Stepford Wife Dress

$68 to buy
$385 retail
Stylist Notes

This charming floral-print Milly dress features a contrasting ribbon tie that defines the waist. A ruffle collar that adds feminine flare and is a perfect choice for the dinner party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with band - conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt appropriate for all body types
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with band - conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt appropriate for all body types
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Almond organza floral jacquard. Crew neckline with ruffle detail. Button front. Grosgrain waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden side zip. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
122 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(104)
Small
(16)
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
April 3, 2011
Super cute dress!! Just not the right fit for my body type. If you are large chested make sure to order a size or two bigger!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
April 20, 2011
I am a 4 on top (34B) and 6 on bottom and am always between sizes. With Milly, I can always fit into the 4. I wore this dress to a baptism and received many compliments. It was the perfect length on me, so it may be a bit short for taller girls. Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2011
The dress is beautiful but if you have a larger chest, the buttons tend to strain and does not look nice. The ribbon at the waist does give a nice shape though. Disappointed I couldn't wear it
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2011
definitely true to size, this milly dress is a chic and conservarive knock out. my only complaint is that it gathers under the belt and gave a teeny pooch. still, i looked cute.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2011
Loved this dress! It is even more beautiful in person, with it being a bit shiny (but not tacky). When I rented they only had the larger of the 2 sizes but it fit great so I was happy. Had to steam the collar down before wearing. The dress was much shorter than I was anticipating. I wore for my bridal shower, and while it was a hit and got a ton of compliments, sitting while opening presents had me constantly pulling down the skirt part to be longer. Otherwise, great rental and would rent again!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2011
So cute! I wore this to an after-work cocktail hour and I just loved it. Flirty without revealing too much skin.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 30, 2011
love this dress! side up if you have larger bust! the bottom part of the dress lets out enough to disguise midsection flaws. very classy but sexy too!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 27, 2011
wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner in the fall and loved it! runs true to size - i am normally a size 4 and i ordered a 4 & 6, i wore the 4 but could have gone a size smaller. i received many complements on this dress and would definitely recommend to others!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
August 2, 2011
3 starts because it's a beautiful dress. It just wasn't a pretty dress on me. I am a 36DD and couldn't zip up the dress. However, I know that it is more me than the dress. Would be cute otherwise!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
August 31, 2011
This dress was so cute! Ran true to size and the length was great. The fabric appeared more shimmery in person than in the picture- which I liked. Love love loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 31, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress and got so many compliments when I was wearing it. The picture is true to color and the fabric is light and beautiful. I went with the bigger size because I do have a large bust and it was a little snug in the chest area. I would totally rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 13, 2011
A beautiful dress! The slight metallic shimmer of the silver detailing doesn't quite show in the photo, but is really pretty! For those of you with a larger bust, just an FYI - the 8 fit everywhere but at the bust. The buttons wouldn't close at all. The 10 was slightly big everywhere else, but the bust fit better. Still, there was a little gap so I chose to leave the first few buttons undone.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Age: 34
September 19, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner. It is apparent that this dress has been worn many, many times. The color is quite different than it appears in the photo. It's more of a deep peachy color. The ruffles around the collar are flat (even after I steamed them) and some of the stitched flowers are on the verge of unraveling. I rented two sizes. One of the dresses sent to me had a huge stain on the shoulder area (maybe coffee or a weird-colored sweat). I did receive a few compliments, but I will be very cautious to rent a dress with so many reviews in the future.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 11, 2011
Loved this dress! Actual color indoor is a bit darker than what the picture shows, but outdoor is right on! I had to steam the ruffle collar a bit but overall, this dress was no frills. Fitted comfortably and looked super fun and elegant. I highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 19, 2011
This was the perfect dress for an outdoor wedding I recently attended. I got a size 4 and size 6 and ended up wearing the size 6 because the neckline on the size 4 was a bit too constricting as the dress buttons all the way up. I did what some other reviewers did and steamed the collar so that it laid as shown in the photos, but that was really simple. A beautiful dress I completely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 20, 2011
Nice dress, a little worn
I rented this dress for a wedding and got lots of compliments on it. I ordered a 6 and an 8. The 6 fit well but I am a 36C and the top would not button. I recommend ordering a size up if you have any bust at all. It was a nice fit and comfortable I was able to dance all night. When I got the dresses though there were some snags and small stains, which nobody else noticed but me. Overall a nice dress and makes you feel really great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 12, 2011
So cute! I am normally a 4/6 and the 4 fit perfectly. I really liked this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2011
Wore this to my friend's bridal shower and I felt so girly/ladylike. This is definitely something I'd rent again and probably buy!
This is the cutest dress ever. It fit really well and I wore it with tights because it was the middle of winter. Definitely recommend this.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2011
Richmond, VA
I got a lot of compliments on this dress but I think I was too pale to pull off this dress my skin and the dress matched! the collar did need some steaming.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
December 31, 2011
I felt gorgeous in this dress.
When I saw the photo, I thought it would be the perfect hostess dress for our annual holiday party. When it arrived, I was SO excited because it was more gorgeous than pictured. The fabric and detail were beautiful. I have to say I really did not want to send this dress back! It was just so gorgeous. Also - I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 - and the size 4 fit great! From waist up I'm easily a 4-6, waist down 6-8. The skirt is a slight A-line, so I was able to go down a size. :)
lynnMay 22, 2012
Thank you for this review! i am the same way with my size because i am curvy at the bottom and was hesitant on renting a 4. Now im not. thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2012
Cute dress, but gaping buttons
I LOVE this dress!!! I ordered the 10 and 12 for my engagement pictures. Unfortunately, the buttons wouldn't stay closed and it looked way too chesty. Cute dress, but girls with busty top, beware!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
January 31, 2012
Perfect for a Wedding
One of the buttons fell off, but otherwise a very girly, cute dress. Was absolutely perfect for a summer/fall wedding.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
March 27, 2012
Perfect dress for a Mad Men viewing party!
I originally rented this dress for a weekend trip but ended up wearing it to a Mad Men viewing party! This dress is absolute perfection. Feminine, classic and intricately detailed. Felt very Betty Draper-ish, hence the name of the dress! I wish I could buy it! High quality dress, arrived on time, in great condition and fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133lbs
May 20, 2012
Wonderful
I got so much looks no comments on it but i guess looks at the dress speaks for its self.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 25, 2012
RTR's customer service is amazing... I had to rent this dress twice because my event was rescheduled, and they were more than happy to work with me. I recommend RTR to everyone!!
This is a beautiful dress! I rented it for my engagement pictures (actually ended up renting it twice because the pics were cancelled the first time around due to rain). The 0 was a bit harder to zip up than the 2, but I ended up wearing it because it fit better up top (I have a tiny bust). It was short, but not inappropriately so. Like previous reviewers have said, the collar was a bit funky when it arrived, but I used fashion tape to make it behave :) I was a bit wary of the color (I am very pale and tend to not look good in tan), but the black broke up the tan enough, I thought. The dress would probably look better on girls with a bit more color though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
June 23, 2012
Renting from RTR was so simple and worry free! The dress arrived on time and was in perfect condition. It looked just like the online picture. No surprises, disappointment, anything! This is a great service as it allows you to wear a DESIGNER dress for an affordable price! Not only do you look smart and stylish, you feel that way too!
I wore this dress for my engagement pictures! I wanted something classic and vintage. It was perfect! I also wore this to a wedding and received tons of compliments! It fit perfectly and looked great! I highly recommend this dress and RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 25, 2012
It was great to see people that I haven't seen in 15+ years tell me how fabulous I looked!
This was the perfect dress for a wedding that I was a reader in. I have a large back tattoo as well as a larger chest and I wanted them both covered for church :) this dress did the job! It was a little snug but I think overall it fits true to size, I usually wear a 6 or 8. One added bonus is it isn't skin tight so you can eat, drink and be merry without having to worry about spanx or it being too tight! Got lots of compliments as always!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 2, 2012
This was my first time renting with RTR and I got so many compliments on this dress! I really wish I owned the dress!
The dress fits true to size. It's really something you can throw on and be ready to go since you don't have to accessorize so much because the dress has a bold print.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 15, 2012
Pretty
I wore this to a dinner with my boyfriends family and it was a huge hit. Wish I owned it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2012
Sophisticated sexy
Sophisticated on top, a short on the bottom, but oh so adorable! Was perfect for the wedding I went to with sexy black stockings and über-high patent heels. Beware this fabric has zero stretch and collar can get crushed shipping so leave some time to steam.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2012
Pretty but no stretch
Love the dress but I need a little more stretch in the hips and thighs. The skirt had no give so I didn't feel 100% comfortable in it and didn't wear it.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 3, 2012
The compliments I received from my friends & even strangers about how pretty I looked in the dress.
I absolutely loved this dress & felt gorgeous the entire night. The dress does run a little small in the bust so I would recommend sizing up. The shiny silver detail is beautful and the ruffles give it a fun, flirty feel. I would absolutely rent this dress again (: Another great RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 23, 2013
The dress details are beautiful in person
This is truly a beautiful dress. FYI - The flower pattern is not printed! I have a larger chest (38C) so I did bump up a size. Thank goddness I did as needed to unbutton the 12 to make it fit around the chest. Also, ran a little short but paired with the boots I felt totally comfortable wearing for my shower.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 1, 2013
Classy and pretty
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a wedding I was in. The size 2 fit, but I ended up wearing the 4 because I'm short and it was below the knee. Going a size up gave me a little more room to be able to tuck it in around the waist and make the dress a little shorter. You couldn't really tell because of the black detail around the waist. It was a very pretty and classy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 12, 2013
Love this dress, but not great for a full bust
I loved this dress, but I couldn't get it the 8 or 10 to fit over my bust. RTR staff was great and offered a credit for a future rental. Next time I'll size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 15, 2013
The dress looked great! Very Classy
I loved this dress! It fit perfectly, was the right length (even though I am short). I felt very confident in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 24, 2013
Perfect Bridal Shower Dress!
I loved this dress, it was so pretty and just as comfortable. I don't like ruffled necklines, but this dress really pulled it off and I thought it looked amazing. It was easy to wear, not stretchy but flowy enough that it fit well, and I got compliments from everyone. Completely bridal shower appropriate because it was conservative but just stunning! I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 13, 2013
Stunning dress
This dress was extremely comfortable to wear. The fit was true to size with there being nice room and not feeling snug. The detailing of the design and fabric are beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
June 7, 2013
Loved it!
Wore this to a formal affair and absolutely loved it. It wasn't too formal or too casual but just right! Definitely great for dancing too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
August 30, 2013
Cute
This was my backup dress, so I didn't end up wearing it. It was cute, but not dressy enough for an evening in my opinion. As mentioned by other reviewers, the collar was pretty flat - I'm not sure if steaming would help, I think you'd have to starch it. If you're going to a more casual evening wedding this could work.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×