Southern Charmer Dress

$82 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this flirty Milly halter, printed dress. It is perfect for any bridal shower, graduation, or dinner date with that special someone. Accessorize with a gold toned accessory like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and ivory print with gold foiling. Front sweetheart neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 40'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(85)
Small
(55)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 7, 2013
Nice tight metallic pattern!
Dress was a nice fit (although I could have gone up a size to breathe better!) It was a little tight in the bust, making the top fold over (there isn't as much boning or structure at the top as I would have preferred). However, the pattern and the sheen make this dress look expensive and sexy. I would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
July 7, 2013
I wore this dress for a summer wedding.
This dress was very comfortable. It fit well (def true to size) and a breathable material. It's comfortable, lightweight and pretty design. The only issue I had was that the zipper kept coming down slightly but nothing a safety pin couldn't fix. Perfect for a summer wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
July 16, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Wish I could keep it!
Out of two dresses, I wore this for an outdoor wedding/indoor reception and the dress worked for both. It's more beautiful in person because the gold detailing really shows through. As other users have posted, the dress has definitely seen some use. Both the 0 and the 2 had several frayed gold threads but nothing you can't fix. No problems with the zipper falling down in the back or the built in bra but the boning in the dress can be uncomfortable if you're going to be sitting down for long periods of time. Still, no regrets. The 2 was comfortable but the 0 fit perfectly. I would definitely rent this again! Very happy with my first RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 20, 2014
Great, unique dress. Lots of compliments.
There isn't any stretch to the fabric, so it felt a bit tight through the hip/thigh area. The waist was a little big, so I used a belt which was pretty cute. Also, the bust was a little small, so I didn't wear a bra - the top was very structured with boning, so this wasn't a problem. I wish more people would put there measurements on here, as that would give better fit information than dress size or weight, so here goes: Bust/Bra: 32D Waist: 24" Hips: 34"-35" Height: 5'4"
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 26, 2014
#bestdressed
I loved how this dress looked! Perfect for a Yacht wedding. I definitely felt like the best dressed guest on the entire boat. My only issue with this dress is there isn't a clip at the top of the zipper so I had trouble keeping the zipper up. My boyfriend had to be on zipper patrol most of the night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 23, 2014
Hot, shiny, little number!
Love this dress, rented it for a Vegas birthday party. Saw Elton John in this shiny little thing. I think he woulda been proud.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 8, 2014
The dress was sexy & elegant!
A little loose on top but not terribly loose. Just had to keep an eye on it and adjust the top portion, here & there, throughout the night. There's no give on the dress material (Not stretchy) Ok when standing but can be restrictive when sitting down. So, choose your appropriate size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
June 13, 2014
Fit like a glove.
Pretty tight, but length was good and the colors were great. As the previous comments state, this is navy, not black. Looked great with gold accessories and did not need to wear a bra. The "boning" inside the dress was a little bothersome by the end of a long day, but that is to be expected.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 23, 2014
Beautiful for a wedding !! So many compliments and really stood out.
If you are big chested and expect to be dancing, size up. I almost popped out at the top on the dancefloor multiple times. cinched at the waist and made my butt/abs look great. Definitely pushed up the chest area as well, just not good while moving.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 27, 2014
Nice dress, would not rent again.
I really loved this dress in the photos, so when I got it, I ended up being a little disappointed in it. It was really tight in the bust area, but also pretty long. I wasn't ever entirely sure what color it was (I think navy..) and it definitely looked different in different lights. The dress was not in great shape when I got it (just typical wear and tear), but nothing that impacted the way it looked. Overall, I'm glad I rented this, but would not rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
April 1, 2014
pretty dress
Nice dress but I read the other girls comments and ordered a size up bc they said it ran small. Unfortunately, my breasts were hanging out and I had to keep my jacket on the whole time at the baby shower. Im not sure if that mean the dress was too big or too small up top. Not on my top 10 of favorite rentals.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2014
Didn't fit so didn't wear...too small
Top is too small and meant for small busts. I didn't end up wearing because I would not have felt comfortable that the dress would've stayed up all night. Every Milly dress I've ever tried on I've been a 6...so it was quite surprising that the 6 was too small. Order a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 3, 2014
Form fitting, sexy elegance!
I wore this for my best friends wedding rehearsal dinner. It fit perfectly. It was form fitting, wore some spanx to lend a hand, but the material was the perfect weight to hide some imperfections and not make me feel self conscious. I have 36ds and the neckline accented the girls perfectly. All eyes on me (second to the bride of course) :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2014
Stand out!
This is a beautiful dress that I wore to a wedding. I definitely got a lot of attention because the print was so different. Someone even said I rivaled the bride which was not my intentions at all. Overall lots of compliments and fun to wear!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 12, 2011
Absolutely LOVED this dress. The picture doesn't do it justice, its incredibly flattering & the hint of gold is a great addition. You can dress this up or down, and its great for any occasion. I highly recommend it. Will definitely rent this again!
AudreyJuly 25, 2012
Is the dress really black, white and gold? The pictures make it look navy blue.
RTRJuly 30, 2012
Hi Audrey, this dress is black and ivory print with gold foiling.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 2, 2011
AMAZING dress! I wore it to an event in Dallas and got so many compliments I'm going to wear it again!
MelissaJanuary 1, 2012
I'm 5'3" and usually wear a 2, just wondering what size you rented?
RTRMay 2, 2012
Hi Melissa, we recommend size 2 and 0 for your back up!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
March 26, 2012
Runs a bit small...
I'm so glad I sized up on this rental, I normally wear a 2-4, but the upper portion of the dress was too tight to zip on the size 4. I do have a larger rib cage and am a bit busty, but the 6 fit me perfectly. It is a gorgeous dress and I felt beautiful in it!
KimberlyApril 26, 2012
do you have a picture of the dress? we seem to be about the same size and and i want to know how long it is
RTRMay 2, 2012
Hi Kim, the length of this style is 40'' from shoulder to hem. It will be knee length on anyone 5'5
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
April 25, 2012
Pretty dress but odd fit
This dress fit true to size in the waist, but was WAY too big up top. I have a big chest, and the 6 was still too loose. It kept falling down all night. There is a built in bra strap, but there is no hold in the very top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
June 11, 2012
Cute but runs small
I normally wear a 10 or 12 and the 12 in this dress was still a bit too small, making it uncomfortable to wear. Despite the size it was actually rather flattering, the length is perfect, and the design is very pretty. I would recommend it for a daytime wedding, cocktail reception, etc.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 17, 2012
Not the best for wedding/dance
Looked amazing, but not the best for dancing. The zipper was unzipping on it's own when I moved just enough, and this may have been due to me snapping the strap inside too tight... but this was the only way for me to keep the dress from slipping down. I also used fashion tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
August 31, 2012
Recommend
fits true to size. Got lots of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 1, 2012
Birthday dress
I rented this dress for my birthday and unfortunatly didnt get to wear it beacuse I didnt choose another size. I thought the dress ran a little small, if you are a busty girl like myself I would go up in a size. Overall the dress was very pretty and I was disappointed that I didnt get to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 2, 2012
Great dress!
I rented this dress for a cousin's wedding and I received compliments on it all night long. I normally wear a size 10 but it was tight across my rib cage, I ended up wearing the size 12 that was knee length. I would recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
November 11, 2012
Great dress for the races!
I wore this to Preakness. It was beautiful and comfortable to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
Much longer than it looks on model!
I rented this for a wedding and was disappointed when it arrived because it is tea-length rather than above the knee, as shown on the model in the picture. This length is no good for me. However, the fabric is beautiful and the built in bra is fantastic. I wish this had worked for me but, alas, I went with the other dress in my order!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
November 19, 2012
Disappointed.
I really wanted to love this dress. I thought it would be stunning for my friends formal wedding. It did not fit at all! I am normally a 6 and I ordered a 6 and 8 and both sizes didn't work out. It was tight in the chest area and baggy in the waist. I couldn't wear a strapless bra with it but it didn't fit right without a bra. I was sad to not be able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 19, 2012
The stylists at RTR fixed everything!
I ordered this dress and had it sent in 2 sizes, but I did not get to wear it. I am a little short wasted and still have a little post-baby weight on and the dress just did not fit right. The stylists at RTR helped me to choose another dress and get it sent overnight. This dress is beautiful but just will not work for me at the moment.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
November 26, 2012
Cute dress but weird cut
I really wanted to wear this to a good friend's wedding this summer, however, when I tried it on, the cut was just really odd. It was super lose and baggy on top and rather fitted on the bottom. If I had ordered up a size the bottom would have fit but the top would have been falling off. Also, it was much much shorter in person than in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
November 27, 2012
Great dress, so sad I couldn't wear it!
I was so excited to rent this dress for a holiday wedding because of the great reviews and how popular the dress is. I ordered the 10 and 12 because being tall/busty you never know! Unfortunately, I was unable to wear either. They both fit horribly. It was either too small in my bust (i'm a 38C) and perfect in the waist/hip area. Or too tight through the hips/waist and just right on my bust! I would either have spent the entire night pulling the dress up to cover the ladies, or pull it down so that it would stop bunching around my crotch. Again, so sad that I was not able to wear this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2013
Runs small!
Gorgeous dress and awesome design, but it hugs EVERYTHING and it was constantly adjusting. Not the best choice for curvy women or anyone with a larger bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 6, 2013
way too short!
i order both the 6 and the 8 as the back up size and niether one covered my lady parts! my butt was hanging out! i know i have a longer torso but this was way way way too short. cute dress though otherwise, i just couldnt even wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
March 28, 2013
Wore for Valentine's Day, I love the gold detailing!
Even though its jacquard, it's not too stiff. Great dress. Although the top part can run a little loose--they have a separate closure that pulls it tight across your back, but it can still get a loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 6, 2013
This was my backup that I decided not to wear.
This dress is not good if you are "busty". I would have worked but I didn't love it. There is a bra strap on the inside that pushes the girls up and out. :( Otherwise the dress is very pretty.
See more reviews:
4 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×