Exotic Spice Gown

$149 to buy
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Fire up your night in this daring red gown. Designed by Nicole Miller, this simple and sophisticated gown was made to make a statement.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red Matte Jersey (68% rayon, 27% polyester, 5% spandex). Sleeveless. Square neckline with back cutout. Front rouching. Hidden back zipper. Not Lined. Made in USA

Share
197 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(159)
Small
(13)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2014
I received so many compliments on the fit and overall look of the dress!
The dress was definitely form fitting, and a long probably would have been a better length (I'm 5'6") but overall it looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 26, 2014
Elegant, exquisite, indulgent!
This dress was perfect for my sorority formal! I loved the color (it is a bright cherry red, with a hint of pink, so kinda a bright raspberry!) I paired it with a gold statement necklace because of the neckline, and some sparkly gold heels! it was super comfortable because of the stretchy material and the long length worked for me (I am 5'8" and wore 4" heels). I also liked the gathering along the stomach and behind area. It was very attractive and complimented most shapes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 6, 2014
Standing out in a flattering red was awesome!
Fit well and wasn't too long for me (5'4" in heels)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 7, 2014
This dress was perfect to wear to the American Heart Association's Heart Ball!
The fit was absolutely perfect and I received many compliments throughout the evening. This was the first dress I ever rented with RTR so I had it arrive a day early. I was a bit disappointed in a pea size stain found on the front of the dress but decided it wouldn't be too noticeable inside one of the creases - especially for an evening event. No one ever noticed it.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2014
Va Va VaVoom!
This dress is absolutely fabulous! I first considered wearing black but so very happy that I changed to this drop dead pop of color. Heads turned and compliments all night. I would definitely rent this dress for another occasion. This is my first rental experience with RTR and I am very impressed. The first dress that I ordered did not work and the RTR associate was extremely helpful with one day to spare before my event. This new dress was shipped overnight and I was both relieved and thrilled by the choice. Ladies, this is a dress that you will not be disappointed in and if your first time renting from this site you will be pleased with that experience as well.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
April 16, 2014
Felt like $1,000,000!
Dress runs true to size, I LOVED the way I felt in the dress. I was a little worried it was too, "VaVaVaVoom" But once I had it on, it even took MY breath away. RTR had fantastic customer service and the necklace I rented really topped it off. I'm curvy and busty -- I would wear this over and over -- I'd even wear this dress to the grocery store. Absolutely PeRfEcT!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 24, 2014
Wore this for a black tie wedding.
Loved the dress! I got several compliments. I ordered the long which was perfect for my height with about a two inch heel. The only issue I had was with bra straps. I HATE strapless bras so I pinned this to work with a normal bra but the every now and then I'd have a bra strap showing. I also recommend spanx since the dress is so fitted.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
April 29, 2014
Beautiful dress!
Fit perfectly! I received compliments all night. Beautiful dress and very comfortable.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 3, 2014
Gorgeous!!!
With is this dress on, u get to know how does it feel like when everyone is looking at u.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 6, 2014
The dress was extremely comfortable and I received several compliments. Both elegant and sexy.
Cannot wear underwear with the dress. You are able to see every line and seam. Need a strapless bra as straps would show.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 14, 2014
This dress was a show stopper.
I felt like a movie star .The material is very thin so keep that in mind with undergarments. The R length was a little short on me, but I think the L would have been dragging. I didn't notice until I was about to walk out the door, but there was a stain on the left breast area ...asked my husband if he noticed, he said no, so I wore it anyways> I think I remember someone else mentioning that in a review..I think its something that should be noted to a renter if they're not going to fix it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 18, 2014
Formal enough, but fun and sexy!
I've always wanted to wear a long red dress and this was it! This dress was awesome. I got so many compliments. The bright red really stood out in a sea of black! It's formal but fun, and sexy. Runs true to size, and spanks is a must due to the thinner material. I would rent this dress again in a second.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 19, 2014
Elegant and gorgeous dress for my engagement photos!
The dress was perfect! I wanted a very glamorous look our engagement photos and I couldn't have asked for a more perfect dress. I was complimented several times during our shoot and our professional photographer said the dress photographs great! It fit true to size, but was very comfortable. I ordered the 10R and the 8R and the 8 fit perfect with a little breathing room. It hugs your curves in all the right places, but the material is a little stretchy, so if you are busty and have hips like I do, you will appreciate the stretchy material. Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2014
Absolutely beautiful dress!
Fits like a glove. Extremely comfortable. Perfect color. I met Charles Barkley while wearing the dress, and he commented on what a wonderful dress it was!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 5, 2014
Va-va voom!
I rented this dress for a black-tie wedding & it was absolutely perfect. The length of the dress was just a touch long for me wearing 3" heels. Had I worn higher heels, length would not have been an issue. The material will definitely hug your curves (and is not forgiving in that sense), didn't feel heavy and the dress itself was comfortable wearing. I felt so sexy in this dress & my husband agreed. I received so many compliments wearing this! Would definitely recommend!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 10, 2014
Needed the dress for a black tie wedding. Wanted something formal but still playful and comfy.
Fit nicely, a little tight around the chest but still flattering. Lots of compliments. Liked it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
June 10, 2014
Setting and Dress made me feel very confident. My husband went nuts for it.
I had compliments all night about my dress. It was a big wedding, everyone over thought their dresses way too much. This was an easy process and the dress was perfect. Thanks god for the extra size they sent along for free, as I ended up wearing the smaller size which fit me better than my normal one. It was PERFECT for the event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 17, 2014
I wore this dress to my senior prom.
I got many compliments on the dress; it is simple, elegant, and sexy. I was comfortable all night.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 23, 2014
It was exactly everything I hoped for in a dress! I felt so beautiful and received many compliments!
Great fit, all pros no cons.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 23, 2014
Perfect in every way!
This dress was amazing! The fabric was nice and light-perfect for a warm evening out. The color was a vibrant red and it definitely stood out among a sea of black dresses.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 7, 2014
I loved this dress! The fit and length was perfect!
I got so many compliments on this gown that I wore at a formal 4th of July wedding. I felt so confident and beautiful in it and it fit phenomenal! Will definitely rent the runway again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
July 8, 2014
How do I wear a bra with this?
Beautiful gown but wasn't for me. I'm only comfortable wearing a bra with straps due to my bust size. I wore a bra with straps and i was trying to cover them up all night. Strapless bra only, ladies. Sorta a bummer. Also, if you have an outdoor event and there is a chance of rain? Do not rent this dress. There's a train that i new nothing about and had to hold it all night. Maybe it would have worked better on a sunny day with a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 20, 2014
I got to be the 'Lady in Red' in a sea of black formal wear.
The dress fit perfectly, accentuating my curves. I actually want to buy the dress even though I might not have another formal event to wear it to. The only con is if you don't plan on wearing a strapless bra, plan on having four safety pins to tack your bra straps out of the way.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 6, 2014
I felt absolutely amazing in this dress. The color was beautiful and the fit was amazing.
The fit was form fitting and looks great on various figure types to include curvy. Loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 29, 2014
Red Carpet Stunner!
I wore this to the Grammy Awards and it was an absolute hit! I felt gorgeous all night long and received tons of compliments. Definitely grabs every curve and makes your butt look amazing! My only complaint is that it was very long for being the "2R". I had to wear 5 inch heels and even then I was almost tripping over it. Something to keep in mind.
LJMay 5, 2014
Hi, you seem to be closest to my figure! The dress looked amazing on you! Since i won't get the dress till 2 days before my event, i wanted to get the undergarments before hand! what type of bra did u use for this dress?
KrystenMay 14, 2014
Hi! Thank you! I actually didn't wear a bra, just those stick on petals. But you could definitely fit a strapless bra. Enjoy! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 13, 2015
This dress fits like a glove ! I received tons of compliments all night and felt super sexy!
Fit was perfect, the only issue was that the dress has a small train so the bottom got dirty and a bit wet.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 19, 2014
Fit so well, so many compliments!
Very thin fabric, I recommend spanx!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2014
Loved this dress. Form-fitting and elegant.
Strapless bra won't show through, careful you don't step on the train. I'm 5'5 and it was the perfect length with 3-inch heels. Taller would have worked, too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
August 28, 2014
Sexy, fun dress. Got a ton of compliments.
Fit me live a glove. I'm sometimes a 6 and sometimes an 8. Very happy to enjoy wearing the six.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 6, 2014
Hugs every curve
Other dresses I tried on were size 10 but the 10 in this one just wasn't as form fitting. The 8 was a perfect fit. The fabric is very thin and spanx are needed but it is a beautiful dress when it is on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
September 7, 2014
Very easy and arrived on time
Wasn't too long at all
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 9, 2014
Black Tie Invited wedding appropriate
Dress is gorgeous and the petite fit great on my small but athletic build. GREAT color red!!! Tons of compliments on the dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 3, 2014
This dress was perfect for a formal affair. The color really stood out and it was so comfortable.
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. I wasn't sure this dress would fit since I was four months pregnant when I rented it but it fit really well since the material was pretty stretchy. It was a little bit long, but nothing that couldn't be fixed by a decent pair of heels. It was also perfect for getting down on the dance floor.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 15, 2014
This dress is absolutely stunning!
They ran out of long size dresses so I had to stick with either a 6R or 8R as these were the only 2 sizes left. As you can tell it was a little short on me but I managed!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 18, 2014
I wore this dress to my senior sorority formal. A perfect reason to use RTR.
This dress was great! I got SO many compliments and people asking to borrow the dress...Long story short I got this dress last minute but I also had it in the blueish/purple version (Eye of Jasmine gown)...My recommendations? If you aren't set on wearing a red dress, definitely go with the eye of Jasmine gown. The material is a little different and hugs you better so it's much more slimming. Plus I fit a size 8L in that one, and in the red here I am wearing a size 10L. (I am 5'10, about 175 pounds and a 36C). I am pretty muscular and usually do well with form fitting things, l but I even felt a little fat in this material while wearing spanx.The pros though It is a plain bright red and easy to find a matching bow tie/cummerbund set as opposed to the cobalt purple one which is a weird (but gorgeous) color but hard to match. Overall I would definitely recommend this dress if you are looking for a stunning red gown, but if you want this style and you want to look skinny go with the eye of Jasmine gown.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173lbs
September 23, 2014
Thin material, but it's really comfortable and looks great!
I opted not to wear any shapewear under this because you could see it through the material. I was 2 months post-tummytuck so you can see bit of the swelling in my picture, but I still received a ton of compliments on the dress. I would've liked to try on the 12R to compare, but they were all unavailable. I think some other reviewers said they didn't wear a bra. There wasn't enough support for my 34DD girls, so I work a strapless bra with clear straps and it looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2014
LOVED the dress!
Fits true to size, enough room for spanx, and hugs your body in all the right places! If you are like me and have to wear a bra, a strapless bra works best! I wore this dress for a black tie optional wedding and it was the perfect gown for the occasion! I received tons of compliments, would recommend to rent, and would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
September 24, 2014
This dress is sexy!
Okay, first fit: This dress runs pretty true to size but has a ton of stretch and give. I ordered the 10R and the 12L and I really could have worn either one BUT it is CRAZY short. I am pretty much exactly 5' 6.5" and even barefoot the regular didn't touch the ground. Thank goodness my backup size was a long!! The long was still somewhat short in 4" heels but long enough to work. Note: it has a tiny sweep train in the back. Fabric: This dress is STRETCHY! Which is really nice after a delicious dinner (which, incidentally, ours was not). But as it stretches it also clings, big time. I would have been lost without my spanx so keep sturdy undergarments in mind. Function: This dress is easy to move in and easy to get into and out of but depending on which button style you get (my sizes each had different buttons at the neck) you may need a teammate to help you get it fastened. It is, however, NOT quiet. If you need something tastefully demure this is not the thing. It's really loud and really sexy and it gets noticed. Super fun, where appropriate!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 25, 2014
Spectacular gown made for unforgettable evening!
The fit was perfect. I had two pairs of shoes and went with the higher heel based on my height. I'm glad I went with this backup dress instead of my original first choice.. Love RTR and will definitely return for future events! Both dresses in picture are RTR and we loved the experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 29, 2014
Killer dress - Pretty Woman movie come true!
The whole Rent the Runway experience was perfect. I live in the wilds of Maine and needed a dress for an opera gala in Philadelphia. This Nicole Miller dress was the best I've EVER worn! Sexy, classy, elegant -- like a movie from the 1940s. My boyfriend nearly passed out when he saw me, and strangers came up to us on the street and at the opera to pay compliments. The dress clung where it needed to but wasn't sleazy in any way. The rear is SUPER clingy and sexy, so advisable to wear Spanx or if you're in great shape, wear a "no line" thong. No bra needed. I'm 34B and size 2R JUST fit (kind of tight in bust, but I have broad shoulders. If you're busty, go up a size). Can be a bit tricky to walk in, so wear comfortable HIGH heels. In all, I'd buy this dress and definitely will "rent the runway" again! New Year's Eve in Philly, here I come! (In another RTR dress, for sure!)
lynnJanuary 9, 2015
Lynne, You look totally AWESOME in this dress. I cant believe you are 50! You go!! I ma 37 and thinking about this dress I am built like you and I had a few questions!! First this is obviously very form fitting, I am guessing you wore a thong with this dress? It seems like VPL would be an issue with this dress, did you have VPL issues at all? Second I am small busted is it possible to wear a good strapless push up bra? And finally shoes I am shorter than you 5'3 is it possible to wear like a 5 inch heel with this dress. Thank so uch you look awesome!! No surprise your boyfriend was the happiest/luckiest guy in the planet that night lol.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×