Gladiolus Dress

$115 rental
$798 retail
Stylist Notes

This bright feminine dress by ML Monique Lhuillier feels fresh with an asymmetric hemline and pockets. Try Kenneth Jay Lane's Silver Leaf Earrings to help dress up and finish off the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: One length available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'')

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Pink and blush faille (100% Poly Faille). Strapless. Straight neckline. Asymmetrical contrast hemline. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Partially lined. Imported. See size and fit tab for length. Imported.

Share
285 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(117)
Small
(40)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
May 16, 2015
Really a standout dress!!

Loved the dress, and received lots of compliments! It was very tight in the bust for me as a 34DDD and I would have done better a size up, but otherwise it was great.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 18, 2015
Compliments all night long and after....

To explain how many compliments I got on this dress, I got up from the dinner table to use the restroom and got four compliments on my way. In terms of fit, the corset top portion was very snug in the ribs but slightly less so in the chest. If I had a slightly larger chest, the fit would have been perfect! I wore about three inch heels and the dress fell right where I wanted it! One warning, this dress is very warm as the fabric is very thick and doesn't breathe well. If you are going to an outdoor summer wedding or plan on dancing the night away just know that this dress will keep you feeling toasty.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2015
Show stopping!

I ordered this using my unlimited subscription. It's not a dress I would normally pick out to wear, but it was available in my size so I thought "what the heck!" I wore this to a wedding and received so many compliments!! The high-low cut makes it really stand out. Fun dress!!

JenniferMay 19, 2015
Where did you get your shoes? They look perfect with that dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
May 19, 2015
Statement dress

A bit long if you're not super tall (it was great for me but would have dragged if I wasn't 5'10")

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 26, 2015
Beautiful dress - not for the small busted

This dress would have been beautiful on someone with a larger bust - since it has a built in bra, I couldn't really fake it with a strapless padded bra and my chest was just too small to make it work. I would size down if your small up top. Other than that - it's a beautiful color. Mine arrived fairly wrinkled, but nothing that couldn't have been fixed with a good steaming.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 28, 2015
I felt like a fairy tale princess!

It was a perfect fit, and made me feel like a princess. It was incredible for dancing and absolutely a show stopper! I will definitely rent this again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 28, 2015
Beautiful, classic

I LOVE this dress!!! So ladylike and beautiful. I received so many compliments and it was so fun to wear. This is a great dancing dress with the hemline. The bodice has great structure without being binding. It was wrinkled when I got it, and I was rushed and accidentally ironed the 8 so that's what I ended up wearing. I wanted to wear the 6, but I had a ditz moment and didn't have time to iron a second dress. Either way, love it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
June 1, 2015
Not the best fit, but beautiful

Loved the look of this dress for a black tie optional wedding in Malibu. I actually rented the red one in this picture as my back up dress, but my best friend ended up wearing it instead (It looked much better on her ;) ) I loved this pink one and the quality was great and the shape very unique. The bust does run small so those with a larger rib cage like me keep that in mind. I was definitely a size somewhere between the 2 and the 4, but the 2 (without a bra) ended up winning out because my waist is more on the 2 side. That being said I'm also on the moderate to taller side and I don't think the waist is the most flattering on taller girls/those with a long torso...as compared to those who are a bit shorter. As much as I loved the dress itself I didn't love it as much on me. Side note, the dress definitely needs to be steamed or ironed out of the box!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2015
THIS DRESS!! My first RTW and it was so easy and so worth it.

This dress is definitely meant for someone with a small bust, and the fabric has no stretch to it. It was comfortable and the pockets were awesome! I didn't need a clutch or anything. The one con I had was the hanging straps kept sneaking out but with the help from a watchful boyfriends eye we kept tucking them back in. I would wear this dress every day if I could!! So many compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 3, 2015
I rented the dress as a back-up and didn't end up wearing it but it is a beautiful dress.

The fabric was not what I expected but it is a beautiful dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
June 4, 2015
Perfect for a black tie formal event!

Both dresses fit pretty well - however I decided to go with the dress that had less signs of wear in the zipper and the ribbing on the inside. Also, the material does wrinkle, so I suggest ironing if possible. I tried to steam it out but my steamer wasn't strong enough. It was perfect for a black tie event where many wear basic black gowns - I felt like I stood out in an elegant way, and it had pockets! Game changer :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 30, 2015
Fancy & FABULOUS!

As previously mentioned, this dress is absolutely fabulous --and I felt like a super star wearing it! I got tons of compliments and loved pairing it with some gold heels, clutch, and delicate jewelry. I would however highly recommend sizing up as there is not much give to the fabric. It's pretty hard to breathe if it's too tight!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 21, 2015
Great customer service at the flatiron store!

Fit great! Received tons of complements! Length was perfect even though I'm short. #Wedding

View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
July 26, 2015
I would not recommend this dress for full busted women.

Dress did not fit at the bust. I ordered and 4 and a 6 and I didn't feel comfortable in either. Very tight! The boning of the dress was sticking out and digging into my skin which was very uncomfortable. This dress would probably work for a small busted individual.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 28, 2015
Dress of the night!

To say I got a million compliments is an understatement. I couldn't decide to wear a NuBra or not. I'm a 32DDD and there is an awesome corset but I wore the NuBra anyways since I didn't want my boobs sliding to the side. Most people won't have to! The fabric, color and fit were amazing. You could wear to black tie or just cocktail. Truly a show stopper!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
July 29, 2015
Loved being able to wear a designer gown without paying for designer prices

This dress is beautiful! It has a texture which is not noticeable in the picture. Many compliments. Highly recommend!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
July 31, 2015
No way.

This did not work out for me, obviously. I'm a thin girl, so looking super pregnant when I am not was not an option. My first choice dress didn't have the size I originally ordered so I picked this on a whim. Not good. I ended up sending both my choices back for 2 different ones. It would've looked better had I ironed it, but I still wouldn't wear it. I rented both the 2 and 4. The 2 was too tight in the bust, the 4 was too loose on the bust and mid-section. I'm technically at 35C though, and that's not a real size in the dress world... Customer service was awesome though. Sent the new dresses right out!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
August 2, 2015
Stunning dress!

This is my first RTR experience and I will absolutely be returning! I saw this dress and fell in love. I ordered it for a formal wedding, and it was perfect! Like many of the other reviewers said, the pink is much bolder in person than the model picture. The material is also pretty heavy, although it was fine for a warm summer evening ceremony. Additionally, some of the other reviewers mentioned to go a size up if you're a bit busty or have an athletic build which I agree with (as I normally wear a 6 but went with the 8). The dress is a bit long for those of us that are short. I'm 5'2" and with 4.25" heels it just barely touched was off of the floor. I loved the pockets which easily fit my iPhone (easily my favorite feature)! I received compliments on the dress all evening and would recommend this dress and RTR to anyone! Overall, this dress is incredible and an absolute showstopper!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2015
Compliments all night long in this dress!

The 4 fit perfectly though as I'm small cheated I needed chicken cutlets to help fill me out a bit

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
August 24, 2015
I felt and looked like a princess. I would definitely rent this dress again!

The dress was true to size. I am a size 2 and wore the 2 dress. It was a little tight around the bust (32D) but other than that it was perfect! I received so many compliments from the dress!! I would love to rent it again!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 26, 2015
Amazing dress! Everyone loved it as much as I loved wearing it!!

I wore this dress for my bridal shower for a pop of color. It was amazing and went with my Palm Springs/ flamingo theme. It caught everyone by surprise and was definitely a showstopper type of dress. I'm usually a 10 and ordered an 8 as backup. There is no way the 8 would have worked. The 10 was a little more snug on top than I'm used too, but I guess that was fine since it was strapless and had to keep the 'girls' in place. Received tons of compliments even way after the shower. You'll definitely get noticed in this dress! Highly recommend!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
September 26, 2015
Complemented galore, but dress has been well loved

I'm a true 6. Wore a 4. It is an amazing dress...very dramatic. But it has seen better days. Should be retired soon. Pros: Pockets Fit great...has internal mesh bra Color is vibrant Cons: Had 4+ snags in basketweave, hot pink fabric. Couldn't see from far or in pics. Boning was pushing through and hurt. Covered bottoms that poked with band aids and was good. The weight of fabric was pulling interior and sagging. No amount of steaming could make it straight. You couldn't see from far.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 28, 2015
Super easy to get and return.

Fit very well! Heavy fabric but not too hot. Plus it has pockets which is so amazing. Got compliments all night long.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 22, 2015
Simple process. Selected this dress 5 days before the event. Arrived on time. Return was easy.

The 2 was a little too small and the 4 was slightly too big, but with some well placed safety pin and some tape the dress stayed in place the whole night. It did have some significant wrinkles in the bottom, so I did need to heavily steam it to get it to the point of being able to wear it.

Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
October 28, 2015
#beautiful

I rented this for a formal banquet and it was amazing. I received tons of compliments about the dress. It fit well and was true to size. The top was tight but it stretched out as I wore it. I don't have a large bust so it fit like a glove. It was a little wrinkled when it first arrived but I was able to steam them right out.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2015
Beautiful dress. Love the pockets. Tight in the ribcage

I really enjoyed wearing this dress but I could never pull it up high enough to feel comfortable dancing. The tightest part was in the ribcage. Loved the pockets and I wore cowboy boots with it.

Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2015
Perfectly fun but still formal gown for a black-tie wedding!

Elegant shape & fabric to keep it appropriate but the color & pockets keeps it youthful and fun that you can't help but twirl. The bust was very snug as I am 34D but the 10 was too baggy and would lose its shape so I forced the 8. It was tight enough to stay up while dancing all night while I'm sure the 10 would have been slipping. Unfortunately had some cuts from the boning around my ribs but at least I knew the dress wouldn't move. Length was perfect... I'm 5'2" and wore 3 1/2" heels. Perfect dress for the perfect occasion!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Party
December 19, 2015
Looking amazing

I loved this dress. I felt amazing in it. I wore it to my companies Holiday party and received a ton of compliments. Everything with shipping was easy and I couldn't have been happier w/ this purchase

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
January 2, 2016
Lovely dress, great for pear shapes

Dress fit perfectly for a 38b without a bra. This was a replacement dress for my original NYE choice which didn't fit. While this dress is beautiful, I felt like my shoulders and back were very accentuated and to me it was unflattering compared to other dress choices I had purchased. This is a great dress and if the neckline were just a little different or had some other detail to break up my décolleté, I would have felt better in it. The fabric also felt more appropriate for a daytime wedding or cocktail party, as it was kind of textured and flat looking (not shiny or even glimmery).

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 17, 2016
So beautiful and it has pockets!!

This was my first time using RTR and I would absolutely do it again!! Such an easy process and the dress was stunning. I attended a gala to benefit Alex's lemonade stand and received so many compliments on the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
February 4, 2016
So many complements, helped ease the discomfort from the dress.

This is a beautiful dress. I'm usually a 2, so I ordered a 2 and 4 backup. The 2 was tight and had a piece of boning poking through the bodice and into my skin, but the four was too loose in the top, and I was afraid I was going to spend the night adjusting my dress. Went with the 2, no bra. Tons of complements all night. Loved the way the train swept and moved when I walked. But was also really glad to take it off at the end of the night so I could breathe again! Beauty is pain!

Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
February 21, 2016
Dress was gorgeous, color really popped and I got compliments all night long.

Wore this on a cruise for a wedding and it was perfect. Fun colors, cool high/low style and pockets! The fit was a little weird - the bust was huge, like it was stretched out. I'm a 32C and I swear you'd have to be a DD to fill it out without significant padding. It stayed up due to the (rather uncomfortable but not unexpectedly so) stays in the bustier top, but by the end of the night it had stretched out more so when I lifted my arms I almost came all out. I would rent this again and would encourage others to as well, but it's not a put it on and forget it kind of dress - you can tell you're wearing a formal gown if you know what I mean. You'll make a fabulous entrance though, and the skirt billows out beautifully when you walk.Wore this on a cruise for a wedding and it was perfect. Fun colors, cool high/low style and pockets! The fit was a little weird - the bust was huge, like it was stretched out. I'm a 32C and I swear you'd have to be a DD to fill it out without significant padding. It stayed up due to the (rather uncomfortable but not unexpectedly so) stays in the bustier top, but by the end of the night it had stretched out more so when I lifted my arms I almost came all out. I would rent this again and would encourage others to as well, but it's not a put it on and forget it kind of dress - you can tell you're wearing a formal gown if you know what I mean. You'll make a fabulous entrance though, and the skirt billows out beautifully when you walk.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
February 23, 2016
Beautiful color and fit!

Loved the fit. I have a small top and a wide bottom and it for like a glove. I never felt like it was lose or getting out of place. I had so many compliments on the dress and many people asking to take a photo. :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2016
I felt like a princess!

I wore this for my birthday party but actually tried it on every day prior to the party. It was perfect except a little roomy in the chest area so I need to keep hitching it up on occasion.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2016
Beautiful, but too big for an A cup

This dress is beautiful and would be PERFECT for a cocktail or formal wedding. It also comes with a bra made into the bust, which makes it a breeze to wear and not worry about a thing! One tiny problem: If you have a small bust this dress is not for you. I usually fit into a 0 perfectly, but this dress is made for a mid-B cup or larger. Overall, I would recommend this dress to anyone, but it just needs a disclaimer on the bust :). Also, be prepared to wear decently high heels if you're on the short side.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
March 20, 2016
Bright, cheerful, unique!

Originally I had requested the long version but that ended up not being available for shipment so I received the regular instead (after a 100% awesome bit of customer care). I wore the dress to a Breakfast at Tiffany's themed charity ball and definitely stood out from the sea of black. As other reviewers mentioned, there is some awkward boning but I solved that with a longline strapless bra and some high-waisted panties. I am usually a size 14 and this dress was no different - fit like a glove! I completed the Holly Go Lightly look with Kate Spade's Color Pop Statement Studs and received compliments all night.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 6, 2016
everyone loved it . Truly unique . Comfortable. Loved the pockets .made dancing a lot of fun .

Perfect for a spring wedding. It was a hit and fit well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 10, 2016
Amazing dress! Lots of compliments, felt beautiful and POCKETS!

The fabric itself was more lush in person, there is a subtle embossing on the dark pink portion that makes it very rich. I was very surprised I ended up wearing the 10 as I am smaller on top. The 8 probably could have worked in terms of bust size, however, because of my height and long torso the fabric of the bodice was proportionally too short/small for me. I looked like a giant in a petite woman's dress. With that being said the 10 was too big in the bust, so I hiked up my girls and taped them and added some chicken cutlets to help the dress stay up. Overall it worked, and you would have never known. Can't wait for my next event to try something else!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
April 10, 2016
This dress was a gorgeous color, beautiful material, and so unique. I received compliments all night

The dress was stunning! The color is amazing especially if you get a good tan before you wear! The chest area was very tight on me so if your busty definitely order a size up. That was my only complaint. I am so happy I ordered this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Pear
April 18, 2016
One of a kind!

I loved this dress! I'm 5'7" and wore 3" heels and luckily the regular worked for the length I wanted (I ordered both longs but got regulars). It runs exactly true to size. I received compliments all night long; even from the uber driver! The one criticism I have on RTR is they all come so wrinkled. The dress I wore was brand new (tag still on it from the manuf/designer) and it looked like it had been in a small box for weeks. I was so afraid to iron it but had to and none of the wrinkles came out. Luckily, my mini steamer did the trick. This is a great dress!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×