Royal Treatment Gown

$80 rental
$598 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk the red carpet in style wearing this jaw dropping ML Monique Lhuillier fish tail gown.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black taffeta (100 % Polyester). Strapless. Straight neckline. Ruched bodice with boning. Pencil skirt with trumpet hem. Hidden back zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
573 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(372)
Small
(64)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
December 21, 2015
This dress is amazing! Got a ton of complimentsM
Fit like a glove!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Weight: 138lbs
March 7, 2016
Timeless gown
I adored the mermaid style and the top fit nicely instead of feeling like it would come down. The length was perfect with modest heels, I'm 5'4. I loved wearing this dress and received so many compliments.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2016
Loved this dress.......and so comfortable!
Go a few sizes bigger and I was worried about the length but with 4 inch heels it was fine.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2016
The dress was perfect, got lots of compliments and felt beautiful in it.
the 4p was torn on the inside and you could tell had been repaired once before. The 6p had also been repaired and the zipper stuck, but we were able to fix it and it fit like a glove.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 5, 2016
The customer service was absolutely amazing!!
Fit was perfect and was great for my event. The R length worked out better for me because I didn't want to have to wear super tall heels. I wore a 2" heel and then wore flats for dancing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
May 15, 2016
This was a very elegant gown; it fit perfectly and I felt so beautiful. Excellent choice!
I usually wear a 6, but I had to wear the 8 of this dress. It was very form fitting, but the ruching along the middle helped to hide any imperfections in my figure. It was truly a beautiful gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 5, 2016
I wore this for a black tie wedding.
This gown was fabulous. Fit like a glove. Was a bit long on my 5'5" frame.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 145lbs
July 6, 2016
Great first experience with RTR!
I was very hesitant of ordering the long length because typically I have to get formal dresses hemmed because they're too long. After reading several reviews from girls around my height, I ordered the long and it was perfect. The boning on one side of the dress was sticking out and it poked me throughout the night, but other than that it was a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 12, 2016
Beautiful!
Lovely dress! Fit like a glove and looked gorgeous! Turned heads everywhere I walked.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 1, 2016
It was a Black/White Masquerade party and a lot of fun to dress up.
Pros: The dress is absolutely gorgeous. Compliments Compliments everywhere. The cinching at the bodice is very slim fitting and flattering. Con: The zipper broke several several times. I had to take the dress off two times, remove the zipper, and sew the zipper to my bra so it had some reinforcement. The dress was not too tight, I think the zipper went bad. It was missing a few teeth.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 5, 2016
Gorgeous but runs small
This dress was a backup dress the stylist sent to me since my choice was not available. Unfortunately this dress would not zip up in the bust area. It was perfect for my petite frame (5'2") though and was very flattering without being skin tight. I would size up if you are busty. I'm usually a size 2-6 depending on the top. Currently going through breast cancer reconstruction so my chest doesn't fit the mold.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
August 8, 2016
I felt like a princess
beautiful fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
August 15, 2016
Elegant and classy!
Very flattering and elegant dress! Wore for a black tie summer wedding and got very hot with all of the fabric, but the dress was so gorgeous, I didn't mind! Rented the earring too :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 9, 2016
Glamorous
This was honestly the best dress I've tried on! It even flatters my outrageous curves! Unfortunately, I have a pear body shape so I was very concerned that the top would be too loose and the bottom would be too tight. Wow...after I put on this amazing dress, I was speechless. The dress hugs my curves but I was still able to move and have a slight wiggle room. The dress was ALMOST perfect. The only problem I had was the chest area. It had already been stretched out previously. So I had to fold it in a little bit right under my right armpit area and pinned it. I figured this was the most inconspicuous area. But that was only a minor thing. I felt so glamorous and sexy in this dress and this was my first ever mermaid dress. IT WAS AWESOME!! I highly recommend this dress if you're not afraid to show off some curves. Just to give you an idea of my measurements: 36B, hips 38 inches, 120 lbs
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
September 23, 2016
gorgous dress.....couldn't zip up over boobs.
I would have worn this dress if I fit it in. It felt very tight through my rib cage. runs super small or I need to go up sizes.....first time renting the runway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 2, 2016
Red carpet dress!
This dress is stunning! I had complements all night that I looked glamorous and looked like I should be walking the red carpet! The dress is super comfortable however I had to pull it up at times around the bust. The 6 was too tight around my DDD bust, but the 8 was. Little too large. But over all, I was beyond happy with this choice! I definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
October 20, 2016
Perfect elegance!
This dress fit perfectly and was incredibly flattering. It was comfortable and I felt like a celebrity all night. Even getting compliments from random strangers on the street. I actually got an 8L and with my heels it was a perfect length. The 8R was a little short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Apple
October 30, 2016
Beautiful formal dress
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It was very flattering and the length was perfect (I'm 5'3 and ordered the petite size). I didn't get a back up size so the ran perfectly true to size. The only issue I had was as other people said, the rubber on the top of the dress kept peeking out and I'd have to tuck it back in every so often. A good rent!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2016
Stunning dress!
I wore this for a Gala event. I originally ordered the 4R, but they did not have that size. The customer service was great and they sent me a 4L, which I ended up wearing. I felt like a princess! It was a good weight, but not too heavy. I am 5'4 and I wore my highest heels. I had to hold the dress as I walked so I didn't trip. The fit was great, just a little long. Something strange was happening with the back of the dress where it kept folding out, so that is the reason for the 4 stars. I pinned it to keep it from folding out. Also, on my particular dress, the tulle was coming apart from the silk part underneath. I didn't fret because it was not visible. Side note- there are supports in this dress, so if you have a shorter upper torso (I.e. Short stomach) and longer legs, this style is difficult because it wrinkles on the sides if you're not long enough in the upper torso. Glad I got to wear this lovely style.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Age: 29
November 25, 2016
Too big
I normally wear a size 0/2 in dresses. The size 2 was falling off and the size 0 was also far too big. The dress is gorgeous though and I was definitely disappointed. The RTR store was very helpful but I was just disappointed I couldn't wear the dress.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 159lbs
December 10, 2016
Classic Elegance.
Charity Ball. I normally wear an 8 occasionally a 6. The fit was like a dream up to the bust true to size. I wear a 36D so I recommend for a bustier lady size up. Also I like a tall heel. I got the gown in a long and it was the perfect length with my 4" heel. This was my second choice but the gown is so much more gorgeous in person. I loved it and received compliments all night long. 1940s themed charity ball. Perfect choice. Spot on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2016
beautiful!!
I ended up not being able to wear this one because it didn't arrive in time, but it is beautiful! The fabric doesn't give at all, so it's probably wise to order a size up, which I did. I am 5'1" and got the petite length. I put on 3 inch heels with it and it swept the floor. So a regular length would not have worked for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 20, 2016
Stunning
The dress fit well and looked great. The only problem was that the top kept folding out a bit so had to be adjusted. My daughter wore this. She is 5'7" and about 112 pounds. I was worried that the size 0 didn't come in long length but the length was fine even with heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
January 25, 2017
Felt beautiful, glamorous dress. Many were in awe! Had to go up 2 sizes for bust area.
Dress was a bit on the smaller side. Had order 2 sizes larger than I am. This was to accommodate for the bust area!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
March 7, 2017
Loved this dress!!! Wish I owned it!
The fit and length was perfect. I received a ton of compliments all night long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
March 26, 2017
Stunning!!
This dress is stunningly beautiful in every way!! Perfect fit I wore 0R I'm 5"6 112# wore 2.5 kitten heel and length was perfect! Felt like a princess and got many compliments all evening!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
April 3, 2017
The reasonably priced cost of rental and convenience of having the dress delivered to you.
Dress fit true to size and was very comfortable. I am 5'3, 110 pounds. I was concerned the dress may be too long but I wore maybe a 2.5" heel and was fine. It's a real beauty and worthy of your next black tie affair.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 9, 2017
SHOW STOPPING STUNNER DRESS!
Absolutely loved this dress! I am usually very self conscience about wearing a hip hugging dress but this dress helped me to comfortably come out of my shell for the night. I'm 5'3 and the dress kissed the ground perfectly. To dance I did feel the need to hold the tail. The ruffles are perfect for hiding any uncomfortable areas one may have. I am 5' 3" & I ordered a 10R & a 12R. I chose to wear the 12R. The only down side I found was that since I am a pear shape, I had to choose the bigger size to accommodate my hips. I used Fashion tape, in an attempt to prevent any mishaps, however, the tape pealed off my skin early in the night and did not prevent the top from curling forward and revealing the rubber strip that lines the inside top seam. I was playing with it thru out the night trying to keep it from showing - mostly while I was walking or dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 6, 2013
LOVED THIS DRESS!! I got compliments all night.
This is a diva's gown. Fits like a glove and accentuates ones curve. I would recommend it for tall women. Also, heels are a must with this dress
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 10, 2013
When I walked into the event my hostess had on the same dress which she paid full retail for!!
Was a little snug. Wish I would have ordered a 10
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 13, 2013
Gorgeous Red Carpet Gown!
I wore this gown to a red carpet event and it was a complete hit! I was very satisfied with my RTR experience and have already recommended this site to my girlfriends. The dress I received arrived a day early, still had the tags, and had never been worn. I ordered the long, which worked out perfectly, since I was 6'-0" tall (with heels) and the gown just barely grazed the floor. However, toward the end of the evening the bunched bottom fabric came loose (at the "mermaid tail") and the dress grew 3' longer. I was a bit surprised, although I may have stepped on it and snapped a thread. So, for taller ladies, I would recommend not going with "long" if you will be dancing or walking quite a bit. This gorgeous dress should be worn with care.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
March 18, 2013
looked like a million dollars! wish i could wear this dress over and over again
dresss is gorgeous - top fits tight and stiff, but that worked well for a long night of dancing. the bottom is a little bigger (had room in the hips). overall the construction is very elegant and expensive, and the dress looked amazing. however, when i got this dress, the zipper broke on the four while I was trying it on (even though the dress was not too small on me), and then when I tried on the six, the fabric on the pleat at the bottom came undone, so basically I had two unwearable dresses. rtr refunded me fo the replacement of the zipper, but it was a massive nightmare running around trying to find a seamstress to replace a zipper in one day (since I received my dresses the night before my event). besides that hiccup, the dress was truly amazing. it runs long, so beware, because I was in giant heels and still felt nervous about tripping over the hem all night.
RTR CustomerAugust 14, 2013
How high do you think the heels should have been to make it more comfortable about the fear of tripping? We are the same height and I love the train.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
March 21, 2013
I Felt Like a Queen!
My husband and I go to a black tie fundraiser every year in early March. As soon as I saw the picture RTR posted of this dress on Facebook when it came in, I KNEW this was the perfect dress! I wanted to wear it so badly that I was nervous to try it on when it finally came but I had nothing to fear. The top fit perfectly, nice and snug (without being to tight) and the extra elastic band kept me from having to pull it up all night. The length wa also perfect, I wore it with 3" heels, and the train followed after me just as it should. I do think you could also go with 4" heels and still be fine. I'm slimmer in my hips, so I did find the dress to be a little big in that area, but not so much that it was noticeable and it made sitting down and getting in and out of the car easier. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone who wants to feel amazing!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 25, 2013
Show stopper
Just enough structure to hold in the places that needed it while flattering my curves. A very classy dress. My only comment is the hanger loops kept popping out of the back. Other than that, perfect!!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 27, 2013
It fit like a glove and everyone told me how gorgeous it was all night!
Definitely a wonderful choice, it fit perfectly and adding a pop of color with the necklace and lipstick added to the glamor. Unfortunately, I had to go out and buy shoes because I am all of 5 feet tall.. so in this picture i am in 6 inch platform shoes..so if you're petite like me make sure you've got tall shoes! So, so happy with this dress and RTR, thank you for making my night!!
Natalie C.May 2, 2013
You look stunning in this. Is the necklace a rental as well?
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Natalie, This necklace is not from RTR. We do have a very similar one by Kate Spade New York called the Green Hot Chip Pepper Necklace. Highly recommend it!
helenMay 14, 2013
hey loveeee the dress on you but what did you do with the tail? I love it, it makes such a difference.
LaurenMarch 25, 2014
I got the necklace from a local store called Cole Couture in Tallahassee, FL. I picked the tail up and moved it around..Honestly, i wore about 6-7 inch heels so i wouldn't step on it. I'm only about 5' flat so it was a little long. This has been my favorite rental so far!! Love this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 30, 2013
This dress was wonderful and I felt like a true diva!! I won best dress of the party!
Runs a little small around the bust area.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 11, 2013
Stunning, stand out black dress
With black dresses, I'm always concerned that I'll blend in too much, but this is definitely a stand out black dress. It is absolutely gorgeous, and I got a ton of compliments. Early on in the night, I snagged the bustle and it fell apart. Apologies to whoever rented this after me! I'm sure RTR fixed it up though before sending to anyone else. :-) I tried to safety pin the bustle back, but that fell out too so I ended up holding up that front part of the dress most of the night - really wasn't a big deal. Perfect rental too because this is a stand out dress that you likely wouldn't be able to wear again since everyone will remember it!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 12, 2013
Such an easy process!!!
I ordered this dress for my sorority formal. The dress I wanted didn't come in a 12 on the weekend I needed it so I ordered a 14. This dress was available in a 12L so I ordered it as a backup. I ended up hating the other dress and loving this one. My date is about 6'8" so I wore 4 inch heel and they were the perfect size for the long. It fit like an absolute glove and I got SOOO many compliments. My only issue was that I somehow managed to release the thread where the side of the dress was bundled up so I had to safety pin it. Otherwise, I absolutely love this dress. I will definitely order it again.
RTR CustomerAugust 22, 2013
Your dress fits great! Shows off the curves!
RTR CustomerAugust 22, 2013
Gorgeous on you
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 16, 2013
G-L-A-M!
I rented this dress for a hospital benefit and I felt like a million dollars! It’s so glamorous and it hugged my curves perfectly. I could not have been happier! I ordered the long and wore really high heels, but still picked up the dress a little to walk around. I loved pairing it with this amethyst bib necklace – I thought it looked great. I hope that I have an opportunity to rent this dress again – it was amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 20, 2013
I wore this dress for my senior recital and felt like a goddess!
I'm about 5'8 and the longer length was pretty good with a pair of 6 inch heels (if anything, it could have been longer or I could have worn smaller heels). I needed something that would be able to play in comfortably, and this dress did the trick surprisingly well, even when I was sitting down. The fit was wonderful and I wasn't having to constantly readjust between pieces. A great addition to a big event in my last semester of college!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×