Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
543 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(318)
Small
(114)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 29, 2015
Christmas hit!

This was perfect for Christmas! As others have noted, it does run a bit small in the arms but otherwise fits true to size. I received many compliments and definitely wanted to keep it forever! :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 15, 2016
Pretty From A Distance

This dress is lovely, but renters beware! The lace is extremely delicate, do not be surprised if the dress looks tattered or has rips. I usually wear a size 4, I rented the 4 and 6. The four was in pretty good shape but wouldn't even pull up over my arms, the 6 fit perfect but was in poor shape. I have a larger bust, and did not have time to find a strapless bra that would work with the low back, bra less was not the best look for me, and had a uniboob. Overall, I did enjoy wearing the dress to the company cocktail party, it is a gorgeous dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
February 1, 2016
Easy ordering, dresses arrived ahead of schedule and were more beautiful in person!

Fit like a glove! I am a little busty and needed the bigger size (8 instead of the 6). The dress was more for a short torso - I am longer in the middle - but it was perfect for my occasion. I wore it to an awards banquet being held my local Chamber of Commerce to honor members who have been nominated. I won for my category and felt like a rockstar in this dress going up to the stage! Nothing bad to say; this was a great convenience and the product ended up being extremely beautiful. The lace detail is very feminine and the material underneath is a perfect shade of gold. The only con to mention, it was a tad shorter than I expected but it still looked amazing and I received many compliments on it! Nobody knew it was a rented dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2016
Lovely Lace

I wore this dress to an evening wedding in South Florida and received so many compliments on it! I rented a 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 4. The arms were a little tight, but I didn't feel uncomfortable and it didn't prevent us from dancing the night away. My favorite part of the dress that I didn't realize until the night was almost over....it has pockets! Perfect for your phone and lipstick. I would definitely recommend this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2016
I wanted to standout as a "star" (this was a premier for an indie movie I did). I feel like I did!

I have a larger rib cage and broader shoulders so it was a tight fit but it worked. I would say that this is a true "New York" 4 and I'm a good "North Carolina" 4! :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2016
Loved it

Cons: arms are fitting, length of dress is a little long for short people. Pros: comfortable dress in the mid section. Cute dress

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2017
Stunning Dress

This was my first RTR experience and I'm absolutely in love. The dress was stunning and I received tons of compliments throughout the night. I'm usually between a 2-4 in size and had to wear the 4. The 2 fit but the sleeves were tight. The 4 fit comfortably throughout the entire night.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 12, 2017
Sexy and classy

I felt like a million bucks in this lace number. LOVED the pockets. The cut was gorgeous in the back, and the belly was forgiving since it wasn't skin tight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2017
Beautiful and elegant dress

The dress is beautiful! I ultimately wore my second pick, but I would rent this again. I am 5'4" 125 lbs and normally wear a size 2. The size 4 in this dress fit perfectly. The arms were very tight to move in, and there were a few holes in the lace of the dress, so it did not work out for my event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 6, 2017
Classy dress, but unfortunately didn't fit me

This dress looked very pretty and I was looking forward to wearing it to a formal wedding, but it didn't fit when I tried it on. I had read several reviews and some said it ran big and others it ran small. I guess mine ran small. On top of that, I have broad shoulders so when I zipped it up I couldn't move my arms because of how it was sewn. I contacted RTR to send me a backup dress I had rented before (which arrived before noon the next day) and I wore instead. If you're a very petite and tall person this dress would be perfect. If you're athletic like me chances are it won't fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 2, 2017
Perfection!

This dress is amazing! Fits perfectly! Comfortable! Stylish and classy!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 3, 2017
Classy, flattering dress

Overall I was happy! Classy, flattering, beautiful neckline. Like others have indicated, the arms are a bit snug. I'd suggest ordering up. The chest was a bit tight as well (I'm a 34B). Beautiful dress, probably would wear this to a warm weather event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 14, 2017
Love this dress!

This was my second time renting a version of this dress- first time with this color. I love it so much and got (again!) a ton of compliments. It fits very true to size, the sleeves are the tightest part since they are lace and do not give. I have an athletic upper body and it worked fine for me in my normal size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
November 15, 2017
Perfect for a fall wedding!

The lace was beautiful, got so many compliments all night. Would 100% rent again, but would probably try 1 size up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32B
December 20, 2017

This for RTR staff only, the attached picture is how I recieved this dress. I had to wear this one because the size 4 sleeves were too tight. Unfortunately the tear was in the front so it was very noticeable even with my efforts to bunch up the sleeve to hide it. Other than this it was a great dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 29, 2016
Nice for a fall wedding

the sleeves were tight, but the bust was large on me. Loved the length though!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 26, 2016
GREAT dress - would absolutely rent it again!

Wore this to a family wedding. I got SO many compliments on it - even from strangers! I'll admit I'm def. a busty, curvy solid size 12 - however I was able to wear the backup size 10 which felt great. I danced all night - the dress stretched & was very comfortable, best of all it has POCKETS! The under-sheath is not as apparent in person as it seems in pictures. It *is* a little tight in the arms when you first put it on, but I found that to lessen over the course of the night. The neckline on one size was a little more frayed than the other (normal wear & tear), but not enough to deter me from wearing the dress. I would buy this dress if I could! I've also included a picture with my cousin (both of us post-baby) who also wore a RTR dress (Badgley Mischka), she also opted for the accessories as well.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
Totally elegant and timeless piece, a total hit on New Year's Eve!

Had a minor setback when RTR didn't have my actual size, but they sent my backup which was one size smaller than I usually wear and it ended up working out just fine! I needed an extra set of hands to get it zipped up over my boobs, but I am top heavy and the fabric relaxed a bit throughout the night. I ASBOLUTELY recommend sizing down, especially if you don't have a big chest. The lace was thick and felt durable enough that I didn't have to worry all night about it snagging or tearing. Such a classic style, I can't say enough good things about this dress!!

MegJanuary 2, 2013
Love the dress with the belt. What did you use, a ribbon?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
February 17, 2013
I felt like Kate Middleton all night long!

RTR was out of my size (10) for the weekend I needed so I got brave and went one size smaller. SO glad I did! This dress fits true to size on top but the pleated waist makes the bottom more forgiving for a girl with curves, exactly what I needed! I felt like Kate Middleton all night long in this awesome lace dress and got so many compliments on it. My husband kept saying "you should rent the runway all the time!" If I hadn't been in an out of town hotel I might have added a belt but I forgot to bring one and I still absolutely loved the look. This dress is fabulous!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2013
This was my first time using RTR. It was a wonderful experience. Recommend to all my friends!!!!!!

I typically wear a size 8 - but they did not have an 8 so i ordered a 6. It fit a little snug when I put it on, but the lace relaxed throughout the night and was actually pretty comfortable. I would definitely recommend this dress/may even rent it again. Love it - perfect rehearsal dinner dress!!! THANK YOU RTR!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 20, 2013
Beautiful In Theory

I ordered this dress as a backup option for a formal celebration. Unfortunately, the first option did not suit me; and neither did this one. The dress is quite pretty however, it just did fit very well. It fit very loose in some areas and wsa tight in others. This may work well for someone that has a more narrow shaped body.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 3, 2013
Lovely, classic dress. Could be worn for so many occasions!

I was stuck between the 10 and the 12. The 10 fit me on the bottom but my shoulders were too wide for the top. The 12 fit me on top but was very loose on the bottom. I ended up wearing another dress I'd rented. Overall, the dress is beautiful and has amazing detail. I didn't realize the silver zipper in the back, which I wasn't a huge fan of. I'd take note of that when you're thinking about ordering this and if it matches the style you're trying to execute.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2013
<3

Loved the dress. It was comfortable, but a bit too big (in the waist all the way around to the back of the dress), even though I was probably the only one who noticed. A size 4 probably would have fit me better. I got tons of compliments!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2013
OMG I wanted to keep this dress! It fit perfectly! I'm usually a 4 so either it's big or I lost lbs!

Some reviews said the sleeves are tight but surprisingly I didn't think they were at all. I wore this dress for my bridal shower and I got so many compliments! Perfect, perfect, perfect!!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2013
I got this for my Holiday Party - ended up not wearing it.

The fit was terrible on me... big in the top overall (including sleeves). Even if it had fit, it was very matronly - definitely not a hott showstopper.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
May 23, 2014
Classy Dress!

I decided to try this dress for a recent May wedding (I was a little unsure of how hot or cold the weather would be in NJ since it was still May). I was so happy with my decision! The length was just above the knee and the sleeves were a nice touch to not have to wear a jacket. The weather turned out to be in the low 70's (60's at night) and I was still very comfortable. Everyone said to order the backup a size one up because the sleeves are snug. They were definitely fitted but I would not say uncomfortable (not to mention they loosened up as the night went on). I wish I ordered the 4 as my backup instead because the body of the dress wasn't as fitted as I would have liked. The pockets were great but they almost made my belly look like it was bulging out a little. Other than the few cons, I received a lot of compliments and the dress was a hit! Would def recommend and the whole RTR process was convenient and smooth!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2015
Dress was okay with some flaws. Wouldn't rent this one again.

Dress did not have the most flattering fit. The lace all over the dress was very worn, not in the best shape. I wouldn't rent this dress again. This was my first experience with renttherunway.com, and I didn't have the best first impression.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2013
Classic and Timeless

So many people stopped me at the restaurant to ask where I got the dress from and who it was made by! I felt amazing all night long!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2015
This dress photographed very well and I received multiple compliments.

I ordered a 6 & 8 with 8 being my normal size and the 6 still could have fit a bit better. Both dresses a received did have little tears in them but weren't very noticeable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
October 30, 2014
Nice lace detailing.

It is a good dress for the price.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2015
Loved it. Got a lot of compliments

It was VERY comfortable, it has pockets!!! I didn't know that. Very classic and elegant

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
September 11, 2015
Nice dress

This dress is pretty and I received a lot of compliments. I was in a house party during an August wedding so it was a very nice choice for a black dress in summer! However, as others said, it runs very tight in the shoulders. I would normally wear a 4 in this shape of dress but had to size up to a 6 so I could move my arms around. I could easily pinch out an inch or 2 around my waist since I was wearing the bigger size.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 149lbs
September 28, 2015
Beautiful, classic, and just enough sexy to still be work appropriate!

Having more athletic arms and shoulders I had to go up a size because the lace does not stretch but that did not compromise the fit. I felt beautiful, received a ton of compliments, and danced the night away without a worry. Oh, and I had easy access to my lipstick because this dress has pockets!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 17, 2015
Beautiful contrasting lace dress

I wore this dress to a non-profit dinner/gala. This was my first time renting from RTR, so I was a little unsure of what would fit me, and I'm so glad I ordered a larger backup size. I guess I have a strangely proportioned rib cage for my body, which made the size 2 feel a little tight, so I went with the 4. I'm only 5'2 so the dress came to the knee on me, which I preferred to how it appears on the model. This dress is a classic and would work for a variety of occasions.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 42
January 6, 2016
Beautiful dress!!

I rented the 6 but wore the 8. Like others said, it is tight in the arms but loosens as the night goes on. The 6 would have worked but I couldn't get the zipper up of my bust...and Im not a big busted girl. I went with the 8 and was very comfortable. I would absolutely rent this dress again!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 21, 2016
Formal work event

Similar to other the posts the dress runs a little small. I wore the size 8. It was very comfortable and I had lots of compliments on the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2016
Love the lace

It was a great dress. Beautiful back and lace detail. May have been a bit much for a petite person.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2016
So disappointed I couldn't wear it.

I usually wear a size 2-4 depending on the dress and I had both of those sent to me. Unfortunately the lace on the arms just didn't have any give and I couldn't fit into the sleeves. The rest of the dress could've worked and felt great (albeit tight around the waist). A size 6 I think would've worked fine but it wasn't available at the last minute.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
May 4, 2016
I wore the dress to a wedding and everyone loved the dress!

I ordered both the 6 and 8. The size 6 fit but was a little tight in the arms. I wore the 8 and was able to dance the night away at the wedding I attended. Love the dress!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
August 21, 2016
SO MANY compliments!

5'6" 140lbs. Gorgeous dress in person. Intricate and delicate lace details. Fits a bit snug, particularly in the arms but overall comfortable. Slimming on the waist. Wore this to a winter bridal shower and everyone was coming up to me asking me where I got it. This was my first RTR and I have since worn 2 other dresses and have been overall very pleased!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×