Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$81 to buy
$405 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
570 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(390)
Small
(144)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 14, 2012
The look was classy, and I got so many compliments.
This dress flattered me and hugged all the right places. I wore it to an evening wedding with opaque black tights and satin pumps. It was comfy enough to dance in all night long! I didn't want to let this one go!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 26, 2012
lovely dress!
rented this for our nye night out. it was beautiful, got many compliments. the lace under the arm is slightly uncomfortable (the way it rubs), but nothing i noticed too much during the evening. stunning dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 9, 2012
Gorgeous in person.
The picture does not do this dress justice. It is so pretty in person. The gold lace really pops. Great find rtr!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2012
the dress came on time and the whole process went really well!!
wore this dress to prom and I love it! I got so many compliments and definitely did not want to return the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
June 17, 2012
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and received many compliments. No one could believe that I rented a $405 dress for $50. :)
Stats: 5'3" | 145lbs | 32F (DDDD). This beautiful Milly design was snug at the chest but fit perfectly every where else. I ordered both the 8 and the 10 but opted for the 8 because the 10 was a little too loose in the chest, resulting in an unattractive view of my bra. The dress hit at a perfect length, just at my knee. My only gripe, causing my rating to lack 1 star, is that the size 8 arrived with a broken zipper which I struggled to repair the night before.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
July 12, 2012
Amazing Dress!
I just received the dress and I am not only impressed by the quality of the dress but also by the customer survive. It was delivered on the day the site promised and in a great shape. The only cons of the dress is that with both the sizes (I ordered both 2 and 4) the zippers had troubles working so I had to be very careful. I ordered it for a summer wedding but I could say I will be very warm in it. As the other reviews have mentioned there is a lot of space in the bust area but I had no troubles because I have pretty big bust for my body. You have to be aware that the upper part of the dress is not made for woman with wide upper torso. So if you have wide torso you should size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 19, 2012
Holiday Party at my in-laws
I wore this for a holiday event and thought it was very flattering but the gold lace on top was very scratchy. Would not recommend if you have sensitive skin.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 7, 2012
A self-proclaimed "fashionista" guest kept raving about this dress. Elegantly classic.
The fit is true to size, except that larger sizes tend to assume an extremely large bust. I am an hourglass and there was a little too much material above the empire waste. Other than that, fit and looked great.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
August 11, 2012
Wearing such a nice dress really boosted my confidence and made me feel like a million bucks.
I wore this for a black tie event. I was afraid I'd seem underdressed, but it worked out great. I usually wear a 2, and that would have worked, but I liked the fit a little better with the 0. A little itchy under the arms, but bearable. Also, the lining under one of the arms poked out, but I was able to keep it in place with some of the tape RTR included. Overall-loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2012
For slim body types
This dress was stunning but I did not ultimately wear it because it was too tight in the bust area, perfect otherwise. It as a truly beautiful dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
August 19, 2012
OK dress
back zipper annoyingly bunches up, but front is pretty lace
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
August 23, 2012
Watching my cousin marry the love of her life.
Dress was TTS. Can be a bit uncomfortable on the underarms because of the lace material. Received lots of compliments and would recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 25, 2012
Great for the holidays.
Wore this dress for a Christmas dinner and a post-dinner play at a downtown theater. Beautiful, high quality fabric but no no no stretch. The center ribbon is a bit snug, so size up when renting this one.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 25, 2012
Dress
Perfect fit. Gorgeous. BUT extremely itchy outer material!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 26, 2012
RTR customer service is top notch. I had concerns that the dress wouldn't show up on time, but it did, beautifully and effectively package. No concerns of wrinkles with packaging.
I received this dress in a size 6 and 8, but wore the 8 for a little breathing and bust room. Pictures don't do this dress justice. It really is stunning! Reviews of "itchiness" had me concerned, but I wore this dress for 14 hours and didn't have any problem with that at all.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
September 2, 2012
Beautiful dress!
This was my first rental from Rent the Runway and I have to admit I was a little skeptical but the dress was perfect and I got a lot of compliments on it. It was delivered on time and just as promised. I am a believer now and can't wait to try another dress soon. Thanks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
September 4, 2012
Beautiful Dress
This is a stunning dress. Even though I have larger hips and thighs I wore my normal size comfortably. The lace can be a little itchy if you have sensitive skin but I didn't have a problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
September 4, 2012
Danced all night!
Fun dress, very comfortable. I was complimented by so many people. Great dress for a fancy party - grab it for new years eve!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
September 7, 2012
Super fancy cocktail dress
This Milly dress runs a bit tight, and the lace is kinda itchy, so its not really comfortable to wear day-to-night. But its great for a really fancy night out, I wore it for my birthday cocktails at the Waldorf Astoria and the Plaza.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2012
A Perfect Fit!
I loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding and received so many complements! The neckline was a little itchy at times, but it fit perfectly and complemented my figure very nicely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147lbs
January 27, 2012
I got a lot of complements on the dress and my hubby loved it as well!
I rented this dress to wear to the CG New Year's Reception at Fort Gordon. I loved it and felt wonderful in it. The fit was perfect. I am 5'4 125 with a large bust and this dress fit me perfectly. I always have to size up in dresses due my bust size. I would recommend this dress for a holiday party, wedding, or something along those lines.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2012
Tons of compliments
I usually go for more flawy styles since I have boobs, hips and butt with a smaller waist. I decided to try something different and received tons of compliments. My hubby who never sees me in a style like this just couldn't stop telling me how great I looked. i had random women coming up to me all night telling me they loved my dress. I can't wait to rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2012
Classy, perfect for my bridal luncheon
I was thrilled with how this dress looked for my bridal luncheon. I thought it may be too formal and not appropriate for a sunny, mid-day event - but it really looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
Great Dress. I wore it for my graduation from residency. It was classy.
Fantastic Dress. I wore it for my residency graduation. It is true to size. classy dress for a professional occasion.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 142lbs
September 16, 2012
Love the dress! Very comfortable and pretty!
Love the dress! Very comfortable and pretty!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2012
Great!
This dress fit great! The gold lace was a little darker in person and wasn't a delicate in appearance as I thought from the photo. Still very beautiful though. I wore this dress for my husband's work holiday party and it received a TON of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
The dress was amazing! I felt elegant and beautiful!
It fit true to size. Length is great for a tall girl which is always my concern when renting. A great dress that I would recommend to anyone going to an event where they want to impress!
KieraSeptember 30, 2012
this is gorgeous on you!!!!!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
So easy to use, hassle free!
I love this dress! The fit was great. Perfect if you're somewhat busty, as I often have a problem of the dress fitting in the waist, but then I cannot breath or zip the dress entirely. That was no issue with this dress. Very classy, I got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 23, 2012
Favorite RTR dress so far!
Pictures do not do this dress justice. I was pleasantly surprised when I received it in the mail. The beautiful detail and sparkle in the embroidery is breathtaking. I wore this to a Cancer Support Gala, which was black tie optional and it was perfect. I kind of want to rent it again! (I will upload a photo when the "upload" function on the website is working.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2012
Very pretty dress for wedding!
Fit true to size, very flattering style, loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2012
Very pretty dress, but a bit too fancy for what I was looking for.
Great/True to fit. A lot more glittery in person, but still very pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
September 28, 2012
Wow - what a great first experience. More compliments than I have ever gotten before!
I was down out out with back pain and knew i had no time to shop before a corporate awards ceremony. I logged on to Rent The Runway, found a dress and the order was fast and simple. My order arrived professionally boxed and in garment bags the day before the event. Felt stunning last night. And today's return was slipped into the postage paid envelope and brought to the post office. Fast, easy, beautiful - no malls and no dry cleaning. You have a customer for LIFE. Thank you for such a great cyber fashion experience. Can't wait until next time. XXXOOO
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 30, 2012
Perfect for a wedding. Loved it !
It was very true to size and comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Classy dress for a classy event!
I ordered a size 8 and a size 10 (hoping to wear the 8) and when it arrived, I tried it on and the 8 fit like a glove! I received so many compliments all night. I have an hour glass figure and larger bust, so this dress really did compliment my shape. My sis n law even told me to "buy" the dress as it was such a perfect fit. I agree with some that the lace can be a bit rough feeling under your arm pit, but I didn't really realize that until the next day (it was a tad red from rubbing all night). This dress is gorgeous! Thanks RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 1, 2012
Super Classy!
Great for an hourglass figure, hugs in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 3, 2012
Beautiful dress! Received compliments all night!
I normally wear a 6, but sized up to 8 per the other reviews. The dress fit beautifully! I did wear spanx, but even without those, the dress fit very well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 4, 2012
Looked stunning on!
The fit was exactly what I thought it would be. I think the gold detailing on the top was a bit more coarse than I thought it would be but I got countless compliments on it! I would definitely recommend this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 4, 2012
Looks great!
I rented this dress for a fall wedding. The dress looked great, and was very comfortable. The top was a little bit big but not a problem. I received many compliments and felt great in this dress all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2012
Pretty dress
But apparently I can't wear size 12's in Milly's dresses. :( and I hated the way the fabric felt
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2012
Not pleased...
Did not work. Don't suggest renting this dress. You will be disappointed.
See more reviews:
2 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×