Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$80 rental
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
609 reviews
Fit
Large29
True to Size512
Small37
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2015
Beautiful silhouette! Just the right amount of sexy and conservative!
I usually wear a 4 or a 6 depending on the dress. I could have worn the 4 but it was a little more snug in the middle and bust. 6 flattered much more. I wore this to a black tie affair and felt like a million bucks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 11, 2015
Fit like a glove and made me feel beautiful and confident.
Dress can be long if you don't wear high enough heels.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 11, 2015
Perfect fit!
Perfect fit!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 9, 2015
One of my favorite dresses!
I absolutely love this dress! The fit is very true to size. I wear a size 0 so I decided to go with the 0R. I wore 3 inch heals with the dress and they were perfect. The dress is stretchy where it needs to be and I was able to dance and move very comfortably. I received so many compliments on this dress throughout the night and it was a perfect dress for the black tie wedding that we attended. I was so sad to put it in the mail this morning! I wish I could keep it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2015
This dress made me feel incredible. I felt glamorous while wearing it.
Fit was awesome. I'm 5-9" and am sometimes a 6 but usually a size 4. The main issue for me usually is my shoulders, which tend to be overbuilt (I'm a rock climber). This was not an issue with this dress. It made my shoulders and back look great. I wore short heels (2-1/2"). I wore the 4L and it was a great fit for my body; but wish I had been wearing slightly higher heels as the dress barely hit the floor, which made it tricky to dance. I would buy this dress! I have a small bust, and that was also not a problem. It made my derriere look great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 2, 2015
The dress was a showstopper!
The dress was perfect!! The fit, the size, the style, everything was exactly how I would have wanted it. I was getting compliments all night on how the dress looked and how flattering it was. It was also very comfortable. I was worried that the sequins on the arms would be scratchy but I didn't even notice them!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 1, 2015
First time to rent from RTR. LOVED the whole process!
Long was long! Pulled on the top the whole night, but just because I'm very self conscience. Really loved renting and will do it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 29, 2015
I absolutely loved this dress! It was perfect for the formal evening event I attended.
Super comfortable. I am short so the Petite was a perfect length with heels. No complaints, I can't wait to have another even to wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 24, 2015
Arrived on time and a great fit
Great fit. I wore 3 in heels and had no problem at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 20, 2015
This dress!
LOVED this dress! This was my first RTR but I would absolutely do it again! I normally wear a size 4 and depending on the dress need a 4L. Unfortunately I could not get the 4L for my event, but I actually ended up being super happy I got the 6L. It is a pretty tight/form fitting dress, so I didn't mind having a little more room for dancing in the 6L. The dress was so comfortable and chic! Perfect for the formal Navy wedding that I attended.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138lbs
January 15, 2015
The dress looked amazing.
Train was a little long and I would step on it while dancing- otherwise great dress for a winter black tie wedding
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 14, 2015
I wore this dress to my medical school formal. Fit great, super comfy, and true to size.
Overall the dress fit great. I got eh 6L which was actually a little long (I'm 5'9). I would've been better off with the 6R. I wore high heels but I still hiked up the dress a bit which was fine because the middle section was a little scrunched naturally so it looked normal. The zipper isn't hidden so it will show but other than that the dress was really comfy and I got compliments on it the whole night! My only negative comment about my first RTR experience was about actually getting the dress. The dress finally arrived an hour before my event so unfortunately I didn't have a lot of time to plan how I was going to do my hair, my jewelry, or my shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
January 12, 2015
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding. I wanted to keep it I loved it so much!
It contours to your body and is very flattering. It was the perfect length (I'm 5'-2" and wore 3.5" heels) and the sequins did not rub at all. I received so many compliments and felt confident the whole night. The dress has sex appeal while still being classy and very formal. So glad I decided to try Rent the Runway and fell in love with the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2015
Amazing!
I was so happy with this dress. I was 6 months pregnant so I ordered the 4R and 2L. I usually wear a 2. The 4 was a bit short with heels and I felt like the 2L fit perfectly-just a little bit long. But, i'd rather it be a little bit long than super short. The dress has a silky look to it but provides some stretch to make it form fitting. I loved it!!!!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
January 6, 2015
Love, Love, Love! So many compliments!
This was my first time using Rent the Runway so I was a little nervous to say the least. I read a ton of reviews before deciding on the size and dress. I needed a dress for a NYE black tie affair. Typically I am a size 2P, but I went with the 4P because I felt as though it was a little snug in the chest area and I didn't want to be popping out. The length was perfect; I wore about a 3 inch heel. The dress was STUNNING and I received a ton of compliments. Very comfortable as well. What a great idea Rent the Runway has come up with. It's very rare that I have a formal affair such as this to go to and I didn't want to run out and spend a ton of money on a dress I will probably never wear again (although if I do ever have such an affair I would totally rent this dress again). Also, I was very impressed with the packaging the dress came in. Very professional company and I would most definitely from them again. THANK YOU, RTR!!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
January 5, 2015
Form-fitted and sparkly
I tried this on in the store, and I think usually I'd go with a 14, but the stylist zipped up the 12 somehow and it looked great! It was very comfortable for a formal dress, and the sparkles were great for a New Year's party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2015
Compliments, compliments, compliments!
I received so many compliments for this dress!! I picked it out for a black tie wedding (venue not pictured). And I couldn't have been happier! It fit pretty well and I don't think I've received so many nice comments and questions about where I got the dress. Only things that I wish were different.. The zipper buckles a little in the back so I felt like I was constantly checking to make sure it laid flat. The dress also turns, so the seams were not where they were intended and I had to keep going to fix it. The zipper is black! And not silver like in the picture. The sequins also didn't bother me as much as I was expecting. Super happy about my choice for a NYE black tie wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 27, 2014
Fit like a glove
I rented this for a black-tie gala. It was perfect for the occasion. The dress runs true to size and was extremely flattering. I got tons of compliments all night and I dressed it up with some simple gold jewelry (not the silver bracelet shown in the picture). Definitely would rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 71
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 26, 2014
This was the alternative but it was way too small for a size 6.
Much too small for a size 6.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 4
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2014
This dress was perfect for my style. Complimenting my limited curves and glamourous.
I am long, slim with an athletic build. I have hard time finding dresses for my long legs. I wanted something that accented the few curves I had. This dress was perfect for the formal wedding we attended. I received so many compliments on this dress. The dress wasn't really as long as I would have hoped for the style of heels I wear but I decided to go with a shorter heel.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 18, 2014
Beautiful dress - great service!
I used this dress for a formal military ball. I ordered an 8 and a 10 both long. I am 5'9" - normally a size 8. Both dresses were too short for me with heels. The 10L was perfect when I was in bare feet and it did fit better with heels than the 8. The 10 wasn't quite to the floor in the front, since the back has a train it was not a really big deal. The size 10L fit me fine, but the 8L fit me better in the bust and I had to sort of pad up to fill out the 10! Otherwise, it really is a gorgeous dress - nothing to complain about at all. I am excited I finally delved and tried RTR - and I will DEF order again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 18, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I got so many compliments on this dress! It was form-fitting, but very flattering with a little ruching. I ordered the long, which was perfect with a pair of 3" heels. The train in the back adds drama, but it's not over the top. It is a little low-cut, which was fine for me because I'm not very big on top. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 18, 2014
no thanks
not the dress for someone with some serious curves.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 11, 2014
I'm not much of a shopper so I was really excited that this worked out so well.
I wore this to my company holiday party. It worked out perfectly and fit really well. The only problem I had was that the lining kept shifting as I walked so the whole dress kept shifting and I had to constantly straighten it back up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2014
Great Dress and Great Price!
I loved the dress although I would not order it again. I am a 5'10 and I like for my dresses to just barely come off the ground. The dress rested right below the ankles which is too short in my opinion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
December 8, 2014
Didn't wear picked another but LOVED it!
Will rent next formal affair! Beautiful gown! Just choose a different one to wear.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 4, 2014
Great Dress!
I'm 5'11" so I got both the 6 & 8 in long - ended up wearing the 6L b/c it was a little more sexy - but still fit well and was comfortable all night. Thanks RTR, looking for a dress right now (a year later, for the same event)!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2014
Beautifully understated gown.
I got this as a back-up to another dress. That one didn't quite work and in a way, I'm glad. This is a beautifully understated, but glamorous gown. The neckline is very flattering and the open back and sequin shoulders were unique without screaming for attention. I got compliments all night. Would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2014
Wonderful dress for a very formal occasion.
The ruching and gathers in the back really gives the dress exceptional movement.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 30, 2014
Fits great!
Needed to go up a size due to the fit, but the long length was perfect for me since I'm a tall girl!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 29, 2014
Flattering
Lots of compliments... if you are well endowed on top its a great dress
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2014
Comfortable, classy dress.
Fits snug but comfy-- I was dancing in it all night long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 24, 2014
I received lots of compliments all night long! Loved it, I was the sleek bridesmaid...
The fit was great the fabric is stretchy so it's very forgiving. The fit is very flattering, I didn't wear a bra and all went well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 23, 2014
Wore to Charity event
I ordered 8L because it seemed like a lot of the women who are my height and weight ordered smaller sizes and they didn't have a 10L in this dress. It was pretty tight which I wore spanx for it but REALLY wish I had gotten the 10L or the 12L. If it had been a size bigger it would have been perfect. I never got poked by the sequins and everyone raved about how great it looked. It showed just enough boob without being slutty. Cant wait to rent one for new years!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2014
All the compliments!
This dress is absolutely perfect. I love Nicole Miller formal gowns. This dress is slimming, classy, and makes your body look amazing. Tons of compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
November 19, 2014
Great fit! Very flattering
This dress was my backup, and it was actually much more flattering than I expected. I wore 4 inch heels, and the length was perfect. There is very subtle ruching across the front which is just enough to camouflage imperfections. Very comfortable and would definitely rent a similar Nicole Miller dress for future events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
November 12, 2014
Beautiful dress! Classic, simple and elegant!
Beautiful dress! Made me feel beautiful and fit wonderfully (even just after having my 3rd child 4 months prior to the event)! Lots of compliments.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2014
My husband loved it, I felt beautiful and sexy. Renting the dress made it so easy.
I tried this dress with multiple different bras. The straps of the dress have no give and offer a lot of support, so a push-up bra made the 8l seem too tight. A simple strapless was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2014
USMC Ball
The dress fit really well, it was just a little small in the bust. I'm a 36DDD so having the extra size up was really beneficial so that I could actually breathe :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
November 12, 2014
So comfortable and flattering!
Amazing fit! Tight in the hips but very flattering! So easy to move in!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×