Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
486 reviews
Fit
Large14
True to Size297
Small109
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2015
Classic dress with a modern edge.
The back-up size 6 dress worked for me because I'm pear-shaped; I found that the 8 wasn't fitted enough. I wore the dress to a Hindu wedding, and my mother-in-law adorned me with some of her accessories and I think it worked out well--gave it some pop! For it being a classic black lace dress, it really seemed to stand out from other typical wedding guest attire. I received several compliments, too (and that was BEFORE cocktail hour :) ). This was my first time renting from RTR and I was super pleased; will rent from you guys again.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to review and to post my best fashion blogger pose.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
May 2, 2015
This dress is soo gorgeous in person! I received a lot of compliments when I wore it!
There were a couple of dresses I was debating on RTR, but at the last minute, I went with this dress, and thank goodness I did! I only have good things to say about this dress. The lace detail was beautiful, and I loved how it shows off your back and had pockets. Also, this dress allowed you to breathe, so it was perfect for the warm weather. You won't get hot wearing it. Great for dancing too! I only wished I could have kept this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 26, 2015
Fall wedding perfection
I wore this to a friends wedding in the fall. It was an outdoor evening event. This dress was beyond perfect. It fit wonderful and had no signs of wear. I really wish I owned this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 26, 2015
Beautiful, classy dress that got me lots of compliments
Like the other reviews say, the sleeves are definitely tight. I usually wear a size 0 but wore the 2 for the sleeves. The rest of the dress was comfortable and the hidden pockets were clutch. Overalls great dress that photographs well and attracts a lot of compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 168lbs
April 21, 2015
Not for big chested girls!
I had ordered this for Christmas eve (very late to the review party) Sadly, although a very pretty dress, it is not for big chested girls. The dress fit fine even though the waist hit a bit higher than on the model. However, because of this, it looked as though the entire half of the dress was just covering the chest. Not flattering, made me look as if I had 36GG instead of 36D!! I would have loved to wear it, but good lesson to learn for the future. Can't do this style with limited lining on top!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 20, 2015
This dress was beautiful, I received so many compliments.
I'll admit the sleeves were a little itchy at first because of the lace but I got used to it. I could move comfortably in the dress and it was really beautiful. I loved wearing it. The back of the dress is amazing, with the low cut. Wish I owned this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2015
Loved this dress! Got so many compliments. Perfect for mid march wedding
Sleeves were tight. I'm in between a 2 and 4 typically, I had to do the 4, even for the sleeves alone. Over the evening the lace on the sleeves relaxed a little.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Body type: Full Bust
April 15, 2015
Wedding
Great dress-many compliments
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
April 9, 2015
I rented this dress for my engagement pictures and it was perfect!!
I usually wear a size 2 for dresses but seldom wear size 4. For this dress I wore the size 4 because it was a bit snug in size 2..especially in the arm and chest area. I loved the intricate lace and how fitted it was! I wish I could own it :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2015
This dress was in great condition and I loved it!
I ordered the dress for a fundraising event, it was perfect! I have thin arms (I like to call them "skinny fat" arms haha not toned at all) and the arms on the dress were very snug at first but, by the middle of the night you hardly noticed because the material stretched out a bit! The lace was well maintained and looked new. I had to wear black tights because the dress was shorter then normal for me. The back V of the dress was beautiful and I could wear a typical strapless bra. I have a teeny tiny bust and the dress fit well through the torso.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
March 31, 2015
Perfect dress for a wedding.
I wore this to a wedding. This dress is very flattering and I received many compliments. It's comfortable to dance in and conservative enough to wear to a church wedding but is still beautiful and stylish. Since it was a very chilly March wedding, I wore black tights and black wedge booties which looked great.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 30, 2015
Perfect for the wedding
I have rented this dress twice for weddings. I love the way it fits as it is flattering but still appropriate. I would own it if I could!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2015
Lovely dress for a formal affair
I loved this dress! I'm thinking of renting it again for a friend's wedding. The 4 was a tiny bit big, but the arms were snug, so I couldn't go any smaller. The pockets are a great addition! Overall, great dress would highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 24, 2015
Law school prom!
Tight across my DD bust but a larger size would have made the rest of the dress baggy. The waist was too big on me, and the pleating below the waist made me look like I had a tummy. Decided to wear my alternate style instead of this dress. I imagine it might look better on a less busty, less hour-glass figure.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 20, 2015
Good fit, Tons of complements! I felt pretty and not over or under dressed. Perfect for a night wed
The way the lace is deigned on the arms you cant raise your arms over your head too high, not that it's a make or break (Unless you really like to part take in "shout" at wedding") It was a liiiitle itchy but over all very comfortable to wear.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 19, 2015
Loved the dress! was great for wedding/very appropriate.
I'm typically a size 6 and this size 6 worked. I'm 5'7, 140 lbs, and 34C.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 28, 2015
Perfect.
Flattering, comfortable and chic. Loved the lace detail at the neckline. Photographs really well.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2015
I wore this dress to a friends wedding and everyone loved it and wanted to know where I got it.
This dress fit great and was very flattering. The lace on the arms were a little snug so I ended up wearing the larger size. Also, I felt that it needed a small belt for some waist definition. Overall I loved this dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2015
This dress was perfect for a winter (semi formal) wedding.
The dress fit well. The lace overlay was a great quality and I was able to highlight the dress with some accessories. My only problem was that I just had a baby and I did feel like it highlighted my least favorite area (my hips). The pockets had darts that made me feel a little bulky. I wore the dress with tights and it looked much better that way (for me). It was comfy and I had many compliments. I was with my children so I did not get a chance to take a full length picture, but I was very happy with the rental overall. I would definitely wear it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 137lbs
February 10, 2015
Beautiful dress but did not end up wearing due to the fit.
Great Dress and Quality but the fit was not good for my body type. I have a short torso & carry my weight in my midsection. Where the dress was cut, it cinched in too much and made me look bigger than I am. It definitely runs on the smaller side and would recommend a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
February 1, 2015
The black lace was gorgeous! I wore to SAG awards and was so pleased with the look of the dress.
Fit true to size, arms were a bit snug as other reviewers mentioned but loosened up pretty quickly. Pockets were amazing! Loved the lace and the slightly lower back, wore a strapless bra which was fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
January 31, 2015
Great dress - I'm normally 25% size 2 and 75% size 4. The size 4 fit well! Def get!
Def a little snug in the arms but I preferred that for this lace sheath overlay and lace arms. I am busty and I still found the 4 to be true to size. If you are extremely busty and or just like extra arm room, size up. Beautiful dress!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2015
Love this dress!!
I wore this dress for my engagement party in January. Since it was cold, I added tights and some suede black wedges. This dress fits true to size and is very comfortable. Although the arms were a little tight when putting it on, it did not bother me throughout the night. My favorite details of the dress are the lace neck line and small dip in back. It also has pockets--so I could carry my phone with me! Another plus.. did not have to wear a bra with it! I really wish I didn't have to return it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 26, 2015
Black tie wedding
Comfortable, beautiful lace. The first I dress received was damaged (big hole in lace on back) but excellent customer service - they overnighted a pristine dress in correct size to my hotel. Got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2015
The dress was really great, got a ton of compliments. Very classy, good for multiple occasions!
The dress was true to size, being that my upper body and torso are smaller than my lower body, the top of the dress still somehow fit very tight, so I would recommend reading other people's opinions to see if you think you would fit the top of the dress in case you are more top heavy. The bottom of the dress gave me enough room to eat and not feel like a stuffed sausage. The sleeves fit "tight" as well, so if your arms are not "athletic" then I would try to read people's reviews to see if your arms will fit. I recommend going with your actual dress size and then going a dress size up for the second free dress. Totally falling in love with Rent the Runway and their awesome service. I would wear this dress again and again if I got to own it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 22, 2015
Great dress! Very classy but still sexy.
I wore this to an evening wedding. It ran on the small side for sure so I'm glad I heeded advice and ordered a back up 8 even though I'd never worn an 8 before (normally a 6). The lace is beautiful and detailed so I needed very little jewelry. Got lots of compliments!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 22, 2015
I went to the wedding of a friend's daughter ... hard to forget such a special occasion!
The dress was perfect! I got so many compliments on the dress. I normally wear a size 6 but had read the other reviews that it ran small so I ordered a size 8 as back-up and wound up wearing the 8. (I couldn't even zip the 6 as I had broad shoulders). The pockets were a great addition to the dress. Worth mentioning, some of the lace (on the shoulders, probably from hanging on a hanger) has seen better days.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2015
Loved it. Got a lot of compliments
It was VERY comfortable, it has pockets!!! I didn't know that. Very classic and elegant
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 18, 2015
I received so many compliments!
The fit was true to size. I did have some issues with the zipper getting stuck, but overall a beautiful dress. Pairs nicely with red pumps!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 14, 2015
Loved the dress, lots of compliments
I rented this to wear to my cousin's wedding. I loved the dress and got lots of compliments throughout the night. It was comfy, I was able to wear a regular bra, and I felt great. It's definitely on the shorter side... it rides up when you sit down so I was pulling it down a lot. It also runs small. I am normally a size 6, and I ordered the 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 8.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 12, 2015
Perfect dress for a wedding.
I ordered a 2 and a 4 in this dress. I ended up wearing the 4 because the sleeves and bust were too tight on the 2. Received lots of compliments. It was cold and raining on the night of the wedding so I ended up wearing tights and booties with the dress and it still looked dressy enough for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 11, 2015
Classy!
Really loved this dress! At first it feels tight in the arms, but as the night went on I was fine. It's classy & sexy at the same time. Love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2015
Elegant and beautiful
This dress grew on me the longer I wore it. I felt perfectly dressed for a winter wedding at a Dallas Chapel and Museum reception. The dress is classy and effortless. As most others have stated, the arm and chest areas are very tight, but that wasn't a big deal. I paired with black tights and it still looked adorable. Lots of compliments, and photographed beautifully... I recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2015
Wore to work Christmas party.
Dress was a little short for work event so I wore tight underneath. Sleeve were tight on the 4 but a 6 was too big everywhere else. Still got lots of complements on the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
December 28, 2014
The couple.
Arms are a little snug so I wore the larger size for comfort. The 4 would have fit otherwise.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 23, 2014
Beautiful dress - sleeves restrict movement, but I wasn't uncomfortable
I really loved this dress and got plenty of comments and compliments. The 6 fit pretty well. The hips have a lot of room, which made it very comfortable and easy to move in all night. I ordered up a size, based on other recommendations. I wish I had ordered down a size... The waist and hips were so roomy that I might have been able to go with a 4, but the bust may have been too small then. I'm not sure you see this in the photos, but the dress actually has pockets, which held my phone nicely without altering the line of the dress (again, because the hip was cut with plenty of room). Like other reviewers, the arms were snug, but no uncomfortably so, and the lace stretched a little after I put it on. I definitely would not have wanted to raise my arms above shoulder level... but I had no need to, so it wasn't an issue. The 8 had damaged lace, just in case you're considering that size. The 6 did not seem to have any damage. The one thing I wasn't crazy about was the lining--in the picture it looks like the lining ends an inch or two above the lace. Neither size I received seemed to do that--it seemed like it ended just at the lace or maybe a bit below it. Certainly if you bent at the waist, the lining fell below the lace. You might plan on having supplies to pin up the lining to ensure it wouldn't be too low. Otherwise the dress was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 21, 2014
Cute dress for rehearsal dinner!
This dress was really comfortable. I ended up not wearing a bra because the top was pretty fitted. I liked that the dress wasn't too short. The lace was nice and not over the top. You could wear this with nude or black heels, either would go nicely. I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 21, 2014
All of the compliments I received.
The dress was snug in the chest and arms. I felt like I couldn't bend a whole lot. However, it looked great on and the material felt nice. I only wore to the ceremony because I knew that I would be able to move my arms a lot while dancing if I wore it to the reception. Even though it was tighter in the chest, it offered enough support that I didn't need to wear a bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 19, 2014
Loved the back of the dress!
Loved the dress, wore it to a rehearsal dinner. I got a lot a compliments it was great. The sleeves can be a bit tight and my arms are not big. Overall I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2014
Great fit! Lots of compliments
I ordered both the 4 and 6 after reading others reviews and seeing their photos. Thank goodness the 4 fit because the lace on the 6 was tattered and I would not have been happy wearing that one. The 4 fit beautifully though and worked out great! I got so many compliments throughout the night and the dress was perfect for the formal fall wedding I was attending. The only complaint I would have is that the dress style itself was not the most flattering on me. The waistline hit me at a odd point since I have a short body and long legs. You can see in the photo that it is not the best dress type for me and makes me look larger, but if I stood at the right angle for pictures it was ok. I did not think it was the most flattering on me, but still received many compliments!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×