Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 – $45 rental?
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
528 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(311)
Small
(113)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2013
Beautiful Dress
I loved this dress! Very classy and comfortable. I agree with the other reviewers who mentioned if you are a bit busty to size up. They did not have the next size available so I stuck with the 8. The fit was great waist down, but very snug around the chest area - however it did loosen up a bit. I wore this to a Fall outdoor wedding and the sleeves were perfect for the breezy day. I highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 14, 2013
Perfect Dress for Any Occasion!
It fit so perfect and was super comfortable! I recommend this dress to anyone! I am normally between a 0 and 2, and the 0 fit perfectly!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
October 17, 2013
Lovely!!!
My first rental with RTR! Arrived as promised (with extra goodies) and easy return process (far more convenient than dealing with dry-cleaner). The dress photographs so beautifully and was a stunning and elegant late afternoon wedding cocktail dress (and yes ~ received many nice compliments!). The pockets were fun and the zipper & lining solid quality. Lace had a slight 'rip' in lower right thigh (not noticeable to others given the lace texture). I should have ordered a second size for comparison purposes as the high waistline (at lower ribs) rode a tad high on me and was a bit tight. That's more my unique body 'situation' at this time ~ not the dress. I'd most definitely recommend this dress ... and have already rented another gown from RTR for an upcoming evening wedding! (and ordered a second size to be sure :) ).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2013
<3
Loved the dress. It was comfortable, but a bit too big (in the waist all the way around to the back of the dress), even though I was probably the only one who noticed. A size 4 probably would have fit me better. I got tons of compliments!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2013
Pretty dress, great service!
Wore this dress to a wedding. It was true to size and as other reviewers mentioned, the sleeves were a little snug when you first put it on but then stretch out a little and fit perfect. The small pleats at the waist are forgiving if you have any waist issues. The fabric is really pretty and you'll get complimented all night! Felt perfect for the occasion and can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 23, 2013
The dress was fantastic and the RTR experience even better!
I was very nervous about renting this dress as I was coming from the UK for a wedding in the States and it was due to arrive the day before the wedding. So there wasn't much of a window if the dress didn't fit! However, it fit brilliantly as well as being really comfortable. I don't think I've ever had so many compliments on a dress in one night, either. The whole RTR experience was also flawless. I took them up on their offer to add a mystery accessory for $15 and got a fabulous pair of earrings. On the whole, it was great and I will definitely be using them again in the future. Any plans to expand to the UK?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 23, 2013
Sophisticated and Classic.
Very comfortable. I was able to wear a regular nude bra. Love the pockets.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
October 30, 2013
Just OK
I say this dress is "Just OK" because it does the job, but it's nothing special. I agree that the arms are tight, and I don't carry a lot of extra weight in my arms. If you have larger arms, this dress will be uncomfortable. It was also shorter (I am 5'10") than it appears on the model, so I had to wear tights. The A-line cut is nice to hide hips and tummy, and there is plenty of room in this area, if not too much. I couldn't try on the 6 because it came with a big hole in the arm's lace :( Between having to wear tights and being one of hundreds of women in a black lace dress, I recommend this as a "safe" and conservative option. Go for something different if you're truly trying to "wow".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2013
perfect for a fall wedding
Loved this dress! It was perfect for a fall wedding. I did end up wearing the 8 because it felt more comfortable across the chest and arms. Would recommend sizing up if you have a larger bust or muscular arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 6, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress! It was perfect for an October wedding in New York.
If you run large on the top, I would recommend getting a back up size. Though the 8 was great, I could have also worn the 10. My favorite part of the dress is the neckline. It doesn't come out in the photographs but the delicate lace trim is beautiful. Overall, I loved the dress and loved the Rent the Runway experience! I received tons of compliments and will definitely be renting another dress soon.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 10, 2013
Classic, beautiful dress for a fall/winter wedding! Received many complements and felt great in it!
This was my first rental, so I had my doubts if I would like the dress, or if it would fit. Well I LOVED the dress and both sizes I received fit. I usually wear a size 2 but decided to order both a 0 and 2. I could have worn either size as they both fit, however I prefer a little tighter fitting dresses, so I went with the size 0. I wore a strapless bra and it stayed up the entire night. I felt great, and was very comfortable in this dress (and I wore it for 10+ hours!) It was such a practical dress, because I didn't need to worry about it ridding up and having to pull it down; also didn't have to worry about straps falling down or anything showing or hanging out. Loved that it had pockets and the back of the dress was also very flattering. Overall wonderful experience using rent the runway and will be using again in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2013
Loved this dress! I wore it to a November wedding and it was perfect for the season.
It fit true to size, the arms were a little tight at first but did stretch out a little as the night went on. I received so many compliments and wish I could wear this dress again and again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 11, 2013
Absolutely gorgeous! But no stretch on the arms
I really wanted to wear a 3/4 sleeved dress for a November wedding that I attended. I normally fit well into a size 4 dress. I am fairly small on the top, and most of my weight is on my bottom half (butt and thighs...god bless my middle eastern descent). But when it came to actually putting the dress on, where I was having a ton of problems was in the actual fitting on the arms. I never realized that my arms are on the "bigger" side since I work out. So I had to go a size up to the 6, and it fit well, but the bottom half wasn't fitting as well as the size 6. But overall, I got a ton of compliments, and it pained me to return the dress. I wish it had a little more stretch in the arms, but that's my only complaint.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2013
Beautiful lace overlay!
Beautiful dress for a wedding or formal event. The lace overlay at the shoulders, neck and sleeves really make it stand out. It photographs beautifully. The lace on the sleeves is a little tight at first, but like other reviewers mentioned, it stretches a bit as its worn. At first I thought the pockets gave the skirt a little extra width to my hips, but after my makeup/hair was done, the shape worked out beautifully. I was very happy with this dress. The length was perfect and it was very classy & sophisticated. My Husband loved it :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2013
So many compliments!
I rented an 8 and sized up to a 10 based on the other reviews -- was worried about the fit and the sleeves being too tight. The 8 ended up fitting perfectly! (The 10 was a loose around the waist and not as flattering; also had a small hole in the lace on the left sleeve.) The dress is super comfortable and fits great if you have an hourglass shape like I do. The pleats in the skirt hide everything -- I felt confident enough to go without tights! All in all -- really happy with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2013
Classy
I would order up for back up size. The arms are a little tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 12, 2013
Elegant and sexy.
I've been completely obsessed with lace, so when I found a dress with lace *and* sleeves, I just about fell out of my chair. Living in a state that borders Canada, it tends to get pretty chilly in November. I wore this to the opera and to The Melting Pot. I ordered both the 10 and an 8. I exclusively wear 10, but I could have easily worn the 8, it was just a tish shorter. Also, I didn't realize this until I tried it on, but it has pockets! Love renting - second time and I plan to keep doing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
November 14, 2013
Great fit and style
I wore this to my rehersal dinner and received a ton of wonderful comments on the fit and style. I didn't think the sleeve were too tight. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 15, 2013
This dress made me feel like an absolute celebrity for my Senior Recital with my fiance!
VERY tight around the bust even without a bra. I don't know if it was there before, but I think some of the lace even ripped around the bust area. The sleeves are also pretty slim. DEFINITELY size up. It is the perfect length for a sexy modestly. There were tons of people who told me I was wearing such a gorgeous dress. I felt extremely beautiful in it. My fiance's jaw dropped when he first saw me. If you want all eyes on you, get this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
November 17, 2013
Rent,rent,rent! Great dress
This dress was very flattering. I wore a nude bra that could not be seen through the black lace. I liked the v cut on the back of the dress and even though it was fitted on the top there was a slight flare for the skirt. I didn't want to send back. I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
November 17, 2013
Adored the back! Gorgeous lace details
A little baggy in the hip/belly, but a smaller size would have been too small in the arms/chest (even though I am smaller on top than on the bottom). Overall loved it, got many compliments! Was worried about lace being too delicate, but I danced the night away without any problems. Gorgeous dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2013
OMG I wanted to keep this dress! It fit perfectly! I'm usually a 4 so either it's big or I lost lbs!
Some reviews said the sleeves are tight but surprisingly I didn't think they were at all. I wore this dress for my bridal shower and I got so many compliments! Perfect, perfect, perfect!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2013
Nice dress for winter
I selected this dress after the intial dress I rented was returned from the previous buyer too damaged to wear. The dress is very nice in person and I got A LOT of compliments. I read reviews about the arms being tight and when I put it on the arms were initially a little tight but within a few minutes were fine. I enjoyed this dress however felt the fit was not completely perfect for me which is why I gave it a 4 (instead of 5). I wore the 2 which is my normal size. I felt like the chest and top area was a little tight, whereas the bottom area was looser. However overall I felt the dress was very nice and would recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2013
Did not like this dress at all. Very "dowdy" looking.
While it did fit, it was a very strange fit. Too long on my 5'3" frame, and made me look like an old lady. Much better suited for someone more like the model in this picture!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
November 25, 2013
Great detail in the lace, comfortable fit, and it even has pockets!
I ordered the 2 and the 4, both fit well enough, but the sleeves are definitely a little slim, so I feared a stretch in the wrong direction could be a problem in the 2 and decided to wear the 4. The lace in the neckline was very pretty and the fitted top with the looser skirt made for a comfortable dress all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
November 29, 2013
Stunning lace!
This dress is stunning! The lace and cut is very eye catching. I gave this dress a high rating because it really is beautiful. The only problem I had with it is that I needed to wear the 0 to fit well everywhere but had to opt for the 2 because the 0 was too small in the bust. If you have a larger chest you may want to look for something else. However, if you don't mind it being a little bigger everywhere else rent away!!! I got so many compliments!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 3, 2013
I wore this for my engagement party- loved it!
It fit well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 5, 2013
Way too small!
I ordered this dress as my first choice for a wedding and it felt like I was wearing two sizes too small! The sleeves are very tiny and do not have any stretch to them and if you have a bigger chest, it won't even zip up. Luckily, I loved my back up dress and so I wore that, but I was really excited about this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2013
Definitely size up
As other reviewers mentioned, the sleeves on this dress are very tight. I do not have large arns but the sleeves to be uncomfortably small. I usually wear a 2 or 4, tried both sizes and neither worked. Couldn't get the 2 up all the way and the entire top of the 4 was very snug. Shame because it's a very pretty dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 8, 2013
Great dress for a special occasion
Wore this to celebrate finishing my master's degree. Overall, this is a gorgeous dress. It's very comfortable (pockets!) yet looks very elegant and photographs well. I typically wear a 4 or a 6, and the 6 fit great. My only complaint was that it was very tight in the chest. If you wear a C or larger, I would suggest sizing up in this dress. Otherwise, it fit and looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2013
Love it!
Runs true to size. I got a ton of compliments. Loved the cut and fit on this dress. Definitely would recommend! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2013
Great for a winter holiday party or wedding
Great rental and fit. Love the lace detail. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 16, 2013
LOVE!
Loved this dress, very classy, comfortable. I am 5'0" and still hit above my knee, fit was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 16, 2013
So gorgeous!
I wore this to a charity gala and received so many compliments on this dress. It is so beautiful on and very classy. I wish I could keep it! My friend rented this before and she loved it too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
January 9, 2016
I received many compliments on this dress and I felt comfortable in it all night.
Both the 4 and the 2 fit. The 2 was a little snug but I made it work since there was a tear in the size 4. Overall, this is a great dress for any event - it's simple but the open back adds a touch of surprise. I'd highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2013
Not the shape for me...
This dress was just not the right shape for me at all. It made me seem wider in the shoulders and hips than I am. I'm usually a 2 but this was snug around the shoulders. Pretty material but the shape was just not for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2013
I got this for my Holiday Party - ended up not wearing it.
The fit was terrible on me... big in the top overall (including sleeves). Even if it had fit, it was very matronly - definitely not a hott showstopper.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 18, 2013
I felt like a million bucks!
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. This dress was a no-brainer. It's super sexy, yet elegant and way classy. Beautifully crafted, but so comfortable! The pictures online do NOT do it justice. My favorite part had to be the pockets and the zip-up/low back detail. I received compliments all night long; the boyfriend said I was stunning! I was so sad to pack it and return it - wish I could keep it forever! I hope RTR keeps this style for a looong time (like forever), because I will rent over and over again! Thanks, RTR for making my night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 31, 2013
I got compliments from EVERYONE. You can dress this up or down, but you will definitely stand out!
Fit well in the waist, but bust and arms were a little tight. I'm pear shaped and the bust was tight on me... I would recommend getting a size larger, especially if you have a larger bust. Also, my sleeve had a hole in the lace... thank goodness the lace was detailed enough that it didn't stand out or look too bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
December 31, 2013
Pretty dress but didn't fit right
The top part of the dress fit great but the bottom half laid weird. It has pockets and a zipper that goes down low and because of this it made my bottom half look bigger than it is...I am petite and i just looked wide on me. Love the idea but unfortunately had to return!
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×