Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
515 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(308)
Small
(112)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 7, 2015
So many compliments!
I absolutely love this dress. I'm really sad I can't keep it. Like a lot of the other reviewers said, I should have sized up. I'm normally a size 8, which is what I wore, but it was definitely snug. It was fine and no one else thought it looked too tight, but a 10 would have been more comfortable. The lace detailing though is so beautiful. I love the neckline and the back. I'm 5'7", 150 pounds and a 34 DD. It hit above my knee as the pic shows and I had to wear it without a bra, but you couldn't tell. I would definitely rent this dress again! My boyfriend isn't even a huge lace fan and really loved the dress and the fit. Overall, as long as you size up, I think the fit of this dress would be uber flattering on any body type. Just love it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
December 7, 2015
Gorgeous classy dress!
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. I wanted to look classy but still wear something fun. This dress was gorgeous. It must be very fragile because the size 0 arrived with a tear in the lace sleeve, but there was no problem with the 2. The 0 was TINY and I always wear a 0, so I'd recommend upping a size for sure. The 2 fit perfectly. I was worried about the sleeves ripping but I didn't have a problem. I wore it with black tights and suede heeled booties - no necklace needed! Super cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
December 6, 2015
Beautiful dress but definitely not made for athletes!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous, however, do size up if you have athletic arms because the sleeves are very tight! I could not for the life of me lift my arms up while wearing this dress, and when I flexed my elbow (for example when I brought the fork to my mouth during dinner time) the lace bulged up on my arm, making me look like Shar-Pei! I am normally a true size 4 - sometimes sizing down, never up. I have even worn the Nha Khahn sweet talk dress, which is tight on the arms but has a little more give. Some reviewers say that the lace stretched a little throughout the day but I didn't experience this. Also, one of the sleeves had a hole, which was in an obvious place. I would rent the dress again, because it really is gorgeous, but definitely a size larger.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 3, 2015
Beautiful dress.
Fit well. One of the sleeves had some torn lace, which was not that noticeable, but not awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
December 2, 2015
Beautiful & Flattering
I usually wear a 6, but sometimes have to size up to an 8 due to my broad shoulders and rib cage. The 6 was not going to zip up in this one, and the 8 was still snug in the chest. I didn't have to wear a bra, even with my 36C chest. I received many compliments. Like other reviewers mentioned, the dress has some tears and strings in the lace from wear, but they are not noticeable to others. Would definitely rent again. The pockets were a plus!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2015
I received a lot of compliments!
I rented a size 8 and a size 10, and ended up wearing the size 10 because both dresses seemed a little small. The dress was very cute, but I wasn't really able to move my arms too much, and it was a little short so I had to be very conscious about what I was doing or if I needed to bend over. It was very form fitting up top, and loose on the bottom. The dress has pockets, but I did not use them and might have preferred it if the dress was not made that way because it "poofed" out on the sides because of the pockets. But even with everything I was picky about, the dress was really cute and I felt pretty without feeling awkward or out of place!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
November 29, 2015
This dress is very timeless. The lace is classic.
This dress fit me in a size 6, but was too small through the chest in a 6. So, I wore the 8. The 8 fit well in chest, but then was a little loose through the waist, stomach and hips. I was overall happy and received lots of compliments. I absolutely loved the back of this dress, but I did wear a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 49
November 28, 2015
The dress was perfect for a fall wedding.
The dress was true to size, however, I would have worn a size 4 if I didn't have a broad back. With the size 6, the waist had additional fabric and made it look poofy in the stomach area but I had to wear that size 6 to accomodate my back/bust. Other than that, the dress was beautiful and I received many compliments. I loved the pockets as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2015
Great rehearsal dinner dress!
Wore this for my wedding rehearsal, loved it! I ordered 4 and 6, usually wear a 4 but wore the 6. The arms were too snug on the smaller size, and I couldn't pull up the sleeves to go over my shoulders it was so tight. The 6 fit great, though, and I got tons of compliments!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 19, 2015
Very classic dress.
Fit very well. A little extra material around the hips because of the pockets in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2015
Another amazing experience!
As other reviews say the sleeves were slightly snug which made lifting my arms difficult but overall excellent dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
November 11, 2015
Pretty dress but didn't love fit.
I wore this dress for Christmas party last year. I didn't think it was as flattering on my body. I am very busty and it kind of just laid straight across making me look more boxy. The lace was a bit worn especially on the 6. I wore the size up because the dress didn't look great tight. Overall, wouldn't rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2015
Great lace -- so much better than the cheap version!
Very comfortable. The satin lining felt great. The stretch lace did not look cheap at all -- usually I stay away from lace. Lots of compliments!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 9, 2015
I loved this dress and it was a HUGE hit at the wedding I went to!
There were only 2 issues with this dress. First, my boobs and the rest of my body don't match up, and so they were a bit snug in there (but this is not the fault of the dress, as this is an issue with everything I wear). Second, the sleeves were pretty snug and I worried about ripping them. Luckily, I avoided disaster.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
November 8, 2015
Elegant and comfortable!
The dress was elegant and comfortable! Enjoyed having pockets as well. Would recommend to anyone who will need to be in dress for a long period of time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
November 6, 2015
Perfect lace dress for a New England fall wedding!
I LOVED this dress. It was just the right length, the cut was very flattering, fabric was extremely comfortable. Like the other reviews say, the sleeves are really tight if you have muscular arms. The 4 fit well, other than the sleeves and there was no way I could get away with wearing the 4's sleeves. I am very busty and it wasn't snug through the chest at all. The 6 had a small rip in the lace on the bust, but I went ahead and wore it anyway. The sleeves end just past the elbows and are pretty frayed from multiple wears and rents. Overall though, the dress was perfect for a Connecticut wedding and I got so many compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 3, 2015
n/a
n/a
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
November 3, 2015
Loved this dress.
I got a lot of compliments when I wore it. As the other reviews have said the arms were a liiiiiittle tight but after wearing for about 30 minutes they had loosened up and I didn't even notice it for the rest of the night. I was able to comfortably dance the night away. I definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 3, 2015
I got a lot of compliments on this dress! It's the perfect dress for a cocktail attire wedding.
Definitely a bit small/true to size. I normally wear a 2 and had to go up a size for it to feel comfortable in the bust area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 1, 2015
I felt so pretty in this dress!
This dress fit me like a glove, and I didn't even need any shape wear; it's super flattering. I got compliments all night! It's super classy with a touch of sexy. Love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 31, 2015
A very classy dress!
I felt like this dress ran true to size and I ended up going with the 6. The pockets were a great touch, though when looking in he mirror they seemed to add just a bit to my hip area, but I think I might have been the only one who noticed that! I wore a regular bra underneath and the straps never showed, the dress stayed out on my shoulders all night. The openness of the back was just enough! I would rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 30, 2015
Very pretty.
The dress fit was excellent in fit and in comfort. I did not have any issues with the arms being tight. I wore this dress to a wedding. The length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
October 22, 2015
Beautiful but worn
I wore this dress to a speaking engagement. It was beautiful but noticeably worn to me. Probably not to anyone else. There were holes that were stretched on the arm. The lace was a little tattered around the neckline. It was a tad short when I say down but perfect standing. You basically can tell that this is a popular dress! I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
October 20, 2015
My dresses were delivered on time and in great condition.
I'm usually a 6. The 6 and 8 looked like they fit very similarly, but the 8 had a bit more room to eat and dance. I felt great all night and the best part... Pockets!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 19, 2015
Fun dress!
I was very reluctant to use RTR but I'm so glad I did! How nice to feel amazing for a fraction of the cost! I ordered the size 2 and a backup size 4. The 2 originally fit perfect the first day I received the dress. I put the 2 back on to wear to the event and the bottom felt a tad snug in my backside. I'm a petite and pair shape so often have difficulty finding dresses to fit. The size 4 was a little loose up top but worked just fine. This gave me more room to dance. I highly recommend trying RTR and this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
October 15, 2015
Dress was amazing!
So unique looking and photographs well! However, arms definitely felt tight. I ordered a 4 and 6 but wore the 6. I question if I could have worn an 8. I didn't feel uncomfortable in it, just a bit snug. I did need to wear a strapless bra with it because straps would have shown. Would HIGHLY recommend this dress and Rent the Runway! It was great for an October wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 14, 2015
I was at a beautiful, outdoor winery wedding and the dress fit the occasion perfectly.
I love EVERYTHING about this dress. The lining was soft and comfortable, the cut and style were super flattering, the length was perfect (and I'm relatively short!). I received so many compliments on this dress - my only complaint is that I couldn't keep it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2015
Everyone loved it!
Loved this dress, the sleeves are definitely tight, fits very true to size . Very comfortable !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 7, 2015
Classically beautiful, memorable look!
I was not too sure about this dress when I received it. I was surprised how small it ran and had to go up a size. Once I got it on, I was not totally wow-ed by how I looked...until my boyfriend saw me and said "You look beautiful!". I got lots of compliments throughout the evening. The sleeves were a little tight but--like the others have said--loosened up throughout the evening. I had to go bra-less because it is quite tight in the chest, but it worked out just fine. I would definitely recommedn this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 7, 2015
Got tons of compliments. Felt confident and beautiful
Pros: gorgeous lace, true to fit. Cons: 3 holes in lace. Had to loosely see up the holes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
October 6, 2015
Knockout - It photographs beautifully!
I loved everything about this dress. It fit perfectly, photographed great and made me feel like a million bucks!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
October 5, 2015
Beautiful elegant dress for fall event
So gorgeous and comfortable. The back is a nice surprise and the pockets are awesome. I got the 2 and the 4, thought the 2 fit fine until I tried the 4 -- so much more comfortable through the shoulders, which made dancing much easier! My first experience with RTR, will definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
October 5, 2015
Very cute dress, easy to wear
I could have worn the size 0 (I am 5'5", 115lbs) but it had a hole poked into the lace on the left sleeve, so I went with the size 2. This was great because it gave me a little extra room and was slightly longer in the hem. I did not find the arms too tight, as other reviewers pointed out, and was able to freely move and dance at my friend's wedding. I liked that there were sleeves (the ceremony was outside on a very cold and windy day in Chicago), but the dress was still sexy. I got a lot of compliments on the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 4, 2015
Perfect dress for a casual fall wedding
The fit was true to size and while they call this dress a shift it is more of a fit and flare because there is a defined waist (which works better for short torso girls like me). The only downside is this dress is not that warm so I needed to wear a sweater with it when it got colder outside (55 degrees). Other then that it was a beautiful lace dress and I got tons of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
October 1, 2015
I rent this one over and over. This time I was the wedding guest and wedding planner in one!
I have rented the stress several times and wish I could buy it! It's my favorite. I usually wear a 6, but my rib cage is large, so in the 8 I knew I would be more comfortable. The dress is super flattering and so beautiful. You will get tons of compliments! This time it was perfect for me because I was a wedding guest but also the planner and needed to be able to put on flats and run around. Last time I wore it to a friends wedding in the Hamptons, and fit right in with all the celebrities and their fashion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
September 30, 2015
Elegant and classy!
I picked this dress to wear to a wedding that specified "cocktail attire". It was at he Oklahoma Governor's Mansion, so I wanted the perfect dress. And it was! The dress was a bit snug in my arms and chest area. If I wasn't a nursing mom, I think the dress would have fit perfectly. The size 6 fit better in my chest, but the pleats in the back of the dress were not flattering whatsoever and stuck out away from my body, so I chose to go with the 4. I received SO many compliments on the dress and would definitely buy it if I could!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 149lbs
September 28, 2015
Beautiful, classic, and just enough sexy to still be work appropriate!
Having more athletic arms and shoulders I had to go up a size because the lace does not stretch but that did not compromise the fit. I felt beautiful, received a ton of compliments, and danced the night away without a worry. Oh, and I had easy access to my lipstick because this dress has pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2015
Perfect for a fall wedding!
I LOVED this dress. As many have stated, the arms were initially on the snug side but they loosened up as the night wore on. I also listened to other renters and ordered up a size. It was comfortable, easy to wear, & photographed beautifully! Only bad part was sending it back ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 27, 2015
Beautiful and sophisticated lace dress
Can be tight around the waist and too long if you are short. Size 2 was tight by the right length (above the knees), Size 4 was more of a relaxed fit but the dress was below my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
September 27, 2015
Beautiful dress just not great. (On me)
This dress is beautiful. Was a little tight in the ribcage however which isn't normally my trouble spot. Fit well over my hips and butt. I thought it was a little short for this event. (I'm 5'8'').
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 13
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×