Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
547 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(319)
Small
(115)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 29, 2017
Adored this dress!!

I adored this dress!! I wore it to a charity event. I normally wear a size 2 or 4 in dresses. I ordered a 0 for my back up and that was a no go! The 2 fit perfectly but know that there is ZERO stretch in this dress. Many have commented that the sleeves are snug. I didn't find that to be too big of an issue for me. I received many compliments on this dress all night. For reference I am 5'3' and 112 lbs.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 31, 2017
Great fit, comfortable and great price!

True to size. It was classic, comfortable and easy to wear. The dress showed a little wear but would only be noticed by wearer. Would love to wear again

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
February 21, 2017
Classic Lace Look

I got lots of complements on this dress! I even wore it with black nylons for a more complete look. The slip shows when you sit, so I put a scarf over my lap when I was sitting. The arms are on the smaller side and do not stretch.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
March 18, 2017
Classy and Comfortable

This was by far the most beautiful dress that I have worn to any wedding. Trust me, I have been to plenty. Within the first 10 mins of walking into this event I received numerous compliments. Dress is true to size and is definitely a good fit for someone with some curves. I was initially going to go with a size 6 but the sleeves were a tad tight and made it really difficult to move around. If you have broad shoulders like I do, you might want to go a size up just to be on the safe side. Would definitely recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 100lbs
March 18, 2017
Style and fit

I loved the fit and style. I never wore lace before and it was perfect for a March wedding. The arms run small so I sized up like other reviews indicated. The length was good. I received a lot of compliments on the dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
April 8, 2017
Couldn't wear- too tight in the shoulders.

Beautiful dress but it didn't fit in the shoulders. I was unable to move my arms- the lace had no give. RTR overnighted me another dress- amazing customer service!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2017
Stunning Dress

This was my first RTR experience and I'm absolutely in love. The dress was stunning and I received tons of compliments throughout the night. I'm usually between a 2-4 in size and had to wear the 4. The 2 fit but the sleeves were tight. The 4 fit comfortably throughout the entire night.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 12, 2017
Sexy and classy

I felt like a million bucks in this lace number. LOVED the pockets. The cut was gorgeous in the back, and the belly was forgiving since it wasn't skin tight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2017
Beautiful and elegant dress

The dress is beautiful! I ultimately wore my second pick, but I would rent this again. I am 5'4" 125 lbs and normally wear a size 2. The size 4 in this dress fit perfectly. The arms were very tight to move in, and there were a few holes in the lace of the dress, so it did not work out for my event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 6, 2017
Classy dress, but unfortunately didn't fit me

This dress looked very pretty and I was looking forward to wearing it to a formal wedding, but it didn't fit when I tried it on. I had read several reviews and some said it ran big and others it ran small. I guess mine ran small. On top of that, I have broad shoulders so when I zipped it up I couldn't move my arms because of how it was sewn. I contacted RTR to send me a backup dress I had rented before (which arrived before noon the next day) and I wore instead. If you're a very petite and tall person this dress would be perfect. If you're athletic like me chances are it won't fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 2, 2017
Perfection!

This dress is amazing! Fits perfectly! Comfortable! Stylish and classy!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 3, 2017
Classy, flattering dress

Overall I was happy! Classy, flattering, beautiful neckline. Like others have indicated, the arms are a bit snug. I'd suggest ordering up. The chest was a bit tight as well (I'm a 34B). Beautiful dress, probably would wear this to a warm weather event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 14, 2017
Love this dress!

This was my second time renting a version of this dress- first time with this color. I love it so much and got (again!) a ton of compliments. It fits very true to size, the sleeves are the tightest part since they are lace and do not give. I have an athletic upper body and it worked fine for me in my normal size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
November 15, 2017
Perfect for a fall wedding!

The lace was beautiful, got so many compliments all night. Would 100% rent again, but would probably try 1 size up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32B
December 20, 2017

This for RTR staff only, the attached picture is how I recieved this dress. I had to wear this one because the size 4 sleeves were too tight. Unfortunately the tear was in the front so it was very noticeable even with my efforts to bunch up the sleeve to hide it. Other than this it was a great dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
March 28, 2018
Beautiful, comfortable, tons of compliments!

The dress fit exactly as expected based on reviews. I wore an 8, which was my usual size. The arms/chest were a tiny bit snug but seems to stretch a bit throughout the night - in a good way. The waist definitely had room but I wouldn't have downsized due to the arms. Deal-maker --- POCKETS! Length was a little above the knees, perfect taste. I did have to remove a bracelet I wearing because it snagged on the lace a few times, but that didn't bother me.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 23, 2018
Amazing dress!

Absolutely loved this beautiful lace dress, perfect for a chilly spring wedding. As per other reviews, I found the fit a little small but one size up was absolutely perfect! I'm 5'7" and found the length to be perfect for me.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
Totally elegant and timeless piece, a total hit on New Year's Eve!

Had a minor setback when RTR didn't have my actual size, but they sent my backup which was one size smaller than I usually wear and it ended up working out just fine! I needed an extra set of hands to get it zipped up over my boobs, but I am top heavy and the fabric relaxed a bit throughout the night. I ASBOLUTELY recommend sizing down, especially if you don't have a big chest. The lace was thick and felt durable enough that I didn't have to worry all night about it snagging or tearing. Such a classic style, I can't say enough good things about this dress!!

MegJanuary 2, 2013
Love the dress with the belt. What did you use, a ribbon?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
February 17, 2013
I felt like Kate Middleton all night long!

RTR was out of my size (10) for the weekend I needed so I got brave and went one size smaller. SO glad I did! This dress fits true to size on top but the pleated waist makes the bottom more forgiving for a girl with curves, exactly what I needed! I felt like Kate Middleton all night long in this awesome lace dress and got so many compliments on it. My husband kept saying "you should rent the runway all the time!" If I hadn't been in an out of town hotel I might have added a belt but I forgot to bring one and I still absolutely loved the look. This dress is fabulous!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2013
This was my first time using RTR. It was a wonderful experience. Recommend to all my friends!!!!!!

I typically wear a size 8 - but they did not have an 8 so i ordered a 6. It fit a little snug when I put it on, but the lace relaxed throughout the night and was actually pretty comfortable. I would definitely recommend this dress/may even rent it again. Love it - perfect rehearsal dinner dress!!! THANK YOU RTR!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 20, 2013
Beautiful In Theory

I ordered this dress as a backup option for a formal celebration. Unfortunately, the first option did not suit me; and neither did this one. The dress is quite pretty however, it just did fit very well. It fit very loose in some areas and wsa tight in others. This may work well for someone that has a more narrow shaped body.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 3, 2013
Lovely, classic dress. Could be worn for so many occasions!

I was stuck between the 10 and the 12. The 10 fit me on the bottom but my shoulders were too wide for the top. The 12 fit me on top but was very loose on the bottom. I ended up wearing another dress I'd rented. Overall, the dress is beautiful and has amazing detail. I didn't realize the silver zipper in the back, which I wasn't a huge fan of. I'd take note of that when you're thinking about ordering this and if it matches the style you're trying to execute.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2013
<3

Loved the dress. It was comfortable, but a bit too big (in the waist all the way around to the back of the dress), even though I was probably the only one who noticed. A size 4 probably would have fit me better. I got tons of compliments!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2013
OMG I wanted to keep this dress! It fit perfectly! I'm usually a 4 so either it's big or I lost lbs!

Some reviews said the sleeves are tight but surprisingly I didn't think they were at all. I wore this dress for my bridal shower and I got so many compliments! Perfect, perfect, perfect!!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2013
I got this for my Holiday Party - ended up not wearing it.

The fit was terrible on me... big in the top overall (including sleeves). Even if it had fit, it was very matronly - definitely not a hott showstopper.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
May 23, 2014
Classy Dress!

I decided to try this dress for a recent May wedding (I was a little unsure of how hot or cold the weather would be in NJ since it was still May). I was so happy with my decision! The length was just above the knee and the sleeves were a nice touch to not have to wear a jacket. The weather turned out to be in the low 70's (60's at night) and I was still very comfortable. Everyone said to order the backup a size one up because the sleeves are snug. They were definitely fitted but I would not say uncomfortable (not to mention they loosened up as the night went on). I wish I ordered the 4 as my backup instead because the body of the dress wasn't as fitted as I would have liked. The pockets were great but they almost made my belly look like it was bulging out a little. Other than the few cons, I received a lot of compliments and the dress was a hit! Would def recommend and the whole RTR process was convenient and smooth!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2015
Dress was okay with some flaws. Wouldn't rent this one again.

Dress did not have the most flattering fit. The lace all over the dress was very worn, not in the best shape. I wouldn't rent this dress again. This was my first experience with renttherunway.com, and I didn't have the best first impression.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2013
Classic and Timeless

So many people stopped me at the restaurant to ask where I got the dress from and who it was made by! I felt amazing all night long!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2015
This dress photographed very well and I received multiple compliments.

I ordered a 6 & 8 with 8 being my normal size and the 6 still could have fit a bit better. Both dresses a received did have little tears in them but weren't very noticeable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
October 30, 2014
Nice lace detailing.

It is a good dress for the price.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2015
Loved it. Got a lot of compliments

It was VERY comfortable, it has pockets!!! I didn't know that. Very classic and elegant

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 29, 2016
Nice for a fall wedding

the sleeves were tight, but the bust was large on me. Loved the length though!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 26, 2016
GREAT dress - would absolutely rent it again!

Wore this to a family wedding. I got SO many compliments on it - even from strangers! I'll admit I'm def. a busty, curvy solid size 12 - however I was able to wear the backup size 10 which felt great. I danced all night - the dress stretched & was very comfortable, best of all it has POCKETS! The under-sheath is not as apparent in person as it seems in pictures. It *is* a little tight in the arms when you first put it on, but I found that to lessen over the course of the night. The neckline on one size was a little more frayed than the other (normal wear & tear), but not enough to deter me from wearing the dress. I would buy this dress if I could! I've also included a picture with my cousin (both of us post-baby) who also wore a RTR dress (Badgley Mischka), she also opted for the accessories as well.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 31, 2012
This dress has POCKETS!!

Love this dress, especially when I discovered on-seam pockets! I rented it for NYE. I ordered my normal 0 and a 2 for backup, and ended up wearing the 2. Both fit, but since the lace doesn't stretch, I had more shoulder flexibility in the 2. In the 0 I was afraid the delicate lace would rip if I raised my arms above my head. This dress is beautifully made; the details like the scalloped hem, exposed zipper and scooped back make it really special.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2013
Beautifully made dress.

This dress was one of the nicest dresses I've ordered from Rent the Runway. However, if you are at all busty (C cup or bigger) I would suggest going up a size. I am typically a 4 to 6 and the 6 was really snug on me. It has to do with the lining - it is quite tailored and has no give. But it is a very pretty dress fit for everything from a date night to a formal affair.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 18, 2013
Runs small, had to return without wearing it

I ordered this dress without a backup size and ended up having to return it and not have it for a wedding this weekend. I've never had to use my backup size but knew it was a gamble as every dress fits differently. It was a beautiful dress. Make sure that you have a size up when renting becuase the shoulders are very tight. (and I don't have a large bust)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2013
Perfect dress for the occasion!

The dress was little tight in the bust area for my DD's, so I had wear the larger size, but it fit nicely. Perfect for a cocktail event. I wore it for my engagement party and it was a hit!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 1, 2013
Downtown Classy!

Enjoyed my first RTR experience. Unfortunately, I've gained a little weight (8lbs?) since starting law school PT and working FT, so as other reviewers noted the arms/shoulder are a little tight so I went with the 4. The waist of this dress didn't really hit my waist and with my rib cage being kinda big and straight (it doesn't taper like a narrow waisted hour-glass figure), I needed the bigger size. I loved the quality of the dress and the lace so pretty. The dress has some pleats all around it, but not too flouncy. Wasn't the hubby's favorite since he didn't think it flattered my figure well-enough (didn't show off my butt). Had to wear sheer hosiery - it's MN sub-zero in Jan, couldn't go bare legged. Also found some great unique peep toe heels of suede leather appropriate for the weather! Was going to wear my hair up in a low chignon, to show-off the pretty back - but due to time constraints I was unable to style my hair. Next time, I hope to try something a bit more daring - not a problem to try something you might not normally buy with RTR!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 11, 2013
Classic. Elegant - perfect for black tie.

Goes all the way to knee - even a little past. Very fitted at the waist and you need a strapless bra because the pretty lace detail on top is completely see-through. It's the kind of dress where you look hot but all moms etc. think you look like a lady too.

MeganFebruary 11, 2013
Gah! I'm in love with your lipstick!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 18, 2013
Ran small.

Didn't wear it.

See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×