Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
543 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(318)
Small
(114)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 31, 2015
A very classy dress!
I felt like this dress ran true to size and I ended up going with the 6. The pockets were a great touch, though when looking in he mirror they seemed to add just a bit to my hip area, but I think I might have been the only one who noticed that! I wore a regular bra underneath and the straps never showed, the dress stayed out on my shoulders all night. The openness of the back was just enough! I would rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
May 14, 2016
Adorbs!
I wore it to our kids' school benefit and it was super cute!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
May 21, 2016
So many compliments from this beautiful dress!
This was my first experience with RTR and it was phenomenal! This dress made me feel so elegant and beautiful. The lace allowed me to show some skin but stay modest. I wore a size 8 and it fit perfectly everywhere. It was the perfect dress for a school benefit. I will definitely be renting more dresses in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 26, 2016
Fabulous and comfortable for wedding
This dress was perfect for a wedding for a work associate of my husbands. The arms were a little snug when first put it on. Was able to wear a normal strapless bra and dress had pockets. I loved this dress and would rent again for an event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2016
Derby Party
Was very flattering and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 18, 2016
Classic and Classy Little Black Dress
The dress fit pretty well, however the sleeves were a bit tight. There is no stretch in the lace. Also, this dress hit a bit above the knee on me and I'm pretty short (I'm 5'1") so I imagine it would hit mid- thigh on someone taller. My 8 dress worked our great but my back up dress had a huge hole in the lace on the sleeve. I lucked out that the size 8 fit but would have been upset if it hadn't given the poor shape of the other dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2016
Beautiful Dress but Fit Was Off
I normally wear a 6 but had to wear the 8. I could tell what people were complaining about with the arms being on the small side. It didn't squeeze my arms in but I couldn't raise my arms above my head without feeling like I could tear the fabric. It's laced beautifully and went right above my knees with wonderful pockets. I wasn't fond of where it comes in at the waist and I'm not sure if it's because my torso isn't the longest (I'm 5'5) but it came in at the widest part of my rib cage which made me appear wider than I am. If it came in at the small of my waist I would have felt it was more flattering. Oh well, it could just be me and my body type that didn't work with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2016
Comfortable and classy
Fit was true to size. Didn't notice a huge difference between 2 and 4. Usually a 2 but wore the 4-a bit more room in the arms. Classy and super comfortable
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 30
September 9, 2016
So many compliments!
True to size and classic style. Length was perfect (just at knee), lace was delicate and made a sophisticated look. Excellent choice, would rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2016
I love lace!
I loved this dress. I ordered it for a rehearsal dinner. It arrived beautifully, but there was a little bit of tearing near the underarm, but definitely not noticeable to those who aren't looking for holes. As others have said, the arms were a little snug at first, and loosened just enough as the night went on. Very comfortable. Not a stretchy material, so make sure you get the right size. It is fitted high up on the waist, and has more room in the bottom half which is awesome because that is how I am proportioned. Overall, I loved this dress, and received so many compliments throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2016
Wedding fun and compliments galore!
I ordered the 6 and 8 because of reading the reviews. The 6 fit great, but a little big in a few areas and I didn't take the 8 out of the bag. The dress was in perfect condition. Everyone said the arms fit tight and that's why I went with a 6 and 8. Doing it over I would have gone with a 4 and 6. I think the 4 would have fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2016
Love, love, love!
This was a last minute option because my original dress didn't work out. I'm so glad it didn't because I loved this dress! I got so many compliments and it stood out in the crowd. Sexy, classy, different! The only complaint I have is that the lace was getting a little shabby looking. It probably should be retired after this. I also loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with this. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2016
Simple & classy!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner at a country club. The day had been warm, but the night was going to be considerably cooler. Although the dress doesn't have any real material to keep you warm, they had heaters & I was very comfortable keeping up with my baby through the night. I am a 34DD right now, so I had to go up a couple of sizes in order for the dress to fit up top, which meant the rest of the dress had some extra fabric hanging out that wasn't exactly as slimming as it would've been in the next size down...PLUS the 'slip' would run a little longer than the lace when sitting & standing in different positions. But overall the classy dress with pockets was just what I needed to make my night comfortable & enjoyable. I got many compliments & some special pictures with my precious son...& had no stress shopping or getting ready!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 15, 2017
Classy, but sexy dress!
This was a gorgeous dress and I received tons of compliments. I'm normally a 4-6 but I wore the 6. It gave me a little extra room to breathe and the sleeves aren't super stretchy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 29, 2017
Adored this dress!!
I adored this dress!! I wore it to a charity event. I normally wear a size 2 or 4 in dresses. I ordered a 0 for my back up and that was a no go! The 2 fit perfectly but know that there is ZERO stretch in this dress. Many have commented that the sleeves are snug. I didn't find that to be too big of an issue for me. I received many compliments on this dress all night. For reference I am 5'3' and 112 lbs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 31, 2017
Great fit, comfortable and great price!
True to size. It was classic, comfortable and easy to wear. The dress showed a little wear but would only be noticed by wearer. Would love to wear again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
February 21, 2017
Classic Lace Look
I got lots of complements on this dress! I even wore it with black nylons for a more complete look. The slip shows when you sit, so I put a scarf over my lap when I was sitting. The arms are on the smaller side and do not stretch.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
March 18, 2017
Classy and Comfortable
This was by far the most beautiful dress that I have worn to any wedding. Trust me, I have been to plenty. Within the first 10 mins of walking into this event I received numerous compliments. Dress is true to size and is definitely a good fit for someone with some curves. I was initially going to go with a size 6 but the sleeves were a tad tight and made it really difficult to move around. If you have broad shoulders like I do, you might want to go a size up just to be on the safe side. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 28AA
March 18, 2017
Style and fit
I loved the fit and style. I never wore lace before and it was perfect for a March wedding. The arms run small so I sized up like other reviews indicated. The length was good. I received a lot of compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
April 8, 2017
Couldn't wear- too tight in the shoulders.
Beautiful dress but it didn't fit in the shoulders. I was unable to move my arms- the lace had no give. RTR overnighted me another dress- amazing customer service!!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 20, 2016
Got lots of compliments and made me feel very pretty
The sleeves were tight and the under slip kept coming out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 140lbs
November 16, 2014
Very comfortable
Wore it as a guest to an engagement party, very fun classic dress. A little tight in the arms
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 24, 2014
LACE!! LACE!! Sexy LACE!!
I rented this lacey number for my daughters high school homecoming presentation ..so proud she made court! All of the moms chose to wear black dresses. I wanted something a little different, so I went with this dress. When I received the dress it was sooooo gorgeous!!!! I instantly fell in love especially with the lace. I chose to wear the 8 over the 6 because I am large up top & the 6 flattened my chest so much it looked like I got hit with a frying pan in the chest..lol. The 8 was tight up top but bearable. It fit great in the waist with a little more room to move in the hips, but all in all great dress. I received so many compliments and the dress is definitely a must rent! I also received a goody bag of great products with my rental..thank you RTR you're the best!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
November 24, 2014
It was a beautiful dress and the pockets made my life so much easier!
The fit was great. I have larger biceps so the sleeves were on the tight side but not constricting. I got so many compliments on this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
November 26, 2014
Classic Attire
This dress needs some pretty accessories if being worn to a formal affair but overall it's a classic, pretty dress. The one complaint I had is this is the first time I rented a dress from RTR that looked "used". Most dresses seem brand new but this one you could tell had been worn many times. I think since the lace overlay is so delicate that even if it had not been worn more than a couple times, it's very easily damaged.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
November 30, 2014
Such a beautiful dress! Photographs really well.
This dress fit pretty true so size, however it was a little tight underneath the arms. The black lace overlay was gorgeous and I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone wanting to make a statement!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2014
This dress was comfortable to dance all night in!
I wore this dress to my boyfriends office Christmas party. The lace was classy and elegant. I received compliments all night! I usually wear a size 8 and ordered both the 6 & 8. I fit into the 6 but couldn't lift my arms up all the way. The 8 was perfect and I love the pockets! Definitely a dress I would love to have in my closet!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 143lbs
December 14, 2014
Easy breezy, classy classic LBD!
I chose this dress to wear to my boyfriend's office holiday party where I wouldn't know anyone and I felt classy and confident! The 6 hugged my body without feeling too tight while the 8 flared out a big in the skirt) I ordered sizes 6 and 8 both fit nicely. I ended up going with the more formfitting 6 because I liked the way the lacy fell on the neckline (this differed slightly between dresses). The dress fit comfortably and I was able to go bra less. If you wanted to wear a bra I would suggest sizing up and definitely strapless. My one complaint would be that the sleeves are a bit constricting. I couldn't raise my arms much higher than my chest but for this event it worked out fine. I would go with a different dress if you plan to get wild on the dance floor!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 15, 2014
Perfect for a Winter Wedding
I wore the 8 because there was a noticeable whole in the lace of one of the sleeves in the 6. I paired the dress with a black satin sash to tie at the waist. I was very comfortable and elegant! Perfect for a winter wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
December 15, 2014
Beautiful dress! Got a ton of compliments!
I ordered the size 12 but it came back from the previous rental too damaged and the RTR customer service did everything imaginable to make sure that I had a dress to wear to my party! I can't say enough good things about them!Unfortunately, the replacement dresses didn't fit correctly, and since they had sent the size 10 as a backup originally, I decided to go with that! It was a bit tight because I usually wear a 12, but it fit pretty well anyway! I got so many compliments on the dress and felt beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2014
Great fit! Lots of compliments
I ordered both the 4 and 6 after reading others reviews and seeing their photos. Thank goodness the 4 fit because the lace on the 6 was tattered and I would not have been happy wearing that one. The 4 fit beautifully though and worked out great! I got so many compliments throughout the night and the dress was perfect for the formal fall wedding I was attending. The only complaint I would have is that the dress style itself was not the most flattering on me. The waistline hit me at a odd point since I have a short body and long legs. You can see in the photo that it is not the best dress type for me and makes me look larger, but if I stood at the right angle for pictures it was ok. I did not think it was the most flattering on me, but still received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 21, 2014
Cute dress for rehearsal dinner!
This dress was really comfortable. I ended up not wearing a bra because the top was pretty fitted. I liked that the dress wasn't too short. The lace was nice and not over the top. You could wear this with nude or black heels, either would go nicely. I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 18, 2015
I received so many compliments!
The fit was true to size. I did have some issues with the zipper getting stuck, but overall a beautiful dress. Pairs nicely with red pumps!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
February 1, 2015
The black lace was gorgeous! I wore to SAG awards and was so pleased with the look of the dress.
Fit true to size, arms were a bit snug as other reviewers mentioned but loosened up pretty quickly. Pockets were amazing! Loved the lace and the slightly lower back, wore a strapless bra which was fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2015
Loved this dress! Got so many compliments. Perfect for mid march wedding
Sleeves were tight. I'm in between a 2 and 4 typically, I had to do the 4, even for the sleeves alone. Over the evening the lace on the sleeves relaxed a little.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 26, 2015
Beautiful, classy dress that got me lots of compliments
Like the other reviews say, the sleeves are definitely tight. I usually wear a size 0 but wore the 2 for the sleeves. The rest of the dress was comfortable and the hidden pockets were clutch. Overalls great dress that photographs well and attracts a lot of compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 26, 2015
Fall wedding perfection
I wore this to a friends wedding in the fall. It was an outdoor evening event. This dress was beyond perfect. It fit wonderful and had no signs of wear. I really wish I owned this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 24, 2015
I wore this while 6 months pregnant and received so many compliments! Great dress.
Fit was great even while pregnant!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2015
Beautiful dress but small in the bust so I couldn't wear.
The fit was small in bust and arms so I could not wear the 4. I'm usually a 2 or 4 so I would rent up 2 sizes in this dress!
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 23, 2015
My first RTR experience and I loved it! The dress came early and was perfect for my modest event!
As other have said, the sleeves are a bit tight. I have what I will describe as "athletic" arms and shoulders from weight lifting. The sleeves were snug at the beginning of the day, but definitely loosened up as I moved around and danced. The length hit right at my knees, which was perfect for the religious wedding I attended. The rest of the dress was the perfect shape to flatter any body type. I got tons of compliments all night!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×