Tulle To Lace Gown

$105 rental
$598 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look red carpet ready for the gala wearing this drop dead gorgeous ML Monique Lhuillier gown. Be prepared to have all eyes on you looking insanely chic. Shown here with accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Ben-Amun's Pearl Trellis Bracelet.

Also available in navy and blush.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black tulle with lace underlay. Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. Fitted bodice with trumpet flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
417 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(249)
Small
(118)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
July 23, 2014
Easy shipping.
Fits small. I am a very busty girl at a 36 ddd. I normally wear an 8 and had to go up to a 10. I am 5'2 150 lbs. the length was good :) over okay experience
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 22, 2014
Compliments from everyone
Perfect for any formal black tie dinner. Gorgeous on the hanger and on the body. Nonstop compliments from everyone. Felt comfortable, classy, sexy, everything you want to feel when dressing up. Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 13, 2014
Wow Factor!!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and it looked great! I received compliments all night. I picked this dress because I liked how flattering it looked on all of the other contributors that had previously rented it. It fit perfectly in all the right places, great for a curvy figure.
CarolinaOctober 6, 2014
Hello there, I'm also 5'6 and I'm torn between ordering this gown in Regular or Long...How high were your heels? I'm thinking of wearing 3" or 4". Do you think I should go for the Regular or Long fit?
A.N.October 7, 2014
Hi Carolina, I think you should go with the regular length. My heels were very high (4.5 in. + platform), and I found that there was just enough length to cover my shoes (except maybe an inch or so of the platform). The regular length would definitely work if you are planning to wear shoes with less of a heel.
CarolinaOctober 13, 2014
Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
July 6, 2014
Everyone loved how the dress fit!!
The 0P was a little right on my chest but it fit me perfectly everywhere else I dealt with it because it looked amazing! The 2P fit my chest a little better but then it was loose everywhere else so I knew I made the right choice by picking the 0P. It was so beautiful and the lace made it feminine and dainty. I loved it!!
EricaDecember 12, 2014
how was the length being 5'2 on the Petite?
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 26, 2014
The customer service was amazing. I even received my dress two days earlier than expected!
This dress fit me perfectly in the body! I got so many compliments. It truly looks better in person than on the model. My only con is that the tule was longer than expected, I was wearing 4 inch heels and had a regular size 6 dress. That made it annoying to walk in, I had to gather the dress up a lot to walk and dance. But other than that I completely loved this dress. I wish I could have kept it. 10 out of 10 would rent this dress again and will absolutely rent from rtr again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
June 17, 2014
Pretty dress; just did not translate in person
Dress fit right; not exactly what I was looking for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 16, 2014
fun
I unfortunately didn't get to wear this dress because it would have been too short to wear with heels ( ordered a long). So if you're over 5'9 make sure you don't want to wear heels. it was so pretty and flattering though, wish the long was longer!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 13, 2014
Fits small to size. Big breasted women beware - 36C busting out all over.
I ordered an 8L and a 10R - the 8 was just too small around the hips and my bust. The 10R was the right length and fit but the top was very snug and the bust area ran small in my opinion. The ribbing and fabric was pretty worn and in one spot the ribbing was breaking through - causing an uncomfortable pinch. I loved the look but the dress just wasn't made for my body type - would recommend for long torso and B-cup size. Hips fit well and butt area fit good. In the end the dress wasn't the best fit and I choose to wear something else.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 9, 2014
Classic Glamour!
This was my first time using RTR- I was a little nervous when I got the dress because I did not order a back up size or alternate dress, I read all of the reviews and based my choice off of them- it ended up fitting like a glove! It was just a tad tight around the rig cage and chest area, but nothing unbearable, I just did not wear a bra. (Note- I am a full 32b/small c) I wore 2.5 inch heels and the bottom of the dress just barely skimmed the floor, perfect length for the heel height but anything taller wouldn't look right. I think it is prettier in person than in pictures. I got a lot of compliments and would def recommend this dress. Looking forward to using RTR again in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 5, 2014
Beautiful dress, very comfortable. A true show-stopper.
Fits pretty tightly in the bust area and I'm a 34B. Not a good dress for the large chested.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 31, 2014
Beautiful dress, but not for me
The dress was beautiful, but I was in between sizes. The size 10 was small and the 12 was big. I usually wear a size 10. For the little time I was wearing it, the fabric of the dress was itchy on my skin.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
May 31, 2014
Worked perfectly for prom!
The dress itself was gorgeous. I ordered a zero and a two, the zero fit but there is no room at all in the chest. I'm a small b and the two which was much roomier still flattened me out. The dress was super long with four inch heels I still had to lift it up and for dancing I just held the dress all night. Overall it was relatively comfortable an beautiful. I felt like royalty and my date loved the dress. I'm sad I have to return it :(
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2014
Beautiful gown, but it makes your shoulders look wider. Size up.
Swimmers/athletes: do not rent this gown, your shoulders won't thank you. The size is
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 22, 2014
Beautiful, but not for me.
This is a beautiful dress, but not for me. I decided to wear the second dress I ordered. The dress has a lot of material on it, especially in the waist/hip area, which can over accentuate an already curvy figure.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 19, 2014
A lovely last-minute dress
I originally ordered a different dress, but when I was informed that that dress was out of commission for repairs, I decided on this dress. I have never worn a mermaid style dress and I was nervous about showing my imperfections. Luckily, this dress is incredibly flattering. My only complaint is that the material over the shoulder was slightly too loose and occasionally bulged. I would also finding a sit on bra for your event because the top fits snug enough to ensure the dress stays put which doesn't allow for too much extra room for a bra band or well padded cups. I'm overall quite happy with the dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
May 17, 2014
My friends loved this dress on me. It is a bit out of my comfort zone, but it fit beautifully.
Fit perfectly, but was a bit snug in the chest and I am not really all that well endowed.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 16, 2014
This dress was absolutely amazing
Pros - it fit perfectly, overall gorgeous dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 16, 2014
A glam night with my hubby- but not in this dress :-(
I hate that I have to post a negative review about this dress- because it is stunning. And I do realize that it fits everyone differently! However; every review i read was just wonderful. Kind of strange that there are no negative reviews whatsoever on this dress. I'm only adding this to try to help someone from making the same mistake that I made. I'm 5'0 and 108 pounds. The size 2P fit PERFECTLY in this dress from the waste down. However, I am a 32D (not really that big though), and this dress would not even come close to zipping at the top. I tried the 4P, and it would zip at the top, but was huge in the waste. I could have more than likely made that work- but the dress was damaged on the bottom. RTR is making it right and returning my fee- however, that does not make up for the last minute panic that ensued when I had to go find a new dress the night before the event. Moral of the story- if you are small, but have any amount of goods at the top- this dress is not for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 15, 2014
Lovely
The bodice fits quite snug, I usually wear an 8 but I had to size up to the 10. Also, I wore the 10L and it hung a little past my ankles with 3 inch heels. I am pretty tall at 5'11 so if you are tall you may want to wear flats.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 11, 2014
Absolutely stunning dress!
I rented this dress for my best friend's wedding and absolutely loved it! It fit perfectly and I received a ton of compliments! Would definitely rent it again.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2014
I was glad I had a back up :)
Dress was well made, but was disproportionately big in both the bust and bottom and was very long. I am 5'5" and it was still impossible to walk in with 3" heels. I do have a thick waist but normally an 8 works well. The waist fit, but it was too big everywhere else. (I am an 8 on top, 4 or 6 on bottom)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 6, 2014
Elegant and easy
This dress is very classy and easy to wear. The sheerness brings an extra level of glam, just gotta slap on some dangly earrings and ours ready to roll.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 1, 2014
Cipriani's on 42nd. Cocktails, Dancing, and looking amazing.
This dress was so classy. If you are curvy, you are going to look like an absolute vixen. If you aren't, its going to give the illusion you have great curves. When in doubt, get it.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 28, 2014
This dress is absolutely gorgeous
I actually rented this dress for prom and I'm so happy that I did. This dress is absolutely gorgeous. This dress runs true to size it fit me perfectly and the dress got here on time as well. If you want a dress that will turn heads everywhere you go , this is def. the dress. It can also be worn for any occasion. I will def be ordering from RTR again !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 27, 2014
The neckline
Great dress lots of compliments. But runs small!! Where it is small though is the chest. Not the boobs but the rib cage! It has a bra clasp inside and I struggled to get that closed on the10! I'm a 36 b/c so that was a surprise! As I had to wear the 10 there was plenty of room at waist and hips but not ridiculous. So that part was very comfortable but wasn't as flattering as not fitted to give the hourglass result. The 8 fit at waist and hips but snugly. I was happy with the dress but wasn't in love with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 153lbs
April 23, 2014
I received several compliments and felt beautiful, while maintaining a sense of professionalism.
The dress was a little big on me, but I usually wear a 12P (sadly, that wasn't available by the date I needed it). It fit well, but was still a little long on my 5'1" frame. A massive pair of platform pumps fixed that! The shoulder sash bit was also too long, but I pinned it and think it looked lovely. The dress was actually pretty comfortable, though I think the criss-cross design draws attention to the tummy, which I was slightly self-conscious about. The folks at RTR were amazing, btw. I had no time to mess around, so I emailed explaining that I needed petite dresses for a curvy/larger girl (size 12/14). I got a response within minutes that listed a few options. I chose one and a second for backup (didn't wear that one in the end). Everything went smoothly thanks to RTR and its amazing team! This site is a busy woman's best friend. Seriously.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 21, 2014
Stunning timeless dress
Fit perfectly and everyone at the Marine Corps ball complimented it all night
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 20, 2014
this dress came in a day before prom and it was beautiful completely breathtaking I felt like aqueen
Everything was gorgeous amazing !!!!!!
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
April 19, 2014
I wore this dress to a friend's military ball. It was the absolute perfect dress for this event.
The dress fit like a glove, i could have went up a size to the 2 for more room but the 0 looked perfect. Take note that the shoulder tulle goes to the same side as the zipper. At my 5'1" height the tulle was a little long but didn't get in the way of walking too bad. All in all the dress is incredibly well made and looks amazing. I'm extremely sad to be returning it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 18, 2014
Made a great backup dress for engagement photos
I'm typically a 6, and the 6 was very tight (especially in the chest). I tried the 8 and it was much for comfortable, but I didn't feel like it accentuated my curves as nicely. I would have gone with the 6 if I would have worn this for the photo shoot, 8 if I would have worn it to an event. Overall, it's a beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
April 7, 2014
I love it!
Great feel, it fit pretty nice,looked very quality.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
April 2, 2014
The way my husband looked at me in this dress!
This dress fit great! It made me feel so glamorous and sexy! I'd wear it again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 1, 2014
Jaw dropper, show stopper!
I am 5'3 125lbs and got the 4R and 6R. I could not even zip the 4, and I am a B cup. It would not zip over my ribs. The 6 was even tough to get zipped. Note that there is not any give in this dress at all. I would go up a size from your normal size. No bra was needed. I wore 4 inch heels and the dress was still dragging. I would absolutely recommend it, but heed my advice, and go a size UP! You will turn heads all night in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
March 30, 2014
Dress was beautiful, but quality of this rental was poor
The dress is very pretty and elegant. I didn't love the way it fit me, it was a bit loose in my waist/hips, but overall it is a very pretty dress. I was disappointed with the quality of the exact rental I received. The zipper was damaged, so that it took about 20 minutes of struggling for me to zip/unzip it each time, even when it was still on the hanger. One of the bra hooks on the inside had also been ripped off, and the lace material in some parts of the dress seemed stretched out. I got a back-up size (which unfortunately didn't fit) but the quality of that rental was much better than the size 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 149lbs
March 30, 2014
Stunning, classy dress.
Runs a bit small in the chest, I am a 36dd. You will need help zipping up, but very comfortable, not hot
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 26, 2014
The compliments!
Beautiful dress, I received a ton of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 23, 2014
The fit.
I am not petite whatsoever but I wasn't wearing heels so the length of the petite dress was perfect. I usually wear a 6 in dresses, however i was practically swimming in the 6. I would get a size smaller than you need. The draping on this dress makes it very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2014
Exquisite! This dress photographs beautifully.
Loved this dress. Flattering in all of the right places. Comfortable, breathable fabric.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
March 17, 2014
Lots of compliments, felt gorgeous!
RTR sent this dress as a backup after my initial order didn't work out. I was leery at first, don't really do lace, but I must admit this dress was really flattering and comfortable! My daughter and I attended a debutante ball and decided to have a photographer friend get some formal shots of us before the event. We have received many compliments from the photos already. We felt amazing!! It was awesome to dress up in designer dresses -- I'm already plotting my next RTR move. Kudos to the customer service team for getting this option to me so quickly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
March 16, 2014
Stunning. Fits like a glove and incredibly classy.
I'll be honest, when Rent the Runway called and told me that my BCBG dress was damaged, I had a panic attack. But they sent me a list of other dresses in my size, and when I saw that this was available, I couldn't believe it. The dress was exactly my style. But they only had it in a 0L, and I wasn't sure if I could fit into it. Luckily, it arrived and fit perfectly (well, if I didn't wear a bra with it, which looked absolutely fine). Rent the Runway has amazing customer service, and I can't help but think that it was just meant to be. I'm not sure if I would have liked the BCBG dress as much. All throughout my senior prom night, I received compliments on the dress. Even non-prom-goers I saw as I walked around Atlanta told me I looked "stunning." However, I'm a bit sad that I have to give the dress back today :(
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
4 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×