Your Moment Sheath

$140 to buy
$398 retail
Stylist Notes

Attending a wedding? This lady like ML Monique Lhuillier lace sheath is the perfect style to look elegant for the ceremony.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline with scalloped lace edge. Pencil skirt with scalloped lace hem. Keyhole back with hook and eye closure. Hidden side zipper. 37" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
575 reviews
Fit
Large
(48)
True to Size
(488)
Small
(38)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 1, 2013
The perfect dress!
This dress (especially the back) was a huge hit! I kept getting compliments all night.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
June 2, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding!
This fit was true to size and the lace detail was beautiful. There are three hook and eye closures at the top of the dress that you will need help clasping together as they are very delicate. Overall the perfect dress for a wedding, I was comfortable all night! Got many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
June 2, 2013
dress was great!!!!! LOED IT
went to a wedding and was perfect for the occasion. First time using rent the runway and loved it will deff use again
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 3, 2013
Both sizes of the dress came right on time and already hung in a garment bag ready to travel!
Loved this dress! It fits true to size although it was a bit long. I'm 5'3" and it hit just below my knees. Still looked great though and I had a ton of compliments on it all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 4, 2013
Perfect for a black tie wedding in the city.
Beautiful open back and lace detail gave this conservative dress a little oomph. I wore it to a black tie wedding with coworkers and it was perfect. Note that you'll need a backless/strapless bra. This is obviously a popular rental and the lace was starting to show a little wear on the edges, but looked great in photos and i just hairsprayed down the "eyelashes" that were sticking out. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 6, 2013
I wore it to a work Christmas party. I received so many compliments that night.
Bra situation is a little tricky
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 6, 2013
Classy and conservative
I rented this dress for an early summer wedding. The lace and construction was beautiful, and I adored the open back. I wanted something a little more conservative and this fit the bill without sacrificing a bit of sexy. I am pretty curvy and carrying some leftover baby belly, and the lace and navy combo did a pretty good job of giving me a slimmer profile. I have a big bust and NEED support, so that was a concern - i used the band that hooks to your strapless bra and wraps around the body to make the bra sit lower than the opening of the back.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
June 8, 2013
Ordered late Thursday night, arrived early Saturday morning, perfect timing!
I was worried about the open back of the dress but it looked incredible and I was able to comfortably wear a strapless bra and not worry about the strap showing. It was a perfect knee length and fit well! Highly recommend this dress to someone for their next formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 8, 2013
Really great, fitted. Looked beautiful
I wore this to a summer wedding. I got so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 10, 2013
Great dress for any occasion!
Rented this dress for a formal wedding. I had tons of compliments all night on the dress! The lace wasn't in perfect condition, but it wasn't noticeable to any one but myself. It's a very classic dress, yet the cutout on the back shows the perfect amount of skin! Once again, I am pleased with my experience and I already have another dress on the way! I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
June 10, 2013
Love, love, love the LACE!
Beautiful dress, got to wear for a friends wedding. Eventhough it fit perfect I went with 2nd rental because I loved the purple color. I'm 5'5, 138lbs and 34DD. This dress is perfect for hourglass figure. A corset, low back bra would be benificial to keep everything in place.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2013
Loved the dress!
Overall a fabulous dress! Very comfortable and flattering. I received lots of compliments on the dress. I paired it with fuchsia high-heeled sandals by Micheal Kors to wear to a wedding. I wish I could have rented the shoes too as they were a pretty penny. The dress was true to size but it had stretched a bit from the previous uses but nothing significant. The only other draw back was the smell. It could have been more thoroughly cleaned, especially in the armpits because you could smell the previous wearer. Nothing too overpowering, I'm hoping I was the only one who noticed. I would suggest a deeper cleaning method; dry cleaning I feel like does not do a through job of cleaning garments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 10, 2013
Master's degree graduation!
I am obsessed with this dress! It is absolutely gorgeous. The lacy is beautiful and has amazing detail on the back opening. I wore it with a backless sick-on bra, but probably would have been ok without it. It fit perfectly and is a great length as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2013
Beautiful lace dress was formal affair appropriate
Well, I originally got this dress to wear to the wedding, but after trying it on I decided to wear it to the rehearsal dinner instead. The lace had been damaged; it was stretched so that it didn't lay flat around the neckline or under the arms and it was torn a little in places. The size 8 that was too big didn't appear to have these issues, but the size 6 fit much better (still too large in the bust and shoulders, so that the keyhole back didn't lay flat). Nobody really seemed to notice as they were all minor issues, but it made wearing the dress a bit uncomfortable as I was constantly tugging at it to fix it. All in all, I would suggest going with a smaller size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
June 14, 2013
Gorgeous!
I was worried about the fit of this dress being a curvy gal, but I felt that it extremely flattering and ever comfortable, which I was not expecting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2013
Absolutely fabulous! Classic yet unique!
This dress was fantastic! The fit was perfect and true to size. I got TONS of complements and the lace was perfect. As a petite woman i found the length to be just right. The "hook & eye" closures on the back were a little lose, but I secured the back with accessory tape to prevent and wardrobe malfunctions. Overall a WONDERFUL RTR experience. Wish they had this in other colors b/c I would rent them all!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 19, 2013
This dress is STUNNING! I wore it to a fancy dinner and received compliments all night.
I am a size 12 with curves (ahhhh yeah ladies!). After reading the reviews, I nervously ordered a size 10. The dress fit like a glove and hit my curves JUST right. If I could buy this dress, I would. I received compliments from women and men alike ALL night. My boyfriend nailed it on the head when he described it as classy and sophisticated with a touch of sexiness. This was the best dress I've ever worn!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 20, 2013
Beautiful, but hard to see the details
This dress has some lovely boning in the bodice, and is very flattering for all body types - but it's such a dark navy blue it's hard to see it! I wasn't a huge fan of this dress - the lace aged me about 10 years. You can get away with not wearing a bra, but I need the support of one, so I didn't end up wearing it to my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 22, 2013
Beautiful dress
The dress was gorgeous and well made. I'm normally between an 8 and a 10 so I ordered those two sizes and ended up wearing the eight which was still a bit big for me in the shoulders. The bottom most hook and eye closure didn't want to stay but nothing that couldn't be fixed with fashion tape. I was worried that the lace would be uncomfortable but the dress was very comfortable to wear. I wore the magic cups adhesive bra underneath because of the open back, which worked pretty nicely. Overall the dress looked great on (I wish I owned it) and the RTR service was great.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 24, 2013
The open back and delicate lace gave it a feminine and flirty flair!
I felt feminine and sophisticated in this stunning dress and received compliments all night! The open back gave it a sophisticated and sexy flair. It's form-fitting in a sophisticated way. Perfect for a wedding! Would wear again in another color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2013
This dress is amazing. Received a TON of compliments. Wanted to keep it!
It fits true to size, but is also extremely form fitting and not very forgiving. Spanx was definitely a must for me. I didn't think a bra was necessary, but got a nu-bra anyways for extra padding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 25, 2013
Beautiful dress, great for wedding, a little tighter than I expected. The 4 fit but was tight.
I rented this as my 2nd $25 dress, really liked it, but ended up not wearing it as it was too formal for the outdoor summer wedding I was attending.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 25, 2013
This was my first rental from rent the runway and I LOVED this dress.
This dress fit so beautifully and was the perfect length-not too long or too short. I received so many compliments at the wedding I attended from other guests and from friends who saw my pictures online. I would definitely recommend renting this dress! I typically wear anywhere from a 0-4, the 2 fit me perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 27, 2013
I got so many compliments on the dress and loved posing for photos all night.
Like many reviewers said, this dress can be a bit long if you are petite, hitting just below the knee. It's fitted, but I did find the shoulders a bit broad and was afraid the clasps in the back would get undone by being loose, but that wasn't an issue at all. Everything stayed put.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
June 29, 2013
Gorgeous back
Fit wonderfully, though I have narrow shoulders and it did feel a little loose across my back
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 1, 2013
Compliments on the dress all evening!
The lace detail was a little flimsy and would not stay in place and kept flipping over...but that's a minor detail. Otherwise, the dress was FANTASTIC.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
July 2, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress, and it was so easy to ship & return. I'm hooked on RTR
The dress was gorgeous but you could tell that the 4 had been altered for wear & tear so I was thrilled that the 2 fit. I received so many compliments and I felt gorgeous in this dress. Thank you RTR!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
July 4, 2013
Felt amazing and beautiful for my engagement pictures!
I can see why this dress is one of the most popular rentals from RTR! This dress was flirty with a little sex appeal and yet was still conservative. I chose this dress to wear for my family portrait and mini engagement photoshoot on 7/3/13. I'm on the shorter side at 5'3" and was concerned about the length of the dress (based on previous reviews), but I think it came to my knees and I thought it looked fine. I usually wear a size 2 because of my hips -- I'm in between a pear and an hourglass shape with measurements 32C-24-34. But for me since my shoulders aren't too wide the 2 was very loose on top for me. The size 0 was perfect as it hugged my body in the right places. It was still a tad loose on top, but I don't think it was noticeable. I known other reviewers mentioned that the lace looked very worn out on the dress they received, but I guess I must have been lucky as I did not experience that with the ones that were shipped to me. Also did not have an issue with the clasps coming undone in the back. I wore a NuBra with this dress but you could probably wear one of those low-back bras with clear straps. This is a great a beautiful dress! I wish I could keep it! This was my first experience with RTR and I would definitely use them again! *I'll make sure to post a picture once I get my photos from the photographer :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178lbs
July 8, 2013
Love this dress!! It was very flattering!
This dress was beautiful! It fit big, I usually wear a 14 but could have definitely worn a 12 in this dress. I ordered the 14 and 16 because some of the reviews said it ran small so I ended up wearing the 14. But overall this dress was really pretty and comfortable! I received a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 8, 2013
Being told ALL NIGHT I looked amazing. Best part? Not need to shop for hours and hours in a store!
The dress really is stunning, I got compliments ALL NIGHT LONG (even from the bride!). Fit was really great, dress has boning in the front to help support the top and length was prefect. One Con the dress is that is has plenty of signs of wear- a small rip in the front and they lace has really been put through the paces- However- you don't notice until you look up close. Weight was great and dress is lightly lined. Needed a low-back bra (picked one up for $30.. not bad). Recommend highly!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2013
Perfect dress for my husband's formal work event!
Loved loved loved this dress... the dark blue lace was so gorgeous and the back of this dress is fabulous. I got so many compliments all night. I had to get one of those sticky "no back" bras but it was totally worth it. This was for a formal work celebration for my husband at a fancy hotel in Pebble Beach (Monterey, CA).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 21, 2013
I loved the easiness of ordering and returning the dress. Plus, all the compliments I received!!!
This dress was AMAZING! I ordered an 8 & 10...ended up wearing the 10. I have a big bust, but was able to not have to wear a bra because the dress is form fitting. So the open back wasn't an issue for me. I got many compliments and felt gorgeous in the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 22, 2013
Perfect Bridesmaid Dress!
I wore this for my cousin's wedding and got nonstop compliments throughout the night. Fit perfectly and was comfortable to wear all day long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 24, 2013
Gorgeous dress, but was in between sizes and didn't end up wearing.
I rented this for a springtime wedding in DC- the navy color was perfect for the event and the lace was beautiful. However, I fell right in between the two sizes I rented, and never felt 100% comfortable with either. (Small waist + fuller hips = either baggy midsection/perfect fit around hips OR perfect fit at waistline/not sure I can sit down the whole night around hips...) Nothing wrong with the dress, but definitely best suited for a straigher figure.
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
July 24, 2013
SO many compliments!
This is my second time renting from RTR, and won't be my last!! I rented this dress to wear to my cousins wedding. I was a little nervous at how it was going to fit, since the model in the picture is a twig, and I'm not. I ordered both the 14 and the 16, just to be on the safe side. They both fit, well, but I went with the 16, because it was a little longer, and bigger in the bust. The dress is surprisingly comfortable to wear, and is just stunning on. I got compliments all night long, and even after the wedding! My fiancee and I stopped in to the grocery store on the way home to grab a few things, and people were stopping me in the store to tell me how gorgeous the dress was! I highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 24, 2013
Loved the back, and it fit perfect.
Tons of compliments, and felt awesome the whole night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 28, 2013
Wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner/cocktail party
Ordered a size 0 and 2. The 2 fit my lower half perfectly, but the top was a tad loose although not noticeable. Great dress, received lots of compliments! I felt both classy and sexy which was perfect for the occasion, and I love the color navy. Lace on the dress was in good condition despite what I previously had read. My only complaints would be the smell of the dress (I believe from packaging), and the little hanger strings kept coming out so I wish I could have cut them. I would highly recommend this dress!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 30, 2013
Beautiful Dress
Had to wear the larger size due to a hole in the 0, but still received lots of compliments. It was a little long for me since I'm short. Beautiful lace, great for a more formal or conservative event. You definitely need a stick-on bra since the back is open.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
July 30, 2013
The dress fit perfectly. I was so happy with the dress and I would rent a dress again!
previous descriptions and details of dress helped a lot!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
July 30, 2013
Beautiful, flattering dress, perfect for special occasions
I had a great experience renting this dress. This was my first time using RenttheRunway and I was extremely satisfied with the experience. The dress was classy, yet sexy given it was fairly form fitting. It ran a little small. I'm 5'10' and weigh approximately 127 lbs. I normally wear a size 4, but am glad I got a size 6. I got a ton of compliments. I received a ton of compliments and would certainly use this service in the future!
See more reviews:
6 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×