Hopelessly in Love Gown

$95 to buy
$530 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Turn heads in this jaw dropping Nicole Miller red halter gown. A stunning color for a stunning woman! Pair with trendy accessories like the Elizabeth Cole's Triple Black Diamond Bracelet and a chic handbag like the Carlos Falchi's Black Coffee Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B or C cup sizes - halter neckline should be worn with no bra or a NuBra - removable padding in bust - smaller busted women should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band, which conceals mid-section
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B or C cup sizes - halter neckline should be worn with no bra or a NuBra - removable padding in bust - smaller busted women should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band, which conceals mid-section
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red silk georgette(100% silk). Halter neckline. Back spaghetti straps. Ruched waist. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
77 reviews
Fit
Large3
True to Size70
Small4
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 11, 2012
Flattering gown!
This was my first RTR experience & I'm now recommending it to everyone! The dress was very comfortable for a long night of eating, drinking & dancing! The fitted waist & flowing skirt were so flattering.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 2, 2012
What a fantastic opportunity to put together a great outfit! It was so easy!
I'm short and curvy at 5'3" and still a little heavy from my last baby, I had to take the larger size. It was a little long for me even with 3" heels but it worked for the night. I loved the color and drape of the fabric. I considered it very forgiving. I even got a few compliments;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
November 27, 2012
Walking into the ball with a stunning red dress like this was a perfect fit.
The neckline is rather low, I had to alter it with a bit of fashion tape (which RTR is SO helpful to give you by the way!) other than that, it's a FANTASTIC dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103lbs
November 25, 2012
Looked great in dim lighting..... but the dress was a little worn in spots.
The dress looked great in dim lighting but was a little worn in spots....despite that I would totally rent from this site again because I hate to shop and have no fashion sense. The style resources here are unparalleled for those on a budget. Will totally rent again....just not this dress ever again.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
November 19, 2012
it was just perfect and pretty
fit like a glove...
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2012
It was great I did have to tighten the to area to make it tighter but it was great. The 4R fit great
No cons
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2012
The dress fit perfectly. I received many compliments. I definitely recommend this dress.
I ordered this dress in a very short time span. There wasn't a need to secure the halter as it held in place beautifully. My bust is natural so I did have to purchase a backless plunge bra. My size is between 8 and 10 average. The 8R was tight in the bodice so I went with the 10R. I'm 66.5-inches tall so I wore 4 inch heels. The dress was still about 3/4 of an inch longer than what I would normally wear. On a side note, the 8R seemed clean, but had a stain on it so I'm really glad the 10R fit. I will rent again from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 13, 2012
I fee in love with long dresses!
The top is made for women who are not as busty as me, I managed to " stay put" through the night but I could have used a size bigger.The rest of the dress fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2012
It fit beautifully!
I ordered this for a fundraising event, and it fit beautifully. I have an hourglass shape, and with some double-sided tape, the top stayed put. The bust's v was not too deep, but just enough to create great shape. Also, the skirt grazed my hips and the a-line shape was very complimentary.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2012
I felt beautiful AND comfortable in this dress. Appreciated all the compliments throughout evening.
This dress is stunning -the color is gorgeous and I couldn't have asked for a better fit up top. I have a very small bust - so there was no 'falling out' of this halter - however, the dress didn't gape at all in the bust so I had no need for tape. Had I planned better, I would have added a little padding (the halter has built-in pockets if you want to add shape/padding). If I were to re-order this dress I would definitely have chosen the 4R instead of the long. I followed the fit recommendations and even with 5 in of platform/heel lift, there was about an inch of the front of the dress on the floor. I just held up the front so I wouldn't trip. Overall, I loved this gown. It felt great, looked classy and attracted lots of nice compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 12, 2012
I appreciated the attention to detail I experienced with Rent the Runway! I got many compliments :)
Fit was pretty true to size. The dress was beautiful! I don't think it was the best dress to hide my hips (because of the flowy front), but it was still a great experience to use Rent the Runway.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2012
Perfect Dress!
It was very comfortable and I received lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2012
Nice but just not for me.
RTR sent this to me cause the dress I wanted wasn't available. I was a little upset cause they didn't forewarn me about it. It was a great dress just not my style. I don't like halters that's why.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 30, 2012
Perfect dress to attend the Creative Arts Emmys in 100+ degrees - was light, fit well, flattering.
Fit true to size and was flattering on my small chest and wider hips. I did not need to wear any unusual support or shaping undergarments, which held in the heat. Very flattering over all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
September 28, 2012
The way I felt when I put on that dress
The neck gets uncomfortable and the back zipper is tricky when the zipper hits the sash section.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Body type: Pear
September 13, 2012
The dress arrived on time, the return was easy. 2 dresses sent, you choose best fit.
You need 2 sided tape to keep things decent up on top.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 24, 2012
Awesome dress but low cut
This dress was beautiful, and I absolutely loved it. The only problem I had with it, is that it's significantly more low cut than it looks. There is no way to adjust how low it is either. I would order some fashion tape along with it to tape it up. I folded the back collar and put a bobby pin over it to hold it up for the night, and it worked out ok, but I would definitely recommend getting more tape. You also cannot wear a strapless bra with it, but the winged bras from victoria's secret works fine. It's also a tiny bit darker than it appears online, but it came out about the same color in pictures with flash. All that aside, it's a beautiful dress and probably my favorite dress that I've ever worn!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 24, 2012
good for us pregnant girls
Mind you this review is of a 7 month pregnant woman. I thought the dress was beautiful. The dress was a bit frayed at the edges (a bit too much wear for me), but the fit was pretty good. It does fit very snug under the breasts with no give/elastic, which is a bit deceiving on the pictures. That was a bit problematic for baby bump. Otherwise, the dress flowed gracefully from that point.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 21, 2012
I was able to get a dress in 2 sizes and for only $25 get another dress just in case!
I got this as my backup to a different dress I got from RTR and liked this one much better!! I am a pear shape and the low neck drew attention away from my belly and hips and up to a more flattering part of my body! there is also this loose fabric that covers the belly so I had no need for Spanx. The neckline is WAY lower than it looks in the picture. It does not overlap on top like the model, it goes all the way down to the waistband. I found the top to be ALMOST too big (I'm a 34B) and my dress did not come with the cup inserts in it. I found a stick on padded bra at walmart and was able to fill it out much better. Also wore fashion tape on top just for security and reassurance I wouldn't be indecent. I got the long which was probably not needed. Im 5'6" and wore 2.5" heels and still had about an inch and a half to spare. Found that it looks amazing in pictures too, very flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 5, 2012
Everyone told me I looked amazing the whole night!
I absolutely loved this dress! The fit was extremely flattering and the dress was comfortable. Although I am usually a 6, because of my cup size i had to go up a size to an 8. This is a very long dress so I would recommend wearing the tallest heels you own with it. Also be aware the the neck line is very deep, so make sure you're comfortable with that. The color red was a perfect bright shade and this dress is sure to make anybody stand out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 162lbs
May 30, 2012
All went great.
This dress fit great and was comfortable. I received a lot of compliments and loved wearing it. I recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2012
Loved getting the gown in the mail! I was so excited to open it! It was such a easy experience~! Can't wait to do it again!
I loved wearing this dress! The color was beautiful and it fit well. My only problem was my large bust~! It really showed my cleavage in a big way! Overall I was so pleased with the dress and I stood out ina sea of black dresses! The 8 fit as well but was tighter through the rib cage and was too small for my breasts.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 30, 2012
Beautiful, comfortable fabric
I wore a convertible low back bra and had to pin the halter top to make the top work. The height worked with 3.5" heels. It was true to size in the waist/rib area. The fabric was very light and comfortable for a long night with dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
February 28, 2012
Great dress
This dress is super comfortable and runs true to size. It's flowy and elegant and would cover any stomach issues. I wore it to a red capet event and got tons of compliments. I did not need a bra with it, as it is padded and fit perfectly. The color was a beautiful, vibrant red. The length was great and just skimmed the floor enough without my tripping over it.
MackenzieMarch 11, 2014
How tall were the heels that you wore?
CDMarch 12, 2014
They were 4 inches
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 12, 2012
The dress really stood out in a sea of black dresses!
This dress was great! This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I will definitely do it again. I wore a halter-type bra which I would recommend if possible. It's more low-cut then I usually wear, but I used double-sided tape which worked well. Tons of compliments at a back-tie affair!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 10, 2012
Stunning Dress!!!
This dress is stunning! I wore it to a holiday Gala and the combined color, fabric, and flattering, albeit comfortable fit made me feel amazing and confident throughout the evening. The only drawback is the length. I am 5'1" and though I wore three inch heels, the dress was still quite long. I would highly recommend purchasing the fashion tape along with the rental for those of you who are petite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 12, 2011
The dress was perfect!
I wore this striking gown to a holiday cocktail party for our Sailing Club and I LOVED IT! I am a big fan of Nicole Miller, her dresses run very true to size and are very flattering. I am a 34B and the bust was perfect, if you have a larger cup size you may want to go up a dress size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2011
Several attendees complimented me on my gown, and only two others in attendance wore red: a reporter and Helena Bonham Carter. Definitely worth the rental price if you want to catch attention. Due to this dress, I had the confidence to talk to Yao Ming's promoter, John Lasseter, Jason Isaacs, and David Yates. Renting again for New Years Eve!
I wore this gown to the Britannia Awards in Beverly Hills on Wednesday night. It's such a beautiful dress! I ordered the 2L and the 4R. My size is typically 4, but 4L wasn't available for the night. 4R worked just fine, a little long for black 2 1/2 heels, though. The dress was too low for a NuBra so I opted for BareLifts, the stickers that go above your breasts to pull them upwards. For accessories, I wore drop diamond earrings and a simple 2 row diamond bracelet (fake of course :D). I also had a black clutch to match my black shoes, but the shoes are really not visible at all since the gown is floor length. Hope this helps!
HaleyApril 9, 2012
I'm a HUGE Harry Potter fan, so I am so jealous that you got to talk to Jason Issacs and David Yates and see Helena-she's my favorite!
rj326June 7, 2012
what size did you order?
RTRJune 11, 2012
We recommend your true size in this style and size up for back up if you have a fuller bust!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 30, 2011
Loved it because I had the best stylist helping me as they couldn't find the dress in a 4, which was originally my first choice. They worked with me up until the last moment to make sure I was satisfied. I will definitely use them again!
I got so many compliments on this dress, after I decided to wear it to the marine corps ball. I was worried it would be a bit plain next to all the sequined dresses, but it was so simple and gorgeous it looked effortless. Everyone kept telling me how beautiful it was. I usually wear a 4, but the 6 fit a little bit better, though I was probably somewhere in between. And I'm 5'6" and wore 3 inch heels, and ordered the tall, which was probably unnecessary, the regular length would have been better. The color is also a bit deeper in person versus in the picture. And sorry my pic is blurry but hope this kind of shows you what it looks like on!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
November 30, 2011
Although a lot of other ladies had on a red gown at this event that I attended, nobody else had on the same gown that I was wearing!
I attended a USMC military ball in Las Vegas, Nevada at Caesar's Palace & I was 13 weeks pregnant (but looked more like 20 weeks along!!) - I took a huge chance on renting this gown without trying it on first but my back up size of 10R fit great and really accomodated my growing tummy. However, I couldn't get the two straps in the back to fit down my back without busting them, so I did wear the dress 'wrong' but it ensured nothing got torn. If you are pregnant and are showing, the fabric over the front flows over your tummy with the middle of your tummy peeking out - it looks great and shows off your baby bump. Had I rented a size 12R I could have probably worn the dress as it should have been worn, but I went with a size 8R and 10R. I still looked great for my event and would recommend this gown to any expecting mommy! Just make sure to order a back up size just in case. I kept my look simple, I paired this red gown with gold open toe high heels and gold hair accessories. Loved it! I might also add, I'm an E cup (36D before pregnancy) and my bust fit in this gown in the size 10R. I wore mine without a bra, with bra, they would not have fit. Hope this helps any other preggo ladies choose.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2011
Wedding knockout..
Wore this to an evening wedding that had no dress code. It was perfect because I was able to dress it up with a black "rose" belt and some killer heels. Once I got there and realized it was more of a summer chic wedding, I removed the belt and put on some flats and I was super comfortable. There was no layering effect on the back of the dress so it's not that flattering from the back. Also, the neckline was a lot lower on me - but I managed to go without a bra (thanks to the cups) Dress is quite long so I had to tape up the hem. Lovely dress - wish I could own it so I could alter it to by body type!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
November 21, 2011
Comfortable. Very easy rental
Beautiful dress. Somewhat low cut . Compliments all night. Extremely flattering
melissaMarch 31, 2012
I would also like to know if you were able to wear a bra with this?
LeanneApril 4, 2012
i have the same question as kelsey...4" shorter, same bust size. please answer! :)
JDJuly 4, 2012
Had to wear a bra or it made the fabric bunch up at my gut, found a strapless bra that was more push up than I wanted, but could totally be worn without one.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2011
Mason's Ball the "Hit f the Ni
I would like to express my sincere thanks and satisfaction of the fantastic and successful evening that I had with this beautiful dress. I was the only woman dress in red and definitely made an statement among the other guest that evening. My boyfriend was delighted to have me next to him and every men wished they were holding my hand. I felt very special. Thank you for been able to provide me with a beautiful dress and a wonderful experience. Here are my pictures! Sincerely grateful! Glenda I will be renting again for the holidays coming up and definitely for New Years! :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 16, 2011
Stunning
This gown, I wore for my brother's wedding. It was true to size and looked very elegant. I fit into a size 00 for BCBG & Theory... In case you want a comparison with brand and fitting.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 10, 2011
Pretty Dress
This was a gorgeous dress and I felt very pretty in it right away. I am a pear shape, but I have a flat stomach, this dress made me look like I had a round belly. I think it's because the fabric pulled just slightly at my hip area, but it definitely was not flattering. When you walk, the front pieces of fabric float apart and it really showed off this weird belly effect. I ended up not wearing it, but I'm sure for most people, this dress would be amazing.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2011
I knew the dress would be too long and too big, but I adjusted with sticky tape and some bra stuffing and all was GREAT. I wore it to a black tie wedding in Manhattan and I loved it. Only awkward thing, someone else was wearing the same dress! Oh well :)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Body type: Pear
October 28, 2011
Runs true to size. Color is as shown...a beautiful red. Worn for a black tie event. Received many compliments!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×