Nicole Miller

Blue Silk Wave Dress

$65 rental
$385 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Grab those dancing shoes and wear this sexy Nicole Miller cobalt dress. Go with monochromatic earrings and wear Kendra Scott's Danielle Blue Agate Earrings.

Also available in coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs a size large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at mid-section
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue silk crepe de chine(100% silk). V neckline with beaded embellishment. Open sleeves. Bloussant body. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
100 reviews
Fit
Large
(41)
True to Size
(56)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
January 4, 2013
Comfy with a great touch of glam
I rented the dress for a night out at a club in Vegas and it looked great! The neckline and the sleeves added a nice touch of glitter and glam and the color of the dress is beautiful. It was also super comfortable for dancing and hanging out. This was my second style so I didn't get a back-up size, but I'm pretty sure that the large (which I would've chosen) would have been way too big, so the medium was perfect. Sorry I don't have any full length shots of the dress! I uploaded the two that came closest.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
January 12, 2013
gorgeous dress!!! I wish I could have taken a full pose photo :(
fits very well-this is a great dress -- very comfortable to wear. received HUGE compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2013
I wore this dress for NYE, it was perfect!
The dress was loose enough to not have to worry about how much I ate, and tight enough to be sexy! It was fitted in all the right places. It's very low cut so I had to use double sided tape, but it stayed put all night! I would love to wear this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 30, 2013
Great dress and perfect for the event!
the length was great and the size was perfect! The cut wasn't too low either. the sleeves were loose just like the picture. The earrings worked great with it as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 31, 2013
I felt SO good wearing this dress and got SOOOOOOO many compliments on it!
RTR contacted a few days before saying they didn't have the XS in stock and I was worried the Small would be "too blousy" on top, but really, it fit great. There's a little stretch on the bottom too so that made it extra comfy. A GREAT dress that I was sad to send back! :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
February 4, 2013
Loved the sparkles! Great dress to celebrate my 21st birthday!
Again, I'm so pleased with my Rent the Runway experience. The reviews were so helpful in the case of this dress. I had no problems with the sizing because I already know what to expect (so glad I ordered the medium for my back-up!). Even though the top fits loosely, it is still very flattering. The beading is so wonderful; I love sparkly accents! I also ordered tights from Rent the Runway. They were $6 when I bought them, which was a great deal, especially because they turned out to be really comfortable! Overall, I'm so glad to have rented this dress for my birthday!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 15, 2013
Not enough dress for me
Nicole Miller is my favorite designer, but I felt this dress was not as sophisticated or flattering as her other dresses I've tried. The combination of v-neck, exposed arms, and short skirt made me feel too naked. I am not especially tall but I found the skirt very short. If you're planning to wear shapewear on the bottom, it'll have to be briefs. Even short shorts will be visible, and I do recommend shapewear. Unless you have a perfect butt, the clingy nature of the fabric will draw attention to any flaws. I also found it difficult to find jewelry to complement the dress. The jeweled neckline is a mixture of silver and gold but 90% silver. Rather than complimenting the dress, gold jewelry seemed to clash with it. Also, the neckline is so sparkly that adding any sparkly jewelry kind of overdid it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 15, 2013
Versatile and comfortable, but a little big.
I'm usually a size 6 in dresses and wore this in the XS. I am not sure if the one I got was a bit stretched around the bottom band, it seemed like it might have been worn in a bit, but it was a little loose fitting, I wouldve preferred it a little tighter. I don't have a butt at all, though, so that could have been part of the problem. Overall it was a very fun dress to wear, very comfortable and eye catching and super easy for a night out in Vegas. I highly recommend this dress, and may rent it in the coral color sometime, too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2013
SAG Awards Screening & Q&A for Argo
I felt this dress was fantastic!!! It ran a bit large but the color looked great on my complexion (olive) along with the California sun bouncing off the beading. The top was a big heavy due to all the beading, but nothing unbearable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2012
Perfect cocktail dress
Runs large
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
March 4, 2013
Beautiful color, runs large up top.
The beading on the top was very heavy and kept sliding down. I ordered a M and L and even the M was too loose; The bottom however fit perfect. Over all I loved the dress it was perfect for my birthday party on the town. The only reason I deducted a star was because I had to keep pulling it into place all night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 14, 2013
The ease of ordering and shopping at home!
It was a stunning dress, but ran way too large for me to try and make it work. It was also very heavy, but that was because of the beading, which is even prettier in person!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 20, 2013
Rent this dress!!
My first experience with RTR and will definitely not be my last! I felt like a celebrity - this dress is so glamorous, I got compliments all night. The other reviews mentioned that it runs large (and it definitely does) so I ordered a S and XS. The style is very flow-y and a bit on the baggy side so I would recommend garment tape as well. Gorgeous color and the neckline is to die for.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
March 25, 2013
Fun, flirty and comfortable ... received compliments all night on the color and dress.
I wore this to a cocktail hour during a wedding weekend in Florida and loved it. I had ordered a small and medium, wore the medium just because I didn't want to bottom too clingy, plus I have long legs and didn't want it too short. I ended up pinning the shoulders to my bra straps had no issue with the front draping down to far. For myself I liked the fit of the small up top but the medium for the bottom (Straight and narrow build but athletic legs).
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 29, 2013
Bachelorette night
I wore this dress for my bachelorette night. Gorgeous dress! I can see how some people think it runs a little big in the top but it fit me just perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 12, 2013
Best Dress for NYE
This was the perfect dress for New Year's Eve party. You didn't need a necklace b/c it already had sparkle and the earring are a must for a perfect match.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 17, 2013
Great bachelorette party dress & bump-friendly
Wore with a small baby bump to a bachelorette party. Color is beautiful and cut is flattering, especially for a large bust. I'm 5'3", small & short-waisted with a large bust and the Medium fit perfectly (normally wear a 6). There is quite a bit of material on top & a bit low-cut so a smaller chest may not fill it out as well and may find the sizing to run large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 28, 2013
This dress is a eye-catching blue that makes you a stand out!
Not too sexy or fancy - just the right amount of style, color and glitz. Perfect for a formal corporate function when you want to say just enough - but not too much.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 29, 2013
Great dress! Loved it!
This dress was very comfortable to wear because it has an elastic waist and has a loose fit at top. I got a lot of compliments and loved the sleeves. The beading at top was falling off a bit, but still looked nice.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2013
I did not care for this dress. The customer service department was amazing and was willing to assist
I did not care for this dress. The beading was falling off and it's very flashy. It looks subtle in the picture but in person it is shiny and sparkly. It may be nice for a night out with the girls, but it was not appropriate for the occasion I had to attend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
May 9, 2013
SUCH an eye-catching party dress!!
Loved the color, and the sparkles around the neckline really make it a special dress! The only thing was the fit definitely ran large, I ended up wearing the smaller of my two sizes and still had to belt the extra fabric. Even so-- looked great and had a great time in this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 22, 2013
Loved it! Wore it in Vegas for a night out. Perfect!
With a small chest, it was a little big. I had to tape it and was messing with it all night, but still cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
August 6, 2013
Just enough sparkle.
Wore it for NYE, and was the hit of the party. Usually wear size 10-12, and the L fit great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2013
Amazing blue!
This dress totally pops and is very forgiving. I did size down as the top runs big. The neckline dresses it up nicely and the cinched skirt at the bottom brings it together. The color is gorgeous! Definitely pair it up with the matching earrings! My friend in this pick to the far right is also wearing RTR, we had a lot of converters that night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2013
Cute dress, great for a party!
Ran true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 13, 2013
gorgeous dress but low cut
Be aware- if you are petite, this dress may not work for you. I was unable to wear it- it simply dipped WAY too low and was baggy up top, and I am not tiny up there! I think my overall frame was too small for the dress. But it is a GORGEOUS dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
January 10, 2014
Party Perfect
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. It was very comfortable and elegant and the color was beautiful. I would highly recommend this one. It runs a bit large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
February 2, 2014
Great little dress. Its more of a cobalt blue than I thought
Good fit. I had no problem with the top like others in the past. Neckline was great and didnt need to wear a necklace just fun earrings and bracelets/bangles.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 15, 2014
Too large
The dress was way too large on the top and super tight around the hips. The jewels around the bodice were heavy and hung awkwardly. Thankfully I ordered this as my backup dress and didn't need to wear it (instead I wore a long Badgley Mischka which I loved).
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Apple
June 14, 2012
Sister's Rehearsal Dinner
I wore this to my sister's rehearsal dinner, & got so many compliments! This was the first time a lot of people had seen me since I had a baby (I was still hanging on to some baby weight/pooch!), I was told more than once that I was looking like a "hot mom!" Warning, the bottom part is quite tight, so if the butt/thighs is where you carry weight, you might not want to size down. I was worried about the elastic waist part (waist was NOT the area I wanted to highlight), but the top blouses over it no problem. The dress seemed like it had been worn a lot (fabric seemed maybe a touch faded?), and there was a very small (almost imperceptible) white mark on the front of the dress, but not noticeable at all. The dress was also very, very short. I'm tall, and was feeling just a little like it was too short, but after the compliments started rolling in, I decided the length was just fine!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
February 11, 2016
Great for photos
True to size, loved the color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2012
My friends were in awe. They kept telling me it looked awesome!
Wore this to the clubs in Vegas and absolutely loved it. It was the perfect fit, the perfect length so that I didn't have to worry about it, everything. Only warning is that if you plan to ever bend over at all, tape it down. It's a bit low cut so leaning over isn't really an option.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 22, 2012
This was the perfect dress for Las Vegas! I received so many compliments, and a gentleman even pulled me from the crowd to take a picture with him!
I wore this dress to my sorority reunion in Las Vegas. I wanted to show off my petite frame, but not drown in the outfit. This was the perfect dress! I received so many compliments, and a gentleman even pulled me from the crowd to take a picture with him!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 26, 2012
A Friend's birthday
Very fitted at the bottom, and very loose at the top. I wore a belt to make the dress more flattering. The V neck was very deep and I had to use tape to keep my bra from showing the whole time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
November 14, 2012
Classy and comfortable
Rented this for tropical vacation. It was fitted around the butt/hips and loose up top (perfect for hiding belly!). I probably could have worn a M for it to be less tight around the hips. Used a small amount of fashion tape on the front. Overall it was a great dress. Looking back at my pics vs. model pics, I realized I actually wore it wrong - didn't put the sleeves on! Oops. No one (including myself) seemed to notice...
niclivingJune 25, 2013
I love this look, but how did you keep the sleeves tucked or pinned?
NatalieJune 25, 2013
I actually just didn't put my arm through the sleeve holes and it just draped and hung to the sides. (Didn't even realize until the end of the night lol).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2012
Fun dress and comfortable.
It is very generous on top, so a padded bra, once again, came to my rescue. I received a lot of compliments and the color is spectacular!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
March 17, 2013
Fun & Flirty Dress!
Beautiful lightweight material, vibrant color. Bottom fits on the snug side for us curvier girls. I am a size 2/4 on the bottom and this fit snug but stretches a bit throughout the night so it was perfect. The top is very loose fitting and I forgot to get fashion tape to hold the dress in place but I saw there were little straps on the shoulder to put around your bra straps and they worked great!!! I recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 25, 2013
Wore this for my 25th birthday in Atlantic City, NJ!
Beautiful dress!! bottom fit a little snug, but it was fine. The top was a little big, but with some fashion tape everything stayed in place. First experience with RTR and I will absolutely be renting again!! :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2013
Perfect Dress!
I rented this for my 23rd birthday in AC and it was perfect. Got lots of compliments. This dress does run big like most of the reviews say, but I liked it a lot because I felt comfortable in it compared to something that is skin tight. I usually wear a medium but with this dress I wore the x-small and still had room. The color is more blueish-purple in person. Recommend getting fashion tape because the top does hang down pretty low, I used some and was fine the whole night with nothing popping out! Overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 2, 2013
I got so many compliments on this dress. It was perfect for a cocktail party or a fun event!A
The dress fit great. It's blousy on the top but fits close to the body so it's very flattering
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×