Nicole Miller

Lady In Waiting Gown

$119 to buy
$960 retail
Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
722 reviews
Fit
Large
(68)
True to Size
(552)
Small
(24)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 23, 2016
So many compliments
Wore this to a wedding in Seasons Catering, Washington, NJ. I absolutely LOVED this gown. The material was perfect and the best part is that I don't have to hang it up with the other dresses I only wore once. Another great reason that I went with RTR was that I was able to go to their store in the Flatiron district in NYC and I had a 45min appointment with a stylist whom brought me out dress after dress until I found the one I fell in love with. Didn't take long and this was my final pick and I LOVED it. I also rented the bracelet as well. Beautiful!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
May 23, 2016
Working with a stylist at the store
This was not my first choice but ending up being fabulous!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
May 24, 2016
Fit just right
I loved everything about this dress. I wore this at 2 months post partum and it was perfect. The dress has some stretch to it so it was perfect being that I was a little unsure of my current size. The dress was the perfect length for me to wear with flats but too short for heels. I got tons of compliments and could not have been happier with the look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
June 12, 2016
Gorgeous dress and amazing first time experience!
This was my first RTR rental and it was an amazing experience!! I'm 130lbs 5'6 34C I got both the size 6 and 8 and the 6 fit perfect with room to spare. This dress is even more beautiful in person and it's super comfortable. I loved the dress and the experience, Its so fun, I plan to do this for all of my future events!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
June 19, 2016
Beautiful!!
The dress was beautiful and loved the lace. I have a small frame on the top and there was too many gaps on the back cutout.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 24, 2016
Lots of compliments
The fit was true to size. There's some stretch to it too, so there's some give. 4R fit better but it had safety pins on the back of the shoulders so I wore the 6R instead. Sill worked fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Age: 39
July 26, 2016
The dress I ordered didn't fit but the associate in store got me a handful of alternatives!
This isn't normally my style but I fell in love with the fit. Very comfortable and makes you feel so sexy! I got a ton of compliments all night.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
August 3, 2016
Love,love the dress
I am 5'7 and size 6. I ordered a 6R and a 6L. I was scared because my back up size was the length but they both worked. I ended up using the 6L, it just looked better with the shoes I was wearing
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2016
Very elegant dress.
I wore this as a maid of honor dress for my mom's wedding. It was beautiful. Very elegant. The material is nice and stretchy, so I could have gone down a size. Very versatile for sizing.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 36A
September 3, 2016
Lovely dress, very comfortable! But straps were stretched out.
I wore this to a wedding and it was really comfortable all night. My only complaint is with the straps. I had rented the size 10 and the 12, and the 10 ended up fitting the best all over. However the straps on the 10 were *much* looser than on the 12, so I think that at some point someone who wore the dress must have stretched the straps out of shape. The dress was fitted enough that I didn't need the straps to keep it in place, so it didn't prevent me from wearing it. But the back definitely didn't have the look that I was expecting because there was a ton of extra material hanging.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2016
Gorgeous
Perfect dress for black tie event in DC, felt so classy, incredibly flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 2, 2016
Gorgeous dress
Fit was perfect. True to size. Received many compliments and with the blue underlay made this not the typical black dress. Gorgeous neckline. Wish I could keep it.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32DD
October 3, 2016
Loved this dress!
Fit perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2016
Beautiful dress!
This dress is beautiful and very flattering. I got compliments from friends and strangers all night. I am between a 4 and 6 and went with the 6 just to have a little extra room but the 4 would have also worked. Glad I went with the long length. The lace on the back of the dress (especially the 6) was a little loose but my husband assures me nobody noticed but me. Overall a great experience with Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
October 8, 2016
Gorgeous dress
This dress is very form fitting but comfortable. It has stretch to it but hugs in all the right places. My only complaint was that the lace straps were a little too big. But overall, it was a gorgeous dress. I received so many compliments and would recommend the ease of RTR to everyone. #weddingguest #blacktie
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
October 11, 2016
Good fit, but lacks something special
Overall the dress fit like a glove. Regular length was perfect with 3 inch heels. I ended up picking a different dress though because this one was lacking something unique.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 11, 2016
Really comfortable!
I wore this for a wedding in the Adirondacks. It was amazingly comfortable but I had to pull the top part up several times during the evening. Many compliments on the dress and fit. I usually wear a 4 but I could have worn a 2. By the end of the evening is was hanging a bit and my shoes got caught in the hem.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
October 16, 2016
Perfect dress! Looked fabulous!
This dress was perfect for a night wedding! Got multiple compliments, and the fit is perfect! I am athletic built, very small bust with hips and a butt, and this dress fit my curves great! The 4 is perfect, but long since I am only 5'4. Heals did help me from tripping! I used a sticky backless strapless bra which was perfect! Thanks for another successful rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 24, 2016
Compliments all night!!!
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding. It fit wonderfully. The lace on top was slightly loose in the back, but was not a problem. I was complimented all night. Form fitting so recommend Spanx. Fits true to size.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
October 27, 2016
Beautiful dress, a little short
Rented this for the marine corps ball. It was gorgeous. Fit true to size, I wore a 6R. Maybe a tad tight over the bust, but nothing obscene. I do wish I had gone with the tall size. I couldn't wear as high of heels and was constantly shimmying the dress down. Other than that it was beautiful.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
November 1, 2016
Stunning dress!!
First time trying RTR and could not have been happier! Fits great and received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 7, 2016
So many compliments
This dress was gorgeous and I got so many compliments. It has a beautiful back to it and it for like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
November 9, 2016
Perfect dress for the Ball!
The fit was perfect! I ordered Wednesday night and it arrived on Friday mid day, fit perfectly and was super comfortable! We had a two hour commute to the USMC ball and it didn't wrinkle or bunch the whole way. The key hole back is classy and still allows for a strapless bra. I wore a 4 inch heel and it was just long enough that I didn't have to worry about it dragging or stepping on it. I was worried about the straps being a bit too big but they fit just fine, a little big but not so much so that they shifted or fell. The material isn't too clingy and has just enough stretch to allow walking and sitting to not be an issue. I got compliments all night and felt so confident!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 34
November 10, 2016
Loved it
Got so many compliments and the dress itself was surprisingly comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
November 13, 2016
Beautiful dress and got so many compliments!!!
Absolutely loved this dress! I had been set on a size 4 (my usual dress size) but ended up wearing the size 2 - it's form fitting with stunning lace details!! It was so comfortable to dance in - I basically was on the dance floor the whole time haha. I have to say I was hesitant to order this dress but after getting it I realized in pictures you can't really appreciate it - it's much more beautiful in person. It's a mermaid type dress and honestly I wish I could keep it!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 15, 2016
Elegant dress
Perfect for a petite frame, stretchy and form fitting. Lightweight. I really like this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2016
Beautiful blue
I was very bummed I didn't realize this dress came in different lengths. It was so flattering but the 'R' length was way too short on me even without shoes. I'm just under 5'9. I will definitely try this dress in the longer length if the occasion arises.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 20, 2016
Like a glove
Beautiful dress - I opted for the 4R because of length (I was wearing 5" heels), but both the 4 and 2 fit well. Only thing is that it's more black than blue - great if you want a darker dress - not color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2016
Wonderful dress!! Perfect for my event!
My first RTR experience, and this dress turned out to be just as beautiful as I hoped. I read through the reviews, so I had a good idea of what I was getting. It has some stretch, and hugs your body. I felt more comfortable getting a push-up strapless bra, because I felt the cut of the dress didn't accent my chest very well with a regular strapless bra. The lace straps were a little loose, but they worked just fine. I received a lot of compliments all evening! Thankfully I needed the dress for a last minute event, and RTR made it so easy!! Overall, I am very pleased with my experience!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
November 25, 2016
Comfortable, fashionable and just perfect!
This dress was perfect it fit just right! I'm 5'3 and 140 lbs and it was super comfortable. The way the dress contours to your body highlights and hides at the same time. Gorgeous dress I would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 6, 2016
Flattering cut and material
Fit: True to size even for petites with a bust. Material: Stretchy and figure flattering. Length: Edges dragged the floor a bit but not a tripping hazard. I'm 5'1" and wore 2.5" heels. Great dress - definitely putting heart on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2016
Embrace the night!
It was a great day, loved how this dress looked and fitted!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 18, 2017
My co-workers, and boyfriend couldn't stop the compliments!
I rented this for a black tie gala for work. I work for a finance company and this was my first big event for them so I wanted to make an impression. This gown and the back up we're both gorgeous, but in the end I went with my first choice and I was so happy. My boyfriend was speechless when I came out in it and just kept saying "wow" over and over, and all of my co-workers loved it. There were absolutely no flaws in the dress, the only issue I had was that I've gained some weight since an injury and have had trouble seeing myself as pretty since, but this gown made me feel like a princess. Will definitely be using RTR in the future, and recommend this for anyone who wants to feel royal and glam.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 20, 2017
The dress made me feel elegant--it was perfect for the occasion and many asked who I was wearing!
I rented this Nicole Miller dress for the opening night of the SF ballet gala. I was initially concerned over how to determine an adequate size, so I walked into a wedding dress shop prior to ordering and they did my measurements. I also suggest looking up the designer to see how their sizes run--this helped very much. Nicole Miller runs pretty true to size, however I did have to pin the shoulder pieces because the dress was a bit long, even with 3 1/2 inch heels on. Other than that, it was a perfect fit for my body. I highly recommend RTR to everyone! #sfballetopeningnight #sfballet #sfballetgala
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 1, 2017
So many compliments
Beautiful dress, love Nicole miller, would highly recommend. My only complaint is the garment bag it came in sorta smelled so I had to air it out and spray with fabreeze to make it smell better. But other then that rent the runway was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 15, 2017
Comfortable and sexy for casino night gala
I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments. It hugged the curves perfectly with the stretch and I was able to wear a strapless bra. You do have to be carful with what bracelet to wear anything with claps with catch the fabric and pull. My husband loved the rear view
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2017
This was a great fit, flattered all the right places.
I had trouble with the top being too long, ended up pinning the straps. Other than that, this dress was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 7, 2017
The perfect dress!!!
I loved this dress for the lace overlay, stretchy fabric and keyhole Back! This was part of rent the runways "keep forever" and I'm so glad i purchased this! For a long it was a little on the short side, but i made it work!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2013
When my bf saw me he actually stopped in his tracks and said wow.
This was a beautiful dress and I received compliments all night long. My only issue with the dress was that the length feel a little short. The 6R size hit the ground exactly before I put on any shoes. If you're 5'7" of above I recommend getting the Long length. Also, I wore the 6 because I thought it gave me a little extra length, but by the end of the night after a lot of dancing I had to pull up the from of the dress quite a bit. The material is stretchy-er than it looks, so chances are you can go a size down if the length works out.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
April 29, 2013
The dress was beautiful (and brand new), but sooooo big!
I am 5'3" and ordered the 0, but even with 5 inch heels, there was no way I could wear the dress without falling. Even still, my backup was great and I plan on using RTR again!
See more reviews:
2 / 19

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×