Sophia Lace Shift

$45 rental
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the stylish woman in the room wearing this amazing Milly colored lace shift. Perfect for a holiday party, anniversary, or cocktail event.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green lace (100% Nylon; Lining: 100% Silk). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Pleating at skirt. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
592 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(377)
Small
(92)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2016
Fun back on the dress
My favorite part of the dress was the back. The front was okay. The lace had some noticeable wear around the neckline.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 20, 2016
Loved the dress.. I am short so I thought it was a bit long. However it still looked nice.
Loved the dress.. I am short so I thought it was a bit long. However it still looked nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
January 16, 2016
This dress was perfect for the "cocktail attire" I was looking for.
The lace made the dress a little tight, especially in the arms, which is why I wore a size up (usually wear an 8). It was a comfortable dress and I didn't have to wear a bra!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2016
NYE date
I got the 2 and the 4- I'm small, but I have an athletic build (wider shoulders, bigger arms) and couldn't comfortably get my arms in the 2! It fit everywhere else, but ultimately went with the 4 because of the arm issue. Still had a great length (the bottom of the lace just barely skimmed the tops of my knees (I guess I like a more conservative fit) and no issues in the midsection. Dress was a very pretty color, probably not as bright and vibrant as the photos online, though. This dress was very well worn, so I'm not too sure if I'd recommend this to anyone else- RTR probably needs a replacement for this one (at least size 2 and 4).
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
January 11, 2016
Great dress for a winter wedding!
This dress ran a little small. If you are a spanx fan I would recommend them with this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 9, 2016
gorgeous color for a winter wedding!
A little shorter than I wanted but perfect for the event.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2016
Several compliments on this dress!
Loved this dress-fit perfectly. The size 6 is what I would usually wear but my shoulders are broad so the size 8 was great. Loose fitting and perfect length. I would definitely recommend it! Great customer service as well; as the size 6 I was sent had several holes in it. Had a wonderful first experience renting with this company!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
January 6, 2016
This dress was very comfortable and the jewel tone is gorgeous and elegant.
The only think about this dress was that the lining showed a bit along the bottom of the front dress. At first I thought that it was supposed to be like that but I didn't see it do that in any of the photos posted. Since it looked like it was supposed to do that I wore it anyway. Also, it may be my body type but it was a bit more fitted on my around my thighs than the photo with the model...but it wasn't tight and it still looked great. It was very comfortable and well made. I thought I'd have to be extra careful with the lace but it's made of strong material so it doesn't actually get caught on everything like I thought it would. I'd rent this again...I felt beautiful in it! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 30, 2015
Compliments from strangers all night! Loved the color!
Pros: color was amazing, cut was flattering. Con: 8 was a little tight for me (10 was unavailable), but it was worth it to "suck it in" a little for glamour! Another minor issue was the lace collar folding in a bit, but once I had the dress on a while it seemed to stop.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 29, 2015
Very classy dress. Got many compliments. Great for any dressy occasion.
I am 5'9", 130ish lbs, 34 C. Definitely have an athletic build. This Lacey dress was not forgiving in the arm/shoulder/chest area. I wore the size 4 for 2 reasons: 1- the top fit better though big in the hip area. 2- the size 2 was damaged in the Lacey under arm area where the lace had separated, telling me that someone else had the same issue I was having with the snugness of the upper dress. Rent the Runway was very apologetic and offered to send me another dress- it really was not a big deal and I did not need another so I kept and wore. This was my second experience with RTR-great customer service and can't wait to use them again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Age: 27
December 27, 2015
Classy, edgy, and great fit
Loved the way this dress fit. Hugged the hips just right and was edgy, yet classy. The only issue I had was that this dress is not made for busty girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
December 20, 2015
Really cute dress. The lace was coming apart on the sleeves but overall it was a perfect piece.
Runs true to size. The lace is really fragile so it already felt like this dress needed to be retired. I had fun in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 20, 2015
Elegant Dress!
I wore this dress for my mother in laws 70th birthday celebration. Classy and elegant. Very comfortable, but a little tight in the shoulders, so if you plan to do a lot of dancing, it may not be a great choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
December 19, 2015
Beautiful color! Compliments all night!
Was a perfect pick for my work holiday party. The size 10 fit better over all but very tight in the arms so I picked the 12 which was better in the arms so I could be comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
December 15, 2015
First time renting the run way and I loved it!
I am pretty short, with small hips but have broad shoulders so I was a bit apprehensive about ordering a dress I couldn't try on first. I ordered a size 6 hoping I would fit in it because the size up was not available. Though the top was a little snug, the dress fit perfectly! It was comfortable, and very flattering in all the right places. I dance ALOT at weddings and didn't have to stop to readjust once! I would consider this dress a win for me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 14, 2015
Great holiday party dress
Arms a bit tight, really cute , tons of compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Weight: 140lbs
December 14, 2015
I'd wear it again.
Lace was a bit teathered, but otherwise it was in great shape! Very slimming but a little difficult to raise arms in. Loved that it had pockets.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
December 13, 2015
Cocktail party
Loved this dress! Wore it to my office holiday party. Got lots of compliments. Beautiful color and fit. Others commented that the sleeves were tight but they did loosen up after wearing the dress a few minutes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
December 13, 2015
Great color, great fit.
I loved this dress, but it arrived with a large rip in the arm, so I couldn't wear it : (
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
December 10, 2015
Beautiful fit, beautiful color, POCKETS! Tons of complements
perfect! No cons!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2015
Beautiful dress just not meant for short people
This dress is stunning and I got a lot of compliments. It was way longer than expected and fell right at my knees. I feel like this is common with the Milly brand. The bottom layer also seemed longer than the top of layer of the dress. Would love to see this dress in a petite size?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
December 9, 2015
The detail of the lace was gorgeous, and the material was lightweight and comfortable.
Like other reviews describe, the sleeves run pretty small on this dress. My arms are athletic, not necessarily small, and I had to pull up the sleeves with extra care. The fit wasn't uncomfortable once the dress was on. The rest of the dress ran pretty true to size - maybe just a bit small.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
December 6, 2015
Beautiful dress. Extremely comfortable.
I loved the lace detail and upper portion of the dress the most. The bottom was longer than I thought it would be, but that worked out nicely because it was comfortable. The dress is true to size. Amazing color. I received lots of compliments on it all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
December 5, 2015
Great color and fit! Perfect dress!!!
The dress was perfect! I ordered size 10 and 12. The 10 was too tight across my chest so wore the size 12. It was very comfortable and the material has a lot of give. The neckline, back, length and waist were all very flattering. I got complements all night. The color was more teal than green but the lace was beautiful. Con, the material will stretch a lot while you wear it so it got a little big in certain areas. Also the lining was longer in the front so there were times the lining would hang longer than the lace but no one else could tell. I would rent this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
December 5, 2015
Great for winter weddings!
I was nervous because my back- up size (size-up) wasn't available and I read reviews that the arms ran small. I only ordered the 8 and hoped for the best. I actually found the arms to be fine, but did think this fit slightly odd in the chest area. If I was any larger chested, I don't think it would have zipped. Fit fine in the mid section, and large in the shoulders. I just felt my boobs were being squished all night! I guess if you are more flat chested but broad shoulder (athletic body type) this would fit great. But overall, I received many compliments and the color was perfect for a winter themed wedding. Good dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2015
Gorgeous color
Fit was true to size, color and fabric is absolutely gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 29, 2015
Perfect for a winter wedding!
Beautiful color and quality. The lace was gorgeous, and the cut of the dress was flattering.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
November 29, 2015
It was a perfect fall dress for the wedding.
Believe it or not, the size 4 fit bigger then the size 6 for some reason. The size 6 was more snug in the shoulders and since I have broad shoulders it was easier to wear the 4 for some reason. I got lots of complements on the color and the style. I highly recommend it for those looking for a beautiful fall dress to wear for a wedding.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 23, 2015
Black tie optional wedding
This is my first rent the runway experience and I'm extremely pleased!! I wore this dress to a black tie optional wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. Got many compliments! I'm a size 4 but since the stylist notes said that it runs a little large, I ordered the 2 as my back-up size. After trying the 2 on, it fit perfectly around my mid-section/thighs..but the sleeves were way too tight..and so I went with the 4 for the wedding. The color is teal (vs. green). I'm 5'0 and was wearing 3 inch heels and the dress covered my knees (good for conservative events!) I'm also a DD in bra size and there was plenty of room for my boobs to fit in! It also has a silk lining which is so comfy and soft. Overall, amazing dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 23, 2015
Color, classy neckline
Looked fabulous in this! The color is gorgeous and length is just right. This dress is very structured at the waist, and the arms have no give.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 22, 2015
Classy, elegant dress that is perfect for a winter wedding! And it has pockets!!
Loved this dress, tons of compliments and perfect for a winter wedding. Ran large, so size down for your backup. Gorgeous lace detail and comfortable, too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
November 20, 2015
Boyfriends holiday party. Perfect!
Very classy dress with a fun pop of color and the length was great. Got lots of compliments
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
November 17, 2015
We ordered this dress for my daughter's homecoming dance.
She loved the pockets, the easy fit & so very classy. Highly recommend.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
November 16, 2015
Great dress in a beautiful color
This dress fit really well and accommodated my ample hips and booty. The v in back and exposed zipper detail are nice touches. And it has pockets! How handy. I ultimately chose another dress but will keep this one in mind for future events.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 14, 2015
Dress received numerous compliments!! The back is STUNNING!!!
Loved the pockets, and loved the lace. More of an emerald green color. I have a very curvy bottom half, compared to my top half and the dress worked okay. I still think it was a bit straight for anyone who is very petite on top and extra curvy on bottom, but I loved the dress itself. My body is best suited for an A line, but this did work. Lace is very fragile on sleeves so I did feel like I had to be careful while wearing the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2015
Amazing dress!!!!
This was my back up dress for a wedding. I absolutely can't say enough great things about this dress. I ordered a 10 and it fit comfortably. I usually wear 8 or 10 and since I only got one size, I ordered up and I'm glad I did. To get technical, it was tighter fitting in the arms, and looser in the waist. I'm 5'9" and the length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
November 10, 2015
So easy! I picked my dresses up at the store so I didn't have to worry about the delivery.
It was perfect! The sleeves were a smidge tight, but I could still lift my arms to dance just fine. The 4 really showed my shape well. I have a small waist and wide hips, so I could have also worn the 6, but it was definitely not as flattering as the 4. Just a WOW! Friendly reminder to be careful with any bracelet jewelry on this one, because it's easy to snag the lace or get your bracelet caught on your dress if you are wearing a bracelet that is something other than beaded!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 9, 2015
Pockets!
Wore this for a fall wedding in Portland. Nice color, very comfortable. Loved the pockets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 7, 2015
Perfect!
This dress was perfect in every way. The fit was great and it was even more beautiful in person. It is more of a pencil fit than pictured on the model. I couldn't be happier with my rental! I received compliments all night !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
November 7, 2015
RTR made choosing my outfit for a high-class fundraising event fun, affordable, and effortless...
The dress was equal parts elegant, sophisticated, and on trend. Being able to read reviews from other users made my size and dress selection so much easier, and allowed me to choose a dress that would work with my post baby belly while still making me feel beautiful.. A gift! The dress was gorgeous and in great condition, and definitely one that I would recommend to others and would love to use again. RTR definitely has my loyalty and business for future events!y
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×