Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
504 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(301)
Small
(111)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 20, 2015
So many compliments loved delicate neckline lace
Perfect fit no problems
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2015
Beautiful and Classy Dress!!
This was my first RTR experience and I've already reserved dresses for 2 other events! This dress was elegant and classy, but not stuffy at all. I wore it to a co-worker's wedding and it was the perfect choice. I wore my usual size and it fit like a glove. Like other reviewers said, it was a little tight on the arms when I first tried it on (to be fair I have fairly large arms), but the fabric quickly loosened up. I felt extremely confident in this dress and would definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 27, 2015
Stunning Lace Dress!
This dress fit me perfectly! I wore it to my fiancé's fireman ball and received several complaints! I was also able to comfortably dance, which is always a plus!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
June 24, 2015
Perfect for a formal event or evening wedding
I received several compliments on this dress. I wore it to a formal work-related event and it was perfect for the occasion. I'm pear-shaped, so I'm usually cautious of form-fitting dresses, but it cuts out just enough at the waist, so it didn't look or feel snug on my hips. It was very comfortable to wear the entire evening. I'm usually a 6 or 8 in dresses, depending on the cut. I ended up wearing the 8 in this dress. The lace and champagne underlay definitely make it more special and eye-catching than just your average solid black dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 23, 2015
My first RTR experience and I loved it! The dress came early and was perfect for my modest event!
As other have said, the sleeves are a bit tight. I have what I will describe as "athletic" arms and shoulders from weight lifting. The sleeves were snug at the beginning of the day, but definitely loosened up as I moved around and danced. The length hit right at my knees, which was perfect for the religious wedding I attended. The rest of the dress was the perfect shape to flatter any body type. I got tons of compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2015
This dress photographed very well and I received multiple compliments.
I ordered a 6 & 8 with 8 being my normal size and the 6 still could have fit a bit better. Both dresses a received did have little tears in them but weren't very noticeable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2015
Beautiful dress but small in the bust so I couldn't wear.
The fit was small in bust and arms so I could not wear the 4. I'm usually a 2 or 4 so I would rent up 2 sizes in this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 6, 2015
Got a ton of compliments on this dress!
The fit was tighter, especially in the arms but they loosened up as the night went on. If you are in between sizes, go up a size. The sheath underneath is not sewn to the lace layer so the tighter the dress the more the lace tends to ride up. Overall this dress was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2015
Size way up if busty!
Was 32D, but breastfeeding boobs are crazy right now and had to size way up to accommodate as dress has no stretch. Loose in the waist and hips for me but fabric draped well enough so that it didn't look overly bizarre. The 6 is what I ultimately went with and looked great, but the lace on the 4 was pretty ratty. Overall very classy and pretty dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
June 2, 2015
Great dress for a semi-formal occasion.
Arms fit a little tight, but overall, I LOVED this dress and wish I could keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 1, 2015
Great for attending a church wedding
This dress was very comfortable and still flattering. I was a reader at a Catholic wedding, and wanted to be a little more conservative but not dowdy. This was perfect.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 24, 2015
I wore this while 6 months pregnant and received so many compliments! Great dress.
Fit was great even while pregnant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2015
The color and lace were gorgeous! Made for lots of complements!
The sleeves are tight so I wore the 6, but the waist wasn't quite as fitted. Also, the champagne color dress underneath the lace with the straight across neckline wasn't the most flattering. Overall though, this was a really pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2015
Dress was okay with some flaws. Wouldn't rent this one again.
Dress did not have the most flattering fit. The lace all over the dress was very worn, not in the best shape. I wouldn't rent this dress again. This was my first experience with renttherunway.com, and I didn't have the best first impression.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 11, 2015
This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely be doing it again!
I rented this dress for a charity event that was labeled "black tie optional". Between the length of the dress and the lace on top it was the perfect combination of classy and comfortable. I LOVE dresses with pockets and they helped give the midsection a forgiving look if you plan on eating dinner. I have muscular arms and didn't have any problems with the sleeves being too tight. However, the top was kind of constricting so be prepared for limited arm movement. Other than that, the dress was absolutely perfect, people were complimenting me all night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 9, 2015
FIt well. No complaints. Was great for a winter wedding!
if anywhere, was tight in the arms. Otherwise, fit true to size.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 7, 2015
Great daytime event dress!
I wore this dress to a family member's Army commissioning ceremony. It was formal enough for the event without feeling too dressy for a daytime affair. I have broad shoulders and therefore felt the top half was a little snug, but it worked out great because I didn't have to wear a bra. I did need my roommate to help me zip up but otherwise the dress was pretty comfortable. The lace detailing is very pretty and stands out great in pictures. I also got a lot of compliments on the back of the dress, everyone loved the little dip detail, watch out for tan lines though!! Great dress for a great price!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 7, 2015
Nothing incredibly special but perfect for a cocktail wedding
Nothing incredibly special but perfect for a cocktail wedding. It is a bit tight under the arms but does stretch throughout the night. Easy to dance in because it is lose in the hips and thighs. You can't go wrong with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2015
Classic dress with a modern edge.
The back-up size 6 dress worked for me because I'm pear-shaped; I found that the 8 wasn't fitted enough. I wore the dress to a Hindu wedding, and my mother-in-law adorned me with some of her accessories and I think it worked out well--gave it some pop! For it being a classic black lace dress, it really seemed to stand out from other typical wedding guest attire. I received several compliments, too (and that was BEFORE cocktail hour :) ). This was my first time renting from RTR and I was super pleased; will rent from you guys again.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to review and to post my best fashion blogger pose.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
May 2, 2015
This dress is soo gorgeous in person! I received a lot of compliments when I wore it!
There were a couple of dresses I was debating on RTR, but at the last minute, I went with this dress, and thank goodness I did! I only have good things to say about this dress. The lace detail was beautiful, and I loved how it shows off your back and had pockets. Also, this dress allowed you to breathe, so it was perfect for the warm weather. You won't get hot wearing it. Great for dancing too! I only wished I could have kept this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 26, 2015
Fall wedding perfection
I wore this to a friends wedding in the fall. It was an outdoor evening event. This dress was beyond perfect. It fit wonderful and had no signs of wear. I really wish I owned this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 26, 2015
Beautiful, classy dress that got me lots of compliments
Like the other reviews say, the sleeves are definitely tight. I usually wear a size 0 but wore the 2 for the sleeves. The rest of the dress was comfortable and the hidden pockets were clutch. Overalls great dress that photographs well and attracts a lot of compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 168lbs
April 21, 2015
Not for big chested girls!
I had ordered this for Christmas eve (very late to the review party) Sadly, although a very pretty dress, it is not for big chested girls. The dress fit fine even though the waist hit a bit higher than on the model. However, because of this, it looked as though the entire half of the dress was just covering the chest. Not flattering, made me look as if I had 36GG instead of 36D!! I would have loved to wear it, but good lesson to learn for the future. Can't do this style with limited lining on top!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 20, 2015
This dress was beautiful, I received so many compliments.
I'll admit the sleeves were a little itchy at first because of the lace but I got used to it. I could move comfortably in the dress and it was really beautiful. I loved wearing it. The back of the dress is amazing, with the low cut. Wish I owned this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2015
Loved this dress! Got so many compliments. Perfect for mid march wedding
Sleeves were tight. I'm in between a 2 and 4 typically, I had to do the 4, even for the sleeves alone. Over the evening the lace on the sleeves relaxed a little.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2015
Wedding
Great dress-many compliments
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
April 9, 2015
I rented this dress for my engagement pictures and it was perfect!!
I usually wear a size 2 for dresses but seldom wear size 4. For this dress I wore the size 4 because it was a bit snug in size 2..especially in the arm and chest area. I loved the intricate lace and how fitted it was! I wish I could own it :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2015
This dress was in great condition and I loved it!
I ordered the dress for a fundraising event, it was perfect! I have thin arms (I like to call them "skinny fat" arms haha not toned at all) and the arms on the dress were very snug at first but, by the middle of the night you hardly noticed because the material stretched out a bit! The lace was well maintained and looked new. I had to wear black tights because the dress was shorter then normal for me. The back V of the dress was beautiful and I could wear a typical strapless bra. I have a teeny tiny bust and the dress fit well through the torso.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
March 31, 2015
Perfect dress for a wedding.
I wore this to a wedding. This dress is very flattering and I received many compliments. It's comfortable to dance in and conservative enough to wear to a church wedding but is still beautiful and stylish. Since it was a very chilly March wedding, I wore black tights and black wedge booties which looked great.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 30, 2015
Perfect for the wedding
I have rented this dress twice for weddings. I love the way it fits as it is flattering but still appropriate. I would own it if I could!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2015
Lovely dress for a formal affair
I loved this dress! I'm thinking of renting it again for a friend's wedding. The 4 was a tiny bit big, but the arms were snug, so I couldn't go any smaller. The pockets are a great addition! Overall, great dress would highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 24, 2015
Law school prom!
Tight across my DD bust but a larger size would have made the rest of the dress baggy. The waist was too big on me, and the pleating below the waist made me look like I had a tummy. Decided to wear my alternate style instead of this dress. I imagine it might look better on a less busty, less hour-glass figure.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 20, 2015
Good fit, Tons of complements! I felt pretty and not over or under dressed. Perfect for a night wed
The way the lace is deigned on the arms you cant raise your arms over your head too high, not that it's a make or break (Unless you really like to part take in "shout" at wedding") It was a liiiitle itchy but over all very comfortable to wear.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 19, 2015
Loved the dress! was great for wedding/very appropriate.
I'm typically a size 6 and this size 6 worked. I'm 5'7, 140 lbs, and 34C.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 28, 2015
Perfect.
Flattering, comfortable and chic. Loved the lace detail at the neckline. Photographs really well.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2015
I wore this dress to a friends wedding and everyone loved it and wanted to know where I got it.
This dress fit great and was very flattering. The lace on the arms were a little snug so I ended up wearing the larger size. Also, I felt that it needed a small belt for some waist definition. Overall I loved this dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2015
This dress was perfect for a winter (semi formal) wedding.
The dress fit well. The lace overlay was a great quality and I was able to highlight the dress with some accessories. My only problem was that I just had a baby and I did feel like it highlighted my least favorite area (my hips). The pockets had darts that made me feel a little bulky. I wore the dress with tights and it looked much better that way (for me). It was comfy and I had many compliments. I was with my children so I did not get a chance to take a full length picture, but I was very happy with the rental overall. I would definitely wear it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 137lbs
February 10, 2015
Beautiful dress but did not end up wearing due to the fit.
Great Dress and Quality but the fit was not good for my body type. I have a short torso & carry my weight in my midsection. Where the dress was cut, it cinched in too much and made me look bigger than I am. It definitely runs on the smaller side and would recommend a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
February 1, 2015
The black lace was gorgeous! I wore to SAG awards and was so pleased with the look of the dress.
Fit true to size, arms were a bit snug as other reviewers mentioned but loosened up pretty quickly. Pockets were amazing! Loved the lace and the slightly lower back, wore a strapless bra which was fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
January 31, 2015
Great dress - I'm normally 25% size 2 and 75% size 4. The size 4 fit well! Def get!
Def a little snug in the arms but I preferred that for this lace sheath overlay and lace arms. I am busty and I still found the 4 to be true to size. If you are extremely busty and or just like extra arm room, size up. Beautiful dress!
See more reviews:
4 / 13
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×