Plum Metallic Ruched Dress

$31 to buy
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

With subtle sheen and a sexy back, this Nicole Miller dress is a true showstopper.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine metallic stretch taffeta. V neckline with halter straps. Woven strip detail on chest. Ruched body. Exposed back zip with button closure at back of neck. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
124 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(27)
Small
(94)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 2, 2014
They were able to get me this back up within one day of realizing my original didn't fit!
It looks very small on the hanger. But is very stretchy. The material was very comfortable and it fit great without feeling too tight!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 26, 2014
This dress made me look hotttttt!
My cleavage was perfect in this dress. I loved the fit and everything about it. It was short (which I was looking for), and it was different -- I stood out. I would HIGHLY recommend to everyone. I wore it with pasties so I didn't wear a bra with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
July 8, 2014
Didn't wear it
I ordered a size 10. It was too tight in the waist and chest so it wasn't flattering. I thought the ruching in the dress would make a difference...it only made me look bigger than I am. It is more of a rusty color than a plum shade so it will look better on a person that has a tan or color. Maybe if I get back down to a size 6 or 8, I'll try it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 19, 2012
Flattering!
Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 19, 2014
darker color in person
The dress itself is BEAUTIFUL, unfortunately it runs very very small and I was not able to wear it. I am usually a size 4, 6 at the most. I couldn't even halfway zip up the 6. I would have loved to have worn it if I would have had the right size. I would suggest sizing up if you rent.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 19, 2014
Compliment getter !!
This dress fit really well. I am usually a size 0 but my 34 dds had a hard time zipping up the dress! Fit all around perfect otherwise. I wore it to a wedding and I got tons of compliments . I definitely would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 14, 2014
Very striking dress, beautiful color. Shows off curves with close fitting fabric.
Went up one size, should have gone up 2 sizes. Tight in the bust. Very stretchy material, but only to a point. Model was: 5'7", 123lbs Dress 4 Bust 36D
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 4, 2014
Great form fitting dress! Lots of compliments, one of a kind in a room full of LBDs
Borders that line of "Runs Small" if you have even the slightest of curves. I have the ribs hips and butt of a six and the waist and chest of a size four. So if you have curves, or long legs, go a size up to keep from being pinched in all night. Overall one of the best fits I have had from RTR
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 1, 2015
Fun dress for NYE. Runs very small!
Wore this dress for NYE. It runs EXTREMELY small. I would order 1-2 sizes larger than you would normally wear.. so glad I ordered an extra size up. The dress is very small in the chest area. Great for smaller busts to give a good boost. Once I got the dress zipped up and went out, I found it to be more comfortable than you'd imagine. All in all, if you order the right size, it's a fun dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2015
Didn't wear it
When I pulled it out of the box it looked like doll clothes. It runs SO small. It does stretch, but I couldn't zip it up. I am usually between a 4 and a 6. I think I would have needed at least an 8 in this dress, possibly a 10.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2013
Fantastic dress thats fit perfectly.
Fit true to size chart. Material and style hides stomach flaws.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2016
I loved the color and the slenderizing fit.
The dress runs a little small. You'll need zipper help. But, I loved the fit and color so much I bought the dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
n/a
Loved this dress! Very Flattering! Runs a bit small so I'd order your extra size a size up!
CarolynMay 11, 2013
Hi! I was wondering, could a strapless bra work with this dress (even with the back design)?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 28, 2012
This dress made me feel amazing!
The dress ran a little small but it fit perfectly with the right size. I ordered a 4 and a 6, went with the 6. I loved how it accentuated my smaller bust and the rouching really made my lower curves look amazing! I would wear this dress again and again. Home run with this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 13, 2012
The dress made me feel like a rockstar! It was perfect and came in great condition!
Everyone said these dresses run a bit small, so if you are generally a range of sizes (I'm like a 6-8, depending) then go for larger size. Also be warned, the length was great for me, a bit longer than what it looks like in the photo, but after some dancing it rode up quite i a bit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
January 27, 2013
What a treat to wear Nicole Miller!
Sorry for the poor quality of the photos -- the second one shows the color much better. The color was a glorious tone, almost bronze/brown in darker light, and a lovely sparkly (but not garish) plumb in the light. I was debating between a number of dresses for a special event, and when my boyfriend saw the page of my "loved" items he immediately pointed to this one unprovoked and said, "you have to wear that one." I tend to agree with other reviews: definitely size up, watch out if you're above a C cup, and have a friend help you with the zipper / buttons! I usually wear a 4 or 6, and the 8 was perfect. I ended up deciding to go with a strapless bra even though there was some support in the dress because the fit looked a little awkward without it. I think I would have been ok without the fashion tape, but it definitely helped me feel secure because I was showing a LOT more cleavage than I normally do. The length felt long enough to balance out the plunging neck, but still short enough to be sexy. It did ride up a little bit when I danced, but not too much -- the danger zone was more in sitting down, actually. The fit was stretchy enough to be comfortable and to allow some fun swing dancing, but also fairly flattering. I got a LOT of compliments and really hated to send the dress back.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 3, 2014
This dress was the best one at the event!!
It ran small, so go a size up. It was very comfortable to wear and 'hugged' all the right places!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
January 11, 2015
I had read reviews that the dress ran small. I am normally a 0 or 2 so I ordered a 2 and 4.
Tight in the chest and bigger in the waist. A pretty dress. A like that it wasn't a typical black dress. My boyfriend loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
January 17, 2015
-
Fit perfectly! No bra needed at all which is amazing! I received compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2010
This dress is absolutely amazing! I rented it for a wedding and received a ton of compliments. The only thing is that it runs a little tight on top so that I wasn't able to wear a bra (which I would NEVER normally do!) however, it supported me without spilling over! It didn't ride up or bunch, but you should have someone on hand to help you into it as there are a multitude of closures in back! Great dress, highly recommended!
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 29, 2010
The dress is really cute, but veryyyy narrow on top. I am normally a size 4 in dresses, but I ordered a 6 too just to be safe. The 6 fit around my butt (which is usually more of my problem area than my waist or my chest) but was surprisingly hard to zip around my chest area. Love the color though, just consider ordering a size bigger than you normally would.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
December 4, 2010
This dress was amazing! The color is a dark plum, not as light as it is in the picture, but really pretty. It was tight but the material is stretchy and the ruffles made everything so flattering. I would recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
May 11, 2011
As with most Nicole Millers, this fit snugly but perfectly. I had to struggle to get the back zipped up, as it is very tight around my chest, but once it was on, it was perfect and not uncomfortable at all. I wear a large B/small C so most 0s are a little snug in the chest area. I would recommend going with the size you usually wear because there is enough stretch in the dress that it will work. I'm 5'7" and 110 and the 0 fit really well, and was super flattering. This picture doesn't do it justice, the straps go up in a halter-like fashion and the back straps are really nice. The dress is also a deeper purple, with a metallic red undertone. Would highly recommend for a wedding, a formal, or a nice date night. Considering buying this dress because I know I'd wear it again. Absolutely loved.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2011
Beautiful Dress! It ran pretty small so I recommend a larger backup size and I agree with others that it was difficult to zip up at the top and is more of a plum/purple color (very pretty color!!!). But once on the dress was very comfy and supportive and great out! I have a hard time finding flattering dresses for myself (I have no hips and these awkward love handles that make my flat stomach really wide looking) and this one was so great! It really compliments the body and looks so gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 14, 2011
This was such a beautiful color but if you are any bigger than an A cup for the size 0 dress you are going to be squeezing the girls in! I felt really uncomfortable all night and when I finally got the dress off I had ruching on my breasts lol! So I would recommend going one or even two sizes up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2011
TOO SMALL!!!
I own a few Nicole Miller dresses, all of which are a size 2 or 4. I couldn't even zip up a size 6 in this! If you have anything larger than an A cup, I would NOT even consider this dress. It is not true to size at all. I had to return this and spend $25 extra in overnight shipping before our party!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
December 16, 2011
Sorority Semi-Formal
Very flattering-very tight. I normally wear a Size 0, but had tried this on at a Trunk Show so new to get a bigger size (Rented size 4 and 6) both fit. 34D and was very tight/revealing on my chest-- but that didn't bother me. I would rent a bigger size to avoid more cleavage but overall great tight, flattering dress definitely order larger size than normal.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 102lbs
April 24, 2012
Photographs well; not stunning
For my particularly body type, the 0 squashed and flattened my chest, while fitting perfectly in the waist area. The 2 fit my chest but was loose around my waist and made the sipper buckle in the back. (This is a consistent problem for me...) Also, the ruched shiny fabric does not hug a small waist....would probably hide a tummy well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 4, 2012
Not true to size, in my case
The dress was beautiful but unfortunately could not wear my size 8 or backup size 10 because they did not zip up on my back. I guess my back is wider, so the zipper would not go up because it did not stretch as much as i thought it would on top. I do have larger breasts but they fit fine on front. I also have a big butt (I am chubby for my short size but I am not fat, which is not the case why the dress didn't fit) and it fit great on my hips but my wider back just wouldn't fit in it. I did not want to get an even bigger size because it would not fit well in my bust of butt and didn't want it to be saggy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 11, 2012
LOVE
I wore this dress to a Christmas party and loved it. It was so flattering but it definitely runs small. I usually wear a 2, sometimes a 0, but wore a 4 in this dress. I got complements on the dress all night. I would've bought it if it was an option!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
August 13, 2012
Looks great
My order was suppose to arrive tonight by 8pm. I called your office at 830pm and no answer. This is my first time ordering from your company and I'm very disappointed with the service so far. I am leaving for Atlantic city tomorrow and the dress is for a wedding on fri. I could not order any sooner because the rental is for 4 days and I have to return it the day after the wedding on sat. Please help!!!!!!! I have no dress to wear, I did not go shopping because I was anticipating on getting this dress on time! This is a disaster! Someone from your office please call me ASAP, I expect a full refund!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
Love love love!
I rented this dress for New Years Eve & got so many compliments on it. It fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2012
Fits like a glove!
If you want a tight fitting stunner this is the dress! The color is beautiful but be prepared for this to hug you all over. I ended up wearing my backup size because I wanted the dress to be a little more foregiving. I would suggest sizing up because you may also want more room in the bust area. This dress may be too small for bigger chest sizes. Overall, it was a fun, sexy, party dress and I got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2012
I got compliments all night about how great I looked in the dress!
Really sexy dress without being too over the top. It was pretty tight for me around the ribcage, if you are busty it will be hard to zip us, so I would go a size larger. The color and fabric are really pretty and the rouching is very flattering. Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 26, 2012
Holiday party
This dress was very flattering for a holiday party. Ran a bit small
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2012
Waayyyyy small
I usually order a size 4, and I ordered a 6 because of the other reviews. It was WAYYYY too tight. No chance of fitting. I probably could have worn a 12. Cute dress though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
extremely small
When I first took this dress out of the bag, I checked the tag thinking the size shipped incorrectly. it looked like a 0! It was the correct size, however runs extremely small. I read reviews suggesting ordering a size up. I usually wear a size 6. I ordered an 8 and a 10. I had to SQUEEZE into the 10. Luckily the fabric is very stretchy, but the tight fit did make me a bit self-conscious throughout the night. It's a pretty dress. Make sure to order it two or three sizes larger than normal for sure!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
January 14, 2013
runs small
ordered bigger size too small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 7, 2013
color is beautiful
the ruching wasn't my favorite but might be flattering on some
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 7, 2013
The color and fabric were fantastic, and it was a flattering shape.
I am a 34D and I was literally falling out of this dress, I had to wear a pashmina most of the evening. Lesson learned!
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×