Nicole Miller

Pitch Black Sheath

$40 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get dance party ready in this sizzling LBD by Nicole Miller. Bling out your look by going with accessories like Alexis Bittar's Gold Pave Tear Drop Earring, and Alexis Bittar's Pave Criss Cross Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch crepe (95% polyester, 5% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Pencil skirt. Ruched body. Hidden back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

152 reviews

Fit
Small 46
True to Size 94
Large 1
Photos 81
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

A very sexy LBD!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing and so sexy!! The cut flatters an hourglass shape so well- it shows off some sexy cleavage and hugs your booty. It's a gorgeous little black dress with thick, nice fabric and ruching that hides any flaws . You can wear a bra with it if the padding in the dress isn't enough. My only complaints were the annoying zipper- it's a pain to pull up!, and the little bit of under arm flab this dress can create since the top is snug. My boyfriend thought this dress looked amazing. I got it as a backup dress for a holiday party and wish I could have worn it, but decided to go with the other one because it was more festive. I will be renting it for a future event!
Hanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

STYLIST REVIEW

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The perfect dress for a night out with the girls, or a first date! It does have some stretch so I would stick with your typical dress size, but would definitely size up for the free back up, especially if you are bustier. You can wear a standard bra with it as well. An overall great fit, and fun dress! Put this in your hearted section now!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Feb 18, 2013

This dress fit like a glove and I felt great in it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress went on a little tight over my hips/thighs, but was just stretchy enough to be comfortable to dance in. The straps were not stretchy though, and one side of the top of the dress kept slipping down to show my bra. You could probably not wear a bra with this, but I felt better with the extra padding!
Maggie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

I wore this dress to the Grammys this year and it was beyond perfect!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfect, very flattering and comfortable. Could have gone a size down. The rouching made it easier for more sliders and vodkas at the after party :)
Alexi
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

I received so many wonderful comments from people about this dress & it fit incredibly well!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is such a great little black dress. It fit fantastically & I was so glad that I could wear a regular bra with it. The underneath slip rides up a little bit every now and again, so just make sure that it's straight and pulled down when you first put it on. I received so many compliments on this dress. I highly recommend it. It's definitely a dress that I would rent again :)
Cornelia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 3, 2013

A nice black dress, but not stunning!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fabric is very comfortable and has a lot of give, which is a plus because the dress is form-fitting. Also, the neckline is fabulous and really lifts your chest--a bra isn't necessary! However, because the material is stretchy, the dress tends to ride up as you walk. It never got scandalously short, but I did have to pull the hemline down several times during the night.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

Best rental I've ever had!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was the most amazing dress! I rented it for my sorority formal and I am still getting complements. Fits true to size, makes your cleavage look great, sucks in everything you want to be sucked in around the hip and stomach and thigh area. I wore spanx but you definitely don't have to. Literally looked like I had lost a few pounds overnight and was so so flattering. Can't wait to rent again!!
rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

I felt so confident and sexy! I can't count how many amazing compliments I got!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to an evening wedding and it was perfect--my boyfriend couldn't keep his hands off me!This dress fit snug but in a good way that flattered my curves. The ruching made me very comfortable with my bloated belly and this dress made my boobs look huge. I was really happy that I could wear a normal bra, too. The only heads up is that the zipper takes some coaxing because of the fabric. I definitely recommend this dress and hated that I had to send it back.
Maureen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

Very sexy! I loved this dress, very figure flattering and perfect for a special occasion.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress hugs you in all the right places and the ruching camouflages any imperfections. The top has cups sewn in so there's no need to wear a bra. The only downside is that the lining occasionally rides up and needs to be pulled a little, but overall a great dress. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Erin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 1, 2013

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to the NYC Ballet and a masquerade ball after party. I didn't try it on until right before I walked out the door, but it fit perfectly. It was also an incredibly comfortable dress that was easy to move around in. I also think it's very flattering for girls with a small bust. My favorite rental at RTR so far!
Madison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

Classic black dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Makes your boobs look good, the cinching on the sides is a little too much. It's tight, but it looks good that way.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

I was called "smoking hot" in this dress, need I say more?

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was not the original dress I rented, more on that below, but it fit perfectly! It has some stretch to it, which made it a comfortable dress to wear all night at a gala. I have NO curves, like my but has been called an "inny" kind of no curves, but this made it look like I did! I paired it with gold strappy heels and chunky gold jewelry. I could not have been happier with the dress and the experience. Now, let me tell you how awesome RTR stylists are. The person that had rented my original dress before me did not return it. I am not a quick decision maker. I spent months deciding which dress I was going to pick. I was called on the Tuesday morning before my event (dress was supposed to arrive on Thursday) and told the dilemma. Every stylist I worked with was amazing. I was told to pick any dress I want, at any price. As the world's slowest decision maker, I could only narrow it to about 6 dresses. They sent me each one they had in my size, which turned out to be 3 of them. This dress was the winner! All who I had help me pick a new dress agree that I looked better in this one than I would have in the original dress I chose, so this worked out in my favor, even if it caused some stress leading up to the gala. In conclusion, return your dresses on time, please!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

Dress fits amazing! I felt feminine and confident in it. My husband was memorized all evening!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little difficult to zip up but once you do, it gives you a small waistline. I loved the sweetheart neckline!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 31, 2013

Very sexy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this for my anniversary dinner and I really loved it! It is a very sexy LBD! The only thing I would caution other renters about is that it is a little small in the bust area, so if you are slightly larger chested I would definitely size up for your back-up size. I did end up wearing the 6 (my usual size) however it was a little tight in the bust and was glad I had the 8 to choose from.
Rebekah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

perfect fit for hourglass shapes

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is perfection -- it fits snug and perfectly, any imperfections are brought in by the ruching, and the neckline is absolutely perfect for any hourglass figures. I was at a formal event where people were in gowns, yet I was still getting tons of compliments. Definitely recommend it.
Jennie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 8, 2014

Perfect little black dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
My husband's best friend was receiving an award, and we were invited to the awards dinner. For weeks, I was asking him what I should wear, and of course, he didn't know. Finally, t pulled up the RTR website one night, and told him to pick something out. He chose this dress. I was kind of bummed because it's just a black dress, and I already own two LBDs. I went ahead and ordered it (although I accidentally selected a 10 and 12 instead of an 8 and 10). This dress ended up being super cute and super sexy, and one of my favorite rentals overall. You can wear a normal bra with it, or, if you have good breasts, you don't have the wear a bra because it has built-in padding. The 10 was tad big on me in the waist, so I would say that this dress fits true to size if you are pear shaped. It has a good bit of stretch in the hips. I would definitely rent this dress again for the right occasion--hubby has good taste!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

My favorite rental ever

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit like a glove and it was so comfortable all night. Sexy enough for a bachelorette part but also classy enough for a wedding. The fabric made the dress very forgiving in the midsection after a large meal and I love the lightly padded bust area (any dress where I don't need a bra is fine by me). The 2 was a tad longer and less form-fitting than the 0, so for my purposes I went for the 0. But if I rent it again for something more formal I will size up and get the 2.
Shelby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Mar 16, 2014

Gorgeous, comfortable dress for bachelorette party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress as something extra special to wear for my best friend's bachelorette party and it was perfect!! It was so comfortable and sexy! It made me feel amazing the whole night! I have a smaller bust so I usually don't feel that great in dresses like this, but with a little pushup bra and the sweetheart neckline of the dress, I felt very confident without feeling like I was showing too much cleavage. I ordered the 4 and the 6, which both sizes fit similar and like a glove! I chose to wear the 6 though just because it was a little tighter through my hips and butt in the 4 and I could move a little easier in the 6, which was needed since we were going out dancing. I paired it with red heels, the Lauren Merkin Gold Eve Clutch, and the Alexis Bittar Pave Criss Cross Bracelet (both of these items are on RTR as well; check them out too!). I could not have asked for a more perfect dress and experience with Rent the Runway. I loved the dress so much; I wish I could have kept it! But I'll definitely be renting again the next time I need that perfect Little Black Dress :)
mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Weekend in Florida

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Loved this dress, I didn't wear the 8 because I felt it was too short, but this looked great. You can also wear a regular bra with it and the ruching helps hide any mid body problems! I got so many compliments on this dress; it's sexy but very classy. I've rented a few Nicole Millers before, but this was my favorite. I will rent this dress again, loved it! (The picture is dark, but I'm standing in the back and I think you can get the idea of the dress)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 26, 2014

RTR is great! Just enrolled in the Pro membership. Definitely will be renting again.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous dress. Hides problem areas very well. Nice material. Got tons of compliments. Perfect little black dress.
Samantha
Age: 20
Mar 30, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my sorority formal and it was perfect! I paired it with a nice statement necklace and silver glitter pumps. It was so comfortable!! My only issue was the straps seemed a bit long so I kept having to pull it up so I wouldn't pop out! I wish I could keep this dress because it was just fabulous! Thanks RTR!!!
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super flattering from top to bottom. It was snug, but just the right length. This dress runs small, so order a size up! The size up fit like a glove :)
Tilli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Great dress! Hard to miss with Nicole Miller.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I found the dress to be very flattering for my body type, as are most Nicole Miller dresses. The ruching was slightly awkward but I still think even so it was a very flattering. I have worn both 2's and 4's in Nicole Miller dresses in the past but the 4 in this dress was definitely too large, so I went with the 2 that I found fit perfectly. The only issue I had was that all of my bras came up slightly too high so they could be seen a little bit at the top in the front, but I was able to remedy this pretty easily. I definitely recommend checking to make sure you have a bra that works with this dress right away after receiving the dress. Overall, I loved the dress and highly recommend it!
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 8, 2014

Sexy but classy

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is fabulous! I wore it for my bachelorette party. It was exactly the look I was going for: fun but not raunchy. Fit: both the 10 and the 12 fit, but I went with the 12. In retrospect, I should have gone with the 10. My hips are bigger than my top, and I thought the 10 was a tad snug on bottom, but the sleeves slid off my shoulders as the night wore on with the 12. The fabric has a fair amount a give/stretch. Length: due to the fit and the rouching, the length will vary slightly depending on how curvy you are. In sum, this dress made me feel like a trillion bucks and helped me say goodbye to the single life in style. Thumbs up!
RTR Customer
Apr 8, 2014

Beautiful dress that really makes you feel sexy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was my first RTR experience and I was very happy with the experience! I normally wear a 6, so this dress was a little snug. I recommend going one size up because of it's fit. It hugs all the right areas without feeling tight, but for those well-endowed I would be careful of the top - it tended to ride down a little. I was comfortable and felt beautiful all night!
ToniAnne
Age: 18
Apr 27, 2014

I got so many compliments all night long! I can't believe I spent less than 60 dollars on prom!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for Prom and it was amazing. It brings out all your curves in all the right ways. It's very comfortable too! It didn't ride up throughout the whole night and I felt so confident all night. I want to keep it! Probably will rent this dress again one day. Fantastic.
Mandii
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 3, 2014

I got tons of compliments on the dress all night

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfect, it's very flattering and comfortable. I got many compliments all night
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 8, 2014

Loved this Dress, was comfortable all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Really liked the way i looked in this dress, but was definitely pulling it up all night. Size 2 is just not meant for big busted girls. Would rent this again
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 12, 2014

Sleek and Sexy Dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was HOT HOT HOT! It had a beautiful fit, very form fitting, but the length came just above the knee, so although the top was very low cut (especially if you are full up there), it did not feel too revealing because of the length of the dress. I loved the cut and the material was very forgiving. I would definitely wear this dress again! I wore a long, chunky necklace and black heels to finish off this dress!
Kaelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
May 21, 2014

My boyfriend loved this dress! He complimented me all night.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear an 8 however this dress does run a tad small and I am a busty girl (36dd) so definitely size up if you're curvy. I wore the 10 and it fit perfectly! I danced all night and my boyfriend couldn't keep his hands off me ;)
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jun 8, 2014

Great dress that works miracles.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Answer me this ladies, why loose 10 lbs when you can rent a dress that will make you look great anyway? This dress was tight fitting but still comfortable. I felt great in it and as usual my boyfriend appreciated that it was low cut.
Pamela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

perfect little black dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. Loved that I could wear a normal bra with it. The bottom part of the material on the dress kept coming up when I was dancing so I had to pull it down so it didn't get too short, but other than that it was so comfortable.
Angela
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 7, 2014

The perfect lbd for a bachelorette party!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit very true to size. It made my boobs look great! It'll definitely give you a lot of cleavage, so if you're looking for something modest, this is probably not for you. The dress was very flattering around the middle because of how the fabric laid. It gave me a nice shape and I wasn't worried about sucking in my gut all night. It was the most comfortable I've been in a form fitting dress in a long time!
JOANNE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 16, 2014

Ultimate LBD!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for my bachelorette party and WOW did it impress!! I felt like fabulous in it all night ... And the best part was it was comfortable!! Also a huge plus - I usually wear spanks with any fitted dress and it is not necessary with this one ... The material hugs curves in all the right places and hides problem areas. I would definitely rent this again!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 5, 2015

Ended up not wearing it. The cut of the top made my broad shoulders look even wider.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
The way the top was cut it accentuated my broad shoulders. Just wasn't flattering
kim
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Feb 10, 2015

Adventures in Vegas

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit great, super sexy and slimming.
Ryan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 24, 2015

I felt beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit well.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

I freakin' LOVE this dress! Hides all the problems and shows off all the good stuff!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It fit wonderfully. Showed off just the right about of cleavage and fit nice and snug, BUT since there is ruching, it hides my tummy (which is always my issue spot). My boyfriend loved it. :)
robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

This dress fit perfectly!!! I absolutely looked fantastic!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It fit perfectly. I would rent this again.
Ellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very simple and classy. Not too short. Loved it for a late summer wedding!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×