Madame Damask Dress

$65 – $85 rental?
$598 retail
Stylist Notes

This ML Monique Lhuillier damask patterned dress will have people turning heads all night long. The hi low hem calls for a pair of fab shoes!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue Silk Taffeta (100% Silk). Strapless. Straight neckline with boned bodice. Full skirt with asymmetrical hem. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
328 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(199)
Small
(55)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 27, 2014
Stunning dress, The pattern is unique and the shape is flattering!
Very pretty dress. Material is high quality. There is a snap corset for the upper waist/ below breast area, which definitely helps. Great with simple shoes and a statement necklace. Highly Recommended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 28, 2014
This dress was perfect for a wedding, and went well with military uniform as well!
The fit was perfect. I usually wear a size 2, however being 4 months pregnant I went with the 4L and it fit wonderfully! I had so many compliments on this dress and I felt so glamorous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
March 29, 2014
I danced all night in this fabulous gown. Worth every penny!!!
The dress runs long, and for someone who's 5'4, even with heels on, it's still long in front. Get this dress, grab your best girlfriend and have her pin up the front to show off your gams, and you're good to go!! I loved the weight of the dress, how it moved and how gorgeous the fabric was. Would absolutely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 30, 2014
I felt like a celebrity in this dress and the Pockets are a plus!
This dress runs a little small so go one size up
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 1, 2014
Lots and lots of compliments on this number!
Very tailored, luxe material. Great rental for a short girl in need of a formal dress. I couldn't rent other long dresses because I always have to hem, so this was the perfect solution!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 2, 2014
This was my backup dress
I did not end up wearing this dress only because I rented another that I had as my first choice. I rented the 2R & 4R hoping that the length would look similar to the image of the model. If I had worn it, the 2R fit me very well. I am small-chested, but it was still quite snug. I wasn't in love with where it fell at the lower leg. The high-low makes it difficult to really know how it should look, but on me, it fell probably 3-4 inches lower than the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 3, 2014
Nice material, pretty color, good fit, a bit long.
The fabric is very nice, the color is gorgeous, and the fit is flattering and true to size. The dress is a bit long though. I was hoping for a shorter length, closer to tea length, but the dress touched the floor in the back and hit my ankles in front (granted, I am only 5 foot 3 without heels). Lovely dress, just a bit longer than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139lbs
April 4, 2014
Comfortable and Gorgeous
I rented this for a fundraising gala and absolutely enjoyed wearing it. It is easy to wear, comfortable and looks beautiful. I wear a 4 regularly and rented the 4R. This size fit like a glove. I did expect it to be longer than it appears on the model based on other reviews and would echo that sentiment. I wasn't tripping on it but the back definitely touched the ground.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
April 13, 2014
All eyes were on me!
I wore this dress to an Air Force Birthday Ball. I was worried that the dress wouldn't fit and I couldn't get a 6R for my back up size because it wasn't available. But the fit was perfect! I didn't have to adjust once, which says a lot because most strapless gowns slip. This dress had boning for a nice fit and anti-slip grip around the top. The pockets were great and I couldn't keep my hands out of them! I went with a 4R instead of a 4L because I didn't want the dress to drag (it was the right decision). I got compliments all night. Great dress and beautifully made.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 104lbs
April 15, 2014
The perfect dress to stand out at prom!
I was so impressed by the fit and look of the dress. It for very well, except was a little loose in the bust, but with a bigger padded bra it fit fine. This dress was so different from every other dress at prom and a lot of people came up to me asking me where I got my dress and telling me that I had the prettiest dress at prom! I will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2014
A fun & sexy way to stand out at a formal event!
The dress fit a little tight in the bodice and was much longer on me than on the model. I put in a temporary hem so that I wasn't drowning in it- that, and some platform heels made all the difference! In the end, I received compliments all night and I felt beautiful. That's all I could ask for. My recommendation for the more vertically challenged, like myself, is to purchase the temporary hem tape to shorten the dress so that people can really appreciate the hi-lo feature!
LorraineAugust 5, 2014
there's so much to like about this dress... did you shorten just the front or the entire hemline?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
April 18, 2014
AWESOME dress
Fit was true to size--I got the 0L because the 0R was taken and figured hey, I'd have a little bit of a train! I love that the dress had an inner layer that latched under the zipper, which cuts down on your "oh crap, this zipper might not zip and/or might catch my skin" anxiety. I usually don't wear strapless dresses, but this one was very well-done, with hidden boning that kept it up and the flare in the skirt definitely balances you out if you have defined shoulders! I didn't wear a bra and the top felt secure the whole night. I know everyone talks about the pockets, but I have to talk about them too because--POCKETS. They're great ones too, not the normal crap pockets they put in women's clothing--I had my lipstick in the pocket all night and there was no chance it was going to fall out. This dress just feels really great to wear--It has a good weight to it, and it makes you feel almost regal. As always, RTR service is amazing--I got the dress a couple days before I thought I would, which at first freaked me out (did I put in the wrong day!?), but was actually just them being extra on top of their game.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
April 28, 2014
This was so beautiful and the print is subtle to not overwhelm you.
I am a little bustier than the my avg size - I want without a bra and it fit perfectly.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
April 28, 2014
Event with the whole Town turned into a great Success because of this outfit!
The length was great for me! I am so glad I went with the regular instead of the long. I was home for christmas break and had a bunch of deb parties where the whole city comes to, so I wanted to make sure I looked cute! The dress was a hit and I got compliments all night!The top was a little tight for me so it didn't lay properly but not big enough that people would notice. It was just a little uncomfortable at first. I loved how the dress was shorter because the venue was outside and grassy, so if I had worn a long dress it would have been dragging all night. I hope to rent this dress again because it was so cute!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2014
This dress is so fun and flirty!!! I loved it because it was so unique and it had POCKETS!!
I wore this for a big dance at my university and nobody had one like it!!! I received so many compliments all night!! It fit so perfect and was the perfect length with 3 in. heels on..it would occasionally brush the floor but not long enough that people would step on it. I was worried that it wouldn't fit around my bust but it fit like a glove! It came in right when they said it would and it ROCKED!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 3, 2014
Literally, everyone kept walking up to me and telling me how pretty the dress was! It was amazing!!
It's true to size. The zipper snags sometimes but it was okay in the end. The pockets are godsent :D Fit my entire world in there: lipstick, liner, mascara and a hair brush haha.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2014
This dress was beautiful, but the fabric is heavy, making strapless a little hard to wear.
I got tons of compliments on this dress and I definitely stood out! But, the fabric is heavy, so I found myself pulling it up often. I normally wear a size 0, and I found the 0 a little tight. I was somewhat uncomfortable. Great for a formal, winter or spring affair!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2014
Will try to rent again...
This dress was exactly what I wanted. Beautiful dark blue color and different from everything else. Unfortunately this dress had a broken zipper and it was too noticeable to try and wear the dress. Total bummer. The 6L was the right size for me.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
May 5, 2014
This dress was perfect for the Navy Submarine Officers Ball! Loved every minute! Wish I could keep!!
I absolutely loved this dress! I was a little nervous since they didn't have my backup size but it fit perfectly! No bra needed! It hit me ankle length in the front and hit the floor in the back with three inch heels! I got so many compliments all night! Great experience with RTR ! Returning and receiving was easy!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 6, 2014
the dress, the jewelry, the location, my date, the people, the party!
absolutely fabulous! fit slightly snug in the torso, but definitely not restricting. love love love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2014
Gorgeous dress, but definitely a little tight in the rib cage area
I was looking for a dress for a black tie event and have had my eye on this one for a while. I am usually a 6 on top and an 8 on bottom but the dress was tight in the rib cage, so I wore the 8, which still felt a little tight. The waist also came up a lot higher on me than on the model - but I am pretty long waisted. Although I am 5'9", I went with the regular length so I could wear flats - and the length was perfect. The fabric is gorgeous and the dress is definitely more navy than it appears on the model. The best part about this dress is the fact it has pockets. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 10, 2014
the pockets
@notemmaconroy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 11, 2014
Great, rich fabric!
I am 5'7" and wore 4 inch heals and the long was entirely too long!! I had to tape up the back so I didn't keep stepping on it. Other than that, I loved wearing this dress. Perfect for a formal occasion without being over the top. Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 14, 2014
This dress was stunning.I felt beautiful and elegant. People stopped me left and right to compliment
Fits true to size, its a heavy dress but stayed put all night long
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
May 15, 2014
Overall heavy-looking and kind of like a costume
I really wanted to like this dress but it was so heavy and kind of sad-looking. It is also way bigger in the bustle than the picture looks. When I put it on it looked like I was in a period piece from the 1800s or something unfortunately. It comes across very costume-y. I did not wear it. Pattern is pretty for a formal occasion but otherwise unless you are going to something serious I would not rent.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
May 19, 2014
The dress was stunning! I felt absolutely gorgeous in it and received so many compliments!
The dress was a little small, I went a size up and ordered the 4 and luckily used the 6 as a backup. Runs much much smaller than the actual size so beware. The length was good but had to wear 3 1/2 inch shoes
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 27, 2014
Made me feel larger than I am
I did not end up wearing this dress. The fabric was amazing, the pockets were amazing, the back of the dress was amazing but the front view was too wide. I only weigh 113 lbs and I felt as tho there was too much fabric for my body.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 27, 2014
A bit old fashioned in person
Very beutifully made, but the brocade fabric makes the dress feel old fashioned. I rented for a formal event and ended wearing a different dress. The fit is true-to-size and the dress is very well made.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
May 28, 2014
My friend and I picked dresses in 2 different sizes and a backup choice. That's 6 dresses to try on!
Pockets! I felt fantastic!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 31, 2014
Wore it to prom!
I rented the 4R and 6L and both dresses fit pretty well. The 4 felt like it was a little tighter on me but it wouldn't lay right in the front. In the end I figured that I would rather wear the 4 and not have to spend the whole night pulling it up than wear the 6 just to look good. The fabric is pretty thick and the dress started trying to slip down a little bit when I was dancing. The pockets were fantastic though! Overall, it's a really pretty dress and it is really flattering if you have a smaller rib cage. They just need to fix the weighted strip at the bottom so that it lays a little nicer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
June 2, 2014
Pretty dress, a little long
I ended up wearing the larger size of the dress, so the length was a little long. I liked the pattern and the pockets! Fabric was a bit heavier than I expected so keep in mind for timing of your event. Thankfully it was a cooler spring day. I think the tulle layer underneath could've been nixed- made my hips look a little bigger. Overall fit pretty well and did like the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
June 2, 2014
The wedding was full of fancy, and I felt like I fit right. I received lots of compliments, loved it
I'm a D cup, but slim everywhere else, so the 0R fit me well. It was snug though, so pulling the dress up AT ALL was impossible. I was surprised to see how long the dress was! Even at my 5'9" height and 4 inch heels, the dress was long in the back and my heel kept getting caught in the back train of the dress. I was deathly afraid I would either trip or rip the back of the dress with my heel. The pockets are perfect for keeping your camera/phone/lip gloss with you on the dance floor. It is a very thick and heavy dress so if you're wearing in the summertime, you will get hot! Overall, a great dress and I highly recommend it!
JMAugust 21, 2014
Hi Morgan, what necklace are you wearing with this dress?
morganAugust 25, 2014
JM, the necklace is my cousin's...it's from a store in Charlotte called Chezelle. It's from a few years ago, but the store has great jewelry!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 3, 2014
Beautiful but heavy
This was my plan B dress. It's dramatic and beautiful. Super fancy though, not even casual wedding worthy. This is for the opera/gala/black tie event. It does resemble a curtain a bit, a fashionable one of course.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 4, 2014
beyond thrilled! it was everything I could've wished for and more. it exceeded my expections.
it arrived the day before my senior prom and fit almost perfectly. I was actually a little shocked that the chest area could've fit a little snugger because I'm a bigger girl. But everything about it was perfection! It arrived very well packaged and rtr was great with sending it in a nice garment bag...the one only setback was that the bottom was slightly wrinkled but other than that it was a STUNNING gown that helped me win a spot on prom court.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 4, 2014
The dress was perfect for my senior prom.
The dress fit so well! I don't usually have luck with strapless dresses, but this one fit perfect and I didn't have to spend the whole night fussing with and pulling up the dress. And the pockets? They were so convenient and such a fun touch to the formal dress. I absolutely loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
June 9, 2014
I was complimented so many times on this dress, it fit perfectly!
I picked this dress specifically because I am 5'0". This dress hits mid-calf on anyone of normal height, but looks perfect as a floor length on someone as petite as myself! The pockets were perfect as well! The dress is a bit heavier, so wearing in the late summer probably isn't best, but in the late spring, it was perfect. Would absolutely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2014
Fit in at the black tie event without being too ostentatious.
The dress is definitely long and the front went to just about my ankles. However, it fit beautifully and the color is great in photographs. Additionally, being a strapless, I was concerned I might be pulling it up throughout the night. However, it didn't slide at all!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 18, 2014
An overall sucess
The color and material were of very high quality. The pockets were also a nice feature. The material is very heavy, not ideal for a summer affair. I was really warm all evening. Would be ideal for an fall/winter event. I received a lot of complements.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 28, 2014
I received TONS of compliments on this dress! Perfect for my husband's military ball.
This dress is gorgeous. It fit perfectly and I didn't have to pull it up once -- it stayed put all night. I received so many compliments on this dress. I would definitely consider renting this again. I did need the 0 short but it wasn't available. With 4 inch heels the back still swept the floor by a coupe if inches but it wasn't enough to get in the way, even on the dance floor! Overall I had an amazing experience with RTR and will definitely be using them again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2014
I wore this dress to my senior prom and was told many times how elegant and unique it was.
If fit very much true to size, although it was longer than shown on the model. The length in the back was just to the ground. The dress is pretty heavy and thick. It would be perfect for a winter occasion, however, I wore it at the end of June and was still very much in love with the dress. The pockets were also amazing! It was very comfortable on and didn't slide down at all. I was very happy with the dress and felt amazing in it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×