Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
515 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(308)
Small
(112)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 22, 2015
I received so many compliments on this dress!
This dress fit perfectly. The only downside is it was a bit hard to dance with my arms up in the air, but that really wouldn't deter me from renting it again. This dress is gorgeous and it has pockets!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2015
Love the lace, but not my favorite fit
The black lace on this dress is VERY elegant. This wasn't the most flattering fit on me as I felt the waistline was higher than I normally like, making my hips look much wider than they are. It is still a very beautiful dress. The sleeves are a little tight and it was difficult to raise my arms up while wearing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
September 11, 2015
Nice dress
This dress is pretty and I received a lot of compliments. I was in a house party during an August wedding so it was a very nice choice for a black dress in summer! However, as others said, it runs very tight in the shoulders. I would normally wear a 4 in this shape of dress but had to size up to a 6 so I could move my arms around. I could easily pinch out an inch or 2 around my waist since I was wearing the bigger size.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
September 11, 2015
Beautiful lace details; elegant, fun, and comfortable, too!
My first experience with RtR was definitely a winner! I rented this dress for an evening wedding in late summer- it was the perfect combination of elegance and comfort. The lace overlay yields a beautiful neckline, and the slight dip in the back adds to the dress's appeal. And I had no trouble on the dance floor. I ordered both the size 2 and size 4, and really didn't notice much of a difference between the two. The lace overlay across the shoulders means a strapless bra is a must, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2015
Classic dress with a tailored fit!
I loved the way this dress hugged in all the right places! It made me feel amazing all night! It was modest enough for a family holiday party but didn't feel stuffy at all!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
September 1, 2015
So much fun.
The dress fit me perfectly. I was a little nervous because I'm very small but have big breast, it fit like glove though. I was really pleased with the dress, and the entire process because this was my first time renting from you all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 24, 2015
LOVED THIS DRESS! Perfect for a modest wedding!
I loved this dress from the second I tried it on. I was looking for a dress that would cover a bit of my arms and go to about my knee and this totally did the trick! If you are short and looking for a good modest dress (mine was an orthodox wedding) then this is the dress for you! So flattering!
DevinApril 14, 2016
Hi Dahlia, it seems we have similar features. Were you able to wear a bra with this dress. If yes, did it have to be strapless? It looks like other ladies that worn the dress had mentioned it and was wondering your thoughts. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2015
My back up dress. I ended up not wearing it but I will most likely rent it for another event!
Fit great. The 0 was right in the arms so I liked the 2 better. I will most likely rent this for another occasion
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 12, 2015
Bump friendly if you are in your first trimester
I wore this dress when I was about 8 weeks pregnant. I have a small bump which you do show early when it's your fourth. Material is stretchy so there was room for my baby bump.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
August 6, 2015
Loved, it very comfortable, could've worn a smaller size and been fine.
loved it! not tight
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
July 21, 2015
This dress is so classic and feminine. My only complaint is the arms are tight.
I rented this dress for a cocktail party. I ordered the 4 and 6 because I had read the arms are tight. The 4 fit my body perfectly, however, the arms were a tight squeeze. I went with the 4 though because the 6 was just too big in the body. I'm 5'5 125, 34D. I didn't need to wear a bra with it either, which was nice. The back is a low V, but not crazy low. It's a gorgeous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 20, 2015
So many compliments loved delicate neckline lace
Perfect fit no problems
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2015
Beautiful and Classy Dress!!
This was my first RTR experience and I've already reserved dresses for 2 other events! This dress was elegant and classy, but not stuffy at all. I wore it to a co-worker's wedding and it was the perfect choice. I wore my usual size and it fit like a glove. Like other reviewers said, it was a little tight on the arms when I first tried it on (to be fair I have fairly large arms), but the fabric quickly loosened up. I felt extremely confident in this dress and would definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 27, 2015
Stunning Lace Dress!
This dress fit me perfectly! I wore it to my fiancé's fireman ball and received several complaints! I was also able to comfortably dance, which is always a plus!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
June 24, 2015
Perfect for a formal event or evening wedding
I received several compliments on this dress. I wore it to a formal work-related event and it was perfect for the occasion. I'm pear-shaped, so I'm usually cautious of form-fitting dresses, but it cuts out just enough at the waist, so it didn't look or feel snug on my hips. It was very comfortable to wear the entire evening. I'm usually a 6 or 8 in dresses, depending on the cut. I ended up wearing the 8 in this dress. The lace and champagne underlay definitely make it more special and eye-catching than just your average solid black dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 23, 2015
My first RTR experience and I loved it! The dress came early and was perfect for my modest event!
As other have said, the sleeves are a bit tight. I have what I will describe as "athletic" arms and shoulders from weight lifting. The sleeves were snug at the beginning of the day, but definitely loosened up as I moved around and danced. The length hit right at my knees, which was perfect for the religious wedding I attended. The rest of the dress was the perfect shape to flatter any body type. I got tons of compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2015
This dress photographed very well and I received multiple compliments.
I ordered a 6 & 8 with 8 being my normal size and the 6 still could have fit a bit better. Both dresses a received did have little tears in them but weren't very noticeable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2015
Beautiful dress but small in the bust so I couldn't wear.
The fit was small in bust and arms so I could not wear the 4. I'm usually a 2 or 4 so I would rent up 2 sizes in this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 6, 2015
Got a ton of compliments on this dress!
The fit was tighter, especially in the arms but they loosened up as the night went on. If you are in between sizes, go up a size. The sheath underneath is not sewn to the lace layer so the tighter the dress the more the lace tends to ride up. Overall this dress was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2015
Size way up if busty!
Was 32D, but breastfeeding boobs are crazy right now and had to size way up to accommodate as dress has no stretch. Loose in the waist and hips for me but fabric draped well enough so that it didn't look overly bizarre. The 6 is what I ultimately went with and looked great, but the lace on the 4 was pretty ratty. Overall very classy and pretty dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
June 2, 2015
Great dress for a semi-formal occasion.
Arms fit a little tight, but overall, I LOVED this dress and wish I could keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 1, 2015
Great for attending a church wedding
This dress was very comfortable and still flattering. I was a reader at a Catholic wedding, and wanted to be a little more conservative but not dowdy. This was perfect.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 24, 2015
I wore this while 6 months pregnant and received so many compliments! Great dress.
Fit was great even while pregnant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2015
The color and lace were gorgeous! Made for lots of complements!
The sleeves are tight so I wore the 6, but the waist wasn't quite as fitted. Also, the champagne color dress underneath the lace with the straight across neckline wasn't the most flattering. Overall though, this was a really pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2015
Dress was okay with some flaws. Wouldn't rent this one again.
Dress did not have the most flattering fit. The lace all over the dress was very worn, not in the best shape. I wouldn't rent this dress again. This was my first experience with renttherunway.com, and I didn't have the best first impression.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 11, 2015
This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely be doing it again!
I rented this dress for a charity event that was labeled "black tie optional". Between the length of the dress and the lace on top it was the perfect combination of classy and comfortable. I LOVE dresses with pockets and they helped give the midsection a forgiving look if you plan on eating dinner. I have muscular arms and didn't have any problems with the sleeves being too tight. However, the top was kind of constricting so be prepared for limited arm movement. Other than that, the dress was absolutely perfect, people were complimenting me all night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 9, 2015
FIt well. No complaints. Was great for a winter wedding!
if anywhere, was tight in the arms. Otherwise, fit true to size.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 7, 2015
Great daytime event dress!
I wore this dress to a family member's Army commissioning ceremony. It was formal enough for the event without feeling too dressy for a daytime affair. I have broad shoulders and therefore felt the top half was a little snug, but it worked out great because I didn't have to wear a bra. I did need my roommate to help me zip up but otherwise the dress was pretty comfortable. The lace detailing is very pretty and stands out great in pictures. I also got a lot of compliments on the back of the dress, everyone loved the little dip detail, watch out for tan lines though!! Great dress for a great price!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 7, 2015
Nothing incredibly special but perfect for a cocktail wedding
Nothing incredibly special but perfect for a cocktail wedding. It is a bit tight under the arms but does stretch throughout the night. Easy to dance in because it is lose in the hips and thighs. You can't go wrong with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2015
Classic dress with a modern edge.
The back-up size 6 dress worked for me because I'm pear-shaped; I found that the 8 wasn't fitted enough. I wore the dress to a Hindu wedding, and my mother-in-law adorned me with some of her accessories and I think it worked out well--gave it some pop! For it being a classic black lace dress, it really seemed to stand out from other typical wedding guest attire. I received several compliments, too (and that was BEFORE cocktail hour :) ). This was my first time renting from RTR and I was super pleased; will rent from you guys again.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to review and to post my best fashion blogger pose.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
May 2, 2015
This dress is soo gorgeous in person! I received a lot of compliments when I wore it!
There were a couple of dresses I was debating on RTR, but at the last minute, I went with this dress, and thank goodness I did! I only have good things to say about this dress. The lace detail was beautiful, and I loved how it shows off your back and had pockets. Also, this dress allowed you to breathe, so it was perfect for the warm weather. You won't get hot wearing it. Great for dancing too! I only wished I could have kept this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 26, 2015
Fall wedding perfection
I wore this to a friends wedding in the fall. It was an outdoor evening event. This dress was beyond perfect. It fit wonderful and had no signs of wear. I really wish I owned this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 26, 2015
Beautiful, classy dress that got me lots of compliments
Like the other reviews say, the sleeves are definitely tight. I usually wear a size 0 but wore the 2 for the sleeves. The rest of the dress was comfortable and the hidden pockets were clutch. Overalls great dress that photographs well and attracts a lot of compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 168lbs
April 21, 2015
Not for big chested girls!
I had ordered this for Christmas eve (very late to the review party) Sadly, although a very pretty dress, it is not for big chested girls. The dress fit fine even though the waist hit a bit higher than on the model. However, because of this, it looked as though the entire half of the dress was just covering the chest. Not flattering, made me look as if I had 36GG instead of 36D!! I would have loved to wear it, but good lesson to learn for the future. Can't do this style with limited lining on top!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 20, 2015
This dress was beautiful, I received so many compliments.
I'll admit the sleeves were a little itchy at first because of the lace but I got used to it. I could move comfortably in the dress and it was really beautiful. I loved wearing it. The back of the dress is amazing, with the low cut. Wish I owned this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2015
Loved this dress! Got so many compliments. Perfect for mid march wedding
Sleeves were tight. I'm in between a 2 and 4 typically, I had to do the 4, even for the sleeves alone. Over the evening the lace on the sleeves relaxed a little.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2015
Wedding
Great dress-many compliments
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
April 9, 2015
I rented this dress for my engagement pictures and it was perfect!!
I usually wear a size 2 for dresses but seldom wear size 4. For this dress I wore the size 4 because it was a bit snug in size 2..especially in the arm and chest area. I loved the intricate lace and how fitted it was! I wish I could own it :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2015
This dress was in great condition and I loved it!
I ordered the dress for a fundraising event, it was perfect! I have thin arms (I like to call them "skinny fat" arms haha not toned at all) and the arms on the dress were very snug at first but, by the middle of the night you hardly noticed because the material stretched out a bit! The lace was well maintained and looked new. I had to wear black tights because the dress was shorter then normal for me. The back V of the dress was beautiful and I could wear a typical strapless bra. I have a teeny tiny bust and the dress fit well through the torso.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
March 31, 2015
Perfect dress for a wedding.
I wore this to a wedding. This dress is very flattering and I received many compliments. It's comfortable to dance in and conservative enough to wear to a church wedding but is still beautiful and stylish. Since it was a very chilly March wedding, I wore black tights and black wedge booties which looked great.
See more reviews:
4 / 13
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×