Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$40 rental
$405 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends! Accessorized with Nicole Romano's Crystal Tears of Joy Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

487 reviews

Fit
Small 124
True to Size 344
Large 5
Photos 220
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 31, 2012

I rented this dress for a friend's wedding & I felt sexy and classy the whole evening!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
When reading the reviews, I was choosing between a size 2 & size 4. I rented both sizes & I ended up choosing the size 2. It was a *little* snug, but it helped accentuate my waist better. The lace was a little itchy under my arms, but the dress looked great so it was totally worth it ;)
Olivia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

The dress was perfect for my company holiday party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the detailed embroidery...it is so much more intricate and stunning in person than in a photo.
NOLA lady
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

Comfortable, flattering, beautiful lace dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in a size 10 and 12 because read the reviews that it runs small. I would agree with that assessment and recommend getting a size bigger than what you normally wear. The dress itself is really beautiful! The lace detail is stunning, both the black and gold aspects. If you have a larger bust I would say this dress may not fit well. While the 12 fit, it didn't work well with my 36 C bust and overall didn't flatter me. Therefore my mother borrowed the size 10 (she usually wears an 8) dress and it looked great on her--as you can see in the picture!. Her body is much more condusive for the dress in that she's taller, more slender, and has a smaller bust. It flattered her figure very much and she loved wearing it!! So the dress complements a woman of any age.
Erica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Great dress! Perfect for holiday parties.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got lots of compliments on this dress and it was very comfortable. I usually wear a 0 or 2, and the 0 fit better, so I'd say this is between true to size and running a tiny bit big. The top portion was a little baggy.
Megan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Gorgeous Dress with amazing lace detail.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I attended a wedding for a college friend and knew I was going to see a lot of old friends from school. I wanted to look my best and saw this dress online and I had to have it! I'm usually between a 4 & 6 and the 6 fit perfectly. (I'm 5'9, 130lbs). The length of the dress was perfect for me but I could see how it might be a little long on someone shorter. Shipping was fast and on-time and the return process was so easy and convenient. I would definitely recommend this dress and rent the runway!
Lacey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 7, 2013

The dress was perfect, my RTR experience was perfect. I couldn't be happier.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a size 0, but I also ordered the size 2, just in case. I'm very glad that I did. The zero was too tight around the rib cage, but the 2 fit wonderfully. It is a little difficult to zip up, even without fit issues. The lace detail is absolutely beautiful. It was just a tad 'fabric-y' in the bust area, but I have a small bust. It wasn't very noticeable, though. The fabric does rub the inside of your upper arms, but it wasn't unbearable. It was longer in length. It's definitely not a mini. The length was like that of a work appropriate pencil skirt. I have to say I felt beautiful, and that doesn't happen very often.
T
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Jan 9, 2013

RTR took the stress out of dress shopping, especially around the holidays!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for NYE! It was figure flattering and great for dancing. I was so thankful for the two dresses sent by RTR. I usually wear a size 8, but I am curvy...my hips tend to be a 10, and my waist is a 6. I wore the 10 because the dress was a little too snug around my hips, but it did not look too big around my waist.
liz
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 15, 2013

LOVED this dress, wore to holiday work party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ordered this dress on a wednesday for my work holiday party on Friday. Had the dress next day, got two sizes just in case but the size 4 fit great, which is the size i usually wear. Dress didn't run big/small. Dress is a great length for a girl who's a little bit taller, which was important! After the party, put the dresses into the pre-stamped envelope and dropped in the mailbox. GREAT experience.. I can't wait to use RTR again!
AmyBeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 18, 2013

Beautiful dress, fun, would wear again

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my company's holiday party. It's a gorgeous dress, perfect for a professional atmosphere. For girls that are heavier on top, it does fit VERY tightly in the chest. You can tell it makes my DD size chest look very small, but it also had the same effect on my waist. Would absolutely recommend!
Kelly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 19, 2013

Great service and was very happy with the dresses they sent!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The smaller size would have fit better but it was a little tight around the ribs so I opted for the larger of the two sizes.
victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

Fit perfectly!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress--very festive and charming. Cute accent bow at the waist that you really can't see in the photos. A tiny bit big at the neckline for me but nothing major. Perfect length and lined very well.
Andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 25, 2013

I loved the dress! It was perfect for the occasion and fit true to size

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This wasn't my first pick, but when it arrived I fell in love. Such a beautiful dress, gorgeous material, comfortable, and definitely flattering. Not the easiest dress to put on if you are worried about messing up your hair. It zips on the side and only has a small hole to slip your head through. I had my hair done earlier that day and had to redo it after putting on the dress. Other than that, I highly recommend the dress.
McCall
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 26, 2013

I loved the quality of the dress and the style, BUT the fabric hurts your underarms!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was tight around your high waste and pretty loose in the boobs. I am a b/c cup and there was some room in the top. The bottom lays beautifully and the quality is great! The fabric is really itchy though and because its sleeveless it rubbed against my arms all night and drove me crazy!
Antonella
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

I was very pleased the way it looked on me

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I had so many compliments with this dress,I would definitelly rent again.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

Lovely dress, good price, and using RTR couldn't be easier!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall a very nice dress, especially the skirt. I felt like the top part wasn't as flattering, but maybe it's just me. The lace is a bit itchy under the arms, but not too bad. The zipper is a little stubborn where the two fabrics meet, but just be patient and you'll get there!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Feb 10, 2013

Lace + Sparkles = Happy New Year!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is lovely. It looks like a party and moves like a party. However, the shoulders cut in at the top, sort of forming a triangle rather than the straight lines of a sheath dress.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

The whole transaction from picking the dress to ordering, receiving & sending back was foolproof!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit like a glove and I received so many compliments on it. I added a "stylist surprise" to my order and received earrings that matched better than I ever would have picked out.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Beautiful and Classy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and it was wonderful! I wore this to an evening wedding at the Ritz Carlton.

I loved this dress. I was a little nervous because I know Milly tends to run small - but the 12 fit me really well. I usually am between a 10 and 12 and it was snug zipping up the side near my ribs/chest area, but once it was zipped, I was good to go. The dress is all lace with no stretch. I have an hourglass figure and this dress was good for my curves and I felt really elegant. I also didn't wear a bra, but if I wore this dress again, I might opt for one...or at lease those sticker bra things.

The texture of the dress is really unique and I photographs really well. I didn’t know very many people at the wedding and it was so nice when complete strangers came up to me to compliment my dress.

I will definitely use RTR in the future!!
Cari
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

The service was perfect! The dress showed up exactly when it was supposed to and looked amazing.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered both the size 4 and size 6, just to make sure that I had the right size for the event. Unfortunately, the 6 wasn't available, so I just went with the 4. It was a little tighter in the hips than I would have preferred, but I wasn't completely surprised. I think the 6 would have been better. The whole experience was very smooth.
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Feb 19, 2013

I felt very elegant in this dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for an evening wedding in December. It fit perfectly and was very comfortable. I especially liked the length of it right below the knee and I received several compliments!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 23, 2013

Nice Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very elegant. The zipper was incredibly hard to close. I had to get a friend to zip it up for me - and even with the 2 of us, it was difficult. I wound up wearing the 6 because we were afraid of ripping the zipper on the 4. The lace does itch under the arm, but only on the side with the zipper. The rest of the dress is very comfortable. I wore it with black shoes.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

I absolutely loved this dress. It fit me perfectly!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear to a Mardi Gras charity event with my husband. The dress arrived as promised. I typically wear a 2 after reading the dress description I chose to order the 2 & 4. The size 2 fit me perfectly. The description of the dress was 100% accurate. I received several compliments throughout the night about the dress. I have already started shopping on RTR for my next event in March. I would and do definitley reccomend RTR to all of my friends and anyone I know looking to wear designer gowns for Any Occassion at an affordable price. Thanks RTR
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was actually my back up dress and I happened to have a second occasion to wear it that weekend. It was a bit snug, but not uncomfortably so. The lace was a bit scratchy around my neck, but other than that quite comfortable!
Katlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Dress looked great

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Gold top was a little tight and the material is slightly itchy.
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

I wore this dress to my husband's company formal in Salt Lake City. It was sexy but conservative...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hard to zip because material is thick, but wouldn't stop me from wearing again. It is very well made and very comfortable to sit in etc.
KMBVa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 11, 2013

Wore to a graduation banquet--felt classy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Definitely classy for the occasion, but my own mother described as a bit "matronly." I have to agree--wish it was just a little shorter. I'm 5'4 and more legs than torso. was a little tight but the 4 would definitely have been too big--problem was in the bust.
Janel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

This was perfect for my friends wedding reception!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly. I really recommend this to everyone. The only con was that the lace on the dress was a little itchy. But it didn't bother me that much. It was the right length and it was perfect for a fall wedding in New York. LOVED IT!
Dashe
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 20, 2013

Great dress and got a ton of complements!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Was very true to size and easy to dance in.
Kimmie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

The dress was gorgeous, couldn't be happier. Got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size 4 fit better on the bust area, but it was tight on the hips. So I decided to wear the 6. Overall is great and comfortable. The lace can be itchy under the arms, and the zipper on the side is tricky, I need an extra help. But I was very happy with overall, I recommend it!
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

Fit was fantastic, classy, excellent condition

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was fantastic, classy, excellent condition - another RTR Winner! :)
Teal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Apr 18, 2013

Classy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal--the theme was black and gold. It fit like a glove, but was a little long for my short height. The top material was also a little scratchy, but not too bad. I got compliments all night!
Kirsten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Apr 19, 2013

Beautiful and stunning

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a Sigma Chi formal at my university. I absolutely loved it! I felt so beautiful and got a lot of compliments on the dress. It is definitely a classy look! It's a little long on me cause I am really short but I didn't mind the extra length. The zipper does catch a little around the belt area but with an extra hand that is taken care of =) I loved it and would definitely recommend other people to rent this dress
Sammy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

The dress looked fabulous, and I felt absolutely stunning in it. Thank RTR

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall the dress was great. I had no issues with it. Definitely a great dress to rent for dinner party or a nice evening.
Tavia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

Many compliments...feeling elegant!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I will start off by saying I felt amazing in this dress! I wore it to a wedding it was elegant and light. It does not have any give in the fabric so I would suggest going a size up. The RTR team was amazing initially I got a 6 and freaked out when it was too small and the following day I was traveling for the wedding. They got me the 8 and a 10 the next day so I had it in time for the wedding. The 8 was a little snug but i could function with no problems. All in all definitely recommend this dress. I would rent it again!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 1, 2013

Stunning Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and received so many compliments on the dress. I felt so beautiful that day! It fit like a glove!
Meaghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 1, 2013

Perfect conservative dress for an elegant night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very comfortable, allowed for a regular bra, and a true size 4.
Andrea
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2013

Right amount of sparkle with a good amount of comfort!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. I rented the 8 and got a the 6 as a back-up based on others' comments that it was roomy up top. I completely agree that the bust area was rather roomy for my B-cups. The waistline of this dress gave me a great silhouette all while staying comfortable to wear. Overall, I really liked this dress and would recommend it -- however beware that while the top is pretty roomy, the zipper is true to size. Even though I had plenty of room up top, I wouldn't have been able to size down.
Sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 2, 2013

Wearing a well made dress just feels so much better.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had ordered the 2 with a 4 as a back-up, when it came time the 2 was unavailable so I was stuck with the 4 which was loose in the waist (mine is 24") so I ended up belting the dress. Like others have said, the lace around the underarms is itchy and with my fair skin I ended up with red marks. Also not the best to try and dance in, there isn't much of a slit in the back. Other than all that, the dress was adorable and very sturdy with a quality lining. Got plenty of compliments.
Maria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 27, 2013

Excellent first time experience!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was nervous about RTR...but the whole process was effortless. Reading all of the reviews and seeing supplemental pics helped tremendously. The dress is more beautiful in person. Stunning details. I received MANY compliments! Will definitely use RTR again!
rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 28, 2013

Having my Jackie O moment wearing my Madeline dress by Milly! USAF event at the Nixon library CA

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size ....ordered a 2 and 4 and wore the 2.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×