Nicole Miller

Pitch Black Sheath

$40 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get dance party ready in this sizzling LBD by Nicole Miller. Bling out your look by going with accessories like Alexis Bittar's Gold Pave Tear Drop Earring, and Alexis Bittar's Pave Criss Cross Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch crepe (95% polyester, 5% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Pencil skirt. Ruched body. Hidden back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

149 reviews

Fit
Small 46
True to Size 93
Large 1
Photos 79
Angela
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 7, 2014

The perfect lbd for a bachelorette party!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit very true to size. It made my boobs look great! It'll definitely give you a lot of cleavage, so if you're looking for something modest, this is probably not for you. The dress was very flattering around the middle because of how the fabric laid. It gave me a nice shape and I wasn't worried about sucking in my gut all night. It was the most comfortable I've been in a form fitting dress in a long time!
JOANNE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 16, 2014

Ultimate LBD!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for my bachelorette party and WOW did it impress!! I felt like fabulous in it all night ... And the best part was it was comfortable!! Also a huge plus - I usually wear spanks with any fitted dress and it is not necessary with this one ... The material hugs curves in all the right places and hides problem areas. I would definitely rent this again!
Donna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Love this dress! So classy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit perfectly! Did wear a bra, but was snug enough that I probably didn't have to. Comfortable!
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

Perfect fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
OH. EM. GEE. This dress fit like a glove- it was super flattering!! Perfect dress for the club night of my husband's 30th b-day weekend in Vegas. The material is sturdy and thick, with a bit of ruching on the side- so it smooths out a bit of bumps and bulge you may have (darn you brunch buffet!!) It is definitely on the sexier side- it's fitted and it did ride up a little through the night. It made my booty look great, and cleavage for days. It worked without a bra, but I went with a strapless pushup for a little more lift.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 25, 2014

Loved it

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It runs a little small because I'm normally and 8 and wore a 10 but I absolutely loved the dress. I got tons of compliments on it all night. It was perfect because I was able to dress it up with the Kate spade necklace shown in the picture. I would highly recommend this dress. Comfy and pretty.
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Jul 26, 2014

Sexy LBD

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
First, the cons: This dress runs small, and had a tendency to ride up slightly when I was hitting the dance floor with my wild moves. Also, the dress seam which should go right below my bra was too high. Felt like I was a little too long in the body for this dress ( I do have a long torso). Luckily, you can't really notice in pictures. Now, the cons: Gives you awesome push-up effect. The dress hugs your body, and is made to enhance your curves. It's classy and sexy at the same time!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Aug 11, 2014

Great cut and classic LBD.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a beautiful LBD! I wore this to my friend's bachelorette party. The ruching is really flattering and the cut is classic. I liked the thick straps and sweetheart neckline. Also, I'm 5'11" and the dress was about mid-thigh on me. The dress does run small, so definitely size up. Enjoy!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Great dress for bachelorette party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented the 2 and 4 for a LBD night at a friends bachelorette party and ended up wearing the 4, the two was just entirely too tight. It was seriously low cut. I am fairly flat chested and I'm not sure if that was an advantage or disadvantage with this dress. It was super form fitting, and the ruching helped hide my tummy, but I wore some body slimming undergarments anyway. I was a bit self conscious in this dress, but given the fact that it was a bachelorette party, it was ok to be a bit revealing. All in all a nice dress, lacked a little wow factor, but well made and a nice material.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

Fantastic fit hides all "problem areas" and accentuates all the right places

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
A fantastic dress to wear to dinner, the roucheting hides any belly bloat from eating or drinking too much. The cut on top is the perfect combination of alluring and sophisticated, not too low cut either! And you can wear a regular bra!!! Only thing to look out for is the zipper--it is a little rough towards the top so make sure you have someone to help zip you all the way.
Tammy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

Perfect for a Vegas trip with the girls!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
At first I was worried the dress wouldn't zip so I called RTR for help. They were great! Since I was in Vegas they offered to exchange the dress at their Cosmopolitan store. Luckily with a little tug. the dress was a perfect fit. Hig hugging and very slimming. Another success from RTR!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 20, 2014

Sexy and comfortable dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect. Since I am pear-shaped, I normal don't wear dresses that are so fitted, but the fabric was sturdy, so I felt comfortable in it. I went with the 4 just because I felt like I would get uncomfortable in the 2 after eating and drinking. That was the best choice- I felt so pretty and fancy!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Great bachelorette party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is form fitted and flattering! I wore it for a bachelorette party at the beach and felt great in it. It could easily be dressed up or down depending on accessories. I would only caution someone with very sculpted arms when renting this dress because I felt a little self conscious about that while wearing...it might have been because I'm not used to wearing a dress with wider straps. I wore the Size 2 and it fit well....the Size 0 was too small so I would say this dress runs TTS or slightly small. Overall I loved this dress and would rent again!
ashlee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

Love! Love! Love!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
At first I wasn't sure about this dress because it seemed a little unassuming and I wanted something special for my birthday. Then I tried it on and oh my good lord....it was perfection!! You will not be disappointed or regret renting this dress. I don't just want to rent this dress again; I want to own it! I've never felt more beautiful. No complaints whatsoever.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 26, 2014

Hot little LBD!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is super flattering, given the stretch and ruching. The thick straps make it comfortable to wear and easy to pull off with an actual bra. For tall folks like myself, it runs a little short, but not excessively! I would definitely rent it again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Sep 27, 2014

Amazing dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a show stopper I got so many compliments on it! This dress made me feel like a million bucks! Was true to size but fits tight in the bust. Would definitely rent again!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Wonderful flattering little black dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was so flattering! I wore it to a concert, and it turned a lot of heads! I would absolutely rent this again! It's fitted, but textured perfectly to highlight your assets and hide imperfections. I am 5'3", 125, 32C, and I wore a 2 comfortably.
Kimberly
Age: 27
Oct 11, 2014

Perfect little Black dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fabulous. I listened to the reviews and ordered my extra size a size up. The 6 would be perfect for a girls night out. The 8 was a little longer so perfect for a wedding. This dress really flattered my athletic build. Huge fan, got compliments all night.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Little black dress for an evening wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
All of the reviews I read said that this dress ran small, so I ordered both a 0 (my usual size) and a 2 (to be safe) however I didn't think this dress ran small and that it was true to size. The only place it was slightly tight was in the bust, but with 32ddd sized boobs that is almost always expected. The straps are thick enough that you can wear a regular bra and your bra straps will not show which is always a plus.
Perri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Love the sweetheart top!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Classic LBD, hugs your curves in all the right places, easy to dance in.
Brittany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Oct 14, 2014

The perfect LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks much better in person than it does on the model. I wore the 0 and it fit perfectly! The only issue was the zipper was very tough. You have to have someone else zip the dress for you.
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

I felt amazing!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding and it was definitely a head turner! The 4 fit great, I usually wear a 6. It is VERY small in the bust (as you can tell from the picture). I'm a small B and I barely got in there! Anyone larger than a B would need to go a size up. I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Alissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Oct 21, 2014

I could eat, drink, and dance all night while looking great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
As I noticed with all the other reviews, this dress did run small. I wore one size up from my normal size and it was perfect - fitted but not suctioned to me, flattering, and comfortable. I received compliments all night!
Nikki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

...When my man looked at me halfway through dinner and told me how beautiful I looked :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm not one to wear form-fitting dresses. I have a little "pooch" if you will, so this dress was definitely out of my comfort zone. After reading all of the reviews, most of the women stated that the rouching of the dress was very flattering and covered up all the right places... THANKFULLY the reviews were right, because I felt amazing in this little number! i paired the dress with a JCrew necklace, some strappy black pumps and a black Tory Burch clutch! Perfect night!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 31, 2014

My date LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is killer. It does run a little tight in the chest, but fortunately that wasn't a problem for me. It fits like a glove, has enough stretch to be super comfortable, and looks amazing. The zipper is difficult to do up, thanks to the ruching, so maybe try to have someone on hand to help you zip up. Otherwise, this dress was perfect for the engagement party I went to!
Emmaline
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

This dress gives you an awesome booty :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner. It fit like a glove. I took the advice from other users to order a size bigger than what you would usually wear, and I DEFINITELY agree. I usually wear a small-medium or a 4, and I ended up wearing the 6. I love it because I don't usually wear tight things, but this dress was tight in all the right places, and the material over the slip of the dress covers any problem areas that anyone might worry about. I would definitely recommend this dress, I got compliments all night!
Tracey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

I rented this dress for my birthday. It fit absolutely wonderful!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is wonderful. It fit absolutely perfect. I would rent it again and recommend to anyone! We went out to dinner for my birthday and to a private club to meet friends. Everyone raved at how I looked. Thank you for everyone that posted their picture. I was a bit shy to rent from just the picture of the model but seeing in on real women was what made my decision.
Erin
Age: 45
Dec 11, 2014

I felt very sexy in this dress and it was comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
If you are busty you may want to order a size up for your second size. I loved it and didn't have to wear spanx just regular panties and bra. It's a great little black dress super feminine. Reminds me of a dress a bombshell would wear - like Marilyn Monroe or Sophia Loren.
Vera
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Extremely flattering and comfortable.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Amazing dress and I got tons of compliments. The only con is that I had to pin my bra to the top to make sure the bra didnt slip out of the top as I moved around
mercedes
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

The dress was perfect and made me look amazing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looked fantastic and was great for the formal I attended! The dress is tight but i expected that. I was able to wear my usual size of a 2, and i got a 4 as my backup. This dress is amazing!
Denise
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Best Get Ready for Big Party Experience Ever!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Having discovered Rent the Runway has changed the way I will get ready for special occasions from now on. Admittedly a little skeptical at first, I trusted the many positive reviews I had read. From the available selection, with all of the helpful comments, to the placing of the order, to delivery and return packaging and instructions, this was a very pleasant and easy experience. I wore this to a holiday office party and received many, many compliments from the time I stepped on the elevator. The dress was comfortable and easy to move about in. I went up a size based on all of the comments that suggested doing so and I'm glad I did. I will definitely be a returning customer.
Beth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Great dress with just enough stretch in the fabric to hug all the right curves!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved wearing this dress! It was perfect for a Bachelorette Party in Vegas. I used some skin tape to secure the top, and even though I wasn't able to wear a bra, it wasn't a problem.
Ari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Gorgeous & Comfortable dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely fabulous. The neckline is extremely flattering, and the dress was comfortable enough to enjoy a night of swing dancing! This is the perfect LBD. Wish I could have bought it instead of renting it! Rental was true to size, great quality.
Marley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

Hot black dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress! Had free bday credit from RTR so ordered it just for a fun date night. Ran a little small but I think just because it's meant to be fitted. Loved the top especially. I've worn size 2/4 dresses from this site but definitely wouldn't have wanted to go smaller than a 6 for this.
Larissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 27, 2015

Wore this dress to a work Christmas party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was a perfect fit, I could even wear a regular bra which was a major plus for me! It was a nice thick, stretchy fabric and was very comfortable to dance in. The neckline and ruching made it a unique, classy LBD. Really the only con was that it rode up a little and the slip on the inside also rode up and got bunched up from time to time. Other than that it was great, I got a lot of compliments on it throughout the night.
Rachel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

It was a great night and got tons of compliments on the dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect! I wore it for a date party for my sorority and it fit very well and was super comfortable!
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Got compliments all night!!!!!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Date
This dress is elegant, sophisticated and very figure flattering, I felt so sexy and attractive. My date loved it!!! It was a total hit!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 11, 2015

Fun and sexy!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear as part of an eighties costume--it was perfect! The dress hugs your body in all the right places, and the fabric is stretchy/comfortable. Adorable dress for a night out!
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

Sexy curve huggin thing

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Sized down to hug curves, otherwise billowing style at waist bunches in a slightly unflattering way. But the dress was well received. If you are smaller in the bust you can probably get away with no bra. Unfortunately, I wore one that kept creeping out. Great for a black tie cocktail party! Definitely will turn heads.
krysten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 27, 2015

Such a flattering shape!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits true to size, I have a larger chest so the heart shaped neckline was a little more revealing that it would be on others. It is extremely comfortable.
Annemarie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 28, 2015

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a date and it is the perfect LBD!!! Fits true to size and the fabric has a nice ruching effect to it so as to hide any belly issues. I will most likely rent this one again! 5 stars for sure...
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×