ML Monique Lhuillier

Sweet As Candy Gown

$70 rental
$795 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Make a sweet statement at your formal event in this pink strapless lace gown by ML Monique Lhuillier. With its intricate detailing, all you need is an accessory like Courtney Lee’s Becca Ring to complete your formal ensemble!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very fitted – dress very fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very fitted – dress very fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Rose lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline. Trumpet skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

76 reviews

Fit
Small 15
True to Size 45
Large 14
Photos 49
Ann
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 27, 2013

The dress is beautiful! It is exactly as shown. I would buy it in a hearbeat

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is fitted up to just above the knee. The pictures capture the color and the fit perfectly. You will absolutely look amazing. This is the perfect shade of pink.
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Even though this dress didn't quite fit, RTR helped me find another dress that did fit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress but it didnt't quite fit in the hips. It was a little loose. The dress itself was really pretty for a trumpet shaped dress. The color was exactly how it looks in the picture. I think this dress would look awesome on a girl with more curves though.
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 21, 2013

Awesome dress, I had the wrong body type

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is gorgeous and elegant, but as I found out, you have to have the right figure for it! I am short with a small waist and wide hips. The dress fit so that it looked loose in my waist and super tight on my thighs. It just wasn't right for me, but I would so reccomend it for someone with a different body type!
Monica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 26, 2013

It was simply amazing.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress runs a little loose around the waist and bust, but is tight at the hips. Definitely get a size down. It simply perfect, the lace overlay has amazing detail and I was one of the best dressed people at prom. It photographs so well and you see all the detail in every photo.
Azab
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121 lbs
Jun 1, 2013

Fortunately I opted for ordering a back-up dress.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm 5'7" and have a long torso, so I ordered the long length of this dress. The hips of the dress hit about 1.5" above my actual hips, throwing off the whole fit of the rest of the dress. It was disappointing because it's a super-cute dress, and I had planned my accessories around it. The fit-and-flare styling is attractive and feels good on. The bodice of the dress was a really good fit, and the length would have been good with my 3"-4" heels that I would have worn with it. The dress is really well made and arrived in good condition, with just minimal staining/wear on the hem. Not a bad experience though, because I ended up loving my back-up dress.
Julia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

I loved this dress! I got so many compliments and the RTR experience was great! :)

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 4 but I ordered a 2 and a 4. The 2 looked so much better. With the bigger one (4) -the lacing became bunched up and I looked bigger than I am. This dress has no elasticity, it's very fitted. I think this dress is built for curvier girls and I would definitely recommend it if you are!
Patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly. I'm 5'3 and the length was perfect with 4 1/2 inch heels. This was my backup dress but loved it more than the Badgley Mischka fluourescent chiffon dress. I got tons of compliments on this dress!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 141 lbs
Jul 8, 2013

This was a gorgeous dress. Beautiful color. Very flattering.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was tight through the bust but still worked. The problem was that the boning came through the top and made it unwearable. Which was too bad because it looked so elegant
Tish
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

Too Small/Short for Me

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Sadly, this was my backup choice and it didn't fit. Even though I got the long, it would have been far too short. And that was before I even put heels on! Such a pretty pink though!
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Blush and Bashful

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is a beautiful, artistic dress. It is definitely fitted around the midsection so don't rent it if you're confident in that area. The other thing I will say is that it is PINK--the scene in Steel Magnolias where the woman says her wedding colors are "blush and bashful" and her mother says "her colors are pink and pink" definitely comes to mind. I love pink, so I was fine with it, but it is more pink than it looked on my browser. But I loved it and I would rent it again.
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

Fit is so weird! Returned and RTR overnighted another dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered sizes 0 and 2. The 0 was not going to happen, way too tight at my hips to zip up. The 2 had all this extra fabric in the stomach/hip area, and was just so wrong for my body! Also, the lace overlay is a lot more dramatically different than the underlay color…made the dress look cheap. Really awful! But RTR customer service was amazing - ended up with ERIN by erin fetherston St Martin Getaway Gown, and it was perfect for me!
Ericka
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

Beautiful dress. Did not fit. Size 2 was too small. Size 4 was too big.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered my usual 2 and a backup 4. The two was wayyyy to small for me, and the 4 fit, but had this odd pouch-y stomach thing going on that was not flattering at all. This was my first no go when it comes to a dress rental. Everything else I have ordered has always fit perfectly. This one seems to be stretched out a little too much though. Rent the Runway was GREAT and was ready to overnight me a dress I could wear just in time for my event. CUSTOMER SERVICE is FABULOUS!!!
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Feb 25, 2014

Great dress-- love the color!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was in between the 6 & 8 and decided to wear the 8. The 6 was really tight over my hips because the fabric does not give at all but the 8 was a little baggy in places.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Was a GREAT dress! Fit lovely and such a great color PINK!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Lace was gorgeous. Felt wonderful and was perfect length with 3 inch heels. Rent it! :)
Sarah F.
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 16, 2014

Beautiful dress! Picture doesn't do it justice! Many compliments.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit!
Samantha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Perfect my fiancé's Prom theme work party!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was fun, I love the bold color and the quality of the lace / details. I love the curves and flattering git. It is a long dress. I am 5'3' and the dress was long, even with some of my tallest heels. It worked out for the night.
Shannon
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 225 lbs
Apr 11, 2014

Did not get to wear it. Rented this second dress for my daughter. It was too big for her.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
A beautiful well made dress. Needed a size smaller for my daughter. Did not get to wear. Did not get to try on until the night of Day 2 because of a back injury I had. Returning it prior to the event on 4/12 PM. Could not get pickup or to UPS store prior due to injury.
jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

I never used, to small.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
unfortunately I didn't wear that amazing and gorgeous pink dress. the dress looks exactly in all ways, the color it's yummy and the lace it's unique. I was so sad cause that was my first option, and I get new jewelry and shoes ,for that one. but was way small. my hips would never make it happen!
mikaela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

I rented this dress for my senior prom & unfortunately was very disappointed.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs very large. I usually wear a size 4 comfortably. This dress literally fell off my body. The material also look somewhat cheap, for how expensive the retail price is. I do love Rent The Runway, but I do not recommend this dress!
Theresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Too small in bust

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I can't say this was a bad dress, just didn't fit my bust.
Cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 48
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

Didn't end up wearing the dress

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The size 6L fit like a size 4R. Short, and tight. I didn't end up wearing it. Had to wear something out of my closet.
chloe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Horrible

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Didn't even take a picture of me in it because it was so not flattering. Pretty color though! The 12L was the right length but WAY too BIG in the bust, stomach, waist, whole torso area... then it was too small right at my thighs. Just made me look wider and bigger than I actually am. Only reason I got the 12L was because reviews said it ran a little narrow in the hips. Just not the right fit at all. (Got this as my second dress option when they prompt you to add another dress ... wish I hadn't!)
Cierra
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 30, 2014

This dress was AMAZING!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was nice. I liked the style of dress has to be your true size to get the right trumpet look. Best for those with curvy hips and a "rear"
Therese86
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2014

The dress was perfect for a formal wedding at the Ritz

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
fit was good but ran large in size. the support on the sides were ok, but when you sat down they were not flexible enough to make the dress comfortable. But all in all it was a nice dress great for the occasion I felt very pretty!
Ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 18, 2014

Perfect for a black tie event.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! The bust was a little loose but other than that it fit perfectly.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
May 27, 2014

This dress was not flattering

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was pretty but it seems someone not of a size 0 worn/tried on and stretched the dress out. Does not have any stretch in the dress, therefore, the material was stretched out. Luckily, RTR customer service saved the day and had a new dress we picked out sent the next day around noon in time for the wedding! That dress worked out so much better! Thanks RTR !
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 31, 2014

color was awesome

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very fitted. I loved the color, it was more of a deeper pink than I thought it would be. It would be a great prom dress, I felt a little "bubble gum" in it.
Dina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

I did not end up wearing this dress. While it fit, the fit was terrible- it was very unattractive.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am very large chested, and while this dress did fit, the fit was awful. I ended up not wearing it at all.
Deyanira
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 9, 2014

very fitted

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very fitted dress. If you have hips, this is not the dress for you. I could not zip it up and the back up larger size was not available because it was returned in a bad condition; however, RTR called me right away and recommended a different option and sent it over. Their customer service is awesome and it is why I keep renting from them.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Dress didn't fit in 2 or 4 and so I didn't end up wearing it!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
As other posters mentioned, the fit is a bit weird. The 4 was definitely too big and the 2 was a bit tight around the bust but then still really loose around the stomach area. The 2 so had a lot of wear and so I decided to just wear one of my own. The length was good though with 5 inch heels.
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

Was too long otherwise would've been great

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was fairly long - i am 5'2, and even with 4" heels I had to tape it up. Petite Ladies beware!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

It ran too small

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It ran to small. Couldn't wear it and it was a real bubblegum pink. No stretch at all
Alexandria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 18, 2014

Great Detail

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I only wore this for a few moments, and decided I needed to switch dresses only due to venue. This dress is adorable and comfortable. Very soft and easy to wear. I was going to wear my cowboy boots with it and a bird cage veil for my after party wedding dress, but ended up wearing a full sequin dress from RTR. Great dress, great color for anyone.
Cathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Wore it to a wedding. Beautiful dress; I received a lot of compliments on it.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress has a strap inside the dress to ensure you don't have to pull the dress up all night, which I appreciated. I'm in between sizes but decided to wear the size 12 so I had room for dinner.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

I attended the Marine Corps Ball and this dress definitely stood out in the sea of red dresses!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely beautiful! It is more of a pale pink color than pictured (it's not as bright but still pretty). If you're curvier like me and a bit bigger in the bust area, I'd recommend sizing up since it's very form fitting. But also very flattering!
Debra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

Didn't fit. No stretch! Not meant for curvy girls

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
Although the dress was beautiful with color and lace, the cut and material of the dress doesn't allow for some hips or butt. I could barely breathe in the size 2 and the 4 bunched up in the hip area. No comfortable and I wound up returning it straight away!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×