Nicole Miller

Blue Silk Wave Dress

$65 rental
$385 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Grab those dancing shoes and wear this sexy Nicole Miller cobalt dress. Go with monochromatic earrings and wear Kendra Scott's Danielle Blue Agate Earrings.

Also available in coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs a size large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at mid-section
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue silk crepe de chine(100% silk). V neckline with beaded embellishment. Open sleeves. Bloussant body. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
100 reviews
Fit
Large
(41)
True to Size
(56)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 3, 2012
The way I felt it in my dress.
This was my back up dress. I wore since the other did not fit. I loved the color and neckline. I received compliments from both my friends and other invited guests.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
September 6, 2012
Good choice for small breasted
This dress is not flattering for big busted women. Nonetheless, it was beautiful and of wonderful quality. I felt fat in it though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
September 9, 2012
Sorority Formal Dress
Such a great dress to wear, i loved it. It fit perfectly and just looked so great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2012
perfect when you want to look great but not upstage the bride!
I have become a bit more pear shaped than I would like to admit and if I didn't adjust the dress when I stood up it could look a little snug around the hips, but it looked great in all the pictures and I never once felt inappropriately dressed. It is perfect for a "semi-formal" wedding! and is very easy to dance in!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 25, 2012
This dress was a showstopper and I felt amazing in it!
I wasn't expecting as much draping on the top, which is why I said it runs a little large; definitely size down one when you order. The dress is super stretchy and comfortable, and looks great with sky high heels. Expect a beautiful dress in a beautiful color with just enough sparkle to make it stand out from the crowd!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 29, 2012
It runs small in the thigh area...
I was unable to wear either size, and I had sized up. This isn't a good pick if you have big hips or thighs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2012
Great party dress!
I loved the color of this dress! The blue was really pretty. I like that this dress was easy to move in, which made it great for a girls night of dancing!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
October 5, 2012
the neck with all the beads was heavy , when i bent over i was exposed
the material did not feel like silk, top was way tooo big , it ran super large the small felt like a large, the "wing span" was huge does not look like the picture at all
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 7, 2012
I rented this dress for my birthday and absolutely loved it!
I ordered both the S and XS. Both sizes fit but because of my height the S seemed to work best. I would recommend ordering your true size along with a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 12, 2012
Not for a woman with Curves
You must be very thin and tall for this to look good. Was not flattering at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2012
Never wore, fit was off
Fits perfectly in the lower half. The upper half didn't sit right. The beading made the dress too heavy and kept sliding forward. It was too big up top. I never wore it ...bummer :-(
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2012
I absolutely adore this dress. The fit was extremely flattering and so comfortable the entire night!
The skirt hugs all the right places and is very easy to move in. I was so happy with this dress, I wish I owned it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2012
Very pretty color and material was perfect for a summer night.
The only negative about this dress was the beaded neckline was very heavy and pulled the dress down.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 28, 2012
Eye catching look!
Great dress! Fit the occassion, perfectly. I received many compliments, especially the color. Color for any events seems to make you stand out. There were not many ladies wearing color, and defintely nothing this stylish. I received the S and M, I ended up wearing the M because of the need for wiggle room, for my hips. The top part can hide any upper body ills, you may perceive. I am a 34D, and the coverage was great, I had no issue with too much being revealed. You may want to wear a good bra that separates ;)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2012
Super fun color! Definitely low cut though
I really enjoyed wearing this dress- great color and very flattering cut. However, it was very low cut, so busty girls beware.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
November 13, 2012
The easiness of receiving and delivering of the dress.
fit well, top half runs a bit large
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
November 24, 2012
Wore this for Sorority Semi Formal
Loved this dress. A little fitted in the skirt. More than you can see from the picture but still loose. Love this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
November 26, 2012
Good fit and runs true to size.
Wore this for my 37th birthday and it was a hit! Very comfortable and nice length on the skirt.
RTR CustomerMarch 13, 2013
Cute;) Best pic yet!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 26, 2012
Wore this for a holiday party & birthday party. I got so many compliments and loved the dress!
I have a small chest & definitely felt like the top was sliding around a bit. I would recommend using fashion tape if you have it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 28, 2012
Beautiful Dress
It is a beautiful dress in person but it was very fitted around the thigh and hip area and unfortunately I could not wear it. So if you are a bit larger on the bottom I would not suggest ordering this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
December 16, 2012
I loved the ease of picking a dress from RTR! It was great to see the dresses on other women!
I ordered the M and L and could have worn either. Chose the large as the skirt wasn't as snug and I knew I'd be dancing and sitting during the party and didn't want to worry about it inching up. I am between a 10-12 in sizes...just depends on the designer. The fashion tape is a must as the neckline is plunging. The tape stayed in place and I didn't have to worry about it all night. I chose the Kendra Scott blue agate earrings and they were perfect. I also rented the silver glitz bangles...but they were too small to fit over my wrist. So ladies with a wider hand take note if you are going to rent these. I was bummed as they were so beautiful. I loved this dress as it showed off my assets in all the right places (legs/butt/chest) and hid the part i wanted to hide (tummy). I think if I had to wear this again i might try to add a belt like some others did to add a bit more definition to the midsection but that may have highlighted my tummy as well. i I had a great experience with RTR and will be renting from you again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2012
Overall it was fine.
The dress worked for what I needed but I was disappointed that the dress was not in perfect condition. Much of the beading was missing around the neckline and there were threads sticking out from where beads had fallen off. The rest of the dress was in good condition and it was clear that it had been cleaned. I was still able to wear the dress but halfway through the evening I noticed that more beads were lose so I had to tuck them away. Slightly disappointed but it worked I suppose. The other size I got (medium) was in much better condition but it did not fit appropriately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
December 19, 2012
Gorgeous Dress, felt like a star!
This dress was amazingggg. One of the few at RTR that fits my tiny frame. It was gorgeous and I got tons of compliments. I had to wear a cami under it beause it went way down, but totally not a problem, and I"m sure many other girls would've gone without anyways. Would sooo rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
January 4, 2013
Comfy with a great touch of glam
I rented the dress for a night out at a club in Vegas and it looked great! The neckline and the sleeves added a nice touch of glitter and glam and the color of the dress is beautiful. It was also super comfortable for dancing and hanging out. This was my second style so I didn't get a back-up size, but I'm pretty sure that the large (which I would've chosen) would have been way too big, so the medium was perfect. Sorry I don't have any full length shots of the dress! I uploaded the two that came closest.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
January 12, 2013
gorgeous dress!!! I wish I could have taken a full pose photo :(
fits very well-this is a great dress -- very comfortable to wear. received HUGE compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2013
I wore this dress for NYE, it was perfect!
The dress was loose enough to not have to worry about how much I ate, and tight enough to be sexy! It was fitted in all the right places. It's very low cut so I had to use double sided tape, but it stayed put all night! I would love to wear this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 28, 2011
Not the dress for me
I wanted to love this dress...however it was so unflattering on me! It runs huge too. I was still swimming in the XS and I am usually a true size 4/Small. It also sorta looked cheap. Also, very baggy in the midsection...and not in a good, forgiving kind of way...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
December 5, 2011
A perfect hit - got some whistles from the NYC cabbies!
I love this dress so much I've rented it multiple times. Great things - 1) it hits at mid-thigh for someone my height so if you like a cute, short dress - i'd recommend this for 5'5" women and above. 2) It's best for a large chest as it drapes on top and perfectly highlighted my chest area. 3) the color is to die for! GORGEOUS.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2011
Need Fashion Tape
I loved the color and the detail of the neckline (saved me a trip to the jewelry store since I didn't need a necklace!), but it is IMPERATIVE to wear fashion tape unless you're a full C or larger. I'm an A and have broad shoulders, and I wore the most padded strapless bra I had, but I absolutely needed to wear fashion tape with the dress. Luckily, the ladies @ RTR sent me a few strips as part of a free sample, so I didn't have any wardrobe malfunctions! It was a bit tight in the rear for me, but I have big hips and a behind...I think this dress has potential to be more flattering on a taller woman, or if you're fairly slim with a large bust/torso.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 30, 2011
Very Pretty!
This dress was very pretty and fun.... Forgiving in the waist if you need it to be. The color is really pretty and I loved the silver beading around the neck. Very comfortable, highly recommend.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
January 12, 2012
The compliments on my dress keep rolling in when anyone sees my pictures!
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve and was really happy with how the dress turned out. The bottom of the dress is very fitted, so on me the M was a little snug, and the L was a little big on top, but with the dress tape that was included I didn't have to worry about adjusting it all night. The silver neckline is actually stitched silver beading, I thought it would be sequins, but this actually made it much more elegant looking and photographed really well. The blue was a stood out in a room of black and silver and the silk was heavy enough that I didn't feel naked. I'm 5' 5" and it wasn't so short on me that I felt uncomfortable, it was just right. Great experience and I'm looking forward to another successful rental from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2012
This was the 2nd dress I rented in one order- so I got this dress for $25! Knowing that I had the most glamorous, most unique, and best priced dress for my birthday celebration is a memory I will never forget!
I wore this to my 21st birthday last week, and it was perfect for the party and night of dancing! The bottom definitely hugged my curves better than it shows on the model, but it was perfect if you're curvy and want a flattering dress. The middle was loose and hid everything in the stomach area. The only problem I encountered was one of my own fault- I forgot about the fashion tape that RTR sent with the dress! Definitely a couple pictures that showed a little more of my top than I would like, but overall I would rent this dress 10 times out of 10! Party on :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2012
hot dress
Loved the dress, but I probably shouldn't have worn it to my school's formal since I like to get down on the dance floor. It's a little skimpy to be moving around a lot in, especially around the bust area. Got a lot of compliments, though, and it was very comfortable to wear. Fashion tape is your best friend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 28, 2012
I loved this dress. It was perfect for my sorority's date party Phi-Va Las Vegas! I got compliments on it all night!
The top was a little bit large on me, but I wear a size A bra. Other than that, I think it fit pretty true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
March 1, 2012
It was our last NYE party before my fiance proposed! The dress was really a standout!
This runs a little large up top, it's probably because of the way the fabric drapes. I have a larger chest but my shoulders and build are pretty petite, it's definitely roomy so I would order a smaller size as your back up. It's a beautiful dress and the neckline sparkle looks great in pics!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 28, 2012
Getting the dresses on time and in good condition.
I rented this dress with the "Silver glitz bangle set," "Danielle blue agate earrings," and "Georgie clutch" and accessorized with a belt (because there's essentially just elastic that separates the top of the dress from the bottom). I normally wear a size 4 dress, but had to wear an XS in this dress. I'm also fairly large chested; however, you lose all sense of bra size or boob size in this dress... which my husband didn't care for. I liked the short length... short even for someone who's 5'2".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 9, 2012
Absolutely perfect!
This dress was amazing and the exact same color you see on the website. I'm a little taller than 6 foot and it wasn't too short at all. I would definitely order the free back-up size a size smaller than what you would usually wear; I usually wear a small but the extra-small fit better. The top fit fine and I'm not that big busted, it only slunk down throughout the night because of the beads around the neckline. I wore this to homecoming and it was a huge success! Survived dancing and pictures perfectly fine! Have fun!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2012
Felt so fabulous all night in Vegas! The dress made it a truly unforgettable night!
I fell in love with this dress! It wasn't my first choice, but it looked fun so I decided to try it and I was amazed. It looked and felt great all night- very comfortable and flattering. Just the right amount of sparkle- perfect for a night out in Vegas with my best friend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 25, 2012
My boyfriend told me I was best looking person at the party over and over throughout the night!
I had a blast in this dress. I wore it to a party in downtown Atlanta and it was perfect. Definitely get tape to hold the top up and size down for your extra size. I ordered a S and an XS and the S looked ridiculous on me. It wouldn't let me pick XS on the review, but that's what I ended up wearing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 30, 2012
Loved it so much I bought it!
I had this dress, along with another Nicole Miller, sent to the Ritz in NYC so I could wear it out for dinner and not have to pack so much. I was very happy with the fit and look of the dress. It fit me very well, as I have a large bust. I can see where some people might find the top too low but it showed just the right amount of cleavage on me. I was so happy with this dress that I found it online on sale and purchased it right away.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×