Such a Doll Dress

$99 to buy
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this sparkling bow back dress by Milly for a holiday cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sparkle matelasse. Crew neckline. Deep scoop back with bow detail. Full skirt with pleating. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
211 reviews
Fit
Large42
True to Size143
Small19
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 10, 2014
Sparkly!
This dress is more sparkly in person than on the website. Looked nice in pictures! Overall, the waist had no give so I went with the larger size to accommodate. It was flattering and not clingy at the hips, which I liked. It was a cute dress, looked nice, and fit the bill, but there was nothing extraordinary about it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 6, 2014
Beautiful dress!
Loved the dress but unfortunately it was way too big to wear. The waistline hit too low and it looked like a trash bag on. RTR was wonderful in getting me another dress to wear for my semi formal... I wish this one would have fit though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
June 10, 2014
Great LBD -- but best for gals without a gut
First of all, I think this dress is much cuter in person than in the picture, because the fabric is really pretty. Also, it's really cute! And versatile. Unfortunately for me, it's not so great for an "apple" figure like me. I found it to be a bit tight and not terribly flattering around the gut, but since I couldn't even zip up my first choice I had to go with it. Also, the lining was showing in some places around the bottom and not others, which looked a little cheap to me. Super short, but I don't mind that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 28, 2014
Not right for me
I ordered this dress as a backup for a bachelorette. I didn't end up wearing it because it didn't fit right. (too big up top, too small at bottom). The sparkle of the dress was really pretty, but it was a much heavier material than I was especting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
May 13, 2014
I did not end up wearing this dress. I have a short torso so it didn't fit right.
Not good for short torso. The fabric is a little scratchy but had a very pretty sparkle to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 27, 2014
It was gorgeous and unique! Tons of compliments.
Nothing bad to say about this dress! Loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
March 31, 2014
the dress is beautiful! the back bow detail is an amazing touch. I felt beautiful all night!
the dress fit true to size. I have bigger hips and a butt so I was nervous about the fit, but the dress was perfect. I was able to wear a normal bra. the only downside of the dress was the fact that it was a little difficult to sit in as it rides up. I was able to dance all night in this dress!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 24, 2014
Cute LBD
This was a backup dress that was sent in place of another dress I ordered. It actually worked better than the original dress so I ended up wearing it to my sorority's formal. It was comfortable and I got many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
March 18, 2014
Way cute dress but unfortunately didn't fit!
way tight on butt and hips! Barely fit my mom who wears a size 8 in dresses. runs a little small
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
March 2, 2014
Fun night at a friend's wedding!
Great fit, beautiful dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2014
Perfect LBD for date night
This dress is perfect for a semi-fancy date night. It's very simple, but with a slight sparkle and a low back. The fit was perfect. Love how easy this one is to wear. As usual, the service was excellent.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
February 15, 2014
Wedding on the Boston Harbor
Too small! It wouldn't even zip up in the back...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 13, 2014
Classy!!
This dress is perfect for a formal event, the silhouette was really pretty and the sparkle adds fun! However, I didn't rate this dress with 5 stars because it was pretty loose in the top (I'm a 34C), yet tight around the hips, so I had trouble sitting comfortably at some points. Overall great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 29, 2014
Stunning silloutte
I wore this out for my birthday dinner and loved the shape and fit of the dress. It hit in all the right places for me and the lower back was a nice touch. You are still able to wear a regular bra with this which was really nice and added to the overall comfort.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2014
Very pretty but thin fabric.
I really liked the fit of this dress. It was very flattering and comfortable when I put it on. But I noticed the fabric was somewhat thin and when I looked in the mirror you could see the outline of my bra. I tried different bras to try to avoid this but still ended up happening. I ended up returning the dress and getting credit back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2014
Perfect for a date night!
I wore this dress out on a date in the city. I was looking for something that was dressier, but not over the top and this dress was perfect. It had just the right amount of sparkle to it that I would have wanted and the material was heavier which was good for the winter weather. The 10 was a little big up top for me, but the 8 was not available so I wore it anyway. I tried wearing it with a bra, but the V in the back goes down far and you can see the bra strap so I wore it with no bra and it was no problem. I would suggest wearing with a low back bra or a new bra so there's no strap in the back. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2014
Perfect for a new years wedding!
Fit a little large on top, but not enough to be really noticeable to others. Back was low but could still wear a bra which was awesome! perfect length for a more formal affair. definitely need a statement necklace
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2014
Cute dress just didn't fit my body type
This is my second Rent the Runway rental and again the custumer service was excellent. The dress actually arrived one day early! The dress was cute but I was inbetween the two sizes I ordered. I went with the smaller size which was my mistake. The dress was a little tight on my stomach causing the seam to show, which unfortunately was gold not black like the dress. I am smaller chested and needed a little more support up top to wear the 6. My midsection was just a tad too big for the 4. I will definitely rent again and next time wear the bigger size instead of squeezing into the smaller one :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
January 2, 2014
Wonderful customer service.. this dress however, not so wonderful :(
I ordered this dress in addition to the Shoshanna Cypress Lace dress (which was beautiful) to have a back up dress for my friends' New Year's Eve wedding. This dress definitely did not "wow" me like the other. The material did not look as classy as in the picture. It actually looked pretty cheap to be honest.. the dress has a hot pink slip underneath which was showing at the bottom when I put the dress on. Overall, I'm extremely happy that the Shoshanna dress fit and looked beautiful because this dress was definitely a disappointment!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
Great for NYE House Party
Pretty dress overall! Just the right amount of sparkle for a simple New Years' party but nothing over-the-top. Dress runs true to size especially if you have wide hips. I have a short torso and felt the dress was a teensy bit long in that area but it wasn't very noticeable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2014
Cute, comfortable dress!
I wore this dress for New Years Eve. It was super comfortable and easy to wear. I generally wear a 6 - sometimes an 8 - and I felt like I might have been able to size down to a 4. But, being a little loose wasn't a problem. Really cute in the back! Good length.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2014
Nothing special
My backup dress wasn't available, so RTR sent this one instead. The good news was that you could wear a regular bra with it (as long as it goes low enough in the back). Unfortunately, though, it just wasn't anything special on me. If you are curvy/have a larger bust, it just doesn't do much for your shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 30, 2013
Was hoping this would be a great New Year's Eve dress
I really wanted this dress to work for New Year's Eve, but alas the fit was a bit awkward. As noted in the fit section, the waist is tight and doesn't have much give. The size 4 fit my A cup bust well and the poofy skirt worked with my pear shape, but the waist was much too tight. The top of the size 6, on the other hand, drooped on my modest bust (I would have needed to had the taken in to make it work), even though the waist was much more comfortable. As another reviewer noted, this dress requires you to have excellent posture to look good. Any sort of slouching will result in weird sagging around the waist. This, coupled with the fact that the waistline hit me at an awkward spot between my natural waist and hips (I've never been told or thought that I have a particularly short or long torso, so this seemed a bit unusual), resulted in a not very flattering look. I suspect the dress might work on someone blessed with a tighter tummy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141lbs
December 22, 2013
Great costumer service!
So my original rental did not fit, it was a gorgeous piece, and I was very sad I didn't get to wear it (it was too small). I called RTR after 5 pm on EST and I had multiple options by a stylist and we landed on this one. I was worried because I had to leave by 3 pm for my party the next day! By the stylist assured me that she would mark that the dress needed to be at my residence before noon, and it was at my house by 10! It was wonderful! The dress fit much better and I adored it- it was appropriate for the party, and the after party- very easy to dance in! I had a ton of fun in this dress- and RTR made me a happy renter once again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 19, 2013
Beautiful yet simple black dress
I actually didn't end up wearing this dress as the torso on the dress is unusually long and the seams didn't fit my body type. The 10 was too large in the straps and the hot pink lining of the dress was showing through the entire front of the dress. It was beautiful on the model but didn't work out for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 18, 2013
Beautiful dress just too big
This dress is great, albeit a bit noticeably worn. Loved the fabric, sheen, bow in the back. Unfortunately, it was too big to work for my event. I typically am a 2/4 and the 2 as a backup was unavailable. If you order just make sure to size down for your backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2013
Perfect Holiday Party Dress
Great dress for office Holiday party. Fitted in the middle, so very flattering but difficult to sit down in sometimes. The dress was perfect for this pear-shaped girl!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 15, 2013
The dress =)
I loved the dress, and thought it fit great! The back is especially super cute, and I got LOTS of complements throughout the evening and even from people who weren't at the event and saw pictures.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
December 14, 2013
Perfect for a holiday party
This dress was perfect for my husband's holiday work party. It is great for ladies that are a bit larger in the hips, like me. Like other dresses with an open back, it does require good posture to look nice (if you hunch over, the fabric gathers too much in the front). I would recommend adding fashion tape in the back, but I couldn't find my fashion tape, unfortunately. I was able to wear a normal bra with it, so that was a plus. Got many compliments. Overall, very happy with this rental.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 22, 2013
This dress made me feel really sleek! Perfect for dinner at a country club.
(excuse my messy room) I have a pretty curvy body and this dress made it look awesome! The hem was flattering and the bodice was tight around my waist but forgiving around my lower tummy area. The open back is really nice! The only thing I did not like was the shoulder straps, when I pull them up, they are loose, but when I wear it off the shoulder, it looks awkward. I would recommend getting some dress tape to make sure your bra straps do not show in the back. Also, when I got the dress, the seams looked a little worn =( but overall, a flattering dress that shows just the right amount of skin for a fancy dinner.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2013
they were delivered on time and in great condition!
Pros: True to size, was in good condition Cons: the seams at the was it ere tearing a bit making it look weird
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
November 12, 2013
I rented for my 21st but I was unable to wear :(
The dress is very cute on the hanger but the fabric has no stretch and caused a little pouch over my stomach area and was much too tight on my hips/butt. I would not recommend for girls with curvier bottom haves because the fabric and shape of the dress is quite unforgiving. This dress would be adorable on a more petite frame. Beautiful fabric and looks more sparkly/shiny in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 8, 2013
A nice dress, like a nice pair of jeans, always makes you feel beautiful when it fits just right.
Fit is pretty accurate. I usually run between a 4 and a 6, but chose the smaller size for this occasion. It is tighter through the waist/stomach area, but also a material that doesn't show lumps and bumps--so do with that what you'd like. I'm 5'6" and the length was very classy. I wore it with black tights, and it looked great... so you can definitely swing it in the winter too. I was nervous about the material having silver specks because gold is my jewelry of choice, but I still rocked the gold with no reservations. I think it would not be a good choice for a more formal occasion (again, because of the silver specks), but for a wedding or a semi-formal event, it is very appropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 27, 2013
Festive with a pop of color!
In honor of the bride's favorite color, I knew I wanted the jewelry to be the star of the show. This LBD was a perfect complement as it let the earrings shine while also adding a touch of sparkle. Easy to accessorize with a black clutch and black shoes. As for sizing, I went for the 2. I noticed a bit of a gap at the back/shoulder, but it was a minor fit issue that I quickly forgot about over the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2013
fun and easy to wear
This was a great dress. I found the lenght to be the right balance between sexy and comfortable. Even with the scoop back, I managed to wear a regular bra just pulled down a bit and it stayed perfectly all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 5, 2013
This dress was stunning! It glows in the light and it looked so regal and elegant! I felt beautiful.
The fit was a bit big on the top, I should've gotten a size 0. But other than that, the dress was lovely and the perfect knee length for a formal affair. It was classic, but still spontaneous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 17, 2013
Everyone complimented the dress and said how great it looked! It made my night.
Fit: Spot on, a little short...I would have been more comfortable wearing tights. Look: Fun party dress but classy enough for a wedding. The sheen/sparkle is more apparent in person than in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 14, 2013
I wore the dress for a military formal and it was a perfect fit!
The dress is true to size. The back was slightly low-cut for me, I needed to pin my bra to hide it, but other than that it was a great choice! Definitely rent!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 16, 2013
Great dress for a wedding -- loved the back!
Super cute and I loved the accessories I chose to go with it. Simple but fun LBD! I ended up getting lots of compliments on my shoes randomly, which I picked up last minute from Forever21 the day before haha.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
June 5, 2013
Perfect Fit!
The dress was the perfect dress for the award banquet I was attending and for going out for drinks afterwards. What I loved about the dress was that the front fit like a glove and was very classy, but with the deep U back with the bow, the dress could be sexy too. I would buy this dress in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×