Madame Damask Dress

$85 – $100 rental?
$598 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

This ML Monique Lhuillier damask patterned dress will have people turning heads all night long. The hi low hem calls for a pair of fab shoes!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue Silk Taffeta (100% Silk). Strapless. Straight neckline with boned bodice. Full skirt with asymmetrical hem. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
323 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(197)
Small
(55)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
February 28, 2016
Amazing formal dress with great look, fabric and pockets make it stand out on top
I rented this for our annual area Heart Gala fundraiser. It was the perfect formal dress and I felt so good and comfortable in this dress and got so many compliments. The thick material was perfect for winter and the color was gorgeous! The pockets make this dress so much fun too! I also rented the Ella Carter Ashley necklace which added the perfect touch to the outfit. I rented both the size 2 and size 4 after reading the reviews. I normally would wear a size 4, but having a smaller chest and upper body the size 4 was huge in the top and I ended up downsizing to the 2 which fit perfectly. The dress is a bit long in the back if you are a shorter person, even with heels so I just needed to be cautious when I was walking sometimes. Overall I loved this dress and the fit and style was amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
February 28, 2016
the dress was beautiful. pictures do not do it justice.
The dress is really heavy, so maybe not the best option if it's going to be warm where you're wearing it, luckily I wore it to an outdoor wedding in January so it was perfect. The dress runs really small, usually I'm a size 2-4. I couldn't even get the 2 on and the 4 only zipped up after some hard work by me and my mother. So either I've gained a lot of weight recently or maybe order a size up in this dress. The bodice of the dress i think actually bruised my ribs. I was sore for a few days after wearing it. Also, this particular dress had a wire from the bodice sticking out on the side and was going to impale me, but i got some pliers and tried to manipulate it back into the fabric. But despite all of that I really enjoyed wearing this gown. I felt so fancy and glamorous. I was getting compliments all night long. And the best part is it has POCKETS! <3
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
February 25, 2016
This dress is gorgeous I loved it I received so many compliments.
Runs small I ordered a 2R and 4R and the 4R fit better on my 5 - 2' about 118 lbs. Once I put the 4 on it was perfect fit and length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2016
Loved this dress! It ended up being warmer then expected for feb so the fabric was a bit heavy
Length was perfect for my height with the hi/lo hemline
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 12, 2016
Tiny bust.
I wasn't able to wear this dress. It was very pretty and well made, but unfortunately the bust was very small. I got the size 14 and it would not even come close to zipping over my D bust. If you have a smaller bust line this dress could be perfect, but if you are above a C I would not even try.
RTR CustomerFebruary 18, 2016
Same for me too! Loved the dress but am a 38C on top and it wouldn&#39;t even come close.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
February 2, 2016
Makes you feel glamorous
Fit like a glove and looked amazing! Would have given 5/5 if not for the protruding underwire in the waist area. It gave me a great line but nearly drew blood. Pain is beauty!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
February 1, 2016
This dress is beautiful, it was just as beautiful as the pictures on this site! Fabric is superb!
This dress was rented for my brother's wedding. The ceremony was outside and the reception was inside. The event itself was not particularly formal but I cannot help myself sometimes. If you are into dressing up a bit and love a classic glamorous look this dress is perfect for you. Body Type: Before you read my pros and cons of this dress I must first share my body type with you. I have an athletic body type that comes off as busty and curvy. But my body tends to bloat often because of the built up lactic acid in my muscles. But I have a large frame and I'm very busty. I seem proportional at first glance but my hips are a bit tight from my leg workouts and I have thick thighs. So the dress I was looking for needed to give a bit more on my upper body and accentuate the smallest part of my body which was underneath my breast. Negatives: I'm going to start with the negatives just because I think it's important to read about them first before anything. I rented the size I normally wear and a size smaller because I lost some weight before the wedding. I normally wear a size 8R, and this is considering my bust size, but I loose bust size when I loose weight and ALMOST fit into the size 6R. Only two inches of the zipper left. ha So I put on the 8R expecting a perfect fit and it fit the same way the 6R did. :/ So I assumed the the dresses were mislabeled. Not sure if this happened to anyone else. So as you can see in my photo's I added a shall to cover the zipper situation and otherwise it fit well. I also spent a lot of the night dancing in the dress in this condition. Positives: I received compliments the whole night. I was also very comfortable considering the dress did not fully fit. I would easily rent from rent the runway a second time because I strongly feel the quality of the dresses was as advertised, also it was very easy to ship back when I was all finished with it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
January 31, 2016
Beautiful material that draped well
RTR sent me this dress - after I found out my first dress choice was too big. And I chose to wear the 4L because the 2L although it looked a little better on, it felt a bit too snug. I wore two inch heels - both the 2L and 4L were a bit too long but I managed just fine. The dress is beautiful and it received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 27, 2016
Helpful return
Kind of an unflattering length unless you wear 4" heels
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2016
Everyone asked me about the dress - totally unforgettable!
Worn for an outdoor wedding in Utah in September - definitely kept me warm, the pockets were a plus, and the asymmetrical hemline was a hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
January 18, 2016
i did not wear this dress
The fit was true to size, I did not end up wearing this dress as the hem was very stiff along the bottom and through dry cleaning and wear it did not lay right, it ended up giving the bottom more of a ruffled look which I did not care for otherwise the material was thick and of obvious quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
January 18, 2016
I loved this dress! Totally made the night.
Not only did it fit beautifully, but it was ridiculously comfortably, and who doesn't love having pockets? Despite dancing all night, I didn't worry once about it falling down. Received lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
January 15, 2016
Not a "typical" style of dress, very comfortable, loved the pockets and so many compliments.
The 10R wouldve fit me the best, bust wise, but the zipper had a tear in it, and I didn't want to risk breaking it completely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
January 8, 2016
Great dress.
Perfect fit.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
January 8, 2016
I wore this to a senior prom and it was perfect! I really liked how classy and unique it was.
I loved this dress!! It broke my heart to send it back. It was very different from most of the other prom dresses and I loved how elegant it was! This dress is designed to have a hi-low style, but I am so short that you really couldn't see it. That was totally fine with me, just keep that in mind! I wore 4 inch heels but the dress would still drag a little on the ground in the back. I did not have to worry about the dress falling down at all during the night, it stayed up really well and that was fantastic! And there are pockets!! It is a little hard to see in the picture they have for this dress, but the dress is a beautiful deep navy color with the black design on it. When I ordered it, I thought there would be more of the black color but I was pleasantly surprised with the blue!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 32
January 7, 2016
I wore this dress to the ballet. A bit over-dressed? maybe, but I felt great in this dress!
I ended up wearing my back-up dress which was actually the smaller size, so I would say thats a plus. I got the long as suggested, and it was definitely longer than I had anticipated. The only other thing I have to say was, pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 4, 2016
Great dress for a fancy event!
I would say it fit true to size. I'm usually between a 2 and a 4 in dresses since I have a small bust. The 4 fit but was slightly big and the extra fabric made me look bulky in the hips. I squeezed into the two but couldn't take deep breaths :) It was much more flattering on me and it stayed up all night with no bra on. The pockets are a nice addition. Length was good on me, I'm 5'7'' and wore 3 inch heels. I got lots of compliments and would def rent again.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
January 3, 2016
This dress is awesome!
I ordered this dress because of the high-Lo style. I'm very petite so I wanted something that I knew wouldn't be too long. The length hit above my ankles enough to show my shoes (I wore 3.5" heels) and give me a short train in the back. The dress has a ribbed corset sewn into it that hooks in the back and the zipper closes over it. I normally wear 00/0P in dresses and this one fit too snug with a normal bra but didn't offer enough support to go without. I almost wore the 2R but found a thin enough strapless bra day of the event to wear the 0. Both sizes had obvious repairs done to the bottom hem but they didn't affect the appearance. Overall, it was great. Heavy fabric perfect for cooler weather and the dress has pockets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
January 3, 2016
Very pretty, formal dress. I wore this dress for a Winter Wedding and felt beautiful & comfy.
I'm 5'5'' and my heel would get caught in the seam in the back which was slightly annoying. Otherwise, the dress fit very well and very comfortably. The top, which was my main concern, fit well. There was some adjusting here and there throughout the night but this is as suspected. I recommend this dress for winter formal events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 21, 2015
Perfect dress for a formal affair - especially when it's cold!
This dress was so much fun. I got lots of compliments all night. It is classic, beautiful, and comfortable. The material is thick, so it is best to wear when it's colder outside. Huge plus - it has pockets, so you don't have to keep up with a clutch all night. The blue is richer than it appears in pictures. It does run a bit large, which is why I am glad I rented the 0 (I'm normally a 2). Size 0L was the only size left, so after reading other reviews I risked ordering the smaller and longer size. the back touched the ground with my 3 1/2 inch heels. I recommend renting this dress if you size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
December 16, 2015
Loved it!
This dress was so fun! I wore it to a formal wedding & it was so comfortable and great for dancing. I received a ton of compliments. It was a little big on the chest, so I had to keep pulling it up, but the boning was tight so I couldn't have worn a smaller size. I wore the regular length and it was perfect, could have even been slightly shorter. I loved the detail with the high/low hem that showed off my shoes. And the fabric was so pretty. Plus, it has pockets! Perfect for my phone and lipstick. This was a great dress, so unique and fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 15, 2015
It is a beautiful dress that brings a new twist on a very classic style.
Love the high low around the hem, definitely need a good set of heels to wear this dress. Great open neck line. Did have to attack the hem with an iron because it came all crinkled and ruffled, which is not ideal, but easy to fix.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
December 14, 2015
Loved it!
Great fabric, perfect for a winter wedding. The zipper sticks in the back so have someone help you out it on. Received lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2015
Wore for a black tie optional wedding.
Received a ton of compliments! Only minor complaint is that it was a little long in the back... wish they had a petite option.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 53
December 7, 2015
The reception was full of laughing, drinks and dancing and this dress was perfect for all that!
It fit great and the pockets rocked! The only con was that the stays in the bodice kept poking me in my ribs. I alerted RTR and they will take care of it for the next person. Would highly recommend this style.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 1, 2015
Super cute! Just wish it fit :(
This dress is so cute on! The pockets are really helpful and hidden and the color is really beautiful. I didn't have many options so I could only get a size 8R. Unfortunately, it run a bit small. There is NO stretch or give in the chest and was near impossible to get zipped up. So, even though I'm a size 6 and usually need an 8 in these dresses, I could have used a 10R! Big jump but I have 36D and need the room. Sadly, I changed after the ceremony because I was so uncomfortable. Make sure you get room for your chest if your a bigger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
November 29, 2015
AMAZING DRESS! SO CLASSY!
I have rented several dresses with rent the runway, and this one was probably my favorite. It fit like a glove, and me feel like a movie star. For each order I usually rent a 4L and a 6L, and have always fit into the 4L without a problem. This dress was no different. I was pumped when i remembered the dress had pockets halfway through the night, and that made posing for pictures even more classy :)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
November 29, 2015
I felt beautiful!
The dress was beautiful, however, the bottom of the corset underneath had wires poking out that were very uncomfortable. I covered them with band aids which worked just fine. Overall, I loved the look of the dress and it stayed up all night even without straps. Beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 28, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable for a long night!
I'm 5'9" and wore 4 inch heels and the 6L just barely brushed the floor. The fabric is heavier and worked perfectly for my winter event. The pockets were absolutely amazing and eliminated the need for a clutch. In the picture on the website the gown looks to have gold or dark green accents, but in person it's dark blue with black.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
November 25, 2015
Beautiful dress that made me feel beautiful in it.
The dress was beautiful. I ordered both the 10 and 12. The 10 was a little tight around the chest so I went with the 12. It was easy to move and dance in and I loved the pockets.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
November 21, 2015
It's even prettier in person than online! The hemline is especially great for petite girls.
The fit was a little small in the ribcage area, and the thickness of the fabric makes zipping a little tricky. If you have help, though, you're fine! I wore this to a fundraising ball and felt so pretty. The fabric had a great weight and movement while still being comfortable. I felt so pretty all night! I especially loved that I didn't feel like I was tripping over it all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
November 16, 2015
Fabulous dress for a black tie wedding!
Fell in LOVE with this dress! Great fit, made my waist look tiny and I felt like a princess with the cut of the pleats and the high low hem. The pockets were a great touch and I got compliments all night! Heavy fabric which was perfect for a fall/winter wedding. I am a true hourglass shape and it fit very true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 8, 2015
Beautiful!
This dress is gorgeous! I ended up choosing a different dress to wear for the evening but only because it was warm out and the dress is fairly heavy. I can generally wear a size 4 with no issues with fit but I definitely would not have been able to wear a bra with this dress (34ddd). Luckily, the dress was tight and supportive enough that it wouldn't have been an issue.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 8, 2015
I wore this dress for a friend's black tie wedding and received compliments all night long!
I am pretty consistently a size 4 and this dress definitely ran true to size. I did not have to wear a bra with it either which was nice :-). The bottom of the dress required a gentle steam but not a big deal at all. The fabric and color is perfect for a fall and/or winter formal event. The pockets make the dress fun! I absolutely loved wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
November 5, 2015
Perfect gown for a black tie wedding.
I absolutely loved wearing this dress. The fit was perfect and runs true to size. It has a bit of a train in the back and cuts a little high in the front which gives the dress beautiful movement. It was so comfortable to wear all night and really fun to dance in. The pockets are an incredible bonus.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
October 31, 2015
Awesome dress
Very comfortable..kind of dress you don't have to think twice about once it's on. Pockets are a great addition! Get someone to help with the zipper
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 28, 2015
Perfect dress for a fall wedding!
Loved this dress, it fit perfectly and was comfortable enough to dance in all night. Got lots of compliments! Especially loved the pockets, perfect for a fall wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 28, 2015
BEAUTIFUL, perfect for a black-tie event
I wore this to an outdoor, evening black-tie wedding and I received many, many compliments on the dress. The fabric is heavier, so it falls nicely. And, it has pockets! I'm very glad I read the reviews and got my back-up size as the smaller one. For the busty gals out there, I'm sure their regular size would work great. However, I am not one who is well endowed! The smaller size fit like a glove. Tight enough to stay put without the need for a bra (even while dancing!) but not so tight that one gets the underarm cleavage! The length was perfect. I am 5'7" and wore 3.5" heels and it looked like the dress was tailored just for me. The high-low cut is minimal, so it doesn't look too trendy or dramatic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
October 27, 2015
LOVE this dress!
I received so many compliments on this dress and it was perfect for a black tie wedding. I am between 5'7" & 5'8" and I wore 3 inch heels and the length was perfect. The boning on the dress I received was starting to poke through a little bit and was slightly uncomfortable when sitting down. Also, the seam at the bottom was very wrinkled, but a quick iron flattened it right out. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 27, 2015
It was a beautiful dress, but was unable to wear it because the zipper would not work properly.
Beautiful Dress. Did not wear because the zipper was broken
See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×