Madame Damask Dress

$85 rental
$598 retail
Stylist Notes

This ML Monique Lhuillier damask patterned dress will have people turning heads all night long. The hi low hem calls for a pair of fab shoes!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue Silk Taffeta (100% Silk). Strapless. Straight neckline with boned bodice. Full skirt with asymmetrical hem. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
348 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(209)
Small
(58)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2016
Should've ordered the regular length
I like this dress, and may order it again in a different size and length. I chose not to wear it because it was a little too snug. I was singing at this event, so the ability to breathe is key. I thought the dress was a little too awkwardly long. I'm 5'8" and I'm all about high heels so I ordered the long, but it hit at kind of an awkward place on my legs. I also wish there was a little more support in the bust. It made me seem a little flat.
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
June 15, 2016
Lovely!
Loved this dress for a Black Tie Wedding- tons of compliments! Im not entirely sure how to rate fitting as Im 8 weeks postpartum. Compared to more casual dresses Ive worn post baby I had to go one size up. It was very forgiving in the belly area and fit my chest great - I didn't have to wear a bra which was fab since I dont have a strapless bra that fits currently! Also it has pockets! Great dress for a formal event or black tie wedding!
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
June 19, 2016
The dress fit perfectly especially for a shorter person!
The dress fit well and I felt beautiful in it. Being 5'1" I often struggle finding a dress that doesn't need shortening. Although this dress is midi length on taller women this dress was perfect floor length on me! The front hit right at my ankles showing off my shoes and left a small train behind me. The dress also had pockets which is always a win in formalwear. The only negative I can say is the boning was in both the front and back and the back boning dug into me a little bit. The zipper was also a bit difficult where the upper and lower sections of the dress came together. I would definitely recommend the dress especially if you are short and looking for a formal gown!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 15, 2016
First Rental And It Was A Winner!!
I rented this for my 25 th birthday party and it rocked. The detailing was just right, wasn't a dramatic hi low effect which I was glad about. I'm on the taller side and with heels it was just at the floor might be a tiny bit long if you don't wear heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 11, 2016
So elegant with an edgy vibe!
I really liked my rental of this dress. I was 14 weeks pregnant and had no problems with my little bump fitting in the dress. I would not recommend this for larger chested girls though. I'm well endowed to begin with (36D), but with the swelling due to pregnancy, the dress was almost too tight up top. I didn't clasp the inside corset because it would've been uncomfortable. If I were to rent it again I would go one more size up (I wore the 10). The dress never fell down though (ha)!! The pockets were great for storing my phone, lipstick, a room key, and some cash! I also loved that the bottom front was short and showcased my shoes. Perfect for shoe lovers!! The material is thick but not too hot (I wore this in September) and it felt very expensive. I eventually changed into flats and the dress did drag the floor in the back just a little (I'm 5'7). I would recommend renting this dress. It's beautiful and fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2016
Perfect dress!!
This dress has POCKETS!!!!!! This dress was amazing!! The fit was great without a bra. The bones helped keep it up. It helps hide a belly if you have one without wearing spanx.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
October 7, 2016
Perfect dramatic look
I wore this to the ballet. As other reviewers noted, the boning does dig into your hips, but otherwise it was pretty comfortable. The zippers on both sizes got a bit stuck where the bodice met the skirt, but it worked with a little help. The boning was SERIOUS--probably the first time I didn't have to wear a bra. I got compliments all night and loved twirling in this dress. The skirt is dramatic and moves beautifully. Highly recommend and would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
October 23, 2016
Classy and Comfortable
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding. It was easy to move and dance in and was super comfortable. My only complaint is the boning was sticking out under my arm and irritated my skin. I received many compliments and wish I had another event to wear it to.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 24, 2016
Pockets!!!
Loved the dress and it fit perfectly. I did have some trouble with getting the zipper up all the way as it would get stuck in one specific spot.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 26, 2016
The dress was pretty!
The dress was pretty and runs true to its size. I got this dress but didn't end up wearing it to the wedding as I liked the other dress I got better. The fabric was soft and comfortable. Overall a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2016
Winter wedding perfection
This dress was just everything. Fancy, beautiful and heavy for a winter wedding, but light enough that it didn't just fall off. The pockets are always perfect, especially to keep the red lip going strong :) if you are smaller chested like me, I would definitely recommend some extra help in the top with this dress. I found myself pulling it up around there a lot but it was worth it. I felt so beautiful and received compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
December 20, 2016
Beautiful dress with pockets!
Fit great! Held my boobs up! Loved the pockets. Felt like a princess all night and got hella compliments. Definitely needed help zipping up the back but it's all good.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
January 14, 2017
Lovely and effortless
This gown was delightful to wear. I toned it down a bit with soft hair, nude heels and statement earrings as it was a transitional wedding (late afternoon to evening). I received many compliments and loved the subtle gold undertones. Lovely for an autumn black tie event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 22, 2017
Cinderella Dress!
The dress fit perfect and was beautiful. I was able to get the hem to fall out by pressing both the hemline and the skirt. Loved the fit. It is long but worked well for my height 5'8.5" so consider that when you order. I wore 4 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
February 17, 2017
Perfect dress!
This dress is comfortable and true to size. It was perfect for a black tie wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 225lbs
April 9, 2017
RTR's Customer Service ROCKS
I had Fit problems with my dress. RTR customer service was quick to help with an overnight shipment of a new dress in a similar style. This dress was GORGEOUS. Well made and super luxurious. That said, I was unable to wear it. Upon trying it on, the zipper got STUCK. As in I couldn't get out of the garment stuck. My husband had to strip the zipper to get me out of the dress. It was horrible. I called RTR and they assured me I would not be charged for the damaged garment. Upon return of the dress, I received a credit for a future rental. The customer service and the quality of their products keeps me coming back to RTR over and over.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2017
Beautiful dress, kind of tight
I wore this dress for a military ball in May. It was a great dress, but bluer than I expected from the pictures (my best friend noticed the color on my phone but I was pretty blind to it). Pros: As far as any slippage concerns: this was by far the BEST strapless dress my 34C boobs have had the pleasure of experiencing! Not once did I fear that the girls were going to make an appearance and I didn't have to spend all day pulling at my dress either. At 5 feet even, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that my dress wasn't too long for me with ~4 inch heels; instead of being your typical hi-low it looked like a pretty basic floor length gown with a slight peep toe. Another win: pockets! The were great, I was able to carry my wallet, phone, and a couple of pad discretely (and I bet I could've smuggled my lipgloss along if I'd remembered to bring it). Cons: The zipper kept getting stuck midway on my 2R, even when I wasn't in it (it was much easier on my back up dress which I didn't wear because it was waaay too small) and thusly required my fiancée and his army strong grip to zip ;). I ended up wearing the dress with a shawl because I felt like an overflowing sausage (this may or may not have had something to do with my monthly, but I'm really not sure because I wore a dress in the same size by the same designer in March, also during my period). I would definitely recommend sizing up for your backup dress if you decide to go for it. Lastly, please join me in pressuring RTR for exact measurements for nonplussized ladies. It's kind of hard to figure out your size when you can't try on the dress and you can't rely on your measurements to figure it out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 4, 2017
Flawless.
Perfect dress for anything, always, everywhere.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
July 26, 2017
Lovely
This dress was beautiful. If you have a large bust I recommend sizing up. I typically wear a 12 but because of the boning in the dress I had to wear the 14. I also had to use two packages of hem tape and wear four inch heels so if you are under 5'6 I highly recommend getting hem tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
August 11, 2017
Pretty!
Gorgeous fabric! It was a little small for my rib cage, but the length was perfect.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 163lbs
October 10, 2017
Nice, but not quite what it seems
This dress is pretty, but I feel the photos didn't show it in it's true form. The skirt is quite poofy, so I don't recommend it for big bottoms (such as myself, it just made everything seem much bigger). The top is tight and difficult to get into- I'm not a very busty person and I felt smushed. The color seemed like navy & dark green-ish, its more royal blue and black. I didn't end up wearing this dress, I wore my back up instead. Not for me.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
October 10, 2017
LOVE this dress!!
This dress was perfect! Would rent again. I got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 34C
November 2, 2017
Gorgeous dress
This was my first RTR experience and I absolutely loved it. I wore this dress to an October wedding. The dress was beautiful and I got so many compliments. It has pockets so kept my lipstick and phone on me all night. I ended up getting the long because of my height and I wanted to wear taller heels but I think the torso was too long because the bones of the dress were poking me the whole night. I think if I had ordered the regular it would have been a perfect fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
November 6, 2017
Perfect fit!!!
#perfect guest dress#pockets!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143lbs
December 6, 2017
beautiful and comfy!
awesome fit, and showed off all of the good curves and hid all the bad ones, fit even after the wine, and was fun and easy to dance in! had pockets which made it so i didnt have to carry a clutch all evening with everything in it. fit true to size, but would suggest ordering a size larger as backup just in case.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 27, 2013
So much fun for a black tie wedding.
I got so many compliments. I always wear long black dresses to black tie and this was different but still formal. There is tulle underneath the skirt and it's pretty puffy - I would size down. The long was the perfect length for me.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2014
Beautiful fabric and loved the pockets!
Beautiful dress, loved it! It's definitely longer than it looks. I got the 6L and the 8L because I'm 5'7" and closer to 6ft with heels, but it would have been fine with the regular length. I would have liked to wear the 6 but the zipper was broken and I couldn't zip it up when I tried it on. I was able to wear the 8 just fine, but it wasn't as snug around the bust and I kept having to pull it up all night. My suggestion for other renters, get a regular length and your normal dress size.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 14, 2014
Too large
I rented this dress and another one for a formal wedding. I ended up wearing the other dress. This dress was way too large in the bust. Otherwise, I thought the dress fit well. The fabric had a nice weight, which would have been great to keep me warm during a winter wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 14, 2014
Winter. Wedding. WOW.
I wore this to a friends winter wedding, and it could not have fit more perfectly. The pattern on the dress lends itself to being worn during the "cozy" months, and it was a very heavy dress, so I was definitely warm. The mini train this dress has made it all the more elegant, and I absolutely LOVED the deep pockets for my camera and lip balm! My only complaint is that it would come down from time to time, and I even went from the 4 to the 2! I didn't completely love that the zipper got stuck and I couldn't put it on just by myself...but other than those minor two glitches, it was awesome. On top of all of this...the dress matched my new RING perfectly (we got engaged a couple days before this wedding happened)!!! <3
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
February 20, 2014
Had high hopes; it didn't work out
I loved this dress online. In person the fabric is beautiful; it looks more black with blue detailing rather than navy. Its heavier fabric with a rather flimsy zipper. I thought it might break. Overall I didn't end up wearing it because it was way to big in the chest (which was strange as I'm a 32D) and a bit loose around my rib cage. It also made my hips look huge because of all the extra fabric and the pockets (even though I do love me some pockets). Make sure your back-up size is a size down and go with the regular instead of long if you're under 5'8". Sadly not a winner.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
March 12, 2014
I didn't end up wearing it- and saw it on someone else at the event
So... I am 5'9, and usually a 4, but the occasional 2 fits better and sometimes I need a 6. I decided to go with the 4 L, and it was VERY long. If you want it more midi, and you're tall, go for the regular not the long. Also, the bust was too big, so it kept slipping- I should have gone with the 2R. HOWEVER, the biggest reason I didn't wear this to the event (a very formal black-tie wedding) is that the dress was SO poofy. I felt like Cinderella's step sister (seriously). I was going for a modern, fashion-y, classy look, and I ended up feeling cartoonish. Also- there were 2 people at the wedding with this dress on, so I'm glad I didn't wear it.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
October 15, 2014
Everyone loved the dress and I really loved the pattern.
I am a very petite person and usually some size 0's don't always work for me. This dress was a little bit big in the waist and top. I saw that there were spots for straps to be added for this dress. I didn't have any black straps or else I would have used them. It would have been nice if RTR had sent them with the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 23, 2014
Formal wedding in October
I got this as a back up for a formal wedding in October but didn't end up wearing it. The 8 was really big. (I'm usually a 6 but based on the reviews I thought I needed to size up.) The cut of the dress at the waist also made it really unflattering. The fabric was gorgeous though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
March 31, 2015
So comfy!
Not form fitting, but comfortable. Length was perfect (5'6'' and I ordered the long).
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
September 30, 2015
Great dress! Really didn't want to return it.
This was actually a backup dress that I had shipped to me in an utter panic. But I'm happy I actually was able to wear this one versus my first choice. I'm usually an 8/10 in terms of dress size and 5'7 without heels. This dress was a 10L so I was a little nervous it might be to long/slightly large. I'm also more of an hourglass shape (34/36C…I don't know, it's been awhile since I was formally sized, ha!), so I carry my weight in my hips and shoulder/arms. With that said the 10 was a tiny bit to loose in the bust region (definitely had to hike it up a few times that night). Others have said they didn't have to wear a bra but if I hadn't worn one the dress would have been slipping (more than it was) the entire night. I'll also say that it kind of diminished my bust more than I'd like, but for a formal event I suppose that's okay. Overall though, I loved it! I wore it to a symphony gala event and definitely fit right in. The dress has pockets even which was totally a bonus! As some others have said, it is a heavier material so I'd recommend this for cooler weather. In terms of length it was the perfect length for me at 5'7 with 3 inch heels. Again this was the 10L so if it was a Regular, you might have been able to see my shoes a little better. (Which would have been totally fine….they are super cute!) I had a great experience overall and would recommend giving yourself two extra days before your event to have your shipment arrive, in case something happens…like the dress doesn't fit or you get the wrong by mistake. (Which happened to me) But the customer service reps were SUPER helpful. Just know you'll be waiting on the phone for a while, but that's because they are taking their time with each customer to navigate issues that arise. But in a nutshell: LOVED THE DRESS and will be renting the runway again should I need something more formal again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 28, 2015
BEAUTIFUL, perfect for a black-tie event
I wore this to an outdoor, evening black-tie wedding and I received many, many compliments on the dress. The fabric is heavier, so it falls nicely. And, it has pockets! I'm very glad I read the reviews and got my back-up size as the smaller one. For the busty gals out there, I'm sure their regular size would work great. However, I am not one who is well endowed! The smaller size fit like a glove. Tight enough to stay put without the need for a bra (even while dancing!) but not so tight that one gets the underarm cleavage! The length was perfect. I am 5'7" and wore 3.5" heels and it looked like the dress was tailored just for me. The high-low cut is minimal, so it doesn't look too trendy or dramatic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 21, 2015
Perfect dress for a formal affair - especially when it's cold!
This dress was so much fun. I got lots of compliments all night. It is classic, beautiful, and comfortable. The material is thick, so it is best to wear when it's colder outside. Huge plus - it has pockets, so you don't have to keep up with a clutch all night. The blue is richer than it appears in pictures. It does run a bit large, which is why I am glad I rented the 0 (I'm normally a 2). Size 0L was the only size left, so after reading other reviews I risked ordering the smaller and longer size. the back touched the ground with my 3 1/2 inch heels. I recommend renting this dress if you size down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 33
January 7, 2016
I wore this dress to the ballet. A bit over-dressed? maybe, but I felt great in this dress!
I ended up wearing my back-up dress which was actually the smaller size, so I would say thats a plus. I got the long as suggested, and it was definitely longer than I had anticipated. The only other thing I have to say was, pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 27, 2014
Dress looks a little frumpy on a larger bust!
If you have a larger bust, I would say this dress isn't quite meant for us girls! The dress fit the bust fine, but ultimately looks a little frumpy and is not tight enough in the waist/rib cage area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
July 11, 2014
I love the dress but i couldn't wear it to my event. It was too big.
I am short so the dress was pretty long, which i didn't mind. The bust area was too big.
See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×