Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$81 to buy
$405 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
570 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(390)
Small
(144)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
May 14, 2013
Very cute dress!
I received compliments on the dress and I did like it. It runs small for sure and I ended up having to wear the bigger size. But then it was very roomy in the bust. Overall a good pick.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 14, 2013
The dress was perfect for the wedding.
My sister rented this dress for a wedding. The dress fit great, just a little tight in the waist. The ribbon at the waist gave some definition to the waistline. Very elegant, perfect for the black tie affair. The arm holes were a little tight but still wearable. So if you have big arms, just keep this in mind. My sister is 5' 4" so the dress just hit her right above her knees, a modest length. Her weight is around 125 and she normally wears a size 4 or 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2013
great quality. beautiful!
lace was beautifully detailed. size ran small for my D cups-lol!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2013
Felt great in this dress all night.
Wore this for a family wedding. Got many compliments. The waist it a bit small, and the gold material is scratchy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2013
Excellent first time experience!
I was nervous about RTR...but the whole process was effortless. Reading all of the reviews and seeing supplemental pics helped tremendously. The dress is more beautiful in person. Stunning details. I received MANY compliments! Will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 30, 2013
Gorgeous Dress! Excellent quality and detailing in the lace. I wore to a wedding reception.
This is a well made dress which made it a little heavier than normal but still extremely comfortable. The lace is on the entire dress. I usually wear and 8 but for comfort and a more natural look I went up to the 10. All of the fabric in the dress makes a slightly smaller than normal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 24, 2013
Everyone loved the dress!
It ran small the tightest portion is around the bottom set of ribs and it is very hard to zip. It was an amazing dress though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
September 10, 2013
Oddly proportioned on me.
This was my backup dress for a wedding. I ended up wearing my first choice, but I did try this on in 0. The 0 fits rather snugly in the waist so that part is cut for a smaller girl, but the bust is so large and roomy as if it's designed for a tiny girl with HUGE boobs. Either it's oddly proportioned, or perhaps I am! ;-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 6, 2013
Perfect for a fall wedding!
This dress is so detailed, it didn't need much else in terms of accessories. I just wore simple gold earrings, simple black shoes, and a black purse. Even though it was form fitting, it was still easy to dance in. I have other Milly dresses -- all size 2 -- so I almost didn't get the second size. Very glad I did because the 2 was way too tight in the bust. Overall, a great pick. I wish I didn't have to send it back!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
October 9, 2013
Did NOT wear
Based on other reviews and body types I got a 2 and 4. Your figure needs to be straight and def not curvy to fit in this dress. It is beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2013
Perfect for a fall wedding in South Carolina!
This dress as great for a casual evening wedding outdoors! It runs a little small - I always wear a 0, but for this dress I had to wear a size 2. I loved the combination of gold next to black lace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 1, 2013
Loved this dress, wanted to keep it!
Very classy and flattering. I wore it to an event that required a look that wasn't too flashy and this was perfect. Dress ran small in rib cage. I'm almost always a two and I needed the four to breath. Loved the dress, very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 1, 2013
Runs Small
This dress is beautiful and nicely made. Unfortunately it was very small... I rented a 10 and 12 and the 10 looked like a 6. The 12 fit, but my chest was squeezed in ... I could hardly breath. I didn't wear the dress...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 8, 2013
The rental and return process couldn't have been easier. The dresses arrived in perfect condition!
Read multiple reviews before renting this dress, and agree with most of the assessments. It's a beautiful, gorgeous dress. It was perfect my work Christmas party where I wanted something decidedly feminine but conservative. I got compliments all night! Glad I ordered a size up, as the 4 fit except that I struggled to get the zipper up past the bust area. Wore the 6 and it zipped easily. I struggle with finding fashion for my 34D's and I had no worries with this dress. It's even prettier than in photos. My photos came out dark, unfortunately, but it looked great. I know a lot of people said the material was itchy under the arms, but I honestly didn't notice it all night. The fabric does NOT have any "give" so I recommend ordering your usual size and perhaps one size up as a backup - it fits somewhere between "true to size" and "runs small."
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 8, 2013
Great service, unfortunately the dress did not work out.
I got two sizes, 8 and 10. The 10 fit but was definitely tight. The waistline is high and just cut me in the wrong spot on my ribcage, so I wound up wearing a different dress that I had purchased. Loved the gold and the lace though!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 20, 2013
Dress is timeless...
I reserved size 2 and 4. The dress does run a little small in the bust and waist, so I ended up wearing the 4. Dress is very sleek, with a vintage feel. I would definitely recommend this dress for a formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 3, 2014
The perfect New Years Eve dress!
I read the reviews so I knew it would run small and ordered a 12 even though I normally wear a 10. The 12 was perfect. It was a tiny bit big on top, but not really a problem - it showed off my curves in all the right places, and made me look even skinnier than normal. I absolutely loved how it looked and felt beautiful and sexy in it. The only con was sitting down had to be done carefully, but as I was standing most of the night it wasn't a big deal at all and didn't take away from how much I loved how I looked in the dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 7, 2014
Classy NYE choice
I would suggest taller girls size up at least one size--the waist came above my natural waist and there was no stretch there so even in a size up the waist was a bit uncomfortable. It looked lovely, just not my favorite rental as far as comfort + style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 15, 2014
Stunning dress
Perfect for any formal occasion. Busty women beware that it runs small in the chest area, so consider ordering a size up from what you normally wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2014
Great little dress at a great price!
I'm normally a 2 but wore the 4 because there is no give in the waist. However, it still fit well and looked really nice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2014
Really pretty
I really loved this dress, but it was a little too formal for my event. I ended up wearing another dress. The waist is a little tight and Milly seems to run small. For something more formal I would try this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 12, 2014
Classic and sophisticated dress
I loved this dress and received loads of compliments. The lace detail with the little shimmer was really beautiful and feminine. However, with no stretch the dress definitely runs a little small, especially if you're hippy. I also have to agree with those who commented that the lace was itchy, especially around the neckline. Additionally, the slit in the back had ripped an inch or two from wear and tear so I had to stitch it back up prior to wearing. Overall though I was very happy with this rental and already have another one ordered for an upcoming event!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
March 8, 2014
This dress was beautiful! I got tons of compliments! Classy and formal.
The bottom fit well and the lace was beautiful! The top was a bit loose fitting. My bra showed in some pictures. The top was a bit more gold than I was expecting. I thought it was more of a mute gold, it was bright gold. Still a beautiful dress, I would rent again for a formal event around the holiday season.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
March 10, 2014
pretty dress! classic but fun.
I wore this to a fundraising event, so it was formal enough w/o wearing a floor length. It ran small so I opted for the 8. If you have sensitive skin, be careful, the thick lace was a little itchy near my shoulders and armpit area. Didn't bother me too much, but just a warning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I originally ordered an 8, but couldn't quite zip it up! I called and had a 10 over nighted to me. Customer Service was great - the dress arrived in plenty of time for my event. The 10 fit perfectly! The dress is beautiful, and I would wear it again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 18, 2014
n/a
The dress was cute, but it runs really small at the waist. I'm usually an 8-10, but reading the reviews, I rented the 12. There was a lot of material up top but I could barely zip up the waist. I wore it to the wedding, then had to change out of it b/c it was just too tight :/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
June 14, 2014
Perfect fit for my small size, tons of compliments
I'm pretty small (probably a 00) so a lot of the dresses in 0 are too large. However because this dress runs small the 0 fit perfectly and was very flattering to my figure. FYI-There is no "give" to this dress. It is structured in the waist and hips which I like as it accentuates your waist. The top half is a gorgeous gold and not as tight so worked great for the conservative event I was attending.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 25, 2014
Rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and wore something else.
The dress is not as pretty as it looked in the pictures, it actually looked and felt cheap. I am between a 2 and a 4 and can usually shimmy into a 2 but that was not the case with this dress as the material has no give.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 3, 2014
It fit perfectly with the holiday theme of the wedding.
I went up a size because the material had no give and because of the applique it rubbed under the arms a bit so the looser fit was much more comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
September 30, 2014
Way too small
Not for a full bust! I couldn't even zipper this one past my waist. He color is also very gold, not beige as it appears in the photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2014
I ended up not wearing it and had to return it sadly!
I personally found that I was too short for this dress at 5'3 and did not have a long enough torso as it sat very strangely on my hips. I would not recommend it unless you are at least 5'5. If you are narrow, it will fit you the best.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 16, 2014
Beautiful dress but very small in the bust
I rented this dress for a gala that I needed a conservative cocktail dress for. The dress is beautiful and would have been perfect if it had fit. I ordered an 8 and 10 and while both fit in the waist and hips I couldn't close the 8 in the bust and the 10 was too tight to be wearable. I'm a c cup and would say if you are more than a b, this might not be the dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 18, 2014
Pretty details!
Pretty dress but I ended up wearing my back-up instead (Icing On The Cake Dress). I usually wear a 4 and ordered this in a 4 and 6 since most of the reviews said it runs small. I agree! The 6 was a good fit but the material felt heavy and I just preferred the other dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
October 23, 2014
Very classy, loved it.
I wore this dress to a formal event/fundraiser for a charity. I am usually a size 4 and couldn't get the zipper up on the side. I wore the six. The dress fits snugly and doesn't give much when you move or get up and down. I understand why some said the material is itchy. It didn't really bother me but I can see how it might bother some. The gold is much more gold than what you see in the pictures and the material was thicker than expected. Overall, I really liked how I felt in the dress and would recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 5, 2014
Holiday Festive
Rented this dress for a Christmas party. It was beautiful and very Christmas. I thought it made me look slimmer even though I had been enjoying a lot of holiday cookies. The material was beautiful but a little uncomfortable for my arms. They are a bit sensitive. My son loved the material though. It was also a little tight for sitting. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat though because it was beautiful and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 9, 2014
The color and fit.
I usually wear size 0, but with this one, size 0 runs small, size 2 fits really well. I loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2014
Fun night!
Perfect length for a professional/work oriented event. Classy style. Dress is well made and worth the rental. It seems to run small, so i was glad to have ordered the back up in a larger size!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
December 25, 2014
The dress was too small and I ended up not wearing it and returned it
The dress was too small and I ended up not wearing it and returned it
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
January 23, 2015
I loved the vintage look of the dress! I received several compliments.
It fit me well, but I am not very curvy. I probably could have worn the 2, except the waist was too small. It is hard to see but there is a wide ribbon and a flat bow around the waist and there is no give in that area. Thankfully I ordered the 2 and 4! I would recommend for anyone without a lot of curves.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 13, 2015
Tight and short!
I usually love all the RTR dresses I've rented, but this one never was worn and sent back. It was way too snug fitting and short. I don't recommend if you have any curves to your body at all.
See more reviews:
3 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×