Nicole Miller

Midnight Fever Dress

$47 to buy
$440 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this simple but chic Nicole Miller one shoulder, navy dress. It is perfect if you are attending a wedding, a social event, or homecoming! Jazz it up with trendy accessories like Crislu's Teardrop Sparkle Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in boning is fitted so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist, ruching inserts help to conceal midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning and support in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Product Details

Navy stretch silk. One shoulder sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail at shoulder. Ruching inserts. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(39)
Small
(56)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 3, 2011
I loved it! There was boning to help everything stay in place and support the structure of the top the dress. There are also little removable pads in the bust so it's customizable to your shape. I couldn't give it five stars because the front of the skirt wrinkled after I sat down and I couldn't smooth it out, but it wasn't really an issue. If it weren't so expensive, I would buy the dress because it was made SO well and fit perfectly. I didn't have to use my second size, but you should definitely get your alternate size bigger. This fits like a gorgeous glove.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2011
The dress looked gorgeous! It hugged my curves perfectly without showing any lumps. I'm glad I ordered my back-up to be one size larger. This dress runs about a half-size too small - I'm normally a size 2 but ended up wearing the size 4 (it was only a little bit loose on me).
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 28, 2011
I'm so excited about this dress! I love it! This is my first rental with this site, and I'm so glad it worked out because I didn't have a back up dress. I felt like this dress was made for me, and whats great is the boning like what the other reviews has said. I'm very slender and this puts curves where I don't actually have any! I wore this with nude heels and nicole miller maple leaf necklace and matching bracelet to a black tie party and it was perfect. I will definitely be renting from this site again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 2, 2011
I recieved tons of compliments on this dress. For my first RTR rental I couldn't have been happier with my choice!
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress. I had to use my size up dress which worked out fine because it fit perfectly. I received so many complements when I wore it to a friend's wedding. Lots of girls asked where I bought it so I had to give RTR some props! The detailing/tailoring were beautiful and my only dislike was the boning on the left side of the dress was bent, so it stuck out a little. If I could afford it, I would definitely buy the dress.
KristenOctober 18, 2012
Ok...this picture is my inspiration for trying out this dress. I hope I look this good!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Body type: Hourglass
August 2, 2011
This dress was prefect. No need to wear any spanx, as expressed in previous reviews of this dress. I want to buy it. Wore to a glam wedding. Tailored-fit. Dress does run a little small- I ordered up 1 size. The dress does have some stretch. Received so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
August 21, 2011
Very chic and modern. I received compliments all night while wearing this dress. The dress fit true to size. As other reviewers have expressed, the strap is a little too loose, so I would advise using double-sided fashion tape. Easy fix!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2011
I absolutely adored this dress! It was perfectly structured and ruched to accentuate a woman's curves. I actually rented the Preen Perfect Plum dress for a different event, and the two dresses have very similar looks. However...this one is actually MUCH more flattering on. And it's less expensive... Score! There is boning and removable padding in the bodice that really accentuates the bust line, but in an elegant, tailored way. Beautiful dress... I would definitely rent it again! My only recommendation is to wear slightly more dazzling accessories, since the material/color can look a bit flat without other embellishments in your outfit.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 9, 2011
LOVED this dress! I wore it to my rehearsal dinner and received so many compliments... and continue to receive compliments on it from people seeing pictures from the night. So beautiful, fits true to size, and made of quality material.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 12, 2011
The length was a bit longer than on the model (who is 5'9') so it was just perfect on me (5'5"). The only problem was the right shoulder was too big. I had to pin it under the bow. Also, the bow came creased so I had to pin that down too. The rest of the dress fit well and the strapless side stayed up without a problem. I think that a small chested girl might have a problem with the top. The dark navy color was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 6, 2011
I loved it. I wore it to a Friday evening wedding and felt great. It gives in all the right places. The only glitch was that I'm very small in the bust so I started the night wearing a strapless push up bra but it continued to show. I ended up ditching the bra which was fine because of the boning in the dress (mine didn't have padding other people have mentioned). Great dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2011
Everybody loved it! Someone said I looked like a princess!
I wore this to a wedding, and I loved it! Everybody told me I looked like a princess! I am full busted, and wore it without a bra, so it slipped a bit on the side that doesn't have a strap. In retrospect, I would have worn it with a strapless bra, and it probably would have been perfect! I felt perfectly slim and curvy in it otherwise, I always have to size up because of my chest, so it was slightly loose in the mid section, which was actually very flattering. The color is beautiful, slightly darker than it looks in the picture, more of a midnight blue.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2011
Sadly ordered the wrong sizes
Unfortunately, this dress ran smaller than I was expecting. I was able to comfortably wear a small in the Nicole Miller All Laced Up Dress, so I ordered my sizes for this dress accordingly. I'd reccomend ordering a size up as your back up size, especially if you have curves and somewhat of a chest. It is definitely a gorgeous dress and I plan on renting it in the proper size in the future. The RTR team has been a great help with returning the dress :)
JenniferMarch 25, 2012
What size did you order?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
January 5, 2012
Very nice
I really liked this dress. It was perfect for NYE. I thought it fit well. Good thing I ordered a size up, because I either have gained weight or it runs small. I think I am in between a 2 or 4. I loved the neckline. The dress was almost a little big in the hips, but again I don't have much of those so that might have been why. This dress is definitely classy and would be good for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 22, 2012
The ease of receiving the package before the event and not stressing about what to wear!
I rented this dress for an evening wedding at a beautiful estate on New Year's Eve. It was the perfect piece for the situation: classy an elegant for a wedding, but also form-fitting and cocktail style for NYE. I paired the dress with a pair of Badgley Mischka Ocean Moon Earrings to glam it up a little more. I usually wear a 6 but rented the second size as an 8 and ended up wearing that one, just to be a little more comfortable. I had to use a little Hollywood tape to hold the dress in place along the sweetheart top, but other than that there were no issues. It was a great party dress for a long and busy evening!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 28, 2012
Cute and easy to dance in!
Loved this dress - it looked and felt great. It was long and secure enough to dance comfortably. Wore with nude heals and big earrings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 7, 2012
Beautiful but tricky to wear
First of all this dress runs very small - I am usually a size 0 or 2, but I am glad that I ordered the 4 as my backup since I could hardly get the 2 zipped (if you are small busted you might not have this problem). I did have to use a lot of fashion tape and pin the one shoulder, but once I had it all done the dressed looked amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 10, 2012
Cute dress, very small
I rented a 10 and a 12 and both were too small. I rented a 10 and a 12 in another brand and the 10 fit perfectly and the 12 was huge. This dress runs really small. Note: I'm not sure of my usual size b/c I had just had a baby when I rented this dress. However, it still seemed very small to me in comparison to the other dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
April 11, 2012
Amazing Dress!
I generally wear a 6 but went with the 8 and it fit perfectly! Also I have a big chest (34DD) and it was great - I only had to pull it up a few times all night. I danced and had no problems. GREAT dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 15, 2012
Meh.
It was really pretty, however I couldn't get it zipped past my waist. I usually wear a 10 or 12. I ordered both after reading the review and neither of the two fit. I ended up wearing another dress from RTR. :)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
April 19, 2012
WAY TOO SMALL
While this is an absolutely beautiful dress, it was extremely small. I wear an 8 in almost all dresses. However, I ordered both an 8 and a 10 in this: the 8 I couldn't even zip and the 10 was very very tight over the hips/thighs, even in Spanx. If you are in any way curvy, either order (way) up or look for a more flattering cut!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 7, 2012
Flattering!
I ordered this for a black tie event in early May and even though I was originally aiming for something a little colorful, this turned out to be perfect. I received so many compliments on it! It definitely runs small - but it is meant to be fitted. I wore the smaller size of the two that I ordered because the one strap fit better on the smaller size. But definitely order up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2012
As always, I was blown away by the amazing customer service at RTR. There was a problem with FedEx and my dress was delivered a day late so I was running around Massachusetts trying to locate it at the warehouse! I called RTR and informed them of the annoying situation... they were extremely apologetic and refunded my shipping costs plus more. Outstanding!!
I wore this dress to a friends wedding and got alot of compliments. As others have said, the dress is tight and runs small. There was not much size difference between the 2 and 4, but I went with the 4 because it was longer The material is slightly stretchy which makes it comfortable and easy to dance it. I only gave it 4 stars because I felt the pattern on the front was a bit unflattering.... but it was still an awesome dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 9, 2012
Stunning
A very beautiful and comfortable dress. I received so many lovely compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
July 1, 2012
Trust the reviews - small!
I wasn't able to wear this to the wedding I ordered it for. Unfortunately, the dress is pretty form fitting and it didn't seem appropriate for the occasion even though I tried a size larger than usual. Also, I'm petite and the one shoulder strap was much too long for my proportions. If I bought the dress, I'd have to get the strap shortened so there was a more secure fit. Also, the reviews on here and 100% accurate - this dress runs SMALL, definitely size up.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2012
I had a million compliments all night long. I was able to give RTR credit to many girls who were still in the dark! This dress not only fit perfectly but it gave me a new found respect for Navy! I wear the color all the time now!
Loved this dress! I wore it to an outdoor end of summer wedding. It fit perfectly! It was actually my second choice rental! So glad i went with it...i received so many compliments all night long!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Everyone said I looked hot! Also, RTR has the best customer service on planet earth. They helped me pick out this dress and overnighted it to me when my original dress was too large!
I rented this dress super last minute. My original dress (Versus by Versace Floral Wonderland) arrived and was too big. RTR let me pick any available dress to be overnighted for free to my hotel (I had the summer pass), so I picked this last minute. It was perfect for the wedding, but definitely runs small. I rented the 6 and the 8 and ended up in the 8, but probably would have been more comfortable in the 10. Everyone said it looked great, but it was definitely really tight. Overall another great experience with RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
perfect for a holiday party
probably the hottest i've ever looked. beautiful midnight blue color and fits like a glove. highly recommend!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
August 31, 2012
Beautiful, but small!
I normally wear a size 0 or 2 and rented this dress in a 2 and 4 after reading the reviews. The size 4 was very tight and uncomfortable. The strap needed to be pinned because it was a little too long (I'm only 5'1). Definitely size up for this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 3, 2012
Gorgeous!
The shoulder strap was too long for me but it was pinned shorter easily enough. Very classy, stylish dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
Customer service from RTR was great as always!
I rented the 4 and the 6 for my backup but only tried the 4, which fit perfectly. The dress has a little stretch which is nice, and also has boning through the bodice so it stays up. The ruching and pleating are really flattering. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 12, 2012
I wore this dress to a wedding and I received many compliments on it!
I thought the dress ran a little small. I am usually always a 0 and the 0 fit, but was a little too tight for a wedding. Overall, the dress fit very well and I would recommend it for this kind of an event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
This was the perfect attire for a black tie optional wedding. I felt great in it!
This dress was very pretty in person. Like everyone says, it runs small. I am glad I ordered the 6 as backup. The 4 fit perfectly around the waist/stomach area, but I could not zip it up past my chest. I wear a 34D+ so that was the only issue.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 25, 2012
Great dress! It was super comfortable, and perfect for a fall wedding!
The dress fit true to size, although it was a little short (I'm 5'8"). The material was nice and thick, so no Spanx needed! I loved this dress, and would recommend it to anyone for a fall wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2012
Beautiful dress in a flattering fit and color! Got so many compliments!
The fit was true to size. If you are a little smaller on top and don't fill out the corset top as well (like myself) the corset may show some small lines but barely noticeable. Very stretchy, so there is some give to it, and was comfortable the whole night. Definitely will rent again from Nicole Miller.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
Great dress, but runs small.
Overall, this was a great dress. I'm 5'5" and 130lbs with a somewhat athletic build. I normally wear a size 4, so I rented a 4 and a 6. The 6 was definitely a bit tighter in the ribcage and hip area than I would have liked, but the dress does have some give to it, so it was manageable. I'm small chested, so the top fit well. Bigger chested girls might spill out. I received lots of compliments on the dress and loved the color, which was a very deep blue.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 3, 2012
This dress was gorgeous on, I got so many compliments. It is very flattering.
I wear in between a 6 and 8 but decided on the 6. It is short but the fit is flattering especially around the waist. The fabric is stretchy and soft. I wore it to a wedding and was able to dance and move with ease. The details on the fabric are beautiful as well. Overall this is a beautiful and comfortable dress I would for sure recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 5, 2012
This is a beautiful dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding in Nantucket and was really jazzed to wear it. The only problem was they only had a 2. I normally wear a 2 but all the reviews said to go a size larger, and I should have. The top fit great but, the sides bunched making me look lumpy! I had ordered a back up dress just in case and went with that one. I really want to wear this one but will get it in a 4 next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 12, 2012
I got lots of compliments
The dress is definitely a little small around the chest area. I am normally a 36B so I felt the pinch and it took awhile to zip on. Once it was on it was a nice looking Navy dress. I wish the version was newer but in all I had a really good experience with lots of compliments. It was the perfect length on me and I am pretty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
Great dress, very form fitting
The dress is really pretty, but it was much more form fitting than I thought it was going to be. The material has a little stretch to it, but not much. I would recommend ordering your normal dress size and a size up. I usually order my normal dress size and a size down, but when I tried this dress on in my normal size it was really tight. I wouldn't recommend this dress to a curvy girl because of all of the cris-cross detail on the dress. The color is a really pretty navy, not too dark. I will probably order this dress again in a bigger size :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 12, 2012
Great dress. Wish I had gotten the 8 not the 6.
I actually did not end up wearing this dress, but another RTR dress that I had ordered. I did LOVE this dress however. It was really cute and I probably would have picked it to wear over the other dress had I ordered the size 8 instead. I ordered the size 6 because I wasnt sure which one I would lke and there was not a size 8 available to order at the time. Very cute. Love the neckline.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×