Rent the Runway

ML Monique Lhuillier

Alice Dress

$40 rental
$498 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal luncheon or dinner party? Look so sweet in cobalt lace wearing this chic full skirt style by ML Monique Lhuillier. Add sparkle and shine with kate spade new york accessories’ On the Town Necklace.

Also available in purple, white and teal.

Also available in sizes 16W-22W.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cobalt lace (60% cotton 23% rayon 17% nylon). Three quarter sleeve. Boat neckline. Full skirt with pockets. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

1098 reviews

Fit
Small 212
True to Size 743
Large 19
Photos 713
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Feb 11, 2014

Beautiful blue lace!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a cocktail charity ball event in February, and it was just perfect! The lining kept me very warm throughout the evening, and the blue lace is much brighter in person. It definitely stood out in the sea of black dresses, and I received so many compliments! I rented a 6 and 8 since several of the reviews mentioned the dress being tight in the arms, and I ended up wearing the 6 (my normal size). The sleeves were tight around my arms whenever I initially tried it on, but throughout the night they relaxed and the dress was quite comfortable. I wore nude pumps and the gold Nicole Miller Southern Plantation Earrings (highly recommend!). Definitely would rent this gorgeous dress again!
Courtney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

This dress was so cute and so much fun! It's just the right amount of 'twirly' on the dance floor!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really enjoyed this dress and felt so good wearing it! The color was great, the fabric was nice, and the pockets were amazing! My only complaint is that I wish I wore the 8. While the 6 fit, it was very tight in the arms and a little shorter than I hoped. The 8 arrived with a small rip in the left shoulder blade, so I didn't wear it, but it was much more comfortable. I wore this dress to my company holiday party, and got soooo many compliments! Would definitely wear again!
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

Pop of blue elegance

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gentle fit, hidden pockets, flouncy a-line skirting, fitted waist, layered lining and soft lace make this bright blue cocktail dress effortlessly flattering. A win.
Kate
Age: 29
Feb 8, 2015

I had a great first experience with RTR! Super easy and I plan on doing it again for future events!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Wedding
Overall I'm really happy with the dress, but the length felt a little awkward. I'm usually a 12, but the 12 was REALLY tight in the chest (I'm a 36E though) so I sized up to the 14.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Rented for my engagement party. Loved this dress, especially the pockets!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was my first time using Rent the Runway so I was a little nervous. Was glad I ordered a backup size. Ended up wearing the bigger one because the sleeves were tight on the 6. Received so many compliments. Would definitely recommend it!
RTR Customer
Feb 8, 2015

Tons of compliments all night! The dress was fun and fashionable but still conservative and classy!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
If you have larger arms like me the sleeves can be a little tight. Overall the fit was good, length was at my knees but I'm only 5'0.
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

Received many compliments while at the event!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable dress. Length and fit were true to size. Formal enough for black tie.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 13, 2015

Love this dress! Flattering, flirty and fun. In a room of lots of little black dresses I stood out.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Lots of compliments on the blue accenting my blue eyes. Was my first experience using rent the run way and was very positive experience. I did order a 6 and thank goodness I got the 8 as well, 6 was snug on my arms and 8 was perfect.
Morgan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 17, 2015

SO Flattering!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fantastic! I felt so pretty in it and I received so many compliments throughout the night. The blue lace was very vibrant against the nude underlay. I agree with the reviews as far as the sleeves being a little snug- but it wasn't anything that really had an effect on my dancing! I wear a 6-8 and the dress was pretty true to size. I got the 8 just because of the other reviews on the sleeves!
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Feb 18, 2015

Formal but fun and different for a wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was good, I seem to have muscular arms so the sleeves were a bit tight. Edges were a bit frayed from wear and tear but expected. Over all I liked it!
Angel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Color really popped among a ton of black dresses!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was very fitted if you are more broad-shouldered. Likely should have worn the 6 but liked the length better on the 4. The color in person truly is amazing blue and was fun to wear for a work event.
Andrea
Age: 29
Feb 21, 2015

Loved this dress - wish I could keep it!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Beautiful dress! Great color and style for any season. Fit true to size and very flattering. The sleeves were a touch on the tight side, but once on it was fine. Really enjoyed wearing it and received lots of compliments.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Beautiful dress. Perfect color & length. Great fit, except the arms.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for Valentine's Day because I wanted something other than pink/red. I loved the dress and ended up featuring it on my blog as well. I had read previously reviews that mentioned the sleeves were tight so I rented in both my regular size 8 and a size 10 ...and I'm glad I did. I could barely pull the 8 all the way up my arms, it was so tight. I ended up wearing the 10. The waist is slightly higher and the material is thicker so it draped and fit well without looking baggy in other areas. Luckily our plans didn't involve a lot of arm movement. If I were wearing this to a wedding or event where I planned on dancing, I might have even considered going up to a 12. Overall though a very, very beautiful and flattering dress. I got so many complements on the color.
Nicole
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

Beautiful color-very comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and was very happy with it. The sleeves were a little tight, but overall was very comfortable. The color is bright and beautiful. I would definitely recommend it!
RTR Customer
Mar 2, 2015

Such a flattering dress!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress hides lots of sins! I felt comfortable enough to eat, drink, and dance! The color is gorgeous. Wish I would have worn higher heels though to really accentuate my legs and the flowy skirt. Also great for a cold night, as the material is very thick. I went with the 8 bc I have thick arms and a lot of reviewers commented on the tight sleeves.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

Loved the color and the material! So fab!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
The sleeves were a bit tight, as was the bust. Overall, awesome dress though! High-quality and beautiful material. Loved!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Mar 9, 2015

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Wore at a couples shower, and received many compliments. The color is stunning, and much brighter than it looks on the model. I would love to own this dress! Many reviews said the arms ran small and I would agree-especially in the shoulder. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that it does seem to be worn quite a few times.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 16, 2015

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this for my sister to wear to our cousin's wedding. The 4 and 6 were different shades of blue which was interesting. She couldn't get the arms of the 4 over her new mommy biceps, so definitely size up if you work out! The 6 fit, but was baggy in the bust. Overall, she was happy with the dress and received many compliments.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Makes blue eyes stand out!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
First I have to say thanks to RTR customer service! My original shipment got hung up in the middle of the country probably due to weather, but didn't arrive on time. I called RTR and they made it right even though it wasn't their fault! They overnighted the same dress and all was good! Now about the dress. The color was the most beautiful cobalt blue and it really stood out. The dress has a satin lining and a nice weight so it was very comfortable and hung well. I would highly recommend it, especially for the hourglass or pear shaped because the skirt is so forgiving.
Rachael
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 18, 2015

I loved, loved, loved this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was perfect for a fall wedding and I got so many compliments. I got a 8 and 10, the 8 fit better on body but was too tight on my arms. I would recommend this site and dress to anyone!
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Mar 20, 2015

Feminine and Fun

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Date
This dress was a gorgeous color and the lace detail was the perfect feminine touch. The sleeves were a bit tight, but the fit was perfect everywhere else. Overall, I love this dress!
Haley
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 21, 2015

Absolutely perfect! I rented it for a wedding.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The sleeves run tight. I could have worn the size 10 but wanted to be more comfortable so I opted for the 12. I also rented the necklace which I had TONS of compliments on throughout the night. Will be renting another dress again soon!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Comfortable dress

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Dress is comfortable. I was worried about the length, but it hit right above the knees. I ordered a size 4 but I'm not well endowed up top, so I opted to wear the size 2 because it wasn't as loose on the bust. Amazing dress overall.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Great fit, sleeves just a little tight...

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, but the bottom flares out a little more than I would have liked and the sleeves are too tight to comfortably lift your arms over your head. Otherwise, the color and overall look of the dress were great and I got lots of compliments!
Hannah
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Package was on time! Dress fit!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
The dress was very pretty. Love that it had pockets! Blue is more royal than navy. My arms are larger so sleeves were a bit snug. The dress is a perfect length! Over all was a great dress for the bridal shower I was hosting.
Shelby
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Very nice dress for a formal work party.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is far more bright blue in person but still very pretty. As far as the fit, I felt I could have worn a size smaller for a more tight fit through the torso/waist but then for sure the arms would have been too tight. Unless you have bird arms don't go too small! Also it went to my knees, which was appropriate for the event but on a short girl like myself, even with heels, it was definitely not above knee as shown on the model.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Cute and Comfy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I used my RTR Pro birthday coupon to get this dress for my birthday dinner. I wanted something cute, but not super fancy. This was a very pretty dress. I got the 6 and 8, the 6 fit very comfortably- the arms were fitted but not tight on me. The 8 actually looked fine too, but the lace was a little different and the arms were bigger on that one so I wore the 6. I ate a HUGE 4 course dinner, so this pic was after that when the dress was a bit more snug, haha! The pockets were fantastic and the lining felt really nice. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Ashleigh
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

This dress was everything I wanted and more!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my first rental from RTR. I ordered the dress in a 6 and an 8, and also two necklaces. I started to worry I should have ordered a bigger size, and thought I would defiantly need the 8. I wound up wearing the 6! I read all the reviews on the dress and I know a lot of people complained about the arms being tight. I can see that, but I found the dress very comfortable. It is lined in this nice silk fabric, but is a heavy material so I would not recommend in heat! I wore for engagement pictures in Forest Park in early March, it was perfect. People walking by even complemented the dress. I felt like Kate Middleton (aka a Princess). As soon as my photographer posted our pictures I got so many complements on the dress and how well it photographed. I cant wait to use RTR for more upcoming wedding festivities. Necklace was also RTR.
Suzie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

LOVED the color and got so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the 8 because my arms felt a little tight in the 6, but the 6 fit everywhere else. I was worried about the length since I am tall but it was great and I felt so comfortable!!!
Sabby
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

Made to wear for a special occasion! Elegant and classy!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my husband's squadron party and received many complements! The dress fit true to size and was quite comfortable to wear. The lace detailing is beautiful! It's very well lined also so no worries that anything will show. I would recommend this dress!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

RTR made it so easy to look great and feel fancy!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Date
My first RTR and it was great...dress arrived a full day early in perfect condition, fit true to size. I disagree with other reviews that said the arms were too tight, I didn't feel that way but I only rented the dress just to have something to wear for an Anniversary dinner, not to dance in! Would be 5 stars however the color difference between the 12 and the 14 was extreme. The 12 was very bright blue and the 14 was almost purple blue. I saw someone else comment the same thing, still a beautiful dress on, felt slimming on my post baby body! Thanks RTR!
kasey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 28, 2015

Dress was just okay

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a fundraising event. My only real complaint was that it ran small in the arms and shoulders which is mentioned in the other reviews. I pretty much always wear a 12 so to feel restricted in a 14 was very strange for me. Overall the dress was pretty, it just didn't wow me like my other rentals have.
Liz
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Mar 28, 2015

Great party in a gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful! The blue is a vibrant cobalt with a goldish-nude underlay. The skirt was a little more shaped than I expected, but it complimented my shape well. I agree with everyone that the arms were a little tight, but overall the smaller size fit better. I wore it with a gold necklace and nude heels and I got a TON of compliments!
Danielle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 30, 2015

I rented this for a fundraiser in NYC. It was the cherry on top of a lovely evening!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Reviewers mentioned the sleeves were tight - I didn't necessarily feel that the sleeves were tight around my arms, but they were somewhat restricting in terms of movement. However, after wearing the dress for a while, I hardly noticed and otherwise it was quite comfortable! It was a cold night (30's) and I imagine if it were warm out, this dress might be too heavy. The color was beautiful, and I received many compliments throughout the evening from friends and strangers. Could not have been happier with this choice.
Alice
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 31, 2015

Fun skirt, lots of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Ended up wearing this for my twin sister's rehearsal dinner. It was during the afternoon, then they had a happy hour event after. The quality of the dress is top notch. I loved the color and it photographed very well. The way the dress fit me, I almost felt like it rounded out your chest in it, if that makes any sense! The only thing that bothered me was the feel of the zipper against my back when I was driving in the car, however the lining of the skirt is so, soft, and very expensive feeling fabric. I received so many compliments on this dress!!!!
Kristen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

This dress was perfect for my event! It was exactly what was pictured and the most vibrant blue!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
I rented both a size two and a size four. I ended up going with the two because of the overall fit. It was a little snug in the arms, but loosened up as the afternoon went on. This dress was perfect for twirling around on the dance floor! It wasn't too fancy, but unique enough to where I received several compliments.
Al
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

I wore this for a fancy community event and it fit right in.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I thought the fit was small and the sleeves were tight....therefore I went up to the 12 to be comfortable. The dress is a bit high waisted. It's very comfortable though and I loved the length of the sleeves. Overall it's a nice dress.
Brittney
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

A beautiful dress at a great price. I don't have something in my closet I will never wear again.

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Party
This dress fits very true to size. I received a lot of compliments on it. The silk liner made it very comfortable. I turned a lot of heads with this dress. I had a very good experience through the entire process, and I'm already looking at a dress I need for a wedding reception!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 6, 2015

This dress was amazing! Love the color. The sleeves were a little snug but not uncomfortable.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a bridal shower and got many compliments. It was perfect length and the color was beautiful. I wish I could have kept it longer!
Julia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 6, 2015

Got lots of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
Arms are definitely snug. The last dress I wore from this designer was sleeveless and I wore a 6. This one had to be an 8 because of the sleeves and they were still tight. The lace was more sparse than I thought it would be. I didnt feel it was as flattering but I got a lot of compliments so maybe I'm just wrong.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×