Stepford Wife Dress

$68 to buy
$385 retail
Stylist Notes

This charming floral-print Milly dress features a contrasting ribbon tie that defines the waist. A ruffle collar that adds feminine flare and is a perfect choice for the dinner party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with band - conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt appropriate for all body types
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with band - conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt appropriate for all body types
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Almond organza floral jacquard. Crew neckline with ruffle detail. Button front. Grosgrain waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden side zip. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
122 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(104)
Small
(16)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 25, 2014
Its always nice wearing a dress for the first time!
I am hippy so for this dress to fit well I had to go with my back up. The shape and lines were very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 5, 2014
Great for a vacation date night
Loved this dress. I'm 5'2'' 120lbs and and pear shaped. This fit wonderfully- wasn't too tight around my hips, made my waist look tiny and was overall quite flattering. Wish I owned it, this is def a repeat rent dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 6, 2015
Drew Compliments
The dress easily got wrinkled even tho I steamed it. It was a little itchy and the straps underneath kept falling down. Otherwise it was a beautiful print but not worth the cost.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
September 17, 2010
Loved the dress! Loved the service too! I was nervous that it wouldn't arraive on time, but it did! The Dress is a little bit more shiny in person. and I had to steam the collar down. I ordered the 2 sizes and ended up with a larger size because it felt more comfortable. I received so many compliments on it. WIll RENT AGAIN!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 4, 2010
The dress was beautiful and true to size, the zipper was tricky though, trying to get it over the spot where the 'belt' is took A LOT of work; I've found this with all Milly dresses, so that's a little annoying. Would rent again though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 23, 2010
Loved this dress! So cute and girly. Fun on a date night or a girls-night-out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 25, 2010
I was not impressed with this dress. The smaller size that fit well in the waist was way too tight in the bust. The larger size fit in the bust but did nothing for my waist. I wouldn't recommend this dress for larger busted ladies. Also, the zipper is difficult to zip past the waistband. I returned both sized without wearing either.
LynetteAugust 24, 2015
Love the mint accent! ;)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
December 14, 2010
The color and fabrics in the dress were beautiful in person. The skirt portion in particular was very forgiving and flattering. It was comfortable all night, and very cute with tights since it's a tiny bit short for ultra conservative events. I ended up wearing the larger of the two sizes I got because the smaller fit perfectly everywhere, except the bust (it was VERY tight and I'm not busty), so make sure you get a size up just in case. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 20, 2011
Great dress for a conservative affair!
LOVED this dress!! I am 5'4" and my measurements are 34-26-35. I rented a size 2 and a size 4. For some strange reason the 4 felt snugger on me than the 2, so I went with the 4. Maybe it was stretched from a lot of wear? But I wore this dress to my wedding shower and received MANY compliments on it! I also had to iron down the collar, it looks much better and is not as annoying. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 3, 2011
This dress is perfect. I tend to run between a 4 and a 6, and the 4 fit like a glove. I wore this for a rehearsal dinner in a wedding which I was a bridesmaid, and it was a big hit! Since it was in October, I paired with it with black tights, black pumps, and a black leather jacket with ruffles to match the lace up top. I didn't want to send this one back!! Highly recommended!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2011
I didn't really like this dress. The built it slip is only attached at the shoulders makign the dress hard to get on. I am a 34C and wore a size 4 and the bust was too tight. I had SUCH a hard time getting the zipper up, also. I have had this problem with Milly in the past. This dress is really made for a pear shaped girl with a small bust.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
March 1, 2011
Lovely dress. I'm usually in between 4 and 6. I went with the 6 because the 4 was a little tight on the chest. I received many compliments. I wore the dress with black tights and black pumps. The only reason i removed a star is because the dress i received had a torn seam by the zipper. It wasn't too noticeable so i wore the dress anyway. Overall, not a bad first rental.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 5, 2011
Gorgeous! Wore this dress to a college graduation and it was perfect! Got so many compliments! Great with black tights for winter or bare legged for spring!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 14, 2011
Dress is gorgeous!!!! I received so many compliments. Was worried about the fit. Received 2 size, 2 & 4. The 2 fit perfect. More beautiful in person than the picture. My cousin is renting for an upcoming even she has. Love love love rtr...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 8, 2010
Loved this dress!!! Fit perfectly. Received so many compliments on it.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
April 3, 2011
Super cute dress!! Just not the right fit for my body type. If you are large chested make sure to order a size or two bigger!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
April 20, 2011
I am a 4 on top (34B) and 6 on bottom and am always between sizes. With Milly, I can always fit into the 4. I wore this dress to a baptism and received many compliments. It was the perfect length on me, so it may be a bit short for taller girls. Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2011
The dress is beautiful but if you have a larger chest, the buttons tend to strain and does not look nice. The ribbon at the waist does give a nice shape though. Disappointed I couldn't wear it
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2011
definitely true to size, this milly dress is a chic and conservarive knock out. my only complaint is that it gathers under the belt and gave a teeny pooch. still, i looked cute.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2011
Loved this dress! It is even more beautiful in person, with it being a bit shiny (but not tacky). When I rented they only had the larger of the 2 sizes but it fit great so I was happy. Had to steam the collar down before wearing. The dress was much shorter than I was anticipating. I wore for my bridal shower, and while it was a hit and got a ton of compliments, sitting while opening presents had me constantly pulling down the skirt part to be longer. Otherwise, great rental and would rent again!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2011
So cute! I wore this to an after-work cocktail hour and I just loved it. Flirty without revealing too much skin.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 30, 2011
love this dress! side up if you have larger bust! the bottom part of the dress lets out enough to disguise midsection flaws. very classy but sexy too!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 27, 2011
wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner in the fall and loved it! runs true to size - i am normally a size 4 and i ordered a 4 & 6, i wore the 4 but could have gone a size smaller. i received many complements on this dress and would definitely recommend to others!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
August 2, 2011
3 starts because it's a beautiful dress. It just wasn't a pretty dress on me. I am a 36DD and couldn't zip up the dress. However, I know that it is more me than the dress. Would be cute otherwise!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
August 31, 2011
This dress was so cute! Ran true to size and the length was great. The fabric appeared more shimmery in person than in the picture- which I liked. Love love loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 31, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress and got so many compliments when I was wearing it. The picture is true to color and the fabric is light and beautiful. I went with the bigger size because I do have a large bust and it was a little snug in the chest area. I would totally rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 13, 2011
A beautiful dress! The slight metallic shimmer of the silver detailing doesn't quite show in the photo, but is really pretty! For those of you with a larger bust, just an FYI - the 8 fit everywhere but at the bust. The buttons wouldn't close at all. The 10 was slightly big everywhere else, but the bust fit better. Still, there was a little gap so I chose to leave the first few buttons undone.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Age: 34
September 19, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner. It is apparent that this dress has been worn many, many times. The color is quite different than it appears in the photo. It's more of a deep peachy color. The ruffles around the collar are flat (even after I steamed them) and some of the stitched flowers are on the verge of unraveling. I rented two sizes. One of the dresses sent to me had a huge stain on the shoulder area (maybe coffee or a weird-colored sweat). I did receive a few compliments, but I will be very cautious to rent a dress with so many reviews in the future.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 11, 2011
Loved this dress! Actual color indoor is a bit darker than what the picture shows, but outdoor is right on! I had to steam the ruffle collar a bit but overall, this dress was no frills. Fitted comfortably and looked super fun and elegant. I highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 19, 2011
This was the perfect dress for an outdoor wedding I recently attended. I got a size 4 and size 6 and ended up wearing the size 6 because the neckline on the size 4 was a bit too constricting as the dress buttons all the way up. I did what some other reviewers did and steamed the collar so that it laid as shown in the photos, but that was really simple. A beautiful dress I completely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 20, 2011
Nice dress, a little worn
I rented this dress for a wedding and got lots of compliments on it. I ordered a 6 and an 8. The 6 fit well but I am a 36C and the top would not button. I recommend ordering a size up if you have any bust at all. It was a nice fit and comfortable I was able to dance all night. When I got the dresses though there were some snags and small stains, which nobody else noticed but me. Overall a nice dress and makes you feel really great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 12, 2011
So cute! I am normally a 4/6 and the 4 fit perfectly. I really liked this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2011
Wore this to my friend's bridal shower and I felt so girly/ladylike. This is definitely something I'd rent again and probably buy!
This is the cutest dress ever. It fit really well and I wore it with tights because it was the middle of winter. Definitely recommend this.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2011
Richmond, VA
I got a lot of compliments on this dress but I think I was too pale to pull off this dress my skin and the dress matched! the collar did need some steaming.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
December 31, 2011
I felt gorgeous in this dress.
When I saw the photo, I thought it would be the perfect hostess dress for our annual holiday party. When it arrived, I was SO excited because it was more gorgeous than pictured. The fabric and detail were beautiful. I have to say I really did not want to send this dress back! It was just so gorgeous. Also - I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 - and the size 4 fit great! From waist up I'm easily a 4-6, waist down 6-8. The skirt is a slight A-line, so I was able to go down a size. :)
lynnMay 22, 2012
Thank you for this review! i am the same way with my size because i am curvy at the bottom and was hesitant on renting a 4. Now im not. thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2012
Cute dress, but gaping buttons
I LOVE this dress!!! I ordered the 10 and 12 for my engagement pictures. Unfortunately, the buttons wouldn't stay closed and it looked way too chesty. Cute dress, but girls with busty top, beware!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
January 31, 2012
Perfect for a Wedding
One of the buttons fell off, but otherwise a very girly, cute dress. Was absolutely perfect for a summer/fall wedding.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
March 27, 2012
Perfect dress for a Mad Men viewing party!
I originally rented this dress for a weekend trip but ended up wearing it to a Mad Men viewing party! This dress is absolute perfection. Feminine, classic and intricately detailed. Felt very Betty Draper-ish, hence the name of the dress! I wish I could buy it! High quality dress, arrived on time, in great condition and fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133lbs
May 20, 2012
Wonderful
I got so much looks no comments on it but i guess looks at the dress speaks for its self.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 25, 2012
RTR's customer service is amazing... I had to rent this dress twice because my event was rescheduled, and they were more than happy to work with me. I recommend RTR to everyone!!
This is a beautiful dress! I rented it for my engagement pictures (actually ended up renting it twice because the pics were cancelled the first time around due to rain). The 0 was a bit harder to zip up than the 2, but I ended up wearing it because it fit better up top (I have a tiny bust). It was short, but not inappropriately so. Like previous reviewers have said, the collar was a bit funky when it arrived, but I used fashion tape to make it behave :) I was a bit wary of the color (I am very pale and tend to not look good in tan), but the black broke up the tan enough, I thought. The dress would probably look better on girls with a bit more color though.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×