Rent the Runway

Milly

Such a Doll Dress

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this sparkling bow back dress by Milly for a holiday cocktail party. Add a pop of color by accessorizing with the RJ Graziano's Watercolor Stone Statement Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sparkle matelasse. Crew neckline. Deep scoop back with bow detail. Full skirt with pleating. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

191 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 130
Large 42
Photos 88
LB
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 30, 2010

Felt amazing in this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is SO adorable on! It was my first rental and I was thrilled with it. I wear a size 6 usually and the 6 fit perfectly (I got an 8 as well and didn't even need it). The fabric makes it look very fun and fancy in person and the cut it very flattering. It assumed from the picture that I wouldn't be able to wear a bra with this dress - but I was able to without it be being visible! Highly recommend this dress for a winter wedding/event!
Dria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 18, 2011

My birthday night was made extra special with this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress. It was perfect paired with a pair of nude heels and was picture perfect the whole evening. I was also able to wear a regular bra with the low back, which made me happy since I didn't have to go out and guy a new one. Would rent again in a second! Pretty true to size, maybe a little large if anything. Perfect for almost any event.
elizabeth
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
May 9, 2011

Fits perfectly in all the right places!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing. It was just a little tight in the waist but otherwise perfect. I have larger hips so I was worried about that but it was no problem. Wore it to a family wedding with a different necklace- that I thought showed off the dress better. It has the cutest pink lining. I seriously wanted to keep it.. would've been my go to LBD.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

I met Mario Batali while I was wearing this dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a gala event that I was working at, and it was the perfect mix of classy and flattering while still being work appropriate. It worked wonderfully with a big necklace- I got a ton of compliments! It is a little too low in the back to wear a bra, just to keep in mind.
Tiffie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 8, 2011

After 3 hard years of law school, I felt accomplished and beautiful at our Dean's Reception held at the Smithsonian National Air & Space Museum! It was the perfect dress for a proud moment.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rental from RTR and it was wonderful! I rented it for my law school pre-graduation reception. It was the perfect dress -- eye catching, yet conservative enough for such a formal event. The back is low, but so cute with the bow! I did have to buy a special bra (although, on second though, I should have just used my Nu Bra!). It is truly a comfortable dress - not too tight, but flattering.
Elljay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 12, 2012

So quick and easy to order, receive and send back! Made my busy life very simple!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly! Could have worn the 4 or the 6 (usually wear a size 2 but this dress is a bit tight/ short) Wore it to a five star restaurant for NYE with my boyfriends family and was the perfect dress - family appropriate yet still fun, sparkly and flirty for NYE. Received a ton of compliments not to mention was able to eat everything on my plate and dance the night away without a care in the world!
Erin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 8, 2012

so many compliments, so comfortabel, so classy! i was referred to as a mix between a first lady and kate middleton!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Im sixteen years old and wore this to a black tie charity ball, it was aboslutely PERFECT! the material is super cool and isnt sequins like it looks in some of the other review pictures and the back doesnt cut near as deep, it cuts about mid back maybe a little higher. It wasnt too short but a little snug at the waist but nothing a thing of Spanx couldnt fix! the top of the dress was loose enough for a lareger bust but wasnt to big for a smaller it was absolutely cute and comfortable, with and up do and a short pearl necklace and some nude peach and black heels i was set! i wish this dress was mine! better than it looks on the model! it is PERFECT!! please rent this its amazing!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 12, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my sister's sorority installation dinner. It was so beautiful and understated; perfect for the event.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

I asked the staff for a size recommendation and their advice was spot on.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit really well. I got a lot of compliments and everyone was asking where I got it. The fit says the back is low and it is, which is why I bought a nubra to wear with it, but I probably could have gotten away with a regular strapless bra. I have wide hips and I still had plenty of room in the dress without looking frumpy. Overall a great fit! I should mention that depending on the size I can usually wear an 8 or a 10.
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 23, 2012

Fun for a wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The back of this dress is really cute! I received many compliments on it!
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Awesome!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit SO great!
Meg
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

I loved the dress and got so many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was true to size and really comfortable but looked great at the same time.
Taylor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Cute dress, much more sparkly in person than the photo shows.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very cute, would be great for a christmas party. I wore for a friends summer wedding....
felisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

The dress was beautiful. Perfect fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
First the service was wonderful! They didn't have a size I needed and offered me two additional dresses! I had a very difficult time choosing. Loved the dress. Perfect for the wedding or practically any event. I ended up wearing simple jewelry because of the metallic threading woven through the material. And my pictures show two different shoes: black patent and suede nudes. I wore the nudes because it elongated my legs. Unless you have very long legs like the model in the picture, the dress is just a little over the knee. The back is low with a bow which was a nice contrast to the more modest front. Really loved it!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

I wore it for my birthday which is also valentines day! Perfect dress and my boyfriend loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Material is shinier in person and it fits great. Space through the hips but not too big on the top. I am a 4 on top and I wore the 6 because of the hips. Overall great!
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 19, 2012

This dress made me feel so elegant, classy, and flirty!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfectly, short enough to be cute and fun, long enough to be elegant. I loved the high neck in the front and the medium to low back. It's SO comfortable and easy to move in. I wish I could buy it!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

Dress was sent Thursday and arrived 2 days before the event. SO easy, great, and affordable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 4 dress and the 2 was a little big on me.. I would definitely recommend getting a smaller size.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 29, 2012

Pretty dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding in October. I wore the 2, and while it was very pretty, the dress I wore was stretched out by someone who had worn it before me. It was very pretty, but since it was stretched out, some of the seams were visible on the waist and back of the dress and the lining of the dress was no longer connected on the bottom. So since the lining was pink and the dress was black, it was a little obvious. So while it was very pretty, I unfortunately ended up with a dress that had been worn and stretched out.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

22nd Birthday and Sorority Semi-Formal made perfect by RTR

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Worn to a semi-formal event and received compliments all night. Needed a nuBra because of the low back, but very classy and would wear again. Made my birthday a night to remember!
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Nov 5, 2012

I wore this for the final night of a show performance! Everyone loved it and so did I!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit is true to size. Very flattering on every body type. I would say I have some curves but I felt very confident in it. The pink lining is a cute touch. I would encourage wearing statement jewelry to complete the look.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Perfect dress for the occasion.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore it to a Mad Men themed Gala. It was a tad bit short so I wore it with tights and it made it very appropriate! A normal bra might show a little in the back, but other than that, it was a wonderful outfit for the evening!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

So pretty and fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I didn't actually end up wearing this dress to an event since it was my second choice but I can't wait to rent it again for an event. The fit is pretty good, although I probably would have been ok with the next size smaller.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 2, 2012

Lovely little dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore to a black tie optional wine opener party. Nice length for my height and occasion (about 2-3 inches above the knee). Wore with the Badgley Mischka Crystal Cluster necklace, which worked really well, and did receive compliments on that. It's not a stunner, but it is a versatile, lovely, and comfortable dress. I am 5'3", 118-120 pounds, not curvy, and the 2 fit perfectly. I didn't have issues with the bra- I wore a regular bra.
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

It was gorgeous and unique! Tons of compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Nothing bad to say about this dress! Loved it!
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
May 13, 2014

I did not end up wearing this dress. I have a short torso so it didn't fit right.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Not good for short torso. The fabric is a little scratchy but had a very pretty sparkle to it.
Piper
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 28, 2014

Not right for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress as a backup for a bachelorette. I didn't end up wearing it because it didn't fit right. (too big up top, too small at bottom). The sparkle of the dress was really pretty, but it was a much heavier material than I was especting.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Great LBD -- but best for gals without a gut

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
First of all, I think this dress is much cuter in person than in the picture, because the fabric is really pretty. Also, it's really cute! And versatile. Unfortunately for me, it's not so great for an "apple" figure like me. I found it to be a bit tight and not terribly flattering around the gut, but since I couldn't even zip up my first choice I had to go with it. Also, the lining was showing in some places around the bottom and not others, which looked a little cheap to me. Super short, but I don't mind that.
Madison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Loved the dress but unfortunately it was way too big to wear. The waistline hit too low and it looked like a trash bag on. RTR was wonderful in getting me another dress to wear for my semi formal... I wish this one would have fit though!
ML
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Sparkly!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is more sparkly in person than on the website. Looked nice in pictures! Overall, the waist had no give so I went with the larger size to accommodate. It was flattering and not clingy at the hips, which I liked. It was a cute dress, looked nice, and fit the bill, but there was nothing extraordinary about it.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

too loose on top, but made it work

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm small on top, & even with a size 0 I had at least a 1 inch gap on both sides of my torso. I was able to made it fit though by taking a safety pin & folding over the extra material behind the bow. If it weren't for that bow, I wouldn't have been able to make this work. Overall I was a bit underwhelmed by this dress. I think it looks cuter in the picture than in person, & I actually felt older while wearing this. I wore this 3 years ago as my first RTR rental, so I'm sure if I wore this now I'd feel more age-appropriate. But since it was too big in the first place & there's a ton of other dresses I'd pick over this from RTR, I wouldn't rent it again.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Aug 12, 2014

A little shinny but great for a holiday party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly and allowed for a few extra appetizers throughout the evening.
Briana
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 12, 2014

Classy dress with some sexy in the back!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVE this dress! Very comfortable and it fit great! Wore this to a very formal evening event and loved the fact that it was conservative in the front and then had the low back for a bit of surprise! I bought the low back bra strap converter that was recommended with it and it was perfect. Great buy and it made it really easy and comfy to wear this dress.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Back up dress that definitely took center stage!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is adorable. I had it overnighted because the two others I ordered left a lot to be desired and I needed it for a wedding that day! The reviews on this item were great! I probably could have gotten a four as it was slightly loose around the waist, but other than that it was perfect. Super comfortable, could wear a strapless bra without issues, wasn't too short and I could move in it. The waist has a slightly lower drop than I expected, but it was still very flattering. I got tons of compliments on this dress!
Laura
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 28, 2014

Fit not right

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I think you have to have the perfect frame to wear this dress. I ordered a 10 and 12 and tried the 12 fist and it was way too tight on my bust. My sister-in-law was looking for a dress to the same wedding so I had her try the 10 and it looked fine from the front but the open back was too loose.
Deepika
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Cute cocktails dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately, I have very petite shoulders and a small rib cage, making the top of the dress very big on me. Luckily I tried the dress on at the store, so I ended up swapping it out for another dress in store. The dress itself was very cute, though. I thought the shiny material of it was adorable and would make it suitable for a black tie optional wedding (which I needed it for). I do have to say though, that it doesn't have the same texture that you see on the model. It's a little brighter and doesn't look quite as sleek. Also, of course since I'm not a model, it hits about 2-3 inches above the knee, not quite as short as seen on the model.
KP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

This dress was gorgeous when it arrived. However, I was unable to wear.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The material has just the right amount of sparkle and the bow in the back is adorable. It doesn't hit at the natural waistline- it is a little lower and the hips are a little more fitted than it would seem from the photo and other reviews. I wish I could have worn but I was definitely in between sizes and it just didn't fit my 5' 10" athletic frame. My experience with resolving the fit issue with RTR was great!
Kahla
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Cute dress, odd fit

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
I was so excited to wear this for a wedding. The zero would have fit me great and did everywhere but the bust where it seemed like a previous renter may have stretched it. The dress was a great material, super cute and I wish it would've fit! Not the dress for me but still love this great site!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Very flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The back provides a nice detail that flatters. Great dress overall. Very true to size (I'm a 5'4, 120lb size 2).
Mer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 5, 2015

Looked much better in photographs with the light reflected than it does in person strangely.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The material was very nice and the dress was very comfortable
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 15, 2015

Great dress and received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! The fit is great, and it's very comfortable. It has a slight sparkle, which is so much fun. Even with the low back, I was able to wear a regular strapless bra, I just had to pull it down a little in the back. Definitely fits true to size and has no give or stretch, so order your usual size or one larger.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×