Milly

Sophia Lace Shift

$45 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the stylish woman in the room wearing this amazing Milly colored lace shift. Perfect for a holiday party, anniversary, or cocktail event. Stick to accessories like the Kendra Scott's Black Stone Bib Necklace, and Kenneth Jay Lane's Coil Snake Ring.
Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green lace(100% nylon; lining: 100% silk). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Pleating at skirt. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

415 reviews

Fit
Small 71
True to Size 292
Large 37
Photos 241
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 20, 2014

Felt pretty in this dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 6&8 and decided on the 8. 6 fit too, just a lot more snug in the arms and just a little in the body and I knew I'd be doing a lot of eating, dancing, and sitting that evening so I chose the larger size. Got compliments at the wedding and even more from friends when I posted a picture on social media. (Specifically "I love this dress.") I'm hot natured and it's a Texas summer so his dress did make me burn up from time on the dance floor.. probably just me though. Made for a special evening.
Lacey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

Amazing fit, so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my work holiday party, and got so many compliments!! It's classic and classy without being too dowdy, which is just what I was going for - very Audrey Hepburn! I am definitely a pear shape and bigger in the hips, and the skirt ended up being more of a sheath shape than a gathered skirt. But the fabric does have some stretch to it so I was able to wear it without feeling uncomfortable. If I was any bigger in the hips though I might have felt like it was too tight on the bottom. I was also worried about the arms being restricting, as I sometimes have that problem with sleeves. When I put the dress on they were totally fine, and even had a little give to them. I was completely comfortable all night! The lining did stick out past the lace in some places as other reviewers said. I ended up just leaving it, I'm sure no one noticed or cared. And the dress is more green than teal, but still a very pretty color!! This is one of my favorite dresses on RTR right now and I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Kathleen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

I received so many compliments on the dress! It was gorgeous and I loved wearing it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! I'm in between a 10 and 12 and the 10 fit well on me. The sleeves were a little right but definitely wearable. I loved this dress!!
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Lightweight, beautiful lace.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was great for an outdoor wedding. The color is beautiful and it's really comfortable.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

My first five star rental!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented the 10 and 12 for a work charity party. Both dresses fit great. The 10 fit a little more nicely in the body but I has more room in the arms in the 12 so I went with that one so I could be really comfortable. The dress was in perfect condition. The pockets were awesome and I got tons of compliments.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Compliments all night long!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was true to size and quite comfortable. I did not find the sleeves to be tight as other reviewers did, and I have larger than average arms. As other reviewers have pointed out, the skirt was a little tighter on me than pictured on the model, and didn't flow freely, and the lace at the top kept folding in and required adjusting every now and then. All in all, however, I was very happy with this rental and received compliments all night. The color stands out beautifully among a sea of LBDs.
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Stunning

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Non-stop compliments! I didn't love this dress when I first put it on. It was looser than I had hoped and a bit longer too. In fact, I tried to get a replacement dress, but it was too late on Friday night, so I wore the dress. It ended up being a huge hit. Classy length (hit me mid-knee), and conservatively sexy with the lace top and high V back (the back was my favorite!). Did a lot of raving about Rent The Runway when people asked where I got it from! Lots of women said they considered it before but would actually try it now that they've seen it work well in person for someone.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Aug 7, 2014

Perfect for a winter wedding

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a winter wedding and got compliments all night. Great first rtr experience.
Beth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Aug 23, 2014

I got a lot of compliments wearing this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As other reviewers have described, the actual color of this dress is actually a much deeper, more vibrant greenish-blue color. It was gorgeous in person! The material was surprisingly lightweight and comfortable to wear, and I loved the pockets. I'm 5'9" and so I loved that the dress hit just above my knee, it was the perfect length. I felt really elegant and classy wearing this dress. I do agree that the zipper is super annoying (there is no clasp or anything to keep it from getting loose and unzipping), but I knew that going in on the rental and made sure I had a safety pin with me. The arms were also fairly loose, but overall the dress fit me great and I got a lot of compliments on it. I felt like a recruiter for RTR, so many people kept asking me where I got the dress from! I would definitely rent this dress again!
Jamie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Stunning color, sooo many compliments!!! You can't go wrong with this dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
6 fit great but was a little tight in the arms and I knew I would be dancing all night so I went with the 8.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 2, 2014

The dress was perfect the night was perfect :)

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everything fit well. The dress was true to size. I received tons of compliments!
Samantha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Perfect for a church setting!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the color.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 12, 2014

Didn't love this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
If you're under about 5'6'' and you want a dress that accomplishes the "sexy but sophisticated" look, this IS NOT the dress to do that. As you can see in the picture, it went all the way to my knees and really didn't flatter my body type (not sure if I'd call it an "hourglass" like it says here, but not sure what else to call it). I normally wear a size 2, which I tried on first, and the sleeves and bust were pretty tight but not unbearable (I have a small-to-average bust size, so someone with a larger bust might find it unbearable), I could still move around. I decided to try on the 4 to see if anything was different besides the fit of the sleeves and chest and didn't notice much except that those areas were looser, so I wore the 4. Oh, and the hem hugs you a lot more than it looks like in the picture, so your legs won't move all that well. I probably won't rent another Milly dress. In sum: if you're on the taller side and are under a C cup, you're probably the ideal body for this dress. Otherwise, it probably won't flatter or fit as well as you'd like.
Christine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 15, 2014

BEAUTIFUL DRESS

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm obsessed with this dress. This was the most beautiful color - it's more of a teal green. It is a very slenderizing dress. Definitely recommend!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Sep 19, 2014

Feeling like a broad

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress made me feel broad and matronly - while accentuating a non-concave belly. The line across the top of the dress liner does a fantastic job of making my slightly broad shoulders even bigger, while the waist pulls in just at the right spot to make me feel like I have a gigantic belly. So - broad shoulders and a fat belly... It is not going to the wedding with me! This would be better for someone tall and narrow. The 4 didn't fit in my arms, the 6 fit well. I like the v- back, back zipper and color. Pockets could be left out - as they are too high and only add fabric in a bad area.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147 lbs
Sep 20, 2014

Classy and comfortable. What more could I ask for?

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Both the size 8 and size 10 fit. There were things that I liked better about each size. I decided to wear the size 10 because I liked the length as it was a bit longer and came to the middle of my knee. I liked the size 8 as it fit at the top better because it was a snugger fit. Either would have worked. I felt very classy and comfortable throughout the wedding. Received lots of compliments. Highly recommend.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Who knew something so elegant could be so comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This color pops, perfect for your fall/winter events. The detailing on the dress is beautiful, receiving compliments all night! Definitely a go to if you're looking to stand out but still be on the conservative side.
Helena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Sophisticated sexy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros- I received so many compliments in this dress. The style was very unique and unlike anything I've ever tried before. It has a beautiful back and fit my curves perfectly. It was great for a fall New England wedding. Cons- The 8 fit well on my arms and was too loose on my body. The 6 fit perfect on my body, but the arms felt so tight I could rip the dress. In the end I wore the 6 and was just a bit uncomfortable with the arms all night.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Great for a fall wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was classy and comfortable for a fall wedding. My normal size 4 was not available since I rented so last minute, but the 2 worked. It was a little tight on my chest, so you may need to size up depending on your bust size.
Megan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Such a classy dress! Very light and comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have muscular arms and a large bottom half, but the dress still fit perfectly. Waist hit at the right spot. Great length, hit right above the knees.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Classic dress and pretty fall color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size. I couldn't move my arms in the 2 so I tried on the 4 and it was perfect. Great for a fall wedding!
Brianna
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

I got so many compliments, it was perfect for the occasion

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The arms run a little small, the pockets were awesome and everything else was perfect! Such a comfortable dress
mrsavcm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Beautiful and comfortable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered the 8 and the 10 and ended up wearing the 10. The sleeves were just a bit tight when I first put the dress on but it was not an issue. I was able to dance and was comfortable all night!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Perfectly elegant dress for my brother's wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'll be honest: I was super skeptical about this dress. After trying it on initially, I felt like it was a bit too long on my petite frame, a bit weird with the exposed zipper, etc... But hey, it was my brother's wedding day not mine, so on the dress went. I was so wrong about my first thoughts on this dress! Once makeup and hair were done, it was transformed into elegant and retro. Looked much more expensive and high-end than the photos. A timeless no-brainer, even if you don't think so at first glance :).
Topperbabe2006
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

The color is delicious!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress definitely runs slightly big. I consider myself between a 2 and a 4 and the 2 fit like a glove! The color really popped with the fall colors of New England. I was comfortable and could dance all night. And the dress has pockets!! I paired it with some silver chandelier earrings and black heels. The lace sleeves were slightly snug, but loosened up as the night went on.
Robyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Oct 10, 2014

Really beautiful dress. Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I know other reviewers say this dress runs true to size, but I have a large chest. To me the dress ran small. I wear between a 6 and an 8, and the 8 was tight in the chest area. I probably should have had a 10. The dress was gorgeous. I got tons of compliments on it.
Melissa_5591
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 11, 2014

The dress is even more beautiful in person.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered an 8 and a 10. I normally wear an 8. The 8 was snug but the 10 was too big. I wore the 8. The color of this dress is beautiful and the lace is one of a kind. The length was perfect for a wedding and I still felt sexy.
RTR Customer
Oct 13, 2014

So many compliments. Really comfortable dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Bottom half of dress is roomy; you will need a strapless bra.
Alyssa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

People were coming up to me all night giving me compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm usually a size 10, and this dress was true to size. It was super comfortable and very flattering. Paired it with black heels and black drop earrings.
Danielle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

Beautiful dress! Endless compliments all night at a fall wedding in Brooklyn!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Size 4 fit perfectly but the zipper looked like it had been replaced and broke off when I was zipping it up! Ended up wearing the size 6. Got so many compliments! Easy to dance in, very comfortable! Perfect with simple earrings.
Allison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Wedding guest

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm much larger on top than bottom - so sizing up was more comfortable for me. The waist was roomy but overall - this dress fit nicely. Extremely flattering.
Cate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Oct 18, 2014

Lace is gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this to my niece's Baptism. I was the godmother, and the length was very appropriate. The lace is so pretty.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Perfect for a fall outdoor wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the first dress I've gotten from RTR, and I can definitely say it was 100% worth it! The fit was perfect, and so was the color. It was a little longer than I had expected but it was fine since it was a little chilly out. There was a huge size difference between the 4 and 6. And I could tell that it had been worn before; the hems on the sleeves were a little frayed and the lining of the dress kept falling down so I had to keep it up with some pins. But, overall a great experience! Thanks RTR!!! I will definitely be renting again soon. :)
Kara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Gorgeous color and very comfortable. Pockets were a bonus!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 6 or an 8 and the 6 was definitely way too tight everywhere, but the 8 fit well (though the skirt wasn't nearly as loose as it looks in the model picture.) I got compliments all night long on the dress and was very happy that I used RtR and chose this dress.
mary
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Beautiful dress for a fall wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a huge hit at a friend's outdoor fall wedding. I got tons of compliments! I wore my normal size and the cut was super flattering. The dress did lose one star because the lace had a tear on one of the arms. Luckily it blended in fairly nicely with the lace, so you really only noticed it if you knew where to look.
Kendra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress. Will rent again!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the length/pockets/color/fabric. Was perfect for an outdoor wedding. I will say the lace at the top had a hard time staying nice against your neckline, but not a big enough issue to be a problem! The sleeves were a little tight too, but only because of my swimmer arms. Absolutely lovely.
Rica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

It was the perfect dress for an outdoor fall wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had read that this dress ran small so I originally ordered a 4 but by the grace of God I was unable to receive the 4 so they sent me the 2 instead and I'm so glad because even the 2 was a little bit too large! It was the perfect dress, I received so many compliments and I wish I could have it permanently in my wardrobe!
Maryanne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Oct 23, 2014

I wore this dress to a friends fall wedding and it was perfect! Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am short and busty, therefore dress fit can be hard but this dress fit great! It was slightly tight in the bust but nothing uncomfortable. The color in person is slightly darker than pictured as noted in other reviews but is very pretty. Many people approached me to ask where I got the dress. Would definitely recommend this to others, plus it has pockets!
Lori
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

I was a reader in a wedding, and this dress was the perfect blend of fashionable and appropriate!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I read on the reviews that it ran large, so I ordered a size 6 as well. But I didn't find at all that it ran large. I wore the 8. Luckily, it fit perfectly. If you are large-busted, say bigger than a C cup, I would probably pick another dress. Worth noting: The lining under the lace in the size 8 dress had more of a sheen and was a tad lighter than the lining in the size 6 dress. The color is fantastic—a rich teal. In the RTR photo it looks like the skirt is a tiny bit "a-line" but I found it to be more leg-hugging. Very comfortable, however, as I danced for two hours and never felt inhibited. And by the way, I have never received so many compliments. I was looking for a dress that was age-appropriate (I'm 46), was conservative enough to be the reader at the wedding, and was still on trend and fashionable. I think I found it! I could not be happier with the service from Rent the Runway, and I will definitely rent again when an event comes up.
Katlin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

I loved the color and the lace details!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a size 4 and a size 6. They both fit the same everywhere but the arms so I decided to go with the size 6 because I knew I would be dancing a lot and it had more give. The only thing that bothered me a little was that the slip underneath kept showing but it wasn't that big of a deal. I got compliments on the dress through out the night. I will definitely be using RTR for every event from now on!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×