ML Monique Lhuillier

Falling Rose Petals Sheath

$85 rental
$398 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

For your next engagement party go for a look that is elegant with a sultry flair in this lace sheath by ML Monique Lhuillier. A ladylike style with a bit of intrigue, this dress is sure to get you compliments all night long! Go with colorful accessories like Oscar de la Renta’s Tres Chic Ring to complete your ensemble.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Rose lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline. Trumpet skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

103 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 85
Large 6
Photos 59
Beverly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Not my style.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So, as an hourglass figure I have to say it was too tight around the bust and too loose around the waist. Overall, it was very unflattering on me. Additionally, the open back just seemed not to fit with the rest of the dress--it seeme risque in the back and boring up front. Did not wear it; my husband vote thumbs down. Thank goodness for the back up dress!
LB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

Gorgeous, flattering dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is exquisite, I got compliments on it all night. It's extremely flattering. Unfortunately, both this dress and the back-up size they sent to me were in bad condition and looked really worn. RTR was super nice about it and promised they would take the dresses out of circuit. However, it does worry me slightly that both dresses were damaged- the outer layer is made of lace, so perhaps it has the ability to wear out more quickly. I'm sure it's a popular dress, since it's such a knock-out. However, you might consider having a back-up dress handy or renting it a couple days early so that you can make sure it's in good shape!
debora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 7, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was soooo pretty! Love, love, loved it! Received endless compliments all night long Only change: should have ordered a 2 and 4 instead of 4 and 6.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 8, 2013

The dress fit well, and I received a number of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was more corseted than in appeared in the photos. The dress fit fine but it minded me to sit up straight.
Alexandra
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

This dress is beautiful up close - the lace is a beautiful shade of red and very delicate.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
However, for those of us who are large chested, this dress is hard to wear. There is a big, low cut keyhole in the back that requires wearing a special bra. A bustier cannot be concealed in the front since the sheath is low cut. I could not wear this dress.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

So comfortable, and the color is phenomenal in person.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful, very flattering, and very comfortable. I received several compliments on the back and the color definitely stood out in the crowd. Be aware that there is some boning in the ribcage/waist area, which didn't bother me at all but makes that portion of the dress a bit less flexible. I would absolutely rent this one again.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
May 13, 2013

Even the bridesmaids told me I had the cutest dress at the wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Mostly fits true to size, but was tight around the widest part of the rib cage. Because of that, the size 6 was more comfortable (I usually wear a 4). I'm tall, and it wasn't too short! You definitely need to wear a bra that cuts low in the middle, but I just used a safety pin to keep it out of sight.
Mariza
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
May 14, 2013

The dress fit incredibly well and I received compliments throughout the evening.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have a smaller bust and wide hips, and the dress fit impeccably. The material has some stretch which would allow it to fit on several different body types. The color of the dress worked well with my coloring as I am fair complected with dark brown hair.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 21, 2013

Beautiful dress! Also - if you can definitely where a regular bra with this dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It is runs slightly small - If you are between sizes, I would size up. Beautiful dress!
nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 3, 2013

I am very curvy and was in b/w sizes

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the smaller size was too tight and the larger too big and long
Latawnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Gorgeous dress for a perfect Spring wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color and fit of the dress are great, the only downfall would be that the backside flares out at the bottom. Overall gorgeous, fit is true to size and the length is appropriate for a formal affair.
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 9, 2013

Spicy & Classy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love the color - the red is bright and very fun. The lace was perfect and there was a little bit of stretch so it was comfortable.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 26, 2013

Loved it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits beautifully and it looks great on. Loved it. Great length, hit right above the knee. Great for a wedding
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 30, 2013

perfect for an outdoor wedding and a night of fun

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I had thought previous reviews said this dress ran small, however I found it runs large! I am usually a 6, sometimes an 8 and the 8 was definitely too big. I wore it anyway as I didn't have a backup. I was also worried it would be too thick for an outdoor wedding however it was Perfect because it hid any sweat! : ) Definitely would rent again, probably would even go to a 4.
Reni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

Loved it!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Initially I received the wrong size 4 instead of 6, which was too tight. I spoke to Serena and she apologized and guaranteed the size 6 Saturday morning, On Saturday I received it at 9:30 am I was super happy! I wore it to a party and everyone loved the dress. The dress fits great! I was able to wear a strapless bra with it. Thank you RTR and especially Serena! I will definitely rent again from RTR.
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jul 27, 2013

Didn't end up wearing it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really wanted to love this dress, the lace and the color are gorgeous, but it just didn't work for me. I ordered the four and the two and am usually in between those two sizes. The size four was way too big for me on top (I have narrow shoulders and a small-ish bust). The two was brand new, but for some reason the top of the lining wasn't sewn to the lace piece and I was worried it would be flapping over all night, especially since it was still a bit too big on top. I called Rent the runway and they overnighted a second dress so it all worked out. I wouldn't recommend this dress for women who are small on top, but for others the color and lace, and the cutout in the back, are really pretty.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 28, 2013

Unfortunately didn't fit...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 4 or 6. I rented the 4 and 6 and both were too small. Not good for a full bust. Really disappointed.
chelle3099
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 31, 2013

This dress looked amazing! Loved the cut-out in the back.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size, had boning in the front and the capsleeves were super cute. I loved the back. My husband loved this dress on me!
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Great cocktail dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this as my second dress in a size 4. I think I could have used a 2, but the dress was stretchy and the 4 was good enough. Definitely would prefer to have a low back bra - because my normal strapless showed in the back and I had to pin it down. It really is a beautiful dress and the red was the perfect red - not too flashy but definitely noticeable.
Ginny
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 13, 2013

Great not-your-standard black dress choice!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Found the dress pretty true to size (though women with fuller hips might have more of a squeeze in the bottom). Red was a pretty color without being overwhelming. Looks great with both gold and silver accessories. Was able to wear a regular strapless bra. The dress came to just above my knees (5'2" wearing 3-inch heels.
ellyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 13, 2013

Sexy yet appropriate!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered the size 6 and 4 and the 4 fit almost perfectly! The dress went just past my knees, which may be too long for some, but I felt like the longer length made it more appropriate for the evening wedding I went to. I felt like the lace in the stomach area was a bit stretched out which is why I gave it 4 stars. I was able to wear a strapless bra and it did not show in the back, which I liked. Overall, I received a lot of compliments and really enjoyed the dress!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Beautiful lace dress - Size down

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding but wore the backup style instead. The dress is gorgeous, but ran a little big. I'm normally a 2 but definitely needed the 0. Highly recommend though!
Carly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 22, 2013

Flattering and fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a fundraiser for Children's Miracle Network of Oklahoma. This dress was a perfect fit, not too dressy but still "cocktail attire". I rented both a 6 and a 10, wished I would have rented an 8 because it definitely runs true to size. However, I recieved many compliments and it is especially flattering for those who have more of a hourglass shape. The back is open, highly recommend sticky boobies. I also wore spanx to complete the look.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×