Nicole Miller

Midnight Fever Dress

$47 to buy
$440 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this simple but chic Nicole Miller one shoulder, navy dress. It is perfect if you are attending a wedding, a social event, or homecoming! Jazz it up with trendy accessories like Crislu's Teardrop Sparkle Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in boning is fitted so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist, ruching inserts help to conceal midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning and support in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Product Details

Navy stretch silk. One shoulder sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail at shoulder. Ruching inserts. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(39)
Small
(57)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 3, 2014
Loved this dress and had it was very comfortable to wear!
The dress was beautiful and I had a lot of fun wearing it. It ran a little large in the bust, but I think some fashion tape would help solve the problem! Beautiful blue and soft fabric as well!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2011
The dress looked gorgeous! It hugged my curves perfectly without showing any lumps. I'm glad I ordered my back-up to be one size larger. This dress runs about a half-size too small - I'm normally a size 2 but ended up wearing the size 4 (it was only a little bit loose on me).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 2, 2011
I recieved tons of compliments on this dress. For my first RTR rental I couldn't have been happier with my choice!
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress. I had to use my size up dress which worked out fine because it fit perfectly. I received so many complements when I wore it to a friend's wedding. Lots of girls asked where I bought it so I had to give RTR some props! The detailing/tailoring were beautiful and my only dislike was the boning on the left side of the dress was bent, so it stuck out a little. If I could afford it, I would definitely buy the dress.
KristenOctober 18, 2012
Ok...this picture is my inspiration for trying out this dress. I hope I look this good!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Body type: Hourglass
August 2, 2011
This dress was prefect. No need to wear any spanx, as expressed in previous reviews of this dress. I want to buy it. Wore to a glam wedding. Tailored-fit. Dress does run a little small- I ordered up 1 size. The dress does have some stretch. Received so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2011
Sadly ordered the wrong sizes
Unfortunately, this dress ran smaller than I was expecting. I was able to comfortably wear a small in the Nicole Miller All Laced Up Dress, so I ordered my sizes for this dress accordingly. I'd reccomend ordering a size up as your back up size, especially if you have curves and somewhat of a chest. It is definitely a gorgeous dress and I plan on renting it in the proper size in the future. The RTR team has been a great help with returning the dress :)
JenniferMarch 25, 2012
What size did you order?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 22, 2012
The ease of receiving the package before the event and not stressing about what to wear!
I rented this dress for an evening wedding at a beautiful estate on New Year's Eve. It was the perfect piece for the situation: classy an elegant for a wedding, but also form-fitting and cocktail style for NYE. I paired the dress with a pair of Badgley Mischka Ocean Moon Earrings to glam it up a little more. I usually wear a 6 but rented the second size as an 8 and ended up wearing that one, just to be a little more comfortable. I had to use a little Hollywood tape to hold the dress in place along the sweetheart top, but other than that there were no issues. It was a great party dress for a long and busy evening!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 7, 2012
Beautiful but tricky to wear
First of all this dress runs very small - I am usually a size 0 or 2, but I am glad that I ordered the 4 as my backup since I could hardly get the 2 zipped (if you are small busted you might not have this problem). I did have to use a lot of fashion tape and pin the one shoulder, but once I had it all done the dressed looked amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 10, 2012
Cute dress, very small
I rented a 10 and a 12 and both were too small. I rented a 10 and a 12 in another brand and the 10 fit perfectly and the 12 was huge. This dress runs really small. Note: I'm not sure of my usual size b/c I had just had a baby when I rented this dress. However, it still seemed very small to me in comparison to the other dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
April 11, 2012
Amazing Dress!
I generally wear a 6 but went with the 8 and it fit perfectly! Also I have a big chest (34DD) and it was great - I only had to pull it up a few times all night. I danced and had no problems. GREAT dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 15, 2012
Meh.
It was really pretty, however I couldn't get it zipped past my waist. I usually wear a 10 or 12. I ordered both after reading the review and neither of the two fit. I ended up wearing another dress from RTR. :)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
April 19, 2012
WAY TOO SMALL
While this is an absolutely beautiful dress, it was extremely small. I wear an 8 in almost all dresses. However, I ordered both an 8 and a 10 in this: the 8 I couldn't even zip and the 10 was very very tight over the hips/thighs, even in Spanx. If you are in any way curvy, either order (way) up or look for a more flattering cut!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 7, 2012
Flattering!
I ordered this for a black tie event in early May and even though I was originally aiming for something a little colorful, this turned out to be perfect. I received so many compliments on it! It definitely runs small - but it is meant to be fitted. I wore the smaller size of the two that I ordered because the one strap fit better on the smaller size. But definitely order up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2012
As always, I was blown away by the amazing customer service at RTR. There was a problem with FedEx and my dress was delivered a day late so I was running around Massachusetts trying to locate it at the warehouse! I called RTR and informed them of the annoying situation... they were extremely apologetic and refunded my shipping costs plus more. Outstanding!!
I wore this dress to a friends wedding and got alot of compliments. As others have said, the dress is tight and runs small. There was not much size difference between the 2 and 4, but I went with the 4 because it was longer The material is slightly stretchy which makes it comfortable and easy to dance it. I only gave it 4 stars because I felt the pattern on the front was a bit unflattering.... but it was still an awesome dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 9, 2012
Stunning
A very beautiful and comfortable dress. I received so many lovely compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
July 1, 2012
Trust the reviews - small!
I wasn't able to wear this to the wedding I ordered it for. Unfortunately, the dress is pretty form fitting and it didn't seem appropriate for the occasion even though I tried a size larger than usual. Also, I'm petite and the one shoulder strap was much too long for my proportions. If I bought the dress, I'd have to get the strap shortened so there was a more secure fit. Also, the reviews on here and 100% accurate - this dress runs SMALL, definitely size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Everyone said I looked hot! Also, RTR has the best customer service on planet earth. They helped me pick out this dress and overnighted it to me when my original dress was too large!
I rented this dress super last minute. My original dress (Versus by Versace Floral Wonderland) arrived and was too big. RTR let me pick any available dress to be overnighted for free to my hotel (I had the summer pass), so I picked this last minute. It was perfect for the wedding, but definitely runs small. I rented the 6 and the 8 and ended up in the 8, but probably would have been more comfortable in the 10. Everyone said it looked great, but it was definitely really tight. Overall another great experience with RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
August 31, 2012
Beautiful, but small!
I normally wear a size 0 or 2 and rented this dress in a 2 and 4 after reading the reviews. The size 4 was very tight and uncomfortable. The strap needed to be pinned because it was a little too long (I'm only 5'1). Definitely size up for this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 12, 2012
I wore this dress to a wedding and I received many compliments on it!
I thought the dress ran a little small. I am usually always a 0 and the 0 fit, but was a little too tight for a wedding. Overall, the dress fit very well and I would recommend it for this kind of an event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
This was the perfect attire for a black tie optional wedding. I felt great in it!
This dress was very pretty in person. Like everyone says, it runs small. I am glad I ordered the 6 as backup. The 4 fit perfectly around the waist/stomach area, but I could not zip it up past my chest. I wear a 34D+ so that was the only issue.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
Great dress, but runs small.
Overall, this was a great dress. I'm 5'5" and 130lbs with a somewhat athletic build. I normally wear a size 4, so I rented a 4 and a 6. The 6 was definitely a bit tighter in the ribcage and hip area than I would have liked, but the dress does have some give to it, so it was manageable. I'm small chested, so the top fit well. Bigger chested girls might spill out. I received lots of compliments on the dress and loved the color, which was a very deep blue.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 5, 2012
This is a beautiful dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding in Nantucket and was really jazzed to wear it. The only problem was they only had a 2. I normally wear a 2 but all the reviews said to go a size larger, and I should have. The top fit great but, the sides bunched making me look lumpy! I had ordered a back up dress just in case and went with that one. I really want to wear this one but will get it in a 4 next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 12, 2012
I got lots of compliments
The dress is definitely a little small around the chest area. I am normally a 36B so I felt the pinch and it took awhile to zip on. Once it was on it was a nice looking Navy dress. I wish the version was newer but in all I had a really good experience with lots of compliments. It was the perfect length on me and I am pretty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
Great dress, very form fitting
The dress is really pretty, but it was much more form fitting than I thought it was going to be. The material has a little stretch to it, but not much. I would recommend ordering your normal dress size and a size up. I usually order my normal dress size and a size down, but when I tried this dress on in my normal size it was really tight. I wouldn't recommend this dress to a curvy girl because of all of the cris-cross detail on the dress. The color is a really pretty navy, not too dark. I will probably order this dress again in a bigger size :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 12, 2012
Great dress. Wish I had gotten the 8 not the 6.
I actually did not end up wearing this dress, but another RTR dress that I had ordered. I did LOVE this dress however. It was really cute and I probably would have picked it to wear over the other dress had I ordered the size 8 instead. I ordered the size 6 because I wasnt sure which one I would lke and there was not a size 8 available to order at the time. Very cute. Love the neckline.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
Loved the navy color of this dress.
The dress fit well but on the snug side. So if you're unsure of a second size to get, I'd go with a size up. The only flaw that I had with this dress was that it kept riding up so I had to keep tugging at it for most of the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2012
A little tight
It fit well but was a little tight around the hips. Looks amazing on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
January 4, 2013
It was the perfect dress for the rehearsal dinner.
The fit was a little snug, I usually wear a size 0 in dresses and thank goodness I ordered two sizes because I definitely needed the 2. It was pretty tight in the bust area and as someone who is not busty, it could be an issue for most.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2013
Cute dress, runs WAY too small
The dress was cute, but I was unable to wear it because it was WAY to small. I ordered both a 6 and a 8, but they fit more like a 0 or a 2.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
January 22, 2013
Great dress, got tons of compliments from my friends.
Fabric has a nice stretch to it, but the dress runs small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2013
Loved this dress, but too short for an office Xmas party
I absolutely loved this dress! If you love your back and have toned arms this will definitely highlight those features! The only issue was that it was too short to wear to the office Christmas party. I was obsessed with this dress though and wish I could have!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2013
I got lots of compliments on this one
I wore this for my sorority semi-formal. I liked how it looked in general but the boning in both the sizes I rented was screwed up and popping out in weird places. It's probably because it was bent out of shape by someone who should have been wearing a larger size. If the boning wasn't screwed up I think that it would have looked even better
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
Trust your RTR sisters - this runs SMALL!
I read the reviews and ordered two sizes up as this dress runs small. It runs REALLY small. Its that "OMG-I-couldn't-have-gained-that-much-weight??!!" small. No give whatsoever for curves. And its VERY short (like inappropriate for a wedding short.) Too bad because the color is lovely and the fabric has a nice hand.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
April 8, 2013
Great dress, runs small and short
I normally wear a size 4 (size 2 in vanity sizing) and the 6 fit but was fairly tight and short. I think that's how it was supposed to fit, and the 8 (the other size I ordered) was too big. It's a great looking dress but be aware that you might feel uncomfortable wearing this around more conservative people. I covered up during the ceremony with a silvery-gray pashmina and it looked nice. I also wore silver heels. The boning is a bit odd, it travels down your ribcage in the front a bit and I couldn't tell if it was supposed to be that way or if someone had bent it out of shape. But it didn't really bother me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 30, 2013
I felt stunning.
It definitely does run small as the other reviews say. I usually wear a 4 but got the 6, and it JUST fit. Not like I was popping out of it, but I didn't want to eat a big dinner either. :-) I got lots of compliments and felt absolutely beautiful. The boning on the right side was a little bent and stuck out a little but not enough that I was tugging at it all night. I am 36D and yes I had to come to terms with having some major cleavage, but it was still acceptable to wear to a wedding even without a bra. I highly recommend it but definitely get one size bigger than usual and maybe a size bigger than that as your backup! :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
July 25, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding and received tons of compliments! The bride loved my dress and plans on renting it for her sister-in-law's wedding. I felt amazing in the dress, but had to wear a larger size due to the face that there is not a lot of room in the bust. I would order a size up for sure if you have a larger chest. Overall, the dress was perfect for the occasion and I felt very glamorous!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
August 29, 2013
Great dress but too short
I am wondering if my dress was miss marked because I am 5'2" and the 6 was super short on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 12, 2013
Too much adjusting...
I felt great in this dress. I love the color and I got a lot of compliments, however, I spent the night pulling it up and adjusting it. The top of the dress on the side thats not over the shoulder kept folding over. It also puckered a little on the hips. I also felt like my boobs might pop out at any moment. Its listed as a dress thats good for large busts and I have to disagree big time! A smaller chested woman would do better in this. Overall just okay....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 15, 2013
Wore my back up dress
I have a fuller bust and this dress could not sufficiently cover them. I probably needed to go 1 or 2 sizes up. I ended up wearing my back up dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 5, 2014
Perfect dress for a formal wedding!
I rented this dress for a black tie optional wedding in downtown Chicago. Such an elegant, formal little cocktail dress! I found that it ran small across the hips, and the fabric has no give to it. It was still comfortable enough for lots of dancing though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
February 9, 2014
Went with another dress
This was my first RTR experience, and I didn't read the other reviews. This was not a great choice for someone with a larger chest. My experience with the RTR customer service team was seamless. I explained that neither this dress or the backup fit, and I received a full credit. I didn't use the credit for a full year, but it did not expire. Even though the dress didn't work out RTR gained a loyal customer.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×