Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
462 reviews
Fit
Large14
True to Size287
Small104
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2015
The dress was really great, got a ton of compliments. Very classy, good for multiple occasions!
The dress was true to size, being that my upper body and torso are smaller than my lower body, the top of the dress still somehow fit very tight, so I would recommend reading other people's opinions to see if you think you would fit the top of the dress in case you are more top heavy. The bottom of the dress gave me enough room to eat and not feel like a stuffed sausage. The sleeves fit "tight" as well, so if your arms are not "athletic" then I would try to read people's reviews to see if your arms will fit. I recommend going with your actual dress size and then going a dress size up for the second free dress. Totally falling in love with Rent the Runway and their awesome service. I would wear this dress again and again if I got to own it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 22, 2015
Great dress! Very classy but still sexy.
I wore this to an evening wedding. It ran on the small side for sure so I'm glad I heeded advice and ordered a back up 8 even though I'd never worn an 8 before (normally a 6). The lace is beautiful and detailed so I needed very little jewelry. Got lots of compliments!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 22, 2015
I went to the wedding of a friend's daughter ... hard to forget such a special occasion!
The dress was perfect! I got so many compliments on the dress. I normally wear a size 6 but had read the other reviews that it ran small so I ordered a size 8 as back-up and wound up wearing the 8. (I couldn't even zip the 6 as I had broad shoulders). The pockets were a great addition to the dress. Worth mentioning, some of the lace (on the shoulders, probably from hanging on a hanger) has seen better days.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2015
Loved it. Got a lot of compliments
It was VERY comfortable, it has pockets!!! I didn't know that. Very classic and elegant
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 18, 2015
I received so many compliments!
The fit was true to size. I did have some issues with the zipper getting stuck, but overall a beautiful dress. Pairs nicely with red pumps!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 14, 2015
Loved the dress, lots of compliments
I rented this to wear to my cousin's wedding. I loved the dress and got lots of compliments throughout the night. It was comfy, I was able to wear a regular bra, and I felt great. It's definitely on the shorter side... it rides up when you sit down so I was pulling it down a lot. It also runs small. I am normally a size 6, and I ordered the 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 8.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 12, 2015
Perfect dress for a wedding.
I ordered a 2 and a 4 in this dress. I ended up wearing the 4 because the sleeves and bust were too tight on the 2. Received lots of compliments. It was cold and raining on the night of the wedding so I ended up wearing tights and booties with the dress and it still looked dressy enough for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 11, 2015
Classy!
Really loved this dress! At first it feels tight in the arms, but as the night went on I was fine. It's classy & sexy at the same time. Love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
January 3, 2015
Elegant and beautiful
This dress grew on me the longer I wore it. I felt perfectly dressed for a winter wedding at a Dallas Chapel and Museum reception. The dress is classy and effortless. As most others have stated, the arm and chest areas are very tight, but that wasn't a big deal. I paired with black tights and it still looked adorable. Lots of compliments, and photographed beautifully... I recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2015
Wore to work Christmas party.
Dress was a little short for work event so I wore tight underneath. Sleeve were tight on the 4 but a 6 was too big everywhere else. Still got lots of complements on the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
December 28, 2014
The couple.
Arms are a little snug so I wore the larger size for comfort. The 4 would have fit otherwise.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 23, 2014
Beautiful dress - sleeves restrict movement, but I wasn't uncomfortable
I really loved this dress and got plenty of comments and compliments. The 6 fit pretty well. The hips have a lot of room, which made it very comfortable and easy to move in all night. I ordered up a size, based on other recommendations. I wish I had ordered down a size... The waist and hips were so roomy that I might have been able to go with a 4, but the bust may have been too small then. I'm not sure you see this in the photos, but the dress actually has pockets, which held my phone nicely without altering the line of the dress (again, because the hip was cut with plenty of room). Like other reviewers, the arms were snug, but no uncomfortably so, and the lace stretched a little after I put it on. I definitely would not have wanted to raise my arms above shoulder level... but I had no need to, so it wasn't an issue. The 8 had damaged lace, just in case you're considering that size. The 6 did not seem to have any damage. The one thing I wasn't crazy about was the lining--in the picture it looks like the lining ends an inch or two above the lace. Neither size I received seemed to do that--it seemed like it ended just at the lace or maybe a bit below it. Certainly if you bent at the waist, the lining fell below the lace. You might plan on having supplies to pin up the lining to ensure it wouldn't be too low. Otherwise the dress was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 21, 2014
Cute dress for rehearsal dinner!
This dress was really comfortable. I ended up not wearing a bra because the top was pretty fitted. I liked that the dress wasn't too short. The lace was nice and not over the top. You could wear this with nude or black heels, either would go nicely. I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 21, 2014
All of the compliments I received.
The dress was snug in the chest and arms. I felt like I couldn't bend a whole lot. However, it looked great on and the material felt nice. I only wore to the ceremony because I knew that I would be able to move my arms a lot while dancing if I wore it to the reception. Even though it was tighter in the chest, it offered enough support that I didn't need to wear a bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 19, 2014
Loved the back of the dress!
Loved the dress, wore it to a rehearsal dinner. I got a lot a compliments it was great. The sleeves can be a bit tight and my arms are not big. Overall I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2014
Great fit! Lots of compliments
I ordered both the 4 and 6 after reading others reviews and seeing their photos. Thank goodness the 4 fit because the lace on the 6 was tattered and I would not have been happy wearing that one. The 4 fit beautifully though and worked out great! I got so many compliments throughout the night and the dress was perfect for the formal fall wedding I was attending. The only complaint I would have is that the dress style itself was not the most flattering on me. The waistline hit me at a odd point since I have a short body and long legs. You can see in the photo that it is not the best dress type for me and makes me look larger, but if I stood at the right angle for pictures it was ok. I did not think it was the most flattering on me, but still received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2014
Was a cute dress at one time, but has gotten too much use.
This dress is, as designed, an awesome dress. The pockets and fit are good. However, the dress that I received was so worn out as to be almost unwearable. The delicate lace had clearly been dry-cleaned way too many times (see second photo), so it looked ratty on the edges. There were several places on the sleeves where the lace was actually torn, and as I was sewing it back up could tell that it had already been repaired once. Very disappointed that RTR would keep sending out dresses in this condition.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 17, 2014
Loved it! I got so many compliments on this dress! It was perfect for my company party! Fits great!
No complaints. Fit was true to size for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
December 15, 2014
Beautiful dress! Got a ton of compliments!
I ordered the size 12 but it came back from the previous rental too damaged and the RTR customer service did everything imaginable to make sure that I had a dress to wear to my party! I can't say enough good things about them!Unfortunately, the replacement dresses didn't fit correctly, and since they had sent the size 10 as a backup originally, I decided to go with that! It was a bit tight because I usually wear a 12, but it fit pretty well anyway! I got so many compliments on the dress and felt beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
December 15, 2014
Amazing, Classy.. Want to go out and buy it for myself!
I usually wear a 4-6. I fit into both but ended up wearing the 6 just because the 4 was a little snug and short. The arms are a little tight fitting so if you are muscular or have larger arms, you will need to size up. The dress was in perfect condition, no signs of prior use etc. Highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 15, 2014
Perfect for a Winter Wedding
I wore the 8 because there was a noticeable whole in the lace of one of the sleeves in the 6. I paired the dress with a black satin sash to tie at the waist. I was very comfortable and elegant! Perfect for a winter wedding.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 14, 2014
Nice Dress!
I wore the size 0 version of this dress to a Christmas party in NJ. I am 5'8" and the length was perfect, as was the weight of the fabric for the colder weather. I found it to be classy and flattering. The hidden pockets were a bonus!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 143lbs
December 14, 2014
Easy breezy, classy classic LBD!
I chose this dress to wear to my boyfriend's office holiday party where I wouldn't know anyone and I felt classy and confident! The 6 hugged my body without feeling too tight while the 8 flared out a big in the skirt) I ordered sizes 6 and 8 both fit nicely. I ended up going with the more formfitting 6 because I liked the way the lacy fell on the neckline (this differed slightly between dresses). The dress fit comfortably and I was able to go bra less. If you wanted to wear a bra I would suggest sizing up and definitely strapless. My one complaint would be that the sleeves are a bit constricting. I couldn't raise my arms much higher than my chest but for this event it worked out fine. I would go with a different dress if you plan to get wild on the dance floor!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2014
This dress was comfortable to dance all night in!
I wore this dress to my boyfriends office Christmas party. The lace was classy and elegant. I received compliments all night! I usually wear a size 8 and ordered both the 6 & 8. I fit into the 6 but couldn't lift my arms up all the way. The 8 was perfect and I love the pockets! Definitely a dress I would love to have in my closet!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2014
Perfect staple cocktail dress!
Great condition elegant. Perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 9, 2014
Family wedding
I received so many compliments on this dress. I ordered the 8 and 10. I was ready to walk out the door in the 8 but changed at the last minute. It was rather tight in the sleeves and I knew it would bother me all night. Great dress and would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2014
Wore this to a work holiday party and it was perfect!
Fit like a glove, usually a size 6 but had to size up on this one. Perfect length and sleeves were a lifesaver. Didn't need a jacket or light coat at all. V shaped back added a little bit of sexiness to the dress. Would definitely wear again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2014
The dress was perfect for a winter wedding! Not too hot - just warm enough. Got several compliments!
The dress fit snug as a zero so I had to go with the 2. It was comfortable and I wore nude stockings with black shoes. I was disappointed that there were a few tears in the sleeves but they were not particularly noticeable (only to me).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
November 30, 2014
Such a beautiful dress! Photographs really well.
This dress fit pretty true so size, however it was a little tight underneath the arms. The black lace overlay was gorgeous and I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone wanting to make a statement!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
November 26, 2014
Classic Attire
This dress needs some pretty accessories if being worn to a formal affair but overall it's a classic, pretty dress. The one complaint I had is this is the first time I rented a dress from RTR that looked "used". Most dresses seem brand new but this one you could tell had been worn many times. I think since the lace overlay is so delicate that even if it had not been worn more than a couple times, it's very easily damaged.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
November 24, 2014
It was a beautiful dress and the pockets made my life so much easier!
The fit was great. I have larger biceps so the sleeves were on the tight side but not constricting. I got so many compliments on this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 24, 2014
LACE!! LACE!! Sexy LACE!!
I rented this lacey number for my daughters high school homecoming presentation ..so proud she made court! All of the moms chose to wear black dresses. I wanted something a little different, so I went with this dress. When I received the dress it was sooooo gorgeous!!!! I instantly fell in love especially with the lace. I chose to wear the 8 over the 6 because I am large up top & the 6 flattened my chest so much it looked like I got hit with a frying pan in the chest..lol. The 8 was tight up top but bearable. It fit great in the waist with a little more room to move in the hips, but all in all great dress. I received so many compliments and the dress is definitely a must rent! I also received a goody bag of great products with my rental..thank you RTR you're the best!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
November 21, 2014
Great dress. Tons of compliments!
I've always been more pear shaped (smaller on top) and a 2 fit well. If you are large busted may want to size up. Tons of compliments on this dress. Felt amazing! Pockets a real plus.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 20, 2014
Loved this dress! I wanted to keep it!
I was looking for something appropriate but still fun/flattering to wear to an office holiday party at a museum - this was perfect! I felt very classy and especially loved the back. I usually wear a 4, sometimes a 6 - I ordered both and ended up wearing the 6 since the 4 was a little tight on my arms. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
November 20, 2014
Classy yet Sexy
I was worried about this dress being too small. My regular dress size is a 10 but I always end up in a 12 if it's an RTR dress. I'm VERY tall but the length was fine. Had to be a bit careful when getting up or sitting down, but no big deal. I rented this for my boyfriend's birthday dinner. I wouldn't recommend it for a wedding where you plan on doing a lot of dancing. The sleeves were tight, but nothing I couldn't deal with. The waist was a little big because it was the 12 (but I needed the 12 for length & sleeve tightness) so I added a skinny nude belt. It looked AWESOME. The lace is very sexy in a classy way. I wore my hair up so you could see the "V" neckline in the back. Added black pumps & my boyfriend was speechless, said I was the best part of the birthday :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
November 18, 2014
Getting the dress 10 mins before the deadline
So cute! So many compliments! it photographs pretty well but I think a belt is needed to bring some definition to the waist. especially if you have a more athletic figure ! Arms were a little snug but the size 4 fit... (I'm 5'4 I normally wear a small or a medium depending, for help with sizing go to the milly website)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 140lbs
November 16, 2014
Very comfortable
Wore it as a guest to an engagement party, very fun classic dress. A little tight in the arms
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2014
For me, not quite what it seemed to be.
First, this dress runs pretty small, in my opinion. I usually wear a 2/4 and I could barely fit my arms in the 4. Also, the dress was shorter than I thought it would be. I rented it for an office function and ended up not being able to wear it because I did not think the length was appropriate. I think this dress would look best on a petite or small woman (my opinion), but I was not impressed with this dress. I love RTR and use it frequently, just this one was a miss.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 9, 2014
Classic dress for a fall/winter wedding!
True to size, easy to move in!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 6, 2014
This was such an Amazing dress!!! Got SO many compliments on it!!
This was such a great dress. I wore it for a dinner event. The only complaint was it was a little tight under the arms at first but loosened up after wearing. But I would highly recommend it! Wish I could of kept it!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×