Sweet Madeline Dress

$40 rental
$405 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
539 reviews
Fit
Large5
True to Size375
Small138
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 4, 2015
LOVE LOVE
This could very well be my most favorite dress thus far from RTR. Very comfortable, classy, stands out in a crowd and brought compliments all night long! Would definitely rent this one again.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 2, 2015
Did not fit didn't get a chance to wear
Great thing I picked the dress up from the store. My breast completely did not fit in the dress. Beautiful dress, I would have probably needed a size 12 or 14. Not sure if that would have worked because then the bottom would have been big. Oh well got a replacement dress at the store.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 14, 2015
Great fabric, too high slit
Slit in the back was a little high for me - may be okay if you go up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 27, 2015
Absolutely stunning dress!
I fell in love with this dress and knew I needed to find an event to wear it to. Thankfully the opportunity came up and I was able to rent for a formal office party. The top doesn't stretch much but overall the dress was gorgeous, it fit well, and looked great all night. I was so sad to have to return this one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 17, 2015
The dress was great, I stood out from everyone else, in a good way!
Dress was a little scratchy under the arms, but I felt great in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2015
Both the 6 and the 8 did not fit in this dress. I am normally a 6. This dress is too small.
I could not even get the zipper to move at all. This dress is too small and is hard to even get on. Did not wear either the 6 or 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 7, 2015
Champagne Soiree-Worthy
I rented this dress to wear to an evening soiree featuring champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, petit fors and dancing. The guest's attire ran the gamut from extremely formal full length gowns to day dresses as the event was part of a 3-day workshop. My dress caught everyone's attention as soon as I walked in the room. The gold lace on the upper part of the dress is much richer in person than the website shows. The bottom of the dress is black lace, but it has a little gunmetal sheen that draws the eye. The fit of the size 6 was much better than the 8. It was just a hair snug in the hips, but didn't look funny,nor did I have trouble moving or sitting. The backup size 8 was ill-fitting in the bust and the lining at the neckline flipped over so you could see it. Not a good look at all. Overall it was a great dress, The ribbon below the bust is a little snug, with no give, so if you've got a wide ribcage, you might not do well with the dress or may need a larger size.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 27, 2015
I was the only one with a beautiful dress besides the bride.
I loved this dress and my boyfriend liked it on me. The only problem is when you don't have too much on top, it will look a bit big, but overall I was happy I chose this dress to wear at a friend's wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2015
Good for a wedding
Pretty dress, but I felt like it aged me. This dress hit slightly below the knee so it was longer than I would wear normally. I did get some compliments on it but it just wasn't for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2015
Beautiful dress...would rent again!
This dress is gorgeous, especially the back! I wore it to an out of town wedding welcome reception, and I got a lot of compliments. I think it runs a bit small...normally I wear size 4-6. I wore a 6, and it was a little tight but not too bad!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 23, 2015
Paired with my husband's garnet tie this dress was perfect for a Florida State wedding!
When the dress first arrived I wasn't sure I was going to love it. The stitching on the black lace overly of the bottom half of the dress was a little silver and and I initially didn't like it because it didn't match the rest of the fabric but it was my only wardrobe option for the wedding I was attending. Once I got ready the day of the event I was surprised to discover that I really loved the dress! It fit perfectly, wasn't tight in the hips and I didn't need my back up size. It is a little itchy when you first put it on but I didn't notice it at all the rest of the evening. The lining is a silk like material which means it doesn't stretch or breathe so I don't think I would recommend this for an outdoor event in the summer. Overall I really enjoyed this dress and would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 19, 2015
Was able to wear this dress to a formal gala and a bachelorette party that were the same night!
It was a beautiful dress - I ended up going with the 6 over the 4 - it definitely runs a little small, so I would opt for the next size up when ordering. It was a great dress though - I chose it because I had a formal gala for work and a bachelorette party the same night and I wanted something I could wear to both. It was comfortable although the beading rubs against your arms a little, but not too much to be annoying. Everyone loved it and I even got compliments from strangers! It was a good choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 16, 2015
Great combination of earrings and dress
Classy and elegant dress cocktail dress. Looked and felt great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 14, 2015
Great dress for holiday party.
Great fit. Looks good without showing the goods, which is what I look for in a work party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 27, 2015
A sophisticated and subtly glamorous dress!
I loved wearing this dress! I thought it looked classic and subtly glamorous. The size 2 fit, but I wore the 4, as it gave me a little more room to breathe and dance. The fabric rubbed against my arms, which was uncomfortable by the end of the night, but bearable. The lace was frayed slightly at the bottom hem, but I don't think it was noticeable to anyone but me. I received complements throughout the night, and loved my first RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 13, 2015
Tight and short!
I usually love all the RTR dresses I've rented, but this one never was worn and sent back. It was way too snug fitting and short. I don't recommend if you have any curves to your body at all.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 10, 2015
Matching everything including my date!
Fit perfectly and like a glove (A good glove). Did not need the back-up size 2, but it was reassuring to have. :) There was more room "up top" for larger boobs on the average female, which I do not carry. but size up if you are "full" busted.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
March 1, 2015
I wore this dress for a winter black tie wedding.
I love this dress! It was very comfortable. The heavy lace was great for a winter wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 22, 2015
Perfect dress for holiday party or wedding!
My only complaint is it sometimes hurt under my arms when the dress material would rub against it. But wasn't horrible.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 11, 2015
Didn't wear it.
This dress fit ok, but it was not very flattering. It puckered a little bit weird and made me look very hip-y. While I have an athletic build, I have never felt I looked hip-y, so I felt it was very unflattering and underwhelming. I ended up going with something else in my closet as opposed to this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
January 30, 2015
Perfect for a formal occasion!
I received many compliments throughout the night. My only complaint would be about how scratchy the material was both around the neck and underneath the arms. If you're sensitive to certain materials then I would not recommend this dress. However, it was very easy to dance in!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2015
NYE dinner cruise
I actually ordered a size 8 and 10, the larger size fit better but the lace was too thick and stiff making me look larger in size. This dress is for smaller size younger women not my age group.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
January 23, 2015
I loved the vintage look of the dress! I received several compliments.
It fit me well, but I am not very curvy. I probably could have worn the 2, except the waist was too small. It is hard to see but there is a wide ribbon and a flat bow around the waist and there is no give in that area. Thankfully I ordered the 2 and 4! I would recommend for anyone without a lot of curves.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 15, 2015
Great dress!
I ordered a size 4 & 6. The 4 was snug at the waist but the 6 was way too big in the bust. I was comfortable in the 4. The dress was very pretty and perfect for my work holiday dinner.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
January 14, 2015
Great Dress. Received tons of compliments even from complete strangers!
As several others have said, there is no give in the middle bow. However, I loved this dress and the look. Wore it to my husbands corporate holiday party, very comfortable and flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
January 8, 2015
Tasteful and classy dress for a work party
I wore this for a formal work sales meeting. Normally, I wear something shorter and flashier, but since these are my coworkers, I figured I should tone it down a bit! This dress was idea, based on the high neckline and relatively longer length. I still felt sexy without feeling exposed! Here are the details: Shoes: gold peep-toe. I didn't love the shoes, but they were all I had in the closet. Hair: http://www.thesmallthingsblog.com/2011/09/elegant-half-up/ (looked better from the back than the front, but it was quick and appropriate. Plus I had to travel to the event, which means I didn't have all my styling tools available Undergear: I wore Spanx. It isn't totally necessary, but the dress is fairly form fitting. The little extra compression gave a smooth look and aided in sitting. I wore a normal bra. Cons: As other reviewers have noted, there is VERY little wiggle room, especially in the rib cage area. I went with the smaller size in order to give me a little more hourglass shape, but I did have to breath shallow the entire night. The lace was a little itchy and stiff, but not really noticeable. If you go down to the smaller size, and your bust is a bit larger, wear a bra with less padding and more compression to gain a few millimeters of breathing room.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2015
Beautiful Dress!! So Elegant!!
Beautiful material The gold part is shiny. Very comfortable while wearing but hard to put on. I highly recommend it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2015
Christmas party event
Very nice dress for work Christmas party. I received many compliments. I am only 4'11'' so this dress fell right below my knee which I was completely fine with. The dress is tight around the rib cage (no give) and since I'm so short I felt that the top bunched so needed to make sure pull it down. I was very happy with the dress and would rent again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Weight: 152lbs
January 2, 2015
Both sizes to small.
I was unable to fit in this dress because it would not close in the back. It zipped up my bottom half but when it got to around my bust and shoulders it did not fit. I am athletic and have a broad chest and muscular back I would not recommend this dress if you have that body type.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 30, 2014
I ended up returning.
I ended up returning the dress and not wearing it to my event. It was very pretty and the detail was gorgeous, but I ran into an issue that I'm sure other short gals are familiar with. The length was really off for me. It hit me about mid calf only exposing a couple inches of leg before my ankles. I found the length to be very unflattering and made me look frumpy. It's always challenging with these things when you're not the average height so I took a gamble but unfortunately this dress was a bust for me. Think twice if you're a shorty like me, but otherwise it's gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
December 29, 2014
Beautiful dress & perfect for X-mas time!
I ended up wearing the 8 because the zipper was broken on the 6. The 8 was a bit big on my chest. Would have worn the 6 if it wasn't for the zipper! The lace does get a bit itchy but it wasn't at all annoying!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2014
Perfect Christmas party dress
I wore this dress to a Christmas party I hosted at my home. It was perfect for the event -- festive but not too over-the-top in the sparkly holiday department. I got a lot of compliments. I opted for the 6 over the 4 because it was a tad tight in the hips and rib cage for me, although the 4 fit my waist and bust better. In the end the dress looked great and was very fun to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
December 26, 2014
Loved the sparkle and fit !
The dress fit perfectly. Was not too itchy under the arms. The leg movement is very restricting so small steps and not getting into a tall vehicle are recommended ! Otherwise this was one of my favorite rentals !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
December 25, 2014
The dress was too small and I ended up not wearing it and returned it
The dress was too small and I ended up not wearing it and returned it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2014
Fun night!
Perfect length for a professional/work oriented event. Classy style. Dress is well made and worth the rental. It seems to run small, so i was glad to have ordered the back up in a larger size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 20, 2014
Stunning!
The gold and black combination is an elegant combination. The top is rich in color and lace detail. I wore this dress to my graduation from Nurse Anesthesia School. I was ecstatic and proud to have reached this milestone; the dress helped me reflect how I was feeling! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
December 19, 2014
Fun event due to telling everyone I rented the dress…drummed up a lot of business.
Dress was comfortable, didn't need a lot of jewelry, comfortable, long enough to not feel self conscious.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 18, 2014
Perfect dress for the office party!
First, apologies for the poor picture; my friend and I completely forgot to get some good photos of us that night. The dress fit me in both the 8 and 10, however, I knew I'd be eating a ton as well as dancing later on in the night, so I chose to go with the 10 for a little extra room. I was surprised that only the top button in back unbuttoned, however, there's a zipper on the side. The dress was a good length standing (not too short), but once seated, I had to be careful of showing too much leg! I found that the fabric around the arms rubbed me a bit, but I am known for having sensitive skin, and it wasn't bad once I stopped thinking about it. Overall, the dress is not made of very giving fabric which makes it very forgiving; I didn't wear hose with it because I didn't need to suck anything in or smooth anything out - the dress did it for me. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2014
Lovely dress, perfect for an office party.
This is a lovely, office-appropriate dress - the gold is not at all flashy, and it's not too tight. I think it would look best on someone with more curves than I have. :) It was my back-up dress and I ended up wearing a different one.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 16, 2014
The dress got here on time and fits perfect
I'm usually a size 2 but I wore a size 0 on this one. Felt slightly tight on the bust but I think it looks perfect anyway. I wanted to keep it
See more reviews:
2 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×