Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$40 rental
$405 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends! Accessorized with Nicole Romano's Crystal Tears of Joy Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

482 reviews

Fit
Small 122
True to Size 343
Large 5
Photos 218
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 9, 2014

Perfect dress for a holiday party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for New Years Eve. It was comfortable and easy to move and dance in.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Feb 12, 2014

Classic and sophisticated dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress and received loads of compliments. The lace detail with the little shimmer was really beautiful and feminine. However, with no stretch the dress definitely runs a little small, especially if you're hippy. I also have to agree with those who commented that the lace was itchy, especially around the neckline. Additionally, the slit in the back had ripped an inch or two from wear and tear so I had to stitch it back up prior to wearing. Overall though I was very happy with this rental and already have another one ordered for an upcoming event!
Catherine
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

Kinda tight but it hides all those "problem areas"

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress looked amazing on, it was a bit tight and after eating at the wedding all night I couldn't wait to get the dress off. The dress has no give on it so what ever size you think you are get the next size bigger. My bust is a 36 D and it fit those ladies perfectly it was in the hips and waist that was tight. The length was amazing, i HATE short dresses and this was a nice in between length for me.
Dina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

Classy, elegant! Looks very expensive!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED this dress. Worn to formal affair and had women coming up to compliment me (total strangers) all night. The detailing on the lace skirt is beautiful and the middle black band really accentuated my waist. Prettier in person; the gold top really sparkles. Fabulous. Will rent this one again.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

Would have been better for a wedding than a bachelorette party.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I know I'm short, but this dress hit right at my knee and the bow at the waist made me feel a bit frumpy with such a long dress. The fabric is all beautiful, shimmery, even the black skirt. The waist and skirt fit well, but the top was big, and that is NEVER an issue for me. The sides were gaping any my bra was visible, even though I'm larger on top. Not what I expected from this dress. Would have made a great day-to-night dress for an afternoon/evening wedding with a cropped cardigan or cropped blazer and transition to reception/party dress.
Margie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 22, 2014

This was my first time renting from RTR and it was a great experience! Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great! Ended up wearing my usual dress size. Was able to wear a regular bra with this dress. Paired it with a bracelet, earrings, and black heels. Would defiantly rent this dress again. I felt great in this dress!!
Lullaby
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Mar 3, 2014

I had so much fun wearing this to my schools semi formal dance

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit really nicely but my arms got a little scratchy from the gold glitter stuff! I loved it and I felt really classy in it!
benay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 5, 2014

loved it!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
waist was really small, was a tight fit, so FYI!!
Sue
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally ordered an 8, but couldn't quite zip it up! I called and had a 10 over nighted to me. Customer Service was great - the dress arrived in plenty of time for my event. The 10 fit perfectly! The dress is beautiful, and I would wear it again in a heartbeat!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 24, 2014

Pretty; more mature look

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my alternate selection for Christmas eve mass. It was very pretty, but I selected my primary dress (Nothing But Lace, Monique Lhuillier) because I felt that the Sweet Madeline dress had a more mature look. The fit was great and it was comfortable but it didn't feel very youthful.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
May 1, 2014

great black and gold colors for my holiday engagement party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
hits below the knee and im 5' 7'' so if you are expecting above the knee you need to be pretty tall, lace detail is even better in person. ribbon on the bow came a little wrinkled
Aash
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 3, 2014

The color looks good on every skin tone :) It's beautiful!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's great! So feminine and really good quality!
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 18, 2014

n/a

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was cute, but it runs really small at the waist. I'm usually an 8-10, but reading the reviews, I rented the 12. There was a lot of material up top but I could barely zip up the waist. I wore it to the wedding, then had to change out of it b/c it was just too tight :/
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
May 23, 2014

UPS ate my shipment

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't get to wear this dress because UPS held the shipment and wouldn't deliver it :(
Erika
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size. Perfect fit in the chest. Would have been a zero if my bottom wasn't larger than my top.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and wore something else.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is not as pretty as it looked in the pictures, it actually looked and felt cheap. I am between a 2 and a 4 and can usually shimmy into a 2 but that was not the case with this dress as the material has no give.
Hayley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
???
Kerri
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

It fit perfectly with the holiday theme of the wedding.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I went up a size because the material had no give and because of the applique it rubbed under the arms a bit so the looser fit was much more comfortable.
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

I ended up not wearing this dress, but it arrived in great condition.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size, and the fabric does not give. Definitely take that into consideration when ordering- I ordered a 4 and a 6- and although the 4 fit better up top, the 6 gave my hips more wiggle room.
Kelsey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Got lots of compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It turned out perfect!
Jami
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

Beautiful summer wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: This was a very pretty dress and fit great. The bow around the center definitely creates very nice shape. True to size. Cons: The black of the skirt portion is not as dark as it appears in the photo. Also, the lace is a little scratchier than I would have liked--bearable, but i like a much softer fabric. Overall, I really liked the dress!
Heather
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Classy Dress - Great Fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and got lots of compliments all night. The band at the waist was a little tight when I first put the dress on, but loosened up ever so slightly during the evening. The gold material at the top of the dress was thicker (and, as others have noted, scratchier) than it looks in the picture, but looked good on.
RNC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 3, 2014

Perfect for a formal holiday party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress looked and felt great (for the most part). The material on the top half was a bit rough and uncomfortable under the arms where it was a little snug. Just the right length for a formal yet fun event, and just the right amount of glitz for the holidays without being too sparkly.
Alexis
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

This dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit true to size and made my waist line look smaller. My legs are long, so when I sat down the dress rode up farther than I would have liked. I received compliments all night long.
Alea
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

Fit well, not too flashy.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This made my waist look tiny! I loved it! The zipper was difficult; at first I thought it was because the 8 was too small but I had issues with the size 10 too. Eventually I got it. The 8 fit perfectly, although I felt a little self-conscious about the tightness over my belly. I just had a baby so that might just be my issue, not the dress. I wore Spanx to help me feel better about it. The length was appropriate but the neckline seemed a little stretched out in front. I couldn't tell if it was from over-wear or if that's the way it was made. It was an itchy/abrasive fabric, so be prepared for that. Overall, I liked the way I looked in it and the way it photographed, and I'd buy it if I could afford it! Worth the extra effort with the zipper and the irritation from the fabric.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Age: 33
Sep 30, 2014

Way too small

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Not for a full bust! I couldn't even zipper this one past my waist. He color is also very gold, not beige as it appears in the photos.
Vaughn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Beautiful dress. Appropriate for the Holidays.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit nicely and was very comfortable.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 10, 2014

I ended up not wearing it and had to return it sadly!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I personally found that I was too short for this dress at 5'3 and did not have a long enough torso as it sat very strangely on my hips. I would not recommend it unless you are at least 5'5. If you are narrow, it will fit you the best.
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

It was perfect for a early winter occasion. I wore it to a wedding rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit well, tight but comfortable and very flattering. Held in your stomach.
Mitra
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

Beautiful dress but very small in the bust

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a gala that I needed a conservative cocktail dress for. The dress is beautiful and would have been perfect if it had fit. I ordered an 8 and 10 and while both fit in the waist and hips I couldn't close the 8 in the bust and the 10 was too tight to be wearable. I'm a c cup and would say if you are more than a b, this might not be the dress for you.
RTR Customer
Oct 17, 2014

The customer service was AWESOME! The dress didn't fit. Within and hour a new dress was shipped out!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress has NO GIVE. I ordered my size because the reviews said it fit true to size. The next size up was not available so I was limited that way had the next size been there that would have been perfect! The customer service was great and sent me two new dresses ASAP!
Ri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 18, 2014

Pretty details!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pretty dress but I ended up wearing my back-up instead (Icing On The Cake Dress). I usually wear a 4 and ordered this in a 4 and 6 since most of the reviews said it runs small. I agree! The 6 was a good fit but the material felt heavy and I just preferred the other dress.
LE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

More than a LBD

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a great dress if you want to stand out in a sea of little black dresses. The top is definitely GOLD. I was hoping it would be more ivory w/gold tones. Nice details with the bow at the waist and the black buttons up the back. Figure flattering!
Jillian
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

Beautiful wedding with great friends

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! Form fitting but classy, gives you pull to move around on the dance floor, gorgeous color, and not overly thick material. Only con- the lace gets a bit scratchy near the underarm area. However, it wasn't uncomfortable enough to make a mark or make me want to change.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

Gorgeous dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish this dress was in my closet! I wore it to an engagement party and loved it. It was just shimmery enough, not over the top. The length was perfect for my height (5'8"). It has no stretch, but fit perfectly. I will definitely consider renting this again in the future!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Pretty, but an odd fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really wanted to like this dress, but it just wasn't for me. The top fit perfectly, but the ribbon around the waist made it look squeezed on and the black "skirt" part was somewhat puffy at the top, givign the impression of bulk.
Mel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

The color and fit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear size 0, but with this one, size 0 runs small, size 2 fits really well. I loved this dress.
krisha
Age: 29
Dec 16, 2014

The dress got here on time and fits perfect

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm usually a size 2 but I wore a size 0 on this one. Felt slightly tight on the bust but I think it looks perfect anyway. I wanted to keep it
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Lovely dress, perfect for an office party.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a lovely, office-appropriate dress - the gold is not at all flashy, and it's not too tight. I think it would look best on someone with more curves than I have. :) It was my back-up dress and I ended up wearing a different one.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×