Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$80 rental
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
617 reviews
Fit
Large29
True to Size518
Small38
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
April 29, 2014
I absolutely love this dress and received so many compliments on it. It fit like a glove!
Fit my silhouette beautifully while also being comfortable and able to dance the night away in. The length was also perfect for my 5'5" frame
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 29, 2014
Sleek, sophisticated, comfortable!
This dress was perfect for my shape. I wore the 0R. I wore 3-4" heels and it still touched the floor. I am 5'4" and about 114 pounds. I have a really small back but wear a 30D. The dress was stretchy but still fitted. I loved the ruching through the middle and hips. The dress has a small train in the back which is a nice added touch. I wore it simply with earrings and a tennis bracelet and my hair up. I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 29, 2014
Mother of bride to me "You in that dress is absolutely stunning! We've been watching you all night"
LOVED the way this dress fit. It was form fitting making me feel sexy but is also slightly ruched in the abdominal area eliminating any "pouch" self-consciousness. Was VERY comfortable and was able to wear a regular strapless bra without fear of it showing. The length was slightly longer than I was expecting but with my 4 in heels it was perfect. I even took my shoes off to dance and had no issues.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 29, 2014
I received a lot of compliments and felt super sexy!
The fabric is great, it has some stretch and is very soft. The top was just enough embellishment to break away from a completely black dress. I had no problem with the length, it was great with my 3 in heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2014
This was my first rental with RTR and I couldn't have been happier.
I had a black tie wedding to attend so I picked this dress and it made me feel gorgeous! It is a form fitting so if your self conscious about your mid section may want to get some spandex or something. I was worried about the train in the back but actually ended up loving it and it wasn't too long to dance in :). Overall beautiful gown!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
April 27, 2014
So true to size and the service was amazing. No stress what's so ever!
I rented this dress for prom my sophomore year....I wanted something simple yet elegant and that's exactly what I got. It fit like a glove! I was nervous on what sizes to get but the 2 was perfect for me. I didn't wear heels and the 2 regular did just fine. If I did wear heels I would have needed to wear the 2 long. I'm 5'9 and the regular worked amazingly. So many compliments throughout the night! Couldn't have been happier.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2014
It was a perfect fit.
I wish I owned this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2014
Classic black dress for formal event
Wore to a 'prom' themed event. Fit was just fine, I could fit also the 6L but it would probably show food baby after eating dinner, so I went with the 8L. I am 5'7" and was concerned about Regular length vs Long length. If you plan to wear heels that are 3in or higher, go with the Long. With the 8L and 3 inch shoes, my shoes were just covered by the front of the dress, but I wasn't tripping over it. The train in the back was a little bit longer, which was ok. If you want to show your shoes more, or if you want to wear flatter shoes then maybe go with the Regular. The photo color is a bit off, in real life this is a true black dress, very satiny feel. I wore wearing strapless bra with spanx bottoms; I think one of those stick on push-up bras might have worked better, but I coudln't find mine... The material is pretty thin and clingy, so without spanx there will be more lumps. Just a personal opinion, this dress is not super stand-out amazing in cut or in color, it is a pretty standard look. But that makes it great to try out accessories or more colorful makeup! I didn't go crazy on accessories but I think a bright red lip color really helped take the look from meh to classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 20, 2014
Wasn't sure how it was going to turn out, but it fit like a glove!
Loved this dress! Would rent it again in a second. It felt like something out of Mad Men, and accentuated all curves in the best way!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
April 19, 2014
Great
Good fit and very flattering
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
April 18, 2014
Very elegant and comfortable dress!
I ordered this dress for a formal ball I attended because I could not find anything that seemed appropriate for the event at the stores where I live. I ordered a 0P, and the 2P as my backup, but I was informed the day before it was supposed to arrive that the 0P was not available because it was returned in poor condition from the previous renter. RTR kindly offered to send me a different dress that they selected in the requested size as a replacement. I looked at the gown they were sending me, and it did not fit my style, so I opted to select a different one. They ended up sending me three different dresses since they had already begun processing the other order. This dress turned out to be the one that best suited my style and body. It fit great except the straps were a little loose on my shoulders in the back, but I think the 0P would have fit perfect. I was a bit surprised by the long length and train considering it was a petite-sized dress. I only wore 2 1/2 inch heels, so I had to hold the train when walking. I received a lot of compliments about how elegant the dress looked. It's a very comfortable dress, flattering, and not too tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 18, 2014
Loved this dress! Would rent again!
Fit was perfect! I'm a 34DD & was worried that it may not fit but there was plenty of room in the top. I'm also 5'8 & the long was perfect with 2 inch heels. Dress was stretchy & extremely comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
April 18, 2014
wouldn't have it in my closet, but perfect for my formal event
sleek, comfortable, just enough sparkle and skin
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 14, 2014
Fabulous dress for black tie event!
I can't say enough great things about this dress. It was comfortable, form fitting and so flattering. I got so many compliments and really didn't want to take it off! I wore it for a black tie charity gala, and it was really perfect for the event. I got great advice about sizing from RTR stylist Jessica. I had very short notice about this event, and she helped me find this dress and recommended the exact size I ended up wearing.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 12, 2014
Black-tie event, floor-length dress required.
I got this dress in 6L and 8L. Both were extremely tight all over and not flattering on me at all. Both sizes fit the exact same way, I really saw no difference between them. I guess I would've needed an even larger size to be acceptable. The sequins on the sleeves also scratched my arms just trying it on. The dress is pretty and the length was fine with a 3-4 inch heel. Order a size or two up if you decide to get this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
April 9, 2014
I literally loved everything about this dress! It fit beautifully!!
I got so many compliments on it. I loved the fit. I loved the back. I loved that it wasn't strapless. I didn't even need to wear a bra. I would recommend this dress 100x over to anyone with a formal event. I felt like a million dollars in.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
April 9, 2014
Comfort and glamor
The dress was great for a red carpet formal affair. It was the perfect length for my 5'3" frame with my 3" shoes. the cut was great for my larger 34D chest with a strapless bra. The dress wasnt tight and uncomfortable it formed to my skin and was elegant and easy to move in. My Boyfriend lived it and it looked amazing on the red carpet with the accessories I rented ad well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2014
Makes you feel like the belle of the ball!
So happy this was my back-up dress! It fit perfectly & was just the right length w/ 3+ inch heels. I got so many compliments & it was super comfortable to dance the night away.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 7, 2014
Beautiful!
I didn't wear this but I rented it and was torn between the dress to choose! It's so beautiful on!
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 5, 2014
Love the fit, very flattering!
This dress was very flattering. I am very short 5'1 and was worried about all of the formal gowns being too long, but this one fit perfectly! It was a little loose in the bust area and I was worried about it showing the top of my strapless bra, but it was fine. I tried fabric tape but it didn't look right, so I ended up not using the tape and had no problems. I wore this to a black tie event. The sequins on the straps/sleeves are perfect, and not too much flair. I actually own this dress in the deep red color in a 2R, and I did not have it hemmed. I wore 3 inch heels and I honestly the 2P was perfect but the 2R would have been fine too. I think that earrings are better than a necklace with this dress because of the dramatic neckline and sequins up top. Gold or silver goes well. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 2, 2014
Many compliments on the dress!
It is snug around the middle, but the gathered material makes it work. I am almost 5'7 and the regular was fine with 3" heals. It has a train which still touched the floor.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2014
Pretty dress, understated front and interesting back.
I went to a black tie gala and was 5 months pregnant. Fortunately, I wasn't showing too much yet and was able to just go up a size to fit into it. It was a little tight across the chest due to my larger than life boobs from my pregnancy. Overall, the dress was beautiful and just what I needed to feel comfortable in my new shaped body. The only down side was the train. It was pretty long and was stepped on a lot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 31, 2014
sexy dress with stretchy forgiving fabric. Rouching flatters tummy!
Beautiful, flattering dress. I didn't wear because my whole group wore gold as it was an Oscar party, but it looked so good and slenderized that I will rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 190lbs
March 26, 2014
Button at back of dress sadly broke but RTR sent me a new one right away
Dress did not fit and button broke at back
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 24, 2014
I felt beautiful!
So comfortable! This dress was absolutely stunning and so easy to wear. Great experience! I 0P may have been a better length for me but it was not available. My backup, a 2R, would have been way too long and I did not try that one on. Arrived a day sooner than I expected and return was a no-brainier!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 23, 2014
Loved the sequin detail, made for anything but a standard black dress!
Loved this dress, but received it and the zipper has obviously been replaced. It was not the same zipper as pictured on the dress. It looked very worn and banged up, but the dress itself was absolutely stunning. Ended up going with another selection for the night, but would have loved to have worn this, had it not been so "used".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 23, 2014
Simple and elegant, easy to dance in.
After seeing others reviews, I ordered the 2L and 4L and both ended up being too large. RTR was amazing and able to overnight me the 0L. If you're smaller chested, I definitely recommend sizing down. I was able to wear 3 inch heels with the long, with a bit of toe popping out. The wedding I wore this to was not black tie, so I dress edit down with some colorful earrings and a watch. I love this dress so much that I want to keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 21, 2014
Perfect fit for petites!
This was my first rental from RTR and it will not be the last! I was worried about renting a long dress due to the length. Turns out, both the 0 and the 2 fit, but the 0 was a bit shorter, so I went with that. I wore 3 inch heels and the dress grazed the floor slightly, but it worked out great. Like other reviewers said, this dress was comfy and really flattering.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2014
Loved this dress! Will rent again for other events.
I ordered the long version because I wanted to wear tall heels 4" and the dress needed to be past your ankles for regulation at the military event. I received lots of compliments. I felt sexy while being somewhat conservative. Perfect fit, and very comfortable.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
March 13, 2014
Received many comploments
It was great!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 12, 2014
This dress fit PERFECT! I loved it!
The only con is that is was a little long I'm 5'2" but it was nothing a higher heel couldn't fix. This dress was comfortable beautiful and fit perfect like a glove! I hope I have another black tie event soon so I can rent again.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
March 11, 2014
Loved it, felt glamorous and comfy at the same time.
May be a bit long for those of us on the petite side.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 10, 2014
Get This Dress!
I bought a dress from a prom website and it arrived 4 days before my event. I tried it on and it just didn't work so I returned it. When I thought about it, it made no sense for me to actually purchase a dress as this is the very first black tie event I've ever gone to in my 33 years of living (not including prom) and when am I gonna wear the thing again? Also would I want to, the same dress? So RTR popped in my head, thank goodness. I ordered two dresses, this was the one I initially saw and the only one that actually came. They sent me another dress the same color as my 2nd-turned 1st choice, unbeknownst to me. I'm glad I did keep this as an option or I would have been out of luck. Anyway, the fit was perfect. The only thing I didn't like is that since I'm already very thin, an all black dress slims me even more. I would have preferred the turquoise dress by Nicole Miller but I still really did love this one. I wore 4 inch heels and as you can see while standing the dress is long enough to hide my shoes. As I walked you could see my toes peeking through but that was great b/c my heels had some gold detailing on the straps across my toes that I wanted to be seen. One lady stepped on my dress, but she was extremely close to the kid. Easy to walk in, didn't have to lift it up or anything. I can't wait to attend the event next year, gonna RTR for sure.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
March 10, 2014
Very Flattering Fit!
This dress had enough stretch that you could dance and eat in it. Very comfortable and flattering!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 9, 2014
I was so thankful for RenttheRunway! I had no time to shop for a dress, so I am very thankful!
I am usually an 8 or 10, and both fit fine, but in the end I chose to go with the more comfortable dress, it was still tight, but it gave my large tatas room to breathe. I wish I would have had the time and money to buy a new strapless bra and some spanks, but I got a pair of good tights and that worked. I felt like it was a great fit and fun, but I also felt that it didn't give me the best shape, or I think a different dress would have accented my curve and huge breasts better. But overall, I felt classy and beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
March 9, 2014
Too large for a petite body!
I loved this dress on the website but unfortunately it just did not fit properly and was too large/loose across the shoulders, back and chest. I have a short torso so it might work better on a petite body but with a longer torso. The fabric was great and the shimmer over the shoulders was lovely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2014
This dress looks amazing on!
I first ordered a completely different dress, but couldn't zip it around the chest! I was in a panic and RTR sent me this dress and it was so much better than the first!!! It's so comfortable. I ate a ton and still looked fabulous at the event. I am usually a size 4 and I could have worn the size 4, but the 6 was just more comfortable. I highly recommend this dress. It looks even better on!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2014
This dress was absolutely breathtaking! I was so in love from the moment I put it on :)
There were absolutely no cons to this dress. It was worn for a military ball and the compliments were never ending. The fit in the waist area is a little snug and the length runs a little short. The long fit me perfectly with 3" heels (normally I would go with a regular). It hugged all the right places!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2014
The photo does not do this dress justice. It is a stunning gown and I received a ton of compliments
Fit like a glove, didn't need to wear a bra which was nice. The material does not wrinkle which was great since I needed to put it in a suitcase.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
March 4, 2014
I got compliment after compliment all night long.
The in-store dress I tried on was an 8. I don't know who stretched it out like that, but the in-store 8 I tried on was much looser and more comfortable than the 10 they sent. I had to adjust the dress whenever I stood up. It wasn't bad though, just unexpected..
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
6 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×