MSGM

Ikat Wait to Dance Dress

$30 rental
$650 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You can't wait to hit the dance floor in this energetic fit n flare by MSGM! Simply pair with Rebecca Minkoff’s Step and Repeat Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38 - 46, Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38 - 46, Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolored ikat jacquard cotton (94% cotton, 6% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt with hidden side pockets at seam. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Partially lined. 32.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

97 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 61
Large 10
Photos 61
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 21, 2013

Comfortable and beautiful!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Gorgeous dress that I wore to a horse race. Finding out there was pockets was a definite bonus! Super comfortable and could be dressed up or down.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 23, 2013

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a homecoming day event and could not have loved it more! I received so many compliments on it! The material was a fairly thick cotton and perfect for an outdoor day event in October in the south. Because it was fall and the dress is BRIGHT I wore black wedges and a black blazer to make it more seasonally appropriate and it could not have been a more perfect pick for such a fun day! It was a little tight around the chest but worked for me and hit just above my knee. The dress I received had a tear between the zipper and the fabric which caused a big problem on the day of because it would not zip. Fortunately my friends were able to maneuver it to fit and I reported it to RTR, who were so accommodating as usual! Overall would wear this dress again in a heartbeat!
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Great Wedding Dress

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and loved it. It runs a little small. Short but ok for someone my height.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Fun dress!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Such a great dress! I hated to send this one back. Wore for dinner and concert- received so many compliments during evening. A very flattering fit!
Ruth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

Super fun!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress for a friends wedding. Fun colors and comfortable fit. A bit short but not uncomfortable. Loved it!
Kandice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Feb 23, 2014

Loved this dress I rented for a bridesmaids luncheon. So colorful and fun

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit ran true to size...a little on the small side. Couldn't wear a bra with it but it was fine. Would definitely rent again.
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Mar 17, 2014

LOVED this dress! So many complements too

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had originally ordered another dress for a wedding I was attending but that dress and even the courtesy backup dress just weren't meant to be. I loved the fun print and colors of this dress. With the European sizing- I'm glad I ordered both a 38 (0) and a 40 (2). I wore a criss cross/racerback bra so the straps would not show. If you are busty, C cup or larger I would recommend sizing up so you don't get "pancake boob" and the bust area is comfortable since the bottom is more forgiving and relaxed on the hips. I wore this dress to a wedding with cocktail dress code and received so many complements throughout the night. I felt so comfortable in this dress and it even has pockets. I glammed the dress up with a fun rhinestone necklace, thin black patent belt to match my black patent heels and a black clutch. So fun! This dress exceeded my expectations, great RTR customer service. Definitely recommend.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Unique, beautiful dress with elegant edge!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner for a wedding I was a bridesmaid in. I LOVED it. If I could've, I would have kept it! The colours are vibrant and the pattern is fun and exciting. I got a ton of compliments. The only slight downside is that the length is a little short considering the skirt's flare. I have very long legs and a big butt, so the fit was flattering, but I would have felt a tad self conscious in windy conditions or if I were bending over much. I wore a chunky black statement necklace and black heels a lot like the pair on the model, which put me over 6 feet.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Bright, fun, short and flirty! Perfect for brunch and mimosas

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Tight fitting in the rib cage and chest to hold it all in, flouncy skirt with pockets such a win! The bold pattern was so fun, I got a lot of compliments. You don't need a ton of jewelry with this ikat brightness, I work a stack of gold bangles and gladiator sandals. #ikat #secretpockets #funskirt
Alissa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 14, 2014

Perfect dress to stand out in for a Summer wedding!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding that was held in August. NYC is known to be humid so I didn't want to be trapped in a long dress, especially knowing that ceremony and cocktail hour were going to be held outside. I loved the print and structure of the dress. I would say if you are debating between 2 sizes, go with the bigger one only because the waist does cinch a little bit. I didn't find the dress to be super short .. I found it to be the perfect length for a cocktail dress. I paired it with a gold necklace and nude shoes so my look wasn't too "loud".
casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 6, 2014

Fun and flirty Spring/Summer dress!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and received complements all night! The colors are so much fun and I loved the added bonus of the pockets! I ended up wearing the size 40 so that I could wear a bra with the dress. I would definitely recommend sizing up for your back up dress as it's a bit tight in the chest area. I was so sad to send this dress back!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
May 7, 2014

Wore this for my grandmother's surprise birthday party. It was an afternoon party, dress was perfect

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was a bit big but the smaller size was unavailable. Flattering cut and short but not too short. Only con other than a size too big was that the dress reeked of like fast food or something when it arrived, I had to douse it in perfume before wearing.
Marta Perez
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
May 15, 2014

Cute spring party dress!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress as part of my graduation festivities, to an awards ceremony and also out the night of graduation because I loved it so much. It went from day event to spring night party dress and I got compliments the whole time! I had to wear the larger size, so I think it runs small however I am built athletically and the widest part of my body is my chest/back/shoulders, and this is where the dress was fitted. I am short, and the dress is short, so I loved that it showed off my legs without being inappropriate for a day graduation event. Taller ladies might find it very short though. The coloring is fun, but the way it shows up on the dress looks like crayon on paper as opposed to sharp lines, but I thought it was great!
Janell
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 28, 2014

Everyone loved my dress!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was a bit short for a baptism but fit beautifully. Its also thick material so make sure you're not going to be outside when you wear it.
Mary Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 3, 2014

It wasn't my favorite...

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought this dress was ok... I didn't love where the waist line hit and I felt sort of like a cupcake.
Maggie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Fabulous Dress! Compliments all night!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The size 2 fit perfectly. I am 5'8'' and although it was a tad short it was not too bad. Thick material but so comfortable to wear all night long. I wore gold bangles and did not think the dress needed any other accessories. Loved it and received compliments all night long!!
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Best wine tasting outfit ever

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Got so many compliments. Loved it!!
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

The dress fit so well, was very comfortable, and I got compliments all night!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! Super cute! I am only 5'4" and it was still very short, so be aware of that. I still wore heels and it was fine, I just had to be careful to not bend over. Other than that, the dress was perfect for a summer wedding in the Hamptons!
Shondra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Super cute/semi-formal dress for a wedding

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got 2 sizes (44,46) and I normally take a size 6. I think a size 42 would have fit me as well- the 44 was incredibly comfortable though and far from baggy. Oddly matched a bunch of shoes I had which was convenient- you could wear black shoes, or tan or nude shoes as well. Everyone at the wedding was asking where I got my dress, and I always answer "I rented it" and they think it's genius. Apparently everyone I know thought I had an endless supply of super-fashionable dresses, but the secret is that I'm just constantly renting the runway :)
brittany
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Jun 29, 2014

Great colors for a summer wedding.

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would say the only con is that it is pretty short. Because of this I went with shorter heels. The other con is that the girl who previously wore it damaged the zipper. I almost missed my friends ceremony because it was so difficult to zip even on the hanger.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Love the pattern!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
This is an adorable dress! I rented it for a vacation down in NoLA. The flare skirt is flattering and the pattern is eye-catching. It was a good length for me (I'm 5'0'') but my only complaint was the chest area. The torso was a bit long so it scrunched up a lot around my rib cage. Maybe it'd fit better on someone with a fuller bust. Other than that, I'd highly recommend this dress for a day out on the town!
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

Can be dressed up or down--very short though

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for a wedding, as well as a backup dress. This was a fun, comfortable dress that fit very well, but it was very short. I opted not to wear it to the wedding because of its length, but it served well as a dress for going out the night before the wedding. I will definitely be renting this again.
Jenna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Such a cute and flattering dress. I had so many complement on the fun and bold print.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit perfectly and was exactly what I expected.
Leslie
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Jul 13, 2014

Unique, classy and sexy!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love love love this dress!!! True to size, chest area was a little tight so I had some side boob at first, but I was able to wear a non padded bra with some fashion tape and it was perfect. Definitely on the shorter side, and I'm only 5'2. However, being completely covered up top kept it appropriate for a wedding. I wore it nude strappy heels and gold jewelry. Very comfortable easy to move and dance. Everyone loved it! First RTR dress I really was sad to send back.
Leah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Birthday dinner success!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for my birthday dinner and absolutely loved it! I can't tell you how hard it was to send back. In fact I even asked to purchase it. Was a little tight in the chest area, so opted to not wear a bra. Very fitted in the waist area, and great for shorter frames and petite sizes, as its a little short and lengthens. Tons of compliments on the design as its very unique. Would rent again for another occasion!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Great dress for the winery!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress for when we went to a winery during my bachelorette party. My friends and I loved it! Beware though, this dress is not for a tall person. I'm 5'7 and could not have pulled off heels with this dress and had to wear flats.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Favorite rental so far

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm obsessed with this dress and was so sad to send it back. Wore it to a wedding and got tons of compliments. Flattering shape, and a little short but not inappropriate (I'm 5'6). I normally wear a size 4 and the 42 fit perfectly.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 12, 2014

Fun pattern and cute cut!

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this dress during the day in Vegas and loved it! It's comfortable and has pockets, which makes any dress great in my mind. The length was a little on the shorter side but not too short, so it made the dress playful and fun.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

Such a cute dress and love the colors!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It fits true to size and the pockets are an extra bonus! The dress isn't too short and the fabric isn't heavy so it wasn't uncomfortable to wear in Florida during one of our infamous muggy evenings. The necklace I originally rented was damaged so I was able to select another and went with the Nocturne Azia Purple Necklace. It actually worked out much better!!
Mary Glyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Oct 9, 2014

Fun dress, loved the colors!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for a bachelorette party. I typically range between a 4-6 but rented the 44 & 46 as size 42 was unavailable. The 44 fit well but was a little baggy/loose in my waist. It wasn't too obvious how big it was in the waist but I definitely would have felt more comfortable in the 42. I am 5'5 and the dress was not too short. Loved the dress and will rent again but in a smaller size.
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

Weird fit

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought this was the cutest dress and it seemed to look flattering on other girls, but the fit was so wrong on me! I actually have a bit of a long torso and the torso area was still WAY too long so it bunched up a lot and made me look really slouchy. It's tight around the waist so if your torso isn't EXACTLY the right length it will bunch up weird. You can see in the pictures - the one on the left shoes the bagginess and the one on the right shoes how well it would have fit if the straps were taken up several inches.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

I got so many compliments and it photographed well! Lightweight fabric great for summer wedding.

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit true to size but the fabric does not stretch AT ALL. It was definitely on the short size even though I am average height.
Gabriela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

Super fun print and pattern!

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fir like a glove. If you're bottom heavy it conceals all and has a nice skirt! Loved the pockets! It's photographed nicely and everyone said it was so cute and fun for a brunch party! High quality fabric. Good condition. Loved it!
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Love love loved this flirty dress!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for an event that I had while on a beach vacation, and it was perfect for the occasion! The dress was very much a fit and flare style. Fit well thru the bust (and I'm DD+), very fitted thru the rib cage area and flares out at the waist. It was short on my 5'1" frame, not so much that it felt inappropriate to bend over if needed, but taller girls may run into some issues. The pockets were another fun feature. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was b/c you could tell the dress had quite a bit of wear and the colors were starting to fade. Nevertheless I would rent again!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

I wore it to an engagement party and received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit true to size, was a little short but wore tights! The dress was somewhat springy but able to be worn for fall with navy tights and booties! Loved the dress and would rent again! Everyone loved it and it was different from other guests!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Dec 9, 2014

Perfect summer dress

Size worn: 44
Rented for: Vacation
Wore this to a bachelorette party in key west. It was a great price for a fun casual rental. It runs pretty big and you'll definitely want to size it to your top.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Great out on the town dress

Size worn: 38
Rented for: Party
Wore it out & it was comfortable. I gave it at 4 out of 5 because it was a tad stretched out & just not my favorite dress.
Meredith
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 12, 2015

Fun, but didn't fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't wear this dress because it ran too large and a second size wasn't available.
Casey
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 11, 2015

I wore this to my soon to be sister in law's bridal shower. I loved the colors!

Size worn: 38
Rented for: Other
I rented the 38 and 40 but ended up wearing the 38. The 38 was a little tighter at the top but the skirt part was also smaller. The 40 would have worked as well. You can wear a normal bra with this dress which is nice!
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

Loved the colors! Got tons of compliments. Really fun dress for a bday party.

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Material was a bit stiffer/thicker than normal, but I liked that because it gave the dress some structure. The dress was the perfect length on me--didn't have to hem it or anything. Also, the dress was supportive enough in the chest that I didn't need to wear a bra.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×