MSGM

Ikat Wait to Dance Dress

$88 to buy
$650 retail
Stylist Notes

You can't wait to hit the dance floor in this energetic fit n flare by MSGM!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38 - 46, Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multicolored ikat jacquard cotton (94% cotton, 6% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt with hidden side pockets at seam. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Partially lined. 32.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
140 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(77)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
May 15, 2014
Cute spring party dress!

I wore this dress as part of my graduation festivities, to an awards ceremony and also out the night of graduation because I loved it so much. It went from day event to spring night party dress and I got compliments the whole time! I had to wear the larger size, so I think it runs small however I am built athletically and the widest part of my body is my chest/back/shoulders, and this is where the dress was fitted. I am short, and the dress is short, so I loved that it showed off my legs without being inappropriate for a day graduation event. Taller ladies might find it very short though. The coloring is fun, but the way it shows up on the dress looks like crayon on paper as opposed to sharp lines, but I thought it was great!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 24, 2014
Did not wear. It fit up top but was WAY too short.

The top fit well, so I was very disappointed with the length. The colors were really pretty.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 26, 2014
Made for a great Vegas bachelorette party dress! Comfortable, fun but not over-the-top.

I was a huge fan of the length, it hits a few inches above the knees, even for my petite frame. Only tough part was the bust area is a little tight, but still fit ok. LOVED THE POCKETS! I was able to go all over the strip carrying my phone, lipstick, money, ID, etc all without having to carry a purse. Every dress should have pockets.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 4, 2014
It was the perfect dress for a wedding on a summer afternoon.

Overall, this dress was a good fit. I am 5'3, so even though it was short it worked for me. It does run a little small, so I would recommend getting a size larger as a back-up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 5, 2014
Wonderful dress! Very unique and perfect for a friend's baby shower!

Fit runs a little small but one size up was perfect! I recommend going up a size for your back up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 13, 2013
Great Wedding Dress

I rented this dress for a wedding and loved it. It runs a little small. Short but ok for someone my height.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 21, 2015
Adorable and fun but not exactly right for a more formal event

I thought this dress was fun and flirty but after I tried it on I felt a bit young in it so I didn't end up wearing it. This would be a great dress for a fun night out or backyard bday party. Also the dress ran a bit tight up top and definitely short - coming from someone who is 5'4 on a good day!

Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
May 15, 2015
Bright summery colors perfect for dressing up and dressing down!

This dress was such a hit! I wore it for a summer wedding in DC at the Ritz, and everyone loved the bright colors. This dress is on the more casual side, but I dressed it up with black heels, black accessories, and a black purse. I'm 5'3" and typically a size 0, and the 38 was on the tighter side. My chest was smashed down, and I wanted to wear a more bust-enhancing undergarment, so I opted for the 40. The 40 still looked fitted, but I was able to breathe and look like I have my curves. Also, this dress is on the shorter side which was great for me since I'm short, but I can see this being really short on taller girls. I think that this dress is a great fit for daytime activities (showers, birthdays, etc), so definitely versatile! I want to buy this dress now actually :P

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 1, 2015
Really cute!

This dress was really cute and I enjoyed wearing it. I typically wear a size 6, but I ordered the 6 and the 8. The size 6 was slightly too tight in the chest area . . . but the size 8 was too baggy! I ended up wearing the 6, and I still really liked the dress -- it was just a little tight.

Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 34
October 30, 2015
Super Cute!

I ended up wearing the 46 since the 44 was too tight in the chest. The 46 was quite loose in the arms and around the waist. The dress was still super cute and I received lots of compliments. I loved having the pockets and didn't have to carry a purse. Since I wore this to an outside summer wedding, I paired it with black flats....wedges would have been great too though. The fabric is more of a weave than what appears in the picture. By looking at the picture I thought the dress would have a sheen to it, but it was a duller weave in person. Still a great dress and I would definitely rent it again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 32
February 21, 2016
Wore this dress for my 30th birthday in Jamaica

Beautiful print...had to go a size up because it is very fitted on the rib cage.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 23, 2016
Adorable but unforgiving up top

Loved this for my trip to Miami, but wish it would've been available in a 42--I'm normally a size 2 & quite small-chested and I could barely breathe in this. Didn't detract from the look of it (very flattering & fun print) but was just uncomfortable. Note it's not quite as bright in person as in the photos (really photographs beautifully)--I'm not sure if this is due to the dress itself or if it's just coming to the end of its life & over-drycleaned.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 11, 2013
Friggin cute!

I loved this dress! I got it as a second style for a wedding, so I wore it when we went out the night before to some bars. The cut in the torso kind of flattens your boobs (I would compare it to a cheerleading uniform), and it's definitely a short dress. The fabric feels like high quality and the waist hits in the right place. Loved loved loved it, would definitely size up to be safe.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 19, 2015
I received many compliments on this dress. The colors were fun and unique, perfect for Spring!

The fit was great and I enjoyed the cut of the dress specifically at the waist. I felt skinny!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 13, 2013
Vibrant Colors

I rented this for a grad party. Gorgeous colors, the print was super cute. The fabric is a thick woven-knit, but it's only lined on top, not the bottom. That's fine because it's not see through but just FYI. I sized up to a 42. a 40 fit better around my waist, but it was too tight across the chest. I've rented from this designer before and it definitely runs small.

Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2013
The pattern that was on the fabric itself - not the colorful design - was so beautiful.

Fit: small across chest, otherwise awesome skirt. Wore with some super high platform heels. Received so many compliments. Definitely a standout at my formal event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2014
Great for summer wedding

This dress was very unique and was great to wear to a summer wedding! I received many compliments. For me, it was a little tight in the chest area, however fit well otherwise.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113lbs
June 7, 2014
Very Short!

This is a great dress but very short! Would not rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 21, 2016
I received many compliments on this dress. The colors were fun and unique, perfect for Spring!

The fit was great and I enjoyed the cut of the dress specifically at the waist. I felt skinny!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 12, 2016
LOVE IT ! Snug but super cute. Flirty and fresh !

I'm 5'3" and 112 lbs. This fit me as a size 0 would. I'm smaller busted and not as small in the waist (I wear a size 26 jean usually, sometimes a 25 but they're snug at the waist). It was hard to zip up initial but MAN is it cute. And very comfortable. HIGHLY recommend. I almost kept it !

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 13, 2017
Cute, but too small

This dress is adorable! However, if you are between sizes, definitely size up. I ended up exchanging this because the largest size (46 - recommended for size 10) was tiny. The fabric doesn't have any stretch, and the hem is also extremely short. Sad, because I was super exited to wear this, but customer service was great with shipping me a new dress overnight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2017
Girls Weekend in Savannah!

Great dress! I had anticipated temps of 70 to 80 degrees when I rented this dress. However, when the forecast suddenly changed I was worried about my order. However, I was pleased to discover the versatility of this dress. Even though it is sleeveless, it is of a slightly sturdier material, pairing with tights and a sweater made it perfect for the 50 degree weather. Would rent again. I would note that while I generally fit in a 2 (38), they only had a 4 (40). Well, thank goodness! The 40 fit perfectly, my boobs woud have totally been squashed wih the 2.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 37
April 30, 2017
Not great if you are busty

Great colors, better for flatter chested girls. The dress material has no give.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 4, 2013
Vibrant print, joyful dress with great texture

I rented this for my rehearsal dinner for my spring Southern wedding. It was not appropriate for the candlelit affair, but it is a gorgeous dress. I ended up wearing it the day of my wedding to my hair and makeup appointments. It is very light and comfortable. The cotton material has a great texture to it, like a crimping. It is a very fun dress. When I sat down, the straps of the dress rose above my shoulders, which means it may work better for slightly longer torsos. (I have a short torso.)

lynneMay 4, 2013
YOUR HAIR <333333333333
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2013
Bright, fun and unforgettable!

I wore this to a horse race. It was very comfortable yet stylish and flattering for the event. The Kate Spade Set in stone necklace really added that extra touch and charm to the dress and is a must have if you rent this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 28, 2013
Great Dress!

I rented this dress for a summer wedding in Mississippi. I knew it was going to be hot and wanted something that was light. The fit was great but I'm 5'8' and it was a little short. I usually am a size 6 in dresses but probably should have gone up a size to give me more length. This was my first RTR experience and I would definitely do it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 30, 2013
Dancing Queen!!

This dress was amazing! Great fit! Received so many compliments :) Another rent the runway success!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 10, 2013
Flirty, fun, and worth the rent!

Yet another winner from RTR! I received loads of compliments on this dress and everyone kept asking where I got it. It fits a bit snug in the waist which was tough after a nice wedding meal but certainly not a deal breaker. Tall girls beware, the skirt is short but since I'm only 5'3" it fit perfectly! The color is bright and fun just as pictured but what you don't see is the rich texture of the fabric. Gorgeous!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
July 13, 2013
Fun summer dress. Loved the fit and so comfortable. Definitely not for a nicer cocktail party.

Fits true to size and so comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 31, 2013
BEYONCE saw me in this dress!!

I wore this to the Beyonce concert and I am OBSESSED. Favorite dress i've ever worn! It's pretty short so I wore flats but you won't be uncomfortable. I wore it to the concert and then to work the next day because I loved it so much!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 13, 2013
So many compliments!

The colors are gorgeous and its like no other dress around!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2013
The pattern was perfect and received numerous compliments! GREAT dress!

The fit was great, tight on the top and easy to breathe on the bottom; fun dress to dance in! Would definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2013
I got a ton of compliments at this summer wedding!

It was a bit tight and the material does not leave room for stretching but I loved the colors and how different it is! It ran a little short and I would've liked to gotten a size 42 instead but it was still a hit!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 12, 2013
Amazing dress! Love the colors, hidden side pockets and textured pattern of the dress!

This dress is absolutely adorable! The waist is a tiny bit big but other than that it was perfect and flattering. You could wear it for a PM event, but this was worn during the day. We would use RTR again in a heartbeat. Love the concept and love that the dress arrived when promised. You made the return super simple. As they say in Hawaiian, "Mahalo nui loa"... Thank you very much!

Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 10, 2013
Amazing

Tight in the bust area and a bit short but very flattering. I got so many compliments and introduced most of my guest list to rent the runway!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 28, 2013
Fun print!

I loved the fun print on this dress! It was a bit tight in the chest for me, and I wish it had been an inch or so longer, but other than that, no complaints!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 21, 2013
Comfortable and beautiful!

Gorgeous dress that I wore to a horse race. Finding out there was pockets was a definite bonus! Super comfortable and could be dressed up or down.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 18, 2013
Fun dress!

Such a great dress! I hated to send this one back. Wore for dinner and concert- received so many compliments during evening. A very flattering fit!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2014
Fun day or night!

I rented this for my birthday dinner but loved it so much I ended up wearing it to work also. I was worried it would be tight in the chest, but the fabric has a little stretch. It fit like a glove, but was comfortable enough to wear all day/ night. Plus the colors are fantastic!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
February 18, 2014
Super fun!

Loved this dress for a friends wedding. Fun colors and comfortable fit. A bit short but not uncomfortable. Loved it!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×