Gladiolus Dress

$95 – $115 rental
$798 retail
Stylist Notes

This bright feminine dress by ML Monique Lhuillier feels fresh with an asymmetric hemline and pockets. Try Kenneth Jay Lane's Silver Leaf Earrings to help dress up and finish off the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: One length available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'')

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Pink and blush faille (100% Poly Faille). Strapless. Straight neckline. Asymmetrical contrast hemline. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Partially lined. Imported. See size and fit tab for length. Imported.

Share
296 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(122)
Small
(41)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2016
I felt like a princess!

I wore this for my birthday party but actually tried it on every day prior to the party. It was perfect except a little roomy in the chest area so I need to keep hitching it up on occasion.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2016
Beautiful, but too big for an A cup

This dress is beautiful and would be PERFECT for a cocktail or formal wedding. It also comes with a bra made into the bust, which makes it a breeze to wear and not worry about a thing! One tiny problem: If you have a small bust this dress is not for you. I usually fit into a 0 perfectly, but this dress is made for a mid-B cup or larger. Overall, I would recommend this dress to anyone, but it just needs a disclaimer on the bust :). Also, be prepared to wear decently high heels if you're on the short side.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
March 20, 2016
Bright, cheerful, unique!

Originally I had requested the long version but that ended up not being available for shipment so I received the regular instead (after a 100% awesome bit of customer care). I wore the dress to a Breakfast at Tiffany's themed charity ball and definitely stood out from the sea of black. As other reviewers mentioned, there is some awkward boning but I solved that with a longline strapless bra and some high-waisted panties. I am usually a size 14 and this dress was no different - fit like a glove! I completed the Holly Go Lightly look with Kate Spade's Color Pop Statement Studs and received compliments all night.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 6, 2016
everyone loved it . Truly unique . Comfortable. Loved the pockets .made dancing a lot of fun .

Perfect for a spring wedding. It was a hit and fit well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 10, 2016
Amazing dress! Lots of compliments, felt beautiful and POCKETS!

The fabric itself was more lush in person, there is a subtle embossing on the dark pink portion that makes it very rich. I was very surprised I ended up wearing the 10 as I am smaller on top. The 8 probably could have worked in terms of bust size, however, because of my height and long torso the fabric of the bodice was proportionally too short/small for me. I looked like a giant in a petite woman's dress. With that being said the 10 was too big in the bust, so I hiked up my girls and taped them and added some chicken cutlets to help the dress stay up. Overall it worked, and you would have never known. Can't wait for my next event to try something else!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
April 10, 2016
This dress was a gorgeous color, beautiful material, and so unique. I received compliments all night

The dress was stunning! The color is amazing especially if you get a good tan before you wear! The chest area was very tight on me so if your busty definitely order a size up. That was my only complaint. I am so happy I ordered this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Body type: Pear
April 18, 2016
One of a kind!

I loved this dress! I'm 5'7" and wore 3" heels and luckily the regular worked for the length I wanted (I ordered both longs but got regulars). It runs exactly true to size. I received compliments all night long; even from the uber driver! The one criticism I have on RTR is they all come so wrinkled. The dress I wore was brand new (tag still on it from the manuf/designer) and it looked like it had been in a small box for weeks. I was so afraid to iron it but had to and none of the wrinkles came out. Luckily, my mini steamer did the trick. This is a great dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
April 21, 2016
Perfect for our engagement pictures!!

This dress was perfect for our spring engagement session! The color and material were gorgeous, and it has pockets! There is no stretch to the dress, so I would recommend getting your true size and one size up. It also had enough support for no bra (I'm a 34C). The train was a little long in the back even with my 4 inch heels, but it made for a really nice dramatic effect for our pictures! Loved this dress!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 25, 2016
I received compliments ALL night! The dress was a hit!

I normally wear either a size 4 or 6. I ordered both after reading the reviews and seeing that there was a built in bra. I'm smaller on top so didn't want something that'd be falling down all night. The 4R fit like a glove. The zipper was a little tricky so you'll definitely need someone to help you zip it up. There is wiring in the front top of the dress that at first was poking into my rib cage, but I easily shifted the wire and had no problem the rest of the night. The color is a true pink so perfect for spring/summer wedding. This was my first experience with RTR and it was great!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
April 25, 2016
Comfortable statement dress perfect for formal wedding

Bust/chest is small so it was a perfect fit for a gal who is curvy but small-chested. Plenty of room in the hips AND pockets! I'm 5'2" and wore 4" heels and the length was perfect. Compliments all night for a formal 6pm wedding.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 26, 2015
Everyone loved the dress

Fits a bit tight in the rib cage compared to the chest area. There is an inside bra that helps with them but can still be a bit loose. I am 5 foot and the length seems perfect to me.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
May 6, 2015
The perfect pink dress!!

The dress was honestly so breathtaking in real life. So much so that I didn't want to take it off once we got home from the races! I received compliments from everyone and more importantly I felt beautiful wearing it. I honestly loved it so much Id rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 18, 2015
Was the wow dress at the wedding!

This dress was stunning. Fit was comfy, a bit lower cut in the back than expected and to top it off then dress had pockets!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
May 25, 2015
This dress is very striking! I got a ton of compliments and it was a lot of fun to wear!

The dress runs very small I am normally a 10 and had to size up to a 14. It was over all very flattering once I had the proper size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
June 15, 2015
I received so many compliments on this dress all night!

The dress was a slightly heavier material than I anticipated but it looked exactly how it was pictured. It was pretty wrinkled from the packaging but steamed easily.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 21, 2015
Breathing is overrated

I agree with most of the other reviews. Pretty dress, color is a little pinker than the stock photo. Bust runs small. I'm 34D with a wide back and rib cage and breathing in the size 6 was difficult but I wore it anyway! I felt very secure in the dress. Does have a low neckline. I was more self conscious about that than anything else. I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 4 that arrived was filthy (I already let rtr know) and thankfully didn't fit at the top. At the top back zipper I had about a 4" gap that wouldn't close so it made me nervous about how the 6 would fit. The 6 had about an 1.5-2" gap at top zipper that my husband was able to zip me. I was afraid to size up in fear the 8 would be too big at the top.. Everyone was jealous of my pockets. And while I couldn't take deep breathes due to the snug fit up top, it was overall a lovely dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 20, 2015
Added boots to make this 'southern chic'!

I rented this for what I thought was a semi formal cocktail party...I then found out the dress code was 'southern chic'. I loved the dress so much, so I decided to just add some boots and own the look! I felt so pretty! I am pear shaped and this dress is super forgiving! There were some wires in the boning that were poking me, but it was otherwise comfortable. The color is amazing! It looked a little frumpy when i first tried it on, but I ironed and steamed out the wrinkles and then it flowed just perfectly! Another RTR dress that did not disappoint!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 26, 2015
Hands down this is a show stopper!

This gown was so amazingly glam & girly! Not to sound cliche but I really felt like a princess. The dress fit pretty true to size overall, but was loose in the bust. I'm a 32 C and at times I had to pull the front up or readjust entirely. Another con is that apparently the boning within the dress left a few scars on my body. My husband noticed (I didn't really feel it) but there were a few scratches on my sides from where the boning had been. Scratches aside, I was completely obsessed with the gown and received compliments all night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
September 12, 2015
Definitely made a statement with this dress!

The bust is cut small so I did feel like I was constantly making sure the girls weren't coming out of it. Overall, got lots of compliments and the back of it is stunning! Long in the back and shorter in front!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 13, 2015
People LOVED this dress!

I usually wear a 4/6, but read reviews saying this dress ran small, so I ordered a 6 & 8 for a backup. The 6 worked great, but I am sure the 4 would have been too small for my bust (I'm a 34D). The dress was beautiful and I loved the pockets. I did have to pull it up throughout the night a lot, which got annoying, and may be an issue with bustier women, but it certainly was worth it. Definitely would recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2015
This dress received more compliments than any other dress I've ever worn !!

The fit of the dress is very comfortable, and has good support for your chest. I would definitely suggest sizing up a dress size if you are more chesty like myself. I'm a 34 DD , 5'5 and 130ish pounds. I usually wear a 4 but definitely needed the 6.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 14, 2016
Felt like a princess

The dress is much more lovely in person. I recently had a baby and the cut was very flattering and hid the unwanted pounds. I could've worn the 12, but the 14 was way more comfortable. The pockets are a cute idea but not deep enough to be useful. There was no one else in this type of dress at the military ball I attended. The ribbing was coming through when I first put it on but I adjusted it before wearing it out and it didn't cause any discomfort.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Age: 21
April 4, 2016
This dress was absolutely wonderful. I received so many compliments.

I usually wear a 2 so it fit just right. I was worried about it being strapless and not staying up but I never had to pull it up once. It was so light and super easy to dance in. Overall I felt like a princess. The only struggle was when it arrived, it was very wrinkled, but I streamed it and it was good as new.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 11, 2016
Loved how well made the dress was! It is definitely a *show stopping* dress!

I ended up wearing the size 6 instead of the 8. The size 8 fit more comfortably around the ribs, but was definitely loose up top. I couldn't fit a strapless bra underneath it so I just had to squeeze into the size 6. It ended up being fine, as the dress slightly stretched out during the night. Gorgeous dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
April 20, 2016
Small/narrow in ribs/bust.

It looked great, but it was too small. I used a string to keep the 2 up. I needed a 4. Please be mindful of your bustling size even if your breasts aren't large. The material at the bottom of the dress is stiff; I wish I had professionally steamed. I enjoyed wearing it, and I felt pretty. It was the perfect dress for the spring wedding.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
May 10, 2015
Not for busty ladies!

I am a true 12P size. This dress would not zip in a 16 (at the top). If you are larger than a B cup - steer away from this one. :( I was sad as I was really looking forward to this one. Luckily, stylist Brenda selected the perfect replacement. Thanks, Brenda!!

Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 178lbs
August 14, 2015
Immediate princess feeling.

Gorgeous dress. I went with my second option bc it was an evening wedding, but I will definitely rent this dress for another occasion. I absolutely loved it!

Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2016
I received so many compliments on this dress! I would definitely recommend it!!

I wish I had ordered the 4R as my backup size instead of the 8R. I am busty and was worried after I read all of the reviews that this dress was not for busty girls so I went up a size. The 6R worked out but I would have liked the bust to have been slightly smaller. Regardless, it's still the most fantastic dress I have ever worn and a great Rent the Runway first time experience!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 10, 2016
Show stopper!

I rented this dress for a family wedding. The color is incredible and would flatter a wide range of skin tones. I was concerned about the high-low hem since I am so short but it was not an issue - in fact I ended up in LOVE with it. The fit however was an issue. I found the dress to run large - especially in the bust. As a 36C I have never had a problem filling out a bustline. Unfortunately I felt uncomfortable the entire evening and spent a lot of time tugging the dress up. Because the fabric is very thick, we could not get pins to help with the slack. Despite the dress being too large, I received a ton of compliments. I would absolutely rent this again...just in a size down next time. If you are considering this dress (and you should!) order your normal size and one size down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 22, 2016
Beautiful shape and color

Received many compliments all night long. The color and style really stand out. The material is also a very nice satin that flows nicely when you walk.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 29, 2016
Beautiful and fun dress!

This is exactly the type of dress I love from RTR because it's gorgeous and fun, but it would be tough to wear again! I had someone take a picture of me in the parking lot because they loved the dress so much!! I had to size up, because of the girls. I am a 36DD and the 12 didn't want to zip up. I was very hesitant about wearing this dress at first because it is cut low, and I felt like I was hanging out. But my girlfriends convinced me that it was the appropriate amount of boobie and so I was in. We danced all night and although I was pulling up on the dress a bit, it was more because I was self conscious and not because the dress was falling. Oh and, pockets!!!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 7, 2016
Showstopper!

I rented this dress for a formal wedding. I normally wear a 10/12. Ended up wearing the 12, as it was a little tight in the bust. As a shorter girl (4'11) this dress was perfect. The dress has a built in bra, but I still needed to wear a strapless bra. I got so many compliments. People were even stopping me on the street asking me where I got my dress. I can't wait to rent this dress again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 7, 2016
Fabulous color!

Took some work to get the dress to lay right but after some steaming and a couple of safety pins, it looked great! Love the movement when you walk. Perfect for a spring gala!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
June 9, 2016
Felt amazing!

True to the size. It looked amazing. I felt amazing. I had to send to dry cleaning before using it. Was wrinkled on the bottom. But RTR covered the cost.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 14, 2016
Fit and style is amazing !! Did not want to return !! Loved pockets !

Runs small ordered 8 and 10 wore 10 !! Would rent again !!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
June 18, 2016
Dress

Perfect fit, loved how unique it is. Lots of compliments, great pockets

Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 43
June 18, 2016
I'm not boasting but I SLAYED!

This was my first-time using RTR and it could not have been a more fun, simple and seamless process! Now about this freaking A-MAZZZZ-ING dress - it was a nice cotton blend with a satin finish. I ordered the 4p and 6p based on other reviews. I'm 5'4 and 125 lbs with most of my weight in my butt and thighs. Because I'm itty-bitty up top (34a), technically the 4p fit perfectly but the train didn't flow the way the 6p did. So I went with the 6. There was a faint semblance of a built-in bra but it didn't help anything. I found myself pulling it up a few times throughout the night, especially when dancing, but as gorgeous as it was, I just went with it. You can get some cups or tape to alleviate the issue but trust me, you want this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 27, 2016
Obsessed!

Ultimately this dress ended up being too dressy for the wedding I was attending, but I was heartbroken that I couldn't wear it! It is sooo beautiful and so well made! I am now hoping/searching for a reason to wear it! I do agree with the other reviews to size up, especially if you have a larger chest. I'm usually a 4 and rented a 6 which worked perfectly

Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
July 4, 2016
The dress was beautiful. I received compliments all night.

The bust was a little big, maybe stretched out from previous uses. I should've ordered a 12 instead of a 14. The bottom of the dress needed to be pressed out. It came pretty wrinkled.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 30
July 10, 2016
Compliments all night!

Show stopper dress Definitely made for shorter girls, I'm 5'3" and the bottom just skimmed the ground with 3" heels. My 5'9" friend tried it on and was way too short. Great for a smaller bust, went bra-less due to inclosure in the top. Pockets are a huge plus! Didn't need a clutch! A little heavier material than I imagined, may be too hot for a midsummer outdoor wedding.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×