Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$80 rental
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
622 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(521)
Small
(38)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 8, 2014
Gorgeous dress for a black tie wedding!
This dress fit my body perfectly! It's subtle ruching hid any imperfections around my midsection I was concerned about. It was perfect length with around 3 inch heels. The dress was so comfortable and was easy and fun to dance in. There is a slight train on the back of the dress that did catch my heels once or twice so just be aware when walking up and down stairs. The sequins on the dress made it pop and the cut of the dress made my 32A chest look fantastic! Highly recommend!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 31, 2014
I loved this dress! It was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended and I felt beautiful!
I thought this fit very true to size. It was form fitting but not too tight.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2014
I felt like a million sexy bucks in this dress!
I rented this dress for a formal masqaurade holloween party and it was perfect! I felt super sexy, the dress highlights all your best assets and hides any imperfections.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 20, 2014
Comfortable and elegant for black tie dinner
I normally wear size 4 and was worried about length (I'm 5'3") so I ordered both 4R and 6P. I ended up wearing the 6P because the 4 was too snug in the mid-section and hips. The 6P was more comfortable overall and the length was good with 2" heels. The regular length was a bit too long and I didn't want to constantly worry about tripping. My one minor complaint would be the neckline which is straight across--it would be more flattering to have a nicer shape like a little V or sweetheart neckline. Other than that, I was very happy wearing this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
August 17, 2014
AMAZING dress!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. Hugs your curves perfectly. Sultry, sexy, comfortable and classic. The back of the dress has a small train that I LOVED! I got so many compliments. I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 12, 2014
Better in Person Than Pictured
This dress a lot better looking than pictured. It is very classic but the detailed back and straps give it a unique look. This dress was my runner up since the first dress I picked did not fit right at all. Rent the Runway was so helpful they recommended this dress to me. At first I was skeptical of ordering because it looked to simple but I am glad I did. This dress stretches very nicely and hugs your curves. I was worried the top part would hurt my under arms since usually shiny material does but it didn't bother me at all. I was able to dance all night with no problems of feeling like it would rip on me. Would totally recommend. With sizing it runs true to size I am usually between a 4 and 6. The size 6 seemed pretty tight at first but within minutes it adjusts to your body where I did not feel like it was too tight. I could have worn the 4 but that was not available. I wore a regular size 6 i thought it would run too long since I am short but it wasn't. If you are taller than me go for the long size if available.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 7, 2014
great dress, not the star of the show, but perfect for formal wedding.
nice fit, very comfortable. was a little shorter than I imagined, but not problematic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
August 6, 2014
Felt very elegant in this dress...wore it to a NYC black tie wedding
Hugs every curve on your body
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 3, 2014
The dress was a huge hit at the wedding. The sequins on this dress are subtle, but get the job done
Perfect fit. I got so many compliments and felt like a celebrity in it. #wearthis
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
July 21, 2014
It was simple but very elegant and it fit great.
I'm 5'2'' and I wore the dress with heels and the length was perfect. It was really pretty and it was comfortable.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
July 16, 2014
How beautiful this dress was.
I have an athletic build the 4L fit perfectly for someone with a small bust, I got a ton of compliments on it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 15, 2014
So flattering!
Arrived a little dirty on the train- so I ended up wearing the other size. I received so many compliments at a formal wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 12, 2014
Perfect for a formal black tie event
Fits true to size. Great dress for a black tie event. The sequin sleeves are the perfect addition!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 4, 2014
This dress is amazing. I n
This dress is amazing. I usually steer clear of black b/c I want to stand out (and I steer clear of Nicole Miller b/c she's so ubiquitous) but I tried this on at RTRW's showroom and didn't want to take it off. That's the thing about Nicole, she knows how to fit a woman. I had been vacation eating and had a little belly pooch and it sucked me in and emphasized all the right curves. Everyone told me how thin and amazing I looked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 28, 2014
This dress was beautiful, but I wore my back up dress instead!
The dress was nice. I ordered the 8L and the 10L and both were a good length. I'm 5' 5 1/2" and wore 5" heels. The dress touched the floor and was great. The black sequins were a little shinier than i expected them to be, but it was a nice dress. The 8L was a little too snug, and the 10L was a little too loose, just the way the ruched materials gathered around the waist wasn't as flattering as I'd hoped. If I had not had a back up dress style, I would have happily worn the 10L. It was a well made dress and was beautiful!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
June 26, 2014
Perfect for formal wedding
FIt was comfortable and forgiving - propped the twins up nicely. Me likey-ed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 24, 2014
I wore this to my husband's work party and took our family holiday photo in the dress.
Shows off your figure in a flattering way. Good for big bust 32F. I wore when I was still carrying pregnancy weight and felt like it very slimming.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
June 24, 2014
Liked the dress but it was too short!
I liked the cut of the dress but it was too short! I'm only 5'7" and it only came down to my ankles. I usually like my dress to cover my shoes and I had bought some really nice heals that I wasn't able to wear. The dress is very flattering and even though I usually wear a 4 I was able to wear a 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 24+
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 250lbs
June 22, 2014
So many options during a crisis!
Fit was great!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 22, 2014
Looooooove this dress. Received compliments all night long.
Amazing dress!!! Very comfortable and the gathering at the tummy is very forgiving. Only thing I didn't like was that the zipper on the back was exposed, but for how well the dress fit and how much I liked the style, I got over the zipper pretty quickly. I have never had so many complete strangers come up to me just to compliment me on my dress.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 143lbs
June 17, 2014
Perfect for a black-tie wedding. Tons of compliments, easy to dance in.
Lots of compliments, fit great. Was a little longer than I expected. I'm 5'8" and had to wear 4" heals with the long dress. Only real issue with the dress was the hem was coming undone at the bottom so I had to use double-stick fabric tape to hold it together. There were a few places on the dress where the fabric had pulled, but no one but me noticed. Overall I was really happy with the dress.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 16, 2014
Lots of Compliments
Dress fit great. The stretch in the fabric made it conform to my body really well, and it was extremely comfortable to boot. I ordered the 6L and because I am tall the length was perfect. I was even still able to wear 4 inch heels. I would highly recommend this dress. I was also pleasantly surprised to see the back of the dress is cut in such a way to really flatter your behind, which was an added perk (literally and figuratively speaking).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
June 12, 2014
Such a beautiful dress to wear to a beautiful NYC black tie wedding!
The dress was super comfortable and very flattering. The 6 petite fit everywhere except the bust was a bit too tight (I am 34DD/32F), so I went with the 8 petite. I had to wear a strapless bra with it, but I didn't have to wear shapewear (the ruching was actually very flattering in the stomach area). I'm 5'2" and I wore 3" heels, and that was perfect for the petite length. I would definitely wear this dress again at another formal event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
June 11, 2014
Husband's Military Ball
I rented this for my husbands military ball, unfortunately I was unable to wear it. I was about 5 months pregnant and it was too tight around my belly and when I called to get a bigger size, they were all out. I was disappointed as this dress is absolutely beautiful!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
June 11, 2014
Amazing gown worn at my best friends wedding that I did a reading at!
Worn with a strapless bra!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
June 9, 2014
.
Rented this for a charity event, the dress ran true to size. It fit perfect.
CarinaSeptember 16, 2014
Hi, we are the same height. How high were the heels that you wore with the regular length dress, so that it still skimmed the floor so well? I'm torn between the petite and regular lengths. Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 8, 2014
The dress was super comfortable!!
Loved how the dress fit, true to size (wore 2.5 inch heels)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
June 7, 2014
This was the perfect dress for a formal September evening wedding in Philadelphia
I got this dress in 6R and 4R and I ended up wearing the 4R. It is formfitting but the ruching around the waist/stomach made me feel super comfy. I didn't have any issues with the sequins causing irritation in the armpit. I would recommend spanx or going commando because that's what I ended up doing because I didn't have any spanx and I could still see panty lines with my supposed no show panties and with a thong. I think I had 2-3 inch heals and the dress hit perfectly. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
June 7, 2014
Gorgeous classic dress!
This Nicole Miller gown was gorgeous. It fit very comfortably and is great for an hour-glass figure. You have to be confident to wear this dress because it's not forgiving. I got the 2P, so the fit was great for my proportions and the length was perfect. I ordered it on a Sunday night, and it arrived on Tuesday, even though it was scheduled to arrive on Thursday, so I had a few extra days to try it on. Thats what I love about RTR. My back-up dress was a 4P. In retrospect, I should've ordered a 0 as my backup, because the 4 was way too loose and the 2 had room. I am very petite though, so I would definitely say this dress runs true to size, and if anything to order a size up since it's not forgiving (it shows everything). If you're worried about that, pair it with spanx.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
June 5, 2014
Doubled as Halloween costume- great fit!
To play Anne Hathaway's Selina Kyle at the masquerade ball, I rented this and added my own accessories. I have rented this dress in the cobalt for a costume party before and its become a go-to. Nice ruching at stomach disguises flaws and sequins on straps add interest and sparkle. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 4, 2014
It made me Slim & Fit :)
#Beautiful#Senior#Prom#2014
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
June 4, 2014
Nice sparkle on the shoulder area. But a little too tight and the fabric is not forgiving.
Aside from the super-tight fit, the dress was too short, even in the long version. I ended up not wearing it, because I felt uncomfortable in it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 23, 2014
Loved it! Received so many compliments!
Fit perfectly! I got so many compliments on this dress. A little difficult to find a bra that works well with it, but not impossible.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 21, 2014
I have very broad (swimmer) shoulders and this dress fit perfect.
Very form fitting and makes a big tushy look good Also I must say this was my first time using rent the runway and it was an incredible experience. PHENOMENAL customer service and will definitely use them again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2014
Felt like a movie star!
Fit like a glove but I couldn't wear a bra, which was fine because I had complete coverage. The dress was easy to walk in and it just the right length for me even with 3-4" heels on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 18, 2014
Loved this dress! It is incredibly flattering whatever your body type.
Like I said the black was very flattering in general. I actually wore this dress to prom haha. The rutching on the hips turned out to be gorgeous. There were a few flaws in the way it seemed to fit one me- none of them fatal. The front inner lining would sometimes peek out, and the back wasn't incredibly tight on me so it seemed to droop a bit if I held my shoulders with good posture. Both of these were simple fixes. I probably should have worn a 6 instead, and these problems would have been fixed. The reason I chose an 8L and a 10L was because I was weary of how tight the top might be...? The dress runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
May 13, 2014
perfect for some baby bump!
I wore this dress 4 months pregnant, and ordered my usual size. With it's slim fit but stretchy material, it fit perfectly and was very flattering even with some extra belly!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 13, 2014
Loved the dress!
It was my first rental so I was hopeful yet still skeptical. To fear not - the dress fit great and was in great condition too! One little quirk: the back of the dress is a longer than the front (which doesn't show in the picture), so take that into consideration when picking out your shoes. I wore about a 5 inch pump (including a small platform) and the front of the shoe was exposed while the dress fully covered the back. The only problem I had with the dress was that the back straps didn't sit well against my skin and stuck out a bit. I have very slim shoulders and small bust so perhaps others will fill it out a bit better than I did. However, everyone loved the dress and the fit and straps didn't take anything away from the look!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
May 10, 2014
I wore this to a black tie work function and looked amazing. I fit right in with the celebrities!
The dress hung very elegantly over my curves, complimenting my hourglass figure. The length was just right and I was able to work, look good, and feel comfortable the whole time. The dress was a little tight on my hips but I am used to that on most dresses. The shoulders are cut a little loose but this didn't effect the look or the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 10, 2014
Lots of Compliments and Great Service from RTR!
The first dress I rented was damaged and unwearable. RTR overnighted this to me and I LOVED it! Fit like a dream and I was given compliments all night long. Paired with some great earrings from Ciner that I had also rented and the look was classy and sexy all in one. Thanks, RTR!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
5 / 16
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×