Rent the Runway

Milly

Southern Sun Dress

$118 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This strawberry Milly jacquard print sheath is perfect for a weekend in the Hamptons or for a casual night out. Shown here with classic silver accessories.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so size up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so size up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Pink and white cotton link printed jacquard. V neckline with spaghetti straps in back. Hidden back zip. Center back vent. 39" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

53 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 28
Large 5
Photos 19
BD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 13, 2010

Overall fit: Small
Love this dress! Runs a little small though in the hips... would suggest ordering a size up.
Amy
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Nov 17, 2010

Overall fit: Small
Hips are def.smaller than the top for me... but I loved the color! Made it work for me but I recommend to order 1 size up and get a push up bra.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 22, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered on the bigger side based on reviews, but I did need a push-up bra and made use of the double-sided tape to keep the straps and v-neck from sliding - the v is pretty deep. It was so cute on though that I went out and bought the dress so I could wear it again and again.
Carter
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 6, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress is fantastic. It is very fitted however, so size up if you are worried at all about it being too small in one area. The pattern is really bright pink - moreso than I expected. There is also a secondard jacquard pattern that is raised in the fabric. It is interesting and makes it a little dressier, but unnecessary. Overall a great choice!
Rebekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 8, 2011

Pretty but small in the hips

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is really beautiful, but runs very small (especially in the hips/butt). I'm usually a 6 in dresses and the 8 was super tight. I might have been able to make it work with some serious spanx and a crash diet, but it wouldn't have been pretty. However, if you're fairly narrow through the bottom, I'd say go for it. The design is even more vibrant in person.
Jamie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 16, 2012

Not for Curvy Girls!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely beautiful in person. I rented it for an outdoor dress-up event, sizes 2 and 4 and neither fit right. I have a tiny waist and curvy hips, which was not a great combo for this particular dress. If you size up for the hips, be prepared for the top to be loose. It broke my heart I couldn't wear this!
Tarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 17, 2012

Perfect Daytime Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my graduation in the south and it was a perfect choice. I received more compliments on this dress than any other dress I have ever worn. It does run a little big- I would have ideally had the 6 and 4, but the 4 was unavailable as a back up size. Even a little big it still looked great. It did show more cleavege than I expected, so if you are wearing it to a conservative event then I would be prepared with a matching cardigan. Will probably try to buy this dress for my own closet.
Corinne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 18, 2012

Slim fitting and adorable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
As others have mentioned, this dress runs very tight through the hips and I wouldn't recommend this dress to anyone who thinks of their hips as a problem area...or has hips at all hahaha I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was a bit too form-fitting (not appropriate for my particular event), but very cute.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 22, 2012

Only rent if you are petite!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely adorable, but NOT made for those with an hourglass figure and large chests. Or, size up one-two sizes (something I wish I had done!)
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 19, 2012

Not true to Milly Sizing

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I regularly wear Milly Dresses and generally wear a size 4 or 6. Based upon the reviews, I ordered it in an 8 and a 10. The 8 was far too small, and the 10 fit, but tightly.
DCGirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 22, 2012

Super Chic and Cute!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for an outside engagement party, and it was a great dress for many reasons. One, it was quite comfortable and I was able to dance and move around. Secondly, the pattern really stands out and you'll definitely get noticed at a party. Third, it was perfect for a summer-themed party, and Milly (once again) hit it out of the ballpark. I would highly recommend this dress! And will definitely rent it again.
mn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

Lovely summer dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
although very low cut. It is elegant and summery. The fabric is great and looks expensive. Will definitely rent again.
Lizzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Cute dress but deep V neck

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked this dress since it was cute a preppy! The two things I didn't like were the deep V and then the length. If it was a bit shorter I would have worn it that night (made me look too short).
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×