MSGM

Ikat Wait to Dance Dress

$30 rental
$650 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You can't wait to hit the dance floor in this energetic fit n flare by MSGM! Simply pair with Rebecca Minkoff’s Step and Repeat Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38 - 46, Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38 - 46, Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolored ikat jacquard cotton (94% cotton, 6% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt with hidden side pockets at seam. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Partially lined. 32.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

95 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 60
Large 10
Photos 58
Meems
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 4, 2013

Vibrant print, joyful dress with great texture

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for my rehearsal dinner for my spring Southern wedding. It was not appropriate for the candlelit affair, but it is a gorgeous dress. I ended up wearing it the day of my wedding to my hair and makeup appointments. It is very light and comfortable. The cotton material has a great texture to it, like a crimping. It is a very fun dress. When I sat down, the straps of the dress rose above my shoulders, which means it may work better for slightly longer torsos. (I have a short torso.)
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
May 13, 2013

Compliments ALL night!!!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the material of the dress!! It was such a comfortable dress. I would recommend this dress to ANYONE who wants to be the center of attention!!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 15, 2013

Great fit and adorable!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the perfect dress for my sorority's formal. I loved the fit (true to size). Super fun and still super classy.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 15, 2013

Bright, fun and unforgettable!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a horse race. It was very comfortable yet stylish and flattering for the event. The Kate Spade Set in stone necklace really added that extra touch and charm to the dress and is a must have if you rent this dress!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 28, 2013

Great Dress!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a summer wedding in Mississippi. I knew it was going to be hot and wanted something that was light. The fit was great but I'm 5'8' and it was a little short. I usually am a size 6 in dresses but probably should have gone up a size to give me more length. This was my first RTR experience and I would definitely do it again!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 30, 2013

Dancing Queen!!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing! Great fit! Received so many compliments :) Another rent the runway success!!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 10, 2013

Flirty, fun, and worth the rent!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Yet another winner from RTR! I received loads of compliments on this dress and everyone kept asking where I got it. It fits a bit snug in the waist which was tough after a nice wedding meal but certainly not a deal breaker. Tall girls beware, the skirt is short but since I'm only 5'3" it fit perfectly! The color is bright and fun just as pictured but what you don't see is the rich texture of the fabric. Gorgeous!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

BEYONCE saw me in this dress!!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to the Beyonce concert and I am OBSESSED. Favorite dress i've ever worn! It's pretty short so I wore flats but you won't be uncomfortable. I wore it to the concert and then to work the next day because I loved it so much!
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

Cute, casual fit that was perfect for an outdoor rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was a great fit for me in size 38. For once, the length was perfect for me because I'm on the shorter side. The fit around the waist was really cute and cinched me in. I got tons of compliments on the dress from fellow attendees and even from the restaurant's hostess. The dress is on the casual side and can transition from hot summer day to night easily, which was perfect for my event. The texture is really cool and comfortable. My only point of concern was that it was a little tight in the chest area, so much so that there was a bit of side boob happening... If you're a larger chested girl, maybe go a size up for your backup dress.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

I wore this to my graduate school graduation - it was adorable!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Fits a little larger in the chest area. But overall is a good fit. Perfect length.
Maren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Aug 22, 2013

I loved the fun, bold print, lots of color, and classic shape!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my high school reunion. It had everything I was looking for: a fun, bold print, lots of color, a classic shape, and something that would showcase my short hair in a feminine and chic way. As the reviews stated, the dress was definitely on the short side, but since this was a fun event, I felt okay about the length. It was super comfortable and it even had pockets! I am petite, so I ordered a size 38 and 40, although I ended up going with the 4 to be on the more comfortable side. I liked the slightly looser fit. Overall, I felt sassy, quirky, and cute in this dress--the perfect attitude to bring to my high school reunion.
Chole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 12, 2013

Amazing dress! Love the colors, hidden side pockets and textured pattern of the dress!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is absolutely adorable! The waist is a tiny bit big but other than that it was perfect and flattering. You could wear it for a PM event, but this was worn during the day. We would use RTR again in a heartbeat. Love the concept and love that the dress arrived when promised. You made the return super simple. As they say in Hawaiian, "Mahalo nui loa"... Thank you very much!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

Way too cute!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I fell in love with this dress. It was a great party length on me, about mid thigh (which is hard to find being under 5'6") and the print is so bold and fun. Tons of compliments from everyone at the party and then from random people at the bar afterwards. It does run tight on top so if you have any sort of chest you will want to size up one or two sizes. Plus its very hard to zip up. Had to have my friend help me even with the larger size. But once its on it is super comfortable. Definitely recommend the Kate Spade necklace with it too.
lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 10, 2013

Amazing

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Tight in the bust area and a bit short but very flattering. I got so many compliments and introduced most of my guest list to rent the runway!
Lani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

Fun print!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the fun print on this dress! It was a bit tight in the chest for me, and I wish it had been an inch or so longer, but other than that, no complaints!
C
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 18, 2013

The pattern that was on the fabric itself - not the colorful design - was so beautiful.

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit: small across chest, otherwise awesome skirt. Wore with some super high platform heels. Received so many compliments. Definitely a standout at my formal event.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Great Wedding Dress

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and loved it. It runs a little small. Short but ok for someone my height.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

Great for summer wedding

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very unique and was great to wear to a summer wedding! I received many compliments. For me, it was a little tight in the chest area, however fit well otherwise.
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

Fun day or night!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my birthday dinner but loved it so much I ended up wearing it to work also. I was worried it would be tight in the chest, but the fabric has a little stretch. It fit like a glove, but was comfortable enough to wear all day/ night. Plus the colors are fantastic!!!
kassandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Feb 5, 2014

Perfect stand-out piece

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit, the fabric was a beautiful quality and the length was perfect for a semi-formal summer rehearsal dinner. I would absolutely rent this dress again.
K
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Loved the colors

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It runs a little small so I ended up wearing the six instead of the 4. Very short and sassy,
annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Short!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress, but it is short! I didn't pack flats and felt uncomfortable wearing it with heels. So I didn't get to wear it. :(
jgal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Comfortable, short, fun pattern

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress, waist was a little higher than expected (5'5") but fit comfortably in the chest.
PeaceB
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 2, 2014

The colors were PERFECT for my day - night event!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress because I loved the print and colors, I was a bit scared about the fit so I read some reviews and saw that there was a consistency of girls saying that it was tight on the top part, I am a 34-C/D. I decided to go for a bigger size - 6 (I usually wear a 4) and I was wrong. The dress is beautiful but it was definitely big on me, I wore it anyway!
DFD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113 lbs
Jun 7, 2014

Very Short!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This is a great dress but very short! Would not rent again!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

Nice print

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Got it as my back up dress, it was ginormous! But very nice fabric and print
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Too short :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear for a graduation party. Unfortunately, it was suuuuper short (I'm 5'8"). If I sat down, inappropriate body parts would have been touching the seat and/or showing. For a shorter girl, though, it's an absolutely beautiful dress!
LA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

Perfect Dress for a Summer Wedding

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly. The dress hit a few inches above the knee. I got a lot of compliments on the dress - definitely recommend!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Did not wear. It fit up top but was WAY too short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The top fit well, so I was very disappointed with the length. The colors were really pretty.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Made for a great Vegas bachelorette party dress! Comfortable, fun but not over-the-top.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was a huge fan of the length, it hits a few inches above the knees, even for my petite frame. Only tough part was the bust area is a little tight, but still fit ok. LOVED THE POCKETS! I was able to go all over the strip carrying my phone, lipstick, money, ID, etc all without having to carry a purse. Every dress should have pockets.
Vicki
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 5, 2014

Fun and colorful patterns, soft material, very comfy!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress following a black tie wedding for going out after. It fit well up top, not too snug but perfectly tight. I am short with a small butt and the dress was a little short on me, but not inappropriate.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

This was a bright and fun dress for my bridal shower.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I thought this dress fit true to size. I rented it for a bridal shower. I thought it was a bit short and I'm only 5'3". Overall the color and pattern was fun and flirty. I would rent again.
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Bright and exactly what I was looking for

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was so cute and I loved he pockets!!!! It was short (I'm only 5'2") on me... But didn't look too bad... I just wouldn't feel comfortable picking up anything off the floor in this dress. I wore it for a school event and it was professional enough but so unique that no one else was wearing anything similar. Loved it!
Molly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

It was the perfect dress for a wedding on a summer afternoon.

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, this dress was a good fit. I am 5'3, so even though it was short it worked for me. It does run a little small, so I would recommend getting a size larger as a back-up.
Megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

I rented this dress for a bridal shower. It was fun and colorful!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly! It was a little snug in the chest, but I could wear it with a bra. The zipper is starting to come away from the seam, which made it difficult to zip. Overall, I loved this dress and would love to rent it again!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Very fun dress!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the fabric, almost similar to rope--a thick weave. Great colors, a little big on me, but loved the fit! It runs short though--especially if you are long legged--I just wore flats instead of my heels and it looked fine though!
brandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

AMAZING AS EXPECTED

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is everything I expected and more. I tried renting it for multiple events this summer and my size was never available. I ended up wearing it two nights in a row because I liked it so much. Even though I am aware that frequently European sizes run a little smaller, I completely expected to wear a 38. Because of some unexpected events with the size 38, rent the runway was unable to send it to me. I had never been so excited that a bigger size fit me. The colors are beautiful and the dress was a hit for both nights. It's pretty short and hit me a good 5 inches above my knee. I am only 5'2 so it was perfect on me for a fun night out but someone taller might feel uncomfortable with the length. The smallest section of the dress is the waistline. I think the size 38 would have fit everywhere but may have been tight at the waist. I am very flat chested and this dress fit me perfect. Someone bigger than a B may need to go up a size. A note on the customer service I received with this rental: In my entire life, I have never felt a company was more in favor of making the customer happy than this purchase. It truly makes me think I will never purchase a cocktail dress again and rent for everything. Amazing amazing amazing!!! Overall I honestly have never been so pleased with a company.
ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Wonderful dress! Very unique and perfect for a friend's baby shower!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Fit runs a little small but one size up was perfect! I recommend going up a size for your back up.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

Didn't wear it :(

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
If you are over 5'9" I wouldn't get this dress. The dress is SHORTTT - like show your booty short if you are tall. It was too big on the waist and then way too short. I think if you are short this would be a great dress though.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Dec 30, 2014

Great sundress for spring or summer!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was so fun and easy to wear! Very unique and will make one stand out. Fitted on top so base your size on that ( I have a smaller busy so sized down). Is quite short is the only downside!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×