Nicole Miller

A Fair Lady Dress

$38 to buy
$420 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Show off your curves in this figure flattering Nicole Miller colored lace cocktail dress. The perfect choice to make his jaw drop when you walk into the room. Pair with Nicole Miller Accessories’ Star Light Star Bright Necklace to complete your look.

Also available in black, forest green and coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes P,S,M,L. Size P=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length; lace is longer than slip - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Purple lace. Square neckline. Cap sleeves. Cut-out back. Inner slip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1301 reviews
Fit
Large
(41)
True to Size
(963)
Small
(242)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 17, 2012
My boyfriend's parents were guests at the wedding as well. The next day his mom said I looked incredible and sexy.
I loved this dress. Very comfortable. Classy but still sexy. I would have generally gone with a small but the petite size fit better even though I'm taller.
DremaAugust 10, 2012
The dress looks purple on you, and blue on others. Is it because your picture was taken outdoors? What is the true color?
JamieAugust 10, 2012
I would say it' more purple than blue. It might be because my picture was taken outside.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 19, 2012
feeling amazing!!! infront of people that i had not seen in years!
this dress was amazing! i wore it to a wedding and was hands down the best dressed at the event! it was sexy but conservative! perfect!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
July 19, 2012
Pretty but slip hikes up!
This dress arrived on time and was truly beautiful. I would say though that it ran a bit small and it definitely is more body hugging than I expected! I own a few Nicole Miller dresses all in a size small, so was surprised when this was so snug in a size small! I didn't mind the way it fit at all, until I started dancing at the wedding and realized the slip underneath the lace overlay was hiking up my thighs, revealing a BIT too much for my liking! I had to keep pulling it down. Also - the keyhole in the back I would say is a bit tricky for a more petite girl like myself - the dress is a bit more "long waisted" than I am so the keyhole was a bit saggy and had to be pinned.
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 22, 2012
I felt great in this dress and received so many compliments!
I rented this dress for a summer wedding and it was perfect! I ordered the p and small and ended up wearing the p. I'm 5 feet so it came down to my knees so the small would have definitely been too big. The only negative thing about this dress is that the slip under the sheer lace kept riding up and I had to keep pullin it down. Other than that this dress was beautiful and fit really well! I got soo many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
July 26, 2012
Cute dress
Color is blue/purple. Perfect fit and hugs you in all the right places. If you don't have curves this dress will give you some :) You will not regret renting this dress. The back is my favorite part. Make sure to wear your hair up or off to the side. Beautiful dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
July 30, 2012
Nice Dress
This is a beautiful dress for a wedding. The back is very pretty. I found that it was a tad small at the bust, and it made my bust appear very flat. If I order again, I may go up a size.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
July 30, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress all night long!
I absolutely LOVE this dress! I wore it to a friend's wedding and got compliments on it all night! I could have worn the medium but the large gave me th extra room I needed in the bust area. Very form fitting so it's great if you want to flaunt your curves. The color is absolutely gorgeous in person and in pictures!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 171lbs
July 30, 2012
Great fashion taste and complimentary customer service
I rented this dress for my Fiancee's cousin wedding and got lots of compliments! The dress ft perfectly and allowed me to dance all night! I even got the bouquet so as far as tradition goes, I'm the next one getting married! Thanks Rent the Runway for having great designer dresses ;)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 1, 2012
Flattering & Comfortable
This dress is very flattering for most body types, especially for women who have larger busts. It definitely accentuates the curves! I usually wear a 0/2 with a 32DD bust (comparable to 34D), and the S fit perfectly. The color was perfect and the lace detail is feminine and appropriate for formal events. I wore this dress to a wedding and received compliments all night. Very comfortable - I danced ALL night w/o hassle! Great dress, I will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 7, 2012
"Sexy!"
I rented this to wear to a wedding at a winery - elegant, comfortable, and flattering! I had no problem moving around in this and it looked fantastic. I recommend this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 7, 2012
The bride and groom told me I won the award for "best dressed guest"
I rented this dress for a wedding and strangers were giving me compliments. You can wear this dress for an evening or day time wedding- which makes it very versatile. Its comfortable, sexy, feminine & original. I wore it with champagne shoes and similar clutch (mix of champagne/gold/bronze). The color of the dress is BLUE. It has a purple slip, but it looks blue. I wore the dress with SPANX... really helped hide my problem tummy area.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 11, 2012
Perfect little purple dress
Really cute.. Fits like a glove. Form fitting but thick material keeps you sucked in, like built in spanx. Good length
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2012
I felt like such a rockstar and my fiance loved it too - not a bad combo!
The lace on this dress is gorgeous! I ordered this dress as a back-up but ended up switching into it after the ceremony because it was much easier to dance it, and it ended up being my favorite of the two. The fabric is pretty stretchy so it's easy to move in, plus it's sexy without being overly so. I was sad to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
August 13, 2012
Dancing in the beautiful dress!
This dress was a wonderful fit and the perfect wedding dress. I like many others wore my hair to the side to show the gorgeous back. I had a wonderfull RTR experience as always! =)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 14, 2012
I am still feeling wowed that I could RENT that kind of a dress. Lovely!
This dress was so pretty. I loved the fabric, but it is definitely snug in a stretchy way which is why I chose "runs small." It does run up a little too, but only the inner fabric, not the lace, so that is helpful. I received a number of compliments, it really is a beautiful dress. It was comfortable too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2012
The dozens of compliments on how fabulous I looked! :D
Great dress, very comfortable. A little on the short side, so careful with the spanx! It stretches and the color is even more vibrant in person. Careful with the lace and any accessories, it catches very easily.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 15, 2012
So many compliments!
All eyes will be on you in this dress! Super snug- really shows off curves but still flattering. The slip underneath rode up a couple of times so I felt myself checking to make sure my undergarments weren't showing a couple of times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
August 18, 2012
Felt like Princess Kate!
This dress was so elegant and reminded me of something the royal princess would wear. I got tons of compliments on this dress. It was extremely comfortable and I didn't want to take it off at the end of the day. Will definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 18, 2012
Gorgeous dress
I felt like a knockout.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
This dress was really comfortable and I received a TON of compliments! Only drawback was that that straps/sleeves were a bit loose/didn't fall completely flat (esp when I thought about wearing the L instead of the medium, completely didnt fit through the straps). That's why I didnt give it 5 stars! The color was really pretty and I very much enjoyed my RTR experience- just placed my 2nd order for a wedding in October!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
The dress and accessories came on time, I wasn't stressing, everything fit how I wanted it to, the reviews were extremely helpful. I will definitely use RTR again.
This dress was everything I hoped it would be. It's pretty snug, but not to the point where I was self conscious. I wore a pair of spanx-like underwear with them just to help smooth, but it was tight enough that I went bra-less (which was super nice with the kind of straps and back). I sang at the wedding so everyone saw it, and I got countless compliments. I did have to watch to make sure it didn't ride up too much when I was dancing or walking. Overall, I wish I could've kept it because I would definitely wear it again.
stephanieAugust 21, 2012
Im about the same hight and weight, and I'm thinking of wearing this without spanx, with this dress do you feel like you could have pulled it off without it, or is it a must?
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Stephanie! This dress can definitely be worn without Spanx. They simply help make you look slimmer, but are not an absolute must!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
August 20, 2012
Loved this dress and can't wait to rent another one from RTR!
I loved this dress! It fit me perfectly and was sexy, but not inappropriate to wear on a date, to a wedding, or anything like that. I originally rented for my rehearsal dinner but I didn't receive it in time (I ordered too late, not RTR's fault) and so I just wore it the night after my wedding for a date night.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
August 20, 2012
so pretty, odd fit
The cap sleeves are too loose around the back, cut extremely low; NOT for big busts, fitted throughout and too much extra fabric on the hem, better for taller women
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2012
How comfortable it was
I wore this dress to a wedding, and everyone just loved it! I got so many compliments and I felt fantastic in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
August 21, 2012
Great Dress, BUT......
This is a great dress and I received a ton of compliments, but there are a couple things to be aware of... 1) This dress works better on girls with long torso's. I'm 5'3'' and the lace on the back didn't lay flat on my back and if I pulled the dress down to help the lace in the back lay flatter, the front would be way to low. 2) You need a padded bra! This dress made me look flat 3) When I was dancing the slip underneath the lace would ride up really really high and I felt like I spent the entire night pulling it down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 22, 2012
One compliment I received - "Your dress is sexy, but not TOO sexy!"
Classy dress with a little bit of sex appeal! Received lots of compliments and the color has a nice pop to it. I usually wear an extra small or small but the small was actually a little long and felt a little baggy in the stomach area so I wore the petite. Overall, happy with my choice. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2012
Liked it!
I really loved the color of the dress, as well as the lace. It is made of a very stretchy material that is comfortable. It has a tendency to creep up, so at the end of the night, I was wearing a shorter dress than I intended to. Also, the front fit very well, but there was excess material in the back. The back is slightly low, so you can't necessarily wear a normal bra with it. All that being said, I liked it - and I got a random compliment from a guy on the street about how great the dress looked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
August 25, 2012
All of the compliments on the dress! I felt beautiful
I absolutely loved this dress, loved the color and style.. Did fit a little snug but still looked good even without spanx!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
August 26, 2012
Summer Wedding
I rented this for a summer wedding - I wasn't sure what to wear because it was an evening backyard cocktail wedding. The dress was elegant, comfortable and ended up being extremely flattering. It was definitely an appropriate pick - not too formal or too casual!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 27, 2012
Perfect
Perfect for a Nantucket wedding
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2012
My Fair Lady
I wore this Nicole Miller dress to an outdoor wedding this summer. Everything about the dress from the rich purple color, to the structure / lace detailing, to the open back made me feel like a blonde version of Audrey Hepburn in "My Fair Lady". I now know why they gave the dress that name. It was classic and elegant, yet comfortable enough for me to dance the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 28, 2012
Fantastic date dress
I rented this dress for a date (birthday dinner!), and I was extremely pleased with it. It is very form-fitting and flattering, although the lace's pattern was a little bit more broadening around the hips than I had anticipated. My boyfriend, however, loved it! It is also a bit bluer than I'd thought--but I loved both iterations of the color. Overall, highly recommended, and the back is fab.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 30, 2012
LOVE this dress
I had rented this dress in black lace last October and loved it b/c it was sexy, classy, comfortable and I can put it in a suitcase without it wrinkling. The color is purple, some people thought it was blue b/c the slip in more like a blue color, but definitely purple. I didn't have to wear spanx b/c it's lace and doesn't show flaws as much. I did wear a strapless bando bra b/c my regular strapless bra made the dress too tight around the bust. I got so many compliments again....I wish it came in another color to wear to my next wedding:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 4, 2012
The process was easy, the dress was exactly what I expected/hoped and I didn't have to spend hundreds of dollars to get the look I wanted.
I usually wear between a 0-2. I chose sizes: petite (P) and small (S). The petite fit better, not as loose on the top or sides. Seemed to fit true to size. I think this dress would look good on any figure and received a ton of compliments. I had no problem wearing a bra with it too. The color looked true to the online photo..purple/lavender.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 4, 2012
Customer service it's outstanding, everything is easy to order and the return was a piece of cake.
This dress is fabulous. The fit was perfect for my body type (petite with big boobs) and it was very comfortable to wear. I was even running around dancing and chasing my 17 month old baby and I was comfortable at all times.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
September 4, 2012
LOVED this dress. Got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
September 4, 2012
The two best compliments I received were that it fit me like a glove and that I should definitely buy that dress!
Loved this dress! I wore it to an indoor August wedding, and like many other reviewers, I received a ton of compliments. I was a little nervous ordering a size medium since it seems like there is much more variation in sizing than with standard numbered sizing, but this thing fit like a glove. I tried it on with and without spanx and no one could tell the difference so I ended up ditching them. The back is gorgeous, I definitely recommend wearing your hair up!
KathiaSeptember 10, 2012
Hi Ali: I love how this dress looks on you!! Can you share more on the slip vs. lace on the dress. I am your height and bust size and was concerned about it being too short for a wedding or the slip being too short on my thighs. Thank you!!!
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Ali! The dress is 38' inches from shoulder to hem, so it should not be too short for a wedding! The slip is just a few inches shorter than the lace.
AliSeptember 24, 2012
Hi Kathia, you should be fine, I didn't think it was too short at all. For me, the lace only came down an inch or two below the shirt hem, unlike the model. You should try it and get the free second size.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 18, 2012
This is a great dress
Everybody loves it. It fits perfectly and it is very comfortable,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 5, 2012
Loved the color, received so many compliments!
I loved the fun color and the flattering fit. It helps balance broad shoulders with the shape of the straps. Consider wearing spanx if you have a tummy. It was a little short for a catholic wedding but with a wrap I felt more covered up, and then it was great for the reception. I always get compliments on RTR dresses... way more then when I buy my own! This dress was no exception. The only cons were that the straps felt a little wider in the back, so they felt slightly loose, but it wasn't a dealbreaker for me. Also, I probably would've liked another inch of the slip dress under the lace overlay; that would've made me feel more comfortable since it's a tighter dress. But if you're a shorter person that won't be a problem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
September 5, 2012
A total stranger came up to me at the wedding and said "Oooh I love your dress".
I wore this dress to a church wedding in June. It was the perfect standout in a sea of black dresses. The lace was really pretty and the cut out detail in the back a really nice touch. I'm only 5'1" and I'm always nervous about these dresses being too long on me but it was the perfect length. The color is a mix between a blue/purple ...the slip is actually purple and the lace overlay is blue. I paired it with silver heels and accessories.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 33

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×