us over 50. It's a side zipper which is a little tricky since it is so form fitting and stretchy, but I LOVED wearing it. I wore it in a 12, which fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2012
I was called "stunning" by practically everyone in the building!
This was my first RTR purchase and I was pleasantly surprised. Red is my color and that was reaffirmed by all of my coworkers with all the compliments they were dishing out. I felt sexy and sophisticated in the dress. It was very form fitting and needed to be worn with spanx, but no bra. My main issue is that I have a large chest and the way it cut across my chest made my one breast look like it was tripled in size (mostly in the size 10). I had to keep moving the folds to give the proper illusion. The size 8 was tight but made my chest area look normal (go figure). All in all, the dress was a total head turner!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2012
Getting compliments on the dress and my babe loving it :)
After losing weight I thought I could go down a size in this dress but it was def snug and I felt more comfortable in the size 12. It is super form fitting and sexy. I got compliments on it all night. I think it would be great for any function. Be the lady in red :) My only issue was the zipper on the 12 was diff than the zipper on the 10 and it bulged out in an awkward spot halfway up the dress. Pulling down the dress or pulling it up didnt affect the weird bulge at all. *The 2nd pic you can see it*
QueenieFebruary 8, 2012
You look fab!!
StashaFebruary 8, 2012
You look awesome!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 16, 2012
I love getting all the compliments that come along with the dress!
I wore this dress for my sister's engagement party and received a ton of compliments! At the time I ordered the dress I wore a 2-4, but in between the time that I ordered the dress and wore it I lost a little weight and now wear a 0. I rented a 2 and 4 and wore the 2. it was a little big on me, but since it is so form fitting no one could tell. If I would have ordered a 0 it would have fit even better! Since this is a very form fitting dress I would recommend sizing up for your back up size just in case you are an in-between size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 23, 2012
Now a believer!
I had a Rent-the-Runway account for almost a year. It took a lovely birthday credit to actually get me to place my first order! I've been crazy busy working and planning my own wedding that I didn't have time to shop for a wedding that was just 2 weeks away! Thanks to the help of a fit stylist, I ordered this beauty and I have never gotten so many compliments! I am now a believer and will be renting dresses for the upcoming weddings as well as my bridal shower & rehearsal dinner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 19, 2012
Created great curves!
Fabric is thick and curve hugging in all the right places. Got so many compliments. A must rent!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
Great dress
I rented this dress in black previously and wanted to rent it again because I liked it so much but it was no longer on the website so I decided to try it in red. The sizing is accurate (I usually wear a 6 or 8 and the 6 was perfect) and the dress is very flattering, although obviously more so in black!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 12, 2012
Great all over fit, TTS!
I rented this dress to attend my hub's best friend's daughter's Spanish Sweet 16! I received so many compliments that night & my husband loved it! & the service was great! Recieved dress ontime!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2011
Great dress!
This dress fit perfectly, and the ruched sides covered any imperfections. Really lovely dress.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×