Rent the Runway

MSGM

Ikat Wait to Dance Dress

$30 rental
$650 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You can't wait to hit the dance floor in this energetic fit n flare by MSGM!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38 - 46, Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38 - 46, Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolored ikat jacquard cotton (94% cotton, 6% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt with hidden side pockets at seam. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Partially lined. 32.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

107 reviews

Fit
Small 26
True to Size 67
Large 10
Photos 69
Meems
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 4, 2013

Vibrant print, joyful dress with great texture

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for my rehearsal dinner for my spring Southern wedding. It was not appropriate for the candlelit affair, but it is a gorgeous dress. I ended up wearing it the day of my wedding to my hair and makeup appointments. It is very light and comfortable. The cotton material has a great texture to it, like a crimping. It is a very fun dress. When I sat down, the straps of the dress rose above my shoulders, which means it may work better for slightly longer torsos. (I have a short torso.)
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
May 13, 2013

Compliments ALL night!!!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the material of the dress!! It was such a comfortable dress. I would recommend this dress to ANYONE who wants to be the center of attention!!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 15, 2013

Great fit and adorable!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the perfect dress for my sorority's formal. I loved the fit (true to size). Super fun and still super classy.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 15, 2013

Bright, fun and unforgettable!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a horse race. It was very comfortable yet stylish and flattering for the event. The Kate Spade Set in stone necklace really added that extra touch and charm to the dress and is a must have if you rent this dress!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 28, 2013

Great Dress!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a summer wedding in Mississippi. I knew it was going to be hot and wanted something that was light. The fit was great but I'm 5'8' and it was a little short. I usually am a size 6 in dresses but probably should have gone up a size to give me more length. This was my first RTR experience and I would definitely do it again!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 30, 2013

Dancing Queen!!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing! Great fit! Received so many compliments :) Another rent the runway success!!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 10, 2013

Flirty, fun, and worth the rent!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Yet another winner from RTR! I received loads of compliments on this dress and everyone kept asking where I got it. It fits a bit snug in the waist which was tough after a nice wedding meal but certainly not a deal breaker. Tall girls beware, the skirt is short but since I'm only 5'3" it fit perfectly! The color is bright and fun just as pictured but what you don't see is the rich texture of the fabric. Gorgeous!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

BEYONCE saw me in this dress!!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to the Beyonce concert and I am OBSESSED. Favorite dress i've ever worn! It's pretty short so I wore flats but you won't be uncomfortable. I wore it to the concert and then to work the next day because I loved it so much!
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

Cute, casual fit that was perfect for an outdoor rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was a great fit for me in size 38. For once, the length was perfect for me because I'm on the shorter side. The fit around the waist was really cute and cinched me in. I got tons of compliments on the dress from fellow attendees and even from the restaurant's hostess. The dress is on the casual side and can transition from hot summer day to night easily, which was perfect for my event. The texture is really cool and comfortable. My only point of concern was that it was a little tight in the chest area, so much so that there was a bit of side boob happening... If you're a larger chested girl, maybe go a size up for your backup dress.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

I wore this to my graduate school graduation - it was adorable!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Fits a little larger in the chest area. But overall is a good fit. Perfect length.
Maren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Aug 22, 2013

I loved the fun, bold print, lots of color, and classic shape!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my high school reunion. It had everything I was looking for: a fun, bold print, lots of color, a classic shape, and something that would showcase my short hair in a feminine and chic way. As the reviews stated, the dress was definitely on the short side, but since this was a fun event, I felt okay about the length. It was super comfortable and it even had pockets! I am petite, so I ordered a size 38 and 40, although I ended up going with the 4 to be on the more comfortable side. I liked the slightly looser fit. Overall, I felt sassy, quirky, and cute in this dress--the perfect attitude to bring to my high school reunion.
Meagan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 26, 2013

The pattern was perfect and received numerous compliments! GREAT dress!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was great, tight on the top and easy to breathe on the bottom; fun dress to dance in! Would definitely rent again!
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

Friggin cute!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress! I got it as a second style for a wedding, so I wore it when we went out the night before to some bars. The cut in the torso kind of flattens your boobs (I would compare it to a cheerleading uniform), and it's definitely a short dress. The fabric feels like high quality and the waist hits in the right place. Loved loved loved it, would definitely size up to be safe.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Show Stopper!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Wore this for my birthday party in NYC, with the Kate Spade "Set in Stone" necklace. I got a ton of compliments, and felt so confident in it! It took all of the power inside me to send it back! It runs a little small, so I recommend sizing up- especially if you're on the bustier side.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 21, 2013

Comfortable and beautiful!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Gorgeous dress that I wore to a horse race. Finding out there was pockets was a definite bonus! Super comfortable and could be dressed up or down.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 23, 2013

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a homecoming day event and could not have loved it more! I received so many compliments on it! The material was a fairly thick cotton and perfect for an outdoor day event in October in the south. Because it was fall and the dress is BRIGHT I wore black wedges and a black blazer to make it more seasonally appropriate and it could not have been a more perfect pick for such a fun day! It was a little tight around the chest but worked for me and hit just above my knee. The dress I received had a tear between the zipper and the fabric which caused a big problem on the day of because it would not zip. Fortunately my friends were able to maneuver it to fit and I reported it to RTR, who were so accommodating as usual! Overall would wear this dress again in a heartbeat!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Fun dress!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Such a great dress! I hated to send this one back. Wore for dinner and concert- received so many compliments during evening. A very flattering fit!
Ruth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

Super fun!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress for a friends wedding. Fun colors and comfortable fit. A bit short but not uncomfortable. Loved it!
Kandice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Feb 23, 2014

Loved this dress I rented for a bridesmaids luncheon. So colorful and fun

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit ran true to size...a little on the small side. Couldn't wear a bra with it but it was fine. Would definitely rent again.
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Mar 17, 2014

LOVED this dress! So many complements too

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had originally ordered another dress for a wedding I was attending but that dress and even the courtesy backup dress just weren't meant to be. I loved the fun print and colors of this dress. With the European sizing- I'm glad I ordered both a 38 (0) and a 40 (2). I wore a criss cross/racerback bra so the straps would not show. If you are busty, C cup or larger I would recommend sizing up so you don't get "pancake boob" and the bust area is comfortable since the bottom is more forgiving and relaxed on the hips. I wore this dress to a wedding with cocktail dress code and received so many complements throughout the night. I felt so comfortable in this dress and it even has pockets. I glammed the dress up with a fun rhinestone necklace, thin black patent belt to match my black patent heels and a black clutch. So fun! This dress exceeded my expectations, great RTR customer service. Definitely recommend.
PeaceB
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 2, 2014

The colors were PERFECT for my day - night event!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress because I loved the print and colors, I was a bit scared about the fit so I read some reviews and saw that there was a consistency of girls saying that it was tight on the top part, I am a 34-C/D. I decided to go for a bigger size - 6 (I usually wear a 4) and I was wrong. The dress is beautiful but it was definitely big on me, I wore it anyway!
DFD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113 lbs
Jun 7, 2014

Very Short!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This is a great dress but very short! Would not rent again!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

Nice print

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Got it as my back up dress, it was ginormous! But very nice fabric and print
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Too short :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear for a graduation party. Unfortunately, it was suuuuper short (I'm 5'8"). If I sat down, inappropriate body parts would have been touching the seat and/or showing. For a shorter girl, though, it's an absolutely beautiful dress!
LA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

Perfect Dress for a Summer Wedding

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly. The dress hit a few inches above the knee. I got a lot of compliments on the dress - definitely recommend!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Did not wear. It fit up top but was WAY too short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The top fit well, so I was very disappointed with the length. The colors were really pretty.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Made for a great Vegas bachelorette party dress! Comfortable, fun but not over-the-top.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was a huge fan of the length, it hits a few inches above the knees, even for my petite frame. Only tough part was the bust area is a little tight, but still fit ok. LOVED THE POCKETS! I was able to go all over the strip carrying my phone, lipstick, money, ID, etc all without having to carry a purse. Every dress should have pockets.
Vicki
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 5, 2014

Fun and colorful patterns, soft material, very comfy!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress following a black tie wedding for going out after. It fit well up top, not too snug but perfectly tight. I am short with a small butt and the dress was a little short on me, but not inappropriate.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

This was a bright and fun dress for my bridal shower.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I thought this dress fit true to size. I rented it for a bridal shower. I thought it was a bit short and I'm only 5'3". Overall the color and pattern was fun and flirty. I would rent again.
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Bright and exactly what I was looking for

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was so cute and I loved he pockets!!!! It was short (I'm only 5'2") on me... But didn't look too bad... I just wouldn't feel comfortable picking up anything off the floor in this dress. I wore it for a school event and it was professional enough but so unique that no one else was wearing anything similar. Loved it!
Molly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

It was the perfect dress for a wedding on a summer afternoon.

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, this dress was a good fit. I am 5'3, so even though it was short it worked for me. It does run a little small, so I would recommend getting a size larger as a back-up.
Megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

I rented this dress for a bridal shower. It was fun and colorful!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly! It was a little snug in the chest, but I could wear it with a bra. The zipper is starting to come away from the seam, which made it difficult to zip. Overall, I loved this dress and would love to rent it again!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Very fun dress!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the fabric, almost similar to rope--a thick weave. Great colors, a little big on me, but loved the fit! It runs short though--especially if you are long legged--I just wore flats instead of my heels and it looked fine though!
brandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

AMAZING AS EXPECTED

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is everything I expected and more. I tried renting it for multiple events this summer and my size was never available. I ended up wearing it two nights in a row because I liked it so much. Even though I am aware that frequently European sizes run a little smaller, I completely expected to wear a 38. Because of some unexpected events with the size 38, rent the runway was unable to send it to me. I had never been so excited that a bigger size fit me. The colors are beautiful and the dress was a hit for both nights. It's pretty short and hit me a good 5 inches above my knee. I am only 5'2 so it was perfect on me for a fun night out but someone taller might feel uncomfortable with the length. The smallest section of the dress is the waistline. I think the size 38 would have fit everywhere but may have been tight at the waist. I am very flat chested and this dress fit me perfect. Someone bigger than a B may need to go up a size. A note on the customer service I received with this rental: In my entire life, I have never felt a company was more in favor of making the customer happy than this purchase. It truly makes me think I will never purchase a cocktail dress again and rent for everything. Amazing amazing amazing!!! Overall I honestly have never been so pleased with a company.
ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Wonderful dress! Very unique and perfect for a friend's baby shower!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Fit runs a little small but one size up was perfect! I recommend going up a size for your back up.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

Didn't wear it :(

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
If you are over 5'9" I wouldn't get this dress. The dress is SHORTTT - like show your booty short if you are tall. It was too big on the waist and then way too short. I think if you are short this would be a great dress though.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Dec 30, 2014

Great sundress for spring or summer!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was so fun and easy to wear! Very unique and will make one stand out. Fitted on top so base your size on that ( I have a smaller busy so sized down). Is quite short is the only downside!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 21, 2015

Adorable and fun but not exactly right for a more formal event

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I thought this dress was fun and flirty but after I tried it on I felt a bit young in it so I didn't end up wearing it. This would be a great dress for a fun night out or backyard bday party. Also the dress ran a bit tight up top and definitely short - coming from someone who is 5'4 on a good day!
sara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 23, 2015

Pretty but REALLY short

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a really cute dress but is super super short. I'm 5'7" and it was way to short to wear, even with flats.
Kellie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Perfect for cool spring party

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress with black tights and black pumps. That was not part of the original plan, but luckily it looks great with tights! The dress is fitted through the torso and then comes to a slight flair at the waist. I thought it was a very flattering fit for my body. You cannot wear a regular bra with this dress as it will poke out. I wore a bra that has a racerback option and it tucked the straps in enough so as to not show. This dress is a great option for any season. Such a pretty dress you don't even need to accessorize it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×