Royal Treatment Gown

$60 – $80 rental?
$598 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Walk the red carpet in style wearing this jaw dropping ML Monique Lhuillier fish tail gown. You'll turn heads wearing Vera Wang's Night Bloom Necklace to get a mix of classic and trendy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black taffeta (100 % Polyester). Strapless. Straight neckline. Ruched bodice with boning. Pencil skirt with trumpet hem. Hidden back zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
567 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(370)
Small
(64)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
March 9, 2016
Elegant Corseting
I chose this dress based on other reviews that called out its ability to pull you in and was not disappointed. I would say it's a little on the awkward side to walk in quickly so hopefully you aren't trying to get anywhere fast ;) Love this dress, chose the perfect necklace for it and would encourage that you go with something chunky as the neckline is complimentary but if you pull you hair up, you'll want something to add a little spice to the space in between.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
March 8, 2016
I received tons of compliments on the dress!
Loved the dress it fit really great. Perfect dress to pair with a statement necklace!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Weight: 138lbs
March 7, 2016
Timeless gown
I adored the mermaid style and the top fit nicely instead of feeling like it would come down. The length was perfect with modest heels, I'm 5'4. I loved wearing this dress and received so many compliments.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 5, 2016
Beautiful!
I wore this dress for a charity ball my husband was invited to through work. I agree with past reviews that the material was a little different than expected--I thought it would be thicker and more silky but instead, it was thinner and had more of a linen feel. Still beautiful though, and I don't think you would have noticed unless you got really close. Definitely glad I went with the long length, as I am 5'7" and wore two inch heels. Going up stairs was a bit of a challenge considering the gown is so form fitting but I got used to it pretty quickly. Would wear again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2016
Beautiful dress - very form fitting but hid problem areas.
Great dress, but it was a little long and I kept stepping on the bottom of it. On the other hand, I did not have to keep pulling it up - always a plus with a strapless!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Weight: 145lbs
February 28, 2016
NYC black tie wedding and I felt beautiful.
Loved it! Wore it to a black tie wedding in Manhattan. I'm 5'9' and 145 lbs. and the size 10 fit perfectly. All the rusching is very flattering and forgiving. Hopefully I get the chance to rent it again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
February 26, 2016
I was so comfortable and happy in this dress. I felt beautiful without being constricted.
This dress was perfect. It came as a backup when my original pick didn't show up because of bad weather. RTR customer service is amazing. Call them if you have any issues. The dress was comfortable and fit snugly in all the right places. It was the perfect length with my 3 inch heels. My original dress came through a few days after the event, and I found that the backup I wore was much more flattering and comfortable than my original pick. This is a great simple, black dress that you can dress up any way you choose.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
February 21, 2016
Showstopper
Classic gown with great fit. Well-constructed, nicely tailored. If I had to own one gown this would be it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 116lbs
February 9, 2016
Perfect for a black tie event!
Just like so many have commented, every aspect of the dress fit beautifully! I wore 1" heels, and no one accidentally stepped on my dress at any point in the night (a common problem for me at 5'3")! The only negative aspect is that the bust seemed somewhat stretched out/ever so slightly loose (another common problem for me), and I did spend a small portion of the night ensuring the dress was pulled over my strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 7, 2016
Beautiful elegant gown
I rented both the 6R &4R, wore the 4R because the fit was better, but snug. Worth it for this glamorous evening! Minimal effort to keep the dress 'up', could dance as well. Gorgeous dress, lots of comments. Necklace was rented and it was stunning with the dress. Picture perfect combo. This was a high end Gala event, and this dress rocked the night. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 5, 2016
The dress was beautiful, I got a lot of compliments!
The only downside was that it was too big in the bust area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 1, 2016
I turned heads all night!
My husband took me to the symphony to celebrate my 40th. I normally wear a small/medium top and 4/6 in pants, but I knew when it comes to formal wear I always need to order larger to get the dressed zipped over my ribcage--the 8L fit perfectly across the bust, was comfortable to sit in, and was pretty easy to walk in (it does shorten your gate.) I'm 5'8", wore 3-inch heels, and the dress skimmed the ground perfectly. I wore a black shaper underneath, but really with this sort of fabric/design, it's very forgiving and a shaper is not a must; however, it must be work with a strapless bra. I received compliments all night and truly felt stunning in this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 31, 2016
Loved this dress, so many compliments
Only thing is the dress arrived a little torn inside but we made it work
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
January 30, 2016
Amazing dress
Love this dress. Will rent in the future. Easy to wear and easy to get into. I wore no bra. I got lots of compliments. Very flattering style.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 19, 2016
A feminine dress that stayed put!
The fabric was very nice for this dress. I thought it wouldn't be. This dress was a little short but still do-able. I would suggest getting the Long if you are a bit tall, but I still rocked it with no difficulty, even with heels. Pros - very form fitting and flattering. It doesn't fall down Cons - First, the zipper is so difficult! Second the band shows. I tried this dress in the 8 and the 10 and the rubber band around the top to keep the dress in place was completely showing on the 10, so I chose to wear the 8. You can still sort of see it in the 8, too. I think this is just a feature of this dress. The 8 and the 10 felt just about the same size, the only difference was a bit of looseness in the bust by that band. Also some plastic sharpness was poking me all night. I believe it was also around the band, very uncomfortable and also embarrassing to have to keep adjusting so it doesn't poke as much. Finally, the dress was a bit short. Even though I had a number of complaints I would still consider the dress an overall success.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
January 18, 2016
I was super excited about my first RTR! It was super easy to use. I had so many compliments!
Only con was that the back-up dress was incorrect (size, type). However since the one I ordered was perfect, it was not a big deal. Only minor issue was that there were some loose strings at the bottom of the dress and they caught on my shoe.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
January 12, 2016
Loved it!
It fit great!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2016
The silhouette that this dress provides is stunning. Very classic and elegant.
I wore this dress to a formal Christmas Party for work. I ordered the 4R with the 6R as the backup dress but ended up wearing it instead of the 4R (my normal size) because it seemed as if someone that was larger than a size 4R had severely stretched out the midsection and ruined the pleating on the dress. The 4R fit me perfectly but due to the midsection issues, it looked weird and I decided to go with the backup dress instead. Since the 6R was a little loose around the top and the hook closure on the inside of the dress was broken, I wore a non-padded strapless bra to make sure things stayed in place and it worked out very well. For reference, I'm 5'3" 135LBS with about 24% body fat and I'm a 34D.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
January 1, 2016
Beautiful dress! NYE wedding :)
I'm 5'7" & 120 lb the dress fit great: mermaid fit makes it a little hard to dance in bc it's snug from your hips down but I made that work!! Would have preferred the long but had to order the regular bc no longs were available when I placed my order. The dress hit the floor (barely) and I had to wear flats, heels would've made it way too short for me. Other than that it's really pretty, good quality & I received a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
December 21, 2015
This dress is amazing! Got a ton of complimentsM
Fit like a glove!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
December 16, 2015
Wow, this is absolutely amazing if you have somewhere formal enough to wear it. Very flattering!
I loved how it fit the whole way through. It hides any of the unwanted details of your tummy and stays up without always having to pull it up.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 150lbs
December 14, 2015
Beautiful dress, plenty of compliments all night
I loved the dress, got plenty of compliments, however I read all the reviews and ended up changing my back up size from a 6 to a 10 as people said they had problems with the hips being tight. I didn't have that problem with the 8L and wished I would have kept the 6L as my back up size because the 8L was a little loose especially in the top. The top was very large on my and I felt like I had to be constantly pulling it up throughout the evening. If you have a chest this might not be a problem for you! The long length was the way to go. I am 5'7 and wore 3.5 inch heals, The dress was the perfect length that way. I did have to walk up stairs once not ideal in this dress- hitched it up the second time after I made sure no one was looking!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 13, 2015
Gorgeous gown. I got so many complements. It fits your body perfectly and has a nice flare.
I normally wear a 6 I had to wear the 8 because of the bust. Bust runs a little small. There was some extra fabric in the belly area as a result. But nothing too noticeable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
December 6, 2015
Loved the dress!
Beautiful dress, fit perfectly. Many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 6, 2015
Stunning and very well made.
I'm in love with this dress. I had a baby 6 months ago and my body hasn't quite recovered. This dress did a beautiful job of hiding my less than lovely lady lumps, and gave me back some of that old confidence. I received many compliments and was told by a very drunk woman that I looked "hot". The dress is very well made. It was super tight on me and I was terrified that it would rip, but that sucker held together. It's tight in the knee area so if you have to navigate stairs I recommend finding another dress. Luckily, there was an elevator that saved me from a catastrophe. If you want the dress to be almost corset like, get the size you normally are, but be sure to have a strong pair of hands to help you zip it. Otherwise, size up ladies. For jewelry, I rented the Kate Spade Steal the Spotlight necklace (only $15). It was a beautiful statement piece that really jazzed this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
December 5, 2015
This dress was beautiful and I got a ton of compliments.
It fit great & was comfortable. I'm a B/C cup but it was a little big on top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 24, 2015
Came early with easy instructions on how to send it back!
Loved this dress!! Wish I could own it !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
November 21, 2015
An interesting but not complicated dress. It was flattering, elegant, and sophisticated.
It hugs in all the right places. I carry more of my curves on the bottom half, so between the train and the fact that the waist comes in substantially made me look more proportional. The only drawback is that it stays tailored all the way through, so if you walk with a bigger stride, you may feel like you're shuffling just a little bit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
November 19, 2015
This dress was stunning, I received a ton of compliments and enjoyed every minute in it.
Was a little snug compared to the other size 6 I rented but felt good otherwise
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 18, 2015
I LOVED this dress and got so many compliments on it! Will definitely be using rent the runway again
Fit was true to size, fit like a glove. I am about 5 2" so wore like 3 inch heels for the length.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
November 18, 2015
Rental was seamless. Process so easy. Will probably never buy a dress again.
The length was my biggest worry but was perfect. Dress fit well and was comfortable. Difficulty going up and down stairs due to the "mermaid" style. A beautiful dress-perfect for Casablanca themed gala.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
November 17, 2015
I got A LOT of compliments on this dress!
This dress was long enough for me! That is always an issue for me in long dresses. I always have the dress that comes about one two inches above the ground.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
November 17, 2015
Perfect for a black-tie wedding
The fit was perfect! This dress definitely runs true to size. I received so many compliments and felt like a queen. This dress is a slam-dunk!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Weight: 145lbs
November 16, 2015
The dress was lovely
The dress was lovely, fit was great.. The edges were worn out slightly, dress may need to be refurbished .
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
November 12, 2015
First rental and will do it again! Easy prey chess and return!
Dress fit like a glove. An inch too long but it still worked with 4 inch heals. Wore it to a black tie wedding and received so many compliments. Easy to sit, walk and dance in!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
November 10, 2015
Great night with great people and I felt like a princess!
Dress fit perfect, I am normally a size 6 but ended up wearing the 8. The 6 was tight in the bust and I am only a 34C. The dress is very flattering, I had a baby about 10 months ago and it hid in all the right places. I ended up ordering the 6L/8L based off other reviews and it was too long. My heels got stuck in it all night. I should have gone with the regular length. I did get a ton of compliments on this dress and felt wonderful in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 10, 2015
My favorite dress I have ever rented. This is the second time I have rented this dress!
Fits true to size. Doesn't have too much stretch but hugs your body in such a flattering way! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
November 9, 2015
Beautiful & elegant gown!
I wore this classic gown to a black tie charity event. The cut and the details were very flattering. It fit well, but does run a little on the larger size. I have a five month old baby and I expected to be in the size 8 (I was 5'6" and 134 pounds at this time of this event). Thank goodness I took advantage of the free backup option! The size 6 fit beautifully even though it was a little bit loose. A size 4 would have been perfect! The dress is lined, very high quality and offers a forgiving cut.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 9, 2015
Being able to get my makeup done and wear this dress!
Dress fit like a glove! Little hard to maneuver but was absolutely gorgeous and would highly recommend! I wore this dress for a Gala and received so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
November 8, 2015
I am in LOVE with RTR!!! It's always SO exciting to have my items delivered!
This dress is timeless and glamorous. The fit was perfect and the dress compliments and creates curves where needed and the wrapping style is very forgiving.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×