Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
531 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(312)
Small
(113)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
January 1, 2014
I got engaged in this dress, very pretty on!
A little tight in the sleeves and bust but overall a great fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 1, 2014
Awesome dress!
I wore this dress to a wedding. It fit great and I would highly recommend it. There was a small hole in the lace one of the sleeves which was somewhat disappointing but overall a great experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
January 2, 2014
RTR is the best! Delivery was on time, dresses were in pristine condition and ready to wear!
I wore this dress for a wedding, but for the ceremony/church part. It was perfect for the occasion. The fit was true to size. The dress is already so beautiful that all I wore for accessories were a pair of silver diamond studs and my rings. It also was quite comfortable to sit in and move around in. It had room around the waist to move around and it did not feel tight at all, however when you raise your arms above your shoulders, it gets kind of tight and the button in the back does not stay buttoned. It's a snap button so it easily snaps apart. But the zipper held up! :) Other than that, the dress was amazing and I wish I could have kept it forever! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 7, 2014
I wore this to a New Year's party and it was very comfortable and flattering!
Overall, perfect fit for me. Sometimes dresses hug too tight in my hips and not enough in my waist, but this one worked on fine. The arms were a tad tight, but nothing uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 7, 2014
I loved the lace!
Pros - beautiful lace Cons - tight against the chest/shoulders and a little loose around the midsection (ordered size 8, chest 34DD)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
January 16, 2014
Beautiful lace, beautiful dress!
This dress was gorgeous. I ordered a 2 and a 4. I wore the 2. The 4 was a little large across the stomach. The sleeves on the 2 were a little snug, but it had a better overall fit. The dress was in great condition and the lace was beautiful. I received compliments all night! I really would like to own this dress! RTR service was fantastic and arrived on time. I'll definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 22, 2014
Perfect LBD!
Great dress! I fit into the 4 (my normal size) but thought it was a bit short on me for the occasion so I opted for the 6. It is not obvious in the image but there are front pockets too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 22, 2014
Loved it!
Loved this dress for a winter wedding. Wish I owned it! Fit great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 24, 2014
Beautiful dress with delicate details
This dress was beautiful! It does run small in the arms but they do stretch out. I rented a size 4 and a backup size 6 and ended up wearing the size 6. The 4 fit snug and would have been just fine but I knew I would be a eating and didn't want to be uncomfortable the entire night. The 6 didn't feel much bigger than the 4 and still looked flattering. The dress fits well in the hips (I am more hips than I am chest) and is very flattering! The only thing wrong with this dress was the tightness in the sleeves, other than that it was a perfect dress and very beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
January 25, 2014
was not good enough, did not wear it. waistline to high, narrow sleeves, uncomfortable,tight
I am small, but both 2, 4 sleeves were to narrow, could not wear it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 31, 2014
Loved the dress!
Everything was great and the process was super easy. The only con I would say that in some pictures the yellow underneath the dress showed up white for some reason, which I wouldn't have picked for a wedding but its not so its okay :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 5, 2014
Great for a formal winter wedding! Loved it!
Loved this dress!! It was perfect for a winter formal wedding. I wear a size 2 in Milly and the 2 fit perfectly. It is fitted in the top and looser around the hips and booty area. I definitely would recommend this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 7, 2014
Loved it!
FIt perfectly.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 17, 2014
Perfect!
I wore this dress for a roaring 20s party and it worked beautifully. Fit well but I ended up having to wear the 12 because of the bust. This is the first time I've used rent the runway but the entire process was great - I will be using it again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 19, 2014
Classy but still flirty
I wore this dress for Valentines day and it was perfect. It was true to size and I thought it was the perfect length. Such a classy dress - felt like a million bucks all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 27, 2014
Elegant and classy
I loved this dress. It fit TTS and the lace was so delicate and pretty. Very well made; the back has an extra panel and hidden snaps to ensure a perfect fit. Loved this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 27, 2014
Lovely dress.
Beautiful design with luxurious lining, sexy lace, and fitted waist- would have been a hit but the shoulders and ribs were too snug to zip, and I'm nearly flat-chested. The skirt was more forgiving.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
March 6, 2014
Did not work for me
This dress was not very flattering on me. Since it does has have pockets and I do have hips, this dress made my lower half look like a tent. On the right body style this would have been a wonderful dress however. As others have mentioned the arms are very tight. I would not recommend this for girls with hips.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
March 6, 2014
..
I liked the style of the dress and ended up wearing the size 6. Being 6' tall, I wish it was slightly longer since I was attending a work party. I had to be careful when leaving over. I would highly recommend a belt since it was loose around my waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
March 7, 2014
Loved the lace, but not flattering for the waist
The color and detail of this dress was beautiful, but because I'm wider in the hips it didn't fit me right.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2014
A beautiful October Winery Wedding. This dress was a perfect match.
It was true to size and fit -- however, you could clearly tell this was a dress that was rented often. I would have worn the Size 4 if it did not have visible tears in the lace. There were also tears in the size 6 that I wore but they were not as visible as the other dress. I enjoyed the easy process but would steer clear of dresses that have been "rented" multiple times from now on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
March 15, 2014
Pretty in the other pictures...but not flattering on me!
I gained weight a year ago from an accident and have not yet lost it all; I definitely have problem areas in my waist, tummy, hips area. The rest of me is somewhat slender, except for my bust which is a smaller size d cup. The dress was very cute, but did not fit well on me at all. Tight in the bust and hips, and it didn't really hit the spots it should ( I am very tall). I'm sure this would be great on others, but I did not wear it because I looked horrible in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 16, 2014
With everything else to do for this party, finding the perfect dress was a breeze!
I rented this dress for my Aunt and Uncle's 50th Anniversary Party, which I helped plan and carry out. I'm a size 6, and I originally ordered the 6 and the 4 but I changed my mind, thought it best to size up to the 8 and I'm glad I did. The 6 fit perfectly, but the lining hung down under the lace in the front when I walked, so I opted to wear the 8, even though it was a little baggy around the middle. I added a patten leather black belt and my granny's pearls to complete the look. Like most other reviewers have said, the arms are a little snug at first but they stretched out as the night went on. I can certainly tell that it was rented a lot as the sleeve at the elbow bend was actually ripped. I did get tons of compliments and felt like a million bucks without being overdressed for the occasion! Thanks again RTR for a great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 16, 2014
Smokin' yet classy
The title are the exact words one of my best friends used to describe this dress, and it was exactly the look I was going for. I'm also a woman that values comfort. I want to feel as much as possible like I am in jeans and a t-shirt. This dress was sooooooooooo comfortable! I am usually a size 2 but, as many said, the arms were tight and my muscular arms felt somewhat tight in the 2. The 2 was also a bit snug in the waist due to my bust (34 C), but fit perfectly around my hips. In all honesty, the 2 looked better on me but the 4 was more comfortable with room, so I wore it. I know lots of people liked the pockets, but I wished they weren't there. They added a slight amount of bulkiness I didn't desire. That being said, one of the reasons I chose this dress is because it had an a-line flare that I thought would look a little more elegant for woman like me in her early thirties. It also made the dress more comfortable with no riding up issues. And be sure to check out the dress from behind. There is a very visible zipper with gold teeth. That may make a difference in your decision. It wasn't bad but I think it would have been better without. All those minimal issues aside, this dress was still ridiculously awesome! I got sooooooooo many compliments in the dress, and I noticed people looking at me which felt a little strange since I'm not the kind of girl that attracts looks, but it was cool! I wore the dress to a traveling Broadway show at the Detroit Opera House and found I fit in well with about half of the crowd. Though I was worried about being overdressed, it turns out people in Detroit love to dress up, too, unlike my hometown of Austin, TX, where the dress may have been a little over the top at a musical. Would I wear this dress again? Absolutely. Loved the look, the comfort, and the detail (you can see in the second photo).
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 19, 2014
Elegant, classy, and fun! Loved it.
I'm used to shorter, more form fitting dresses, so I was a little bit hesitant when I received this dress for my med school "prom" and charity gala the next night. I was SO wrong though! The dress is very detailed, delicate, and I received many many compliments throughout both nights. All I had to do was put up my hair to show off the neckline and throw on some good red lipstick and I was set! CONS: - the dress is definitely tight at the shoulders/upper arms, I found it difficult to raise my arms all the way up - I tried this dress on with a regular sized bra and didn't like the way the lace looked, so opted with a bandeau instead. This dress may not be good for those with full sized or larger busts. - the dress had pockets, which I didn't really like, but that's just personal preference, since I never trust anything I put in them (phone, lipstick, money) to actually stay there. Something about the angling about the slits that makes it seem like stuff might fall out. - Pocket dress = bubble around the hips, which I didn't really like either. I wish it was a bit more fitted at the middle, but I'm just nitpicking. PRO's: - lace detail is amazing and so classy. - length is just right for a classy affair or something a bit more formal than your normal party. - neckline/backline is super cute and unique Can't wait to rent my next dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 26, 2014
Got so many compliments! Such a gorgeous dress!
This dress was perfect for my parents' weekend gala! It was comfortable and had a really great fit, hiding problems area really well. I recommend this dress for any formal affair. Definitely renting it again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 29
March 27, 2014
Stunning and Classy
The dress for very well on my long legs. I wore to a December wedding with tights and I got compliments all night. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 28, 2014
Didn't wear it
Beautiful dress but the sleeves were so tight I couldn't get it all the on . It might have fit but then I couldn't move my arm. The rest of the dress fit great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
March 28, 2014
RTR fixed a bad situation. I will definitely rent from them again.
Runs very small and short on a tall girl.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 30, 2014
It arrived on time and was easy to return with so many compliments in between!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments from the minute I walked into the door. The fit was great, just a little snug in the shoulder area (but I have relatively broad shoulders). The length was perfect for long legs! I wore nude heels and the ivory under the dress just popped! The lace was delicate and in pretty good shape for a rental. I would recommend this dress and RTR to everyone! The entire experience was incredible!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
March 31, 2014
Lacking in quality
I really liked this dress but I was a little disappointed with the quality of the fabric. You could tell that it had been worn more then a few times because it was fraying a bit. The fit was great and I would have worn it but decided to dress more casually for the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
April 1, 2014
Worked great for Friday concert and Sunday reception.
Dress worked well for a Friday night event with heels and then a Sunday reception with pumps and a jacket. The lace with the cream/nude under slip looked great. Agreeing with other reviews, the sleeves might be tight on some ladies. The skirt is not a pencil skirt but it is pretty straight - I usually wear a 4 top but 6 bottom. This skirt worked on the bottom but it was snug. The under slip had a tendency to peak out from the black lace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129lbs
April 3, 2014
Classy
Wore this to a work function, looked very classy and sexy at the same time because it fit very well. It has a nice amount of stretch to fit nicely without being too form fitting and tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 6, 2014
I loved the dress! So much prettier in person. I received many compliments and my husband loved it!
I wore this for a gala. I would rent this dress again! Loved it!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 8, 2014
Beautiful dress. Will definitely rent this one again!
The skirt is very flattering for those with a pear shape.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 9, 2014
Beautiful classy dress
The lace was very beautiful but I didn't think the fit was super flattering for my body type. There was extra material in the hip area where I don't need it. The top fit great but I am smaller up top so if you have broad shoulders or muscular arms it might be too tight. I wish I had gotten a 4 to try but I suspect it would have been too small in the bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2014
love this dress!! wish I could own it. Perfect for a wedding and received a ton of compliments!!
this dress is gorgeous, even better in person! very elegant and classy. It was a little tight in the arm area but did stretch as the day went on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
April 13, 2014
Beautiful through the body, tight in the arms.
If you have athletic arms this dress is a tough one to pull off. The laces is beautiful brut has little give. The back is a great touch. I loved this dress but I was uncomfortable in the arms.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
April 16, 2014
I was so happy when I received the dress! I rented for a photo shoot and it was a hit!
It was the perfect LBD
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 17, 2014
The back-up dress ended up being the perfect dress for first formal affair with new beau
This was my first RTR experience and definitely will be a long term customer now. I had intended to wear a different dress and ordered this one as my back-up. RTR sent me the original dress I ordered in sleeveless rather than with sleeves, which was disappointing, but I'm so glad that I had this one to wear. It went perfectly with the Tie Up Lee Angel necklace, which with the opening in the back of this dress, and the ribbon the necklace, all went together perfectly. I rented this for a March 1 wedding so it was nice to have some sleeves on the dress even if they didn't provide for much warmth! I paired mine with black nylons and black stilettos since here in Michigan, it was still very much winter. I generally fall between a size 10 and a size 12. I could have worn the size 10 but it was a little snug. Luckily, the 12 fit perfectly and left some breathing room. LOVED the pockets too. I received many compliments and proudly told everyone about my RTR experience - made for nice bathroom chatter as many of them spoke about similar experiences. Sending everything back in the prepaid envelopes on Monday was a piece of cake too. Can't wait to try out my next rental slated to be sitting on my doorstep tonight :)
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×