Nicole Miller

Exotic Spice Gown

$100 rental
$425 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Fire up your night in this daring red gown. Designed by Nicole Miller, this simple and sophisticated gown was made to make a statement! All you need is Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Cluster Necklace to complete your look.

Also available in black, purple sequin, teal, purple and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red Matte Jersey (68% rayon, 27% polyester, 5% spandex). Sleeveless. Square neckline with back cutout. Front rouching. Hidden back zipper. Not Lined. Made in USA

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

155 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 134
Large 2
Photos 152
Kylee
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

the dress made it here just in time, despite a massive snow storm!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'11, so I have always had a tough time finding dresses that are long enough. the 4L fit a little better up top, but was just a hair too short for me in flats (didn't quite touch the ground in the front). However, the 6L still hugged my body and was just long enough! I did have to pull it down throughout the night to keep it touching the floor, but it was so worth it! So many compliments on this dress. So comfortable, and it shows off curves like none other!
Rachel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

This dress was perfect for a formal affair. The color really stood out and it was so comfortable.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. I wasn't sure this dress would fit since I was four months pregnant when I rented it but it fit really well since the material was pretty stretchy. It was a little bit long, but nothing that couldn't be fixed by a decent pair of heels. It was also perfect for getting down on the dance floor.
Sharyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

LOVE this dress! Comfortable, great color, and a great fit!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for the black tie wedding I went to. I ordered the suggested necklace that was on the model and it was great. I was sad to send it back. Even though a strapless was suggested, if you have an adjustable strap bra, you can wear it with this dress. It was a pleasant surprise!
Monica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Lovely color and very elegant

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my senior prom and got lots of compliments! This shade of red is neither vibrant nor dull, it's just right. I was told more than once that I pulled off red very well. I have wide hips but am still small, so I was nervous about having the dress delivered one day before my event. However, I tried on the 0L before the 2R and it fit perfectly! I was wearing 5-inch heels and the dress did touch the floor and was slightly longer in the back, but it looked fine and gave me no problems walking. The fabric is very stretchy and very comfortable. The fabric is not that thick though, so just like it reveals all your curves, panty lines are quite visible. I felt like it flattered my body type. However, I have a smaller bust so I had to use fashion tape to keep it up in the front. I wore a NuBra but my normal strapless bra would have worked too. I was overall really happy with this dress, it looks and feels great.
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect! Very flattering, and my body is far from perfect. With some spanx, it hugged my curves in all the right places. And the rear view was my husband's favorite. Dress fit true to size, although it was slightly short as other reviews have said. I wore the long and my shoes were showing. I would definitely recommend this though, and I'd wear it again for sure!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

stunning dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a Mardi Gras ball and loved it! the fabric is thin so it is definitely made for someone more toned. You can't really wear spanx because of the back of the dress. the dress also runs short. I ordered a long and it barely touched the floor. Overall though- great dress!
Lauren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 22, 2014

Had so many compliments on pulling off a red dress with such an amazing fit. Will be renting again!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
There was a small stain on the left upper bust that was bothering me but no one seemed to notice.
Tracy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Great dress! Seductive and classy!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was an absolute knockout! I wore this to a military ball and I think it was a great balance between sexy and classy (which is hard to achieve!). It ran a bit long for me, even with my 4 inch heels. However, it wasn't debilitating and was easily solved by lifting the bottom up a bit when we were walking. I was also nervous about my bra showing or it not fitting in the chest area (I'm a DDD). The stretchy material allowed the dress to fit anyone well. As long as you have a strapless bra, you should be good. I got so many compliments on this. Made me want to splurge to have my very own Nicole Miller Exotic Spice dress!
MAS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 26, 2014

Elegant, exquisite, indulgent!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for my sorority formal! I loved the color (it is a bright cherry red, with a hint of pink, so kinda a bright raspberry!) I paired it with a gold statement necklace because of the neckline, and some sparkly gold heels! it was super comfortable because of the stretchy material and the long length worked for me (I am 5'8" and wore 4" heels). I also liked the gathering along the stomach and behind area. It was very attractive and complimented most shapes.
Amber
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

Standing out in a flattering red was awesome!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well and wasn't too long for me (5'4" in heels)
Lulu
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Felt like $1,000,000!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress runs true to size, I LOVED the way I felt in the dress. I was a little worried it was too, "VaVaVaVoom" But once I had it on, it even took MY breath away. RTR had fantastic customer service and the necklace I rented really topped it off. I'm curvy and busty -- I would wear this over and over -- I'd even wear this dress to the grocery store. Absolutely PeRfEcT!
Paula
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

I wore this dress to my senior sorority formal. A perfect reason to use RTR.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great! I got SO many compliments and people asking to borrow the dress...Long story short I got this dress last minute but I also had it in the blueish/purple version (Eye of Jasmine gown)...My recommendations? If you aren't set on wearing a red dress, definitely go with the eye of Jasmine gown. The material is a little different and hugs you better so it's much more slimming. Plus I fit a size 8L in that one, and in the red here I am wearing a size 10L. (I am 5'10, about 175 pounds and a 36C). I am pretty muscular and usually do well with form fitting things, l but I even felt a little fat in this material while wearing spanx.The pros though It is a plain bright red and easy to find a matching bow tie/cummerbund set as opposed to the cobalt purple one which is a weird (but gorgeous) color but hard to match. Overall I would definitely recommend this dress if you are looking for a stunning red gown, but if you want this style and you want to look skinny go with the eye of Jasmine gown.
Morgan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Wore this for a black tie wedding.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress! I got several compliments. I ordered the long which was perfect for my height with about a two inch heel. The only issue I had was with bra straps. I HATE strapless bras so I pinned this to work with a normal bra but the every now and then I'd have a bra strap showing. I also recommend spanx since the dress is so fitted.
Indira
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

Beautiful Dress!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size, wore this for a wedding a received so many compliments- very form fitting and the back was gorgeous as well. Def recommend it !
Edith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 6, 2014

The dress was extremely comfortable and I received several compliments. Both elegant and sexy.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Cannot wear underwear with the dress. You are able to see every line and seam. Need a strapless bra as straps would show.
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2014

Loved this dress. Form-fitting and elegant.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Strapless bra won't show through, careful you don't step on the train. I'm 5'5 and it was the perfect length with 3-inch heels. Taller would have worked, too.
Alyssa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
May 12, 2014

Told I looked stunning more times than I can count!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my company's black tie fundraiser. I was very nervous about the rental because I could only rent a 0P, and no good backup size was available. I was actually sent a 0 and not a 0P, (or so the tag said) which turned out to be perfect. I wore it with 3" heels, and it just touched the floor, so I'm sure I would have had to do very short heels with the 0P. The dress truly fit like a glove, it's very stretchy, but doesn't hide any figure flaws. So, if you have Spanx and don't mind showing off your curves - it's a great option. I have a very small frame, but it fit my shoulders really well, and was tight enough across the top that if i bent down i wasn't worried about anything popping out. The only downside was that the dress tended to twist a little bit when I moved too much, but it was easily fixable. I got tons of compliments on how stunning I looked.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
May 18, 2014

Formal enough, but fun and sexy!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I've always wanted to wear a long red dress and this was it! This dress was awesome. I got so many compliments. The bright red really stood out in a sea of black! It's formal but fun, and sexy. Runs true to size, and spanks is a must due to the thinner material. I would rent this dress again in a second.
Felicia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 19, 2014

Elegant and gorgeous dress for my engagement photos!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was perfect! I wanted a very glamorous look our engagement photos and I couldn't have asked for a more perfect dress. I was complimented several times during our shoot and our professional photographer said the dress photographs great! It fit true to size, but was very comfortable. I ordered the 10R and the 8R and the 8 fit perfect with a little breathing room. It hugs your curves in all the right places, but the material is a little stretchy, so if you are busty and have hips like I do, you will appreciate the stretchy material. Thank you RTR!
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Absolutely beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits like a glove. Extremely comfortable. Perfect color. I met Charles Barkley while wearing the dress, and he commented on what a wonderful dress it was!
Brittany
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 10, 2014

Needed the dress for a black tie wedding. Wanted something formal but still playful and comfy.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit nicely, a little tight around the chest but still flattering. Lots of compliments. Liked it!
Joha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Setting and Dress made me feel very confident. My husband went nuts for it.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I had compliments all night about my dress. It was a big wedding, everyone over thought their dresses way too much. This was an easy process and the dress was perfect. Thanks god for the extra size they sent along for free, as I ended up wearing the smaller size which fit me better than my normal one. It was PERFECT for the event!
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Show stopper in a field of Mardi Gras gowns!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit in all the right places. I wore a pair of 6 in Louboutins and it was a little bit long. Perhaps the Petite length would have been better for me. These photos do not do it justice!! In a sea of formal dresses for a Mardi Gras Bal, I turned heads every minute! It was amazing.
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

I wore this dress to my senior prom.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got many compliments on the dress; it is simple, elegant, and sexy. I was comfortable all night.
Jenna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Loved this dress!! I was sad to send it back!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding. The dress fit great, looked great and was - best of all - comfortable! I ordered both a 4 (my "normal" size) and a 2 and went with the 2 -- I didn't find there to be much of a difference except the 4 had a little more fabric and length to it. Very thin liner so beware of undergarments as well. Overall, I felt beautiful and received tons of compliments all night long :)
britt
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

It was exactly everything I hoped for in a dress! I felt so beautiful and received many compliments!

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit, all pros no cons.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Perfect in every way!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was amazing! The fabric was nice and light-perfect for a warm evening out. The color was a vibrant red and it definitely stood out among a sea of black dresses.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

I loved this dress! The fit and length was perfect!

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments on this gown that I wore at a formal 4th of July wedding. I felt so confident and beautiful in it and it fit phenomenal! Will definitely rent the runway again!
Carolyn
Age: 21
Jul 8, 2014

How do I wear a bra with this?

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful gown but wasn't for me. I'm only comfortable wearing a bra with straps due to my bust size. I wore a bra with straps and i was trying to cover them up all night. Strapless bra only, ladies. Sorta a bummer. Also, if you have an outdoor event and there is a chance of rain? Do not rent this dress. There's a train that i new nothing about and had to hold it all night. Maybe it would have worked better on a sunny day with a strapless bra.
mkgyrl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

This dress is va va boom. I was the talk of the night everyone wore black I step out in red!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Their is nothing bad about this dress it breathable and accentuate all your curves. I will say you might want to put some spanks on.
Amber
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

I got to be the 'Lady in Red' in a sea of black formal wear.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly, accentuating my curves. I actually want to buy the dress even though I might not have another formal event to wear it to. The only con is if you don't plan on wearing a strapless bra, plan on having four safety pins to tack your bra straps out of the way.
RTR Customer
Aug 13, 2014

I wore this dress to a military ball. It was the perfect blend of sophistication & sexiness.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress hugs every curve, no room for spanx! It was a little shorter than I expected, but it wasn't a big deal- made for easier dancing. The color was a beautiful berry-red. I would wear it again in a heartbeat!
Victoria
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

A night at the Opera!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress absolutely saved my night. I had originally rented another Nicole Miller dress from RTR, however it ran smaller than I had anticipated and so I went with this dress instead. SO glad I did! It fits like an absolute glove. Hugs all of the right places, and makes your bust look AMAZING. It is cut perfectly. And I was able to wear a regular strapless bra without having to worry about it showing in the open back. I'm 5'7, and the Regular length was good with my 4 inch heels. One thing I noticed, there is a small gathered train in the back of the dress, and while it is gorgeous, it kept catching on my heels when I walked. So I had to hold the dress with my hand so I didn't trip. It is made of jersey material/poly blend, and there is room to breath and move around. But it definitely fits and accentuates any curve you have. I love, love, LOVED it. And would absolutely recommend it for both thin and especially curvy women. My boyfriend actually wanted me to buy the dress! I got compliments all night long. So happy with this choice!
RTR Customer
Sep 6, 2014

Hugs every curve

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Other dresses I tried on were size 10 but the 10 in this one just wasn't as form fitting. The 8 was a perfect fit. The fabric is very thin and spanx are needed but it is a beautiful dress when it is on.
Kristi
Age: 25
Sep 7, 2014

Very easy and arrived on time

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wasn't too long at all
Katy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

Perfect dress for hourglass figure

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress and got so many compliments! I have a large bust, small waist and fairly large hips so it can be extremely difficult for me to find dresses that fit and flatter my figure - especially when there's no give in the bust area. This dress rocked! Not only is the color gorgeous, but there is a lot of stretch to the material while still being lined well and not thin. It was also extremely comfortable and I never felt stiff or like I had to constantly fix the dress as can often happen with a formal gown (especially strapless!). I am 5'2 and ordered the 4R, but I was also wearing 5" heels. The length was perfect on me but if you're short and aren't into wearing a big heel, I would go with the petite. Definitely recommend this as a classy but "hott" option.
kiki3
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

Black Tie Invited wedding appropriate

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress is gorgeous and the petite fit great on my small but athletic build. GREAT color red!!! Tons of compliments on the dress
Melissa
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 15, 2014

This dress fit like a glove! Va-Va-Voom!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
After combing through all the previously submitted photos of ladies rocking this red gown, I was truly impressed by how flattering the gown was on each woman in every size. I received so many compliments and would absolutely rent this again.
RTR Customer
Sep 15, 2014

This dress is absolutely stunning!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
They ran out of long size dresses so I had to stick with either a 6R or 8R as these were the only 2 sizes left. As you can tell it was a little short on me but I managed!
Janiece
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Thin material, but it's really comfortable and looks great!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I opted not to wear any shapewear under this because you could see it through the material. I was 2 months post-tummytuck so you can see bit of the swelling in my picture, but I still received a ton of compliments on the dress. I would've liked to try on the 12R to compare, but they were all unavailable. I think some other reviewers said they didn't wear a bra. There wasn't enough support for my 34DD girls, so I work a strapless bra with clear straps and it looked great!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×