Nicole Miller

Nirvana Sequin Sheath Dress

$30 to buy
$400 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Own the party by walking in wearing this black sequin Nicole Miller off shoulder dancing dress. A stunning number that everyone will want to steal from you! Go with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black sequins. Off the shoulder neckline. Long sleeves. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip.

Share
99 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
November 7, 2011
Loved it! Wish I owned it! A couple threads sticking out on the side but other than that perfect and kept me warm with long sleeves. Totally comfortable too!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
November 14, 2011
PERFECT dress
fit perfect, very flattering! Dress is not as shiny as the picture, mat sequins. almost looks like leather from afar, I got tons of compliments - RENT!!! I wish I owned it too.
AndreaJuly 28, 2015
We have similar body styles... height bust and weight. I can handle the tightness but I don't need the morale bummer if it won't fit. Should I go for it?
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
November 30, 2011
Great dress!
I'm 5'6 and a half about 145lbs with boobs and a size 8 was perfect. Some say the sleeves itch but it's not noticeable by the time you leave your house. If you want to really show off your shape this is the dress, it's not too tight but it fits perfectly! It looks like leather in pictures so some flashy earrings and clutch will do the trick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 12, 2011
Great Dress. Runs super large!
I loved this dress. I actually rented it in a 4 but it was too big, so I went out and bought it in a 0. Sequins are subtle but noticeable. Length is perfect--short enough to be hot but long enough to not be over the top. Only thing that is kind of annoying is the off the shoulder sleeves make it hard to lift your arms.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
December 15, 2011
No one, not even my boyfriend, recognized me at first!
I received so many compliments on this dress! I usually wear a size 2 and the 4 was my back-up size, but when it shipped they didn't have the 2 available. Luckily it ran a bit small and the 4 fit perfectly. The picture is true to life, with the sequins being matte and not shiny at all. I had a ton of people come up to me to compliment me on the dress and then would notice the sequins- so from afar, it simply looks leather-y. Of the 1,000+ people at this event, I was the only one with an off-the-shoulder dress. It really showed off my collar bones and shoulders, which my boyfriend loved. I definitely stood out in the sea of traditional ball gowns. I would recommend this dress 100% and will be renting it again! I accessorized with Givenchy Crystal Long Teardrop Earrings, $58 (http://www.vonmaur.com/Product.aspx?ID=76767&Sale=n&pg=1) and no necklace. I wore my hair up in a slightly messy chignon and went with smokey eyes and pink lipstick. For shoes, I wore Aldo Capecoral pumps in beige, silver and black (http://www.aldoshoes.com/us/trends/moody-nature/women/82972101-capecoral/34).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
December 23, 2011
Wow
Great dress to wow the crowd and the fit is very comfortable for a dress with open shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2012
RTR sent me mystery accessory and the earrings they sent were perfect and I think made this dress!!
I rented this dress in a size 0 & a 2. I ended up wearing the siz 0. The arms are a little small, but okay and the dress seems to have too much material. However, the dress was gorgeous! I got so many compliments all night long and the off the shoulders is absolutely sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 20, 2012
Doesn't slip!
Adored this dress. Rented it for NYE out of town with friends and it's super snug but the ruching keeps it flattering. I was a little nervous about the off-the-shoulder, but it stayed in place perfectly all night. I got a ton of compliments and felt great all night
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
January 24, 2012
A little too confining
I ended up wearing another dress because the sleeves were a little tight. Cute and fun party dress, just didn't work as perfectly as my first choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
January 29, 2012
very sexy ;)
I wore the dress for going out in the city for my bday. It was meant to catch attention, and that it did!! I have a hard time finding dresses that fit well because I have quite a booty, but this dress is very stretchy and fit it all in WITHOUT making my behind look too big. The ruching and sequins hid everything unwanted, despite it being so form-fitting. The only thing that made it ever so slightly less than perfect is the neckline (which sat pretty low on the shoulders) was not stretchy and was at times too tight and a bit constricting with arm-movement. But as the night went on, I noticed it less and less. Great dress, would rent again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 15, 2012
I turned heads all night!
This dress is awesome. This fit is amazing. The flat sequins make it look like leather, but the dress moves well and is not constricting at all. I LOVED IT!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2012
Everyone had something nice to say about this dress. My husband, who thought it was silly of me to rent a dress for this occasion, loved this dress and was blown away!
This dress is awesome! Comfortable and very flattering. It's not quite as shiny as the model photo suggests but that fact adds to the cool factor of this dress. The fabric has some stretch and as most Nicole Miller dresses, it runs a tad large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 28, 2012
I am glad RTR lets you rent a 2nd dress for $25 because in the event your first choice doesn't work out, you have a backup!
I ordered this dress as a backup to my first choice and good thing I did. I requested the 12 and the 10... thinking I would wear the 12, but to my surprise the 10 fit very well. The dress sat well, did not bunch or fold funny. I thought the shoulders may keep falling all night, but they stayed in place well. I got lots of compliments in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 5, 2012
Runs Large.
I typically wear a size 2. I got the dress in a 0 and 2 and both were loose on me. I thought it was cute, but it was very loose around the waist and hips. I am not sure if the dress was stretched out or if it just runs large, but I had to return because I wanted it to be more form fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 13, 2012
My bust was too big
The dress was cute, but when I zipped it up, my large bust gave the illusion that the neckline was a fit issue and not the intentional style of the dress! It was like my boobs were pulling the entire neckline down or something! I am a 36D, and the dress zipped up just fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 107lbs
March 15, 2012
My friends said I should find a way to buy this dress!
I rented this for a bachelorette party and it ended up being perfect. It was more comfortable that I thought it would be. It also looked less shiny than in the model photo which I was happy about. I wore a 0, my normal size, and it was a bit roomy in the midsection but otherwise fit fine. It was also a bit longer than I expected, but I think that worked well to balance out the off-the-shoulder look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2012
Cute, but not a great fit
I rented this dress, but didn't end up wearing it. It fit a little strange in the arm area, and was a little restrictive.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 24, 2012
I didn't wear this dress. I wore my second choice because it fit better and was more flattering.
I chose a 6 and 8. The 6 fit fine, but when I tried on the 8, for some reason it looked better on me. The dress looked great and my husband loved it. I opted for the second dress I ordered, but I really wanted to wear this one as well. We were going to try to go the second night on our anniversary trip for drinks at a nice place just so that I could wear the dress, but it didn't work out. So I'm hoping to rent it again some time in the future. One thing I wanted to mention is that I was concerned the arms would be too tight because I am fairly muscular, but the dress is stretch enough that it was fine. The length was good with my short legs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 26, 2012
Wore a different dress, so glad I ordered 2 styles!
It bunched up weird. The arms looked awkward since I didn't stand the way the model was standing. Not as shimmery as the picture either. I think it was a great idea of a dress, but wasn't what I was looking for.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 27, 2012
receiving my dress with dior makeup
It fit great on me! I have a athletic body and this really highlighted the best parts of me. I loved it so much! i would defiantly rent this again!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2012
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to a formal and loved the off the shoulder cut and material.
Fit great although arms were a little tight. I loved the material, a matte sequin that was sexy but not too flashy.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 14, 2012
This dress is form fitting and stretchy with just enough sparkle
Fit is large since the dress is very stretchy- you should order your normal size and a size smaller. It was perfect for my bachelorette party as I was able to dance comfortably while not having to worry about fixing my dress all night. I'm a very curvy lady and this dress was stunning!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 17, 2012
GORGEOUS!
This is my second time getting a dress from rent the runway. Again...I was extremely happy! The dress is beautiful! I am a tall gal ...5'11 and this dress looked just stunning on. I ordered it for my BD party in sizes 8 and 10. I usually wear size 8, in this dress both sizes fit kind of the same all over...what made the difference is sleeves and with wide shoulder cut. The cut up on top just felt a bit tighter in 8 than in 10. If not for planned dancing....and we sure did enough of that ;)...I would probably wear 8. Overall, I loved the dress! For a club, party or night on a town with girlfriends...or boyfriends - its perfect!
StashaJanuary 15, 2014
Love the vest you paired with it! You look awesome.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 19, 2012
Comfortable and sexy sequins!
I wore this dress to a friend's party and even though it's super fitted, it's really comfortable! The sequins are matte so it has a pretty cool look and everyone kept commenting on how tiny i looked all night! Definitely a great dress for a night out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2012
always an easy time with RTR.
Wore this dress to my birthday party. I loved the way it fit. It hugged my body at the right places. I love showing off my shoulder and this was the perfect dress for this, and since my birthday falls in November the long sleeve kept me warm while still making me look hot! Only thing I wished was different was the length. It was a little too long for my taste, but overall it was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
October 26, 2012
Great neckline & subtle sequins!
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party. I loved that the sequins weren't too flashy and gave it almost a gunmetal, faux leather effect. I ended up sizing down because the size 2 dress looked like it was ready to be retired from the rental scene; it had a few small stains, sequins were falling off, dress was a little stretched out, etc. The most noticeable difference between the two sizes was around the arms; the smaller dress was tighter there, but overall a better fit! Would definitely rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 27, 2012
Drop Dead Sexy!
This dress is absolutely beautiful. It isn't as shiny as the photo shows, however, it does standout! I would suggest a strapless bra if you have a fuller bust.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
November 14, 2012
the dress wasn't what I expected
the fit in the arms was tighter than I expected and the bottom was looser than I wanted. personally it wasn't as form fitting as I wanted but overall the design was nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2012
A great birthday dress!
It's snug and surprisingly warm as a result. Thank goodness I wore it in the winter. Got lots of compliments and loved the neckline-- great opportunity to show off a fun statement necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2012
This dress has major sex appeal. I've never felt more amazing in a LBD!
The dress is true to size but may run a bit large, I was expecting to fit into the 4 rather than the 2, and I could have probably even squeezed into a 0. I would love to own this dress. I got an incredible amount of compliments and really felt the best I ever had in a dress. This dress is worth every penny, even the original price tag of $400! Not kidding.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
Sophisticated and comfotable
This dress runs a bit big, size down for your second dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
December 12, 2012
Awkward fit
I had ordered a 0 and a 2. The 0 was unavailable and so the 2 was still sent to me. I don't think either would have fit. The dress fit seems really hard to fit perfectly. The 2 was really baggy on me and so I don't think the 0 would have fit well either. The material is also really hard to keep looking new. I expected the muted sequins but it just looked really worn. I'm glad I had another backup dress. I would recommend picking a different dress b/c this one is not as glam as the photo of the model.
RTR CustomerDecember 14, 2012
We are so sorry to hear that your dress wasn't in perfect condition! We will look into this. If your dress is not in pristine condition or doesn't fit please contact a stylist at 1.800.509.0842 as soon as it arrives and we will get another dress out to you asap for your event!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 5, 2013
I looked amazing in this dress. Add some killer heels and you are set. Lots of compliments.
The fit is perfect. Runs true to size. Perfect for hourglass figure.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
January 27, 2013
Perfect dress for a formal event, party, club...almost for anything!!!
I am between a 4-6, 5'2,137lb with curves. I definitely could have worn the size 4, especially if I was headed to a party or a club. I can't say enough about the fit, it was perfect. I suggest a strapless bra, the dress doesnt have any support but stays up perfectly. Take into consideration that this dress is sequined but NOT shiny , like New Year's Eve party shiny! It looks almost like leather in the pics but in person it's almost matte. No tugging, pulling or adjusting, it fits like a glove. iI need this dress in my closet!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 11, 2013
Sexy and Comfortable
This dress has some stretch, but the gathering is very comfortable and flattering. Almost looks leather, very cool.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 141lbs
February 13, 2013
excellent dress! Happy with my choice for Atlantic City night out.
The fit was great, I had the size 4 on and there was still room in the waist, but I lift weights and my back & arms are muscular and it was just a bit too tight around the shoulders as well as upper arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 15, 2013
Super Comfortable!
I loved this dress - didn't get to wear it because of the snow storm, but it was super cute and was tight in all the right places! Would have loved to wear it out :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 25, 2013
Weird Fit
I am usually a size 8, but after reading the reviews on this dress I opted for the 10 because I am a busty girl. The dress fit up top, but because I have more of an hourglass shape, the rest of the dress just hung there, and didn't fit to my body at all because it was too big. I was very dissapointed that I was unable to wear it, as it's an absolutely stunning dress. The sequins are more muted than they are in the picture, and the dress was soft on the inside and I imagine would have been very comfortable to wear if it had fit. Too bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 1, 2013
Forgiving and great for us "curvelicious" divas!
Stretchy almost leather looking from a distance, although it's sequinned! The one downside was a tiny defect on the right forearm possibly a sewing glitch...still a stunner nonetheless!!! I usually wear a 12, but the 10 fit!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 19, 2013
gorgeous, sexy, and sleek
my sister wore this for my bachelorette party four months after she gave birth, and her husband gave her strict instructions not to talk to any men that night. this from a guy who rarely notices anything she wears!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×