Tulle To Lace Gown

$105 rental
$598 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look red carpet ready for the gala wearing this drop dead gorgeous ML Monique Lhuillier gown. Be prepared to have all eyes on you looking insanely chic. Shown here with accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Ben-Amun's Pearl Trellis Bracelet.

Also available in navy and blush.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black tulle with lace underlay. Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. Fitted bodice with trumpet flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
412 reviews
Fit
Large14
True to Size247
Small117
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 23, 2014
N/A
The dress fit perfectly but was a little too long even with 4" heels. If you're 5'5" and shorter I would recommend a petite size. Other than that, timeless dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2014
This was an alternate the stylist sent due to my back up dress being damaged.
I couldn't wear the dress, it was too small on the rib cage. It is not forgiving, so if you're unsure of the size go up a size, or two. I normally wear a 6, and the 8 was too tight, I could ALMOST get it zipped up over my ribs. Very pretty material, elegant and nice movement as I walked.
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2014
Perfection
This dress was beyond beautiful! Received many compliments!!!! Pros: fabric, detail, hugs body, perfect length. Cons: makes chest smaller
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2014
This dress saved the day for a friend.
This was a backup dress sent after my 1st choice dress was unavailable. My friend flew into town with another RTR dress she didn't love and she ended up wearing this one! I tried it on myself but it was tight in the bust (just as described online) so I wore my 2nd choice dress (seen here) and my friend wore this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2014
An elegant and stunning statement dress guaranteed to turn ALL heads!
I wore this dress for a black tie gala at the Embassy of Italy in Washington, D.C. I am usually a size 0 for all Rent the Runway dresses, however, this dress was a bit snug since the material is stiff, it doesn't give. I had to be very careful when sitting down. I'm a petite girl but I didn't feel that the dress overwhelmed me at all. It was a bit long. I'm 5'1" and wore 4 inch stiletto heels. When you order, definitely get your size and a size up. I wore a normal strapless bra with it, but you really don't have to. Nonetheless, I received compliments all night from both men and women--it really makes a statement.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2014
Could barely try it on.
I'm very curvy and this dress had some great reviews from my fellow hourglasses, but unfortunately it did not work for me. I could barely even try it on. It bunched awkwardly at my hips and did fit over my bust...at all. This was my second choice, and I'm glad my first choice fit perfectly, but nonetheless I was disappointed in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 8, 2014
odd fit
I did not wear this dress. It was big in the waist and very tight in the bust. Not flattering at all. Made me look flat chested and bulky.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 4, 2014
Beautiful dress
This dress was a backup sent because the original backup wasn't avaliable. It was a stunning dress but was tight in the hips. I was not a fan of the mermaid look, but if it is your style it is extremely pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2014
Nice, not perfect
I'm moderately curvy, and this dress fit just fine, though it almost uncomfortably tight around the top and almost a bit loose around the waist/hips. The strap wasn't an issue for me, but I'm fairly broad shouldered/long waisted, so that might have something to do with it. Also I wore nearly four inch heels and the skirt was a bit difficult...just long enough to get caught on my heels if I wasn't careful, but not so long I was constantly tripping. Keep in mind that it's a beautiful dress, but very formal, I wore it for the Marine Corps Ball and it felt a little formal even for that!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2014
FABULOUS RENTAL
Absolutely beautiful dress and was a dream to wear. I am 5'3 and a true hourglass figure. I have a rather large bust (34 DD) and this dress fit my chest and had a built in bra which was great. I would recommend going with the regular if you are wanting to wear heels. I ordered both the short and regular and the short hit at my ankles. The regular was perfect with 3 inch heels and just grazed the floor. The strap was a little large but nothing that couldn't be fixed with fashion tape.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2014
Gorgeous dress but not for my body type.
I was so sad about this one not working out. From the chest down it was just stunning. It hug all the right places and accentuates my curves well. The chest was a problem area. While I was able to zip the dress up, it squished everything and gave me that dreaded underarm pudge. Also, since I am so short I don't think that the pretty shoulder piece would lay as nicely as it does in the picture. This would be a stunning dress on someone who is taller and not as busty.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 18, 2014
I received a lot of compliments. Great dress!
It runs a little small in the bust area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
November 13, 2014
Classy but Sassy, just remember to size up!
I know it is hard to pick a size after reading SO MANY reviews on here so let me spell it out for you: size up (the rib cage area is very tight) and if you are 5'3" and plan on wearing heels get the Regular length. End of story, no debating needed. I got the 4P and it fit great, I just had to wear flats due to the length. Other than that it is a beautiful, comfortable dress that accentuates all of the right places and no shapewear is needed (hallelujah!). My original dress was damaged beyond repair and RTR was able to replace it with this gorgeous number. They are truly amazing!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 11, 2014
didn't wear it
This was my backup dress and it is beautiful but I didn't wear it to my event. I'm a breastfeeding mother (D)and my boobs were not going to stay in that dress! Every other part fit great
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 6, 2014
Unknown. Haven't gone to the event yet :)
I rented this dress for a military ball and was a bit nervous about getting it, but based on the recommendations of other wearers, i ordered a 12R and 14R. I'm 5'4" and wish i ordered the L instead. I planned on wearing 3-4" heels and the R was just too short. Overall, the dress fit comfortably. As others stated, it is tight in the rib cage so i'd recommend going with your true waist size. The 14R was just a little big all around but i feel the 10 would have been way to tight. It was a little big in the top and hips though and the dress ended up making me look awkward. I called RTR within the hour and the sales girl I worked with very quickly and efficiently helped me get another dress for my event the next day! This is my 2nd time renting with RTR and while this dress didn't work out for me, i give 5 stars for exceptional customer service.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2014
Gorgeous and Stunning Dress!
So RTR emails me the day before my gowns were supposed to arrive that my 2nd back up gown was returned damaged!! I was so upset because I wanted two options. They offered to let me rent anything that was available even if the price was more for my 2nd option which I thought was great! This gown was my choice and I loved it! I really wanted to wear it over my first choice but it didn't zip up all the way :( I'd need the 6.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
November 3, 2014
Beautiful look with the tulle
The fit was bigger than I thought, it runs bigger around the hips and a bit smaller in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 1, 2014
Fabulous Drama & incredible customer service.
I wore this dress for a military gala and it was absolutely beautiful. I rented the size 4 and size 6 regular. The size 6 was too large for me and had some fabric around the bust that wouldn't lay flat. I wore the size 4 but it was VERY tight in the top and I had to have help squeezing the sides together so I could zip it (and I don't have a large chest at all. ) When I first tried the dresses on and I didn't think either would fit I contacted Rent the Runway for help. They were outstanding and responded very quickly to my concerns. The dress photographs like a dream and has good structure. No spanx needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 31, 2014
Received a ton of compliments. I was told I look like I'm going to the Oscars
the stomach could have been a little tighter. I loved the dress. I didn't want to take it off, even when the night was over.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 30, 2014
Didnt end up wearing the dress because it was really tight and it wasn't available the in the second
beautiful
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 27, 2014
The dress made me feel amazing! I got compliments all night
The fit was great for any size girl. Its definitely very flattering. It was kind hard to move around it if you plan on dancing but other than that, i love it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 25, 2014
Unfortunately unable to wear this beautiful dress.
I got this dress in a 4P and a 6R. The 4P ended up being WAY too short. Without any shoes on, the dress was already too short. The rest of the fit was nice and hugged the right area but unfortunately due to the length, this dress was not wearable. The difference between the 4P and 6R was tremendous. While the 4P was too short but nicely fitting on the body, the 6R was the perfect length but HUGE when it came to the actual fitting. I ordered the two sizes based on reviews I had read from those my size. If the 4R would have been the length of the 6R, perhaps this would have been a great dress. Unfortunately, I did not get to wear either dress to the event I attended due to the poor fitting.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 22, 2014
Some Awkward Ruching
This dress has an overall nice silhouette, but I would not recommend it for anyone that isn’t extremely confident with their stomach area. The ruching that goes across the hips does not photograph well and accentuates the area. I did not wear this dress, even though it fit, because of that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 20, 2014
This dress is beautiful, but didn't fit me right.
This was a great dress for the occasion - an evening city wedding in Miami, but it unfortunately just didn't fit me as well as it could. I'm not very hippy so while the size 8 fit better in the bust (I'm usually a size 4), it didn't fit right in the hips and butt. Unfortunately the 6 was too tight in the chest, which was a bummer cause it fit great everywhere else. Nevertheless, I made this backup option work on short notice and rocked it as best as I could. I still got many compliments despite it not fitting as well as it could have.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 20, 2014
This dress is beautiful, but didn't fit me right.
This was a great dress for the occasion - an evening city wedding in Miami, but it unfortunately just didn't fit me as well as it could. I'm not very hippy so while the size 8 fit better in the bust (I'm usually a size 4), it didn't fit right in the hips and butt. Unfortunately the 6 was too tight in the chest, which was a bummer cause it fit great everywhere else. Nevertheless, I made this backup option work on short notice and rocked it as best as I could. I still got many compliments despite it not fitting as well as it could have.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
October 14, 2014
The dress made me feel gorgeous and I was complimented throughout the night.
Overall the dress fit well, but it was slightly loose for me around the bust and waist area. I think it may have been slightly stretched out, but it wasn't noticeable. It was the perfect length for me when I wore 2-3" heels. It was a beautiful dress. I would definitely recommend renting this one.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 11, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
This was a replacement dress sent to me by a stylist. If I had gotten the 2L it would have been perfect! I think this dress does run small. Order up a size for your back up! The length was perfect with 4" heels!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2014
The wedding was very formal and elaborate. This dress was elegant for the evening.
The dress was a little long, I wore 3 1/2 in heals with a 3/4 in platform. The side zipper is very hard to zip, make sure you have someone that can help you zip. The bodice was snug for me, so I would suggest if you are a full breasted figure, this dress may not fit. I received numerous compliments about the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
October 7, 2014
Sophisticated and sexy for black tie wedding
Great for hourglass figures, Petite was slightly Short for me (I'm 5'3). safe and classy choice for a black tie wedding while still showing some curves with this form fitting cut
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2014
Wore to Khaki Ball and felt like a princess <3
I am a smaller girl with big boobs and big hips/butt (thanks to my son). I originally ordered the 6R and 8R in black. Couldn't zipper the 6R and barely was able to fit the 8R. I figured I'd just suck it up and deal with the 8R, but my friend (who also ordered her dress from here) had this dress in 10R navy blue. Fit like a glove! The shoulder sash was a little big and it was absolute floor length (and beyond), but it was a good excuse to wear my flip-flops under and no one could see! I got nothing but compliments on my dress and accessories (I ordered bangles and earrings too). I didn't want to take the night to end, I wanted to stay in my dress! Felt so pretty :) Cons - runs small! Maybe I'm just super curvy.... Pro - one of a kind, total hit! Felt like a princess all night
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 16, 2014
I felt like a queen the entire night!!!
I'm usually a size 6/8 but ordered a 8 and a 10 as my back up, I ended up having to use the 10, so it runs a little small! Glad I ordered the 10!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 6, 2014
Runs extremely small. Typically wear a 4 or 6 and neither fit. Would have needed an 8 or maybe a 10
too small
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 18, 2014
Beautiful construction and elegant material made for a great outfit!
The bodice, as others have said, is very tight. This is GREAT so you don't have to hoik it up all night. The bodice boning/wiring did get uncomfortable as the night went on. I got the petite and I'm so glad I did. I wore 4 inch heels and the bottom still grazed the floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
August 3, 2014
Perfect fit.
Was able to dance the entire night away.
EricaDecember 12, 2014
How was the length?
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
July 23, 2014
It's great to be able to rent these dresses!
The dress was gorgeous but it runs very small. I wasn't able to wear it.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
July 23, 2014
Easy shipping.
Fits small. I am a very busty girl at a 36 ddd. I normally wear an 8 and had to go up to a 10. I am 5'2 150 lbs. the length was good :) over okay experience
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 22, 2014
Compliments from everyone
Perfect for any formal black tie dinner. Gorgeous on the hanger and on the body. Nonstop compliments from everyone. Felt comfortable, classy, sexy, everything you want to feel when dressing up. Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 13, 2014
Wow Factor!!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and it looked great! I received compliments all night. I picked this dress because I liked how flattering it looked on all of the other contributors that had previously rented it. It fit perfectly in all the right places, great for a curvy figure.
CarolinaOctober 6, 2014
Hello there, I'm also 5'6 and I'm torn between ordering this gown in Regular or Long...How high were your heels? I'm thinking of wearing 3" or 4". Do you think I should go for the Regular or Long fit?
A.N.October 7, 2014
Hi Carolina, I think you should go with the regular length. My heels were very high (4.5 in. + platform), and I found that there was just enough length to cover my shoes (except maybe an inch or so of the platform). The regular length would definitely work if you are planning to wear shoes with less of a heel.
CarolinaOctober 13, 2014
Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
July 6, 2014
Everyone loved how the dress fit!!
The 0P was a little right on my chest but it fit me perfectly everywhere else I dealt with it because it looked amazing! The 2P fit my chest a little better but then it was loose everywhere else so I knew I made the right choice by picking the 0P. It was so beautiful and the lace made it feminine and dainty. I loved it!!
EricaDecember 12, 2014
how was the length being 5'2 on the Petite?
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 26, 2014
The customer service was amazing. I even received my dress two days earlier than expected!
This dress fit me perfectly in the body! I got so many compliments. It truly looks better in person than on the model. My only con is that the tule was longer than expected, I was wearing 4 inch heels and had a regular size 6 dress. That made it annoying to walk in, I had to gather the dress up a lot to walk and dance. But other than that I completely loved this dress. I wish I could have kept it. 10 out of 10 would rent this dress again and will absolutely rent from rtr again.
See more reviews:
3 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×