Nicole Miller

Pitch Black Sheath

$40 rental
$385 retail
Stylist Notes

Get dance party ready in this sizzling LBD by Nicole Miller. Bling out your look by going with gold jewelry and strappy heels.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black stretch crepe (95% Polyester, 5% Spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Pencil skirt. Ruched body. Hidden back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
278 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(147)
Small
(69)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 8, 2016
Fun lnd

It definitely runs small. I wore full spanx underneath to fit into the 8. It was snug but comfortable once on. Didn't need to wear a bra which is nice and it held the girls up no problem.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
September 18, 2016
The fit is perfect for curves!

This dress is great for curvy girls. Super flattering and the stretchy material is comfortable while still holding everything in. I wish I had a picture from the night because words don't do it justice. Definitely great for a night out! Just don't wear a push up bra, which is what I did and man my boobs (34D) were way out. The cut of the dress is low enough for a normal bra. Will rent again!

Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
September 22, 2016
Amazing cocktail dress!!

I absolutely loved this dress! I ended up wearing the size 8 to have a little room in the top. The size 6 was a little tight in the chest. Other than having to size up, this dress was amazing! I was comfortable all night and didn't have to deal with feeling uncomfortable after eating dinner. It was easy to dance in too. I would recommend fashion tape for the straps. Definitely a dress to remember!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 9, 2016
Great dress!

I rented this dress for my sister's wedding! I wore a size 6, so it was true to size! The fit was fantastic & I got many compliments on the dress! I wore a bra underneath & it was constantly trying to make an appearance though. Was pulling it up all night. Wouldn't recommend for bustier gals. Other than that, it was a perfect dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2016
It was PERFECT!!!

(I'm the girl on the right!) I was super nervous since this was my first dress i have ever rented from Rent the Runway but it turned out perfect! I loved the sweetheart neckline and the thicker straps made it look timeless. Because of the thicker straps I was able to wear abnormal bra. Plus I got so many compliments on how HOT I looked that I plan on coming back again soon!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2016
Nothing

I rented this for a holiday party. I rented an 8 & 10. I gave it a two stars because I wouldn't recommended this dress. The size 10 fit perfectly around my body except the top. The top was too big and it kept falling off. The 8 was a little to tight around my stomach area and the top was still a little loose it kept falling off my shoulders. I don't know if having a bigger bust might help to keep the top from falling off or having bigger shoulders?

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
January 1, 2017
Loved it!

I loved this dress. I typically wear a size 2 or 4 in Nicole Miller but I ordered up and I'm glad I did. My larger chest fit better in the 6.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2017
New favorite LBD

Wore to a NYE wedding. As many other reviewers have noted, the dress beautifully hugs curves. I'm very flat and it accentuated what little chest I have. I sometimes can go between an 8 and a 10 but the 10 was falling off of me and didn't have that same curve-hugging effect. Also, I am very self-conscious about my tummy, and didn't feel it was showing in this dress. I'd definitely rent this again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Apple
May 4, 2017
Tight little black dress!

This dress fit just as advertised, a very tight, revealing little black dress. I wasn't a huge fan of it however and found the bust to fit a little weird. I ended up wearing it and was comfortable enough but wouldn't rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
August 20, 2017
Classic!

Great classic dress! I could wear without a bra and felt very comfortable in it! Not too low cut!

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 32D
September 10, 2017
Loved this dress!!

I love this dress so much I wish I owned it. Me being very indecisive about what to wear I thought I'd give RTR a try. I rented this dress for a wedding in the first weekend of September. I had sizes 2 and 4 but went with the 2. This dress is VERY flattering with just the right amount of cleavage. I'm a 32D and the girls weren't showing too much. I wore a bra with this dress which was a win but I did have to pull it up a few times. Would definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
November 10, 2017
Felt like a million bucks

Snug dress but hugged in all the right places.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
November 10, 2017
So comfortable!

Perfect dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
November 20, 2017
Perfect little Black dress!

Wore this for dinner and dancing for my bday. The material held everything in nicely and accentuated curves I don't even have! This is a really flattering black dress and perfect for every occasion!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 21, 2018
If I owned this, I would never take it off!

You guys. This dress. I wore it for date night with the hubs and felt AMAZING! The fabric is stretchy, yet substantial, so it holds you in perfectly and ruches (is that a verb?) beautifully. The cut is super flattering, and plus, you can wear a regular (demi) bra with it! I so LOVE this dress and for sure will be keeping it in my rental list. Rent this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2018
Cute LBD

Runs true to size. Great for a larger chest (32DD). Very supportive straps. The fabric layering around the middle looks a little odd, but great dress if you'll have a big meal!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
March 1, 2018
Great Dress!

I rented this for my birthday party and was not let down. The fit was perfect and comfortable. A very lovely and simple dress.

View photos (1)
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 26, 2018
Cute dress, couldn't wear it.

I'll start by saying I almost didn't get my dress in time due to the storms on the east coast, it luckily arrived on the morning of my event. I wanted to love this dress so badly! It was super figure flattering, however this dress is definitely not for large chested gals! I tried it with several different bras, and even tried it without a bra. I would've been falling out all night and worrying about my chest. Luckily I bought a backup dress to wear! Unfortunately I didn't end up wearing it!

Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 12, 2018
Couldn't zip up

Beautiful dress. I'm a solid size 4 and fit into the three other size 4 dresses and this one just wouldn't zip up. Runs small

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2018
Great LBD

I chose this as my backup dress since it's tough to go wrong with a little black dress for date night. This one didn't disappoint. It was a snug but comfortable fit and hid imperfections in the mid-section nicely. Only downside was that the silky liner allowed the outside layer to slip up some when sitting or walking so I had to pull it down on occasion and after standing up.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 13, 2016
Felt great in this dress!

I wish I had a full-length pic! This dress was very flattering- I wasn't sure about the ruching on the sides at first, but once I put it on, it looked great! I loved the sweetheart neckline. Overall I felt like the dress ran large, but while I had plenty of room in the waist/hip area, the top was tightttttt. If you are a C cup or larger, you will probably need to size up to avoid a wardrobe malfunction. This was a great dress for a non-black tie evening wedding!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
September 25, 2013
Perfect LBD!

This dress was perfect for a night out in AC for a bachelorette party. It is a classic little black dress and I felt beautiful wearing it. It's a great quality fabric that really hugs your curves. The dress is slightly stretchy and while I felt that the 6 fit nicely, the 8 gave me just a little more room to move, but was slightly lose in the shoulders and bust. The zipper was a little tricky - but manageable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 14, 2013
Gorgeous, comfortable dress - very sexy

This dress was a great pick for new year's - I prefer a little more room to move, so I ended up wearing the larger size (6), although the degree of stretch means that you can be a bit flexible on the sizing. I found that the 4 (my usual size) was both very fitted and (because of the fitted-ness) a bit shorter, and I was more comfortable in the 6. The stretch makes the dress really comfy, but it's a heavy fabric, so it's not too revealing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2013
Super sexy but good for a wedding - loved it but busty

I really loved this dress and felt so amazing in it. Only problem was my boobs were busting out! It felt a little inappropriate for per se my parents. It run SUPER small so absolutely get a size up. I NEVER wear larger than a 6 and the 8 fit perfectly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2013
Sexy dress!

This dress took me a day to warm up to because right out of the box I was a bit disappointed. First of all, it is MUCH more heavily ruched than the model's photo makes it appear. Second, it runs a little small and can come off as a bit "mature." But by the time I actually wore the dress, I had become basically happy with it. The bustline is very flattering (but very showy) and the tight fit makes for a sexy silhouette. Overall, fine, but not my favorite.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2013
I got this last minute of a College Birthday ball.

Kind of tight, I wore a normal bra as recommended and it kept coming out of the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
June 18, 2013
Too small.

I wanted to wear this for the rehearsal dinner for a wedding that my husband was in. It was too small and didn't come in a 14, so I had to settle for a different dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2013
Gorgeous!

I wore this dress for a wedding in early September. I loved it! I felt like it fit perfectly, however, it does run small. I normally wear a size 6, and opted for the 8, just because it allowed me to move more. The 6 fit, but was definitely more fitted than the 8. I found myself having to pull it down occasionally when I walked. Definitely recommend this dress! Have loved both Nicole Miller dresses that I have rented.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2013
EFFORTLESS

This dress hits all the marks. It's flattering, the fabric is a great weight, it's comfortable, you can wear a normal bra. Just overall extremely easy to wear.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2013
Classic black dress.

Makes your boobs look good, the cinching on the sides is a little too much. It's tight, but it looks good that way.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 25, 2013
Pretty but small

Loved the whole style of the dress, especially the ruching around the stomach area - but this dress definitely runs small. I typically wear a 10 or 12,and couldn't even get it over my hips! My friend who wears a 4-6 fit into it with a little bit of extra room around the stomach. I wouldn't recommend this for bigger chests like mine.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
December 13, 2013
What a dress!!!

Fits like a glove. I am usually a size 6 but wore an 8. It runs small. Very sexy and hugs all your curves. Definitely the best little black dress ever!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 31, 2013
Very sexy dress!

I rented this for my anniversary dinner and I really loved it! It is a very sexy LBD! The only thing I would caution other renters about is that it is a little small in the bust area, so if you are slightly larger chested I would definitely size up for your back-up size. I did end up wearing the 6 (my usual size) however it was a little tight in the bust and was glad I had the 8 to choose from.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2014
felt really hot in this dress! Stood out for sure.

I got a size lower than usual bc the reviews saod to. 115 at 5'6 and the two fit perfectly. very hot little lbd :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2014
Great LBD

This dress was super flattering from top to bottom. It was snug, but just the right length. This dress runs small, so order a size up! The size up fit like a glove :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2014
Comfortable dress with extremely flattering fit!

This dress ran a tad small, but was very flattering. Most importantly, though, it was super comfortable. I work it to a formal work event where I was working long hours and doing some physical labor, and it was comfortable all night without even needing spanx. As someone who is average height with a smaller chest, it was definitely still work-appropriate. My only complaint was that the lining did ride up a bit every once in a while.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
April 8, 2014
Beautiful dress that really makes you feel sexy!

This was my first RTR experience and I was very happy with the experience! I normally wear a 6, so this dress was a little snug. I recommend going one size up because of it's fit. It hugs all the right areas without feeling tight, but for those well-endowed I would be careful of the top - it tended to ride down a little. I was comfortable and felt beautiful all night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 28, 2014
Little Tight Around The Chest But Very Flattering!

I loved this dress. It ran a bit small for me, it fit a bit tight around my chest, but I still felt so sexy in it. I would definitely rent this sexy LBD again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 12, 2014
Sleek and Sexy Dress!

This dress was HOT HOT HOT! It had a beautiful fit, very form fitting, but the length came just above the knee, so although the top was very low cut (especially if you are full up there), it did not feel too revealing because of the length of the dress. I loved the cut and the material was very forgiving. I would definitely wear this dress again! I wore a long, chunky necklace and black heels to finish off this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 12, 2014
Beautiful dress!

This is a beautiful dress and definitely well made. I am 5'8 163 lbs with wide hips, i should have gone for the 10 but they didn't have the second size available at the time. Customer service was amazing though and sent me 2 other dresses and ended up wearing one of those!

See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×