Rent the Runway

Milly

Southern Charmer Dress

$82 to buy
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this flirty Milly halter, printed dress. It is perfect for any bridal shower, graduation, or dinner date with that special someone. Accessorize with a gold toned accessory like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and ivory print with gold foiling. Front sweetheart neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 40'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

153 reviews

Fit
Small 56
True to Size 85
Large 11
Photos 81
DCGirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely LOVED this dress. The picture doesn't do it justice, its incredibly flattering & the hint of gold is a great addition. You can dress this up or down, and its great for any occasion. I highly recommend it. Will definitely rent this again!
Tess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
AMAZING dress! I wore it to an event in Dallas and got so many compliments I'm going to wear it again!
Cat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 3, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Everywhere runs true to size except for the top... I'm about a 36B and normally 4-6 fit me, but even the 6 was a bit tight in the top area. So, if you have a large chest or just a bigger ribcage make sure you get the larger size when choosing (if you are between sizes). It's a gorgeous dress though! Sad I didn't get to wear it.
T
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! It was my second option so I ended up not wearing it but plan to order again cause it was beautiful in person! even better than the picture. It fit well. I ended up getting the 6 cause the 4 was a little tight but that is typical with my tall body type/frame. It fell at about the same length as the model too which I liked. would highly recommend!
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 27, 2011

Fun Dress, with small drawback

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really liked this dress- it was a fun print, with a very interesting gold flecked overlay. I wore it for a wedding rehearsal dinner and it was comfortable and very appropriate for the event. I wore the dress with the included sash/halter tie as a halter, and by the end of the night my neck was itchy from the gold flecks in the tie. That was really the only drawback for the dress! I got a lot of compliments on it and felt fabulous!
Caroline
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 17, 2012

So sad I couldn't wear it . .

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the look of this dress. I'm a bit bigger in the bust and hips than this dress was willing to accommodate though. I usually wear a 4 or 6, but both were too small for me in both the hips and bust, also I am petite and this dress didn't sit properly, there was too much fabric in the waist which bunched. So if you have hips and larger than average bust definitely size up!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 26, 2012

Runs a bit small...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm so glad I sized up on this rental, I normally wear a 2-4, but the upper portion of the dress was too tight to zip on the size 4. I do have a larger rib cage and am a bit busty, but the 6 fit me perfectly. It is a gorgeous dress and I felt beautiful in it!
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 10, 2012

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I usually wear a size 2-4 depending on the cut of the dress, but I would definitely have been more comfortable in a size 6. I found the bust and hip area to be a little snug. I ended up wearing my back up size 4 which was still tight, but wearable. I love that a bra is not necessary with this dress because it has enough built in support with an elastic cinch in the back of the dress. This dress also has some boning along the rib cage so I did not have to keep pulling it up all night. The pattern is definitely more beautiful in person than in the photo. Would rent again!
Jen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 25, 2012

Pretty dress but odd fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit true to size in the waist, but was WAY too big up top. I have a big chest, and the 6 was still too loose. It kept falling down all night. There is a built in bra strap, but there is no hold in the very top.
kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 18, 2012

Had high hopes

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress in both the 8 and the 6 in hopes of wearing it to a friend's wedding but I was disappointed to find neither size fit me well. I'm 5'11", about 150 lbs, with a 32DD bust and the 8 was way to big in the top. The 6 fit better in terms of sizing but the dress just didn't offer enough support in the bust area to stay up; even with a very supportive bra on the dress slid right down immediately and bunched at my waist. It was a bit snug in the hips but some spanxs would have fixed that. A 4 might have been tight enough in the bust to stay up but would have been way too tight in the hip area. Straps would have probably solved the problem but I think RTR would have had a problem with me sewing my own on. I don't think this dress is really but right for those of us who are more of an hourglass shape but the fabric was beautiful and it would look great on someone with a straighter shape.
Julianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Jun 11, 2012

Cute but runs small

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 10 or 12 and the 12 in this dress was still a bit too small, making it uncomfortable to wear. Despite the size it was actually rather flattering, the length is perfect, and the design is very pretty. I would recommend it for a daytime wedding, cocktail reception, etc.
Rach
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 17, 2012

Not the best for wedding/dance

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Looked amazing, but not the best for dancing. The zipper was unzipping on it's own when I moved just enough, and this may have been due to me snapping the strap inside too tight... but this was the only way for me to keep the dress from slipping down. I also used fashion tape.
TMA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Jul 16, 2012

Great dress for a Wedding!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was gorgeous on! I thought it ran a little small so I had to size up from what I normally wear.
GG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 6, 2012

Fantastic Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
LOVE LOVE this dress. I wore this dress to a daytime wedding and it was a hit. I received so many compliments! I wasn't sure about the size at first because I usually wear a 6 but had recently lost some weight so I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit perfectly. It was a little snug in the back but I always have that problem because I have a wide back. The length was perfect as it fell right at the knee. I would definitely rent this dress again. I was sad when I had to return it. Bravo RTR!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Sophisticated/classy dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
A sophisticated, classy choice for a wedding. The dress is sexy without being overtly so; the length (to my knees) compensates for the fact that it is form-fitting. I usually do not like strapless dresses but this one fit great. I was told by a random wedding guest that I "definitely had the best dress" at the wedding (aside from the bride, I'm sure!). I have a fairly broad back (36B) so I was glad that I ordered an 8 as my back-up size. The 6 fit, but was a bit too snug to be comfortable for the entire evening.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Aug 12, 2012

Runs Very Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I am definitely hippy and knew this was a gamble based on the cut but this dress was tiny everywhere. The material is gorgeous and the dress is beautiful, but the one I rented had to go unworn.
Patricia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beutiful dress. I would love to order it again, I'm actually a size 10, but ordered both a 10 and 12. both didn't fit.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

Cute but worn

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I received compliments, but this dress has seen better days. It was definitely worn and a bit too big for my frame.
K
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

Better for smaller chests

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had difficulty with this dress. My chest was definitely between sizes. The 4 fit my body well, but it squeezed my chest so that I was spilling over the top. The 6 was was loose all over and I was afraid it would slide down the whole night. I think this dress works better for ladies with a more petite frame so that there's less to keep under wraps.
Melinda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

Not meant for my body type

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received both an 8 and 10. Neither dress fit me great, I have a short torso so my hips and waist are close together and the boning in the dress was poking into my hips on the 8 and when I tried the 10 it was much to loose on the bust. Not my favorite.
tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Recommend

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fits true to size. Got lots of compliments
annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Sep 1, 2012

Birthday dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my birthday and unfortunatly didnt get to wear it beacuse I didnt choose another size. I thought the dress ran a little small, if you are a busty girl like myself I would go up in a size. Overall the dress was very pretty and I was disappointed that I didnt get to wear it.
Sally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a cousin's wedding and I received compliments on it all night long. I normally wear a size 10 but it was tight across my rib cage, I ended up wearing the size 12 that was knee length. I would recommend this dress!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

Gorgeous but not for big busts

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Even though, as other commenters detailed, this dress is snug in the hips, I thought it made the fit even better because it accentuated my curves a little more. Gorgeous fabric, great length - but the top! It was falling down ALL NIGHT. I was pulling it up every five minutes, which certainly took away from how great the dress looked, I'm sure. It seemed like it would be snug up top, but it just didn't happen for me. If you're small busted, though, do it!
DFD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

BEAUTIFUL NAVY AND GOLD LINEN MILLY DRESS!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so classy and elegant, I wore it to a wedding and got many compliments on it!! I have a larger bust so I ordered a size up which was perfect!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Never got to wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was really excited to wear this dress to a summer wedding in upstate New York, but unfortunately, UPS messed up the delivery and I didn't receive my package before I left town for the weekend. RTW was incredibly helpful and shipped 2 dresses to my hotel in NY over night! Sadly, this one was not available, but the replacement was just as nice!
akw
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

underwhelmed

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I expected a higher caliber fabric, though I'd imagine that most people find the fabric to still be nice. Its for a much 'narrower' type body as the hips dont forgive at all. Material also kind of stiff, so wouldn't lay well on everyone. Sent it back and bought a dress.
Alyson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Oct 2, 2012

Dress got lots of compliments, however, the fit was a bit off.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually a solid size 10. The 10 fit me perfect in the top but was too snug in the bottom so had to go up a size to 12. The top was huge! Luckily i was able to pin it to my strapless bra to keep it from falling down. My only other complaint was that the length difference between the 10 adn 12 was about 5 inches! the 10 fell about mid thigh on me which was great...but the 12 went to my knee. I held them up against one another and there was a 5" difference! Im not sure if someone had gotten the 10 hemmed or what, but that is a BIG difference!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Such a gorgeous dress! It fit perfectly and looked fabulous when I caught the bouquet!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Snug in the top, if you're larger on top I'd go one size up.
E
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Loved the dress. Very appropriate for a wedding.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For starters, the base of the dress is Midnight BLUE not black as described. But other than that I was very pleased with the rental. I wore gold accessories and it worked very well.
Jayne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Great dress for the races!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to Preakness. It was beautiful and comfortable to wear.
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Much longer than it looks on model!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding and was disappointed when it arrived because it is tea-length rather than above the knee, as shown on the model in the picture. This length is no good for me. However, the fabric is beautiful and the built in bra is fantastic. I wish this had worked for me but, alas, I went with the other dress in my order!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Disappointed.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really wanted to love this dress. I thought it would be stunning for my friends formal wedding. It did not fit at all! I am normally a 6 and I ordered a 6 and 8 and both sizes didn't work out. It was tight in the chest area and baggy in the waist. I couldn't wear a strapless bra with it but it didn't fit right without a bra. I was sad to not be able to wear it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×