Rent the Runway

ML Monique Lhuillier

Royal Treatment Gown

$80 rental
$598 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk the red carpet in style wearing this jaw dropping ML Monique Lhuillier fish tail gown. You'll turn heads wearing Vera Wang's Night Bloom Necklace to get a mix of classic and trendy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black taffeta (100 % Polyester). Strapless. Straight neckline. Ruched bodice with boning. Pencil skirt with trumpet hem. Hidden back zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

454 reviews

Fit
Small 51
True to Size 323
Large 33
Photos 372
Callie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Wore another dress.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 0L fit well. the additional pinning in bust area made for a tight fit, so be aware my busty friends! This was a dress they sent me when my first dress was unavailable. I decided to go with another dress. this is a very lovely dress and I might rent in the future. (Although I did see it on 5 girls that night at the event, so I wish RTR had some sort of feature where you could list what City or what Event you were attending to prevent that sort of thing from happening...I was really glad I went with the other dress instead of being lucky gal number #6.
Jenny
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Amazing!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress! It fit so great and was very comfortable! I am 5'6'' and wore 2 inch heels so I made sure to order the long size.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

This dress was amazing and made you feel classy and elegant all evening.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My dress size is usually a 4 or a 2. I ordered both in Long. The length was perfect! I wore 3" heels and the dress just barely brushed the ground. The size 4L fit comfortably without being too tight. With a little help from a push-up bra the top filled out nicely and I didn't have to pull the dress up all evening. Even after the party was over I didn't want to take the dress off. It was comfortable and not heavy at all. Black is always a slimming color, but the way the dress is designed brings out only the best curves. I highly recommend this dress and yes, have a push-up bra available.
Danielle
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 12, 2014

The dress is perfect for a formal affair. The mermaid style takes your breath away.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Buy a size larger for breathing room.
Barbara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148 lbs
Mar 13, 2014

Great service !

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was gorgeous. Very glamorous and comfortable I was worried it would not stay up well but I had no problems . It stayed put all night. In retrospect I think I could have worn a size 8 due to some extra room. I was able to get away with wearing a bra. Lots of compliments all night
Mel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Very Marilyn Monroe feel.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Stunning material. Gorgeous on especially if curve like me. I probably could have done the 12r but I would not have been able to breath. Better to size up on this.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 22, 2014

Beautiful gown, maybe next time

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress but my husband preferred my red backup dress, which I also loved. This is a gorgeous dress though.
Barbara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Show-stopping

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit beautifully and was a total show-shopper. It hits all the right curves in all the right places, and is forgiving where it needs to be. I am already planning to rent it again for a black tie wedding at the end of the month. That said, I read that it runs big so I rented a 4 and 6 when I'm usually a 2, but I found that it runs more true to size so I'll rent a 2 and 4 next time. Either way, I absolutely loved it!! Thank you.
Channing
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 27, 2014

The dress was amazing!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress got me so many compliments! I don't wear formals very often but I normally wear a 7 pants and medium shirt. I ordered the 8L and 6L and the 6 was perfect. I'm 5'6" and wore 3" heels and it just hit the floor.
Moni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Apr 5, 2014

Classic Elegance

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit me perfectly!!! I received compliment after compliment the whole night. I am hippy - pear shaped. If you want to have a dress that makes a classy statement, this is the one. I LOVED this dress, and if I wasn't worried about pictures, I would rent it again in a heartbeat. Wished I owed it!
BlackTieAffair
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 182 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

This dress is perfect in every way: formal and sexy all at the same time!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this gown to a mayoral inaugural ball, so I needed something elegant and sophisticated, but I wanted to be a little bit sexy too. This dress is perfect for that: it's regal, but it also hugs a girl's curves! There was one litttttle problem though: both dresses I received (an 8 and a 10) had ripped hems and seams in obvious places. I had to wear the 10 because the tears in the 8 were so terrible that there was no way I could justify wearing it to a black tie affair. As the 10 was too big, I had to keep readjusting the bust because I could have fit another set of breasts in there so the dress just sat too far away from my chest . Nevertheless, the dress is such a stunner that I do not think anyone noticed; my fiancé is still talking about this dress!
Anna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

Classy, sophisticated, simple yet elegant - a showstopper!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was hard to sit in, but stayed up which was perfect because I have a tendency to have issues with my small bust. It won't give at all, but with spans anything is possible! It wasn't too difficult to dance around in, but walking up stairs was hard. Either way, this is a beautiful dress for an old hollywood glamour look!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 10, 2014

Amazing Dress!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is stunning. It's a thicker marterial, but so beautiful. I wish it came in another color so I could wear it again!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

Curve Hugging

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in a 12L and it ended up being way too small in the bust. (My bra size is a 36DD, so I should have known better!) The dress is gorgeous and very curve hugging. However, the dress has no give to it. None. I would recommend ordering true to size and getting a size larger as your backup. It's a very beautiful dress though! I would have loved to wear it if I had the correct size!
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

didn't end up wearing either size

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It's a nice dress but runs small so if you're busty at all (even though I'm not) or bigger in the hips/rear you might want to go two sizes up. The material is also very thick and doesn't stretch much so it makes the dress feel even tighter. The smaller size barely went over my rear and the bigger size was not flattering on top so didn't end up wearing either.
Vera
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Great dress, very regal.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress.
Ash
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

RTR was great, very easy process and the dresses were all in great shape.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size, as well as length. Great dress, could not have been happier.
swlinz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt like a movie star in this classy dress. It was beautiful! I was going to wear the 2 but had an issue with the zipper which broke! I ended up wearing the 4 which was a little loose on top but nothing that some fashion tape couldn't fix. I did have an issue with the train coming down since it was literally hanging by a thread when I got it but I was able to pin it up without anyone even noticing or taking away from the look. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Jessie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 26, 2014

Compliments all evening!!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Okay, the 10 was a smidge big on me (I was trying to lose weight for this event, just didn't think I could pull it off!) but I wouldn't have been able to breathe in an 8...only a bit big in the bust area though and there was an extra strap on the inside just below the bust that helped me from having a wardrobe malfunction. My only (very small) complaint was that the silicone tape that lined the top of the bust was visible because it protruded out instead of in. But I got so many compliments on the dress all night, that I forgot all about it! This was for an event with a bunch of bigwigs that I didn't know so at first I was super nervous but this dress made me feel like a million bucks!!
Jane
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Gorgeous and lots of compliments!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved it..Really great dress...
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

I got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up having to wear the 8L because the 6 was too tight across the hips. The top was too loose for me though, even with a heavily padded bra. Also, the zipper kept bunching up and folding on itself which was distracting. Overall, I loved the dress and was happy to wear it, but it most definitely is NOT for a pear shape. Furthermore, for a long, it was still kinda short. If I had worn heels, it would have cleared the ground by a lot.
Megan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 2, 2014

Great shape to this dress, gives a nice hourglass figure.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
kind of a nightmare, the zipper broke in the middle of the event! Thankfully my husband was able to fix it because I couldn't. Not happy with that part of the dress but before and after the zipper broke, I liked it.
Andrea
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2014

The dress was perfect!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit! The reviews helped expectations to stay realistic.
Shi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 6, 2014

Among a sea of black dresses, this dress stood out. Compliments from strangers and friends alike!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very flattering fit. A tad uncomfortable but totally worth it :) Felt like my wedding day all over again! Wore 3 inch heels in the size 4, long length (I'm 5'6) and it was perfect.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 104 lbs
May 7, 2014

rather large.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit of the dress was rather large for someone of my stature. Beautiful dress but I was rather upset that it was large overall.
Mariel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 9, 2014

The dress ended up looking great even though the folds of the fabric weren't that flattering.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was definitely small, so I'm glad I sized up for the second size. However, that dress seems to have too much wear: the zipper kept sticking (very frustrating), the inner corset had painful wires sticking out and into my skin, and the inner buckle wouldn't stay closed so that also rubbed against my side. Otherwise, it would have been very comfortable!
Sophia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
May 11, 2014

Glad I had a back up :)

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautiful, but runs VERY small on the top and large on the bottom; so disappointed it didn't work.
Dot
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 13, 2014

Beautiful, classic, stunning, elegant gown.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I succeeded on the look I was going for in this gown. If you are busty, size up. You MAY need it. I am 36 DD. I got the 8L and 10L to be on the safe side. I ended up wearing the 8, my true size, but it was snug....without a bra. The size 8 fit my body best and the 10 fit my bust best....go figure. I preferred that over the fit of the 10L although they both looked great. Also, I'm happy I got the long because the regular length would have been too short. The regular wasn't available at the time of ordering. I'm 5'3 and the dress covered my shoes perfectly with a 3 inch heel. Lastly, it was hard to zip the 8 but I managed. Be careful as not to break the zipper. Much easier to zip the 10 and I'm sure that's because it wasn't as snug. I will definitely rent a dress from RTR again.
CF
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
May 17, 2014

I didn't wind up wearing this dress, but I absolutely loved it. It fit perfectly.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfectly and is just beautiful. Since I did't wind up wearing it, I'm going to rent it again.
Jess
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2014

Not a fan of this dress, wore my backup which was a TOTAL knockout.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't love the fabric on this dress as soon as I unwrapped it. It also needed a great deal of steaming and ironing as it was packed in the box at got wrinkled. The fit felt very small as I know I do not typically require a 14, and this one was snug. Material does not give at all and I really would not suggest for anyone not built like the model, tall and thin. Loved my backup Bagley Mischka Curves for Days dress. Ah-mazing!
Natalia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 28, 2014

This is a great dress! Timeless, yet current.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved that the fabric of this dress was a bit heavier... I was afraid it would look a little tacky on, but the amazing fit and texture really made me feel cool, classy and sexy. I adorned with a bejeweled designer belt/sash and got tons of compliments! I had to get Long since Regular wasn't available, but a super high heel did the trick!
Miss. McCoy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

I had a great experience with customer service. However, I was not able to use any of the gowns.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered LONG in both gowns but could not use either. Both gown were to short even with flats.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

***

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't get to wear this since it was too short. Standing flat footed, it was showing my feet... RTR was quick to help and is sending me out a dress overnight to replace. I rented this before and realized it was a long... stunning no doubt!
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

Dress was torn

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was pretty disappointed by this dress as I took it out of the bag and the front rouching was torn. Had to send it back unfortunately.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 15, 2014

Wore to formal affair. Lots of compliments.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Slimming fit.
Enid
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Figure Flattering

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress does wonders for your figure. The dress has some structure built in so I did not need shapewear. The long length was great fro 3 inch heels. However, the slight train needed to be lifted up while walking so my heels didn't get caught in the hem. Dancing would've been a bit difficult but was not a problem since it was a formal banquet. Great dress that got tons of complements at an extremely formal affair.
tristan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

so pretty!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress. I unfortunately couldn't wear it to my event because it was too short to wear with heels (I'm 5'10 and rented a long). It's super flattering and the perfect mix of classy and sassy
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

I wore this to a formal dinner at the British Museum of Natural History

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit great and true to size. My only complaint was the ruching didn't lay flat in places, interrupting the otherwise sleek look of the dress. It was comfortable, gorgeous and I got many compliments.
Ojenette
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 21, 2014

All eyes were on me! The dress was stunning

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The bust was kind of big even though I have a big bust area ! Other than that it was perfect
Danielle Patrice
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Dress has great shape!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The material was comfortable, sleek, and gave great shape -- but it definitely runs small in the HIP and BUST area. I could not zip it there and the side zip and no give in the fabric makes it so that you should definitely size up. I also felt that renting the long if you are 5'6'' or more is imperative! What a beautiful gown and my heart broke that it didn't fit and when RTR offered me larger sizes they weren't available... Totally my fault, I waited until the last minute to secure the original rental!! If it had fit - definite five stars!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×