Sweet As Candy Gown

$557 to buy
$795 retail
Stylist Notes

Make a sweet statement at your formal event in this pink strapless lace gown by ML Monique Lhuillier.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very fitted – dress very fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Rose lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline. Trumpet skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(20)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2014
Honestly, I was a bit nervous about renting a dress, but it arrived on time and was beautiful!
The fit and quality of the dress was wonderful. I received lots of compliments! Will rent from RTR for prom again next year!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 26, 2014
Dress didn't fit in 2 or 4 and so I didn't end up wearing it!
As other posters mentioned, the fit is a bit weird. The 4 was definitely too big and the 2 was a bit tight around the bust but then still really loose around the stomach area. The 2 so had a lot of wear and so I decided to just wear one of my own. The length was good though with 5 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
July 3, 2014
Was too long otherwise would've been great
This dress was fairly long - i am 5'2, and even with 4" heels I had to tape it up. Petite Ladies beware!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2014
Great dress, got many compliments!
A little short, I should have gotten a long. The back comes down when sitting down and if you are wearing a bra may show. The dress is heavy material and very hot for an outside event in the summer, but it was very pretty and I enjoyed wearing this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 13, 2014
Perfect for summer!!!!!!!! Gorgeous color!!!
Elegant, classy, true to size! Highly recommend
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 15, 2014
It ran too small
It ran to small. Couldn't wear it and it was a real bubblegum pink. No stretch at all
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 18, 2014
Showstopper Dress!
I used this dress for one of my models for a recent show and it was incredible. It was the last dress of the night and definitely is a show stopper - only thing is if you are small chested make sure you get a padded bra because the top is a little loose. Other than that the fabric was fantastic, heave and expensive. The model was tall and the length was perfect for her! I definitely recommend this dress for a formal affair - the pink was a perfect blush shade and not overwhelming at all!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 18, 2014
Great Detail
I only wore this for a few moments, and decided I needed to switch dresses only due to venue. This dress is adorable and comfortable. Very soft and easy to wear. I was going to wear my cowboy boots with it and a bird cage veil for my after party wedding dress, but ended up wearing a full sequin dress from RTR. Great dress, great color for anyone.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 12, 2014
Trully felt exceptionally classy and beautiful
I had initially picked another dress to wear and unfortunately, RR didn't have my backup size. They gave me the option to pick another dress as a backup free of charge. When the backup dress arrived, I wasn't too excited about the fit or the color either. RR went above and beyond my expectations. The wedding was in another city and they went ahead and mailed me another dress at my hotel free of charge in time for the event. They say 3rd times a charm and it sure was. I felt glamorous and elegant at the same time. The dress fit like a glove and even danced the night away with my daughter. Thank you RR, for your excellent customer service and making my experience hassle free
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2013
Perfect dress for Prom!
I absolutely loved this dress! I received many compliments. It was very classic and elegant. Fits tighter around the hips, but it wasn't too heavy, and I danced all night in it. The dress was very comfortable. I would get a long if you plan to wear higher heels.
sarahApril 10, 2014
you look beautifullllllllllll
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 30, 2013
Perfect. Beautiful color & design. So many compliments. No one wore anything like it. Loved it!
Fit is very flattering with a fitted bodice and flared bottom. Very comfortable and not heavy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 14, 2014
Perfect Marilyn Monroe!
Fits small for the designer. It was very tight! I'm used to wearing 10's in ML and this was up a size due to my hips. My measurements are 40" bust, 30"waist, and 42" hips. Great dress! Did the job!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2013
Good dress for Prom!
I wore this dress for prom and it was perfect for the occasion and I got a lot of compliments! But, the color was not what I expected and I was a little disappointed when I got it in the mail. And Im usually a size 4 but I feel like I could have worn a 2??
LuceroOctober 16, 2014
Hi! You look gorgeous in that dress! So I have a couple of questions, since I'm the same height, and roughly the same size (just different body shape). Would you say that it runs slightly large (I'm usually between a 6 and 8, more toward 8), so like would a 6 probably work? And how high were your shoes (trying to gauge length)? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 20, 2014
The silhouette of the dress is beautiful and the all over lace detail is very nice
The fit of the dress varies in different locations. The top of the dress fits snug but is hard to pull up in the back. I tried on the 10L as well but it was still hard to pull up in the back. The middle of the dress was a little loose/baggy feeling around the torso. The hips very very tight on me in bothe the 10L and 8L. It was hard to sit down without having to lift the dress and move things around. While standing it was fine and it was easy to walk. I'm 5'6 and I wore a. 4.5 inch heel and dress length was perfect it just covered my feet but did not drag on the ground and I didn't step on it. Overall I rate the dress an 8 out of 10... It was my second pick for dresses but I was satisfied with it. I received lots of compliments and it photographed well.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2014
I attended the Marine Corps Ball and this dress definitely stood out in the sea of red dresses!
This dress was absolutely beautiful! It is more of a pale pink color than pictured (it's not as bright but still pretty). If you're curvier like me and a bit bigger in the bust area, I'd recommend sizing up since it's very form fitting. But also very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 38D+
November 17, 2014
Beautiful Color!
I used this dress for my engagement photos. It added a beautiful pop of color. My only complaint is that the hips were wide too wide for me. I have a wide back and small bust. The 6 was too narrow in the chest (material has no stretch), so I had to wear an 8. The hips are probably proportional for someone who is a classic size 8 but it was bulky for me. In some pics, it was noticeable and the material would bunch up, making me look wider than I am. I wouldn't rent this again because I would need to have this sort of dress tailored to ensure a perfect fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
December 5, 2014
Didn't fit. No stretch! Not meant for curvy girls
Although the dress was beautiful with color and lace, the cut and material of the dress doesn't allow for some hips or butt. I could barely breathe in the size 2 and the 4 bunched up in the hip area. No comfortable and I wound up returning it straight away!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
December 21, 2014
Event stunner!
Very slim fit, hugs curves nicely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 28, 2014
Pretty dress, but difficult fit.
This dress is very pretty, but the fabric has NO give, so if you're not shaped exactly like the dress, it will fit kind of awkwardly. I wore it anyway and it looked ok, but there was extra fabric at the hip and I felt a little self conscious in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
March 1, 2015
Gorgeous fabric!
The size zero was way too big. I had to pin the inside just so it wouldn't fall down when I walked.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 1, 2015
I did not wear the dress
I did not end up wearing the dress because the hip area fit good but the stomach area was huge and it made me look fat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 21, 2015
Mardi Gras Ball on Valentine's Day
I wore this to a Mardi Gras Ball on Valentine's Day and it was absolutely perfect! Being 5'2, I almost always have to get my gowns altered but this was the perfect length with my heels. It was such a bright, festive dress and I would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 29, 2015
Simple yet eye catching
No give in the dress at all, but because of that everything stays in place :) it is loser in the midriff area but I think it's to accentuate the hips, which was very flattering. Fits best on an hourglass figure, true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 7, 2015
This dress was better than I expected
true to size, very comfortable easy to move in
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2015
I wore this dress for a wedding.
I got my regular size and a size up for backup. I ended up going with the size up because my hips would not fit comfortably in my normal size. If you are a curvy girl like me, I would just honestly suggest you either go a size up or pick another dress. Since I had to go a size up, The bust area was a bit too large and I had to keep pulling my dress up. It wasn't terribly bad, but it easily got annoying. The dress itself was absolutely beautiful and I received tons of compliments all night, but unless you're tall and lean, you might run into some issues.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Other
Age: 21
June 7, 2015
Made my butt look amazing. Beautiful dress. Fit perfectly.
Get great jewelry.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 5, 2015
Incredible dress! Received so many compliments.
Very comfortable and flattering
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
November 9, 2015
Fun night
I got my regular size and a size up for backup. I ended up going with the size up because my hips would not fit comfortably in my normal size. If you are a curvy girl like me with hips you need the a size up. The only problem I had was with the breast area the boning was sticking out under the both arms which bother a bit through the night. Over all I loved the dress it hugged all of my curves the right way. I got lots of great compliment throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
December 13, 2015
It was a formal gala and this dress was perfect for the theme of the party.
I got serveral compliments on the dress, the color is lovely! Its a corset type of fit so sitting, bending down and dancing were pretty much out of the question. Given its snug fit, its great for an hour glass type of body. Overall - happy with the dress and how it looked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 27, 2015
Very Pretty Dress
High Quailty material, A little tight around boobs
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 46
February 8, 2016
Let me start out by saying, I love this dress!
Now that I've gotten that out of the way....I'm 5'7" tall and weight 142 lbs. I ordered the 8L and the 10L just in case. Thankfully the 8L fit perfectly because the 10L wasn't able to be shipped because it came back in late or damaged. The length was just right on me with 4" heels. I'm not sure how someone any taller than about 5'9" could wear this dress without wearing just flats with it. But anyway, the fit was great, and the material is thick, so I didn't have to wear any shape wear under it. It hid my "imperfections" and I was truly happy about that. I got a lot of compliments on the color and the fit of the dress. So happy I went with Rent the Runway instead of spending a ton on a dress to buy that I probably will never get to wear again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
March 15, 2016
Great dress. I am 5'3" and wore with 4 - 5" heels and it was the perfect length.
Great for petites. The pink is a beautiful shade and stood out in a sea of black formal dresses
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
March 17, 2016
A lots of compliments all night.
A little tight on the hip area. But very pretty dress.
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 15, 2016
Love this dress!!
I don't think I'll ever be able to afford a Monique Lhuillier dress myself so renting it is an amazing opportunity. Rented it as a bridesmaid for my friends wedding. It's beautiful and fits true to size. Only problem is that there's a giant hole at the bottom. I wish they'd check and or fix that before they sent it to me. I'm just hoping it doesn't show up in pictures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2013
Another stunner! RTR is simply the ONLY way to go! Such a great experience!
No complaints at all ~ perfect fit, color, you name it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2013
Perfect classy dress for prom!
The dress fit great! I expected it to be tighter around the thighs, but it was much looser than I thought. I was very comfortable and did not have to worry about the dress being too tight during the night. The "mermaid" shape was very flattering as well. The color was stunning and everyone commented about how beautiful and intricate the lace was. Thank you Rent The Runway for help making my prom perfect!
RTR CustomerApril 6, 2014
where did your friend get the purple dress?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2013
Such a vibrant dress with delicate detail that didn't fail to call attention
This dress fit well around the hips but tended to have a lot of extra fabric around the small of the back and around the stomach. It is a relatively comfortable dress, and the fabric isn't too heavy at all. It was really good in that i didn't have to constantly pull it up to keep the top from falling down. The only real issue is the loose fabric, but apart from that, the dress is beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 27, 2013
Beautiful Dress!!
LOVED this dress!! The color and lace details are gorgeous. The combination of intricate lace detail made the pink work so well - I wish there were more dresses in this color!!! So fun and unexpected and refreshing from the typical black dresses!!! :) Initially I chose a 6L because I'm typically a 6 in dresses (7 or 8 in pants) but when it came I barely got the 6L on/zipped (well, I did, but I couldn't breathe or move or twist the dress to make it straight!). RTR overnighted me an 8L (THANK YOU RTR!!!!) and it fit just right!! It was still very snug around the hips. I have wide hips, although I didn't think they were "that wide" until I wore this dress :) My waist is small so I would not have gone up a size, but looking at pictures, my backside curves were very visible! I wore the dress with a strapless bra and spanx, both worked just fine with the dress and there was plenty of room for both! Bust fit perfectly, and the upside of the tight fitting dress (with help from he boning within the top of the dress) was that I didn't have to pull the dress up once!!! Pretty rare for a strapless dress, so that made me very happy! I am 5 ft 8.5'' and bought two pairs of shoes, one 2'' and another 3.5" and was pleasantly surprised when the dress was long enough for me to wear the high ones!! yay!! I would highly recommend the dress, but would suggest getting the dress in your typical pants size (as opposed to your "dress size"), plus one size up if you have wide hips! Thanks RTR for offering a dress in such a beautiful pink color as this!!! :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2014
beautiful dress!
the dress is a little narrow.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
The dress is beautiful! It is exactly as shown. I would buy it in a hearbeat
The dress is fitted up to just above the knee. The pictures capture the color and the fit perfectly. You will absolutely look amazing. This is the perfect shade of pink.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×