Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
531 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(312)
Small
(113)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
February 17, 2013
I felt like Kate Middleton all night long!
RTR was out of my size (10) for the weekend I needed so I got brave and went one size smaller. SO glad I did! This dress fits true to size on top but the pleated waist makes the bottom more forgiving for a girl with curves, exactly what I needed! I felt like Kate Middleton all night long in this awesome lace dress and got so many compliments on it. My husband kept saying "you should rent the runway all the time!" If I hadn't been in an out of town hotel I might have added a belt but I forgot to bring one and I still absolutely loved the look. This dress is fabulous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2013
This was my first time using RTR. It was a wonderful experience. Recommend to all my friends!!!!!!
I typically wear a size 8 - but they did not have an 8 so i ordered a 6. It fit a little snug when I put it on, but the lace relaxed throughout the night and was actually pretty comfortable. I would definitely recommend this dress/may even rent it again. Love it - perfect rehearsal dinner dress!!! THANK YOU RTR!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 14, 2013
One Great Dress!
Fits true to size and looks amazing. Loved the cut and fit on this dress. Received lots of compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 18, 2013
Ran small.
Didn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 26, 2013
Perfection in a dress!
This dress was AH-MAZ-ING! It fit like a custom. I wore it for our quarterly banquet for business and it could not have looked more perfect. There are pockets but the do not flare as some pockets do. The arms were cut slim but allowed for movement. The raw lace edge was beautiful. The dress was a jaw dropper - I had so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
March 1, 2013
Gorgeous dress but not flattering on me.
I ended up returning this dress. It is more of a sheath than an a-line. Something to keep in mind, if like me, you're pear shaped and prefer a looser fit through the hips. The lace on one of the sleeves was also slightly torn. Disappointed as I was very excited about the wearing the dress to an engagement party, but willing to give RTR another chance (this was my 1st RTR rental).
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 1, 2013
Loved wearing a style of dress that was a little different from what I normally wear.
I loved this dress for the wedding that we went to in the middle of February. It was perfect and I didn't need a sweater since we were inside all night. I even got complimented by friends who couldn't believe that I had rented it. Only downside for a wedding... can't raise your arms for dancing up a storm. I knew that going in, but still kind of felt like a robot for some of the night. Would definitely recommend and would get again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 3, 2013
The look on my boyfriend's face when he picked me up for our date made me feel like a million bucks!
Beautiful dress, wore for Valentines Day, very classy & elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2013
Perfect NYE
I wanted to be classy with a little bit of sass. This dress was perfect for that with the long sleeves and lace. Would definitely rent again for another occasion!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 6, 2013
Everybody LOVED the dress! I felt AMAZING!
I loved that this had POCKETS! They were to high to comfortably put my hand in, but it was great for holding my ID. I was able to wear a regular black bra which you couldn't see under the black lace. In my opinion, the dress DEF needed a belt paired with it. I didn't have one since I was out of town, so I bought a spool of black ribbon and tied in the back. It was FABULOUS!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 9, 2013
Got tons of compliments!
Loved this dress! Wore it to my daughter's preschool evening fundraiser, and it was absolutely perfect for the occasion -- classy yet stylish. The lace is beautiful, and the cut of the back is a great surprise. Pockets are useful for your license, credit card and some cash. (I wouldn't put anything heavy like a smartphone or a set of keys in them as this could cause the dress to pull.) In terms of fit, the dress is comfortable since the hip area is loose. I'm 5' 2", and the length hit me about 1/2 an inch above my knee. The only con for me was that I felt the torso length was short. The waist of the dress hit me above my natural waist. It wasn't noticeable because the lace distracted from it, though. I wore black tights, simple black heels and simple jewelry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 15, 2013
Great dress! So many compliments!
I would say this dress is true to size, although it was snug in the shoulders. It is very striking in person and is great for a cocktail event or wedding. The length was perfect for those of us in our 30s!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 19, 2013
Perfect for an afternoon-to-evening winter wedding in England!
Fit perfectly and was extremely comfortable, which was important since I wore it all day. I loved the half-sleeves for a March wedding. The high neck in the front and open v in the back made it sophisticated and sexy all at once. The lace detailing was beautiful. Fit well in the waist and bust (not tight but not loose either) and the length was perfect. I am so pleased I chose this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2013
Wonderfully beautiful dress!
This dress was very comfortable, but ran a bit smaller than my normal size due to the fact that the fabric doesn't stretch and I needed more room in the bust. Overall, I got a lot of compliments and it was perfect for the dinner party I attended. Very flattering also - I wouldn't hesitate to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 25, 2013
Received compliments all night.
LOVED this dress - felt glamorous and received compliments all night. I did have to wear a larger size because of the lace that is attached to the arms and chest area. Normally dresses are too big on me up top because I'm pear shaped, but this dress was the opposite. However, I did truly love this dress and I felt gorgeous in it. I would definitely recommend it to anybody - just order a size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
March 25, 2013
I felt beautiful in this dress. I got compliments all night.
I wore a strapless bra with this dress. It was perfect with the way the way the neckline was in back no one could tell. I was nervous about not being able to move my arms, I was able to dance on the dance floor and throw my hands in the air with no problem! The dress was super easy to zip up, I was actually able to zip myself in it. I wore it with nude tights (i had thought about it with black ones but it just looked better to me with nude). The dress was perfect with a pair of black heels. I got compliments throughout the night. I loved with fit and the way this dress made me feel! One of my favorite dresses ever!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
March 26, 2013
I loved this lace dress.
I received a dozen complements and it fit and felt great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 30, 2013
Very classy, hubs loved it and I got tons of compliments!
I'm normally between a 6 and an 8 and really couldn't tell much difference between the two sizes in this dress. I wore the 6, and while it was a touch tight through the shoulders (I have broad shoulders) the lace loosened up throughout the evening. I didn't love the dress on as much as I did from the pictures, but as soon as hubs saw me in it he said I looked like a celebrity and everyone else raved about to also, so I'm still happy I rented it. I wore it with gold earrings/clutch and black shoes, but a pair of nude shoes looked cute also. (Doesn't need much with it in my opinion) I also wore a standard bra in nude and you couldn't see it under the lace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 3, 2013
GORGEOUS!!
This dress was amazing! Everyone commented on how beautiful it was! It fit perfectly and the lace is so stunning - I wanted to keep it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 5, 2013
The entire process was so easy! I can't say enough good things about my experience with RTR!
The dress fit perfectly. It hugged me in all the right places and I received so many compliments all night! I order both an 8 and a 10, but the 8 fit so great that I didn't even try the 10 on. This dress was classy and beautiful and I wish I could wear it again!
WinnieAugust 15, 2013
I'm thinking of renting this dress. Are measurements are almost identical except you are an inch taller than me and it looks great on you. Any suggestions on bras? Did you wear a standard bra or strapless? just wondering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
April 10, 2013
Pretty, classy dress for a winter wedding
This dress is adorable and flattering, with a bit more coverage (lace sleeves, medium length) which is great if it is wintertime or if you want to hide any trouble areas. The black lace is sexy but classy and actually pretty comfortable. Would be tough to wear with a necklace (bc of snagging) but otherwise very versatile and could be dressed up or down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 19, 2013
So, so pretty
This looked amazing. I haven't felt this pretty in a dress in ages. The fabric is a little stiff, so I don't think it would be ideal for dancing, but this dress is sick. It is perfect for a date.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2013
The process couldn't be easier and the dresses couldn't have been more perfect for the event!
My shoulders are a littler bigger than most (ex-gymnast and swimmer), so the dress was a little tight in my shoulder area at first, but the lace began to stretch out/breathe a little and was perfect. I received several compliments at the wedding, at the after-party, and from friends and family on Facebook/Instagram after our photos were posted!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
May 11, 2013
Felt like Kate Middleton
I'm a 4/6 in dresses. The 4 fit perfect except for the sleeves, which run incredibly small (and I had read about that in other reviews). The 6 still fit great and was perfect in the arms, so I decided to go with that. I felt absolutely stunning in this and was even told I looked like Kate Middleton - what a compliment!! RTR never fails to make you feel like a million bucks. I would definitely rent this dress again - it's the perfect blend of sexy and sophisticated.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 12, 2013
Fit small
I rented this dress and a backup, but I didn't end up wearing it. I'm a 4 to a 6 in most clothes - rented a 6 and could not zip it up. My rib cage is too wide - I would have needed an 8. Pretty dress. I did not have the tight sleeve issue others wrote about. Loved the pockets.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 14, 2013
Beautiful dress - would rent it again!
Loved this dress - and got tons of compliments. I wore a regular black bra (not strapless) underneath and it was fine - I don't think a strapless bra is necessary with this dress (maybe if it's a daytime function and you're picky about anyone possibly noticing a strap).
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 60
Body type: Petite
May 15, 2013
Surprised mom with this dress and she loved it! :)
Luckily I know her body type pretty well...picked this dress out for her, and it fit her like a glove! She absolutely loved it. She'd never heard of RTR before, and now I think she's going to use it all the time. She didn't want to send it back! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2013
Great dress - classy and beautiful
I wore this to a formal work event. A number of the women were wearing lace dresses, but this one really stood out. I received a ton of compliments and felt great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
June 9, 2013
Such a pretty, conservative, vintage-looking dress!
This dress is beautiful, flattering, and fit very well. The deep V in the back is so pretty, but the zipper is very large and conspicuous! In fact, it was a little uncomfortable pressing into my back while driving. Plan to wear a strapless bra with this dress! Since my dress arrived a day late, I didn't have it the night before at my home and instead it was brought to my event. I couldn't properly plan my outfit and ended up wearing a nude bra which showed through the lace but was only visible if you were really looking for it. Though the dress does have sleeves, the sleeves are not lined so it would still work and be cool in the summer!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
June 11, 2013
I thought dress runs a little small through the arms, but beautiful!
I loved the dress but again, thought it was a little small in the arms and shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2013
OMG LOVED this dress! It fit like a glove...a really sexy one :).
I ordered a six and four. I'm a busty curvy six in most sizes and while the four fit, the six was what I wore because I have a large bust (34g). Very flattering, very elegant. I would not only rent it again....I'd buy it in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
June 23, 2013
Sexy, sophisticated & class all at the same time!
I LOOOOOVED this dress!!!! I wore this to a residents' graduation dinner and I was the photographer. It was perfect for the occasion and comfortable! I loved the details and the fit. I didn't want to take the dress off! I wore it around the house for an extra 2 hours when I got home. I have never felt so confident and beautiful in a dress before! I received many compliments from everyone! Some of the physicians I know (and work with) walked right by me because they didn't recognize me looking so dressed up! I would love to rent this dress again, but maybe will try the teal colored one next time. Definitely rent this dress! It compliments well. There was a hole in the lace on the arm and I called RTR and they took care of things. I am between a 6 and 8, read that this dress runs large or true to size, so I went with the 8 and it fit perfectly. ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 24, 2013
The lace was beautiful!! So many compliments at the wedding!
I needed to size up because the dress was a bit tight through the chest.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
June 25, 2013
I enjoyed the easy of picking out the dress and the many selections
As stated by others who have worn the dress the arms are tight, but get lose as you wear it. I did have a whole in the lace but no one noticed by me (I hope)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
July 2, 2013
A bit too tight, but a beautiful dress.
The dress is beautiful and although I liked it, I just wasn't comfortable in it - either size - so I returned it. I will try again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 11, 2013
Awesome dress, loads of compliments
I wore this to a wedding with my 5 month post baby bod. I still have a bit of a belly, but this dress didn't show that at all. Super flattering, not too short and the sleeves were snug but nothing that would interefere with amazing dance skills.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2013
This dress was a perfect fit! It was classy and sleek, and so comfortable, even for a summer wedding
This was my second time using RTR. The best part was the customer service. I received the dress two days before the event, but unfortunately, both sizes were just a bit too big. I immediately e-mailed RTR to see if it was possible to get a size down in time for the event. I received a response right away, even though it was after hours, and they were more than willing to make sure I would get the size I needed. Because the wedding I was attending was out of town, the dress wasn't going to arrive to my house in time. Instead, RTR shipped it straight to the hotel where I was staying, and it arrived by 9 AM the day of the wedding! The dress fit perfectly, and the whole rental process went smoothly. The stylist I corresponded with, Janna, was beyond helpful. Based on the fantastic customer service I received, I will DEFINITELY be using RTR again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 26, 2013
Didn't get to wear it. Customer Service was great regarding the refund!
Didn't get to wear it. Customer Service was great regarding the refund!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 1, 2013
Super customer service
Rented for a formal dinner during a girl's weekend. Cute dress. Lace is unbelievable. Really pretty neckline. If you are hippy like me it's not the most flattering cut because the waist is pretty high, but the dress is so pretty it doesn't even matter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2013
So many praises with this dress, would love to buy it if it ever went on sale!
Absolutely loved this dress, I would agree with the other reviewers that the arms run a little small on this dress, but overall it worked out perfect.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×