Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

352 reviews

Fit
Small 80
True to Size 245
Large 12
Photos 183
AMC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Lacking in quality

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I really liked this dress but I was a little disappointed with the quality of the fabric. You could tell that it had been worn more then a few times because it was fraying a bit. The fit was great and I would have worn it but decided to dress more casually for the event.
EM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

Worked great for Friday concert and Sunday reception.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress worked well for a Friday night event with heels and then a Sunday reception with pumps and a jacket. The lace with the cream/nude under slip looked great. Agreeing with other reviews, the sleeves might be tight on some ladies. The skirt is not a pencil skirt but it is pretty straight - I usually wear a 4 top but 6 bottom. This skirt worked on the bottom but it was snug. The under slip had a tendency to peak out from the black lace.
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Classy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a work function, looked very classy and sexy at the same time because it fit very well. It has a nice amount of stretch to fit nicely without being too form fitting and tight.
Monique
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

I loved the dress! So much prettier in person. I received many compliments and my husband loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a gala. I would rent this dress again! Loved it!
Renee
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

Beautiful dress. Will definitely rent this one again!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The skirt is very flattering for those with a pear shape.
Stacy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

I loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress fit amazing. Perfect length and fit! :)
Bridget
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

love this dress!! wish I could own it. Perfect for a wedding and received a ton of compliments!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress is gorgeous, even better in person! very elegant and classy. It was a little tight in the arm area but did stretch as the day went on.
Shawna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

Not the dress for me

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very beautiful dress, unfortunately it was not flattering on my body type. I am tall and have a longer torso so where the pockets fell on this dress was very unflattering and made me look much larger. Had to go buy another dress to wear.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Apr 13, 2014

Beautiful through the body, tight in the arms.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
If you have athletic arms this dress is a tough one to pull off. The laces is beautiful brut has little give. The back is a great touch. I loved this dress but I was uncomfortable in the arms.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

Elegant dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous dress, but the sleeves run small. The 12 was really too large everywhere else, but I felt like my arms might Hulk out at any second and bust the sleeves. I don't have skinny arms, but I don't have bulging muscles, either.
Susan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a cocktail engagement party, and loved it. I am so glad I ordered a size up. When I tried on my normal size - 6, I couldn't even zip it up. The 8 fit perfectly!
Han
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Great dress! I didn't even wear a bra with it. It was so comfortable. Told I looked classy all day!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is a great LBD. The material underneath is more of a champagne color than I expected but still gorgeous.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Lots of compliments, but not comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
When I first got the dress, I immediately began raiding my closet to try to find something else to wear. I am not a curvy girl and the cut did nothing for my figure. The arms also felt so tight, like I couldn't raise them above my head. Ended up wearing the dress and got a ton of compliments, but still felt uncomfortable the whole night.
Valeria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

I wore it to a Wedding and even the bride was complimenting me! Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered size 4, ended up wearing size 6 because of the arms. My arms are not big but the lace does not give at all. Wore it to a wedding and even the bride was complimenting me! It was a beautiful dress and made with perfect quality materials.
Claudia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I didn't end up wearing this beautiful piece because my arms are too big. Besides that, the dress is extremely flattering and beautiful. I could've worn the 4 or 6, except I couldn't lift my arms in the size 4. The size 6 was better around the arms but it was still very restrictive for me. I contemplated still wearing it because it looked so good everywhere else, and even slimmed my arms, but I knew that as the night went on my comfort level would be compromise- so I decided not to do it. As soon as I lose some fat/ muscle in my arms, I plan on renting again lol!
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

Great dress & wonderful customer service experience!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs true to size, but like other reviewers said, the sleeves are VERY tight. Unfortunately, whoever rented the size 4 before me tore the lace on one of the sleeves, so there was no way I could wear it. The size 6 was too big, but with a belt I made it work. The sleeves on both sizes were tight, but other than that the dress was great! It was very comfortable and I received lots of compliments. Customer service also handled the situation with the damaged dress wonderfully! Overall, even with the torn dress, it was a great renting experience!
JTT122
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Apr 28, 2014

Lovely

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Like others who have reviewed this, if you have arms that are not slender, or if you are larger in the bust, it would be in your best interest to go a size up. I had to as my arms and bust were larger than the lace sleeves could handle in the size 6. This meant that the waist was a little roomy in the size 8, but that's okay, it didn't make me look larger.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Not for Curvy or plus size.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately I didn't fit into this dress and a back-up dress size up wasn't available. The sleeves didn't go up. Not recommended for plus size or curvy ladies.
Dawson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 2, 2014

High quality, comfortable, and great fit!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress! Received compliments all night.
natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 6, 2014

sophisticated and classy, but

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous dress. I felt like I knocked it out of the park at the event. I added a coral patent skinny belt and black patent heels to finish the outfit. I think it made a huge difference in the look. Keep in mind that the sleeves are very tight (at least they were for me) and I noticed a little tearing in the sleeves from past rentals. Still, it was worth it for me. I heard lots of compliments from other ladies at the event and felt very confident while posing for the cameras. This dress felt perfectly appropriate for an event with lots of older, conservatively dressed ladies. It felt respectful without compromising style. The only eyebrows I raised were the ones who came up to compliment me on my dress choice. Highly recommended.
Adry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
May 6, 2014

I think it was one of the most beautiful dresses. . . but didn't fit : (

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for an annual meeting, I was extremely exited about it, but sadly didn't fit me... I think I messed up when I ordered it and only got a 6 instead of a 6 and an 8 . . . ohh well it was beautiful, the lace and the class of this dress makes me want to loose weight or try it on a size bigger.
J.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 7, 2014

Beautiful dress but tight in the arms

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is gorgeous and I received many compliments on it --- even one from a girl who had previously rented it on RTR. However, if you are athletic or have thick arms then you might want to consider another option. I could have worn the size 4 except that the arms were so tight I was afraid I was going to rip the dress. I ended up wearing the size 6 which was far too loose in the hips ( I am top heavy). The other problem was I wasn't able to lift my arms above my head because the black lace material has zero give. Other than that it is a beautiful dress (for skinny armed girls).
Tay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 9, 2014

This dress is amazing. So many compliments! It even has pockets.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The event we went to was business professional/cocktail and it was the perfect dress. Comfortable enough to dance in all night too!
Megan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 12, 2014

Perfect Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wish I could have kept the dress! Amazingly comfortable. The only downside is that the arms do run a tad tight. Women with slightly larger arms might need to order a size up to accommodate. With that being said, the material did give a little after wearing the dress for a while. All in all in was a great decision. I was really nervous about ordering a dress that I had never tried on before. Will rent again!
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 17, 2014

I liked the dress a lot. I only gave it 4 starts because the lace is snagging.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked the dress a lot. I only gave it 4 starts because the lace is snagging and looking pretty rough. If the lace looked better, I would have given it a 5. I wore this to a military banquet. I think it was classy for a cocktail dress.
Krista
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 22, 2014

This is a pretty dress, but the fit is awkward.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is more appropriate for a fall or winter event. It wasn't a good choice for a spring event.. I ended up wearing a dress I had in my closet.
JY
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
May 28, 2014

Great dress -- the 4 was a bit loose but then the 2 was a bit tight.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Comfortable, stylish, and the lace is very feminine.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
May 30, 2014

Wore this to my cousin's wedding. NIce dress, but not my favorite RTR dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little large in the hips, which made it a bit ill fitting. It was also shorter than I imagined it would be.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jun 2, 2014

many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very tight in the back and shoulders. Usually wear a six, but got an eight and wish I orders the 10. It was also a bit short for a wedding. The dress was beautiful and received many compliments throughout the night!
bmoregal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

Perfect for wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit perfectly, form fitting but roomy enough for dancing. Very happy with rental.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a wedding! The length was great for dancing all night! I got so many compliments!
LA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

This dress fit amazingly! I felt beautiful the whole time!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I really can't think of any cons! This was by far my favorite dress from Rent The Runway so far! I got so many compliments and the fit was comfortable!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Short and tight

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful, but short and tight.
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 153 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Their service rocked.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs small in the bust and stomach. I could not wear it.
H
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Paired well and stood strong with my boyfriend's black Hugo Boss suit.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Shoulder area is great and conservative but if you have wide shoulders arm movement may be restricted. The dress had a small rip from this tension in the armpit region. Pointed it out to the showroom girl and she made a note of it but gave no discount.
Corinne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 10, 2014

Beautiful lace, neckline, back!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is gorgeous. It fit very well... mostly... The arms are very tight and difficult to get on for a girl with larger guns, and the bustling was also tight. That being said, the waist was perfect, and the skirt had enough room to dance and accommodate an ample bum. I loved the length. It broke just above the knee, but not too high. I got compliments throughout the wedding!
Justine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 163 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Thank goodness for my first choice dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
If you are large chested, DO NOT RENT THIS DRESS. I'm normally a 10 in tops (34E) and this dress didn't even come close to zipping up in the back. It's beautiful and it fit in the hips/waist, but it has no give. NONE. Thank goodness it was my backup dress. It's also very short. The lace part comes down farther than the slip, but it's mini length
Margaret
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 14, 2014

Great Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit well and I received many comments on it the night I wore it. The dress is a bit heavy but well worth it. I wore my back up size because the other dress had very frayed edges, however RTR was great in regards to addressing the issue and I can't wait to rent again!
Milano
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107 lbs
Sep 17, 2014

Sweet dress, for an unbeatable price

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really enjoyed this dress, as I had to go to a (rainy) september wedding weekend at an upstate New York farm. I thought I was size 2 based on the comments but I was glad I ordered the free backup dress size 4 as that was the dress That fit. I like the fact that it was slight above the knee. For women my age, even if you have a nice figure, it's hard to find dresses that are classy and flattering. Too many dresses are too short.
Lydia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 20, 2014

Classy style

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful, comfortable dress. Classy with a twist. I usually wear a 0 dress - but went with the 2
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×