Lady In Waiting Gown

$308 to buy
$960 retail
Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
705 reviews
Fit
Large
(68)
True to Size
(539)
Small
(24)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
October 16, 2016
Perfect dress! Looked fabulous!
This dress was perfect for a night wedding! Got multiple compliments, and the fit is perfect! I am athletic built, very small bust with hips and a butt, and this dress fit my curves great! The 4 is perfect, but long since I am only 5'4. Heals did help me from tripping! I used a sticky backless strapless bra which was perfect! Thanks for another successful rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 11, 2016
Really comfortable!
I wore this for a wedding in the Adirondacks. It was amazingly comfortable but I had to pull the top part up several times during the evening. Many compliments on the dress and fit. I usually wear a 4 but I could have worn a 2. By the end of the evening is was hanging a bit and my shoes got caught in the hem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
October 11, 2016
Good fit, but lacks something special
Overall the dress fit like a glove. Regular length was perfect with 3 inch heels. I ended up picking a different dress though because this one was lacking something unique.
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
October 8, 2016
Gorgeous dress
This dress is very form fitting but comfortable. It has stretch to it but hugs in all the right places. My only complaint was that the lace straps were a little too big. But overall, it was a gorgeous dress. I received so many compliments and would recommend the ease of RTR to everyone. #weddingguest #blacktie
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2016
Beautiful dress!
This dress is beautiful and very flattering. I got compliments from friends and strangers all night. I am between a 4 and 6 and went with the 6 just to have a little extra room but the 4 would have also worked. Glad I went with the long length. The lace on the back of the dress (especially the 6) was a little loose but my husband assures me nobody noticed but me. Overall a great experience with Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
October 6, 2016
Very elegant!
I loved this dress! It was very slimming, it fit tight on my hips but had give to it when I moved throughout the night. Nothing but positive comments about this dress!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 4, 2016
Gorgeous gown for a glam night!
The gown was beautiful and the color was very striking in person -- pictures don't capture it! Fit was good -- I'm 5'7", 140 pounds, and have an athletic hourglass figure. The fit was flattering and complemented my curves without being TOO tight. Loved the lace detailing but there was some fraying on the sleeves from wear & tear -- nothing too noticeable unless you were examining closely, though. Overall satisfied with the dress, though frustrated that RTR ran out of my backup size at the last minute and sent me a different back up dress that was hideous and too big. Luckily, my original size worked out, but that was annoying.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 3, 2016
Loved this dress!
Fit perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 2, 2016
Gorgeous dress
Fit was perfect. True to size. Received many compliments and with the blue underlay made this not the typical black dress. Gorgeous neckline. Wish I could keep it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2016
Attended a black tie wedding and I received many compliments on the dress all night long.
Tried it on in the store and it fit my body like a glove. It was comfortable to move and dance in all night long.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
September 26, 2016
It fit well and was very comfortable.
My only complaint was that it smelled like cigarettes. I ordered size 4 and 6. I am a 6 and size 4 was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 25, 2016
Sexy! Shows of your curves.
I loved the cut; it showed off my curves and was modest.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 51
September 24, 2016
When your dress fits and is comfortable to wear, you know it will be a good night.
The dress fit beautifully and I felt like a million bucks in it. The icing on the cake is that I did not have to spend 400-500 dollars on a dress.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 23, 2016
Perfect fit! Very comfortable to wear all night long!
I love that it was stretchy so I could sit, dance, and eat! What a fun dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2016
Gorgeous
Perfect dress for black tie event in DC, felt so classy, incredibly flattering
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
September 3, 2016
Lovely dress, very comfortable! But straps were stretched out.
I wore this to a wedding and it was really comfortable all night. My only complaint is with the straps. I had rented the size 10 and the 12, and the 10 ended up fitting the best all over. However the straps on the 10 were *much* looser than on the 12, so I think that at some point someone who wore the dress must have stretched the straps out of shape. The dress was fitted enough that I didn't need the straps to keep it in place, so it didn't prevent me from wearing it. But the back definitely didn't have the look that I was expecting because there was a ton of extra material hanging.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 30, 2016
I rented this dress for a Gala and even though I was sick I received compliments all night long,
I would say this dress is true to size. I'm usually a size 10. The reviews said the dress ran big so I ordered an 8. When I tried it on, it was a little snug so I kept the 8 but ordered a 10 as well. The 10 fit perfectly but unfortunately it had a huge rip in it.I called RTR and they told me to take a picture and offered to send another dress right away. I didn't have time to wait for the 2nd dress so I was glad I kept the 8. Again, the fit was a little snug but the dress was gorgeous !
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
August 18, 2016
This gown fit like a glove and I felt absolutely beautiful in it!
My only complaint would be that I couldn't wear the heals that I wanted because it was too short. I would suggest getting a long if you are taller than 5'7" and want to wear heals. Everything else was wonderful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2016
Very elegant dress.
I wore this as a maid of honor dress for my mom's wedding. It was beautiful. Very elegant. The material is nice and stretchy, so I could have gone down a size. Very versatile for sizing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 9, 2016
Lovely in Lace
This is one of 3 dresses I rented to choose from to wear to a formal wedding, and my first RtR experience. I joined the unlimited program so I had plenty of time to try on different dresses and so I could keep them a little longer since the wedding was out of state and we would be gone for a week. This dress fit great everywhere, except I did need to watch my posture and pull the front down a little lower than I preferred in order to keep the shoulder and back lace laying flat. It did arrive with some threads hanging and certainly wasn't in pristine condition, but that didn't take away from the overall beauty of the dress. My hubby loved it on me, but I ended up going with one of the other dresses I rented simply because I found out it was very similar to the bride's aunt's dress and thought it best to avoid matching any of the family.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
August 3, 2016
Love,love the dress
I am 5'7 and size 6. I ordered a 6R and a 6L. I was scared because my back up size was the length but they both worked. I ended up using the 6L, it just looked better with the shoes I was wearing
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
July 26, 2016
The dress I ordered didn't fit but the associate in store got me a handful of alternatives!
This isn't normally my style but I fell in love with the fit. Very comfortable and makes you feel so sexy! I got a ton of compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 24, 2016
Lots of compliments
The fit was true to size. There's some stretch to it too, so there's some give. 4R fit better but it had safety pins on the back of the shoulders so I wore the 6R instead. Sill worked fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 24, 2016
Great neckline
Great color and fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
June 19, 2016
Beautiful!!
The dress was beautiful and loved the lace. I have a small frame on the top and there was too many gaps on the back cutout.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
June 18, 2016
Lots of compliments on the dress.
Wonderful dress if you're looking for a classic look.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Weight: 140lbs
June 15, 2016
Beautiful dress!
This dress was perfect. It fit really well and the material is forgiving. Easy to walk in and stayed in place perfectly. I loved wearing this!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
June 12, 2016
Perfect last minute dress!!!
I had originally ordered another dress but it was too long, and too loose!! So I went to the store and picked this one instead, and I was very happy about it!! the fit was perfect, the length and color were perfect too!!! the only thing is that the bottom part of the dress (which is lace) would sometimes get caught in my heels easily fixed with a light tug :) loved this dress!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 12, 2016
Gorgeous dress and amazing first time experience!
This was my first RTR rental and it was an amazing experience!! I'm 130lbs 5'6 34C I got both the size 6 and 8 and the 6 fit perfect with room to spare. This dress is even more beautiful in person and it's super comfortable. I loved the dress and the experience, Its so fun, I plan to do this for all of my future events!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
June 9, 2016
Beautiful dress! Received so many complements!
The dress has a slight stretch that makes for a perfect fit. 4R length worked with 4" heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 51
May 27, 2016
Ended up wearing the regular and didn't need the long, but it was nice to have just in case.
Some of the reviews said it ran short so I got a L backup that I didn't need. I'm 5'3" and love heels. The color is stunning. People said it was the loveliest dress they had ever seen. Romantic, flattering and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
May 24, 2016
Fit just right
I loved everything about this dress. I wore this at 2 months post partum and it was perfect. The dress has some stretch to it so it was perfect being that I was a little unsure of my current size. The dress was the perfect length for me to wear with flats but too short for heels. I got tons of compliments and could not have been happier with the look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
May 23, 2016
Working with a stylist at the store
This was not my first choice but ending up being fabulous!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
May 23, 2016
Amazing dress!
Not only was the dress super comfortable, but it hugged me in all the right places. I felt so glamorous and received a ton of compliments. This is not a dress I would normally wear, but I'm so glad I did!
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 23, 2016
So many compliments
Wore this to a wedding in Seasons Catering, Washington, NJ. I absolutely LOVED this gown. The material was perfect and the best part is that I don't have to hang it up with the other dresses I only wore once. Another great reason that I went with RTR was that I was able to go to their store in the Flatiron district in NYC and I had a 45min appointment with a stylist whom brought me out dress after dress until I found the one I fell in love with. Didn't take long and this was my final pick and I LOVED it. I also rented the bracelet as well. Beautiful!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 21, 2016
Got a lot of compliments on the dress and how well it fit.
I am very petite but with heels the regular was much better. The petite size was clearly hemmed and in my opinion, too short for a formal dress when you're going to likely wear a tall heel.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
May 15, 2016
I got so many compliments over this dress!!
Perfect dress for a black tie wedding. It's a little stretchy too which was helpful for dancing. Also, I'm a 34DDD
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 15, 2016
I don't think I have ever felt so beautiful!
This dress fits like a dream!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
May 7, 2016
Lots of compliments
I wore this for a formal awards dinner and got lots of compliments on the dress. It was very comfortable. The lace detail is very pretty. The only down side was that I saw someone at the same event wearing the same dress that she probably got from RTR as well.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
May 6, 2016
Dress is great - dark blue and photographs either blue or black depending on light.
Runs very large - I could fit into a 6, when I usually wear an 8/10 or even 12 sometimes. Be aware it's super stretchy and you should go 1 or 2 sizes down. I am 5'8" and with 4 inch heels the dress DID NOT touch the ground. I tend to favor more dramatic looks so this was a bit challenging, but it was still formal and pretty. Just FYI there won't be a train and for anyone taller than 5'10" this dress will be way too short. It makes it an easy long dress to dance in though. Material is super clingy and really flattering.. didn't require any kind of shapewear, and it was really comfortable. Probably would be less comfortable for more well-endowed individuals as it is very low-cut and you can't really wear a real bra with it.
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 18

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×