nha khanh

Simplicity Gown

$161 to buy
$1,115 retail
Stylist Notes

Edgy, meet elegant. This slim-fitting gown by nha khanh will amp up your style for the black tie gala.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy Crepe. (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with open back and button closure. Column skirt with mesh waist cutouts. Lined. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. See size and fit tabs for lengths. Made in USA.

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(87)
Small
(6)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
October 27, 2014
Everyone loved the dress
It fit amazingly, the fabric is thick and stretchy wear I didn't need to wear a bra. It was kind of long but I wore 6 inch heels and it only slightly dragged on the floor.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 31, 2014
I didn't actually wear this dress but it is gorgeous!
I chose to go with another dress but I loved this one as well. I wore the shorter Nha Kanh sheath for a wedding and got a ton of compliments - I love the cutouts and the back is super sexy. You can even fit some spanx underneath for a little tummy and booty slimming action. It is very fitted so is most flattering on hourglass figures. It was too casual for the Marine Corps Ball (and my boyfriend said I looked too much like Alladin's girlfriend in it), so I went with something poofier (which was also fabulous and I'll also be reviewing).
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 13, 2014
Elegant dress perfect for a black tie wedding
I loved this dress but had to squeeze into the size 4 because they didn't send the size 6 that I requested. Instead, they sent two others that I didn't care for. It ended up working because it was backless and I got a lot of compliments! I would definitely rent this dress again.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 17, 2014
So comfortable and stretchy in the bust.
I wore this to a black tie event hosted by my job. I have a 9 month old, so I wanted a dress that wasn't too low cut/cleavage, especially since nursing causes my cup size to fluctuate thought the day. This dress was so sexy with the open back, but without being too showing (perfect for formal events). I wore a long and it was perfect with standard heels. Only thing to note, the dress on the model looks navy, but it's closer to a dark royal blue.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 28, 2014
Stunning dress!!!
I absolutely loved this dress! The only con is that it was too short. I think the 8L would have been perfect but it wasn't available. I'm wearing 2 1/2 inch heels in the pic and the gap was just too much, so I ended up going with my second option.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 21, 2014
The dress is navy!
Fits true to size, not overly flattering because the bottom skirt starts right where your hips are, so at the widest part. Makes your butt look amazing though! The dress is navy which I didn't realize until I got it. Wouldn't be a problem normally but I am hosting a black tie charity ball so I need to look professional, and the navy with black mesh was not.... Therefore I ordered another and didn't wear the dress. Overall an okay dress, shoulders are a little narrow, and I don't consider myself to be wide shouldered.
JulieApril 18, 2014
How was the length on you?
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 169lbs
December 8, 2014
Finally, got it right!
My husband and I have attend his work's holiday ball for a couple of years now and I never seem to get THE DRESS. This time I manage it and it was an accident. 1st I have to give a special thank yo to the staff of RTR in Washington, DC. This is the busiest, craziest time of the year and they just opened. I have been 2x without appointments and the staff will still do whatever it takes to assist you in finding a beatuiful dress + accessories. Not to mention the manager, Damien, was a life saver and took the time to assist me with exchanging two gowns for one. I walked in to try on 2 dresses that I ordered online to have delievered to the store. Unfortunately, neither of my choices worked (another story all together), and with the event that weekend I was worried I wouldnt find a gown that would look great and fit well. I was able to walk out on the show floor and pick a few dresses to try on, that's when I found this gown. It really was a showstopper-comfortable, long, and sexy. Felt great in it all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2014
Too big to wear
The dress was a bit big on the top for me to wear and was gaping at the sides.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 16, 2014
The dress fit like a glove and looked fantastic
The back is perfectly dramatic and the illusion panels are sexy without being overly so. Wore it to a black tie wedding and it was perfect. In some of the pictures it looked brighter blue than it is in real life, which is true navy. #blacktie #wedding #cutout #illusionpanel
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
January 7, 2015
I wore this for a NYE black tie wedding, and received tons & tons of compliments.
I'm 5'7" and about 170. I normally wear a 6/8, as I am petite up top but have wide hips and a big butt. The 8 fit, but I ended up wearing a 10 as there is not much stretch, and it was more comfortable in my hips. The mesh was a little too large for my waist, but it didn't look weird. I received a bunch of compliments on the dress, and would totally recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2015
Amazing Dress!!
This dress was perfect! I was originally super worried about the whole backless/braless thing since I have a larger bust, but the other reviews were right, the material on top is sturdy and tight enough that you don't need a bra! The length was absolutely perfect (I'm 5'4" and wore 4" heels). I got compliments all night :)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2015
Great fitting dress, material is thicker so it was perfect for a colder evening.
I rented the 2R and the 4R was my freebie. I ended up wearing the 4R. My hubby last minute told me to go with the larger it was not as tight across the chest. The 2R actually cut up on the side and was a tad to revealing (side boob) However the 2R was longer than the 4R! A perfect match would have been a 4R on the top and a 2R on the bottom. Otherwise I would have given this a 5 star dress. I felt glamorous and got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 21, 2014
I decided to go all out for my friend's black tie optional wedding. This dress is stunning!
I'm 5'8" and the long was a perfect fit with 3-4 inch heels. I received many compliments on the dress and I was sad to have to return it. I highly recommend! You won't regret it!
RTR CustomerJanuary 17, 2015
I want to rent this dress for my prom, and am 5'7", and 120 pounds. I'm a very straight build (curveless haha). With smaller heels, would you recommend? How did it fit?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
January 19, 2015
Although the dress didn't fit, I still enjoyed the service I was provided.
I rented this dress in a 2R and a 2L as I am 5'6 and the previous reviews said it ran a little short. The person who had rented the 2L before me had returned it damaged so I only received the 2R along with 2 other backup dresses selected by RTR. The dress was beautiful but unfortunately did not fit my chest area (I'm a size 34D/32DD). The dress was also a little too short for the shoes I wanted to wear. With flats, it would have been fine, but I still would have had the problem in the chest area. Luckily I ended up wearing one of the backup dresses instead. Pretty dress for smaller chested women, but definitely rent a longer length if you're anywhere around 5'5-5'6 and want to wear herls.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
January 22, 2015
Not flattering for those with no curves
I wasn't totally in love with my original RTR dress, so I tried this one. The back of the dress is beautiful and the color was rich, but my body type is very straight (with not much of a defined waist)--and where the mesh hit my waist was not flattering at all. Needless to say, I did not end up wearing this dress. But it appeared to fit true to size and was comfy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 18, 2014
I got so many compliments at prom. It was simple so you can do so much with accessories!
I was supposed to get the 0R but it didn't work out the way I had planned. I still had my backup size sent to me(0R), and although it was very long, it still fit everywhere that I had liked for it to. Very flattering!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
February 1, 2015
Beautiful dress!
I loved this dress, classy but sexy with the open back. I had to wear flats, but that was expected. I did not have to wear a bra and was super comfortable.
DanielleJuly 28, 2015
You look stunning! I am you're height, did the dress touch the ground with flats? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2014
Love the simple geometry and elegance of this dress!
Overall, I am so happy with my rental! To be nitpicky, it was just a touch small in the chest and a touch big in the hips (my measurements are 35-25-35). I'm 5'8" and with 1" sandals the 4R was just skimming the ground. The color is a little lighter in person and in pictures than on the webiste, but still definitely navy blue. The fabric is just heavy enough to give it good weight and be sleek, but I was totally comfortable the whole night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
February 9, 2015
disappointing
I had high hopes for this edgy dress but it was just meh on. It was tight in part of the back. I thought it would show off my sculpted back but instead it just made me look line a lineman in a dress.
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
February 17, 2015
the back of the dress was my favorite part
I got a 0L because that was the only size that was left and even though it was too long on me it fit my body very well. I would definitely recommend this dress, it's very versatile I personally wore it to prom. I did not wear a bra with this dress, I just wore petals because it was tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2015
Great dress. I felt so confident!
I am 5'10 and 135lb and this dress fit absolutely perfectly. I did not want to hear heels so that I could dance a lot and the 4L was a little too long so if you're my height and want to wear flats my suggestion would be the regular 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 23, 2015
Got lots of compliments on this one. Super comfortable and easy to dance in.
I wear a 4P and this was true to size. I chose to use a Victoria Secret backless sticky bra and you could see a little bit of the clear sticky tabs on the side, but they were barely noticeable. I wore very high heels, and they were a little bit too high for the dress, but I preferred the dress be slightly on the shorter side since the event was on a lawn. I got tons of compliments on this and wish I could afford to have bought it! Definitely rent this dress if you want to show off your back and arms. The spray tan helped too, haha.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 1, 2015
It was for a charitable benefit and I just felt glamorous!
The top was fantastic I felt held in even thought I rock the 36DDs. I did have trouble with the skirt when I had to use the restroom, the lining did not fall back into place so it took so wiggling around to adjust myself. But I love it and the way I looked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 1, 2015
This dress fit perfectly...seriously like a glove.
I am 5'4" with an athletic build and a booty. This dress felt like it was made for my size. I did not wear a bra, only gel petals. The fabric had a little give to it, but not too stretchy. It was perfect for a wedding. I wore 3 inch heels with the dress, and it was a great length for me.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
June 9, 2015
Stunning- backless- classy and sexy in a beautiful blend - my fave RTR rental so far
Hugs in the right places - perfect balance of hugging, cutouts, and conservative coverage. lOVE this dress! Must rent!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 26, 2015
This dress is HOT. I'm a very athletic gal, so really enjoyed how it shows you off!
Very comfortable, didn't even need a bra (I'm a 34B). Totally sexy and a show stopper, as long as you are in great shape. (I'm a fit 5'8", a yoga-holic about 135 lbs). The sheer elements in middle move a bit when you walk so may pop out slightly now and then, but as long as you hold yourself up straight and tall you're fine and they stay smooth. Enjoy this saucy number that's still classy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 29, 2015
Elegant, classy and sexy! This dress was the perfect choice for a black tie optional wedding.
The fit was perfect! I wore a nubra with the dress and I was comfortable all night long. I received many compliments. This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely use it again if I need a dress. The length was perfect with 3 inch heels. The fabric was beautiful and I felt sexy without showing too much. The deep blue color was gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
July 5, 2015
Award for most compliments received in one night!
This was my very first RTR rental and I am now a total believer. I found out last minute that all of my friends were going to be wearing gowns (as opposed to cocktail dresses) to another friend's black tie optional wedding over July 4th weekend. As I own a total of 0 gowns, I had to act quickly. Two days before I was going to fly out for the wedding, I ordered this dress to be delivered to the Chicago RTR store. They had my size (4R) in stock, but not my backup size (6R). Still, I was willing to take the risk. Seeing that others found the dress to run small and could be tight for those like me with thicker thighs and some extra junk in the trunk, I was nervous that the 4 wouldn't fit well. However upon trying it on at the store (it came right on time!), I was beyond thrilled that the dress fit like it was made to order. I'm only 5'2, so the people at the store helped to hem the front slightly with hem tape. It barely needed any at all -- I was fine wearing 3 inch heels. The dress was jaw-droppingly stunning, and I was receiving compliments all night long. Friends from all over the country were even texting me during the wedding to tell me they saw pictures online and were in love with the dress. The fabric of the dress was much stretchier than I thought it would be, and I was able to eat lots of delicious wedding food and dance the night away. The single downside was that I wasn't able to bend all the way to the ground during the "a little bit softer now" part of Shout! It's ok, I'm over it. I love this dress so much, I'm considering renting it again for a wedding in October! I very highly recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
July 6, 2015
This dress was beautiful and fit me perfectly!
I loved the high-quality material and the particular dress I received was in perfect condition. I wore it with high (4 or 4.5 inches) heels and the length was just right. I loved the mermaid style at the bottom with just a little bit of a flare -- easy to move and dance! Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 20, 2015
Classy and sexy
I fell in love with this dress. It's both sexy and classy. I have wide hips so the 4R was too tight but the 6R fit perfectly with a pair of Spanx on. There fabric isn't very forgiving so I would definitely get the next size up from your regular size! I didn't wear any bra with this dress and I felt pretty snug in it - I didn't feel like I was going to spill out the sides or anything! The only negative thing about this dress is the length, I was stepping on this dress all night but I was still able to dance.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
July 21, 2015
True to fit, a lot of compliments, great color
Loved this dress. My usual size is 0p but at the time of the rental, they didn't have that size available so I rented 0R. Now because I am 5'0, the dress was really long on me so I used hem tape (from CVS). Which worked up to a certain point. I loved the wait it fit on my waist and back, since I was afraid that my chest was too small for it. As soon as i wore it, I was so happy with the decision. It is a comfortable dress and good to dance with. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 4, 2015
LOVED this dress!
I ordered both the 2 & 4 thinking that the 2 would be too small - which it wasn't! The fit was amazing, I felt so comfortable in this and it hugged all the right areas. The back of the dress is beautiful and would definetly wear again to any formal occasasion
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 30, 2015
No forgiveness in the hips
I rented the 6 and the 8, but the 8 ended up not being available. The 6 was jus too tight across my hips to feel comfortable. I ended up wearing my back up style instead. I also wasn't comfortable with not being able to wear a bra. My "girls" need all the help they can get.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
September 14, 2015
Wore this dress for a black-tie optional wedding
I ordered an 8L because the 8R was unavailable, but was so happy to have received the long because it would have been to short with the heels that I wore. There was a little extra room in the hips, but with all the moving around and dancing you couldn't even tell. I was very happy with this dress and got many compliments throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
September 15, 2015
AMAZING dress, very flattering! I wore it to a Marine Corps ball and got a ton of compliment on it.
Fits true to size
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
October 3, 2015
Beautiful dress! I felt like a celebrity in it.
Perfect for a hourglass body. Wish I would have done a few more rows for my back at the gym with the fully exposed back however.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2015
It was a great dress for a wedding ! Received compliments all night!
Its a little tight around the shoulders but the length was great and it was really comfortable all night. I would definitely recommend this for someone looking for a classic sexy look. I work 3 inch heels with the long and it was the perfect length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2015
Clean and classy with just the right amount of sass.
Love this dress and I received a ton of compliments all night. I'm 5'5, 130-135lbs, 32C with a slim athletic build (usually a size 0/2 depending on the brand). This dress fit perfectly in the hips and butt but was a little tight around the chest. I wore pasties underneath with no padding. The length of the dress was perfect with my 4 inch heels.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 1, 2015
Perfect dress for any/every formal occasion!! Fits well and absolutely stunning.
This dress is AMAZING! I've had my heart set on wearing this dress since I first explored the RTR website a couple of years ago and I was thrilled to finally have an event to wear it to (a black tie optional masquerade gala). I was very worried since they only had the 2P left for the dates I needed the dress. All my backup sizes were unavailable (the 0P, 0R, or 2R) so I did not rent a second size nor did I rent a backup dress so I was so nervous that it wouldn't fit and I would be stuck dress-less. The 2P fit me perfectly!!! It was just long enough to wear with 2.5inch platform heels and still just touch the floor. The dress is so comfortable and you can wear with or without a backless bra AND it travels well! No wrinkles :) I absolutely love love love this dress and will definitely be renting it again!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
December 20, 2015
BEST DRESS EVER
*ignore the picture please* I absolutely loved this dress, and I got so many compliments! They were out of the 2 (which I normally wear), so I went for the 4. It was a big in my waist, but it fit perfectly on the bottom half. If you have a butt, go up a size so you can actually get your butt in the dress. It was a tiny bit long, but nothing some heels couldn't fix. If you're thinking about ordering this dress, just do it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×