Nicole Miller

Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$68 to buy
$750 retail
Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
625 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(525)
Small
(38)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
September 22, 2012
The sequin shoulder detail was beautiful. My favorite part of the dress was the upper back cutout.

Even though I ordered the long size, the dress was just barely long enough on me. I wore a 2 inch heel, if I had worn anything taller the dress length would have looked strange. It hugs the body nicely, but without making you look unflattering. This was one of my favorite dresses I have ever worn and I got a ton of compliments all night.

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
September 23, 2012
Four Year Anniversary

I rented this dress for my fourth Anniversary. I never went to prom as a teen and I wanted to go out and be dressed up. I loved this dress, it was sexy but classy. It also showed off the assets which my husband enjoyed. I felt so beautiful and received many compliments.

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 200lbs
September 26, 2012
LOVED the whole RTR experience - from getting 2 different sizes to the free return shipping!!

This dress was PERFECT for a formal, black tie event I had to attend for work. It was professional and mature, but still fun with the sequins and exposed zipper in the back. I have a pretty athletic build, and the one irritation I found was the sequins rubbed under my arms and was pretty annoying towards the end of the night. Also - I ordered the 6 and the 8, but had to go with the 8 because of length (and I'm only 5'6). If you're taller, I'd definitely order up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
September 26, 2012
this dress fits amazing, it looks really elegant, got lots of compliments! loved it

This dress fits true to size, if you have curves it fits amazing and it is really comfortable. I got compliments all night. Would definitely rent it again! thanks RTR

Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 8, 2012
This dress was very flattering and comfortable. I loved the neckline.

The material and cut of this dress was very slimming. I loved the neckline, it was very elegant and not too revealing. It fit my chest well too, which is usually difficult. The only tricky part was finding a bra that would not show. I ended up using a bra with removable straps and relocated the straps, you could also just go with strapless. I wore this to a black tie wedding and it was perfect.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 9, 2012
Great experience. Overall dress fit perfectly.

Dress was a little long, but overall was perfect. Fit like a second skin and was so comfortable. Forgot i was even wearing a dress. Attended a wedding in Napa and half the wedding was wearing RTR. It was a great experience. Will definitely use them again for a wedding in November. The ease of receiving and returning the dress only helped to make the experience that much better.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 9, 2012
Wore it for a black tie formal wedding and people loved it!

Fit very well and was very flattering especially in the middle section. Enhances and hides the trouble spots. I wore 4 inch heels and the length was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 14, 2012
Great dress! Ton of compliments.

A little tight in the bust, but other than that perfectly true to fit. I got so many compliments, it was a showstopper! Can't wait to rent again!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2012
This dress was amazing!!! I loved it!

This dress was amazing!!! I loved it! I ended up wearing the 8L, but would have been better in the 6L. The 6L wasn't available for my event date, so I took a chance and went with the 8L...it was roomy but still looked great! I highly recommend this dress to anyone attending a black tie event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
October 17, 2012
BEST RTR DRESS I HAVE EVER RENTED

The dress fit perfect and hugged me in all the right places. It was comfortable and easy to dance in. It was the perfect dress for a black tie wedding. The only con is that there is a small train so people kept stepping on it all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
October 19, 2012
Loved it!

Looks better in person than in the pictures. Fabric feels high quality. I liked the low back but not so low that I couldn't wear a strapless bra with it. I normally wear a 00. So I was worried about finding a dress that would fit me. The dress I order originally was too big at the smallest size. They suggested I try a Nicole Miller dress as they said she is better for smaller sizes It fit perfectly..

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 20, 2012
Fit like a glove!

I ordered the 0R and the 2R. The 0R fit perfect, but when I got it the clasp was broken. I was able to tie it with some black string for the event (which was a bit of a ordeal). Other than that, the dress was amazing!

Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 21, 2012
Gorgeous Gown!!!

The dress fit like a glove. It was a little long, but at 5'4, a pair of 4 inch heels made it just the right length. It was stunning, comfortable, and very appropriate for our military ball. No one else had a dress like it there, and it stood out for all of the right reasons. I had the best experience with Rent the Runway, and will definitely use them again for future events.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 23, 2012
Loved this dress and got wonderful compliments, despite a big flaw!

I got a size 2L and 4L. I ended up wearing the 2L and it fit perfectly except for one thing. The bottom of the dress was frayed from it not being hemmed. I checked the other size and its bottom was nice and smooth and a perfect length. However, because the 2L wasn't hemmed and was all raggedy, it was too long and I ended up tripping on it multiple times, even with 4 inch heels. It also kept getting stuck on my shoes. It was pretty irritating and disappointing because everything else was beautiful. Overall, I still loved the dress and was complimented plenty on it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 26, 2012
elegant evening

Dress was gorgeous. I have always been a Nicole Miller fan. Loved the sequin detail, added a fun element without being over the top. Dress was form fitting. Definately would not wear if feeling bloated. Length was perfect wearing 4" heals, dress still touched the ground in front. Great dress.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 7, 2012
GREAT DRESS

The dress was beautiful and I felt like a 50 year old princess! Great quality dress that zipped right up with side pleats to hide my pop belly! I will definitely rent the runway again for my next event!

Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2012
Perfection in a box...

I have zero complaints about this dress. It fit beautifully and I would order it again in a heartbeat. I look forward to using RTR again soon

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
.

LOVED this dress! It is very flattering and sleek. I wore it for a black tie wedding and got lots of compliments. Thanks RTR!

Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2012
It was Beautiful and elegant, but wasn't my favorite. You can definitely use it for a Gala. Great!!

The measurements were exactly. The material wasn't as hard as I thought, didn't hold as much as I thought.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 18, 2012
This was absolutely the easiest experience ever!! I highly advise RTR!

The material of this dress is fabulous--there is slight rouching at the waist and it's extremely forgiving and flattering. My figure is athletic and boyish, so I loved the silhouette it gave me. It was slightly large in the bust, but I needed the 6 for the booty. The only downfall was the small train on the dress--it turning and twisting a little awkward, but (of course) it looks great--so all is well!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
November 20, 2012
Classy and fun all at the same time!

Loved this dress. It is classic and classy but the sequins give it a fun twist. I usually wear a 6 but it wasn't available, so I had to wear the 8. It was a bit big but fine and worked well with tape to keep it from sliding down more than I wanted. The long was touching the floor with 3.5 heels, I would order a regular if I rented it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 26, 2012
Great Dress!

If I could buy this dress I would. It was very comfortable and soft...I didnt need to wear a bra either which is a huge plus. Ordered the 4R and 2L but wore the 4R. It was still very long so unless you're 6 feet tall I wouldnt worry about the length. I had on 5 inch heels and it was still touching the ground, it also has a small train in the back which is nice (but a few times people stepped on it). My only complaint is the sequins under the arm started to rub alot and it made my arm red towards the end of the night. I'd still wear it again tho :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 28, 2012
Feeling good in what I am wearing- understated but beautiful- lots of compliments!

comfortable and made me feel sexy and beautiful

Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2012
Lot's of compliments!!

I didn't anticipate a little weight loss on my part so it was kinda loose, but still it was definitely true to size. So long as I kept it adjusted (particularly around the boobs) it was hardly noticeable. I was also a little too tall for regular length and slightly too short for long lol, so I found myself needing to lift my skirts every so often (especially for stairs). And while the very modest train is gorgeous it sort of backfired on me. I wore the gown to a Marine Ball with my husband. Men just in general might be expected to be a bit careless about watching their step around a lady's gown, but make them marines and add liquor... Dress-awareness on a scale of 1 to 10 drops into the negatives. Great dress all around, though!! The kind I think just about anyone would feel amazing in. :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2012
As a mom, I loved the ease of having a dress delivered to the door!

It fit like a glove! I would buy this dress to have for the rest of my life! There is no way you will be disappointed!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2012
My RTR moment was not having another dress in my closet and someone else paying for the dry cleaning

I loved the way the dress fit, felt and the compliments I received. This was my first RTR rental, but will not be my last!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 10, 2012
The dress was perfect for the wedding I went to. The material was light and comfortable.

Runs true to size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
December 10, 2012
Rent the runway was great.

This dress is a true size 0. I am 5'4 and this dress was perfect with 3 inch heels. Would definitely rent it again.

Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 11, 2012
Dress was gorg!

I am only 5' 6" so I wouldn't normally choose a L, but I am glad I read previous reviews and did because I would have had to wear flats otherwise. The hem on the bottom of the dress had fallen down and I was nervous that it looked bad without a clean line, but honestly if the hem wasn't down, the dress would have been too short. And it wasnt noticable with the dress on. Overall, love!

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2012
Sleek, elegant look!

I loved this dress. It fit like a glove and I felt completely comfortable in it the whole night of a very formal affair. It's not constrictive material, and having the ruching along the hips actually is more flattering than you would think. The back is sexy and spectacular, it was a great look and I felt great the whole night.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2012
Wore this to a black-tie optional wedding, and I felt great all evening long!

I'm a size 2 pant, 34DD bra, and small top. The 2R fit me perfect! I was worried as this was my first time, but it was a wonderful dress. It was comfortable and flattering, but not too tight. Received many compliments! I posted the above photo on Facebook and received SO many "likes" and comments -- from people I hadn't talked to in several years -- saying how great I looked. :) My only con, which I was somewhat expecting, is that by the end of the night the sequins rubbed the back of my arms.

HDecember 13, 2012
Did you wear a bra with this dress? If so , what kind? I am trying to figure out what to do.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2012
Perfect fit for an amazing evening at the Smithsonian Portrait Gallery.

This dress is beautiful! It's a classic fit, and complimented my body nicely. I received so many compliments. I have a large cup size (34DD) and a very small waist, but I was able to wear this dress without a bra and it still looked great. The size 2 was a perfect fit for me. My only complaint is that the sequins on the sleeves are a bit itchy, but I hardly noticed after awhile. I loved this dress so much I may rent it again in another color! Thank you Rent the Runway! You made my company holiday party a success! (I'm 5'5, size 2, a 34DD, and I wore this dress without a bra, and with 4' heels and the length was perfect.)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
December 23, 2012
The dress fit like a glove - super comfy, but so elegant!

I wore a 2L with flat sandals to make sure my feet were covered - the length was perfect. The dress is snug but hugs in all the right places. The fabric is thick enough that you can wear it with spanx and nothing will show. Beautiful and easy dress, I highly recommend it!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
December 27, 2012
The dress was very simple and comfortable!

The dress fit true to its size! I wore three inch heels and the length was perfect. I really liked to cut of the front of the dress.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 28, 2012
Beautiful black tie dress with a modern edge

I rented this dress for a black tie optional wedding right before Christmas, and it was a gorgeous dress. Unfortunately my normal size (4) was unavailable in the length I wanted (R), so I ordered a 2R and a 6R instead. The 2R fit but was definitely very tight, and a little short. The 6R was the perfect length (I'm 5'5" and wore 3 inch heels), and although it was a little looser than I would have liked, it looked great on. The 4R (my normal size) definitely would've been the perfect compromise between the two sizes I ordered, therefore I would say this dress runs true to size. I loved the ruching on the back and the exposed zipper - it made me feel more modern and not so old-school black tie. I would recommend this dress for anyone that has a black tie event to wear it to, especially if you want to stand out in a subtle way.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2012
Absolutely gorgeous dress!!! Wish I could buy it! Am renting for another wedding this month!

This dress was the most beautiful dress I have ever worn (aside from my wedding dress of course!) It was incredibly comfortable and I love that it came in a petite because long dresses are always way too long for me even in heels. The dress came in perfect condition without a wrinkle. There were several girls wearing RTR at the wedding and one even wore the same design but in the purple sequin! I seriously wish I could wear this dress to every wedding. Loved!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 31, 2012
Can't wait to use RTR again!

First time using RTR and I was extremely satisfied! The only problem I encountered was that the "Size & Fit" details said that the regular length would be floor length on a 5'3" person with 3" heels. I am 5'3" and if I wore anything taller than flats with the 0R it would have been to short, so although the 2R was a tiny bit big in the waist area, it was the right length and it still worked out great. The only thing I would have done differently was order a 0L as my second size instead of a 2R.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
January 1, 2013
Got compliments all night long!

Loved this dress but the only con was the beads on the shoulders rubbed my arms and it hurt a little.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2013
First experience with RTR. I will be back! Dress was beautiful and process was so easy!

Dress was for a formal event and after spending hours looking at pictures/reading reviews I decided to give this one, and another dress, a try. This one was perfect as it fit true to size and hugged in all the right places! I received several compliments and was thrilled with the way it looked. It was in perfect condition. The other dress (Badgley Mishka, sequin stardust gown) did not fit quite as nice, so I was glad that I had went with a second option. I did not use a personal stylist at I was on hold for a long time, so just ordered off website. When I do this again, will use the stylist to assist as they might have helped with the sizing on other gown. Overall, great experience and would recommend dresses and process.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 4, 2013
Classic look. Great dress for formal affair.

I was incredibly impressed with this dress! I was unable to order a backup size, so I was a little bit nervous. Luckily, the style expert's advice was spot on. I was also worried about the length of the dress being that I am only 5 feet tall. The length was perfect with 4'' heels (though I would have preferred something a bit shorter so as to prolong my time on the dance floor). This dress comes in other colors (red, blue...) but the black was timeless and perfect for the white tie event I was attending. The sequins did not bother me one bit (other reviewers had different experiences). I am hoping to rent this dress (another color) for a wedding in the spring - can't wait!!

HelenJanuary 4, 2013
Nice Look.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×