Midnight Fever Dress

$47 to buy
$440 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this simple but chic Nicole Miller one shoulder, navy dress. It is perfect if you are attending a wedding, a social event, or homecoming! Jazz it up with trendy accessories like Crislu's Teardrop Sparkle Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in boning is fitted so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist, ruching inserts help to conceal midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning and support in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in boning is fitted so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist, ruching inserts help to conceal midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning and support in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy stretch silk. One shoulder sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail at shoulder. Ruching inserts. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(39)
Small
(56)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 29, 2011
Love the dress but I wish I had gotten a size up. The dress hugs your hips so if you're curvy or tall, definitely order a size larger than usual!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 31, 2011
The dress and earrings were a perfect combination!
Absolutely loved this dress! Wore it to a black tie optional wedding with the Silver Flower Earrings and it was perfect. My dress didn't have the removable pads some people mentioned but I wore a strapless bra with it and it worked out great. I did end up pinning the strapless side to my bra just to keep it from sliding down. I usually wear a 4 but the 4 was VERY short on me and the 6 ended up working much better length-wise since I'm pretty tall- definitely a good idea to order the extra size one size up. Also, the bust area is pretty small so may not work on bustier girls. All in all, a great dress and I'm very happy I tried Rent the Runway! *UPDATE* I rented this dress again (2 yrs later) and I did still love it, but it definitely has some more wear and tear on it now. The wires in the bust were completely bent out of shape and I tried my best to re-shape them but they were still a little crooked. Other than that, it is a very flattering and fun dress.
StashaNovember 13, 2014
Thanks for updating your review!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 6, 2011
Giving the toast and standing up there confidently knowing I looked great and surprising people who haven't seen me in years!
This dress was perfect! I wore it for a wedding and received so many compliments. I misplaced by goody bag with the double-sided tape so I did experience a "warbrobe malfunction" while reaching for the bouquet. Small price to pay though. I recently lost some weight and am a large 8, I ordered both 8 and 10 and ended up using the 10. I was concerned about the back being tight as I am self conscious of my non-lean back. No worries though, it did not dig in. The strap did not fall off, I was concerned about this as this is usually a problem for me. Not with this dress. Overall, I felt confident in this dress, which is the most important factor for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2012
Got tons of compliments!
I ordered the dress for a wedding, in a size 2 and 4. The day before I was notified that the 4 was out of stock and could choose ANY dress on the web-site as a back-up for free! So kudos to RTR for their customer service. I was in love with the dress, so I am so happy the 2 fit. It's tight, but I wore it all day and night and was comfortable! I paired it with nude pumps and yellow earrings. Thanks RTR!!! I will definitely be doing this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
October 10, 2012
I felt like I was going to the Emmy's in this this dress I wore to Homecoming!
This dress is GORGEOUS!!! I fell in love with it immediately and couldn't wait to wear it. The structure of the one-shoulder/sweetheart neckline is to die for, the color is beautiful, and the panel design is so fashion-y. I truly felt that I was going to the Emmy's or out to dinner with the Obamas - that's how fancy it is! This dress made my senior Homecoming dance very memorable. The only bad thing about it is that it runs SMALL. I had to have help getting into the 2, but once I was in it, I felt great. I think the problem lies with the zipper: it's hard to get the zipper up once it crosses the seam. So for the back-up, I would suggest everyone to size up. In conclusion, this dress is truly exquisite and I was very sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
October 12, 2012
Great quality, but not crazy about the fit
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and it was great for the occasion. The quality is very nice, and the dress was in great condition. I loved the way the top of it fit, but the bottom half was not very flattering on me. I'm just under 5'2 and it was a little long and loose on me. It hit just above the knee and I think the dress was designed to be somewhat shorter. It was a very nice dress, but not my favorite due to the fit. Would definitely recommend for someone a little taller!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 22, 2012
My boyfriend loved this dress
I normally wear a 2-4 and the 6 fit perfectly. 4 was extremely snug. The boning on the dress was great and kept everything in place for the most part. It was jut a tiny bit roomy up top for me. It was the perfect dress for a black tie optional wedding. Would rent this again for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 16, 2011
This dress did not work for me. I have a size 4 Nicole Miller dress at home, which fits. So, I rented a 4 and a 6, both were too small. Also, the boning was in a weird place on my body. Its a gorgeous dress, but just didn't work out for me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 23, 2011
I loved the look of this dress online, and it looks very pretty on the model; however, in person, the seaming looks cheap-ish, and I had a hard time keeping the hem level (you can see in the back-view where the left side rides up a little higher than the right). Also, the shoulder was too big, which meant I had to pull the entire dress down in order to make it so the strap didn't fall down. But, when I pulled the dress down to make the shoulder strap taut, the top of the dress was too low, and I would have been in danger of a wardrobe malfunction. One size down, however, would have been too tight in the hips. Long story short: beautiful in the picture, but lacking in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 26, 2012
Very pretty, well-made dress.
This dress is very pretty and well-made. The structure cinches the waist. The top flattened my 34c chest and showed a bit more cleavage than I was comfortable with for the wedding I attended. Fortunately, my back up size was unavailable in another dress I ordered and my stylist sent me a beautiful rust-colored dress that I ended up wearing for the wedding and loving. This dress would be perfect for someone with a smaller top. Girls with a C cup might want to opt for a larger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
January 9, 2013
This dress would be really nice, but mine was too worn and snagged to wear :-/
This dress has clearly gotten a lot of mileage! It was a really nice dress and I liked the style, but it was faded and had a lot of pulls... It was also pretty snug (snugger than it should have been), So I guess it runs a bit small... I liked the dress, unfortunately, I just couldnt look past the snags and faded color to wear it...I still love RTR, though, and they refunded my money as soon as they received the dress back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 15, 2013
Wish it fit better
Beautiful color, it just didn't sit right and ended up riding up.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2013
Perfect for a wedding!
I wore this dress for a wedding and received so many compliments! I would love to rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 14, 2014
Recieved So many compliments!!!
Definitely runs small.. Size up & go for the backup size!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
April 8, 2014
Great Dress but runs small
unfortunately I couldnt wear this dress because it was too small. I always wear a 6 in a Nicole Miller and I couldn't zip this up. Absolutely gorgeous dress though!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
May 29, 2014
I didn't end up wearing the dress.
The strap was way too long and isn't adjustable so it kept falling off my shoulder and the dress wouldn't stay up without it. I also felt that the pattern of the fabric accentuated my love handles (I may be a little sensitive about that) but I just didn't think it was flattering.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×