Plum Metallic Ruched Dress

$31 to buy
$430 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With subtle sheen and a sexy back, this Nicole Miller dress is a true showstopper.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine metallic stretch taffeta. V neckline with halter straps. Woven strip detail on chest. Ruched body. Exposed back zip with button closure at back of neck. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
124 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(27)
Small
(94)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 102lbs
April 24, 2012
Photographs well; not stunning
For my particularly body type, the 0 squashed and flattened my chest, while fitting perfectly in the waist area. The 2 fit my chest but was loose around my waist and made the sipper buckle in the back. (This is a consistent problem for me...) Also, the ruched shiny fabric does not hug a small waist....would probably hide a tummy well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 16, 2012
We loved getting our dresses in the mail and the lipstick/perfume samples. My friend and I were VIP all night! (Her dress is also from RTR, a Pencey, size 0).
Like other reviews have said, this dress runs small. I would recommend ordering a size up and then two sizes up for your backup. I am between a 2 and 4 for most clothes and the size 4 in the dress just made me laugh! The 6 fit, but if my chest was larger I would have wanted an 8. Great dress, comfortable and flattering. It is a darker purple that in the picture. The dress didn't arrive until about 8pm, so take note of that for ordering. Returning the dress was super easy.
CorrineJuly 7, 2013
Awesome review, THANK YOU for the size advise!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 10, 2012
SEEING MY HUSBAND'S FACE :)
This was a really sexy dress... Fit really tight on the bust but other than that got compliments all night long!! sexy sexy dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 23, 2012
The compliments that I got throughout the whole night! :)
This dress fit perfectly! Wore it for a wedding and I got compliments all night long!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
February 16, 2012
Glamorous Valentine's pick!
I ordered this for Valentine's Date night and I couldn't have been happier! The purple is darker than pictured, but the metallic shine and the ruching add alot of interesting textures that hide those "trouble spots"! The most interesting part was actually the back- in the front pics it looks like regular straps, but it actually buttons at the nape of the neck and acts as a halter, which was great for the chest area! My bf said I looked stunning! I was sad to return it, but it's a dress I would consider renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 15, 2012
Highest Bid
This dress fit great, only ran very small. While the back-up dress size 6 was too big, the 6 in this dress was way too small and I wore the 8. Number doesn't matter as it looked great. Exaggerated all the good parts and hid the bad ones. I have a small chest and it was a great choice for flaunting what I got. I wore it to a date auction, where I was auctioned off, and brought in the highest bid of the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2012
I truly enjoyed this dress and I got a lot of compliments on it. The only thing I was confused on was the frame around the bust. I'm not sure if it is because i have a bigger bust or what but the 8, which is my normal size, was too snug around the rib cage. Uncomfortable enough that I felt no sting to my ego once i put on the ten and could breathe. Other than that the dress fit wonderfully. It is great for us girls who have curves and need some stretch in certain areas for the curvy parts of us. I am however only 5'4 so the dress went to my knees.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 6, 2012
Great NYE dress!
I love Nicole Miller Dresses but have found that I usually go up a size lately to fit my chest. Dress was comfortable and I was able to dance and have a great time. I would love to rent again! So gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 4, 2012
Bombshell status
I'm in love with this dress. It's so feminine and shows off all the "lady goods." ;) It runs a little small (I usually wear an 8 in dresses, but sometimes a 10), and when I first tried the 10 on, I was worried it might be too tight, but I think it's supposed to be that way. It's stretchy, so even though it's tight, it's not uncomfortable. I did need to wear pantyhose/spanx underneath it, though, to kind of pull everything in. The color is a little bit darker than in the photo, but really pretty.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 3, 2012
Looking and feeling fabulous!
I ordered this dress for NYE and I loved it, the ruching is very slimming it is stretchy and extrememly comfortbale. Great length I am 5'11 and it wasn't too short. Color in person is more purple and better than in picture.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
December 16, 2011
Sorority Semi-Formal
Very flattering-very tight. I normally wear a Size 0, but had tried this on at a Trunk Show so new to get a bigger size (Rented size 4 and 6) both fit. 34D and was very tight/revealing on my chest-- but that didn't bother me. I would rent a bigger size to avoid more cleavage but overall great tight, flattering dress definitely order larger size than normal.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2011
the dress fit perfectly.
fits so well - love the dress for a fall or winter wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 21, 2011
Perfect Birthday dress!
LOVED this dress. It was amazingly stretchy so it was perfect for a dinner and then a night out on the town (and in New Orleans that is quite an ordeal). It definitely runs small. I am in between a 4/6 so when people said to order up I did and was glad because the 8 fit perfectly. I am smaller up top which was perfect for me because it made me look a size larger than I was! Fuller cups may have an issue here. Its also a draker, richer purple than the photo shows--closer to a plum, but a stunning color nonetheless. I am also very tall and find a problem with dresses being too short but this dress hit my legs at the perfect level (all the fun, none of the trash). Rent this dress! Your significant other or one you are trying to attract will definitely notice you in this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2011
TOO SMALL!!!
I own a few Nicole Miller dresses, all of which are a size 2 or 4. I couldn't even zip up a size 6 in this! If you have anything larger than an A cup, I would NOT even consider this dress. It is not true to size at all. I had to return this and spend $25 extra in overnight shipping before our party!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 14, 2011
This was such a beautiful color but if you are any bigger than an A cup for the size 0 dress you are going to be squeezing the girls in! I felt really uncomfortable all night and when I finally got the dress off I had ruching on my breasts lol! So I would recommend going one or even two sizes up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 11, 2011
never had to hold in my stomach - just looked & felt very comfortable all night
loved the color, the material is comfortable for a long day! shows water spots! I usually wear a size 0 - yet it took my son & daughter to get me into the size 2- laughter - and it was still comfy once the zipper got up my back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 10, 2011
Great customer service and amazing dress that made me feel like a million bucks!
I was a little hesitant about this dress, but I am so glad that I rented it! It does run a little small. If your chest is larger than average, I'd suggest getting a backup dress that is two sizes larger than your normal size. I squeezed into a size 6 dress which is one size larger than my usual. While the dress is very stretchy I had trouble zipping up the back. Luckily I am a 34B- any larger and there would be no zipping up that dress. The dress is a deep, burgundyish plum color- much prettier than shown in the photo here. The dress accentuates curves and is super sexy! Definitely a dress for strutting your stuff. I will probably rent it again whenever I take a trip to Las Vegas.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 5, 2011
I rented this dress for a formal and it looked great. This dress is pretty snug especially in the bust area, so I would definitely get a size up if you are busty. My one complaint about the dress is its length, on the model it hits near mid-thigh, but on me it was about knee-length, which didn't necessarily look bad, but was not what I expected. I ended up folding the bottom portion under to give it a somewhat shorter look. Overall though, I was very pleased with this dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 10, 2011
Great dress - very tight at the bust (despite a modest bust)! Had to ditch the bra. Loved wearing it!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
August 1, 2011
I usually wear a size 2 but after reading the reviews I ordered a 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 6. The dress was beautiful. Not nearly as short as it appears on the model. The metallic color is stunning and the dress is very comfortable and beautiful! Highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 19, 2011
Dress runs smalls, but when you order a size up, it's a good, snug fit. Dress hugged in all the right places and since rouching is so forgiving, the dress tends to hide tummy/hip bumps well. I wore this dress for a bachelorette party and it was sexy, but comfortable. Since the dress is shimmery, it's best for evening. It might be too costume like for a day event. The length was good for someone 5'4" and I had no problems with it riding up even when dancing. The top was snug so you don't need to wear a bra if you have a medium bust. Probably not the best choice in dress for a large bust.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2011
Beautiful Dress! It ran pretty small so I recommend a larger backup size and I agree with others that it was difficult to zip up at the top and is more of a plum/purple color (very pretty color!!!). But once on the dress was very comfy and supportive and great out! I have a hard time finding flattering dresses for myself (I have no hips and these awkward love handles that make my flat stomach really wide looking) and this one was so great! It really compliments the body and looks so gorgeous.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
May 13, 2011
I fell in LOVE with this dress when I saw it on RTR and just had to have it for a wedding in NYC. After reading the reviews and realizing the dress ran small, I got it in my size and the size up (so a 4 and 6). Both fit but it was definitely snug on top in the four! I ended up wearing that one out and got a TON of compliments on it! I would not recommend this dress if you have a large chest (my 32Cs were a bit much in the dress) but any larger would have been a bad look. Otherwise, it's a stunning dress so order smart and enjoy!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
May 11, 2011
As with most Nicole Millers, this fit snugly but perfectly. I had to struggle to get the back zipped up, as it is very tight around my chest, but once it was on, it was perfect and not uncomfortable at all. I wear a large B/small C so most 0s are a little snug in the chest area. I would recommend going with the size you usually wear because there is enough stretch in the dress that it will work. I'm 5'7" and 110 and the 0 fit really well, and was super flattering. This picture doesn't do it justice, the straps go up in a halter-like fashion and the back straps are really nice. The dress is also a deeper purple, with a metallic red undertone. Would highly recommend for a wedding, a formal, or a nice date night. Considering buying this dress because I know I'd wear it again. Absolutely loved.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2011
I needed a dress for a celeb bday party and there were a lot of other celebs there. I wanted a dress that would fit my body well and also be comfy. I called RTR and they suggested this dress. LOVED IT! I am a size 6-8 and a 34D. This dress had a perfect stretch to it. I ordered the 8 and the 10 at the suggestion of RTR and wore the 8. I probably could have worn a 6 but the 8 was good. I didnt wear a bra bc the top is very supportive. I did feel like my boobs were going to fall out bc it was low cut but they never did. (thank goodness) I had another dress as back up in case this one didnt work and when I tried them both on, my friends ALL chose this dress for me. It was a great length also. I'm 5'4 and the dress hit me just a tiny bit longer than the model. I think bc if the crinkle, you can make he dress shorter if you want. I definately reccoment this dress to any girls who have a curvy shape. It is forgiving material and it hugs curves well yet still has enough give in the material to be comfy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2011
This dress was a bummer b/c not only does it run small but it looks more "cheap" and tacky in person than it does on this model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 18, 2011
Got a ton of compliments!
Loved the dress and got a ton of compliments on it. The color is much more purple than brassy as it appears in the picture here. It definitely runs small, especially in the bust area. I am usually a 4 or 6, and just was able to get away with the 6. In the future I'd probably order an 8 though, mainly because of the fit in the bust area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2011
Drop dead gorgeous!
I love this dress! It is a complete knockout. The fit is awesome.. tight enough to show off all my curves but not too skanky. I wore this for my prom and got tons of compliments. It is extremely comfortable as well. The only things of note are that the color is a bit darker and more purple than appears in the picture (yet is still gorgeous) and the dress is tighter than I expected. Order your size and one up from that, it was especially tight in the bust area, creating more support but more cleavage exposure than needed. I felt beautiful in this drop dead Nicole Miller!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
March 14, 2011
Didn't make it out of the house with this dress. The top was so little - I'm an A-cup and I couldn't imagine this dress fitting anyone any bigger than me. The bottom part of the dress fit fine, although it's not as short as shown and the bottom hem is kind of funny. Not too happy with this dress - Nicole Miller disappointed me with this one.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 42
Body type: Apple
March 11, 2011
The color and material are great! Unfortunately, the dress is too small, even though I ordered 2 sizes up already. I couldn't zip it up. I got a 2 and 4, since I'm usually a 0. Good thing I had another dress to wear to the event from RTR. This dress would have been the perfect choice, but it didn't make it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2011
I loved this dress! The color was lovely, although more purple than in the photo. It is very flattering for someone with an hourglass figure, because it hugs your curves. My measurements are 37-26-39.5 so finding anything that doesn't look baggy in the middle is difficult! There was plenty of room "leftover" in the waist area but the ruched material just sucked right in and you couldn't even tell it was too big there! My only caveat (which I saw some others mention) is that the bust is very tight on the size that it's supposed to fit -- the designer says that a 10 should fit a 37" bust and I'm exactly that size, but it took two of us to zip up the last few inches! Looked fabulous on, though!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 10, 2011
Runs a little small, normally I am a 0 but in this wore a 2. Amazing dress. Looks great on anyone. The color is fabulous..a little darker than shown on website. Have no complaints. Comfy, fun to dance in, flattering. Got so many compliments and would recommend this to anyone!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
December 19, 2010
The dress is lovely and the fabric is amazing, but it runs 2 sizes small and doesn't work at all on a larger chest.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 13, 2010
As many of the other ladies said, this dress takes some maneuvering to get into- thank goodness I had friends on hand to help me get it on me properly. I always wear a 0, but had the 2 as a backup and even considered wearing the larger size for a minute before I did some more shifting and shimmying to get the 0 to sit right. It was super long on me too, much longer than the photo implies. The cut definitely flattered my (smallish) bust and waistline, and the gathers can also hide a multitude of sins. After a night of dancing, the fabric along the bust/strap rubbed me the wrong way and actually left a mark for a few days. A friend of mine just rented the cocoa one for a wedding and looked great in it too.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2010
I think this dress is close to true except for the bust, but I am a 32DD and the 8 fit better than the 6 (was busting out in the 6 and still very busty in the 8) but the 6 fit fine in the waist and hips and probably could have even been a 4 in those areas. The dress does stretch though and the crinkle like material is pretty flattering. The color is just like it is on the site, which I think is ok... would be prettier if it were a richer plum. I really like it overall though, very flattering especially if you have an hourglass figure.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2010
The dress is gorgeous, but quite small - I'm about 5'4" and 125-130 lbs, with a small bust, and the 6 was extremely difficult to zip up. I really wish I had ordered an 8. The length is nice - it hit me a few inches above my knee. It's a really sexy, bold dress, very flattering, and I would highly recommend it, but just get a size up (or two, since I thought I usually would be a 4!).
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
December 4, 2010
This dress was amazing! The color is a dark plum, not as light as it is in the picture, but really pretty. It was tight but the material is stretchy and the ruffles made everything so flattering. I would recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 3, 2010
Comfortable, fun, sexy
I SERIOUSLY CONSIDERED RENTING THIS DRESS AGAIN 2 WEEKS AFTER THE FIRST TIME... but then I realized that would defeat the purpose! I loved this dress and it was perfect for a semi-formal weddding... however, some things to note: This dress runs small for sure! I went to a Nicole Miller store and they told me that. Normally I wear a 4 or a 6 and this dress I had to wear an 8 just to get my bust/back/neck in the dress. It's also a lot longer than it looks on the model... I would say with certainty that they folded the hem under or altered the dress for this picture. Either way, it wasn't way too long. The dress was tighter in the chest and straps than I thought it would (should) be and looser in the stomach/back/hips area. A little disproportionate... BUT it still looked great. There are soft cups so I didn't need to wear a bra (for my 34 C/D chest) and I wasn't uncomfortable at all.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 29, 2010
The dress is really cute, but veryyyy narrow on top. I am normally a size 4 in dresses, but I ordered a 6 too just to be safe. The 6 fit around my butt (which is usually more of my problem area than my waist or my chest) but was surprisingly hard to zip around my chest area. Love the color though, just consider ordering a size bigger than you normally would.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2010
I felt so glamorous in this dress and had a great time dancing the night away at my sorority's semi formal.
This dress was fabulous! I read other reviews before ordering and saw that it ran small, so I ordered slightly bigger sizes than I would normally get. Typically I wear a 4-6, but I ordered this in a 6 and an 8. The 8 fit perfectly. The color is gorgeous and I am considering ordering the gold color in the future for a different event because the dress looked and fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×