Tulle To Lace Gown

$85 – $120 rental?
$598 retail
Stylist Notes

Look red carpet ready for the gala wearing this drop dead gorgeous ML Monique Lhuillier gown. Be prepared to have all eyes on you looking insanely chic. Shown here with accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings.

Also available in navy and blush.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black tulle with lace underlay. Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. Fitted bodice with trumpet flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
434 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(255)
Small
(122)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
March 22, 2013
pretty dress, just wasn't flattering on me
made my hips larger than they are
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 27, 2013
Beautiful gown! Lace lays just right. The one shoulder detail and the train are gorgeous features!
I wore this to a wedding and got compliments all night!! All the women wanted to know where I got my gown and who the designer was! Definitely a cut above;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 4, 2013
Comfortable and classy black dress!
This dress was amazing! I got a ton of compliments. The dress is a bit heavy, there are a few under layers of tulle and it also has a built in bra top. I'm 5'2" and wore 4 inch heels and the dress was the perfect length...just skimming the ground. Rent this dress, it won't disappoint!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 7, 2013
I got so many compliments on this dress! People were telling me all night how elegant I looked.
The dress fit true to size, but the bust was too tight for me to wear a bra. That was fine, however, because the top was thick and snug enough that a bra wasn't needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 8, 2013
Engagement Shoot backup dress
I rented this as a backup dress for my engagement photo shoot in case the one I preferred didn't work (or if my fiance suddenly developed an opinion about fashion and decided he didn't like it). It ended up working with the one I wanted, so I have no pictures of me in this dress. However, I did try it on and it was beautiful. The top overlay is more of a stretch black mesh than you can see in the picture, but it is soft and I didn't find it to be itchy at all. Very comfortable and flattering to any figure. If I have an opportunity, I will definitely rent this one again so I can wear it out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 14, 2013
Gorgeous, comfortable, and recommended.
The dress is gorgeous. Regarding the fit the dress was a tad bit long but I am under 5'4'. The petite would have been too short for me. I'm not big in the bust yet it was tight around that area. The waist and hips were much looser. I would suggest renting your normal size and a size up - especially if you're larger than a B cup. However, the gown looked and felt amazing - I received innumerable compliments. I even had people stopping me on the street to ask where I got the gown! Highly recommended.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2013
Great dress! A bit short.
The dress fit well but lengh could have been longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
April 19, 2013
Would definitely rent!
I got this as one of my free trials and absolutely love it! I'm 5'0 tall and had to wear 6 inch heels and the bottom still grazed the ground. It fit absolutely perfect. The fabric ruches at the perfect areas. No need to wear a bra or any spanx for this. If only I had an event to attend to.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 21, 2013
RTR makes formal affairs easy!
I usually wear a 4, but the stylist and other reviews suggested to size up. The 6 was way too big on me! Luckily, this was my back up dress, so I did not wear it. Beautiful dress, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 29, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Gorgeous dress - received lots of compliments. The event was a formal, black tie optional fundraiser with a James Bond theme, so this dress was perfect. It was a pretty snug fit, but the tulle that wraps the dress compliments the curves in the right places and helps hide any areas you don't want to draw attention to. RTR was out of the 12, so luckily the 10 fit. Plus, the 12 would likely have been a bit too big on top. I wore 3 1/2" heels and the skirt brushed the ground - 4" would have been better. Careful in a crowd to make sure no one accidentally steps on the back. Overall, loved the dress and RTR in general. Will definitely come back for future events!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 1, 2013
It really hugs your curves and feels very feminine.
This is a wonderful black tie affair dress. If you have curves, this dress is for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 3, 2013
Soft and feminine
Fit very well, hugged curves, inner bodice, wore it with a nude heel. Tulle overlay was a little worn and loose at some places, but not obviously. Dramatic but in a subtle way, if that's possible - got a lot of comments on how beautiful the dress is. A great RTR experience!
KimberlyAugust 26, 2013
Awesome choice Grace ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2013
the dress was more amazing in person. fantastic detail
the bust was a little large on me but the dress fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2013
Stunning gown that is more beautiful in person than in photos.
It was a little tight for me because I am very hourglass with a large bottom. So it was perfect in the waist and very tight in the hips and bottom, so order your size plus a size up. Absolutely beautiful gown. I received tons of complements and felt beautiful all night long. It arrived with a tiny tear in the tulle around my shoulder, but wasn't noticeable to anyone.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 7, 2013
I felt like a princess wearing this dress to a black tie masquerade. Perfect for a formal event!
The dress ran a little small, so I'm glad I went for the larger size. Also, even though I ordered a long, the dress barely hit the floor in flats. I have zero complaints other than that. The dress was easy to dance in, and worked really well for my curvy figure. I wish I could keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 8, 2013
I received compliments all night on this dress!
Although the size 8 would have actually worked better in the hips and stomach area, it was too tight on the bust to wear, so I opted for the 10. The dress was so beautiful in person AND in pictures, which was important to me since we took a lot of photos. I am SO thankful I opted for the regular length. I'm 5'7", which technically fell into the "Long" length recommendation, but even with 3-inch heels, it occasionally dragged the ground. Would highly recommend that anyone my height go with the regular. Other than that, I loved the gown and especially the RTR experience. Will definitely do it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
May 8, 2013
Not a good fit.
I rented this dress in 0R and 2R. Thankfully I ordered a back-up dress. This dress runs very small, especially in the bust area and it was just not flattering at all. It seemed to really "smash" my breasts in and made me look much flatter than I was. This is the first dress that I have been unhappy with since using RTR.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
May 10, 2013
It did not fit
I did not wear the dress it was way too small for my hips
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 10, 2013
Perfection!
Beautiful dress, fit me perfectly! Was surprised at how tight it was in the bust - wasn't a problem for me, as I'm not terribly blessed in that area, but other ladies should keep that in mind. The length and fit were glorious. A great first RTR experience!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2013
I saw this dress months ago and was so excited to find out that I could rent it from Rent the Runway
Great fit! I got so many compliments all evening.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 12, 2013
AMAZING
An amazing gown. i styled my god sister for her prom and she loved this gown. It flatters the entire body and its so classy. She loved the mesh detailing along the neckline. I think any woman can feel powerful and classy in this gown. By far one of my best rentals.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2013
SO GLAMOROUS
The most beautiful dress I have ever rented from RTR!!! the lace and detailing is stunning and is fit for the red carpet. super flattering! a must rent for any black tie affair!
Lena May 14, 2013
Hi there! I'm debating on whether or not to size up. I'm usually a 4, but I have big hips. Would you mind telling me your hip measurements?? Thanks so much!!
JudyJune 6, 2013
Was the dress long? since you got a regular...I'm curious if i should get regular or long.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 14, 2013
I received lots of compliments and loved having an opportunity to wear such a beautiful dress!
The dress was surprisingly comfortable! I love to dance and was concerned it would be hard, but rest assured, it is no problem in this dress. I was definitely worried about the length, and despite my 3" heels, it felt a little long. I'd recommend wearing the highest heels you can if you're short like me. I would have given the dress 5 stars, but there was a little rip in the tulle just below my neck. There were also a couple small tears in the tulle at the bottom, but on the inside so it wasn't visible. But, overall I loved the dress and am really happy with my choice. Also, the process of renting and returning the dresses was so easy. I highly recommend this dress and I'll definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 15, 2013
Beautiful
Beautiful dress. I didn't end up wearing this one because it was a little large around the hips. It is formal, and was a little too formal for me that night as I was planning to dance quite a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
May 19, 2013
Back-up size wasn't available.
I really loved this dress, but the fit in the breast area was a bit tight and the next larger size wasn't available.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2013
Perfect for a black tie event.
Very long and very tight around the bust. Best for women with an hourglass shape.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
May 19, 2013
Perfect fit
Fit just as promised. I wore 21/2 inch heels and thought the length was just right. If I had gone with the 8L, I would have stepped on it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2013
Beautiful gown! I got so many compliments on this dress!
This dress was the epitome of GORGEOUS on! I felt like I was on the red carpet and the length was great. I am 5'7 and I wore a 4 inch heel and it hit the ground. It was a little hard to get on, but not that hard. Overall a great gown!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2013
Felt great in this dress! Comfortable. Tons of compliments.
I'm 5'11 and even the long was barely long enough. I had to wear flats. Just a heads up for my fellow tall ladies.
JSeptember 14, 2015
Thanks for the heads-up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
May 27, 2013
everyone commented on how gorgeous my dress way. I felt like a million dollars
the 6L was a little long and I was worried that it would get stepped on when I danced so I stayed far from people incase they stepped on it and it ripped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2013
This dress is so amazingly classy and timeless! People at the wedding and on the street loved it!
First and foremost, let me say that I absolutely love this dress - I wish I could keep it and find more events where I could wear it. It's got sort of an old-Hollywood feel to it, yet totally modern. I usually wear a size 6 or small in tops, a 6 in dresses and a 6 or 8 in pants, with a 36B bust so I ordered the dress is both a size 6 and 8. I couldn't even zip up the 6, but the 8 fit like a glove. Fair warning: the dress is SUPER long particularly in front. I wore 3 inch heels with the dress but I really felt like 4 inch heels would have been perfect (if you can manage to walk in them all night). You also don't need to wear a bra as there is wire-shaping within the dress. And don't expect there to be any give in the material just in case you decide to eat an elephant at your event. However - the dress is a dream and I was so amazingly happy to have rented it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
May 28, 2013
Stunning dress!
I wore this for a wedding and received many compliments! The dress hugged the curves in the right places and I could not be more thrilled with the results. It fit true to size, but the top mesh sleeve was slightly loose. Because I am short, it was a little long for me but I wore 3 inch heels. It would have been perfect if I wore higher heels, which I recommend for the petite ladies out there. Overall, it was a fabulous dress and I would wear this again to another event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2013
Beautiful Dress! So comfortable and classy!
I rented this dress for formal engagement pictures. The dress fit perfectly! I ordered the Regular length (I'm 5'7) and it was perfect with a small heel. It was very comfortable and easy to wear. I would recommend this dress to any shape/size!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2013
The dress was gorgeous! It was very elegant and had lots of compliments all night long!
The dress ran small. I usually wear a 6 and could barely squeeze into the 8. It was also a little long. I am only 5'2" but had 4" heels on. If you are on the shorter side order the petite. The dress was also ripped on the bottom but was not very visible. This was my first experience with RTR and I will definately try again. The dres
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
June 7, 2013
Doesn't work on a large bust.
After reading the reviews, I ordered this one size up because I have a large bust. The bust did fit, but the rest of the dress was way too big. Also, the tulle shoulder strap was longer than I expected, so it didn't lie flat on my shoulder. It was a beautiful dress, but wasn't the right choice for me.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2013
STUNNING! ELEGANT! PERFECT!
Hi Ladies! I wore this dress for a gala and when I walked into the room all eyes were on me. I mean that in a humble way of course. All night long I heard the words amazing, beautiful, stunning, fierce and gorgeous. I typically fit a size 8 but I have a pretty full bust, 36DD, so while the 8 fit my body once I got to my chest it was too small. So the ten fit perfect and I went with that. You cannot go wrong with this dress. This is my first experience with rent the runway and I am very pleased at the easy process. Good luck and I hope you are happy with your decision!
StefankaJune 18, 2013
Wow you look amazing in this dress
RochelleJune 18, 2013
Thank you I loved it!
tiffannieJuly 3, 2013
you looked amazing in this dress and loved your hair!
ChristinaAugust 11, 2013
WERK IT!
MeredithSeptember 26, 2013
What earrings are you wearing? love!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 22, 2013
This dress was absolutely stunning - received complements all night long!
This was my first time using RTR, and the experience exceeded my expectations. Within 5 minutes of being in public, I had several strangers go out of their way to come and complement me. I typically wear a size 2 or 4 in dresses, and the size 2R fit perfectly. I will say, that I am 5'4", and the regular length was almost too long for me. I had to wear at least a three inch heel, and definitely had to "kick and step." Going up stairs was a chore; since there was a tendency to catch the longer layer of tulle under foot (even while trying to hold it up). With those minor issues being said, this was an amazing dress; I would definitely rent it again or recommend it to a friend. The jewelry I am wearing was also rented from here - It paired nicely and got many complements on it as well.
CrystalJanuary 13, 2014
You look beautiful! What jewelry are you wearing from RTR?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 1, 2013
We looked liked a million bucks!
This dress was great, I got compliments all night including my friend who rented the Badgley Mischka Award Winner Gown. I am 34B, 27in waist and 5'7 and wore 3 inch heels and ordered a 4L. I probably should of got a regular for my height, since the black tie event was on grass my heels sunk in a little and the dress dragged. Other than that It fit perfectly and it was a great first experience using RTR!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 9, 2013
didn't end up choosing this dress
I LOVED this dress and it made me feel like a princess, but I didn't end up choosing it because it gave me side boob. It was a risky choice from the start as strapless dresses can be hit or miss with my wide shoulders. Great dress, just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 9, 2013
very couture, but not for me. I went for something more figure-flattering.
This dress was my first choice for a black tie wedding, but unfortunately, I did not wear it. My size 4R was not available, and I got a 6 hoping it would fit. The 6 was too big, too loose, and the material of the dress is very, very heavy. It would have been too hot for a July wedding in DC. Not to mention it was SO long...I would've tripped for sure. I do have to say though, that the dress looked very couture and had my size been available, this could have been it. If you have similar body type, I would go with a 4.
See more reviews:
3 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×