Falling Rose Petals Sheath

$42 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

For your next engagement party go for a look that is elegant with a sultry flair in this lace sheath by ML Monique Lhuillier. A ladylike style with a bit of intrigue, this dress is sure to get you compliments all night long! Go with colorful accessories like Oscar de la Renta’s Tres Chic Ring to complete your ensemble.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Rose lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline. Trumpet skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
103 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(85)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
July 23, 2013
Sexy dress that hugs your curves right!
The dress fit really great!!! I rented the 12 and the 10-- I normally wear a 12, but the 10 fit better. I recently lost a little weight, so I am going to attribute it to that rather than the sizing of the dress. It fit snug, but not uncomfortable at all... the 12 was just too baggy. I would def recommend getting a backless/sticky bra bc of the open back. Looks great with gold accessories :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2013
Such a beautiful dress-- I wish I owned it!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! The lace and lining is wonderful and the open back is perfect for feeling a little sexy, but still staying totally classy and appropriate. I wish I had ordered just one size down as I did go braless to for the open back and I have a larger bust. However, the larger size still fit well and the lace holds it shape very well. This dress is absolutely perfect and you'll love wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
September 11, 2013
Sexy AND comfortable...yes, please!
This dress was well-made and beautiful. It fit great and was comfortable while still being fitted. I was worried about not being able to wear a bra with the open back but it was supportive enough without.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 23, 2013
Snug in all the right places
I used this for a photo shoot for promotional pictures for a website, and i loved this dress! Wish I could own it. It is snug in all the right places, perfect for that hourglass picture. I do have a wide ribcage and larger up top and I think if I had wanted to do some dancing, I would have wanted a bigger size, but for standing and looking fierce, it was amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 6, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress fit wonderfully. I didn't wear a bra because of the open back and felt secure enough to dance the night away. It was a especially warm night for this time of year and I was comfortable the whole night! This dress hugs you in all the right places!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 17, 2013
Photographs beautifully
This dress fit like a glove and photographed beautifully. It was very comfortable to wear. I wore a backless bra without any issues. The only negative comment I have is that this dress was very worn. The sleeves and under arm area were embarrassingly tattered looking. Luckily, with the dim lighting, the imperfections weren't noticeable to others.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
January 28, 2014
Beautiful!!!
I was a bit concerned since there was no stretch in this dress. After putting on my SPANX, the size 2 was too tight and the size 4 fit like a glove. I usually need stretchy fabrics because of my chesty bust and my big butt. Overall, I received so many compliments about the dress. I was the "lady in Red!"
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
April 10, 2014
Great color
I rented this for my sister's wedding rehearsal dinner, and for the most part loved it. I ordered both the 14 and the 16 but the 16 was just way to baggy up top, although the fit around my butt was better...no surprise there. I have ample junk in the trunk but not enough boob to fill out the larger top. I ended up going with the 14 though but I'd recommend trying both sizes if you have a bigger booty. This dress didn't have much in the way of 'give' at all. Also--my sister is wearing the same dress in white, but I'd like to point out that I totally rented mine first. ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2013
Not my style.
So, as an hourglass figure I have to say it was too tight around the bust and too loose around the waist. Overall, it was very unflattering on me. Additionally, the open back just seemed not to fit with the rest of the dress--it seeme risque in the back and boring up front. Did not wear it; my husband vote thumbs down. Thank goodness for the back up dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 8, 2013
The dress fit well, and I received a number of compliments
The dress was more corseted than in appeared in the photos. The dress fit fine but it minded me to sit up straight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 3, 2013
Gorgeous dress for a perfect Spring wedding!
The color and fit of the dress are great, the only downfall would be that the backside flares out at the bottom. Overall gorgeous, fit is true to size and the length is appropriate for a formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 26, 2013
Loved it
Fits beautifully and it looks great on. Loved it. Great length, hit right above the knee. Great for a wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 27, 2013
This is a beautiful dress - wished I could have worn it.
This dress runs just a tad bit small. I ordered the 6 based on other reviews, but should have ordered the 8. I got it on , but it fit a little too snug across the hips and it was obviously too tight. The dress is a true red, I was expecting a lighter rose color, but beautiful still the same. I would definitely order this dress again, but in a size 8. RTR was great about giving me credit and fortunately I had a dress in my closet as backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 10, 2013
on time delivery, dress was in good condition.
bust area was too tight so i ended wearing an alternate dress. pretty dress though
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 16, 2013
First RTR experience, but not my last!
This dress was very flattering! The red color and the unique back design make sure you will stand out, in a positive way! The dress did look like it was starting to show some signs of multiple dry cleanings but not unless I stared at every inch up and down. It was slightly stretchy so it had a little give to it. When I first put it on, I thought it might be a bit snug but it ended up being the perfect size. I had no problems dancing the night away in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 18, 2013
Got so many compliments!
Fit like a glove. You'll need to wear a backless bra with this dress. This dress looks expensive-I wore it to a September wedding in upstate NY and it was perfect. This is my second Monique Lhuillier dress I've rented and successfully worn in the past month and I look forward to trying more soon!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 10, 2013
This is an incredibly gorgeous dress!
Make sure you wear a Nu Bra. It's an open back, but not incredibly structured in the front.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2013
Loved this dress, the color, the fit all of it.. Its very classic and elegant. Will rent again
It fits true to size, I had ordered both the 6 and 8 as back up and ended up wearing the 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 22, 2013
It was lovely but it made my belly look huge. And I was not a big fan of the fabric. Just not for me
True to size but bunches up strangely at belly so unless you are a twig; this will not help
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 5, 2013
Beautiful! Everyone at the wedding complimented how pretty the color and style was.
Fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 2, 2014
Stunning dress
I felt classy and beautiful wearing this dress. Even the bride was envious! It fit well and was sexy without being too revealing. The color would be good on most skintones. I did need to wear a backless bra, however, so those with larger busts might have trouble. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because the lace was a bit tattered around the edges and you could tell that it had been well-loved by previous renters. I actually had to get out my sewing kit and put in a few stitches around the sleeves and zipper areas. I'm sure it wasn't noticeable unless you were really examining it, but wanted to mention it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 26, 2014
Perfect red color and sexy without feeling naked!
Fit snugly across my bust so I had to go up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2014
Beautiful, but tough shoulder measurements
Beautiful lace! The color and style of this dress were amazing. However, I had some issues in the shoulder area. I couldn't even button up the top flaps in the back to close out the cut-out area. I tend to have slightly wide-set shoulders and I could barely even move my arms in this dress, I felt like the kid from A Christmas Story!
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×