Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
543 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(318)
Small
(114)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 23, 2016
Great dress for a Bat Mitzvah
All the reviews are correct, the sleeves were really tight. I could have worn my normal size but I sized up because of the tight sleeves. Although they did stretch out quickly and after a bit they didn't even seem tight. It was really comfy, the pockets were awesome too. But because of the pockets I felt it made my hips look a little bigger. I didn't think it was that flattering on me, but it was a beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
March 6, 2017
Perfect LBD!
I received so many compliments on this dress! I did have to size up, as other reviewers suggested, due to the lace sleeves. Because of the lace, the first dress I received had a pretty noticeable hole in the bicep area, but RTR's excellent customer service sent a new one with no problem. I also wore a strapless bra because the nude/gold lining goes straight across at the top, but still found the dress to be very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 31, 2012
This dress has POCKETS!!
Love this dress, especially when I discovered on-seam pockets! I rented it for NYE. I ordered my normal 0 and a 2 for backup, and ended up wearing the 2. Both fit, but since the lace doesn't stretch, I had more shoulder flexibility in the 2. In the 0 I was afraid the delicate lace would rip if I raised my arms above my head. This dress is beautifully made; the details like the scalloped hem, exposed zipper and scooped back make it really special.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2013
Beautifully made dress.
This dress was one of the nicest dresses I've ordered from Rent the Runway. However, if you are at all busty (C cup or bigger) I would suggest going up a size. I am typically a 4 to 6 and the 6 was really snug on me. It has to do with the lining - it is quite tailored and has no give. But it is a very pretty dress fit for everything from a date night to a formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 18, 2013
Runs small, had to return without wearing it
I ordered this dress without a backup size and ended up having to return it and not have it for a wedding this weekend. I've never had to use my backup size but knew it was a gamble as every dress fits differently. It was a beautiful dress. Make sure that you have a size up when renting becuase the shoulders are very tight. (and I don't have a large bust)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2013
Perfect dress for the occasion!
The dress was little tight in the bust area for my DD's, so I had wear the larger size, but it fit nicely. Perfect for a cocktail event. I wore it for my engagement party and it was a hit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 1, 2013
Downtown Classy!
Enjoyed my first RTR experience. Unfortunately, I've gained a little weight (8lbs?) since starting law school PT and working FT, so as other reviewers noted the arms/shoulder are a little tight so I went with the 4. The waist of this dress didn't really hit my waist and with my rib cage being kinda big and straight (it doesn't taper like a narrow waisted hour-glass figure), I needed the bigger size. I loved the quality of the dress and the lace so pretty. The dress has some pleats all around it, but not too flouncy. Wasn't the hubby's favorite since he didn't think it flattered my figure well-enough (didn't show off my butt). Had to wear sheer hosiery - it's MN sub-zero in Jan, couldn't go bare legged. Also found some great unique peep toe heels of suede leather appropriate for the weather! Was going to wear my hair up in a low chignon, to show-off the pretty back - but due to time constraints I was unable to style my hair. Next time, I hope to try something a bit more daring - not a problem to try something you might not normally buy with RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 11, 2013
Classic. Elegant - perfect for black tie.
Goes all the way to knee - even a little past. Very fitted at the waist and you need a strapless bra because the pretty lace detail on top is completely see-through. It's the kind of dress where you look hot but all moms etc. think you look like a lady too.
MeganSeptember 29, 2013
Gah! I'm in love with your lipstick!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 18, 2013
Ran small.
Didn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2013
Wonderfully beautiful dress!
This dress was very comfortable, but ran a bit smaller than my normal size due to the fact that the fabric doesn't stretch and I needed more room in the bust. Overall, I got a lot of compliments and it was perfect for the dinner party I attended. Very flattering also - I wouldn't hesitate to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 25, 2013
Received compliments all night.
LOVED this dress - felt glamorous and received compliments all night. I did have to wear a larger size because of the lace that is attached to the arms and chest area. Normally dresses are too big on me up top because I'm pear shaped, but this dress was the opposite. However, I did truly love this dress and I felt gorgeous in it. I would definitely recommend it to anybody - just order a size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 12, 2013
Fit small
I rented this dress and a backup, but I didn't end up wearing it. I'm a 4 to a 6 in most clothes - rented a 6 and could not zip it up. My rib cage is too wide - I would have needed an 8. Pretty dress. I did not have the tight sleeve issue others wrote about. Loved the pockets.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
June 11, 2013
I thought dress runs a little small through the arms, but beautiful!
I loved the dress but again, thought it was a little small in the arms and shoulders.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 24, 2013
The lace was beautiful!! So many compliments at the wedding!
I needed to size up because the dress was a bit tight through the chest.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
July 2, 2013
A bit too tight, but a beautiful dress.
The dress is beautiful and although I liked it, I just wasn't comfortable in it - either size - so I returned it. I will try again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 3, 2013
Classy evening dress!
I loved this dress. I wore it to a gala event and felt great all night. It's very flattering for the not so perfect tummy areas! I added a thick black ribbon with a flower on it and it seemed to help complete the dress. I would rent again for a similar occasion.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 20, 2013
I received soo many compliments about the dress! The lace detailing was beautiful!
The arms were a little snug, not tight, but like most reviews it loosened up quickly. The ribcage was where I found much tighter than expected. Once I got the zipper up it felt fine. Everything was gorgeous about this dress except for the industrial silver zipper on the back (on both sizes I got). It was a little, only a little, disappointing that such a beautiful dress had such a fugly zipper on the back, and it was silver so it stood out. I would have preferred to see a black zipper. I just made sure pictures were taken from the front.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2013
Beautiful Dress
I loved this dress! Very classy and comfortable. I agree with the other reviewers who mentioned if you are a bit busty to size up. They did not have the next size available so I stuck with the 8. The fit was great waist down, but very snug around the chest area - however it did loosen up a bit. I wore this to a Fall outdoor wedding and the sleeves were perfect for the breezy day. I highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2013
perfect for a fall wedding
Loved this dress! It was perfect for a fall wedding. I did end up wearing the 8 because it felt more comfortable across the chest and arms. Would recommend sizing up if you have a larger bust or muscular arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 11, 2013
Absolutely gorgeous! But no stretch on the arms
I really wanted to wear a 3/4 sleeved dress for a November wedding that I attended. I normally fit well into a size 4 dress. I am fairly small on the top, and most of my weight is on my bottom half (butt and thighs...god bless my middle eastern descent). But when it came to actually putting the dress on, where I was having a ton of problems was in the actual fitting on the arms. I never realized that my arms are on the "bigger" side since I work out. So I had to go a size up to the 6, and it fit well, but the bottom half wasn't fitting as well as the size 6. But overall, I got a ton of compliments, and it pained me to return the dress. I wish it had a little more stretch in the arms, but that's my only complaint.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 15, 2013
This dress made me feel like an absolute celebrity for my Senior Recital with my fiance!
VERY tight around the bust even without a bra. I don't know if it was there before, but I think some of the lace even ripped around the bust area. The sleeves are also pretty slim. DEFINITELY size up. It is the perfect length for a sexy modestly. There were tons of people who told me I was wearing such a gorgeous dress. I felt extremely beautiful in it. My fiance's jaw dropped when he first saw me. If you want all eyes on you, get this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
November 25, 2013
Great detail in the lace, comfortable fit, and it even has pockets!
I ordered the 2 and the 4, both fit well enough, but the sleeves are definitely a little slim, so I feared a stretch in the wrong direction could be a problem in the 2 and decided to wear the 4. The lace in the neckline was very pretty and the fitted top with the looser skirt made for a comfortable dress all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 5, 2013
Way too small!
I ordered this dress as my first choice for a wedding and it felt like I was wearing two sizes too small! The sleeves are very tiny and do not have any stretch to them and if you have a bigger chest, it won't even zip up. Luckily, I loved my back up dress and so I wore that, but I was really excited about this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 6, 2013
Definitely size up
As other reviewers mentioned, the sleeves on this dress are very tight. I do not have large arns but the sleeves to be uncomfortably small. I usually wear a 2 or 4, tried both sizes and neither worked. Couldn't get the 2 up all the way and the entire top of the 4 was very snug. Shame because it's a very pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2013
Not the shape for me...
This dress was just not the right shape for me at all. It made me seem wider in the shoulders and hips than I am. I'm usually a 2 but this was snug around the shoulders. Pretty material but the shape was just not for me!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 7, 2014
I wore this to a New Year's party and it was very comfortable and flattering!
Overall, perfect fit for me. Sometimes dresses hug too tight in my hips and not enough in my waist, but this one worked on fine. The arms were a tad tight, but nothing uncomfortable.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
January 25, 2014
was not good enough, did not wear it. waistline to high, narrow sleeves, uncomfortable,tight
I am small, but both 2, 4 sleeves were to narrow, could not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 27, 2014
Lovely dress.
Beautiful design with luxurious lining, sexy lace, and fitted waist- would have been a hit but the shoulders and ribs were too snug to zip, and I'm nearly flat-chested. The skirt was more forgiving.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
March 15, 2014
Pretty in the other pictures...but not flattering on me!
I gained weight a year ago from an accident and have not yet lost it all; I definitely have problem areas in my waist, tummy, hips area. The rest of me is somewhat slender, except for my bust which is a smaller size d cup. The dress was very cute, but did not fit well on me at all. Tight in the bust and hips, and it didn't really hit the spots it should ( I am very tall). I'm sure this would be great on others, but I did not wear it because I looked horrible in it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 16, 2014
Smokin' yet classy
The title are the exact words one of my best friends used to describe this dress, and it was exactly the look I was going for. I'm also a woman that values comfort. I want to feel as much as possible like I am in jeans and a t-shirt. This dress was sooooooooooo comfortable! I am usually a size 2 but, as many said, the arms were tight and my muscular arms felt somewhat tight in the 2. The 2 was also a bit snug in the waist due to my bust (34 C), but fit perfectly around my hips. In all honesty, the 2 looked better on me but the 4 was more comfortable with room, so I wore it. I know lots of people liked the pockets, but I wished they weren't there. They added a slight amount of bulkiness I didn't desire. That being said, one of the reasons I chose this dress is because it had an a-line flare that I thought would look a little more elegant for woman like me in her early thirties. It also made the dress more comfortable with no riding up issues. And be sure to check out the dress from behind. There is a very visible zipper with gold teeth. That may make a difference in your decision. It wasn't bad but I think it would have been better without. All those minimal issues aside, this dress was still ridiculously awesome! I got sooooooooo many compliments in the dress, and I noticed people looking at me which felt a little strange since I'm not the kind of girl that attracts looks, but it was cool! I wore the dress to a traveling Broadway show at the Detroit Opera House and found I fit in well with about half of the crowd. Though I was worried about being overdressed, it turns out people in Detroit love to dress up, too, unlike my hometown of Austin, TX, where the dress may have been a little over the top at a musical. Would I wear this dress again? Absolutely. Loved the look, the comfort, and the detail (you can see in the second photo).
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 28, 2014
Didn't wear it
Beautiful dress but the sleeves were so tight I couldn't get it all the on . It might have fit but then I couldn't move my arm. The rest of the dress fit great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
March 28, 2014
RTR fixed a bad situation. I will definitely rent from them again.
Runs very small and short on a tall girl.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
April 13, 2014
Beautiful through the body, tight in the arms.
If you have athletic arms this dress is a tough one to pull off. The laces is beautiful brut has little give. The back is a great touch. I loved this dress but I was uncomfortable in the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 24, 2014
Lots of compliments, but not comfortable
When I first got the dress, I immediately began raiding my closet to try to find something else to wear. I am not a curvy girl and the cut did nothing for my figure. The arms also felt so tight, like I couldn't raise them above my head. Ended up wearing the dress and got a ton of compliments, but still felt uncomfortable the whole night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
May 7, 2014
Beautiful dress but tight in the arms
This dress is gorgeous and I received many compliments on it --- even one from a girl who had previously rented it on RTR. However, if you are athletic or have thick arms then you might want to consider another option. I could have worn the size 4 except that the arms were so tight I was afraid I was going to rip the dress. I ended up wearing the size 6 which was far too loose in the hips ( I am top heavy). The other problem was I wasn't able to lift my arms above my head because the black lace material has zero give. Other than that it is a beautiful dress (for skinny armed girls).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 25, 2014
Stunning lace number for a Black Tie Gala!
I love lace and loved this dress!! It's a little tight in the arms and the lace was a little ripped on one sleeve when it arrived, but it wasn't very noticeable. I got a ton of compliments. I'd order a size up. I did a 4 as my back up and wore the 6, but it was really tight in the arms. However, it was lovely and I felt great. Will definitely order again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
June 2, 2014
many compliments!
Very tight in the back and shoulders. Usually wear a six, but got an eight and wish I orderd the 10. It was also a bit short for a wedding. The dress was beautiful and received many compliments throughout the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 153lbs
July 30, 2014
Their service rocked.
This dress runs small in the bust and stomach. I could not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 11, 2014
Classy and easy to wear, got lots of compliments on this dress. A little worn out on the edges
This dress is a classic. It has pockets as a bonus. The lace is is a little worn out by the zipper in the back and around the neck but it is not too noticeable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 25, 2014
Paired well and stood strong with my boyfriend's black Hugo Boss suit.
Shoulder area is great and conservative but if you have wide shoulders arm movement may be restricted. The dress had a small rip from this tension in the armpit region. Pointed it out to the showroom girl and she made a note of it but gave no discount.
See more reviews:
4 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×