Rent the Runway

Milly

Sophia Lace Shift

$45 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the stylish woman in the room wearing this amazing Milly colored lace shift. Perfect for a holiday party, anniversary, or cocktail event.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green lace(100% nylon; lining: 100% silk). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Pleating at skirt. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

458 reviews

Fit
Small 79
True to Size 313
Large 40
Photos 267
Brianna
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

I got so many compliments, it was perfect for the occasion

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The arms run a little small, the pockets were awesome and everything else was perfect! Such a comfortable dress
mrsavcm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Beautiful and comfortable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered the 8 and the 10 and ended up wearing the 10. The sleeves were just a bit tight when I first put the dress on but it was not an issue. I was able to dance and was comfortable all night!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Perfectly elegant dress for my brother's wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'll be honest: I was super skeptical about this dress. After trying it on initially, I felt like it was a bit too long on my petite frame, a bit weird with the exposed zipper, etc... But hey, it was my brother's wedding day not mine, so on the dress went. I was so wrong about my first thoughts on this dress! Once makeup and hair were done, it was transformed into elegant and retro. Looked much more expensive and high-end than the photos. A timeless no-brainer, even if you don't think so at first glance :).
Topperbabe2006
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

The color is delicious!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress definitely runs slightly big. I consider myself between a 2 and a 4 and the 2 fit like a glove! The color really popped with the fall colors of New England. I was comfortable and could dance all night. And the dress has pockets!! I paired it with some silver chandelier earrings and black heels. The lace sleeves were slightly snug, but loosened up as the night went on.
Robyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Oct 10, 2014

Really beautiful dress. Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I know other reviewers say this dress runs true to size, but I have a large chest. To me the dress ran small. I wear between a 6 and an 8, and the 8 was tight in the chest area. I probably should have had a 10. The dress was gorgeous. I got tons of compliments on it.
Melissa_5591
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 11, 2014

The dress is even more beautiful in person.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered an 8 and a 10. I normally wear an 8. The 8 was snug but the 10 was too big. I wore the 8. The color of this dress is beautiful and the lace is one of a kind. The length was perfect for a wedding and I still felt sexy.
Jennie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 13, 2014

So many compliments. Really comfortable dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Bottom half of dress is roomy; you will need a strapless bra.
Alyssa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

People were coming up to me all night giving me compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm usually a size 10, and this dress was true to size. It was super comfortable and very flattering. Paired it with black heels and black drop earrings.
Danielle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

Beautiful dress! Endless compliments all night at a fall wedding in Brooklyn!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Size 4 fit perfectly but the zipper looked like it had been replaced and broke off when I was zipping it up! Ended up wearing the size 6. Got so many compliments! Easy to dance in, very comfortable! Perfect with simple earrings.
Allison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Wedding guest

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm much larger on top than bottom - so sizing up was more comfortable for me. The waist was roomy but overall - this dress fit nicely. Extremely flattering.
Cate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Oct 18, 2014

Lace is gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this to my niece's Baptism. I was the godmother, and the length was very appropriate. The lace is so pretty.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Perfect for a fall outdoor wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the first dress I've gotten from RTR, and I can definitely say it was 100% worth it! The fit was perfect, and so was the color. It was a little longer than I had expected but it was fine since it was a little chilly out. There was a huge size difference between the 4 and 6. And I could tell that it had been worn before; the hems on the sleeves were a little frayed and the lining of the dress kept falling down so I had to keep it up with some pins. But, overall a great experience! Thanks RTR!!! I will definitely be renting again soon. :)
Kara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Gorgeous color and very comfortable. Pockets were a bonus!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 6 or an 8 and the 6 was definitely way too tight everywhere, but the 8 fit well (though the skirt wasn't nearly as loose as it looks in the model picture.) I got compliments all night long on the dress and was very happy that I used RtR and chose this dress.
mary
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Beautiful dress for a fall wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a huge hit at a friend's outdoor fall wedding. I got tons of compliments! I wore my normal size and the cut was super flattering. The dress did lose one star because the lace had a tear on one of the arms. Luckily it blended in fairly nicely with the lace, so you really only noticed it if you knew where to look.
Kendra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress. Will rent again!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the length/pockets/color/fabric. Was perfect for an outdoor wedding. I will say the lace at the top had a hard time staying nice against your neckline, but not a big enough issue to be a problem! The sleeves were a little tight too, but only because of my swimmer arms. Absolutely lovely.
Rica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

It was the perfect dress for an outdoor fall wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had read that this dress ran small so I originally ordered a 4 but by the grace of God I was unable to receive the 4 so they sent me the 2 instead and I'm so glad because even the 2 was a little bit too large! It was the perfect dress, I received so many compliments and I wish I could have it permanently in my wardrobe!
Maryanne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Oct 23, 2014

I wore this dress to a friends fall wedding and it was perfect! Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am short and busty, therefore dress fit can be hard but this dress fit great! It was slightly tight in the bust but nothing uncomfortable. The color in person is slightly darker than pictured as noted in other reviews but is very pretty. Many people approached me to ask where I got the dress. Would definitely recommend this to others, plus it has pockets!
Lori
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

I was a reader in a wedding, and this dress was the perfect blend of fashionable and appropriate!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I read on the reviews that it ran large, so I ordered a size 6 as well. But I didn't find at all that it ran large. I wore the 8. Luckily, it fit perfectly. If you are large-busted, say bigger than a C cup, I would probably pick another dress. Worth noting: The lining under the lace in the size 8 dress had more of a sheen and was a tad lighter than the lining in the size 6 dress. The color is fantastic—a rich teal. In the RTR photo it looks like the skirt is a tiny bit "a-line" but I found it to be more leg-hugging. Very comfortable, however, as I danced for two hours and never felt inhibited. And by the way, I have never received so many compliments. I was looking for a dress that was age-appropriate (I'm 46), was conservative enough to be the reader at the wedding, and was still on trend and fashionable. I think I found it! I could not be happier with the service from Rent the Runway, and I will definitely rent again when an event comes up.
Katlin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

I loved the color and the lace details!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a size 4 and a size 6. They both fit the same everywhere but the arms so I decided to go with the size 6 because I knew I would be dancing a lot and it had more give. The only thing that bothered me a little was that the slip underneath kept showing but it wasn't that big of a deal. I got compliments on the dress through out the night. I will definitely be using RTR for every event from now on!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

Perfect dress for a Fall wedding! LOVED the color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved everything about this dress. it was the perfect length since I am around 5"11. It hit right above my knee so if you're shorter know that it will be longer on you. I ordered a 2 & 4, but with the 4 because the 2 was a little tight in my chest and arm area. So if you have a larger bust I would go up.
Meggan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

Great fall dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a lot of compliments on this dress and the color. It is the perfect fall dress! I had read reviews that the arms and chest were a little tight and they definitely were. You are definitely able to move in it, and if it they were baggy it wouldn't look good but if you have bigger arms or bigger chest I'd definitely get a size bigger than you normally wear. No give in the fabric since it's lace. This was my first order on Rent The Runway and it will not be the last! I rented the necklace pictured as well!
Colleen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Nov 1, 2014

Gorgeous classy dress, perfect for a fall wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time using rent the runway and I am officially hooked! I rented for a fall outdoor wedding in Maine and it was the perfect dress for the occasion. The package even came with some free beauty product samples! The only reason I gave 4 stars is that the zipper was broken on the size 4 dress. The size 2 fit me really well though, so it turned out well!
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Felt great in this dress and danced all night long!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
There's not much stretch to the dress which is why I ended up wearing the 8 instead of the 6. The sleeves on the 6 would have been too snug, I think. The back of the dress was probably my favorite part and even though the V looks low, it wasn't too low to wear a bra, and the dress was long enough that it felt very appropriate for a wedding. I felt great in this dress and it was so fun to wear!
Kristina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Engagement photo dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was absolutely perfect for engagement photos.... I am tall and the length and size were both perfect (I am a true size 4). Lovely dress!!
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Lovely dress! Comfortable and perfect for a fall wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and was really pleased with the choice overall. It was beautiful (especially the low back!) and very comfortable. It was tight in the right places and loose in the right places. I paired it with a black clutch, simple black heels, and some black and silver earrings. I'm really short and was worried that it would be way too long and unflattering, but it was fine (came right above my knee). That said, the only reason I gave the dress 4 starts, not 5, was because I did wish it was a bit shorter and that the sleeves were slightly longer.
Jill
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

It was a beautiful Sunday wedding, and I felt like I was one of the best-dressed guests!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The photo does not do it justice! The dress fit really well. The style was forgiving but still flattering, a rare feat for most dresses. Also, decided to wear a bra with nude colored straps because it was very subtle. Even my bra-police mother approved.
Rebekah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Dress was perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress!!! Fit true to size. I weigh 135 but my bra size is a 30F so I was a little worried about the fit but it was perfect! I wore it for a rehearsal dinner and it was comfortable, flattering, and absolutely gorgeous!! The color in person is a little darker than I thought it would be but I loved it!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Gorgeous color and style!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sleeves fit tight, but overall good fit. Flowy on the bottom and tight on the top. Got lots of compliments and I loved the color and style! Highly recommend.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Complements and fun. Wore this while chaperoning a high school ring dance.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Lace was a little loose around neckline, shoulders and back. Overall great fit. I added a necklace as a belt and it worked great. I got complements from co-workers and my students :)
Randi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Gorgeous and comfortable

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Date
Fits wide in the hips and thighs so it's great for pear shapes. Very flattering and super comfortable. Gorgeous dress!! I loved it.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Great first rental!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
The dress fit great! I was comfortable all night, and loved the color! It was darker than the picture appears.
Molly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

The dress fit perfectly!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit me perfectly. I was nervous renting from online and not being able to try it on before I could actually rent it but it worked out great! The sleeves were a tad tight, but my arms are naturally big and that's a problem I have with a lot of clothing. The neckline was my favorite part. Definitely recommend!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved wearing this dress! There is not a ton of give in the waist but I didn't have any issues with that (and I usually do) - sat during the ceremony and dinner, enjoyed a multi-course meal and danced alllll night and didn't once notice any tightness or discomfort. I read in other reviews that the lace flopped over for them, but that didn't happen to me. I felt great it in and received several compliments throughout the night!
Sidnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2014

Wore to a wedding at a winery in May

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to rent this dress for a long time and am glad I did! At the time, I was closer to a 14, and aside from a little "pooch" in the midsection, this was a very forgiving dress. The sleeves and top are obviously the focal point and the color does not disappoint!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Fits like a glove with a touch of sexy on the back.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
The dress is more fitted than I expected. However, it has a great fit overall. The back has a v-neck and the lace on top is very feminine. I wore it to my company's holiday party. The sleeves were a bit snug. The color is beautiful. I received tons of compliments.
Meghan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 164 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Many compliments! Perfect for Christmas party!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
The color of this dress was beautiful, however there were some areas of the lace that were ripped, but it was very hard to see because of the fabric. It was a bit tight where the seam was near the rib cage but was do-able for the night. I was able to dance the night away freely. Overall really enjoyed the dress and received many compliments!
Nycole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

It was extremely comfortable and the color was gorgeous!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful, even though I wasn't super excited about the way it fit me. The color was the best part - it is a really beautiful rich, deep green that you can't really tell from the photos. The lace is really pretty too, and the way it sits along your collar bone is beautiful. It's soft and stretchy and has pockets - all things that make this dress very wearable for a long night!
RTR Customer
Dec 15, 2014

Beautiful dress that stands out among black!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! The lace detail was beautiful and the back detail made it even more special. I'm usually a size 8-10 but I've found many of the RTR dresses are so tight in the chest that I need to wear a size 12, which was what I wore in this dress. It was so tight in the chest that I didn't need a bra. Very snug to sit in, but not too uncomfortable. I'd rent it again because the lace details and beautiful color stood out among the other black dresses at a September wedding.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I usually wear a 6 but that wasn't available so I took a shot & went with an 8. It fit perfectly & the color was so beautiful. I was disappointed that the lace at the neckline was fraying as some had said in reviews but I wore a statement necklace & the neckline lace wasn't noticeable. I would rent it again for the right occasion.
Alexandra
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 18, 2014

Color, comfort, and femininity!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and wish I could have kept it. The fit was true to size, with a bit of give to the fabric. The color was a beautiful dark teal - a little more vibrant than it appears in the model photo. The lace was delicate and comfortable against my skin. A huge hit!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×