Nicole Miller

Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$68 to buy
$750 retail
Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
624 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(523)
Small
(38)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
April 28, 2013
Great fit, great black dress
I wore the dress for a black tie charity event for work, and it was perfect. Fit great, and looked great. I received a lot of compliments and many people asked where I got it. I would wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2013
Very comfortable and flattering!
I needed a simple black dress for a formal event and this was perfection. It runs very true to size, (just like another Nicole Miller I rented) and made me feel super skinny! Even though it is a simple dress, the great fit made it stand out. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2013
This was my first choice to wear to a military ball but I wound up wearing the backup!
Well, this dress fit fine and was very attractive, but I wound up wearing the backup simply because I liked the style and fit better. I did not like the ruching around the midsection, which is not really visible in the photo of the dress on the website. I would still recommend it because it is classy and pretty, but I didn't like the ruching and that was the only issue I had with it.
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 6, 2013
A good first-time renting experience!
Overall I enjoyed the dress. I wore it for a black tie event that I was working, and it was comfortable enough to allow me to run around making sure things were going smoothly so I'm sure it's just as comfortable to dance in! I wore it with a strapless bra, but I didn't have to do much of that fidgety secret-bra-adjustment move that all women perfect I liked the dress but I'm glad I'm only renting because I had 2 complaints. One, the dress has a small amount of ruching in the front and back that isn't apparent in the picture. I found that it made me look like the dress didn't fit well or was bunching up. Two, the zipper in the back didn't lie flat, it would buckle out in 1 or 2 places. I'm bigger in the bust than I am in the hips, and I do have a short torso, and I think both of these things contributed to the zipper buckling phenomenon that I experienced.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 10, 2013
Classic Black Dress!
Very true to size, was extremely flattering. Loved the sequin straps. Added such a nice touch to a classic black dress :)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2013
Beatiful and elegant. Fit like a glove.
I wore this dress to the Special Forces Army Ball. It was perfect for the occasion. Loved it! It hugged my figure and really defined my hour glass shape. It has thin fabric, but wearing spanx underneath was undetectable. I wore flats and the length of the gown flowed perfectly touching the floor. This is an amazing dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 13, 2013
Absolutely loved the dress!!
My daughter rented this for her junior prom and loved the dress. She is about 5'3 and 105 lbs. We were worred the 0 would be to big because she is so tiny but the fit was perfect. She felt very elegant and didn't want to return the dress. We would definitley use RTR again. She is holding the dress up because it was raining and she didn't want to get the bottom wet.
BrittanyMay 16, 2013
How tall were her shoes?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 14, 2013
Extremely flattering cut, classic Hollywood look!
I wore this dress to prom, and stood out amongst the other dresses of florescent shades and garish ruffles. The train was slimming, and accentuated my backside (tastefully!). The back cutout (not shown) provided a flash of skin - enough to be sexy AND classy. As for sizing, I'm 5'8", 127 pounds, and I usually wear a 2L with 4 in heels, but opted for the 0L instead as it fitted my waist better.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
May 14, 2013
This dress fit like a glove. I received tons of compliments and felt super comfortable!
I actually wore the size 6 to the ceremony but it felt a bit large in my shoulders/bust so ended up changing into the size 4 for the reception. The 4 fit perfectly with 4 inch heels. Great dress for a black tie wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
May 15, 2013
Great dress!
Wore this for a black tie event at business school. Really comfortable dress, easy to wear. Was a bit long even with tall shoes - and it does have a slight train so FYI, be careful during cocktail hour! I used fashion tape to make more of a sweetheart neckline - but it didn't stay long.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 17, 2013
Wore this dress for my Master's degree recital. The dress was comfy, sexy, and classic. Loved it
Dress fits well and is form fitting. A very sexy dress and classy as well
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 29, 2013
Elegant in person!
This is a beautiful dress and very classy. Unfortunately, I did not wear this dress, as it was my back-up look. The fit was great and flattering. I tried the dress on with 3.5 inch heels, no bra, and no spanx. Very comfortable even with a small train. Love the sparkly neckline. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 2, 2013
Amazingly fast delivery!
I rented this dress for a charity ball super last minute (less than 24 hours before the event) and it was shipped and on my door step the next morning! No sweat! The dress was amazing! Super great fit and very flattering neckline. I like a classic yet sexy style and this dress was exactly that! I am 5'9'' and the 4L fit perfectly with 3.5'' heels. The fabric was very thin but still didn't show a panty-line. I would rent this dress again in a heart beat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
June 4, 2013
gorgeous gown - lots of compliments
rented this dress for a gala that I had to wear black. Absolutely LOVE the style of this dress (I now own it in blue). the stretch is just enough to make it hug your body without being too tight and the extra bling on the back adds some fun to a black gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 5, 2013
would rent again
This was a fabulous dress. Went with my regular size with SPANX underneath. Wore a strapless bra as the straps on dress are far set. Sequins did rub my arm raw by end of night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
June 6, 2013
Elegant!
Wore this dress for a charity gala in NYC...it was spectacular! Love the back (even has an exposed zipper for a fun touch) and the shoulder glitz brought the dress alive. Would happily order this again. Maybe a little on the small side, I normally wear a 6, but decided to wear an 8 because it was a more comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
June 7, 2013
I wore this dress for a Mardi Gras ball, and everyone loved it!
Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 9, 2013
Perfect for my baby bump
Although this dress was not called out as a bump friendly style, it was perfect for the occasion, a black tie wedding with my 22week bump. I usually wear a 0 so the 2 was perfect!! Would def recommend to others who are pregnant and carrying higher up. This fabric has the perfect amount of stretch.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2013
This dress was GORGEOUS!
This was my first time using RTR and it was a great experience! I was nervous about renting, and also rented a second dress for $25 to see how it looks and decide if I'll wear it as Mother of The Bride to my daughter's wedding in September (I will be ... I LOVED it!). This dress was gorgeous, and I felt beautiful in it. I ordered the 4R & 6R and decided to go with the 6R because the 4 was just a bit too snug. I'm 5'3" and wore it with 3" heels and the length was perfect. The back of the dress is as gorgeous as the front. I loved the little train in the back and how the dress hugs your body but was totally comfortable all night long. I would recommend this dress and plan on becoming a regular RTR customer as renting a different & beautiful designer dress for events is just too much fun!!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2013
Felt like a princess!
This dress was absolutely stunning! It fit like a glove and was the perfect length for the 2 inch heels I wore with it . The only reason why I am not rating it 5 stars is because I had to adjust the back all night as the zipper that ran down the back kept moving over to the right side. I had a great experience with RTR for my first time and have also decided to rent from them again for another wedding this weekend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 20, 2013
This dress is purely simple elegance and understated sexiness.
The fit was perfectly true to size. After reading the reviews I decided to go with a OR and it fit like a glove. The only con about the dress was the back sequins sat a little awkwardly on my back and the neck line wasn't my favorite. Other than those two things the dress was perfect and a stand out for all the right reasons. Black isn't usually my first choice as a dress color because I am more of a colorful person but this dress met all my expectations. It is not the easiest dress to dance in so keep that in mind. Over all another great RTR experience.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 16, 2013
Beautiful dress!
This dress was beautiful!!! Unfortunately, it was my back up dress and I didn't wear it. :( I had a really hard time choosing between this dress and my first choice. This dress is so simple, yet classic and elegant. I'm 5'3 and rented the 0R. With 3 inch heels it was still a little long for me, so I temporarily used fashion tape to hem it in the event that I had decided to wear it. (I can't go higher than a 3" heel due to a knee injury, but I think a 4" heel would've been perfect.) Other than the length, the dress fit perfectly. It was so soft and comfortable and I loved the back! I was sad to send this back without wearing it, but will definitely rent this again when I have another formal event to attend!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 23, 2013
Understated elegance. Sophisticated & sexy! Worn to a black tie wedding and I felt like a Queen!
OMG- This dress is so much more than it appears in photos. It fits like a glove. The ruching in waist and thru hips is VERY flattering & forgiving! It was a bit snug in chest. I am a 34DD and I would have liked more room but you could not tell it was a wee bit tight- the dress looked amazing! The dress moved gracefully on me and the train just skimmed the floor behind me. I've never worn a train before and was worried that it would hinder my movement but it did not. The dress material flows beautifully with your body- I received so many compliments. Two of my friends said I looked like a movie star!!! I love this dress and would rent it again!!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 6, 2013
gorgeous dress, loved how it fit and felt against my body
great with 3" heels, fits snug in all the right places
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 7, 2013
Classy, Sexy
I didn't actually wear this dress as it was my back up but I did try it on. I would recommend a long as the regular was shorter than I would have liked. The dress seems to run true to size and has little stretch to it but not much. Overall it was a pretty dress and I would consider renting it for another event.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
August 19, 2013
Comfortable with a killer neckline.
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and felt like a millions bucks. The sequins on the shoulders was subtle but really made the dress stand out. I love this dress! Great for ladies with a lot up top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2013
really elegant!!! classic
just love the dress
PaulinaSeptember 17, 2013
q guapaaa amigaaa!! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 27, 2013
Very flattering dress, enjoyed the train
I loved this Nicole Miller dress - it was very flattering and I received a lot of compliments. If you are big busted it might be a little tight on the chest - I didn't have room to wear a bra with the dress but it worked fine without one. My only slight annoyance was the back zipper wouldn't stay straight, the dress kept twisting and I was constantly adjusting it to be straight. This will be more of a problem if you are sitting and then standing up a lot (which I was).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 27, 2013
omg this was a hit with everyone. I was best dressed there!! will be renting again love love love!!
I must say this dress fit like a glove and I took pictures of the shoes I wore as well cause I am 5'2 and you have to have shoes like this if you don't want to walk on it. never had to lift my dress while dancing and the compliments I was getting were over whelming I loved it I have nothing bad to say about this dress. it's a must have for any occasion!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 103lbs
September 5, 2013
Wore it with my fiance for a formal affair! Fit was amazing. Dress was comfortable!
Cut and fit of the dress is very flattering. I'm nearly 5'9' and the 0R was perfect with heels on. My Fiance loved the way I looked in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 9, 2013
Great for a formal work event
A comfortable, glamorous dress. My husband has a formal work event that his company hosts annually. It's a great time to dress up. This dress was work appropriate and I wore the larger of the two sizes that I rented so it wasn't too body-con, although both sizes fit and the cut is great! I received many compliments, like always with a dress from RTR.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2013
Absolutely perfect
This dress is absolutely stunning, particularly for my body type (smaller on top). Perfect with an updo as well given the shoulders. Plenty of confidence and compliments - recommend for anyone!!!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 18, 2013
The whole experience was amazing. I was so impressed to get 2 sizes because I needed to try both.
The fit is actually a little large in the bust as I normally wear a 12 but I opted for a 10 so I wouldn't fall out of the top. I got nothing but compliments the whole night. The only con is that after wearing the dress for 12 hours, the sequins rubbed up against my underarms and made me uncomfortable. Other than that I LOVED this dress and my RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 20, 2013
Beautiful dress!
My only compliant was that the length was off. I am 5'4 115 and the length of the 2 was perfect but too big but the 0 fit like a glove but was a tiny bit too short. I ended up sort of in a time crunch so I went with the 0 and went and bought shorter heels to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 22, 2013
Great dress for large bust! Gorgeous on!
I loved the neckline of this dress and the sequins added just the right amount of glamour for a formal night wedding. I got a ton of compliments on the dress. It was tight, but I didn't even try on the backup size because my husband said it looked great. I didn't realize it had a train, but it only got stepped on by my husband once :) This was my first RTR rental and i will definitely be back when I need a dress. Great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 24, 2013
Very convenient and easy to use!
Beautiful dress, fits true to size
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2013
Super sexy!
The only complaint I would say I had was the dress was a little long for me and I wore 4" heels. Otherwise, I would say the dress fit perfectly. I received so many compliments! I definitely recommend this dress for a special occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 3, 2013
Best Dress I've Rented so far
I absolutely loved this dress. It was so flattering and I loved the little sleeves and back. Would HIGHLY recommend. Couple of things to look out for: 1) It is VERY form fitting. This is just how it is supposed to be. If you are uncomfortable in a super form fitting dress, this one is not for you. 2) I wore spanx under the dress and it had a tendency to twist around while I was walking, so the zipper wasn't straight down my back. I kept having to pull it back into place. I don't think it would have done this if I had not been wearing spanx, but it was kind of annoying. 3) it is long and gets wrinkled in the shipping package. Be prepared to steam it when you get it, unless you don't care. Otherwise, I think this was a great dress. Like I said the little sleeves were just enough to cover my armpit fat and the material had enough give that I could enjoy myself and not feel too constricted. Also, I'm fairly chesty and I never felt like I was going to fall out of the dress. I never felt like it was too revealing. Just the right amount of sexy and class. Really liked this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 3, 2013
Stunning dress!
I wore this to a formal event for a professional organization (mostly lawyers) and received compliments all night. It is very flattering on curves and still classy and appropriate for a professional event. The 4R fit me like a glove. I contemplated wearing the size 6R because it offered a little more breathing room, but it was too long and too big up by the shoulders. The sequins did chafe a bit on the arms by the end of the night, but that was a small price to pay to look and feel absolutely gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 6, 2013
perfect sexy fit!
I couldn't believe how fabulous this dress looked--fit in all of the right places without being trashy. Felt like a red carpet star!
See more reviews:
6 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×