Midnight Fever Dress

$47 to buy
$440 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this simple but chic Nicole Miller one shoulder, navy dress. It is perfect if you are attending a wedding, a social event, or homecoming! Jazz it up with trendy accessories like Crislu's Teardrop Sparkle Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in boning is fitted so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist, ruching inserts help to conceal midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning and support in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in boning is fitted so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist, ruching inserts help to conceal midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning and support in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy stretch silk. One shoulder sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail at shoulder. Ruching inserts. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(39)
Small
(56)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 6, 2011
Giving the toast and standing up there confidently knowing I looked great and surprising people who haven't seen me in years!
This dress was perfect! I wore it for a wedding and received so many compliments. I misplaced by goody bag with the double-sided tape so I did experience a "warbrobe malfunction" while reaching for the bouquet. Small price to pay though. I recently lost some weight and am a large 8, I ordered both 8 and 10 and ended up using the 10. I was concerned about the back being tight as I am self conscious of my non-lean back. No worries though, it did not dig in. The strap did not fall off, I was concerned about this as this is usually a problem for me. Not with this dress. Overall, I felt confident in this dress, which is the most important factor for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 31, 2011
The dress and earrings were a perfect combination!
Absolutely loved this dress! Wore it to a black tie optional wedding with the Silver Flower Earrings and it was perfect. My dress didn't have the removable pads some people mentioned but I wore a strapless bra with it and it worked out great. I did end up pinning the strapless side to my bra just to keep it from sliding down. I usually wear a 4 but the 4 was VERY short on me and the 6 ended up working much better length-wise since I'm pretty tall- definitely a good idea to order the extra size one size up. Also, the bust area is pretty small so may not work on bustier girls. All in all, a great dress and I'm very happy I tried Rent the Runway! *UPDATE* I rented this dress again (2 yrs later) and I did still love it, but it definitely has some more wear and tear on it now. The wires in the bust were completely bent out of shape and I tried my best to re-shape them but they were still a little crooked. Other than that, it is a very flattering and fun dress.
StashaNovember 13, 2014
Thanks for updating your review!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2011
Everybody loved it! Someone said I looked like a princess!
I wore this to a wedding, and I loved it! Everybody told me I looked like a princess! I am full busted, and wore it without a bra, so it slipped a bit on the side that doesn't have a strap. In retrospect, I would have worn it with a strapless bra, and it probably would have been perfect! I felt perfectly slim and curvy in it otherwise, I always have to size up because of my chest, so it was slightly loose in the mid section, which was actually very flattering. The color is beautiful, slightly darker than it looks in the picture, more of a midnight blue.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 6, 2011
I loved it. I wore it to a Friday evening wedding and felt great. It gives in all the right places. The only glitch was that I'm very small in the bust so I started the night wearing a strapless push up bra but it continued to show. I ended up ditching the bra which was fine because of the boning in the dress (mine didn't have padding other people have mentioned). Great dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 12, 2011
The length was a bit longer than on the model (who is 5'9') so it was just perfect on me (5'5"). The only problem was the right shoulder was too big. I had to pin it under the bow. Also, the bow came creased so I had to pin that down too. The rest of the dress fit well and the strapless side stayed up without a problem. I think that a small chested girl might have a problem with the top. The dark navy color was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 9, 2011
LOVED this dress! I wore it to my rehearsal dinner and received so many compliments... and continue to receive compliments on it from people seeing pictures from the night. So beautiful, fits true to size, and made of quality material.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2011
I absolutely adored this dress! It was perfectly structured and ruched to accentuate a woman's curves. I actually rented the Preen Perfect Plum dress for a different event, and the two dresses have very similar looks. However...this one is actually MUCH more flattering on. And it's less expensive... Score! There is boning and removable padding in the bodice that really accentuates the bust line, but in an elegant, tailored way. Beautiful dress... I would definitely rent it again! My only recommendation is to wear slightly more dazzling accessories, since the material/color can look a bit flat without other embellishments in your outfit.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
August 21, 2011
Very chic and modern. I received compliments all night while wearing this dress. The dress fit true to size. As other reviewers have expressed, the strap is a little too loose, so I would advise using double-sided fashion tape. Easy fix!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Body type: Hourglass
August 2, 2011
This dress was prefect. No need to wear any spanx, as expressed in previous reviews of this dress. I want to buy it. Wore to a glam wedding. Tailored-fit. Dress does run a little small- I ordered up 1 size. The dress does have some stretch. Received so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 2, 2011
I recieved tons of compliments on this dress. For my first RTR rental I couldn't have been happier with my choice!
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress. I had to use my size up dress which worked out fine because it fit perfectly. I received so many complements when I wore it to a friend's wedding. Lots of girls asked where I bought it so I had to give RTR some props! The detailing/tailoring were beautiful and my only dislike was the boning on the left side of the dress was bent, so it stuck out a little. If I could afford it, I would definitely buy the dress.
KristenOctober 18, 2012
Ok...this picture is my inspiration for trying out this dress. I hope I look this good!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 28, 2011
I'm so excited about this dress! I love it! This is my first rental with this site, and I'm so glad it worked out because I didn't have a back up dress. I felt like this dress was made for me, and whats great is the boning like what the other reviews has said. I'm very slender and this puts curves where I don't actually have any! I wore this with nude heels and nicole miller maple leaf necklace and matching bracelet to a black tie party and it was perfect. I will definitely be renting from this site again :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2011
I loved the look of this dress online, and it looks very pretty on the model; however, in person, the seaming looks cheap-ish, and I had a hard time keeping the hem level (you can see in the back-view where the left side rides up a little higher than the right). Also, the shoulder was too big, which meant I had to pull the entire dress down in order to make it so the strap didn't fall down. But, when I pulled the dress down to make the shoulder strap taut, the top of the dress was too low, and I would have been in danger of a wardrobe malfunction. One size down, however, would have been too tight in the hips. Long story short: beautiful in the picture, but lacking in person.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2011
The dress looked gorgeous! It hugged my curves perfectly without showing any lumps. I'm glad I ordered my back-up to be one size larger. This dress runs about a half-size too small - I'm normally a size 2 but ended up wearing the size 4 (it was only a little bit loose on me).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 29, 2011
Love the dress but I wish I had gotten a size up. The dress hugs your hips so if you're curvy or tall, definitely order a size larger than usual!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 16, 2011
This dress did not work for me. I have a size 4 Nicole Miller dress at home, which fits. So, I rented a 4 and a 6, both were too small. Also, the boning was in a weird place on my body. Its a gorgeous dress, but just didn't work out for me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 3, 2011
I loved it! There was boning to help everything stay in place and support the structure of the top the dress. There are also little removable pads in the bust so it's customizable to your shape. I couldn't give it five stars because the front of the skirt wrinkled after I sat down and I couldn't smooth it out, but it wasn't really an issue. If it weren't so expensive, I would buy the dress because it was made SO well and fit perfectly. I didn't have to use my second size, but you should definitely get your alternate size bigger. This fits like a gorgeous glove.
See more reviews:
3 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×