Southern Charmer Dress

$82 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this flirty Milly halter, printed dress. It is perfect for any bridal shower, graduation, or dinner date with that special someone. Accessorize with a gold toned accessory like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and ivory print with gold foiling. Front sweetheart neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 40'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(85)
Small
(56)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
August 31, 2012
Recommend
fits true to size. Got lots of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
August 31, 2012
that I wore it to 2 weddings in 1 weekend!
I wore this dress in Chicago to 2 weddings! I had a friend's wedding that Friday night and then my cousin's wedding on Saturday night. I got soooooooo many compliments both nights. I was so happy to share that I had rented it and wore it 2 weddings.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 28, 2012
Not meant for my body type
I received both an 8 and 10. Neither dress fit me great, I have a short torso so my hips and waist are close together and the boning in the dress was poking into my hips on the 8 and when I tried the 10 it was much to loose on the bust. Not my favorite.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 26, 2012
Better for smaller chests
I had difficulty with this dress. My chest was definitely between sizes. The 4 fit my body well, but it squeezed my chest so that I was spilling over the top. The 6 was was loose all over and I was afraid it would slide down the whole night. I think this dress works better for ladies with a more petite frame so that there's less to keep under wraps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 107lbs
August 26, 2012
Such a cute dress!
I loved this dress! The pattern is really pretty in person and goes well with gold accessories. I wore the 0 and it fit well, but I probably could have used the 2 to tone down the cleavage. However, the 2 was significantly bigger through the midsection and hips and was several inches longer - below my knees! So I went with the 0 and just didn't snap the built in bra. The dress was tight enough to keep everything in place even through a late night of dancing!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 19, 2012
Wore for an evening wedding. My friends dresses are also from RTR.
I'm normally a 4 but it was way too big. 2 fit great however. It was a little worn out though and the black almost looked dark blue in bright light. Got a lot of compliments and looks great with a tan.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
August 19, 2012
Cute but worn
I received compliments, but this dress has seen better days. It was definitely worn and a bit too big for my frame.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
Love love the dress
The dress just fits perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 160lbs
August 16, 2012
Beautiful dress
Beutiful dress. I would love to order it again, I'm actually a size 10, but ordered both a 10 and 12. both didn't fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
August 12, 2012
Runs Very Small
I am definitely hippy and knew this was a gamble based on the cut but this dress was tiny everywhere. The material is gorgeous and the dress is beautiful, but the one I rented had to go unworn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 10, 2012
Sophisticated/classy dress
A sophisticated, classy choice for a wedding. The dress is sexy without being overtly so; the length (to my knees) compensates for the fact that it is form-fitting. I usually do not like strapless dresses but this one fit great. I was told by a random wedding guest that I "definitely had the best dress" at the wedding (aside from the bride, I'm sure!). I have a fairly broad back (36B) so I was glad that I ordered an 8 as my back-up size. The 6 fit, but was a bit too snug to be comfortable for the entire evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 6, 2012
Fantastic Dress
LOVE LOVE this dress. I wore this dress to a daytime wedding and it was a hit. I received so many compliments! I wasn't sure about the size at first because I usually wear a 6 but had recently lost some weight so I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit perfectly. It was a little snug in the back but I always have that problem because I have a wide back. The length was perfect as it fell right at the knee. I would definitely rent this dress again. I was sad when I had to return it. Bravo RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 1, 2012
a standout
size 0 & 2 truthfully I thought I would need the size 2 (since my ribs are big) but nope! :D as mentioned before the inner bra strap does make the back a bit weird. The size 0 dress is worn out, the gold lining was falling apart (i had to trim the lining that was ripped and drooping). the black is actually a Navy Blue, the white is a creamish yellow. I wore a push up bra and with the built-in bra it really made my chest popped ;) I wish the length of the dress was a tad shorter (or my legs suddenly got longer) as you can see in the picture it is directly right above my knees. 3 stars because the dress was worn out and the gold lining was just coming off. But overall it is a pretty good dress. p.s. don't expect to get down and dirty in this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
July 16, 2012
Definitely fit the bill!
I wore this for a nice summer wedding. Very appropriate for the occasion. It's not my favorite rental, but I got a ton of compliments on it anyway! The dress was a bit looser around the hips on me (and you can even notice that on the model). It's made of very nice material and has flecks of gold throughout. It looks great paired with a bold choker. I cinched the waist with a thin gold belt. The only problem was that my boyfriend didn't like the fact that it wasn't skin-tight... MEN.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
July 16, 2012
Great dress for a Wedding!
This dress was gorgeous on! I thought it ran a little small so I had to size up from what I normally wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
July 8, 2012
Awesome customer service!!
Milly is a go-to designer for me. So I wasn't taking much of risk here. I wore this to a wedding and got tons of compliments on it. Everyone was so surprised I rented it because it fit so well! My only complaint is the under wire was popping out of the built in bra and it hurt! also the built in bra doesn't fit. There's a big gap between the bra strap inside and the outside of the dress. looks weird. so I wore my own bra inside and there was a lot of shifting going on through the night because of the friction.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 5, 2012
No one could believe I rented the dress because it was in such great condition. Perfect for being on a grad school budget :)
I got so many compliments on this dress! I ordered it in a 2 and a 4, and the 2 fit better up top but for some reason was several inches longer than the 4- it went past my knees! So I used the bra clip in the 4 to help it stay up, although this did make it gap a bit in the back and I didn't have any fashion tape to fix it. Other than that it fit great and was comfortable to be dancing in all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
June 27, 2012
Ordering/returning was super easy, and love that I got another outfit w/out taking up room in my city-sized closet. Was my first order, but I will be a repeat customer!
Ordered this for a summer wedding in Santa Fe. LOVED the dress, but the fit was a bit concerning at first. I'm usually a 0 or 2, but after reading reviews that it ran small, I ordered the 2. Was worried it was huge until I realized there was an inner bra. Once that was hooked (and I slipped a padded strapless bra in--apparently it is meant for bigger than a B cup!), it was great. Was worried the print was a bit "sparkle on bad french toile curtains", but loved it in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 17, 2012
Not the best for wedding/dance
Looked amazing, but not the best for dancing. The zipper was unzipping on it's own when I moved just enough, and this may have been due to me snapping the strap inside too tight... but this was the only way for me to keep the dress from slipping down. I also used fashion tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
June 11, 2012
Cute but runs small
I normally wear a 10 or 12 and the 12 in this dress was still a bit too small, making it uncomfortable to wear. Despite the size it was actually rather flattering, the length is perfect, and the design is very pretty. I would recommend it for a daytime wedding, cocktail reception, etc.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 11, 2012
Being able to get amazing dresses fairly inexpensively for any occasion is invaluable.
It is definitely true that this dress runs small. I typically wear an 8 but it was a tight fit in the hips and somewhat restrictive. However, the 10 was also slightly too large for my size 34C boobs. The fashion tape RTR provided came to the rescue and the dress definitely impressed at my friend's residency graduation banquet. This is the first time I have rented for RTR and I am very satisfied. The experience was easy, the dress (and back-up size) were delivered on time, and it looked great. I am now an RTR fan!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 25, 2012
All the compliments I got!
I ordered sizes 0 & 2, both fit well (without the built in bra-thing, more on that later), but the 0 was just a bit more snug so I went with that. After eating and drinking at a wedding, the boning in the dress was very uncomfortable, so think about that before you eat a lot. The dress came with a built in bra, that was super tight even on the loosest setting. I chose not to close it because if I did the back fabric was loose and looked weird. It was a great length, I was able to sit without worrying about it being too short. I had gold, black & tan accessories that went great with the dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 18, 2012
Had high hopes
I rented this dress in both the 8 and the 6 in hopes of wearing it to a friend's wedding but I was disappointed to find neither size fit me well. I'm 5'11", about 150 lbs, with a 32DD bust and the 8 was way to big in the top. The 6 fit better in terms of sizing but the dress just didn't offer enough support in the bust area to stay up; even with a very supportive bra on the dress slid right down immediately and bunched at my waist. It was a bit snug in the hips but some spanxs would have fixed that. A 4 might have been tight enough in the bust to stay up but would have been way too tight in the hip area. Straps would have probably solved the problem but I think RTR would have had a problem with me sewing my own on. I don't think this dress is really but right for those of us who are more of an hourglass shape but the fabric was beautiful and it would look great on someone with a straighter shape.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
May 7, 2012
Being able to love something at a reasonable price for just 1 night. Easy transaction.
I wore this in a size 6 for the Philadelphia Magazine Wine Festival. The reviews here helped me pick my size. I am a 34D bra size and 5' tall gal weighing 117 lbs. and it fit perfect! The dress comes with built in bra that is not padded which helps support the bust. My waist is 28 and it was roomy around the waist but not large. The size was perfect because it fit my bust. It went down past my knees. The dress itself is very pretty. It has gold details that are embroidered which make it look even better in person. It has ribs built in to provide tummy control. Over all a good choice at a good price. I loved it and returned it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
April 25, 2012
Pretty dress but odd fit
This dress fit true to size in the waist, but was WAY too big up top. I have a big chest, and the 6 was still too loose. It kept falling down all night. There is a built in bra strap, but there is no hold in the very top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 10, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I usually wear a size 2-4 depending on the cut of the dress, but I would definitely have been more comfortable in a size 6. I found the bust and hip area to be a little snug. I ended up wearing my back up size 4 which was still tight, but wearable. I love that a bra is not necessary with this dress because it has enough built in support with an elastic cinch in the back of the dress. This dress also has some boning along the rib cage so I did not have to keep pulling it up all night. The pattern is definitely more beautiful in person than in the photo. Would rent again!
KimberlyApril 26, 2012
could you please post a picture? i just rented this but i'm getting nervous now and I want to see what the length looks like...
LauraMay 1, 2012
Kim I'm about to rent it, but could you please tell me what the length was like? That's what I'm worried about too! I don't want it to be too long
RTRMay 2, 2012
Hi Laura, the length of this style is 40'' from shoulder to hem. It will be knee length on anyone 5'5
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
March 26, 2012
Runs a bit small...
I'm so glad I sized up on this rental, I normally wear a 2-4, but the upper portion of the dress was too tight to zip on the size 4. I do have a larger rib cage and am a bit busty, but the 6 fit me perfectly. It is a gorgeous dress and I felt beautiful in it!
KimberlyApril 26, 2012
do you have a picture of the dress? we seem to be about the same size and and i want to know how long it is
RTRMay 2, 2012
Hi Kim, the length of this style is 40'' from shoulder to hem. It will be knee length on anyone 5'5
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
January 17, 2012
So sad I couldn't wear it . .
Loved the look of this dress. I'm a bit bigger in the bust and hips than this dress was willing to accommodate though. I usually wear a 4 or 6, but both were too small for me in both the hips and bust, also I am petite and this dress didn't sit properly, there was too much fabric in the waist which bunched. So if you have hips and larger than average bust definitely size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2011
Fun Dress, with small drawback
I really liked this dress- it was a fun print, with a very interesting gold flecked overlay. I wore it for a wedding rehearsal dinner and it was comfortable and very appropriate for the event. I wore the dress with the included sash/halter tie as a halter, and by the end of the night my neck was itchy from the gold flecks in the tie. That was really the only drawback for the dress! I got a lot of compliments on it and felt fabulous!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 14, 2011
Loved this dress! It was my second option so I ended up not wearing it but plan to order again cause it was beautiful in person! even better than the picture. It fit well. I ended up getting the 6 cause the 4 was a little tight but that is typical with my tall body type/frame. It fell at about the same length as the model too which I liked. would highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 3, 2011
Everywhere runs true to size except for the top... I'm about a 36B and normally 4-6 fit me, but even the 6 was a bit tight in the top area. So, if you have a large chest or just a bigger ribcage make sure you get the larger size when choosing (if you are between sizes). It's a gorgeous dress though! Sad I didn't get to wear it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 2, 2011
AMAZING dress! I wore it to an event in Dallas and got so many compliments I'm going to wear it again!
MelissaJanuary 1, 2012
I'm 5'3" and usually wear a 2, just wondering what size you rented?
RTRMay 2, 2012
Hi Melissa, we recommend size 2 and 0 for your back up!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2011
Absolutely LOVED this dress. The picture doesn't do it justice, its incredibly flattering & the hint of gold is a great addition. You can dress this up or down, and its great for any occasion. I highly recommend it. Will definitely rent this again!
AudreyJuly 25, 2012
Is the dress really black, white and gold? The pictures make it look navy blue.
RTRJuly 30, 2012
Hi Audrey, this dress is black and ivory print with gold foiling.
See more reviews:
4 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×