Falling Rose Petals Sheath

$85 rental
$398 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

For your next engagement party go for a look that is elegant with a sultry flair in this lace sheath by ML Monique Lhuillier. A ladylike style with a bit of intrigue, this dress is sure to get you compliments all night long! Go with colorful accessories like Oscar de la Renta’s Tres Chic Ring to complete your ensemble.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Rose lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline. Trumpet skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
103 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(85)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 20, 2013
I spent the entire night as a spokeswoman for Rent the Runway because EVERYONE loved my dress!
The dress fits true to size. It was incredibly elegant, yet also in style. I have larger shoulders and arms and I felt like this dress made me look so slim. I want to rent it again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
May 14, 2013
The dress fit incredibly well and I received compliments throughout the evening.
I have a smaller bust and wide hips, and the dress fit impeccably. The material has some stretch which would allow it to fit on several different body types. The color of the dress worked well with my coloring as I am fair complected with dark brown hair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2013
Love is RED!
I'm 5' with 3in heels and the dress fell right below the knees. It was also snug in all the right places. Sophisticated yet sexy and the red made me stand out. Compliments everywhere! Worth renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2013
Even the bridesmaids told me I had the cutest dress at the wedding!
Mostly fits true to size, but was tight around the widest part of the rib cage. Because of that, the size 6 was more comfortable (I usually wear a 4). I'm tall, and it wasn't too short! You definitely need to wear a bra that cuts low in the middle, but I just used a safety pin to keep it out of sight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 6, 2013
I rented this dress for a City Birthday Party. I wanted something sexy, but conservative.
Dress was super comfortable...it was a bit stretchy too. I never wear a size 8 though, so order bigger as back up size...I'm either a 4 or 6 and I had to call Friday morning to have a size bigger sent to me with a Saturday delivery. RTR did this free of charge. I received lots of compliments and will now be renting the blue dress for another fundraiser this weekend. The purse I chose was the perfect size and held everything I needed, even my phone without looking lumpy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 1, 2013
Perfect cocktail party dress.
Love this dress- it also looks great in navy.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 30, 2013
So comfortable, and the color is phenomenal in person.
The dress was beautiful, very flattering, and very comfortable. I received several compliments on the back and the color definitely stood out in the crowd. Be aware that there is some boning in the ribcage/waist area, which didn't bother me at all but makes that portion of the dress a bit less flexible. I would absolutely rent this one again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
April 24, 2013
Perfect color, perfect fit. Fun elegant party when you have something special to celebrate!
I wore this fabulous dress for my engagement party, and I felt amazing wearing the lovely lace and vibrant, bold color. The fit was perfect for the occasion, and my fiance loved the dress so much for our party! I recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 17, 2013
This dress is beautiful up close - the lace is a beautiful shade of red and very delicate.
However, for those of us who are large chested, this dress is hard to wear. There is a big, low cut keyhole in the back that requires wearing a special bra. A bustier cannot be concealed in the front since the sheath is low cut. I could not wear this dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 141lbs
April 16, 2013
Beautiful dress with an unexpectedly sexy back. Fun way to be a little flirty even after age 50.
Pretty true to size, but not a generous 8. Specialist sent me a 6 and and 8 after I told her my measurements, and 8 just barely fit. Would have liked to try the 10, might have been more comfortable. Dress had nice thick satin lining - went bra-less because of cutout back but was still comfortable. Well-made, in great shape, arrived just when they said - very easy process. Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 15, 2013
The dress was perfect !
I ordered this dress after i spoke with one of the stylists since i was not happy with the first dress that i ordered. The dress came in the next day and it was so pretty. the color was a vibrant red and the detail on the lace was so exquisite and delicate; the dress also has an open back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2013
The lace and detail were stunning.
The dress is very well made, though it was a challenge to get all the back clasps closed on my own. I felt a bit restricted in the dress throughout the evening, but that was mostly due to sizing. Note that it really does not stretch, so I wouldn't suggest it for a night involving dancing. Perhaps I read the instructions wrong, but ordering down was a huge mistake. I've been able to wear smaller sizes in other dresses from RTR, but this one was a tight fit in my usual size. I would suggest to any other women with athletic body types or muscular backs/shoulders to order up instead.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2013
I felt beautiful and wonderful in this dress. I didn't want to take it off!
Fit very well, couldn't wear any of my bras because of the cut out in the back but a strapless probably would have worked. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
The dress fit well, and I received a number of compliments
The dress was more corseted than in appeared in the photos. The dress fit fine but it minded me to sit up straight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 7, 2013
Loved it!
It was soooo pretty! Love, love, loved it! Received endless compliments all night long Only change: should have ordered a 2 and 4 instead of 4 and 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 21, 2013
Gorgeous, flattering dress
This dress is exquisite, I got compliments on it all night. It's extremely flattering. Unfortunately, both this dress and the back-up size they sent to me were in bad condition and looked really worn. RTR was super nice about it and promised they would take the dresses out of circuit. However, it does worry me slightly that both dresses were damaged- the outer layer is made of lace, so perhaps it has the ability to wear out more quickly. I'm sure it's a popular dress, since it's such a knock-out. However, you might consider having a back-up dress handy or renting it a couple days early so that you can make sure it's in good shape!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 20, 2013
I had so many compliments on this dress.
A backless bra is a smart move for this little bitty.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2013
Loved it, perfect dress & perfect lace!!
I rented this dress for a good friend's wedding in Lubbock. The dress was brand new, even with the tags still on it so the lace was perfect! I absolutely loved the color. The open lower back was gorgeous and I should have followed the reviewer's advice on wearing a NuBra instead of a strapless.. I was constantly adjusting and making sure my bra wasn't showing in the back. The ribbing & lining was great. However, my chest looked odd and smushed without a bra on. I probably could have used a 10 in my bust, but the 8 fit the rest of my body perfectly! Overall, amazing dress that I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 15, 2013
My Fiance Loved it!!
This dress was stunning. The fit, bright red color, and great fabric were perfect for our date night and I was so so pleased. I normally wear a size 6 and occasionally a size 8. I ordered the 6 and it was perfect, and even slightly big around the hips. (I'm 135lbs, a 36B and a size 28 or 29 in jeans). I felt like the dress fit my bust perfectly, but my younger sister (34DD) saw the dress hanging in my room later the next day and tried it on to see if she would want to rent it in the future and it miraculously fit her too! I am 5'3" and the dress hit me right at the knee in 3.5in heels. Overall I loved this dress and can't wait to either rent it again or buy it when it goes on sale at Neiman Marcus. Thanks!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 6, 2013
Surrounded by stars, and I fit right in!
I wore this dress to the Awards Ceremony for First Time Fest in NYC, and felt so pretty while mixing and mingling with the other filmmakers and VIPS! There is nothing better than feeling confident, and this dress made my night! Highly recommended. Sexy, pretty, and so easy to wear!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2013
Not my style.
So, as an hourglass figure I have to say it was too tight around the bust and too loose around the waist. Overall, it was very unflattering on me. Additionally, the open back just seemed not to fit with the rest of the dress--it seeme risque in the back and boring up front. Did not wear it; my husband vote thumbs down. Thank goodness for the back up dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 4, 2013
I was the only person in a red dress... and boy did I get compliments! Even from strangers!
A little big for me in the chest area, but every where else fit perfectly. I literally got compliments all night long. The dress was absolutely perfect. I will probably rent it again for another event in the future! Any more colors?!
LovingRTRMarch 4, 2013
I know they have a navy and white one. I rented the red for an event this weekend, I hope to look as good as you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 3, 2013
The compliments were endless
I rented this for my Barrister's Ball. I absolutely loved everything about the fit of this dress. The length was good. The structure through the waist was comfortable but stable enough that I didn't need to wear a bra with the dress. All in all, very comfortable, even for dancing. The compliments were endless. I loved everything about the dress and will definitely be renting again in the future!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
3 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×