Gladiolus Dress

$105 – $115 rental
$798 retail
Stylist Notes

This bright feminine dress by ML Monique Lhuillier feels fresh with an asymmetric hemline and pockets. Try Kenneth Jay Lane's Silver Leaf Earrings to help dress up and finish off the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: One length available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'')

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Pink and blush faille (100% Poly Faille). Strapless. Straight neckline. Asymmetrical contrast hemline. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Partially lined. Imported. See size and fit tab for length. Imported.

Share
284 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(117)
Small
(40)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2016
Too tight through chest. Needed a larger size fit chest. Really bummed it did not work.
Too small
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2016
Fun elegant and modern
I don't think I've ever had so much fun in a dress or garnered so much attention. I received compliments for days on the color and style of this dress. It photographs so beautifully. And best of us, it has pockets!! If you are even considering this dress, pull the trigger right now. U won't regret it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2016
Stunning! Gorgeous dress!
Tons of compliments. The pink color of the dress is sensational.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 26
September 23, 2016
What is not to love?
I ordered two sizes, I am usually a size ten however I had read people mentioned to size up and I did. I ordered a size 12 and a backup 14. I have an hourglass figure and a 36 DDD so I knew that the bust section would be a bit of a problem. The size 12 fit but it was a little bit too tight on the bust and created that muffin top effect so I went for the size 14 and it fit just right. I am 5'4 and I used 3 in heels and the dress just about touched the floor. Outstanding dress, everyone will be eyeing you all night! It was my first time using rent the runway and it all was really easy. The only catch was that I did notice the size 14 had a sizable tear on the dress that I adjusted with a couple of pins so no one would notice it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 178lbs
September 18, 2016
Showstopper
Received a lot of complements for the dress. Has a built in bra. Not too long I the back. I felt like a million bucks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 9, 2016
Stood out in a sea of black
The other reviews said this dress was made a size or two smaller, especially if you have a large chest (36D) so I was extremely nervous by just renting the 10 & 12. Im usually a 10, but the reviews made me feel like I may even need a 14. I tried on the 12 first thinking there was no way the 10 would even zip. The 12 fit a little loose up top to the point where I had to keep pulling it up as I walked around my apartment. The 10 fit perfect. I didn't wear a bra with it, but I could have. I liked the snug fit Bc I didn't have to keep pulling the top up all night. I received tons of compliments on it. I would have given 5 stars except both dresses had stains on them and were picked - just not really noticeable unless I pointed it out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 6, 2016
Feminine
If you want this dress to fall like it does on the RTR model, be sure to be at least 5'7. I'm 5'4 and this gorgeous dress just skimmed the ground with my 2-3 inch heels. The bodice was just slightly loose on me; if I hadn't planned on dancing, I would have easily skipped the strapless bra. Since I wanted to dance, I added the bra to help keep it up. The skirt is a lot of fabric, so it can be warm, so keep that in mind. The brighter pink has a nice, subtle texture to it. Overall, it is an absolutely stunning dress. I got a lot of compliments while wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 1, 2016
Beautiful dress, but difficult to wear.
This dress is beautiful in person, and definitely makes a statement, but it is not a "toss it on & go" dress. It is definitely a two-person job to get this zipped and closed properly. I was in between sizes - the 8 was just a little too tight and made me feel very uncomfortable with the amount of cleavage; the 10 fit better, but unfortunately there were some broken pieces of boning that made it unbearably uncomfortable. I was able to wrap some medical tape around the broken pieces so that they didn't scratch me or poke into me and then I was able to wear it without any problems. This dress is a good option for anyone on the shorter side who needs something for a black-tie wedding. On me this was a floor-length dress in the back - I can't rent true floor-length gowns because they are just too long, but this was perfect with a pair of heels (about 3 inches was enough for me).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 24, 2016
Very snug on chest, but beautiful dress!
The bust of the dress was VERY tight. I wear a 34A bra normally, and it was uncomfortably tight on the band. There is a bra clasp inside the bra, which I was relieved to find at first (having a small bust, I'm usually stuck pulling up strapless dresses by the end of the night). I would definitely go up a size if you're bustier than 34A. It was a little hard to steam out the wrinkles from being shipped, but all in all, it was a gorgeous dress and I received many compliments! I recommend this for maybe a younger girl (I'm 26 and felt a little too princessy for my liking) but it is an elegant dress and I felt like I looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 160lbs
August 23, 2016
Great dress
I went up 1 size than my usual size. I don't have boobs so I got some sticky bra cups from target and that worked out. I could see if you have boobs there could be a problem - the top of the dress doesn't go up too high and they could spill out. The rib cage area was snug but still flexible. The front of the dress was perfect and the back was a tab bit long with 3in heels, but I am 5'2". All in all, great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 22, 2016
Statement dress!
This dress absolutely makes a statement! Wore this for my SIL's formal rehearsal dinner, I received countless compliments. Perfect dress for a "formal" event that doesn't call for a floor length gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167lbs
August 21, 2016
Compliments about my dress all night long!
That dress is stunning. I ended up wearing the 10R and it was perfect. It came in a little wrinkly so I had to drop it to the dry cleaner for a quick press. $8 later it was beautiful and silky again! I had so many great compliments all night long, it was a show stopper. If you want to make a statement, go for it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138lbs
August 21, 2016
Trying it for a bridesmaid dress but its was too pink.
I love this dress! I felt like a princess and will definitely rent this again. You don't have to wear a bra as there is sufficient coverage and the bodice is pretty tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
August 17, 2016
The color was so fresh and bright. I kept getting compliments on the dress all evening!
The hem has horsehair netting to help the gorgeous flair of the skirt which is easily creased during shipping. I pressed it through a towel with a dry, low iron and it uncreased beautifully. The fit was very comfortable for a long gala. I sat & danced and was always comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2016
LOVED, but too big
I wore this look to a black tie wedding (110' feels like temp!). It was perfect for the affair. It was a true show stopper. I received compliments all evening and felt like a princess. That being said, I was tugging on it all night. I have a small frame and bust, but after reading the reviews I thought that I would be okay from ordering the 2R. A lot of reviews stated to order a size up so I ordered the 4R as a backup. The 2R fit nicely on my ribs and torso, but I believe due to my (or lack thereof) chest, it was too big. I did everything I could to try and keep it up and fill in the gaps, but I wasn't as successful as I would have liked. I didn't have the same experience that everyone else was having with the tight boning in the ribcage. I was pretty self conscious about my gapping bust line, but it didn't stop me from dancing and enjoying myself. Even though this look was pretty big on me, I still would wear it again, just probably in a 0R or 2P! If you have a smaller bust, consider ordering a size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
August 14, 2016
Fun dress!
It fit well and was fun for a black tie optional wedding in the summer. The bodice in the dress begins to hurt by the end of the night but otherwise no complaints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
August 8, 2016
Pinkalicious.... Pink.. Pink.. Pink.. Perfect Pink!
This was one of my favorite dresses from RTR! I hosted a summer cocktail party and it was the PERFECT hostess dress, the dress is very formal but can be dressed up or down. I'm obsessed with RTR! I'm so glad that RTR is helping bring fashion and glamour back to parties! Everyone should get dressed up at least once a year.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
August 4, 2016
Flirty, fun dress
I didn't wind up wearing this. I just didn't love how it fit me on top even though I sized up, which you should definitely do if you're bustier. Super fun high-low and hit me just right even though I'm short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
August 3, 2016
Showstopper with pockets
This dress is stunning on and as everyone else says it has pockets which was awesome at a wedding for my phone etc. there is a boning in the chest area of the dress that stabs into you and scratches you. That was uncomfortable but I was willing to put up with it for how it looked on me. You do not need a bra it has a built in bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Age: 30
August 1, 2016
Felt like a princess all night.
This is a fairytale dress. The color. The way the train whisks and glides with every step. Even the bride asked where I got it! I'm giving it 4 stars because my chest would not stay tucked in all night and I constantly had to readjust. Also, part of the built-in bra was broken and plastic pieces jabbed my skin all night which was painful. Despite this, the dress was amazing, and fits true to size. I generally wear size 8 because I like looser fitting clothing but the 8 in this dress was too big. I would highly recommend it along with a pair of very high heels if you're short like me! (I wore 7")
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
July 30, 2016
a WOW dress!
I received compliments all night on this dress! it is def a wow dress! was the perfect dress for the wedding i attended at a winery. gorgeous color and looked great on sunkissed skin. no need to wear a bra, one is build in. the dress does come wrinkled and needed to be steamed but as you can see, towards the end of the night the dress is wrinkled anyways - it's just the type of material. i normally wear a size 4 but wore the 2 because it fit better on top (I am smaller on top). Will def rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
July 21, 2016
Overall, great dress! Gorgeous color and style with pockets!
This dress was great and made me feel beautful! I am a fan of pink and I would say this is HOT PINK in person, which I loved! It fit very true to size, but would be ideal for gals with a small bust. That being said, I just had a lot of cleavage and did have to pull it up while dancing, but it wasn't enough that it really bothered me. I am 5'2" and broke my toe 2 days before the wedding, so I could not wear heels, but the dress JUST skimmed the floor, so I would think this is great for people of all heights. My one complaint was that it did arrive pretty wrinkled (the bottom material wrinkles easily and it was folded for shipment, so I get it) so I did iron it a bit before the event. But it was a great dress that I received tons of compliments on!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
July 15, 2016
I loved wearing this dress - total showstopper
I've got smaller shoulders and bigger hips, so this dress worked well for my body type. Fitted beautifully on top, with plenty of room for what my mama gave me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
July 12, 2016
Too small in bust, couldn't wear :(
I was so disappointed. I'm usually a 4, but not even the 6 would fit in the bust. Had to get an emergency shipment and wore something else
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 29
July 10, 2016
Compliments all night!
Show stopper dress Definitely made for shorter girls, I'm 5'3" and the bottom just skimmed the ground with 3" heels. My 5'9" friend tried it on and was way too short. Great for a smaller bust, went bra-less due to inclosure in the top. Pockets are a huge plus! Didn't need a clutch! A little heavier material than I imagined, may be too hot for a midsummer outdoor wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
July 4, 2016
The dress was beautiful. I received compliments all night.
The bust was a little big, maybe stretched out from previous uses. I should've ordered a 12 instead of a 14. The bottom of the dress needed to be pressed out. It came pretty wrinkled.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 174lbs
June 30, 2016
I never thought a 14 would EVER run this small but, it did!
I read the reviews and saw that it was small in the bust and to order up. But, I NEVER thought a size 14R dress would EVER be too small on my usual size 10-12 self. It wouldn't zip over my boobs AT ALL. Crazy unforgiving material. No give in the fabric at all. I do have a 36F bust but still surprising. If you have a smaller chest though, it's a gorgeous color and style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 198lbs
June 29, 2016
pretty, well made, runs small
it was too tight for me around the upper waist and boob area, normally a 16, might need 18
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 27, 2016
Obsessed!
Ultimately this dress ended up being too dressy for the wedding I was attending, but I was heartbroken that I couldn't wear it! It is sooo beautiful and so well made! I am now hoping/searching for a reason to wear it! I do agree with the other reviews to size up, especially if you have a larger chest. I'm usually a 4 and rented a 6 which worked perfectly
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
June 23, 2016
Photogenic, great color, high drama skirt... loved it.
a little tight in the bust, super flattering, really easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2016
THE most amazing dress, ever!
This is not a dress I would normally choose for myself - I don't usually like strapless dresses on my body and pink isn't always a color I gravitate toward - but this dress was absolutely beautiful and flattering in every way. The fabric is sturdy and structured, and the shape of the dress is incredible! I discovered the pockets after receiving the rental which was awesome at a wedding.. I got compliments all night long, I cannot say enough about what a successful rental this was!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
June 18, 2016
I'm not boasting but I SLAYED!
This was my first-time using RTR and it could not have been a more fun, simple and seamless process! Now about this freaking A-MAZZZZ-ING dress - it was a nice cotton blend with a satin finish. I ordered the 4p and 6p based on other reviews. I'm 5'4 and 125 lbs with most of my weight in my butt and thighs. Because I'm itty-bitty up top (34a), technically the 4p fit perfectly but the train didn't flow the way the 6p did. So I went with the 6. There was a faint semblance of a built-in bra but it didn't help anything. I found myself pulling it up a few times throughout the night, especially when dancing, but as gorgeous as it was, I just went with it. You can get some cups or tape to alleviate the issue but trust me, you want this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
June 18, 2016
Dress
Perfect fit, loved how unique it is. Lots of compliments, great pockets
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
June 17, 2016
LOVE.
Boning is nice, pockets are on point! Loved the color. The bottom has a structured (horsehair?) material that makes it have a fun shape. There were itty bitty tears on the pockets and some small snags on the material if you inspect the dress up close. This was my first rental so I called to make sure RTR knew I didn't do it! I wasn't looking for a new dress or anything, just wanted them to be aware, and the customer service rep was SO nice- she sent me a $25 credit on my next order because it wasn't in pristine condition. No one else would have been that close to the dress to see the minor imperfections, but the rep insisted on sending a credit to try RTR again. Great experience, great dress. Lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
June 16, 2016
Pretty dress but the bust is small
I rented this dress for a wedding but I did not end up wearing it. While the fabric and color of the dress were beautiful, the bust was far too tight! After reading previous reviews I ordered a size larger than I normally wear to make sure it would fit in the bust, and it still did not fit. I'm a 36D and I was barely able to fasten a size 14 over my bust. It's too bad though, it was a beautiful dress and I would have loved to where it otherwise.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 15, 2016
Loved it!
Fun to dance in, tons of compliments. I'm 5'4" and wore 3 inch heels and it was just barely off the ground. You will need to iron it upon arrival
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 14, 2016
Fit and style is amazing !! Did not want to return !! Loved pockets !
Runs small ordered 8 and 10 wore 10 !! Would rent again !!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
June 9, 2016
Summer perfection
I wore this for a wedding on the water and this dress was perfect. I had so many people ask me where I found such a beautiful dress. It was comfortable, easy to dance in, and looked like summer. I wore a size 8 and it fit great, however, I think it runs a little small. This dress does need to be steamed before it is worn in order to not have wrinkles in it, so plan ahead.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
June 9, 2016
Felt amazing!
True to the size. It looked amazing. I felt amazing. I had to send to dry cleaning before using it. Was wrinkled on the bottom. But RTR covered the cost.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 7, 2016
Fabulous color!
Took some work to get the dress to lay right but after some steaming and a couple of safety pins, it looked great! Love the movement when you walk. Perfect for a spring gala!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×