Nicole Miller

Blue Silk Wave Dress

$65 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab those dancing shoes and wear this sexy Nicole Miller cobalt dress. Go with monochromatic earrings and wear Kendra Scott's Danielle Blue Agate Earrings.

Also available in coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs a size large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at mid-section
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs a size large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at mid-section
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue silk crepe de chine(100% silk). V neckline with beaded embellishment. Open sleeves. Bloussant body. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

99 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 55
Large 41
Photos 52
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 23, 2011

Looks better on the model

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the color of this dress and thought it would be perfect to wear over a wedding weekend at the beach, however, when I tried the dress on it was huge on me and very unflattering. I didn't end up wearing the dress.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 28, 2011

Not the dress for me

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wanted to love this dress...however it was so unflattering on me! It runs huge too. I was still swimming in the XS and I am usually a true size 4/Small. It also sorta looked cheap. Also, very baggy in the midsection...and not in a good, forgiving kind of way...
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 9, 2011

Need Fashion Tape

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the color and the detail of the neckline (saved me a trip to the jewelry store since I didn't need a necklace!), but it is IMPERATIVE to wear fashion tape unless you're a full C or larger. I'm an A and have broad shoulders, and I wore the most padded strapless bra I had, but I absolutely needed to wear fashion tape with the dress. Luckily, the ladies @ RTR sent me a few strips as part of a free sample, so I didn't have any wardrobe malfunctions! It was a bit tight in the rear for me, but I have big hips and a behind...I think this dress has potential to be more flattering on a taller woman, or if you're fairly slim with a large bust/torso.
Alissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 30, 2011

Very Pretty!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was very pretty and fun.... Forgiving in the waist if you need it to be. The color is really pretty and I loved the silver beading around the neck. Very comfortable, highly recommend.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 15, 2012

totally worth it

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
this was my first time renting from RTR. i ordered this dress to go to a friends birthday party in hoboken. it was perfect! i felt like a million bucks in this dress... classy and sexy. I ordered the large but ended up wearing the medium. love that i had 2 sizes to choose from! overall... this website and dress are a big hit with me! well done!
Liv
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 9, 2012

Absolutely perfect!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress was amazing and the exact same color you see on the website. I'm a little taller than 6 foot and it wasn't too short at all. I would definitely order the free back-up size a size smaller than what you would usually wear; I usually wear a small but the extra-small fit better. The top fit fine and I'm not that big busted, it only slunk down throughout the night because of the beads around the neckline. I wore this to homecoming and it was a huge success! Survived dancing and pictures perfectly fine! Have fun!!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 20, 2012

Great Dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I loved the fabric -- it was lightweight and reminded me of silk. The beading was much prettier than in the picture. This dress is not something I would normally wear, so it was great to try something different and not be stuck with it forever! It did run a little large. I really am more like an 11; sometimes 10s fit and sometimes 12s. Because of the bust size for the Medium, I stuck to the large and did not opt for a second dress. I was very grateful for the fashion tape that was included to secure the plunging neckline. It accentuated my curves and was very flattering. My fiance loved it on me.
Shelley
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Apple
Jun 14, 2012

Sister's Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my sister's rehearsal dinner, & got so many compliments! This was the first time a lot of people had seen me since I had a baby (I was still hanging on to some baby weight/pooch!), I was told more than once that I was looking like a "hot mom!" Warning, the bottom part is quite tight, so if the butt/thighs is where you carry weight, you might not want to size down. I was worried about the elastic waist part (waist was NOT the area I wanted to highlight), but the top blouses over it no problem. The dress seemed like it had been worn a lot (fabric seemed maybe a touch faded?), and there was a very small (almost imperceptible) white mark on the front of the dress, but not noticeable at all. The dress was also very, very short. I'm tall, and was feeling just a little like it was too short, but after the compliments started rolling in, I decided the length was just fine!
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 30, 2012

Loved it so much I bought it!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I had this dress, along with another Nicole Miller, sent to the Ritz in NYC so I could wear it out for dinner and not have to pack so much. I was very happy with the fit and look of the dress. It fit me very well, as I have a large bust. I can see where some people might find the top too low but it showed just the right amount of cleavage on me. I was so happy with this dress that I found it online on sale and purchased it right away.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Lovely But Not For Me

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't feel comfortable in this dress. It's very lovely, a little too big in the top. I'm sure it would look better on someone else with a different body type than me. Not for women with larger bottoms. I rented another dress along with this one and wore that one instead of this one.
Lola
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 15, 2012

Festive & comfortable

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to the company holiday party and it had just the right about amount of sparkle. It was completely loose and comfortable, you can dance all night and not worry about having a few too many of the tempura appetizers...I would definitely recommend, my one thought is that this would look best on a small waisted person and possibly more boxy on a straight up and down person because of the the elastic in the middle and the overhang of fabric around the middle.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Awesome Dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a show stopper! Overall this dress was pretty close to size. The only issues is that it is silk and bunches a little, but I loved it.
EP
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 16, 2012

sexy but comfy, too!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this while managing a huge New Years party. I loved it because it was stretchy and comfy when I was running around, but it was also really sexy too! The blue color is vibrant cobalt, and the bling detailing at the bust was super sparkly and perfect for the festivities!
Kristi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 23, 2012

Love it

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was my first rental from Rent The Runway and I got tons of compliments. I absolutely loved how the dress fit! My husband was stunned he asked if I could keep it and I said no but he was really wishing I could hehe. My friends asked where I got and how they could rent dresses similar etc. it was the perfect dress for Supervisor Dinner or as we call it Schlitterbahn Prom! Thanks Rent The Runway!
JD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

Perfect for Vegas!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
Beautiful blue color, comfortable and got lots of compliments!
Jacqui
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Good choice for small breasted

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is not flattering for big busted women. Nonetheless, it was beautiful and of wonderful quality. I felt fat in it though.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 15, 2012

perfect when you want to look great but not upstage the bride!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have become a bit more pear shaped than I would like to admit and if I didn't adjust the dress when I stood up it could look a little snug around the hips, but it looked great in all the pictures and I never once felt inappropriately dressed. It is perfect for a "semi-formal" wedding! and is very easy to dance in!
alexis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 29, 2012

It runs small in the thigh area...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I was unable to wear either size, and I had sized up. This isn't a good pick if you have big hips or thighs.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Looked classy yet sexy!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I wore the blue and got tons of compliments. Definitely go for the xs if you don't have a curvy bottom.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×