Nicole Miller

Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$68 to buy
$750 retail
Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
625 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(524)
Small
(38)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
August 23, 2012
Classy and Classic
This dress is classic and very flattering. It is a good back up dress because it's hard to go wrong with it. It was however fairly wrinkled when it arrived to me and I didn't want to iron it for risk of ruining it so I just kind of had to wear it as is.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 29, 2012
Great Dress!!
I wore this dress for a black tie business event, everyone loved it! It runs pretty true to size, the long was perfect with a 4 inch heel, but without would have been too long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 29, 2012
AMAZING
AMAZING. SO MANY COMPLIMENTS!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 3, 2012
Looks incredible on.
I can't even count how many complements I got on this dress. It's so flattering and incredibly comfortable, I could have worn it all day and night. I'm 5'7" and 120 lbs with an hour glass figure, but the ruching covers up belly bulge well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2012
Formal and Flirty
I felt like a million bucks in this dress! it was form fitting enough to feel sexy, but sophisticated enough to wear to my work black tie awards gala event where i was the MC for the initial portion of the night. i would suggest a clear/crystal earring and something simple because the sequins on the arms are noticible and fantastic so you don't want to distract from them. I'm tall, so a shorter 2ish inch heel worked but I wouldn't go higher. the train in the back is unique, but you do have to lift it a bit when standing/sitting. i was on a pretty good diet for the event, so i wore a 4, but the 6 was comfortable as well. I usually wear a 6. there is some give in teh fabric and it's very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172lbs
September 4, 2012
Great Dress!
I love this dress -- the top was a bit lose on my shoulders, but nothing too tragic that double sided tape didn't keep in check.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
November 26, 2011
great dress!!
fits tight but looks great!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
September 6, 2012
When I walked out of the bedroom after getting dressed and my date had no words but WOW!
I wore this to a charity ball that had a "red carpet" theme. I wore the 10 then switched to the 8 later in the evening as the 10 loosened up a bit. The 8 was perfect! I had so many compliments all night long and I felt amazing! It was truly a beautiful dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 16, 2012
A nice safe dress
The dress was nice and very safe, but nothing major. It's also not the best choice for women with a small waist and big hips. I got the size 10, but that was just too big, the size 8 was snug around my hips, loose in the waist area. My measurements are 36D-28-47
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 18, 2012
I went to the Metropolitan Opera's Spring Gala with my Mom and felt absolutely beautiful!
Although it is a very simple dress the slight shimmer detailing was very elegant and it was so comfortable. I wish I had rented a 4 and a 2 actually as even the 4 was a little loose but I think it was the correct size for me. I may even rent this dress again for another black tie gala I have in January I loved it so much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
September 22, 2012
The sequin shoulder detail was beautiful. My favorite part of the dress was the upper back cutout.
Even though I ordered the long size, the dress was just barely long enough on me. I wore a 2 inch heel, if I had worn anything taller the dress length would have looked strange. It hugs the body nicely, but without making you look unflattering. This was one of my favorite dresses I have ever worn and I got a ton of compliments all night.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
September 23, 2012
Four Year Anniversary
I rented this dress for my fourth Anniversary. I never went to prom as a teen and I wanted to go out and be dressed up. I loved this dress, it was sexy but classy. It also showed off the assets which my husband enjoyed. I felt so beautiful and received many compliments.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
September 26, 2012
LOVED the whole RTR experience - from getting 2 different sizes to the free return shipping!!
This dress was PERFECT for a formal, black tie event I had to attend for work. It was professional and mature, but still fun with the sequins and exposed zipper in the back. I have a pretty athletic build, and the one irritation I found was the sequins rubbed under my arms and was pretty annoying towards the end of the night. Also - I ordered the 6 and the 8, but had to go with the 8 because of length (and I'm only 5'6). If you're taller, I'd definitely order up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
September 26, 2012
this dress fits amazing, it looks really elegant, got lots of compliments! loved it
This dress fits true to size, if you have curves it fits amazing and it is really comfortable. I got compliments all night. Would definitely rent it again! thanks RTR
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 30, 2012
I'm a huge Nicole Miller fan and never disappointed. The dress was beautiful and so comfortable!
The dress is definitely stretchy so the size 2 was definitely a better fit. I got the 2R and wore 4 inch heels and the length was perfect...any shorter of a shoe the dress would have been a little long.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 8, 2012
This dress was very flattering and comfortable. I loved the neckline.
The material and cut of this dress was very slimming. I loved the neckline, it was very elegant and not too revealing. It fit my chest well too, which is usually difficult. The only tricky part was finding a bra that would not show. I ended up using a bra with removable straps and relocated the straps, you could also just go with strapless. I wore this to a black tie wedding and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 9, 2012
Great experience. Overall dress fit perfectly.
Dress was a little long, but overall was perfect. Fit like a second skin and was so comfortable. Forgot i was even wearing a dress. Attended a wedding in Napa and half the wedding was wearing RTR. It was a great experience. Will definitely use them again for a wedding in November. The ease of receiving and returning the dress only helped to make the experience that much better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 9, 2012
Wore it for a black tie formal wedding and people loved it!
Fit very well and was very flattering especially in the middle section. Enhances and hides the trouble spots. I wore 4 inch heels and the length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 14, 2012
Great dress! Ton of compliments.
A little tight in the bust, but other than that perfectly true to fit. I got so many compliments, it was a showstopper! Can't wait to rent again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2012
This dress was amazing!!! I loved it!
This dress was amazing!!! I loved it! I ended up wearing the 8L, but would have been better in the 6L. The 6L wasn't available for my event date, so I took a chance and went with the 8L...it was roomy but still looked great! I highly recommend this dress to anyone attending a black tie event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
October 17, 2012
BEST RTR DRESS I HAVE EVER RENTED
The dress fit perfect and hugged me in all the right places. It was comfortable and easy to dance in. It was the perfect dress for a black tie wedding. The only con is that there is a small train so people kept stepping on it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
October 19, 2012
Loved it!
Looks better in person than in the pictures. Fabric feels high quality. I liked the low back but not so low that I couldn't wear a strapless bra with it. I normally wear a 00. So I was worried about finding a dress that would fit me. The dress I order originally was too big at the smallest size. They suggested I try a Nicole Miller dress as they said she is better for smaller sizes It fit perfectly..
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 19, 2012
This dress fit perfect. I wore the 4 because it was a little longer, and it had a beautiful train!
I would for sure rent again, and even buy it if I could. I received so many compliments! Felt like a princess.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 20, 2012
Fit like a glove!
I ordered the 0R and the 2R. The 0R fit perfect, but when I got it the clasp was broken. I was able to tie it with some black string for the event (which was a bit of a ordeal). Other than that, the dress was amazing!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 21, 2012
Gorgeous Gown!!!
The dress fit like a glove. It was a little long, but at 5'4, a pair of 4 inch heels made it just the right length. It was stunning, comfortable, and very appropriate for our military ball. No one else had a dress like it there, and it stood out for all of the right reasons. I had the best experience with Rent the Runway, and will definitely use them again for future events.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 23, 2012
Loved this dress and got wonderful compliments, despite a big flaw!
I got a size 2L and 4L. I ended up wearing the 2L and it fit perfectly except for one thing. The bottom of the dress was frayed from it not being hemmed. I checked the other size and its bottom was nice and smooth and a perfect length. However, because the 2L wasn't hemmed and was all raggedy, it was too long and I ended up tripping on it multiple times, even with 4 inch heels. It also kept getting stuck on my shoes. It was pretty irritating and disappointing because everything else was beautiful. Overall, I still loved the dress and was complimented plenty on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 26, 2012
elegant evening
Dress was gorgeous. I have always been a Nicole Miller fan. Loved the sequin detail, added a fun element without being over the top. Dress was form fitting. Definately would not wear if feeling bloated. Length was perfect wearing 4" heals, dress still touched the ground in front. Great dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 5, 2012
Elegant and classic
A beautiful and very flattering fit. I didn't choose this dress, was sent due to my choice being unavailable after Hurricane Sandy. It was in great condition and I was very comfortable through out the night. The only drawback was the length in the back was a bit too long and got stepped on all night...made it a little difficult to dance.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2012
I received SO many complements--what FUN.
Wish I would have ordered the 2L and the 0L as I found it to be on the larger side. And very long. I'm 5'8" and wore with 4" heels and I had to pick up the dress every time I wanted to walk.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 7, 2012
GREAT DRESS
The dress was beautiful and I felt like a 50 year old princess! Great quality dress that zipped right up with side pleats to hide my pop belly! I will definitely rent the runway again for my next event!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2012
Perfection in a box...
I have zero complaints about this dress. It fit beautifully and I would order it again in a heartbeat. I look forward to using RTR again soon
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 9, 2012
came right on time, and no stress sending it back
fit perfectly in all the right places, i'll definitely be renting the red one for another event soon.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
.
LOVED this dress! It is very flattering and sleek. I wore it for a black tie wedding and got lots of compliments. Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2012
It was Beautiful and elegant, but wasn't my favorite. You can definitely use it for a Gala. Great!!
The measurements were exactly. The material wasn't as hard as I thought, didn't hold as much as I thought.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 12, 2012
Cute dress, but didn't feel like the fit was right.
Let me start out by saying I'm 5'4", 110lbs, wear a 32A bra, and I wear a S/M in tops, and 0/1 in juniors bottoms, or 0/2 in women's. I chatted with a fit consultant online and she recommended that I order both a 0R and a 2R. I was pretty sure the 0 would fit me fine, but a back up is always handy. When I tried the dress on, the arm holes were cut funny, and gave me armpit fat. I am NOT a large girl by any means! So I was dumbfounded by the fact that I could not move my arms up or down, or side to side without feeling like I was going to rip the sequined sleeve off. I didn't even notice that the dress wasn't long enough for me, I was too preoccupied with the weird sleeve. (BUT: the ruching at the bust, waist and along the back zipper hugged my petite curves perfectly!!) So I tried the 2R on, and the sleeve/arm area fit great. However, the bust area was loose, the waist was loose, as was my butt. I wore 4inch heels, and the 2R dress barely touched the floor when I stood. Obviously the 0 was correct size for me from the bust down, but the sleeves didn't fit me right, nor was the regular length long enough. I would have given this dress a higher rating had I actually bought the dress and had it tailored to my size.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 18, 2012
This was absolutely the easiest experience ever!! I highly advise RTR!
The material of this dress is fabulous--there is slight rouching at the waist and it's extremely forgiving and flattering. My figure is athletic and boyish, so I loved the silhouette it gave me. It was slightly large in the bust, but I needed the 6 for the booty. The only downfall was the small train on the dress--it turning and twisting a little awkward, but (of course) it looks great--so all is well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 20, 2012
pretty but heavy
I have a pretty athletic frame, so the ruching on the sides and along the rear made me feel like I actually had curves. Even though I rented the petite size, I still felt like it was a little on the long side. I even wore 4 inch heels. The front bottom of the dress kept catching on the small embellishments on the tops of my shoes, so it was awkward to walk in the dress without holding up the front. It was also a little on the heavy side and I got hot just walking around in it, so I decided not to wear this one to the wedding in Texas that I was invited to. Beautiful dress. Beautiful cut, but still a little long and ultimately not the right choice for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
November 20, 2012
Classy and fun all at the same time!
Loved this dress. It is classic and classy but the sequins give it a fun twist. I usually wear a 6 but it wasn't available, so I had to wear the 8. It was a bit big but fine and worked well with tape to keep it from sliding down more than I wanted. The long was touching the floor with 3.5 heels, I would order a regular if I rented it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 26, 2012
Great Dress!
If I could buy this dress I would. It was very comfortable and soft...I didnt need to wear a bra either which is a huge plus. Ordered the 4R and 2L but wore the 4R. It was still very long so unless you're 6 feet tall I wouldnt worry about the length. I had on 5 inch heels and it was still touching the ground, it also has a small train in the back which is nice (but a few times people stepped on it). My only complaint is the sequins under the arm started to rub alot and it made my arm red towards the end of the night. I'd still wear it again tho :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 27, 2012
My first time with RTR was beautiful & amazing.
I am normally a size 2 with 34B bust but the size 0 fit me perfectly. I am 5'4" and with 3 inch heels the 0 Regular was a perfect length for a gown by my standard, not too short but not dragging either. I would definitely recommend this dress for any formal occasion, especially for the Marine Corps Ball. The guest of honor's wife was wearing a similar dress without the sequins. ;) If you are a 0 or 2 with a bigger bust, however, I would steer away from this dress as the bust area was a little tight even for my itty bitties. I was staying on a military base for the weekend and made the mistake of making my boyfriend drop the dress off into a mailbox nearby which wasn't a blue USPS box. It was a Saturday morning so I panicked and emailed RTR immediately. Fortunately, Lindsay was quick to respond and let me know that a note will be put on my order in case the dress came late. Needless to say, the dress was beautiful and the service was amazing. I look forward to renting again in the future!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
3 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×