Tulle To Lace Gown

$105 rental
$598 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look red carpet ready for the gala wearing this drop dead gorgeous ML Monique Lhuillier gown. Be prepared to have all eyes on you looking insanely chic. Shown here with accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings.

Also available in navy and blush.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black tulle with lace underlay. Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. Fitted bodice with trumpet flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
436 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(255)
Small
(122)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 15, 2014
Lovely

The bodice fits quite snug, I usually wear an 8 but I had to size up to the 10. Also, I wore the 10L and it hung a little past my ankles with 3 inch heels. I am pretty tall at 5'11 so if you are tall you may want to wear flats.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 18, 2014
Beautiful construction and elegant material made for a great outfit!

The bodice, as others have said, is very tight. This is GREAT so you don't have to hoik it up all night. The bodice boning/wiring did get uncomfortable as the night went on. I got the petite and I'm so glad I did. I wore 4 inch heels and the bottom still grazed the floor.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 20, 2014
This dress is beautiful, but didn't fit me right.

This was a great dress for the occasion - an evening city wedding in Miami, but it unfortunately just didn't fit me as well as it could. I'm not very hippy so while the size 8 fit better in the bust (I'm usually a size 4), it didn't fit right in the hips and butt. Unfortunately the 6 was too tight in the chest, which was a bummer cause it fit great everywhere else. Nevertheless, I made this backup option work on short notice and rocked it as best as I could. I still got many compliments despite it not fitting as well as it could have.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2012
Very dramatic dress, runs 1 size small.

- Look: I ended up not wearing this dress -- wore the red Badgley mischka instead. This is a gorgeous dress, but the tulle and lace mermaid hem at the bottom was fuller than I expected. Made it a little too high-drama for the Deep South deb ball I rented it for, but would highly recommend it for a more avant-garde or urban formal event. The chiffon draping at the shoulder is particularly flattering. - Fit: Had I worn the dress, definitely would've gone with the 6R. If you're hippy or have a booty, go one size up -- there is no stretch to this dress, and it's quite fitted from hip to knee. That said, it's a very flattering shape for hourglass figures! - Length: the Regular length would've been fine with 3.5" heels.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 27, 2012
Smooth service

Coudl barely get it over my hips. Not for the curvy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 6, 2013
Tight in all the wrong places!

Thank God I got a backup dress. This was soooo tight in across the bust and I am only a 34B.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2013
Didn't end up wearing it.

Looked better on the model. Size 6 was a bit tight in the chest for me and too much rouching around the hips. Actually made them look bigger rather than slimming.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
April 23, 2013
Oscar ready!

I wore this dress to a Black Tie wedding in Beverly Hills and one of the first compliments I got was from a stranger. He said I looked like I was headed to the Oscars. :) This dress is stunning and fits well, although small. I usually wear a 4 or 6 and had to wear the 8. I am almost 5'8" without shoes and the Long was perfect with 3 inch heels. I LOVE RENT THE RUNWAY!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 29, 2013
Beautiful Black

I usually don't wear black because the room is a sea of black, but this dress is a beautiful, feminine black. It was pretty snug and had a tendency to ride up a little bit, but that just helped hold everything in and was very flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 9, 2013
Dress is heavy and really long

The size I normally wear was not available so ordered the regular size and the dress was dragging on the ground - very very long even with the highest of heels!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 13, 2013
I couldn't wear this dress it was too short

The dress is beautiful but unfortunately, I couldn't wear it because it was too short. I'm 6'1" and even without shoes it was too short.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2013
Great dress for any occasion.

I wore this for a Marine Corps Ball and it was perfect and elegant. I felt so confident and pretty that I never wanted to take it off. I would suggest going up a size for the bust area. I had a bit of a difficult time with the chest area but other than that it really flattered my figure.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2013
Gorgeous gown, just didn't fit right.

This was a last-minute overnighted gown when my other rental didn't fit. It was a beautiful dress, but sadly, it didn't fit me right. It was very tight in the chest and hips (to the point of being uncomfortable), yet the waist area kept bunching up when I moved. Even with some trusty spanx, I couldn't get it to hang right. I have a full booty, and I think the gown is designed for more of a straight figure (aka models). I tried it on with approx. 3" heels, and the length was just right. This was definitely the prettier of the gowns I picked, so I was really bummed I wasn't able to wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2013
Beautiful dress, but a little too uncomfortable and restricting for me.

I ordered this as a backup for a formal charity event. The size 4R zipped up (just barely), and my fiance loved how this one looked more than my first choice, but I could barely walk in it, let alone dance. So I went with my first choice dress instead of this one. It's very form fitted but the dress has a lot of support with thick material. I would say this dress probably isn't good for large-busted women. I have a small bust and couldn't even wear a strapless bra because it was so fitted. It does have built-in cups to keep everything in place, but is not padded or anything like that. Beautiful dress, but I'd probably order a size up if I decided to rent this again for another event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 23, 2014
Not for me.

This dress didn't go well with my body type, I have hips and it was tight around the hips and big on the bust.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 8, 2014
Runs small, but beautiful

I rented this for a black-tie event as my back up. It ran far too small and I couldn't even zip it up. The dress itself is beautiful and has wonderful detail.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 19, 2014
Not forgiving around the bust. Not for large chested ladies.

I was really bummed that this dress did not work out. I got a size 2 and 4 and neither one would zip up around my bust. I do have a large bust size but I thought if I sized up to a 4 (I normally wear a 2) that it would work. Not even close. The dress fit wonderfully on the rest of my body. I would not recommend for hourglass shape but I bet it would work better for pear shaped body types.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
March 12, 2014
doesnt fit right

doesn't fit right

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 6, 2014
Runs extremely small. Typically wear a 4 or 6 and neither fit. Would have needed an 8 or maybe a 10

too small

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 30, 2014
Didnt end up wearing the dress because it was really tight and it wasn't available the in the second

beautiful

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 11, 2014
didn't wear it

This was my backup dress and it is beautiful but I didn't wear it to my event. I'm a breastfeeding mother (D)and my boobs were not going to stay in that dress! Every other part fit great

Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 2, 2016
This dress is great for a formal wedding!

Despite a few of the reviews here saying this runs small, I thought the sizing was representative of what I normally wear. If you're on the short side, definitely go with the petite sizing! It's the main reason why I chose this dress over a more festive color (there weren't many options left since this event was sort of last-minute).

Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 44
October 15, 2016
Elegant!!!

I was so excited to wear this dress, but sadly as soon as I put the dress on, the zipper started splitting! Luckily I rented 2 other options but this dress was my number one pick. Defective zipper!! UGH!

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
October 28, 2016
I felt amazing and loved the entire process of Renting the perfect dress!

The fit was perfect. There were no issues with shipping or returning the dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 8, 2017
beautiful dress, fit well

loved the tulle overlay

RTR CustomerJanuary 8, 2017
Question: was it long enough. was it long enough?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 31, 2017
It was beautiful!

My favorite thing about this dress was the quality of the fabric. It felt fantastic on! Fanastic choice

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
April 1, 2017
I didn't end up wearing this dress to a wedding.

This dress didn't look as great as I thought it would. It's pretty but it just didn't work on me.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 1, 2012
Beautiful dress!

So sad I couldn't wear this dress! It's gorgeous! I usually wear a 6. I ordered a 6L and backup size 8L. The 6L fit perfectly everywhere except the bust. The 8L ALMOST fit in the bust but was a little too baggy in the waist. I had to send it back. :( I do lift weights heavily so my lats are on the larger side and have this problem often with dresses not fitting my bust (eventhough I wear an A or B cup). As for the length, I would have preferred regular length, but it wasn't available at that time. I was just going to wear higher heels! I have another event coming up next month. I think I MAY ease up on the weights just so I can wear this dress! It's beautiful!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
November 3, 2012
love the dress

great fit

BriahNovember 3, 2012
Did you wear heels with this dress? I'm the same height and size and was wondering about the length of the dress?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 4, 2012
Gorgeous dress!

I wore this dress to the Marine Corps Ball--very comfortable--fit great (a little long) but I still LOVED it! I'm so pleased with Rent The Runway I will definatly use this again in the future =)

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2012
My fiance' and I wanted a formal look for our engagement photo shoot. It turned out wonderful!!

The fit was very nice and the length was just right! I am 5'10 and a 34C. The only drawback was the ruching across the waist of the dress wasn't flush with the dress and it looked kinda funny....I received many compliments! The best part about the dress was the fit across the bust area, it really held everything in. Thanks RTR!

BrookeNovember 4, 2012
how high of heels did you wear? I rented this for next weekend, I'm 5' 11" and still a little worried about the length. it looks awesome!
SamiyahNovember 4, 2012
Hey Brooke! I wore about a 2 to 2.5 inch heel...I could have gotten away with up to a 3.5 I believe....HTH!
BrookeNovember 4, 2012
Thanks for the quick response, you eased my mind!
CarlyNovember 4, 2012
This dress looks incredible on you!
SamiyahNovember 4, 2012
Thanks Carly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 4, 2012
I couldn't have picked a more perfect dress.

I felt like a million bucks in this Monique Lhuillier dress. I'm always a little worried about the length of a dress because of my height (5'2") but paired with a four inch heel the length was perfect. Looking at the picture of the model, I thought that the dress would be hard to walk in but there was more than enough room for taking normal steps. My favorite thing about this dress? It's very forgiving, the lace wraps in just the right places to hide any troubled areas. So many compliments all night! I would def rent this one again!

ElleNovember 4, 2012
To be clear, you got the petite at 5'2" and still wore 4 inch heels? I am the same height and ordered the regular hoping that I could wear the tall heels with that height.
mandyNovember 4, 2012
Yes, i wore the petite with a 4 inch heel. It definitely would have been too long with a shorter heel. Hopefully this dress works out for you!
KTNovember 4, 2012
the dress is perfect on you
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 7, 2012
This dress is stunning!

This was my back up dress and my friend (on the far right) wound up wearing it. She and the dress were both stunning!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 8, 2012
Pefect!

I loved this dress! It was very classy and not too "prom". I have no complaints!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2012
My co-workers were speechless for the first time and my boyfriend couldn't take his eyes off me!

This dress really is stunning! The fit is a little tight through the hips (not ideal if you are trying to dance up a storm), but I found the top to be a little loose. Granted, I've got some serious curves (42 inch hips and a 36 inch chest), so I would suggest ordering a back up size that is one up from your selected if you are looking for wiggle room. If you are a show lover (as I am) order your size long. I wore 3.5 inch heels and I'm 5'6" and the dress was barely brushing the floor.

Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
November 12, 2012
You're gonna want to read this to get full details on exactly how this dress will fit you!

I LOVED this dress and I LOVED wearing it!!! SIZING: I am very petite at 4'11 and 103 lbs and I was very worried about how this dress would look on me because of the flairy bottom, but it was very proportioned and I felt like a mini model in it! Let's discuss length.... I ordered the 0P and with a 5.5 inch heel and a 1 inch platform (Christian Louboutin Bibi Heel) it hung perfectly just grazing the floor. I'm a tiny girl with a booty and it fit perfectly and accentuated my body shape in just the right way. While I'm not completely flat on top (Full A, Very Small B) I put two padded bra's on with this to give me a little extra oomph and it fit perfectly! If you have any lumps and bumps the ruching on this dress will hide it and make it look good! RTR EXPERIENCE: I thought my night was determined to be ruined because of Hurricane Sandy. All the dresses were stuck in odd locations and not coming through on time to the warehouse, but Emily M. was AMAZING! She kept me calm and sent a back up dress just in case, but my heart was set on this and she made it happen. She kept in communication with me and kept checking on when the dress would come in. I got it just in the nick of time! DRESS RESPONSE: I was the hit of the ball... every head turned and I received tons of compliments! I loved every moment of it... I felt like a princess for the night! The facebook comments I got felt AMAZING! Thank you Emily M. and Thank you RTR... I will definitely be a repeat customer.

RTR CustomerNovember 12, 2012
U look amazing
ZoeNovember 12, 2012
Thank you :)
EmilyNovember 12, 2012
You look amazing Zoe! I'm so happy that the dress ended uo working out! xoxo Emily M
ZoeNovember 12, 2012
Just saw this. Thanks Emily M! :) You are AMAZING at your job!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2012
Beautiful gown, should have ordered a shorter size.

I ordered this gown as a back-up. It fit just fine throughout the hips and rear (my biggest concern) however the dress was too long. I am 5'2" and this dress dragged on the ground. I actually put on 6 inch heels, and it STILL wasn't enough to keep me from stepping on it. The top part of the dress where the tulle drapes across the shoulder was too loose. The neckline was just a bit too loose as well at the bust, and the whole thing was slowly sliding down due to the weight of the dress. I originally tried to order the 6P but it was not available. If I had to do it over again, and if it were available, I would have definitely gone with a 6P, as it fit perfectly through the hips. I would have needed fashion tape to ensure it didn't slide off of my bust though!

Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 12, 2012
Oh My Gorgeous!

It fit like a glove! I have a little more curves and hips than the average size 6 so I wore the 8L for a more comfortable fit. The length was very long. I'm 5'8 and I wore 4 inch heels and the dress still touched the floor.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2012
This dress was perfect for my black tie event - unique and flattering!

The fit - a little snug in a 6R (I'm 5'5'' and 36-29-39) but with 3 inch heels it worked out fine. The top was a little bit tight as well so if you have a larger bust I would recommend sizing up. This was a great shape for my hourglass figure, and I received many complements!

StacieNovember 14, 2012
you look adorable, love the attitude, too1
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2012
Didn't get the first size I ordered

Ordered months ago but day before dress to ship they told me up it wasn't available. Same thing happened to my friend. They let me pick out another dress but by that time the ones I really wanted we're not available. Also, my extra size dress didn't fit. I made the mistake of listening to the stylist. Always go for a bigger size than a smaller size! They did try it accommodate me but the fact that what I originally ordered wasn't available rather ruined it for me. I am squeezing into my least favorite of the dresses - I had opted for the extra dress at $25.

See more reviews:
5 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×