Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$68 to buy
$750 retail
Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
624 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(523)
Small
(38)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2010
This is an absolute dream dress! The fit and fabric are very flattering AND comfortable - there is no way you won't feel like a million dollars in it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 193lbs
September 13, 2010
I got a lot of great compliments while wearing this dress. It's absolutely beautiful, and very figure flattering.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2010
This dress was awesome--completely comfortable yet elegant. The little bit of stretch makes it a safe bet for anyone (I ordered too late to get a back-up size and my normal size worked perfectly). Super sexy on the bum. The back was gorgeous but didn't require a complicated bra (just a regular strapless). I would order this dress again as well as other dresses form this designer, LOVED it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
October 6, 2010
The dress fit beautifully and was very comfortable. I was complimented often. The trouble I had was when I walked the bottom of the zipper slipped to the left, to my hip and the lining bunched up around my waist. Very odd. I spent the whole evening adjusting it. It was the correct size all my clothes are 6- I weigh 125 so it wasn't too small. Loved it but for that.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2010
Wore this to a black tie wedding and it was perfect! Flattering, body-hugging fit. The mini-train is a nice touch. The regular length was just right and at 5'5" and 117lbs I fit in both the size 2 and size 4 but went with the 2. Snug enough for me to go bra-less. Really really happy with my rent the runway experience overall.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Body type: Apple
October 31, 2010
Loved it. Elegant and classic. Perfect for my black tie event. Was flattering indeed on the bum. The slightly extra fabric in the mid section was welcomed.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
November 16, 2010
Fabulous dress! True to size, very figure flattering and elegant! Received a lot of compliments. I wore it with a gunmetal embellished cuff and gunmetal drop earrings! You can't go wrong with this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Full Bust
December 6, 2010
Perfect fit. Chatted with a stylist first with my measurements - concluded didn't even need a back-up size. It was perfect!!!! Very elegant, super comfortable and what girl can't use copious amounts of compliments???
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2011
GORGEOUS Dress! What an easy and wonderful experience. VERY comfortable. Exposed, edgy zipper in the back. Very flattering dress that needed a statement necklace (for my taste). Profile was stunning, and the back is lovely. ONLY ANNOYANCE: dress was short on me. I had to buy flats. Heels were out of the question. With flats it worked, yet it was still not floor length...nobody noticed though, because it was so fierce :)
LaurenMarch 7, 2012
Did you get the long or the regular length? I'm the same height as you, plan on wearing flats and want to rent this dress but not sure what length to get!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 107lbs
February 2, 2011
This was my back up dress which i did not wear. The rouching at the front of the dress was not figure flattering. It just made it look like the dress didn't fit me and it diminished my waist. I think it would work better for someone with a little bit of a tummy. The visible silver zipper in the back is not pretty. It belongs on a more edgy, short dress not an evening gown. I do agree with what someone else said about it your butt look good.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2011
I am literally obsessed with this dress! It is soo beautiful! I was really nervous after picking my sizes because i thought I should have gotten a size up(according to my friends Nicole Miller runs small). When it came today though the smaller of the 2 sizes that I ordered ended up being the one to fit. My event is not until tomorrow and I am soo excited to wear this!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2011
This dress is beautiful and classy. I got it as my backup. I decided not to wear it simply because of the train. I made sure to order the "Long" version of this dress because of my height. However, even with 3 1/2 inch heels, the dress was still slightly too long, especially in the back. The train was pretty, but as I walked it got caught under my heels. The event I was attending was a dancing event, so I decided this wouldn't work. Still a beautiful dress - the ruching is very forgiving, the sequin details at the shoulder are beautiful and make it unnecessary to wear a necklace.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2011
I rented this dress for a black tie event for my husband's work. I had a baby two months ago and am 4 sizes bigger than pre-pregnancy, so I was hesitant about how anything would look. This dress is absolutely gorgeous!!! I couldn't have been happier. It is extremely flattering even for bigger sizes (I got a 12). The waist has gathering that hides rolls well but at the same time the shape is fitted and slimming with a slightly stretchy fabric. The bust is low enough to give classy cleavage, but nothing that would make you feel uncomfortable that you are bearing too much. Only needed a strapless bra, nothing fancy for underwear. Beautiful, beautiful dress!!
pamelaFebruary 27, 2012
excellent feedback. tnx!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Apple
April 25, 2011
I rented this for a black tie gala. The neckline is flattering and the exposed zipper is trendy. I ordered a long on the recommendation of a RTR stylist. It was too long even with heels.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
May 1, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress. It fit like a glove. I am 5'5 and with heels I got a 0L. The regular would have been too short. But overall I looked elegant and slim (with a nice booty)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2011
I ordered this dress for my senior prom and I couldn't have been happier with it! I ordered the 4 and the 6 in case it was too snug but the four was perfect! The fabric is amazingly comfortable and had a very elegant flow to it. Simple yet very classy, I would HIGHLY recommend this dress! Also, it came two days early and I got an extra day on my rental. RTR is awesome!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Body type: Petite
May 20, 2011
couldn't wear this dress, so long it was dragging and the tummy was so tight, the arms were too loose. Had to go buy a new dress for the event anyway. Pretty on the hanger, but the zipper is a bit ugly on the back.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
June 4, 2011
I rented this dress for my prom. I'm not usually a dress girl, but when I put this on I felt sexy. I ordered the long, because I'm 6 feet tall, and it was perfect! It was a little snug but that just added to the sexiness of the dress. I can't describe how wonderful this dress is! It fits perfectly! Hugs my body in just the right places!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
October 17, 2011
I ordered this as my primary dress for my husband's annual company party. I ordered the 4R and the 4 was completely true to size. The dress looked amazing and was okay for larger busted people - it was perfect on me and I'm a D/DD. The dress worked well with spanx and a strapless bra. It has a bit of stretch to it, so it hid every imperfection in the torso area. The length was just barely long enough for me with 3 inch heels, so if you are short like me and want to wear 5 inch heels, then go with the long length. I didn't end up wearing this dress because my back up ended up being slightly more comfy and edgy, but this would have worked out great as well. Btw - the model's bum looks kind of strange in the picture, but it is fine in person. I would definitely recommend for all ages... completely appropriate and classy.
NatashaJune 28, 2015
I was wearing Toms wedge heal. Im not sure how high they are. I think they are two inch and i still had a good three inches of dress on the floor.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
October 26, 2011
beautiful! hides any tummy issues but it is tight. feels a little promish to me. but it was very flattering. would be great for a wedding. this was my second choice, and i stuck with my first dress. but for the rental price this dress is AWESOME! i loved it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 8, 2011
I wore this dress to a black-tie optional wedding and it was the perfect choice. It fits true to size and it accentuates all the right areas of the body. I received countless compliments and couldn't be more happy with it! I would recommend this designer to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2011
Size Issue
I ordered this dress for a wedding that I was in. I ordered a 4R and when I tried it on it was a little snug in the hip area. I would also suggest those ordering in the future check the R vs. L and order based on your height with shoes on not actual height(without shoes). If it would have fit correctly I feel it would ahve been a little short with the shoes I was wearing. Luckly i wore the other dress I ordred from Rent The Runway and it was perfect.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2012
Great Dress
This dress is simple and sexy. Very form fitting, exposed back and sequin straps... looks great! I got a lot of compliments! Makes your but look good too. I usually wear a 2 or 4 and beause of everyone else said it was a little tight I went with the 4L. It fit like a glove. Loved it. Glad I didnt get the 2, it would have been to tight. I didnt Im 5'8" and got the long and it was lightly skimmed the floor in flats and was about an inch off the floor in 3 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2012
Wow!
I have never had so many people come up to me to compliment a dress. It is a beautiful fit and was comfortable all night. If you have an opportunity to rent this dress-do it!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 23, 2012
Much too long!
The description said for a woman of 5'1 it would fit with 3 inch heels. Well I am 5'1 and I had to buy 5 inch heels plus hem it another 2.5 inchs with double sided tape so I wouldn't trip on it! I also found it a little loose in the shoulders. I was so concerned the size 2 was going to be too small b/c of all the comments if the dress running too small. The middle section did fit nice, but all around I think the zero would have fit better
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
February 20, 2012
Elegant and Comfortable
I rented this dress for a military ball, and I was very pleased with it. Being as tall as I am, I knew that even the long wouldn't be long enough, but with three inch heels, it was only about three inches off the ground. The dress fit snugly, but perfectly, and I felt great in it. I would absolutely recommend this dress.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
February 29, 2012
When everyone gave me such great compliments on the dress!
This dress was classic, elegant and very sexy! I got tons of compliments the whole night. I wore it to a black die wedding and it was very comfortable. Loved it!
TaniaApril 28, 2012
Im renting this dress for an upcoming wedding and saw your review. The dress looks gorgeous on you!! glad to know it runs true to size! -Tania
AnnAugust 23, 2012
I'm about the same size, what heel height did you wear?
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Jamie! If you are also 5'6, we suggest getting the long length dress. Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 29, 2012
great for my event
I wore it for Mardi Gras and love it! I danced all night... PERFECT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
March 7, 2012
Elegant, simple, and classic
I chose this dress to wear to a black tie wedding after spending hours considering more showy or interesting looks on RTR. I'm very happy I went with this dress. It was simple but elegant and I got a lot of compliments about it. I'm only 5'3", so I was very nervous that the 2-2.5 inch heels I got wouldn't be high enough, but they were perfect. I'm not a big fan of heels, so I was very happy to not have to sport giant stilettos. The dress skimmed the floor a little in the back, but I was still able to walk and dance with no issue. I was a little nervous beforehand about what size to choose, because I have had two kids in two years, and my waist definitely shows it. I wore the dress with a corset type of spanx (not covering my chest or bottom) and that worked fine. The spanx wasn't even really necessary for fit, but it made the dress lie flatter, which was nice. That said, the size charts on RTR are a bit deceptive. I measure my waist as being about 29" at the slimmest point, but RTR lists a size 4 as a 27/28" waist. Because of that, I went with the size 6 as a backup, which ended up being much too big. There were only two small points that bothered me about this dress. First, the ruching (spelling?) on the front at the waistline was a little awkward. It was nice for concealing that area, but didn't lie flat and at times made the dress just look a little wrinkled. Second, the shoulder strap/cap sleeve bit is sequined and the sequins continue just under the arms. This was fine at first, but after a few hours of dancing, my underarms got VERY sore and chafed. All in all, I was very happy with my choice.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
March 15, 2012
I have never felt so beautiful in my whole life. I got so many compliments and my husband couldn't keep his eyes off me. Not only that, but my experience with RTR and the online stylists was wonderful. Customer service was second to none! Thank you RTR, I will be back!
This dress was perfect for my black tie gala! It was beautiful and the fit was amazing. The dress was comfortable and flattering. I got countless compliments. My only small complaint was that the dress was a tad long, even with 4 inch heels. This was my first experience with RTR and I will be back! Thank you!!
KristinaJune 3, 2012
the picture on the site shows no zipper, do all the dresses going out have the zipper showing?
RTRJune 4, 2012
Hi Kristina, there is an exposed back zipper on this style.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 1, 2012
"You look amazing in that dress...wow!" from my boyfriend
Dress fit like a glove, the picture on the model doesn't do it justice, it hugged my curves nicely. I wore 2" heels and used the Hollywood tape to hem the bottom about an inch so I wouldn't be tripping on it all night. Definitely a great dress for a black tie event, I received compliments all night! Works great with a black strapless bra too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 17, 2012
Perfect simple elegance!
This was amazing! I had a black tie event in LA and this dress was perfect! I ordered the 8L as well but because I have athletic legs, when I sat down it was a little to tight. I was able to wear a kitten heel with the dress and it was long enough to tough the ground (thank goodness!). I was told b every one all night how fantastic the dress was. This is the perfect dress of simple elegance! Thank you Nicole Miller!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 20, 2012
Great dress
I had this one and a back up but ended up going with the back up although i loved this dress also. You feel very comfortable in this dress and the back of it has a very elegant feel to it as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 22, 2012
Loved it!
This gown fit wonderfully! I wore this for a gala for my school and it was just right for the event. I would definitely recommend it for others.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 23, 2012
Fabulous dress!
Never in my life had I had as many compliments on a dress! Okay, maybe my wedding day but this dress was just absolutely gorgeous on! I wore it to a black/white gala event and was told by several people that I was "the belle of the ball" I'm loving RTR:) Also - I'm 5'8" and the 4R fit perfect with 2 inch heels.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 23, 2012
Too Long and boxy
This was my back up gown and while it was really beautiful and form fitting, it was very long even when I wore 3 in heels. Also, it did not flatter my hourglass figure. It honestly looked boxy in the bust line area and, while gorgeous on someone with a slim straight figure that is say 5'10", it was not the best fit for me. The sleeves are really beautiful. Note, it really does hug your backside!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 27, 2012
Stunning
Loved this dress. Fit perfectly: snugg in all the right places and drapped elegantly. I didn't even have to wear a bra, it fit and supported so well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2012
Great customer service!
I loved this gown. This was my first RTR experience. I was happy that I ordered a size down in this dress because I felt it ran large, as a I usually wear a 4R. The fabric was comfortable and flattering. I received many compliments and I didn't want to send the dress back! I would definately recommend. I am pear shaped and I felt that it was a flattering choice for my waist and butt, it did minimize my top half but overall I felt great in the gown! You do need a strapless bra. One thing I noticed that was different between the model photograph and the actual dress was the zipper in the back- in the model's image, there is an invisible zipper but in the actual dress the zipper is silver and obvious. I didn't mind this but it was one difference I noticed. Also, after a night of dancing the inside of my arm was scratched up from all of the sequins. Again, not a big deal. I would certainly rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 30, 2012
Slender sleek sophisticated
I was kind of skeptical when ordering a dress from online because of the size. I'm not a "big" girl but i am busty. I was very satisfied with the fit of the dress, it hid my little bits of fat. (: All evening girls and guys were telling me how regal and sophisticated i looked! It had me on cloud 9! The shipping was prompt and they even had a stylist (Emily?) call my house to confirm my order and ask if i had any questions or concerns. The only thing i would tell a woman to keep in mind is that the dress needs a bra that is completely strapless! i had a bra that was very adjustable with the straps and i just ended up taking them off because i couldn't hide them. Other than that everything was perfect from start to finish!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 3, 2012
All of my friends said I looked great in the dress. Loved my experience with rent a runway!
Gown fit perfectly. Looked great! Very comfortable.
ElizabethOctober 29, 2012
Perfect purse with that dress! You look great!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×