Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Sweet Madeline Dress

$40 rental
$405 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
539 reviews
Fit
Large5
True to Size375
Small138
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
December 14, 2014
Great dress, the zero fit, but it was tight so I went with the 2.
It's tight like everyone said in the bust area, but besides that it's great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
December 12, 2014
Lovely lace dress for office holiday party
Wore this to my husband's company holiday party and felt great all night. The belt band has no give, like other reviewers have mentioned, so standing was better than sitting, but still a comfortable, conservative dress perfect for an office party. The lining near one of the shoulders was a bit messed up, but that is really my only complaint. Great first experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2014
Material, color and detailing on this dress were very high quality.
The waist fell above my natural waist (not the first time it's happened!) so I had a larger size shipped the next day. The 12 was the only larger size available, it was a bit loose but it worked out. There is no stretch at all in the waistband - so if you tend to have the same problem definitely size up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 9, 2014
The color and fit.
I usually wear size 0, but with this one, size 0 runs small, size 2 fits really well. I loved this dress.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2014
Pretty dress for a holiday party.
I ended up wearing the 0, although much more of the time I wear a 2. It fit well, but the fabric has no give or stretch to it, so when I sat down it felt really tight. Not altogether uncomfortable just tight. The lace under the arms is a little itchy I'm glad I wasn't dancing in it. Beautiful dress! Really great for a holiday party and really nice dressed up with statement jewelry.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2014
Wore this to a Christmas party and received numerous compliments!
Ordered the 4 with a 6 as back up but the under slip was a little tight so the 6 fit perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 6, 2014
Super cute dress! Amazing fabric! Classy!
Great dress for a formal dinner! Loved it! Material is beautiful although the belt could have been nicer... Overall great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 5, 2014
Holiday Festive
Rented this dress for a Christmas party. It was beautiful and very Christmas. I thought it made me look slimmer even though I had been enjoying a lot of holiday cookies. The material was beautiful but a little uncomfortable for my arms. They are a bit sensitive. My son loved the material though. It was also a little tight for sitting. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat though because it was beautiful and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2014
Pretty, but an odd fit
I really wanted to like this dress, but it just wasn't for me. The top fit perfectly, but the ribbon around the waist made it look squeezed on and the black "skirt" part was somewhat puffy at the top, givign the impression of bulk.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2014
Gorgeous dress.
I wish this dress was in my closet! I wore it to an engagement party and loved it. It was just shimmery enough, not over the top. The length was perfect for my height (5'8"). It has no stretch, but fit perfectly. I will definitely consider renting this again in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2014
Beautiful Lace
Wore this to a company holiday party. Pictures do not show the true details this dress. The lace all over the dress is gorgeous. I'm 5'2" and it hit right above my knee and had the conservative yet sexy look I was going for. Received many compliments, even from strangers. The waist doesn't give and felt a little tight after eating. I had to pin the back down a little since my bust didn't fill in the top of the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
November 6, 2014
Beautiful wedding with great friends
This dress was great! Form fitting but classy, gives you pull to move around on the dance floor, gorgeous color, and not overly thick material. Only con- the lace gets a bit scratchy near the underarm area. However, it wasn't uncomfortable enough to make a mark or make me want to change.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
October 28, 2014
More than a LBD
This is a great dress if you want to stand out in a sea of little black dresses. The top is definitely GOLD. I was hoping it would be more ivory w/gold tones. Nice details with the bow at the waist and the black buttons up the back. Figure flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
October 23, 2014
Very classy, loved it.
I wore this dress to a formal event/fundraiser for a charity. I am usually a size 4 and couldn't get the zipper up on the side. I wore the six. The dress fits snugly and doesn't give much when you move or get up and down. I understand why some said the material is itchy. It didn't really bother me but I can see how it might bother some. The gold is much more gold than what you see in the pictures and the material was thicker than expected. Overall, I really liked how I felt in the dress and would recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 18, 2014
Pretty details!
Pretty dress but I ended up wearing my back-up instead (Icing On The Cake Dress). I usually wear a 4 and ordered this in a 4 and 6 since most of the reviews said it runs small. I agree! The 6 was a good fit but the material felt heavy and I just preferred the other dress.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
October 17, 2014
The customer service was AWESOME! The dress didn't fit. Within and hour a new dress was shipped out!
The dress has NO GIVE. I ordered my size because the reviews said it fit true to size. The next size up was not available so I was limited that way had the next size been there that would have been perfect! The customer service was great and sent me two new dresses ASAP!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 16, 2014
Beautiful dress but very small in the bust
I rented this dress for a gala that I needed a conservative cocktail dress for. The dress is beautiful and would have been perfect if it had fit. I ordered an 8 and 10 and while both fit in the waist and hips I couldn't close the 8 in the bust and the 10 was too tight to be wearable. I'm a c cup and would say if you are more than a b, this might not be the dress for you.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2014
It was perfect for a early winter occasion. I wore it to a wedding rehearsal dinner.
It fit well, tight but comfortable and very flattering. Held in your stomach.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 13, 2014
Love the back details!
Beautiful dress. I really loved the material design. The gold is just enough to really make the dress pop without over doing it. A tad tight on the top for someone bigger chested which made the zipper very difficult.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2014
I ended up not wearing it and had to return it sadly!
I personally found that I was too short for this dress at 5'3 and did not have a long enough torso as it sat very strangely on my hips. I would not recommend it unless you are at least 5'5. If you are narrow, it will fit you the best.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
October 6, 2014
Beautiful dress. Appropriate for the Holidays.
Fit nicely and was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 4, 2014
Quick service, plus to have a back up size
Great dress. Better in person. Definitely will use RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
October 3, 2014
Worked well for an indoor/outdoor SF wedding, if your not a big dancer.
Rented both the size 4 and 6 went with the 6 because the bottom is bit tighter and I have pretty full hips and butt! The 4 pulled a bit too much for my comfort. However the 6 felt a bit too big on top, liked the fit of the 4 up top more. This is pretty typical for me when it comes to dresses. Went with the 6 because it felt more comfortable to sit in being a touch looser. The look of the dress and length were perfect for the wedding. Wasn't too tight in the middle where the ribbon belt area was. Cons...it is pretty heavily lined and the lace is quite scratchy up top in the armpit area. If your going to dance the night away...it gets pretty hot with the heavy material. Would recommend for a wedding or night out if your not a big dancer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 2, 2014
Classy, flattering dress
I'm glad I ordered a size up! This dress is beautiful. The one I wore had a few snags in the lace and kind of a weird poof on the side where it looked like someone had altered it. The material is a little itchy, but other than that was very nice. Perfect for a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
September 30, 2014
Way too small
Not for a full bust! I couldn't even zipper this one past my waist. He color is also very gold, not beige as it appears in the photos.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141lbs
September 18, 2014
Fit well, not too flashy.
This made my waist look tiny! I loved it! The zipper was difficult; at first I thought it was because the 8 was too small but I had issues with the size 10 too. Eventually I got it. The 8 fit perfectly, although I felt a little self-conscious about the tightness over my belly. I just had a baby so that might just be my issue, not the dress. I wore Spanx to help me feel better about it. The length was appropriate but the neckline seemed a little stretched out in front. I couldn't tell if it was from over-wear or if that's the way it was made. It was an itchy/abrasive fabric, so be prepared for that. Overall, I liked the way I looked in it and the way it photographed, and I'd buy it if I could afford it! Worth the extra effort with the zipper and the irritation from the fabric.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 16, 2014
This dress.
The dress fit true to size and made my waist line look smaller. My legs are long, so when I sat down the dress rode up farther than I would have liked. I received compliments all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 16, 2014
Great dress for a wedding!
This dress fit perfectly and I received so many compliments. Great quality. One recommendation is to put on the dress BEFORE doing your hair and makeup since the dress material does not have much stretch. Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2014
The dress fit well, but was not as flattering as I had hoped for someone like me who has a big bust
Comfortable, and figure hugging, although it was not as flattering for me as my bust I think was a bit too big for the dress. It was not a problem with the dress, more of a problem on my side given my figure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 5, 2014
Great dress!
Fits well looks great but a little scratchy inside around the zipper
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 3, 2014
Perfect for a formal holiday party
The dress looked and felt great (for the most part). The material on the top half was a bit rough and uncomfortable under the arms where it was a little snug. Just the right length for a formal yet fun event, and just the right amount of glitz for the holidays without being too sparkly.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 26, 2014
Classy Dress - Great Fit
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and got lots of compliments all night. The band at the waist was a little tight when I first put the dress on, but loosened up ever so slightly during the evening. The gold material at the top of the dress was thicker (and, as others have noted, scratchier) than it looks in the picture, but looked good on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 17, 2014
Great dress for a formal event!
Loved this dress, although the gold is darker than it appears on the model, so it looks a LITTLE holiday-ish. Overall, it was perfect for a work awards event. I usually wear a 4 or 6 and I ended up wearing the 6... The 4 was too tight in my hips. Great dress- glad I rented it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 10, 2014
Beautiful summer wedding
Pros: This was a very pretty dress and fit great. The bow around the center definitely creates very nice shape. True to size. Cons: The black of the skirt portion is not as dark as it appears in the photo. Also, the lace is a little scratchier than I would have liked--bearable, but i like a much softer fabric. Overall, I really liked the dress!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2014
Got lots of compliments on this dress!
It turned out perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
July 28, 2014
The compliments!
I normally wear a six, but the band was a little too tight for dancing, so I went a size up. The material is beautiful...just a little scratchy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2014
Wore for my engagement party..perfect for a classy look!
The dress is very true to size. The material does not have any stretch to it and it is very fitted. I ordered the 4 and a backup size in a 6 and the 4 was perfect! I ended up having to wear the 6 because the lace on the 4 was torn which sucked! The 6 was fine, just a little loose around the waist but nothing that was a big deal. The two sizes actually were not even that far off in difference. It was still a perfect dress to celebrate our engagement in! Be careful though as the lace gets caught on things very easily! Although i wore the 6 the 4 would have been my overall choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 21, 2014
I ended up not wearing this dress, but it arrived in great condition.
The fit was true to size, and the fabric does not give. Definitely take that into consideration when ordering- I ordered a 4 and a 6- and although the 4 fit better up top, the 6 gave my hips more wiggle room.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 3, 2014
It fit perfectly with the holiday theme of the wedding.
I went up a size because the material had no give and because of the applique it rubbed under the arms a bit so the looser fit was much more comfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 28, 2014
Beautiful dress! Fit like a glove!!
RTR is so easy! You just click a button & a beautiful designer dress appears at your door. I'm a big fan!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×