Rent the Runway

Milly

Sophia Lace Shift

$45 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the stylish woman in the room wearing this amazing Milly colored lace shift. Perfect for a holiday party, anniversary, or cocktail event. Stick to accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Coil Snake Ring.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green lace(100% nylon; lining: 100% silk). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Pleating at skirt. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

456 reviews

Fit
Small 78
True to Size 312
Large 40
Photos 266
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 20, 2013

Great experience! Dress was perfect fit for my Christmas party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So many compliments
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 178 lbs
May 29, 2014

I rented this dress for my wedding rehearsal. It was so feminine and elegant!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs a little small. It just had a snug fit but wasn't so small that it wouldn't zip. The lace was gorgeous but be careful of what type of necklace you pair with it. Mine kept getting snagged on the lace around the neck. I loved this dress and is my favorite rent the runway dress so far!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

I felt like the best dressed girl at the wedding!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friends October wedding. I thought the lace sleeves were more appropriate in her conservative church setting but the fit still made me feel like a million bucks. The lace is relaxed and does have some give, contrary to the other comments about the sleeves being tight. Went without a bra, given the low cut back - so I had a little extra room in the top. Loved the color and received several compliments. Will definitely consider renting again! (paired with the Oscar de la Renta Etoile earrings) As always, the customer service was outstanding! Since this dress wasn't available in a larger size, I was sent a similar lace long sleeve backup dress. Thanks again to Brittany who made the recommendation.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Love the open back

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
Got to wear it twice in one weekend
RTR Customer
Age: 31
Dec 20, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit tighter on my pear shape than I expected but was just right. Love the color & shape. Glad I got both the 8 & 6, ended up definitely needing a 8.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Great for a fall wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Such an easy dress! True to size, good length, good shape, and POCKETS! I ordered this for a fall wedding and even though it turned out to be 70 degrees that day, I loved the sleeves. The low back was great, would go well with an up-do. A strapless bra would work well with this, but I wore a nude bra with straps for the lift factor, and none of my girlfriends noticed when I pointed it out.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Beautiful deep turquoise color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress even though someone else at the same wedding rented the same dress (RTR can you start tagging events if people in the same zip code rent the dress?). The length was perfect-knee length and conservative. The lace on top adds visual interest and the back is a flattering cut. My only complaint would be that the dress ran a bit small. I almost always wear a 4 and had to wear a 6 in this dress solely because of the way the shoulders were cut. The 4 looked too tight across the chest and shoulders. This might not be a problem for others unless you have a larger bust or broader shoulders.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Dec 30, 2014

Fun to get a fancy dress in the mail!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a beautiful dress. The color and the lace is gorgeous! I usually wear between a six and an eight – definitely had to go with the eight in this one. The lace in the arms was a tiny bit snug (my arms are a bit full and athletic), but not too bad. Because I am short the length did fall below my knees. I think this dress would look better on someone a bit taller, or if you are my height, a bit thinner. I think with my height and weight it made me look a little boxy. All that being said, it really is a beautiful dress and I would recommend it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit perfectly. I got a lot of compliments. Dress was super comfortable, I would rent again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 3, 2015

Size and fit were great!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Was really nervous because this was my first RTR experience (for a New Years party) and the back up size was out of stock, but the fit was great! MIght have sized up if it was available. My dress arrived a lot sooner than planned too! Will definitely rent again for an upcoming wedding.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 10, 2015

Complements all night!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 4 and size 2. I have an hourglass shaped body – and I usually have a hard time finding clothes that fit me at my waist AND my hips perfectly. I wore the size 2 which was a little snug in my bust but fit everywhere else nicely. The 4 was too big in my waist and a little snug in my hips (which was odd because the 2 wasn't) so it fit kind of awkward. In the end, I was very happy with the dress; I received complements on it all night. I would definitely rent this one again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

This is a perfect dress for people who prefer more length!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have been very careful about wearing dresses ever since my daughter was born. Short dresses no longer work with toddlers and longer dresses a lot of the time are not "cute" This dress was perfect. My only complaint was the lace was not finished around the edges which I felt looked a little bit tacky (which is why I gave it four stars) Other than that the 8 fit perfectly (I think I could have worn the six except it is a little tight in the bust and the arms (I have larger arms)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

The lace top of this dress is beautiful.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Good fit. True to size. Agrees with many of the reviews about the dress. Some of the edges if the lace seemed worn but I was going to a holiday party with dim lighting. I wore this to my husband's business holiday party. It was classy and festive. I loved it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Subtle but makes a statement!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Great color and texture! Conservative, but also really fun! The dress gives a little bit with wear, so I'm glad I went with the smaller option.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Surpassed my expectations!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I passed over this dress a few times when browsing because I wasn't sure if it would work with my body shape. I normally wear a 10 or 12 and in this dress ended up wearing the 12. I wore it to a family wedding and got tons of compliments. It was a little snug around the bust, but it actually ended up being good thing because I didn't wear a bra. The pockets were great! I loved it so much I didn't want to send it back.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Beautiful rich color and extremely comfortable dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to the Governor of Tennessee Inauguration Ball. The color was unique but work at a "black tie optional" event. I am 5' 4" and it was a nice knee length. Reviews mentioned tight arms, but they worked for me. This dress was dressy, sexy but understated. I am a "Milly" fan now and will look for other designs. The fit was a custom-fit for a non-custom price! Dress arrived in perfect condition. I wear between a 4 and 6; wore the 6 in this designer.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Got a ton of compliments on this dress even though the event canceled!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The party I rented this for was canceled at the last minute, so my boyfriend & I made a date night of it out at our country club. Had a blast just hanging out with him & feeling pretty in this dress. Will likely rent again ... hopefully for an event that doesn't cancel!
RTR Customer
Feb 15, 2015

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Date
Fits true to size. Pockets are a plus! The lace sleeves do not have any stretch, so they may not work for some arms.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

I got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color was beautiful, and it was very comfortable. It even had pockets! I wore it with cowboy boots to a wedding, and it was definitely a hit. I would wear it again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Got so many compliments on this dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Super comfortable able to move freely and dance
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

Beautiful.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Dress is beautiful. I ended up going a size up because the waist of the dress is snug. The dress was longer than expected, and the lining was not cut evenly and was longer in places than the lace overlay. Couldn't fix the length but I did manage to use fashion tap to correct the uneven lining. The dress did snag on everything, I would avoid wearing jewelry with it. The dress didn't really need any jewelry but I paired it with a few bracelets. The neckline was too pretty to be covered up with a necklace. Overall I did like the dress and received dozens of compliments on it the whole night! I would definitely rent this designer again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169 lbs
Mar 13, 2015

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
This is the third time I have used RTR and this is my favorite rental yet. The dresses arrived early and were in wonderful condition. The color is absolutely stunning and I felt the cut was really flattering. I have bubble butt (no better way to say that) and usually shy away from "shift" dresses, but the skirt was generous. I will say that I believe the dress relaxed over the evening so if you don't mind starting out your event a little snug I would go with your smaller size as it loosens later. It was and early wedding with a lot of celebrating later and I was comfortable the entire day/night. I can't tell you how much I loved this dress and wish I owned it. Compliments all night long and now on social media from photos. Thanks again RTR, so glad I've started using this service.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 15, 2015

Pretty and classy

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. Fit well; just FYI no stretch in arms. Great color!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 16, 2015

Beautiful color, but tight in the sleeves

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a gorgeous teal and the cut was conservative enough for a church wedding without seeming dated. I'm usually always an 8 in dresses, but I sized up having read the reviews. Like many others have stated, the sleeves are really tight and they restricted my range of motion. The 10 fit much better in the chest and arms and was just a little bit roomy in the waist. I got a ton of compliments throughout the evening, and I'd suggest this dress for a spring/fall event -- just order a size up if you are busty or don't have super skinny arms.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Loved it!!!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is absolutely fantastic! The bride recommended I wear it to her wedding, and it fit perfectly and I got compliments all night. The sleeves are a little tight, so you can't really put your arms up comfortably, but otherwise this dress was a huge hit and I would highly recommend it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Gorgeous AND comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit very true to size, and the detail work of it was just gorgeous! I ordered it for a wedding and was more than pleased with it. I am 5'8" and ~135lbs, and the size 2 was perfect. Dresses that are more fitted on the top and leave more room on the bottom half are my best friend, and this one was perfect! There were even pockets! The color is more on the green side than my picture indicates, and it fell just above my knee. I would absolutely recommend this dress, and even rent it again myself!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

Pretty dress, very comfortable and I loved the pockets!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sleeves are snug like others have mentioned, but it was not a problem or uncomfortable for me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 27, 2015

PERFECTION!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and it couldnt have been any more perfect!! I got lots of compliments and was extremely comfortable! I usually wear a 6 or an 8, I wore the 6 in this dress but could have fit in the 4. The dress was a great hit!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

Great neckline and a rich color

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
As others reviewed, this dress runs small across the shoulders, to the point that I was worried the smaller size wouldn't allow me to raise my arms at all. So thankful my backup size arrived. It's a great & very comfortable dress, best worn for any conservative occasion in the day or evening.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

Nice dress for a nice night.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it to photograph a semi-formal event, so the pockets were invaluable! It was pretty, comfortable, and just long enough to make awkward photographer angles work out.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Comfort + flattering = perfection!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was sent to me as a backup to a backup when my original dress selection was unavailable and the backup dresses selected for me didn't work. After a typically excellent customer service experience, this dress arrived and saved the day! I wore it to an outdoor wedding and indoor reception. Even though it was warm, I wasn't too hot; the lace breathes very well and moved with me all day. I was needlessly worried about the sleeves; they fit perfectly! This is a popular style, so I could see some wear and tear from previous wearers, but no one noticed a thing. I got compliments all day! The lining is a tiny bit longer than the lace (likely due to many washes), but not so much as to be noticeable. 100% satisfied with this choice!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 22, 2015

Loved this dress! Got tons of compliments.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to an event for work and felt pretty and professional. The lace makes it fancy, the soft pleats make it a really flattering cut.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 1, 2015

Gorgeous lace and beautiful color.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so comfortable and very classy. Was great for a hot outdoor wedding too. I loved the color--beautiful jewel tone. I had 2 weddings that weekend and ended up wearing this dress to both even though I had rented a second dress!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 14, 2015

Beautiful, comfortable and easy to wear!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress worked out great for a late-spring outdoor cocktail fundraiser event. I paired it with nude heels so the dark teal color would look a little more "spring" vs. fall. The dress was very comfortable and held it's shape all night. I wore it with a regular strapless bra and spanx, but the skirt is loose enough that you could probably do without those! The edges were a little frayed from many wears but that is also part of the look--you could probably trim the fuzzies a little if they really bothered you. I am usually a 2 or 4 in dresses and wore the 4 because that was what was available. I was very happy with this rental!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 15, 2015

So many compliments - great first Rent the Runway experience

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up going with the 2, a smaller size than I typically wear, as it hugged my body better. The larger size provided less of a shape. Either one would have worked, though. The arms were a little tight in the 2, but I could still dance and move around. I would definitely recommend this dress. I wore it to a more formal wedding, and felt right at home.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 22, 2015

Wore this dress to an outdoor wedding at a horse ranch in Sonoma!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is really lovely, and the pockets were super fun! I ended up wearing my backup size (10), as the size 8 was just a little snug in the torso. The dress hugged my curves beautifully, and not too tightly, and I was able to dance, eat, sit and walk around very comfortably. One thing to note, I also rented a chunky necklace to wear with this dress, but couldn't make it work in the end because they necklace kept catching on the lace details. Bare neck it was!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
May 30, 2015

Perfect Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for a date night with my husband (we went to see Beauty and the Beast) and could not have picked a better dress. The dress was elegantly detailed and the color was absolutely perfect. I received many compliments: one person went out of his way to come over to say that the color of the dress looked just lovely. I wore the size 8 dress and the sleeves fit perfectly and overall the dress was extremely comfortable. When I wore this dress, I was about 12 weeks pregnant and it accommodated the first trimester bloating well. This is my favorite rental to date and I would absolutely rent it again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

I loved this dress!! It was extremely comfortable and flattering. The lace details were beautiful!!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a bit tight at first, especially in the bust. However, over time it stretched out and became a little more bearable. I am about a 38C and anything over that in this dress will not work.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 13, 2015

Cold weather bridal shower

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
This dress was very comfortable and flattering. The pin tucking at the waist gave a flattering shape but I didn't feel constricted in my larger tummy area. The lace was beautiful and very flattering. I wore it with black tights and booties and felt dressy but not overdone at my wedding shower.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

wore this to an ocean wedding in June

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The sleeves were too tight in the 6 (couldn't safely get in), so the 8 it was. When I look at pictures I feel like this looked better in person than the pictures (but I did get a lot of compliments)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×